Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JBL Stage A180

Floor-standing speaker

MFR # JBLA180BLKAM

JBL Stage A180

JBL Stage A180

Floor-standing speaker

MFR # JBLA180BLKAM

16 reviews
View this product

2nd childhood

Crutchfield customer from Roseville, MI on 9/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with JBL speakers. A good match for Cambridge ax 100 receiver. Planning on adding a subwoofer in the future but nothing too big.

Pros: Very good separation in music.

Cons: Lacks some low end but great for the money

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Spectacular sound!

Crutchfield customer from Bowling Green, KY on 9/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I read all of the available reviews and watched videos on the Stage series before purchasing the A180's and boy were they right! I love most all genres of music and whatever I play sounds wonderful. The same goes for movies! I definitely recommend these to anyone looking for Audiophile quality at a great price. I am running these with the matching series center channel and dual Yamaha subs. My Yamaha receiver has no problem driving them. No need to change the impedance setting from 8 to 6 ohms. Crutchfield's service is outstanding. Two day delivery as promised. I'm one happy customer!

Pros: Soundstage, accurate base, crystal clear highs

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Exceptional Sound for the $$$

Crutchfield customer from Plainfield, IL on 6/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers for the price! Descent lows but great mids and super clear highs. My music fills the room now and and I can't be happier with these speakers. Always loved JBL's and still do. They sound way better than my Polk Audio bookshelves I had before

Pros: Super clear fantastic mids and can't beat the speaker in the same money range

Cons: Could use a little better woofer but overall good unless your looking for super deep bass

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

JBL Stage A180

Crutchfield customer from Ambridge, PA on 6/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers have great clarity and the bass is more than enough for my 10 X 14 room. They sound great at any volume and really shine cranking out rock and metal.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

JBL Stage A180

Crutchfield customer from Wilmington, DE on 5/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If someone is looking for front home theater tower speakers buy these JBL stage A180 speakers , they have strong bass and a nice clear quality sound that you can use for home theater or just playing stereo music ??.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Great sounding speakers

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 5/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought these on sale and they are well worth it. Well constructed and stable. The feet are sturdy. The speakers sound great at ~10ft listening position. I use them with a Yamaha RX-V385 receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

JBL Stage A180

Crutchfield customer from Pasco, WA on 5/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As great as I expected!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 10 found this helpful

Great sound, great value.

Crutchfield customer from Grove City, OH on 4/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was looking for a pair of vintage speakers to match with a vintage Sherwood receiver. Frustrated with sky-high prices on desirable speakers, I thought I'd "settle" for these. Great sale on an already outstanding value. They have imaging and soundstage that I like, and yes, they rock when asked to. 2 caveats: they have an industrial look, so they won't excite those who want a looker. Also, JBL would do well to use a heavier grade cardboard for 40+ pound speakers. Mine came crushed which resulted in minor damage to one speaker. Terrific speakers, though. Highly recommended!

Pros: Big, clean, powerful sound. Excellent integration of horn tweeter and bass/mid drivers.

Cons: Plain looks, but not unattractive.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

Fantastic value!

Tom from Jacksonville, FL on 3/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I shopped around a lot before choosing these JBLs. It was only after I realized the importance of each speaker manufacturer's "house sound" that I knew I wanted JBLs. The JBL California sound is just something that resonates with me (literally and figuratively) and I knew that the JBL build quality would be very good. My only issue is that I had to sacrifice good looks for good sound in my music room which just happens to be my living room and the first room visitors see in my home. I'd have been happier if these had been offered in a light wood tone or white. But at the end of the day, it's the sound that matters most and I'm very happy with their performance, especially at the sale price I paid for mine. I couldn't find a better performing speaker at this price point.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

Refreshing

Crutchfield customer from Ocean Springs, MS on 3/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm quite pleased with my JBL's. I was a bit worried upon arrival because the cartons were punctured in several places. Nothing got to the enclosures though, phew! I'm using them in my studio as one of my reference sources. After forcing quality sound through monitors it's very refreshing to here a mix come out the way it's meant to be heard! These speakers meet that challenge, no sweat! Bill GumboGrooveStudios

Pros: Outstanding sound reproduction, no fatigue at any level!

