Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JBL Stage A170

Floor-standing speaker

MFR # JBLA170BLKAM

JBL Stage A170

JBL Stage A170

Floor-standing speaker

MFR # JBLA170BLKAM

25 reviews
View this product

JBL Stage A170

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 10/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing for the price. Hearing sounds that I never have heard before. Lives up to it's outstanding review in an audiophile publication. I have owned many loudspeakers over the years. The is the best price/performance I have ever encountered. Highly recommended!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Product!

Crutchfield customer from Hidden Vl Lk, CA on 10/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very pleased with these speakers! A little basey but still very nice. Got these for $179.00 each regularly they were $300.00 each. I am very happy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JBL Stage A170

Crutchfield customer from Hartselle, AL on 3/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the speakers -Sounds Great -Crutchfield keeps me rocking - I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THESE SPEAKERS TO ANYONE!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

JBL Stage A170

Crutchfield customer from Salem, OR on 3/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is great, but be careful with the legs. Just the weight of the speakers will break them if you tip them. I'm already on my second warranty return.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

Bad quality control

Crutchfield customer from Caguas, PR on 3/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One speaker no sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 10 found this helpful

JBL Stage A170

Crutchfield customer from Ledgewood, NJ on 3/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My source music is CD player and 100 watt Pioneer receiver. Dire Straits Brothers in Arms CD to test speaker sound. These speakers sound great. Very musical and accurate. I have set up in large 24 x 24 room. They do a pretty good job filling this big room. With a better amp they probably would sound even better. My other system is Yamaha 85 w integrated and Yamaha CD player with Q Acoustics 3050 speakers which have been rated my many as best floorstanding speakers under 1,000. The 3050s cost twice as much as the JBL. The JBL sound almost as good and in a direct comparison in the same room with same amp and source, the sound might be close to identical. The JBL might have not as wide of soundstage but the actual sound is excellent. Highly recommend.

Pros: Small footprint. Excellent look and build. Great sound and value.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

JBL Stage A170

Crutchfield customer from Wynne, AR on 3/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound! I love my towers!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

JBL Stage A170

SJ from Port Townsend, WA on 3/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Units arrived well packed and in good condition. Assembly and hookup was easy. The speakers are enjoyable to listen to and have a clear but not abrasive top end. The midrange isn't as defined as my B&Ws but then these didn't cost anywhere near as much, either! The only criticism is that they can be a wee bit 'boomy' if placed too near to a wall and that also depends on source material being played. Overall a decent and affordable addition to the household and non-fatiguing over longer periods.

Pros: Affordable. Easy to listen to. Not too large for a smaller room.

Cons: Prone to boominess if too near a wall.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Solid 10/10

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 2/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the prices these speakers are phenomenal. perfectly balanced and crisp

Pros: Great balanced sound

Cons: The grills are a bit tough to take off

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

JBL Stage A170

Crutchfield customer from Fort Pierce, FL on 2/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers work fine, but had a issue with one screw installing the feet. The attachment part in the speaker was defective so one foot has only one screw holding it. Other wise they look and sound good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 12 found this helpful

Great speakers, terrific value.

Crutchfield customer from Humble, TX on 2/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these to use as part of a dedicated 2 channel system. I hate surround sound for music. Its OK for the TV but lousy for music. I chose these as its a smaller room and guessed they'd be plenty (12X15). I am using them with a Yamaha 2 channel receiver and an Audio Technica turntable. The sound is great and very consistent at high and low volumes. Plenty of bass. No need for subwoofer. I also made a high end set of speaker wires which made a big difference.

Pros: Great sound, good looking, value

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

JBL Stage A170

Crutchfield customer from Crystal Lake, IL on 2/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers, great price! The sound is crisp and clear and the amount of base is incredible. Get a pair.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

JBL Stage A170

Crutchfield customer from Cheshire, MA on 2/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked fantastic for my basement entertainment room. Replaced some satellite surround speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Amazing speaker! Bulid quality could use some work.

