Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
225 277 584 3
Connect ID #
225 277 584 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

JBL Stage A190

Floor-standing speaker

MFR # JBLA190BLK

JBL Stage A190

JBL Stage A190

Floor-standing speaker

MFR # JBLA190BLK

16 reviews
View this product

Intoxicating at high volume levels!

Crutchfield customer from Fremont, MI on 3/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Literally the best sounding speaker I've owned. The clarity and punch at extreme levels is intoxicating. Crutchfield service has been outstanding throughout my 30+ years as a customer.

Pros: Awesome JBL sound quality

Cons: Cabinet material.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

A Bargain Without Compromise

Crutchfield customer from North Canton, OH on 3/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Superbly phenomenal performance and sound quality! The Stage A190 replaced a pair of Polk Audio RTi A7, that I'd had for about six months. Paired up with a Klipsch R-120SW subwoofer, the difference was immediately evident.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JBL Stage A190

Crutchfield customer from Anchorage, AK on 3/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these as a long-overdue upgrade to a set of bookshelf speakers I'd picked up at a thrift store several years ago. The difference is like night and day (obviously) and SO worth it. These compare very well with the last set of floor standing speakers I had (Boston Acoustics, at about 4x the cost of these). Sound is amazing, and listening to vinyl is now actually something I enjoy, rather than merely convincing myself that I did. I am powering these with a Sony receiver (about 9 years old) putting out 110 watts per channel, and I feel they could use a little more power to be at their best when I want it loud, but my house is very small and they perform excellently at normal listening volumes - they just get a little weak when I try to rattle the windows. My only complaint is the fact that the cabinets are fake wood. UPS put a ding in the back of one during shipping, and due to the fake wood cabinets, I immediately had to put tape over it, as otherwise the material just flakes into dust. Luckily it was on the back and I had some good black fabric tape, so it's almost impossible to see, but for the price (and from JBL), I would have expected at least a high quality plywood for the cabinets.

Pros: Sound quality Appearance

Cons: Cabinets are fake wood and flake away with the slightest ding.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Stage A190

Crutchfield customer from Loudon, TN on 2/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers purchased at a great sale price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Stage A190

Crutchfield customer from Kent, WA on 2/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The jury's still out on these. They are intended to replace 40-year-old L100's. It's probably not apples to apples, but these are a little brighter and a little tighter. I can't tell if the brightness is because being taller than the L100's I'm simply more on-axis to the tweeters, or because they're actually brighter. Unfortunately I don't have a way of doing A-B switching. One thing for sure, these are a phenomenal bargain considering that they compare easily with L100's.

Pros: Solidly built, tight bass, bright and tight mid to upper. Good presence.

Cons: None, really.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Stage, JBL Stage!

Emil from RCHO STA MARG, CA on 2/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like the way they sound paired with my Yamaha receiver. They are very well balanced tonally. They're awesome! I love their pure and simple aesthetics too. These speakers replaced my Cerwin Vega XLS-6 s, which had a deep horn loaded soft dome tweeter. The biggest difference I noticed with these JBLs is that the sound stage is soooo much bigger and the sweet spot for listening is enormous. Even though these speakers have aluminum dome tweeters their highs are surprisingly smooth but slightly more emphasized and detailed than previous speakers which I'm very happy about. These speakers may not be built with exotic materials and wood veneers, but their build quality and JBL's engineering truly makes up for that.

Pros: Smooth detailed highs, almost Neutral & natural sounding aaaand Fun to listen to! Huuuge sound stage!

Cons: Now I need more Powaaa!!!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Stage A190

Crutchfield customer from Northbridge, MA on 2/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice sounding speaker, pair with a sub woofer and it sounds like you are on stage.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Stage A190

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 2/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great performance. I've been really happy with how they sound across the whole range. Bass is really punchy and highs come through clean. Aesthetically not my favorite but knew that when buying them.

Pros: Sound quality Easy setup Different feet options

Cons: Grills are not magnetic Feel less dynamic and detailed at low volume

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JBL Stage A190

Crutchfield customer from Torrance, CA on 1/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I don't have a ton of experience buying stereo equipment but these certainly sound nice. It's only been a few weeks so I still haven't exited the wear in period but the speakers look and sound great, good bass, great for watching sports, movies, etc. Would highly recommend, especially if on sale!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Beautiful speakers worth every penny

Dale from Westerly, RI on 1/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hi everyone. I purchased these a few weeks ago not really expecting much from them. At the time I was driving them with a Yamaha vx-385 receiver. I definitely wasn't pushing them hard at all and they still sounded really good. I just purchased a Yamaha RX-v6a with a Niles SL-250 amp. Let me tell you it is amazing. The niles amp drives those speakers beautifully. I am no audiophile by any stretch of the imagination, but I have been around audio enough to know these are amazing speakers. They handle 200 watts rms each without any sign of problems. Beautiful crisps, mids and lows. The base is quite impressive and along with my sub it is superb. I have a room in our basement that I use for workout and after party when we have guests. Basically it is a night club now and I am not even joking! Buy these, but make sure you drive them properly. push them to their max!

Pros: Exceptional sound quality that you can push hard.

Cons: Absolutely nothing.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

JBL Stage A190

Crutchfield customer from Fairborn, OH on 1/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Start with the best sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Great all around speakers

Brandon from Kent, WA on 1/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers! They have a lot of bass! A lot of clarity! And a nice warm midrange that sounds like real humans are talking and not thin sounding like some horn speakers do! They are easy to drive them, so don't be worried about the 6 ohm rating they get loud quick!!!! I love these speakers!!!!!

Pros: Everything

Cons: They could look a little better but the sound quality makes up for that!

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

JBL Stage A190

Crutchfield customer from Mayaguez, PR on 9/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very beautiful speaker and the sound is perfect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 7 found this helpful

OLD SCHOOL...WELL BALANCED!!!

mike from Overland Park, KS on 7/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

EXCELLENT SPEAKERS!!!...JBL nailed these!...Extremely well balanced sound. Nothing over bearing on these unlike other brands I've heard. In most cases these days Old School is GOOD! New Technology does not always equal better; just more convenient and cheaper to manufacture. Watching movies and listening to audio are both well defined and natural no coloring at all. Highs are articulate, Mids well balanced, Lows accurate. I was nervous about the 2.5 way but was pleasantly surprised. They do need break in time as any speaker. Like the design ofn the feet, especially for wood floors. Only one Negative: speakers do not have any fasteners accessible from outside the cabinet. If one goes bad you will either need to buy a new one or send it in to JBL. One of my woofers went bad two weeks in and had to ship it back and have a replacement sent. Not sure if they are worth full price do to that, but if you find them on sale? Worth every penny and then some.

Pros: Well Balanced...Articulate...NO Coloring...affordable.

Cons: As far as sound?.. NONE!..Speaker attachment to Cabinet may not be user friendly

Crutchfield response on

10 of 12 found this helpful

JBL Stage A190

Crutchfield customer from Commerce Twp, MI on 6/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful! Crystal clear! Buy , you won't be disappointed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

JBL Stage A190

Crutchfield customer from Toano, VA on 3/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great, better than expected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 10 found this helpful

TOP