Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

JBL Playlist

Wireless powered speaker with Chromecast built-in and Bluetooth® (Black)

MFR # JBLPLYLIST150BLKAM

JBL Playlist

JBL Playlist

Wireless powered speaker with Chromecast built-in and Bluetooth® (Black)

MFR # JBLPLYLIST150BLKAM

11 reviews
View this product

Pretty good speaker

Crutchfield customer from Clarks, NE on 3/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Connection to my phone was easy and it works just like it's supposed to. I've deducted one star because it needs to put out a little more bass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Playlist

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 12/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent speaker. I had a little trouble connecting bluetooth. I'll update review when I use the wifi portion.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worth a look

Paul from West Central MI on 8/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Definitely can fill the room with sound, but I consider it boomy (JBL trait?) and stereo imaging is weak (non-existent off-axis). It's in use on the kitchen counter, but may be better for a smaller room. I'll be looking for a true stereo sound option for this space soon. Note: JBL original box arrived wet but unit was dry inside, outer shipping box was dry also. Packers @ Crutchfield didn't notice? Oops.

Pros: Chromecast/WiFi works good

Cons: Weak imaging

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Playlist

Joel from Lajas, PR on 6/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield is Great!!!!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Love this product.

Eric from Montclair, NJ on 3/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The JBL Playlist really hits the sweet spot for me. It has both wifi support through the built-in Chromecast as well as bluetooth. I wanted something that was ready to go as soon as I walked in the house and this has met that desire completely. I am able to connect to the speaker and have it playing music within seconds of me walking in the house. And wifi over bluetooth has the obvious benefit of far less interference. I am very pleased with the sound as well. It blows away the great BT speakers I was using previously. Despite it being confined to one room, it really seems to fill the space in my house nicely as I move from room to room. The volume capability is well beyond what I need. I'm sure the thing is disrupting my neighbors at 50% volume. On top of that, the volume adjustments are very fine so it's easy to get the perfect volume. One of the benefits of having a built-in Chromcast is that I can extend it to a multi-room system without having to purchase additional units. I have a second chromecast audio hooked up to my receiver, so this speaker really just extends that to the rest of the house by creating a casting group. This was one of the reasons I chose this speaker over one of the more popular competitors. Setup was simple enough. The chromecast needed an update after it connected to my wifi but there was no real indication that that's what it was doing. After a few minutes, it came back online and was ready to cast. It has been

Pros: Wifi and bluetooth support Always ready to go Great sound Easily extended

Cons: Needs better feedback when doing chromecast updates JBL doesn't seem to have an equalizer app or at least confusing options

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JBL Playlist

Crutchfield customer from Paradise, CA on 3/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the Chromecast feature. Based on other reviews I was hoping for good bass. I would say the bass is normal for a speaker this size but nothing exceptional. Overall the sound quality very good. I wish I could justify having one of these in every room in my house.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sounds great, has trouble staying connected

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 2/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

High quality sound in a small package. However, this speaker will randomly disconnect from both WiFi and Bluetooth, and needs a hard power cycle (unplug from the wall) to recover. Tested with iPhone 6, 7, X, and Android (Pixel XL). Same connectivity issues.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Big Sound

GARY from Thousand Oaks, CA on 1/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought just one JBL Playlist to check it out. Little drain on cell phone battery using the Chromecast WiFi mode vs. bluetooth mode. The sound was fantastic on the back porch. Bought my second unit shortly afterward as planned after being overly satisfied with my first purchase. I had read positive reviews comparing the JBL to Sonos but less expensive. (Crutchfield's price was better than everyone else, and the free shipping was much faster than my other online purchases with a different online retailer during Cyber Monday) I currently have both units running in my garage (Man Cave). I have them set up to play both simultaneously. Big , big sound coming from my cell phone!!!

Pros: Good price for wifi speakers

Cons: Must be plugged into A/C outlet.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Terrific sound and easily positioned sine it is wireless

Tom from Overland Park, KS on 1/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounds, bass and treble notes, come out of this compact, but sounds larger speaker.

Pros: All good

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Perfect fit

Richard from Caldwell, ID on 11/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, easy setup. Exactly what we needed for our multi-room installation. Sales and service rep was on point, polite, amicable and knowledgeable.

Pros: Sound, ease of setup

Cons: A bit pricey, but my wife always says that I am cheap

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect Sonos replacement

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, VA on 7/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This speaker is exactly what I was looking for. I wanted a wired power Google Cast enabled speaker that produces a good amount of rich sound for a small room, and this JBL delivers. Trivially easy to set up and works wonderfully with cast groups; gives you the equivalent of Sonos bit for 1/6 the price!! I'll be getting more of these in the future.

Pros: Google Cast built in Wired power Bluetooth of desired Very easy setup

Cons: No VESA mounting holes for wall mounting No remote for volume

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

TOP