Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

License-plate mount backup camera with microphone

MFR # BUCAM400AJ

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

License-plate mount backup camera with microphone

MFR # BUCAM400AJ

61 reviews
View this product

Awesome backup camera

Guam671 from Dededo, Guam on 10/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was very easy to install, didn't work at first but with a little patience, I got to work fine on my 2006 Chevrolet 1500 Silverado thank you Crutchfield. Will be back for more upgrades.

Pros: Easy install

Cons: 2 many install options

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from Dededo, GU on 10/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A little difficult to install but got to work

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Replacement cameras for vehicles

Crutchfield customer from Rougemont, NC on 9/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently had purchased a Jensen BUCAM300AJ for my wife's 2015 Camaro and was very happy with the build quality and the image quality of that camera. When it came time replace the cheap cameras I purchased on eBay years back for my other three vehicles I decided to try what I thought was a newer version BUCAM400AJ. When I received these cameras I noticed that they looked exactly like the cameras I was replacing. The build quality was similar to the previous cameras I was replacing and the image quality was not as good either. They are were easy to install because I was just replacing cameras already installed. I'm hoping that the quality will exceed the cameras I was replacing. Time will tell.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Build and image quality not as robust as Jensen BUCAM300AJ

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from Westchester, IL on 6/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up and works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from Hanover, MA on 6/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Terrible picture, but works.

Crutchfield customer from Skokie, IL on 5/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really bad picture, double image and out of focus, but good enough until I can replace it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from Levittown, PA on 4/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wired the camera up to my new Kenwood head unit per supplied instructions. When I shifted my car into reverse, the video screen was black with the words "No Video Signal!". Leaving two stars and not one because install was easy and shipping was super fast.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 5/4/2021
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him with his camera. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from Muskegon, MI on 4/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from Amery, WI on 1/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Its a backup cam. Resolution is OK, but have seen better. Supplied harness is reported to be a little longer than most other units.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Quality image, installed on long-bed truck

Crutchfield customer from Clanton, AL on 1/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed as expected. Image quality is very good. It has audio capability that I did not need, so I left unconnected. Cable was long enough to install on my 2002 Ram 2500 extended cab with an 8ft bed. Very happy with this purchase. Sufficient install instructions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Stopped working

Joseph from NEWBERG on 10/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At first the camera worked nicely but after two day of use it stopped working, went back and checked the wiring and fuse and all was ok but still doesn't work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/14/2020
Joseph contacted our Tech Support team and we sent out a replacement camera right away. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

7 of 7 found this helpful

Great camera

Crutchfield customer from Covington, GA on 10/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Backup camera is crystal clear and works great with the jensen nav unit. It came with just enough cable that I did not have to use a extender in my 08 Silverado. I did unhook the mic. First time I used it in a busy parking lot is was way too loud.

Pros: Works great

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rear Camera

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 10/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Assuming if was just my camera, it never powered up. Reinstalled wiring twice. Confirmed with Tech support who were very helpful. Returned item.plan on buying new rear camera down the road. It was a lot of work finding correct wires on my 2001 Ford F250 Lariat 7.3 Crewcab. Need a break.

Pros: Easy mount

Cons: Never turned on.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from Barceloneta, PR on 9/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exelent back view and clear

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good when it worked

Kevin from Nevada on 8/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this camera about 2 weeks ago. I just got the time to install it. It worked very good for a day and then it stopped working. Very disappointed.

Pros: Good quality

Cons: Didn't last more than a day

Crutchfield response on 9/1/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to Kevin to help him further. We'll either help him get the camera working correctly, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from Gypsum, CO on 8/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from Millbury, MA on 7/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent shopping experience as always.

Pros: Good installation instructions

Cons: Installation pictures good be clearer

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Well done

Crutchfield customer from Covington, GA on 7/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crystal clear and adjustable

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

cool camera

Crutchfield customer from Sarasota, FL on 6/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to hook up but I would recommend using the 2nd option.

Pros: nice pic

Cons: directions were in chinenglish

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great little add-on

Crutchfield customer from Remington, IN on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed it on my buddies vehicle to go with his Jensen head unit. Works great.