Crutchfield customer from Corning, IA on 2/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pros: Amazing sound... Bi-Amping Cons: Stand is brittle and fradugile. Had to repair mine before install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

JBL Stage A170

Crutchfield customer from Roswell, NM on 2/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These sound awesome! Could not be happier with the outcome of adding these speakers to my system. And a shout out to Ivy who spent quite a bit of time helping me make the right decision. I'll never shop elsewhere for electronics!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Simply amazing.

Crutchfield customer from Glassboro, NJ on 2/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Smooth highs, clear articulate mids, ample lows. Imaging is precise and soundstage is v a s t. These speakers sound good right out of the box.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

JBL Stage A170

Crutchfield customer from Marrero, LA on 2/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Five star speaker I love it small but mighty

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

JBL Stage A170

Crutchfield customer from Hornell, NY on 2/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome is only word that comes to mind.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Crystal clear sound

Crutchfield customer from Saint Augustine, FL on 12/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are amazing speakers the sound is incredible definitely makes me feel like I'm at a live concert..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

JBL Stage A170

Crutchfield customer from Rock Hill, SC on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Saint Joseph

Stephen from Saint Joseph on 5/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just made my last payment for a pair of these bad boys. Thanks Crutchfield! I must say these a170s exceeded my expectations and then some. Back in the 90's I had a roommate that owned a bookshelf pair of JBL 2600's. I loved the transparency and clairity of those speakers and never heard any others near their price range that could beat or even match the way the JBL tweeters made the high end sound so crisp and natural. Fast forward 25 years , I came across the a170's while researching , I wanted to find the best bang for your buck floorstanding speaker under $500. I believe I have found that pair with the JBL a170. Its been 25 years since ive been this satisfied with what im hearing. They never fail to put a smile on my face, they never leave me wanting more and the more I turn them up the better they sound. These JBLS have legs to stretch. The imaging is fantastic. I have them 10 ft apart with just a smidge of toe in and the very first time I hooked them up I thought for sure my center channel was on .,I litterally go up and walked over to make sure no sound was coming from the center channel speaker, thats how good these A170's image. Big soundstage , fat stereo imaging, the mids are smooth and accurate. They tackle whatever you throw at them. I listen to funk, jazz, rock. Its like whatever I listen to I come away thinking that's then best I ever heard that tune ever! If you are looking for audiophile worthy sound on a budget you cant beat the a170's

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

21 of 22 found this helpful

JBL Stage A170

Crutchfield customer from BOLINGBROOK, IL on 5/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There is a reason all reviews of this speaker are 5 star. The reviews I have seen online are true. Wonderful speaker no coloration. I wanted to create the sound I remember hearing years ago and just knowing the quality of a stereo system by the sound. My measure is what a real instrument sounds like and these are pretty close. For the price it's a win.

Pros: As close to a real acoustic guitar that I have heard.

Cons: None though I might be tempted in the future to get more JBL speakers.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Johnny J Monaco

Crutchfield customer from Franklin, PA on 9/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

everything I expected and more . and from the reports on these JBL 170's.from the expert's,forget those 1000 dollar plus speakers and invest in a new Denon receiver

Pros: all

Cons: non

Crutchfield response on

21 of 22 found this helpful

JBL Winner

David from Shepherdstown, WV on 6/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exceptional sounding speakers at a bargin price. The sound is clear, uncolored, and satisfying. Build quality is at a high standard and the size will accommodate any room. Buy a pair before they are sold out!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

27 of 28 found this helpful

JBL Stage A170

Crutchfield customer from Corona, CA on 6/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

awesome im really enjoying the great sound they produce im so glad i went with these! and the best part is that its delivered real fast thank you crutchfield!

Pros: all good with this product

Cons: none that i can hear

Crutchfield response on

29 of 31 found this helpful

TOP