Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Jensen CAR1000

Digital multimedia receiver with 10.1" touchscreen

MFR # CAR1000

Jensen CAR1000

Jensen CAR1000

Digital multimedia receiver with 10.1" touchscreen

MFR # CAR1000

54 reviews
View this product

Decent

Giovani from BRIDGEPORT, CT on 10/20/2020

2013 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pros: Price. Screen. Sound.

Cons: Rear USB has inconsistent charging. Android Auto freezes about 30 percent of the time. Volume automatically set to 12 when switching sources.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

big screen for the car!

Crutchfield customer from Ormond Beach, FL on 10/19/2020

2007 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit. Big screen. Hooking up the screen to the unit is the only BIG minus with this purchase as it is unnecessarily difficult to bolt up! Other than that, no problems and does what it was purchased for

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great unit.

Natan from MCKINNEY, TX on 10/11/2020

2012 Honda CRV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit with affordable price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Possible power shortage

Crutchfield customer from Fairborn, OH on 10/3/2020

2013 Chevrolet Cruze

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As of rite now the only issue I have is the fact that I can't turn the volume up past 29 or 30 out of the highest level of 45. What happens is the screen goes out and the music stops! Not a good look at all. Can't figure it out for myself because I didnt install the eck and don't even know where to start with any troubleshooting or whtevr!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

110% recommend

Guest from Newton, KS on 9/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super nice unit, very smooth functionality. Fit great and video Quality is amazing

Pros: Huge screen and very smooth operation

Cons: None found

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Crystal River, FL on 9/29/2020

2013 Mazda 2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice radio. CarPlay work well and unlike other reviews I've read my settings don't clear when I turn the radio off

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Union City, OH on 9/29/2020

2006 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an awesome unit! I ended up returning it due to clearance with my gear shift as I was afraid it would damage the screen over time. If I need another radio in another vehicle this will be an option for sure

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Buy it - What a nice unit, glad I bought it for my JK Wrangler

Crutchfield customer from Normal, IL on 9/27/2020

2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I waited quite a while to make this purchase, I am glad I bought it, it's a good looking head unit. Display is vibrant, looks amazing in my Jeep. I added a back up camera, which looks great on that big screen. For the money it has great features. The only thing I wish was different is I wish I could angle it towards the drivers seat for better view....Maybe next gen.

Pros: Great price Beautiful touch screen Screen can be tilted slightly up or down during install Backup camera can be added and view is amazing

Cons: Touch screen is not removeable quickly (4 small screws hold it) Setting the tilt angle is somewhat permanent (4 screws need removed to change it) Cannot change screen angle to left or right.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome!!

Crutchfield customer from Prompton, PA on 9/24/2020

2011 Ford F-250

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this radio! Waited so long to replace my stock radio in my 2011 F-250. Couldn't find the right one for me. This one is perfect. Only down side was that it wouldn't pick up the rear camera. Solved that by getting an adapter from infotainment.com. Also got a mic adapter from ending.com so I could use the stock mic position. Wish Crutchfield had offered them as an option, but was able to get them regardless. Would definitely recommend this to anyone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice size

Crutchfield customer from West Palm Beach, FL on 9/21/2020

2013 Chrysler Town and Country

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice radio, fits well in my Town & Country

Pros: Fits my car well

Cons: Had to cut the older radio frame... very concerned but worked out well

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

mediocre head unit.

Tim from FEDERAL WAY, WA on 9/13/2020

2011 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

if you don't use android auto there really isn't anything special about this. The big screen is nice for maps but that's about it. Don't think you can play any video on it and it has a huge bezel. There is no adjustment side-to-side at all. There is some tilt to it but not once it's installed. So if there's any glare there's nothing you can do about it. The volume starts on 11 every time you turn it on, so I have to constantly change it whenever it starts up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Hampton, VA on 9/13/2020

2006 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid product. Attaching the screen is a nightmare.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Love the screen!

Crutchfield customer from Castle Pines, CO on 9/10/2020

2004 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the screen! This stereo is packed with features, but the screen really sets it apart. Looks great and easy to use. I'd definitely buy it again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

autoplay

Crutchfield customer from Elkhart, IN on 9/10/2020

2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Android autoplay did not work with my LG Stylo 4 phone

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Good Product

Crutchfield customer from Vacaville, CA on 9/10/2020

2014 Ford F-150 STX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product love the big screen look, just takes little long for unit to register I got iPhone hooked up for CarPlay, also at times CarPlay would already be on and the screen won't display right away, but overall worlks like supposed to and nice screen!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Big Screen With Not Much Else

Crutchfield customer from CUMBERLAND GAP, TN on 9/9/2020

2014 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you wanted a big screen to replace your existing radio with Android Auto/Apple CarPlay, at the lowest cost, this is it. The screen is nice and big, and reminds me of the fancier head units newer cars have. Unfortunately, that's about where the pros end. The resolution is pretty poor for a screen its size. The audio levels will reset every time you turn off your car. The head unit's UI is mediocre at best. Fortunately for me, I just plug in my Android phone, and use Android Auto. I rarely have to deal with the built-in software.

Pros: Big screen.

Cons: Low resolution. Volume levels reset every start up.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Its a nice upgrade from factory, but some issues leave it a bit flat

Ray from ARNOLD, MO on 9/7/2020

2002 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the screen size. Touch response is quick. Remote is handy. Does not have RDS or HD which is a bummer. Android Auto connection with phone is flaky. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. I've tried many different ways to get it to connect when it doesn't connect automatically, but when it doesn't want to connect, it just won't, and I have to wait till the next time it autoconnects. Although it has a rotary volume knob, it is not your normal rotary volume control. A rotary should gradually, and linearly, raise and lower the volume. This unit doesn't. It does it in steps as if pressing a remote button. This is annoying since I was expecting a smooth volume raise. Instead, it jumps from one level to the next. Change from 16 to 17 is big. So is 17 to 18. I'm giving it four stars only because its such a huge jump from the factory stereo, otherwise it would be a three.

Pros: Screen size. Touch screen response. Moving map function.

Cons: Android Auto connection not consistent. Volume knob is not linear, and changes volume in steps instead of smoothly. Doesn't have RDS.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Keeper

Crutchfield customer from Liberty Center, OH on 9/6/2020

2010 Dodge Journey

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this stereo! Pros: Nice screen (like running your car stereo from your smart pad). Smooth operations All the options and more Cons: Not really a "Con" but more of a suggestion: The screen doesn't have a quick disconnect which would be nice as an anti-theft tool. I'm simply throwing a sweatshirt over it to keep advertising it at a min. That's the only downside on this unit that I see. Highly suggest this unit. Top notch.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

3 Stars

Robert from LEHIGH ACRES, FL on 9/1/2020

2011 Ford F-150 XL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like it alot far as operations and stuff... I hooked up a rear camera on a ford f-150 and it was seamless . The android auto is dream it mutes the radio as it barks out orders the next turn =P It Great... The only issue I have is the default volume level it's a issue~~~~ It a pain I need to turn up the volume up everytime I get in the truck and start up the truck... Default lvl is set at like 11 ... I search the internet high-and-low and there is no way to change default volume lvl it SUCKS... so because of that I give the radio 3 stars ... After spending this much, I want a radio I don't wanna mess with ever time I get in my truck...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/7/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to Robert to help him further. We'll either help him get the receiver working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Jon from Birmingham, AL on 9/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really enjoy this head unit and I mostly got it just for the carplay feature to be safer while looking at maps when I'm driving. It looks really good in my F250 but I dont like how it looks in some of the other vehicles.

Pros: Large screen Quick boot up Carplay

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Giant upgrade from factory system

Crutchfield customer from Morgan City, LA on 8/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed it about 2 weeks ago and have really enjoyed the sound and functionality of the unit. having the ability to use maps from the phone was the biggest selling point.

Pros: Android Auto play giant screen ease of use

Cons: none yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Paul from DALZELL, SC on 8/29/2020

2010 Nissan Frontier SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely love this headunit. Was easy to install. The 10.1 screen is awesome! Has lots of great features: Apple Car Play-Android Auto, built in EQ, front/rear rca, subwoofer, video inputs, rear camera input, etc. The only thing I wish was included was being Sirius XM ready then it would have been perfect. Very much worth the great price it's offered at. My daughter loves it in here 2010 Nissan Frontier.

Pros: 10.1 floating display Apple Car Play Rear Camera Input Remote/ease of operation

Cons: Not Sirius XM ready

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 8/27/2020

2013 Toyota Prius C

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great stereo with a great fit. I have had so many different brands in the past and this is my first time trying a Jensen and I love it. It works perfectly and I'm happy with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Chula Vista, CA on 8/26/2020

2005 Infiniti QX56

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good quality get a perfect 10

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excelente

Crutchfield customer from Budd Lake, NJ on 8/25/2020

2016 Hyundai Santa Fe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Me gusta mucho fácil de seguir las instrucciones solo necesité ayuda con la cámara excelente servicio también

Pros: Me encanta

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Eugene Irons

Darrell from AMORY, MS on 8/18/2020

2010 Dodge Avenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the clarity of this unit and the sound I've been missing ?

Pros: It boots up instantly.. Equalizer is awesome and the touch response is good as well

Cons: Can't connect the web without another device.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great specs

TImothy from Brownsville,TN on 8/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my dream radio for my truck

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Gordo, AL on 8/13/2020

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it! Works flawlessly. Pretty easy to install!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Gettysburg, PA on 8/11/2020

2005 Dodge Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tons of features in this radio. Android auto popped up immediately with waze already loaded. Everything about this radio says quality. fits in the 3rd gen rams really well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great upgrade for older vehicles...

Philip from SIMI VALLEY, CA on 8/7/2020

2006 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far a great upgrade for me. The screen is huge and makes my Avalanche feel like a new truck again. Wife and I love how clear the screen is, and makes the use of CarPlay Nav much easier to see. Thought it was going to hit the shift lever but it doesn't. You will have to cut the inside of the radio din area to get it to fit properly. Also once it's in your not going to take this out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from West Linn, OR on 8/5/2020

2005 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this unit, looks great and the price was very reasonable. I installed myself, swapping the CAR1000 in place of an older Pioneer with GPS deck that I had installed 5 or 6 years earlier.

Pros: Looks great, plenty of features, and lots of expansion possibilities. Great price for an Apple CarPlay unit. Love the large, clear screen.

Cons: None that I have noticed...

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Fantastic Value!!!

Crutchfield customer from Green Cv Spgs, FL on 8/5/2020

2015 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just a fantastic unit for the value!! It was a little difficult to install due to how large the screen is and how it mounts. Once I got passed that, the reward of using it and the way it looks in our Mazda CX-5 is 5 stars. It performs very well with Android Auto and Apple CarPlay.

Pros: An awesome Android Auto and Apple CarPlay option with the added benefit of steering wheel control capability.

Cons: Installation more time consuming, due to size of screen and mounting system.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen car1000 unit

Crutchfield customer from Clermont, FL on 7/26/2020

2012 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent radio for the price range, boot up speed good, screen good, I added a back up camera works well. There are some minor things that you would get from a a more expensive head unit but your going to pay big dollars ( $800 or more). As far as sound quality. I did not change or add to my speaker. Just used stock speaker the vehicle came with. I believe that sound quality is better but I'm not a great judge on that.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Just get it

Crutchfield customer from Hinsdale, IL on 7/20/2020

2012 Ford F-150 Lariat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had quite a few car receivers and most recently the latest Sony offering and I can say without a doubt this is the best bang for your buck. I don't understand why more car radio manufacturers don't follow Jensen's lead with this knockout product. This Thing Rules. I cannot understand why other manufacturers fill their receivers with navigation, useless features, DVD players, come on. It's 2020. I don't know a single person that doesn't have an iPhone or Android. These things are way more powerful than any cars built in GPS, so why include a bunch of features that nobody is ever going to use. This Jensen has an awesome huge display, and exactly what you need, nothing more. Car play, a very decent DSP (somewhere in between Sony and pioneers) time alignment that actually works (although could be more precise), and rock solid car play. If your hesitating like I was because "what the hell is jensen besides a Pyle sounding off brand". I can promise you this thing is quality, pull the trigger.

Pros: -The receiver every car manufacturer should be making - huge display for double DIN - No BS built in - No Nav, DVD, unnecessary and costly features from 2001 - CarPlay and android auto - no wireless car play (drains battery quickly, less stable) - the best aftermarket AVR for the money - looks like some sort of Mercedes OEM unit - Snappy interface

Cons: - Display resolution isint perfect, could be a bit higher - the bottom portion could be slightly sexier, although it's not super noticeable - one small not very frustrating bug where adjusting audio settings seems to jump back to CarPlay after 15 seconds

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

13 of 15 found this helpful

Love the Display/2006 Honda Ridgeline

Roger from Lake City, GA on 7/13/2020

2012 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the HUGE display. The screen can easily be seen even in the sunlight. I use Android Auto which works great. There are a few things that I wish worked different. When using anything other than Android Auto, you can't see the navigation instructions at the bottom like it does when using Android Auto. It has an EQ, but the sound adjustment wasn't nearly as comprehensive as it is on my older Kenwood Excelon. The screen sticks out, which I like, but I wish the controls at the bottom stuck out as well so I can reach it easier. I have the PAC steering wheel control and I can't get the steering wheel controls skip to the next song on Amazon Music which I use most. I haven't tried any other streaming music service. The steering wheel controls will skip around my FM radio stations, and the volume controls work. I used the same PAC control on my older Kenwood Excelon, and it could skip songs on all the streaming music services. Overall, I love the radio. I am contemplating buying another one for my Mazda.

Pros: Huge Display

Cons: Controls don't stick out far enough. Need better sound adjustments.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Eh

Crutchfield customer from Manchester, CT on 7/6/2020

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this unit in February, I loved it at first but the unit does not save any settings, every time it is turned off I have to reprogram the date, time, screen brightness and all other settings. After 6 months I have given up. It's a great budget system but I wish I purchased something different. I will be replacing soon.

Pros:

Cons: Settings don't save when vehicle turned off. Lack of features other units have

Crutchfield response on 7/7/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

5 of 9 found this helpful

Huge Screen with CarPlay

Andy from Memphis, TN on 7/6/2020

2017 Nissan Titan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was skeptical about buying this unit because the price was suspiciously low compared to similar models, but it lived up to my expectations. The screen is HUGE and looks great in my dash. Installation was straight forward - just like any other double-din unit. I'm still having some trouble with the steering wheel controls, but that's an issue with the adapter and my vehicle, not this unit. CarPlay works flawlessly - which is the main reason I got it. It recognizes my phone as soon as I plug it in. The touch screen is very responsive for this type of unit. It's not as responsive as your phone screen or an iPad, but still very good. 2017 Nissan Titan S

Pros: Huge Screen - Looks awesome Touchscreen very responsive CarPlay works great Camera Inputs work great Easy installation Full EQ

Cons: User interface is a little buggy, mainly in the settings menu. Startup screen takes a while; it displays the "Jensen" logo on the screen for about 5 seconds every time you turn it on. I don't see the point of the SD Card and USB inputs on the front (who actually uses those?).

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 7 found this helpful

Jensen Car1000

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 7/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The new radio that I installed is amazing. Tech support was outstanding. Very patient and knowledgeable.

Pros: Huge Screen CarPlay User Friendly

Cons: Screen background can not be customized

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Value

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 5/24/2020

2011 Toyota Venza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product for the price! Was relatively easy to install with help from Crutchfield techs. Looks great in my Toyota Venza and is great with Apple CarPlay. Touchscreen is very responsive and sound quality is better than factory system

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Good investment

jamon from GREENSBORO, NC on 5/22/2020

2014 Ford F-150 STX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The radio is amazing. Yes for some it will be basic but with Apple car play it's what I need. When traveling I can see the map without looking down at my phone. The installation was easy when reading the directions. The screen fit my truck perfectly. I have a 2014 F150 supercrew. If you want something practical this is the radio for you.

Pros: Good size, works as advertised very practical

Cons: Could not get the steering wheels control to work.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

good for the price

Crutchfield customer from Fort Smith, AR on 5/18/2020

2010 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

looks a little more like a tablet mounted to your dash than a radio -- makes me think my car is going to get broken into any day. Pretty bland visually but excellent audio clarity and fantastic bluetooth. Haven't gotten android auto working yet. Can't figure out if it's a compatibility with the deck issue, phone, or usb cable. Might be more impressed if I can ever figure that issue out!

Pros: huge display, great audio quality

Cons: car burglar magnet

Crutchfield response on 5/21/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with getting Android Audio to work. If you'd like our help, please just reach out to our Tech Support team. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, TX on 5/11/2020

2011 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After two weeks, the unit is very satisfactory. The screen is obviously the attraction here, and it doesn't disappoint. It could certainly be sharper and have more depth, but for the price point it's an awesome screen. The menu's could use a little UI update, they just seem a bit cartoonish, and it would be nice if the front USB port would work for CarPlay/AndroidAuto, but overall it's great bang for the buck and I'll be tempted to buy another one for my next project.

Pros: Huge Screen, CarPlay, AndroidAuto, Low Price

Cons: Front USB is for memory stick only, menu's could use some polish.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Stereo and a Good Price

Nick from Sterling, VA on 5/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The CAR1000 is an excellent head unit for Apple CarPlay or Android Auto users. I installed the system in a 2008 Ford F-150 easily in just a few hours. The screen is big and beautiful, with great touch response and sound quality. The power on response to a backup camera is almost instant, though you will wait several seconds for your phone to be recognized. The big sellers for me were the screen real estate and and ACTUAL VOLUME KNOB. You'll love this thing, so pick it up!

Pros: -Fast power-on response for the backup camera. -Actual volume knob. -Rear USB to hide cables. -Huge touch screen. -Very responsive to touch and gestures.

Cons: -Screen connector is a bit fragile (be careful with install!). -Several second delay recognizing a USB device.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Fantastic

Crutchfield customer from Cedar Springs, MI on 4/16/2020

2009 Honda Odyssey

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got this to replace a factory nav. Glad I did. Really nice stereo. Huge screen that looks fantastic. Was worried about the hard button part of the stereo. Thought it might look cheap but no worries. It looks fantastic and is great quality. Sounds great as well. Could use some more customization features, but that doesn't really bother me because I'm usually in CarPlay. Overall, love it.

Pros: Screen size. Feel. Look. Sound.

Cons: Lack of customization features.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Owings, MD on 4/12/2020

2011 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome radio and Apple car play works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

GREAT PURCHASE

Crutchfield customer from Pahrump, NV on 3/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent choice for the money and the size of the screen. It's very easy to use and super easy to see even without glasses for us in our 60's. It's the best stereo on the market with a 10 inch screen. Everyone I show, wants one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great for a budget.

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, OH on 3/22/2020

2008 Mazda CX-7

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this radio. I was skeptical because of the brand and the low price but, it is a fantastic radio. I use Apple CarPlay all day long!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Bayside, NY on 3/10/2020

2009 Cadillac Escalade

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good touch response and it has everything I have been looking for. Crutchfield indicated SWC adapter will be needed but somehow SWC worked with the adapter when I had the unit out and connected but when I put everything together and placed the dash kit on, it didn't work anymore. I don't know if it's the unit or the adapter fighting each other.

Pros: Huge Screen. I don't need to squint looking into my phone anymore.

Cons: Shifter was touching the screen about .25". Had to push the unit deep into the extremes...Escalade owners, be ready to work around some things and cables in the back. Tahoe and Yukon may have similar issue with the shifter touching.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

kenyfredy from GRESHAM on 3/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

awesome car stereo and easy to use with great features and nice display , give a new look to your interior . so far loving it??

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Stereo

Nicolaas from Kingwood on 2/11/2020

2003 Honda Element

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely love this upgrade to my 2003 Honda Element. Android Auto is working great and the screen is HUGE. Abilty to stream Pandora and SiriusXM is a great plus! Hands free calling makes life on the road a lot safer. Did I mention the the radio portion works and sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Love the large screen.

Crutchfield customer from Pompey, NY on 2/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great and touchscreen is very responsive. Love the large screen.

Pros: Has rotary volume control and physical mode buttons.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, TX on 1/29/2020

2013 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the Jesen Car1000 for my Hyundai Elantra '13 the first week it came out. The installation took a couple days only because it was my first time doing something like that. I had aftermarket speakers with a stock radio, but boy did the car1000 do my speakers justice. The car1000 just looks exquisite. I have gotten a lot of complements from people who ride in my car. A friend of mine wants to get it for his 2014 civic, would 100% recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Soooo close... but no. Yet.

Chris from Paterson, NJ on 1/27/2020

2015 Kia Sportage

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really really want to love this unit. But I can't. There are a bunch of quirks that maybe a firmware update can probably fix for example, every time you start the car, all of your volumes go back to zero. There are no less than 5 different volumes to adjust. The normal radio, CarPlay, Siri, Phone calls, and Navigation. It's maddening. When an iPhone is plugged in, even when in settings making adjustments or listening to radio, it automatically jumps to CarPlay even without you pressing the option and interrupting what you were doing. That Being said, the screen is on point. The touch screen is responsive and it boots up fast and looks great. No complaint there. Unfortunately the great screen doesn't make up for the unit's shortcomings. I'll probably be exchanging it for a different model. A software update would probably fix all that and change my opinion but Jensen is not known for firmware updates. They don't even have a website... Oh and Crutchfield service, is second to none. I will always get my car stereos from here. Thank you for the great service.

Pros: The screen Fast boot up Retains steering wheel controls Capacitive touch screen.

Cons: Software is not good. Feels like it's still in beta. Volume adjustment not retained after car is turned off. The button lighting at night does not match. It's blue and my car is red. It's not adjustable.

Crutchfield response on 1/28/2020
Chris contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

14 of 14 found this helpful

Good value option for large screen

BRAD from Keaau on 1/26/2020

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed the unit after running the Boss unit for a while. This unit is more basic. No custom backlight colors etc. Connected to my phone fine and android seems to work as usual. Screen resolution is a little low for this screen size but for the price I think it's adequate. I'm not using an external amp etc so I can't speak for outputs for that. I wired the "parking brake" wire directly to ground and it seems fine. Reverse camera input works find and is reasonably fast to respond. Overall happy so far. Will update if things change.

Pros: I can see it where a standard double din was hard to see.

Cons: No backlight color adjustment, very basic menu

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

TOP