Pros: Good video quality, microphone is great at picking up voices

Cons: Has a little blue wire that you leave as-is if you want parking lines, or cut it if you dont want p as rking lines. The wire is pointless because the Jensen head unit allows you to turn on/off the parking lines. The wire is pointless. Plus if you cut it but decide that you want parking lines later on, you are gonna have to do alot of work to get them back.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from Rincon, GA on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Image is clear and it was easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome Value!!

Crutchfield customer from Dacula, GA on 5/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Camera, easy install came with 19 ft of cable that includes a power line for camera

Pros: Great picture

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from Doylestown, PA on 5/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera works nicely......great clarity!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Good setup

Crutchfield customer from Troy, MI on 5/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like this camera paired with a jensen radio with a 10" display. The audio and video is good quality and you can remove the path lines simply by cutting the blue wire, i have not.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from Bend, OR on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This backup camera works fine. I wish it would make a beeping noise if there is an obstruction behind you or passing car, but it doesn't. I also wish we were provided better installation instructions. I had to find everything about removing all of the trim panels and various pieces of the car by myself.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Excellent value

Crutchfield customer from Rockwell City, IA on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality picture works well in dark with reverse lights

Pros: Good picture, easy to install and the camera is barely noticeable

Cons: The connectors are a little bigger than I would have liked

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from Bellingham, WA on 4/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation, great picture, and fantastic customer service. Only in place for a couple of weeks now and time will tell. The last camera we had died after a year and was bought from another place.

Pros: Works without the audio line installed, if you don't already have that one set up and don't want to tear open your dash.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Josh from KIRKWOOD, MO on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This camera is very clear and bright. The only drawback is that the pigtails from the camera are not very long. I had to make the connections outside of the car and tuck them behind the bumper. If they were longer I could have made the connections on the inside of the trunk.

Pros: Price. Very Clear. Bright.

Cons: Pigtails too short.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Harry K from MYAKKA CITY, FL on 3/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clear crisp camera image and the colors are good. I'm using the camera's built in assistance lines and disabled the stereo receiver's lines. Connected power to truck's trailer towing harness. At night when shifting to reverse the camera provides more than adequate visibility using the truck's back-up lights (since the camera doesn't have built-in IR). Only recommendation would be to buy (or plan on making it yourself) some extension RCA lines. The out of the box cable is a few feet short of reaching the center of the dash with a full size crew cab long bed truck.

Pros: Easy to install and power. Pretty good picture quality at night when using vehicle's own back-up lights.

Cons: Maybe provide or suggest purchasing a longer RCA cable length for full size pick-ups.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Guest from Boise, ID on 1/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased from Crutchfield via eBay. Camera worked well for less than 2 months and then it quit. Now all I am getting is a black screen on my receiver, seemed to be a slow failure as the image would come up slowly or be distorted and then get fuzzy before finally quitting altogether. Guessing the housing isn't as weatherproof as it needs to be? Checked wiring and all seems solid, it's been on my vehicle less than 2 months shouldn't have failed this fast.

Pros: Decent image quality Built in guidelines

Cons: Could use better instructions for wiring/ install Wires were barely long enough to reach on my Dodge Ram 1500

Crutchfield response on 2/3/2020
Once we saw this review, our Order Support manager, Vinnie, sent out a replacement to this customer right away. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support or Tech Support teams right away.

2 of 3 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from Swannanoa, NC on 1/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works well good picture and microphone

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from Yacolt, WA on 1/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm a75 year old, who wouldn't like a backup camera? It's a long way to turn around to look. I saves me having to backup by ear! Thank you for a quality product. Keith R.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from Royal Plm Bch, FL on 1/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does the job no problem.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from Loxley, AL on 1/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really easy install. As I knew the hardest was running the video line from trunk to dash. The parking assist lines on the display are right on.

Pros: Easy install. Their suggestion to get power and reverse input from the back up lights in the trunk desk really worked well.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from Bluff City, TN on 1/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great but installation instructions could be clearer

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from Chuckey, TN on 1/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy instilling this camera

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good deal

Crutchfield customer from Chester, PA on 12/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works fine very clear.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great video camera.

