Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JBL Link Portable

Waterproof portable speaker with Google Assistant, Apple® AirPlay® 2, and Bluetooth®

MFR # JBLLINKPORTBLKAM

JBL Link Portable

JBL Link Portable

Waterproof portable speaker with Google Assistant, Apple® AirPlay® 2, and Bluetooth®

MFR # JBLLINKPORTBLKAM

21 reviews
View this product

Great Little Speaker

Crutchfield customer from Aynor, SC on 10/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a really great speaker. It last over 8 hours and the sound is good too. Easy to recharge the battery, just sit it on it's pedestal. I recommend this speaker.

Pros: Strong sound, small size.

Cons: More colors

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

My Son Luv's It!!!

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, CO on 6/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this for my son for his B-Day as he loves his first one and wanted to be able to link them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Link Portable

Crutchfield customer from Ann Arbor, MI on 6/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, easy setup. Wanted a wifi-compatible speaker that didn't have to be plugged in all the time. Just setting it on its charging base is great, too, rather than having to plug in a cable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great airplay2 speaker

Crutchfield customer from Springfield Gar, NY on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great product, works well with apple airplay2

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Hey Google

Crutchfield customer from Honolulu, HI on 11/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup , sound is enough to fill a large size room. Crutchfield offered good price so it was worth buying. Would not pay full retail . Over all good quality for price. Aloha !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Deeper Sounding Google Speaker

Joshua from Manila, PH on 11/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this item primarily to become our bathroom Google speaker since we do not wish to commit to an always-plugged speaker inside the bathroom. It works great because we can now control our smart devices from the bathroom, and because the music/podcast experience is now on a different level compared to just maxing out the volume of our phones. We are excited to try this out on the beach once the pandemic is over! I raised a concern to the Crutchfield support team when I found out from the Google Home app that the device has been paired via bluetooth with various devices more than a year before my purchase. The support team has been very supportive by assuring me that it may have been for quality control purposes. I was also given a refund for the price reduction applied on the item the day after I made my purchase. I also like how fast Crutchfield shipped out the item. Overall a very pleasant experience from Crutchfield and from JBL!

Pros: True to the JBL sound experience. Perfect as bathroom Google speaker. Great Airplay connection. Very similar to our existing Nest Mini charcoal-colored speakers. Straightforward setup via the Google Home app.

Cons: Took a while to be fully charged on the first charge. I hope JBL would find time to release occasional firmware updates to improve the Google Assistant performance.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Happy with the purchase

Crutchfield customer from Mill Valley, CA on 10/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought it to simply use it as a Bluetooth speaker, but I'm loving it as a WiFi smart speaker. Very easy to use and great sound. Provides easy access to a world of internet radio and podcast streaming. Setup was easy using Google Home app. Works well as an Apple AirPlay speaker, too.

Pros: Good sound

Cons: No user manual provided

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Jbl Speaker

Crutchfield customer from New Bern, NC on 10/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very nice Bluetooth speaker. Google's assistant works great also. It plays a good long time on a single charge. I like it and would probably buy it again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Link Portable

Crutchfield customer from Mount Vernon, WA on 10/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was a wedding gift to be enjoyed by a young couple over the coming years.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Link Portable

Crutchfield customer from Cidra, PR on 10/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy pairing with Google home app, the sound is excellent thought is not too loud. To control the speaker is basically trough the app or your voice with the assistant. When connected with wifi you can use your phone for everything while still listening your music. Great for listening while talking and fill room but if you want loud exterior sound this is not it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Link Portable

Crutchfield customer from Edmond, OK on 9/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great speaker and and it would have gotten 5 stars but the Bluetooth setup did not work until I connected connected via google home account. I got it to just purely do Bluetooth but since i had to connect it to Google home i use it that way most of the time .

Pros:

Cons: Bluetooth setup does not work via direct pairing

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Link Portable

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 9/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems to work ok and sound ok but all I want is an AirPlay speaker that can sit in the shower and maybe be recharged once a week or so since I only use it for 30min a day. I could only find this one and $400 Sonos. This one has horrible documentation so I couldn't figure out whether the different LED lights mean it is 'on' and sucking power, or in some sort of 'sleep' mode. So far I ha e deduced (again, no documentation) that if I turn it 'off' it needs to be repaired with my network, which is a pain, and if I leave it 'on' the battery runs out in two days even if I only use it for an hour. All this to replace something I bought in 1999 that ran on six aa batteries and had a base I plugged into to mini jack on an Apple airport remote. Worked flawlessly and I had to replace batteries once a month until my son broke it. It's so sad to have turned into a grumpy old man.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Captive Connectivity

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 8/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Opening the box reveals a solid, weighty, and gorgeous little speaker. Operating the buttons is straight forward enough. I used Apple home to connect right away. The little guy sounds great. It fills the room and emits 3D sound unlike the directional sounds coming out of my Sony SRS BTX500. Now for the nitty gritty.. Don't use Apple Home to connect if you want to use the Bluetooth connectivity. I downloaded the Google Home app and that's where things got ugly. At this point, I couldn't connect at all anymore, it didn't matter which device I used. After calling Crutchfield for advice, we both figured out that we were going to have to use Google Home to get the Bluetooth working.

Pros: Sounds great for its size Spacial 3D sounds Solid feeling Attractive grill cloth Small

Cons: Small Wonky connectivity

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Link Portable

Crutchfield customer from Guaynabo, PR on 8/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and powerful for an small speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound in my backyard.

Jose Ortiz from San Juan, PR on 8/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sounds great! The speaker was a steal in that special price. In the beginning was troublesome to setup the pairing with my IOS phone. But the key to an easy setup is to down load the Google Home App. After that was a piece of cake and then the speaker pair directly via Bluetooth with the IPhone. With Airplay pair once and then never pair again, so I gave up with that option., because the speaker was already paired directly by BT. By the way, the Google Assistant is pretty cool.

Pros: Sounds great! Waterproof and portable.

Cons: The troublesome process to pair the speaker with Airplay.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

don't buy

Crutchfield customer from Fort Mill, SC on 8/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

can't connect to several phones

Pros:

Cons: very difficult to connect via blue tooth. Not compatible with several phones

Crutchfield response on 8/4/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your speaker. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Link Portable

Crutchfield customer from Troy, NY on 7/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does exactly what I needed for my small urban garden.

Pros: Nice sound. Easy setup. Waterproof.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kind of a dog.

Frank from Rhinebeck, NY on 6/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The set up and lack of clarity in the directions alone have made this product a dog. I haven't even gotten music to pump through it. The AirPlay integration or lack of, would make Steve Jobs roll over in his grave. I might return this - talk about a bad interface and horrible product design. I would pass this one by if you are thinking about buying it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/30/2020
Frank, we're sorry you're having issues with your speaker. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Link Portable

Crutchfield customer from South Pasadena, CA on 6/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the ease of a wireless speaker to hear my music at the level I enjoy, even outside in the yard - happy with this speaker!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sounds great

Crutchfield customer from Cartersville, GA on 5/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound and versatile of this speaker is great.

Pros: Carry it with you to have Google Assistant

Cons: Not a fan of the charging base

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sounds good, but beware the connection process

Rob from Ludlow, MA on 2/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Once I got this connected, it sounds pretty good. Decent punch for a speaker this size. Comes with a fully reversible USB-A to USB-C cable, a nice charging base, but... no wall outlet for it. Used to be I had so many USB bricks floating around, now most manufacturers are too cheap to include one. My biggest gripe with this speaker has to be the absolute lack of "interface" with the human operating it. Is it on? Well, the power button has a light on and sometimes it plays a sound to let you know it has powered up. The battery indicator bar seems to only work when it's charging. Couldn't get it to work with Bluetooth. Press the button, hold the button, you name it... it doesn't give you any audio or visual feedback. Pairing this speaking with Airplay 2 was painful, to say the least. It's hard to tell if the speaker is on and ready to pair out of the box - the battery indicator seems to only be on when charging, so you can see a glowing power button and nothing else. Why didn't they add a simple HomeKit code like every other device out there? To pair it: Turn the speaker on by pressing the power button. Wait for a little piano sound to tell you it's actually on. Immediately press "Cannot scan" Now set your phone on top of the JBL speaker and just... wait. A small icon should pop up that says JBL speaker. If the connection fails, go back one screen and click it again. It took a couple tries for me. Now you should be able to play through AirPlay

Pros: Good sound Solid build quality Charging base is a nice touch

Cons: AirPlay 2 connectivity was annoying Device provides no UI feedback No wall adapter in the box? Really?

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

TOP