Cons: Shipping cartons need more foam inside to reduce heart failure when mangled package is delivered

Crutchfield response on

11 of 13 found this helpful

Must have SPEAKERS!

Crutchfield customer from Westerly, RI on 2/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The floor stand speakers are just what I needed for my home stereo system. The speaker footings were easy to assemble and hook up to my Yamaha receiver. The sound quality is EXCELLENT and I'm delighted to play my vinyl again, albums and 45s! I highly recommend these JBL speakers for your home entertainment center! Thanks you!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

JBL Stage A180

Crutchfield customer from Webster, NY on 2/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like them

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 18 found this helpful

JBL Stage A180

Taylor from Riverton, UT on 2/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are just what I was looking for, and I got them on sale, and now they're frequently going on sale for even less than what I pad. I found a great deal on some ELAC F5.2 towers, but they just didn't sound... right. I thought it was because I wanted a metal dome, and after seeing reviews on the Stage A170 and finally seeing the series on sale, I decided these were my upgrade. Since they were only 2.5 way instead of the ELACs 3 way, I thought I would be downgrading in mid-range. Everything with the Stage A180 is better, without a doubt. I listen to these on a vintage NAD 2200 in a room that's way too big for any speaker without a subwoofer, and I'm constantly impressed. My friend, who currently owns my old ELACs, asked if he could buy these from me (eventually...). A few months after getting these home, I noticed the Studio 580s were on sale for just a little bit more, and I was mad at myself for not waiting for those, considering their base price of $1000 I think? But after hearing a pair of the 530s that another friend let me borrow, I just didn't like the treble or tonality as much as the Stage A180s, even though I thought compression tweeter treble was exactly what I needed!

Pros: Huge sound, easy to drive so they get LOUD with 100+ watts, imaging, treble is only fatiguing on poorly recorded tracks with cheap Class D amps.

Cons: Damaged in shipping (not sure if this is actually a con on the speakers, or UPS)

Crutchfield response on

15 of 20 found this helpful

Great Buy

Crutchfield customer from Holt, FL on 3/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice Finish and Solid build. I expected that from JBL , in which bought my 1st pair of speakers from. The bass is powerful, but not super defined , like a pair of Elacs. The mistake and hi,s are smooth, not harsh Vocals are clear and they Image well.

Pros: Great bass , especially for home theater.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

14 of 19 found this helpful

JBL is tried & true!

MYKAL from Ca on 1/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

JBL is tried & true! I own a pair of JBL Arena 180's which are part of a complete Arena ATMOS HT setup. I had Klipsch SF1 before these and the JBL's bring a 3D realism that wasn't there before. Moreover, the JBL's are a better performer at reference volume levels. Why? They don't hurt your ears when the volume is pushed hard. The more power you give em' the better they perform as well. However, an entry level AV receiver will easily drive these Stage 180's as well as the Arena 180's to theatrical volume without harshness or db fatigue. JBL's really setting the bar with their line of speakers.

Pros: Realism

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

21 of 23 found this helpful

Big accurate sound

Crutchfield customer from Pittsburgh, PA on 3/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My listening room is big, so I needed a big sound. These speakers, along with the matched sub-woofer, fit perfectly into the décor of the room. As for the sound, it is exactly what I was seeking. It is first and foremost, accurate. They can reproduce the sound at the live-sound recorded level with smooth frequency response and good accuracy, especially as to the reproduced size of the instruments. The stereo field is vivid at the sweet spot of 10 feet. For my needs, a large accurate sound in a big space, these speakers "fit the bill."

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

34 of 39 found this helpful

TOP