Crutchfield customer from Gretna, NE on 12/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to install and gives a great image to visualize what is behind your vehicle. I eagle lid purchase a third one if I needed another.

Pros: Price and easy to install.. very user friendly, I have purchased 2 of this item for of my children's vehicles , mostly for safety reasons.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from Maylene, AL on 12/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install, great pic from camera. Wish the leads from camera were longer so they could be hidden in tailgate of Jeep but overall harness was perfect length for my Jeep jku.

Pros: Great price, good picture

Cons: Short harness on camera end

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from Chula Vista, CA on 12/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture, works well with my JVC stereo

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from Morgantown, IN on 12/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does not work

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/24/2019
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

It's a camera

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 12/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instructions took me a minute to figure out but picture was good and it has a mic.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from West Milton, OH on 12/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works, has a good picture. Wires were a bit short, even for my BMW 330Ci convertible, so I had to be creative to run the harness all the way to the head unit. I can see that you might need extensions on larger vehicles. The RCA plugs are pretty large to run through the rubber boot between the body and the trunk. My head unit has a function to turn on the reverse camera at any time, but since the camera is powered by the reverse lights, there's no image unless you are in reverse.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from Newark, IL on 12/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, good clarity

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 12/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

awesome product.. super easy to install... needed it for upgrading my vehicle..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from Barrow, AK on 11/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well, easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from Bronson, MI on 11/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Price and delivery were impressive, More stars possible when the unit is installed and operating.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from Mayfield, KY on 11/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price this is not a bad camera. Simple to hook up.

Pros: Works well for price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from Galt, CA on 10/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome backup camera.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from Auburn, CA on 9/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product easy to install, it's plug and play with the Jensen backup camera that's on my camper so when I take the camper off I just plug this one that's on the license plate in. I can't see my trailer hitch ball which is why I wanted this but it's just not in the line of sight of the camera.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bobs backup cam

Crutchfield customer from Hartland, WI on 9/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works better then expected Was fairly easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good fir the pice

Crutchfield customer from Glenview, IL on 9/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty good the ted line representing your bumpbwe is a bit aged of itslef but you get to know it pretty good and know where your bumper is after about a week

Pros: God price Fast response

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product!

Crutchfield customer from Anderson, IN on 8/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean install, but the directions could be confusing to a novice installer. However, the picture us great, even in the dark.

Pros: Great picture, clean look.

Cons: Installation instructions.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from Haymarket, VA on 8/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation was straight forward and camera seems to work well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from Kansas City, MO on 8/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

seems to work good /much better than the pyle I had

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good camera for the price

Crutchfield customer from Wakefield, RI on 8/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Interesting display besides the normal bars there are red yellow and green cones that appear to be floating , it took time getting used to a little busy. Where it helps is backing in the garage we have bike racks that sit above the bumper but allows you to see how close you are with the floating cones in the picture display

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from Ranson, WV on 8/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice camera. Clear display. Bracket hides nicely behind the license plate. When you're done it's discrete and almost looks factory.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from Palm Harbor, FL on 8/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The physical camera box snapped in half while trying to adjust the camera and for real, it was not that much pressure. I used E6000 and a zip tie to finish it and contacted Crutchfield. They are sending a new camera (although I stuck with the same brand I did change camera types as I was concerned with the form factor). The above said, the camera visual quality worked well but the sound seemed to reset the radio. So I chose not to connect the sound. Maybe I wired something wrong but I don't think so.

Pros: Visual camera is good.

Cons: Quality of the case. Sound seemed to short or reset the radio. Cord to get to the back was just a little short. Should be longer.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good, not great

Crutchfield customer from Blacklick, OH on 7/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall a decent camera that installed easily. The biggest problem with this device is that the wire is extremely thin and cheap. It was almost impossible to strip. I have concerns about how long the wiring will hold up under the vehicle because of the quality. It was long enough to run from the back of my truck to the head unit without any extension cable.

Pros: Field of view, built in lines

Cons: Wire Quality

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Jensen BUCAM400AJ

Crutchfield customer from Lubbock, TX on 7/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This cam works great and is a cinch to install once you plan a route.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP