Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
597 344 940 4
Connect ID #
597 344 940 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Jensen CAR1000

Digital multimedia receiver with 10.1" touchscreen

MFR # CAR1000

Jensen CAR1000

Jensen CAR1000

Digital multimedia receiver with 10.1" touchscreen

MFR # CAR1000

109 reviews
View this product

Jensen CAR1000

Mark from Crivitz, WI on 6/16/2022

2011 Ford F-250

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice for the price. A little too bright at night, but easy to use, great controls.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pleasantly surprised

Michael from Severna Park, MD on 4/18/2022

2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this into my 2007 Jeep Wrangler. I'm not an expert installer, but I've installed a radio or two, previously. I ordered the pre-wired adapter and that made things a lot easier. It was a tight fit, though. I had to play with the installation of the side rails a few tunes. I had to get it in the best position so the other trim would fit around it, ok. The unit has these tiny screws that were nearly impossible to get into place. That was the only frustrating part. But everything plugged in very easily (backup camera, antenna, etc.). Also, I didn't have to cut any pieces out of my Jeep's radio cavity. The installation warnings suggested I'd have to remove a bracket (but it's possible the prior owner did that, already). The installation manual shows that it supports up to iPhone 11. I was worried my iPhone 12 wouldn't work, but it did. I deducted a start because the sound quality is a little different. Perhaps I need to play with the equalizer a little bit. The Sony that was previously in there sounded nicer. But not by much. I'm already over it after a day. In the end, I'm very pleased with unit. Looks great. Works great. Install was pretty easy. Probably took me 1-2 hours.

Pros: Looks great. Easy install. Easy to operate.

Cons: Sound quality is a little less than my prior unit. The tiny screws that are used to secure the screen were a nightmare to deal with.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great value for the price

Darrell from Bartlesville, OK on 3/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clear display. Good quality for the price. I installed in my RV. Although it cannot be adjusted horizontally, the fold of view is pretty good.

Pros: Display

Cons: Only adjustable one way. Cannot angle towards driver.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Gannon from Flint, MI on 3/7/2022

2013 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best stereo I ever owned

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great! Except for Car Play

Gary K from LINCOLN PARK, NJ on 2/1/2022

2017 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this radio and the large screen. The only problem is the Apple Car Play doesn't always connect. It is annoying when it suddenly stops working while I am driving and following Google Maps. I have used several Apple brand USB wires and I do not have this problem with my phone in other vehicles. If I unplug it and plug it back in, it will usually work.

Pros: Large Screen Easy to Use Apple Car Play

Cons: Apple Car Play Disconnects for no reason Does not display name of song on FM radio

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Works like expected.

Garylee from Oakdale, CA on 1/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed unit in my 03' F250. I use the truck for long trips and desired to have navigation, besides just. The tiny screen on my phone. Took my first trip yesterday, and the Apple Car play worked flawlessly. Took a phone call, and unit went directly back to playing my music and navigation once completed. Sound quality is way better than old Sony I pulled out. The install was easy and everything is color coded, so as long as you follow code, you're fine. As of this date I am happy with unit. I would recommend.

Pros: Car play works very well and switches from phone back to apps once call is complete.

Cons: Screen is a bit "milky" or washed looking in bright light. No adjustment for it. But minor issue for me.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Jeremy from Columbus, MI on 1/25/2022

2017 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Screen size is impressive. But it's not a feature packed head unit.

Pros: Big screen, Apple CarPlay

Cons: No HD radio or Satellite radio. No RDS for FM broadcasting. Highly reflective screen..gets a lot of glare on a sunny day, makes it hard to view screen

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Terrance from Hinesville, GA on 1/25/2022

2005 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great visual but it's been less then a month and the screen starting to freak out. It starting to flash black and white randomly and is annoying. I love it when it works so I'm hoping that's it's inky my screen because she's a beauty in my vette

Pros: Big clear screen

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/25/2022
Terrance, we're sorry you're having issues with your Jensen receiver . We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return/exchange within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase

3 of 3 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Mount Ida, Ar. on 1/15/2022

2019 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this in my 2006 Tiffin Phaeton Motorhome...PERFECT! Love it!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Highly recommend and Satisfied

Crutchfield customer from Marksville, LA on 1/1/2022

2008 Lincoln Navigator

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this 10.1 screen is large and looks like a new Lincoln display unit. Everything works well and honestly sounds better than the factory radio. I would highly recommend this unit. I was able to still connect my steering wheel control for the radio with kit I've purchased from crutchfield. The team with Technical support also was a very big help when I called them to troubleshoot my connections in the beginning as I am not a professional at doing this kind of work. Thank you for being patient with me!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Crystal Lake, IL on 11/28/2021

2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looksand works great in myFJ Cruiser

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great, but not grand

Cole from Tucson on 10/23/2021

2010 Ford Crown Victoria

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not half bad. Very responsive, reasonably priced compared to the competition. Apple CarPlay looks great, Android Auto looks... well. Less great. Beyond the low resolution associated with Android Auto (which is hardly Jensen's fault), I haven't found anything on this headunit that makes me think it's anything less than solid. If something pops up, I'll try to make a point to edit this review accordingly.

Pros: Responsive controls, easy to use.

Cons: Difficult to fit into certain vehicles, poor resolution compared to smaller headunits.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from O Fallon, MO on 9/12/2021

2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install and greatly improved the sound from stock. Apple car play is a must.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Baltic

jason from Baltic on 9/2/2021

2006 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed the radio into my truck and immediately after the front speakers do not work. I replaced the front speakers with brand new ones and they still do not play any sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 21 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Blaine, WA on 8/24/2021

2006 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great price for a great sounding receiver with a very large screen.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from New Kensington, PA on 8/21/2021

2017 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty good Radio. Little over price I think since it don't have either Radio Data or HD Radio built in.

Pros: Nice and easy to use

Cons: No Radio Data nor HD Radio

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Great for my F-150

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 8/20/2021

2013 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great in the truck and has even more functions than I realized. So much better than the original stock system! What was even more impressive was the Crutchfield tech support I received when I was installing it - outstanding!

Pros: All functionality - Easy to use and has everything. I plan to add a backup camera as well. There's a lot that I was unaware this thing was capable of.

Cons: Ideally, if there was a way to build it so the screen would swivel right and left a little it would be perfect. But not all that necessary.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Plattsburgh, NY on 8/14/2021

2009 Nissan Murano

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds amazing and easy to use. Couldn't be happier!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Slidell, LA on 8/14/2021

2002 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great device the large screen vivid and crystal clear The car play and Bluetooth work great I recommend professional installation and recommend the backup camera

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Better than expected

Crutchfield customer from Garden Grove, CA on 8/10/2021

2018 Subaru BRZ

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Better than what I was expecting definitely a great budget unit. The screen doesn't move freely up and down you lock it in position one of 4 to 6 different angles(didn't see exactly) good picture pretty quick install

Pros: Looks slightly more expensive than it is. Good resolution. Actual touch screen(not pressure tap). You, can, keep all your factory controls(if you do it right)!

Cons: Hi, I'm empty

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great so far for a budget unit?

Kyle from Florissant, MO on 8/4/2021

2010 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great so far! Just installed it today in my 2010 F250 lariat. Android auto works great with the rear usb. Display is surprisingly responsive for a budget unit. Haven't hooked up the rearview cam yet as I'm waiting for an additional harness that clips in to the rearview mirror cable. Highly impressed so far for the money!

Pros: Screen size, android auto, responsiveness

Cons: Glare Frome the shiny screen, maybe. Also it would be nice if the angle was more easily adjusted.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 8/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall I like the unit. Large screen but also has some physical buttons which I like. The screen is almost too big to the point where some things seem pixelated. My screen seems to have a few air bubbles so when I'm on a white screen I can see some bubbles.

Pros: Large screen Important buttons are physical Inputs/outputs can be disconnected to avoid unnecessary cables

Cons: Screen is so big some things are pixelated/look mediocre Rough time putting in screen mounting screws A bit overpriced in my opinion Possible air bubbles in the screen

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Oklahoma City, OK on 8/1/2021

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It will not connect to car play or android auto that was the only reason I bought this stereo.

Pros:

Cons: Wish it had more apps than what it does

Crutchfield response on 8/4/2021
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

6 of 6 found this helpful

Good but lacks some rather basic features

Ralph B from PENSACOLA, FL on 7/21/2021

2006 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like this unit. The big screen is so nice to have. Very useful when using the backup camera because I'm always having to tow and move boats around at work. Makes life much easier and takes less time to move boats around. Operating system is very easy to learn and use. USB ports are a big thing for me. Having one on the front and one on the rear is a must for me. Installation was very easy and is a modular unit. You only connect things you need like a computer power supply which is very nice. There are 2 cons though. This does NOT play .m4a files, which is 100% unacceptable. The file type has been around for a long time now. Older and cheaper stereos can play .m4a files. You pay much more for this unit and it lacks that feature. You also have to scroll through each individual song, you can't skip folders when playing music using a USB flash drive. You have to do it that way or manually scroll through the folder list using the screen. Also 100% unacceptable because older and cheaper stereos allow you to skip folders to find the artist or song you want to listen to. Again, I like this unit. Plenty of good about it but it lacks basic features older and cheaper stereos have. Jensen is on the right track but also need to back to the basics.

Pros: Nice big screen Simple operating system that is user friendly Front and rear usb Clear picture when using a backup camera

Cons: Does NOT play .m4a files Cannot skip folders when playing music through USB

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 7/15/2021

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So I started out with the Jensen car8000 Worked good, slightly glitchy. But then it stopped sending signals to the amp so I had no sound. Talked with tech support and they said the head unit is bad. They didn't have that one so I got a car1000 Again worked good, but now it's doing the same thing the old head unit was doing. I went through the same steps the technician told me to do last time and this head unit is acting the same way. I'm able to get it working again sometimes if I pull the radio fuse and put it back in to fully power cycle the head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/20/2021
We're sorry you're still having issues with your receiver. If the problem continues, please just reach out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

JENSEN CAR8000

FOX from Norfolk,VA on 7/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought & installed this product back in DEC2020. It looks amazing and is very easy to use. It works 85% of the time but should be 100%. It does have some down falls I've found out over the time it's been installed. My Google maps app worked flawlessly for a few months but then after that I just can't even use it. Trying to restart the system the or app it still won't work more than five minutes. It freezes all radio and disconnects your phone. Also sometimes the system shuts down for no reason and takes forever to boot back up. This radio does have flaws but works like it should 85% of the time. Yes I would buy it again for another vehicle only because it looks new and brings better technology for an older vehicle. I do wish the brand ( JENSEN ) would come out with so it works more smoothly and allows you to add more apps to run on this radio. I just saw I had a question from Crutchfield in my email from a few months back - My answer is NO sadly this unit will mirror my phone. This unit needs an app to be able to do that or the wireless device that plugs in to the USB port that allows you. I have also purchased and tried this. But So far I can't get it to work with this radio. This device is supposed to make your Apple or android car play work wirelessly and or mirror your phone to the radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/14/2021
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to Fox to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Simi Valley, CA on 6/28/2021

2018 Toyota RAV4 Hybrid

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the fit and function. Agree that the tiny screws to mount display are hardest part of install. Tip: tape screw to screwdriver and go slow and line up perfectly and went way better. So far no issues with dimmer as some mentioned but not many dark roads around here. Thought directions said limit of 2,000 songs on flash drive but seems to read all 22gb I have on it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Overpriced

Crutchfield customer from Spring Hill, FL on 6/28/2021

2011 Honda Element EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Doesn't connect to Bluetooth easily. The balance speaker levels change when I turn off vehicle. Large tablet screen but doesn't tilt any direction.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Aiken, SC on 6/26/2021

2007 Hyundai Tiburon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very simple basic head unit. Easy to install looks great for what I needed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great priducts & service

Crutchfield customer from Anderson, IN on 6/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered my Jensen CAR 1000 radio, wire harness and Back up camera and recived them in a very short time. I installed them with the help of my grandson in short order. I had just a couple of questions on the B.U.C. but was helped out by the technicians. I am very happy with this product and the expert service I received from crutchfield. I highly recommend them to anyone. Barry O'Connor

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, CA on 6/14/2021

2005 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Satisfied

Crutchfield customer from West Orange, NJ on 6/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Better and more affordable than most radios. It's like having a tablet which is great, because everything is large and convenient.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Quirky

Crutchfield customer from Conroe, TX on 6/1/2021

2012 Kia Sorento

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Having constant trouble connecting phone for navigation, unit randomly beeps and says no device connected, still unresolved.

Pros: Big Screen

Cons: Difficult to interface

Crutchfield response on 6/9/2021
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

9 of 9 found this helpful

Best experience Ever

Crutchfield customer from Rock Hill, SC on 5/20/2021

2011 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The most amazing customer service and technical support on the planet. BAR NONE. I wish I could work for Crutchfield. Crutchfield knows how to hire people who take pride in what they do. Some wiring was not plug and play but tech support new exactly how to explain the remedy. Stereo sounds amazing and was more of an upgrade than a replacement. Customer service recommended a data cord for Android auto phone connection and "Bingo" it works great. Thank you Crutchfield

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 5 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Somerville, NJ on 5/9/2021

2011 Honda Ridgeline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome product.....addresses all my need.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from The Villages, FL on 4/21/2021

2013 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really liked this radio, but after installing two of them and they both failed to work, I went with another brand.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 15 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 4/18/2021

2014 Dodge Durango

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this is a nice radio and brand to start off in your ride,great price for your money with this jense 10 inch monitor good quality and sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Best Bang for Buck / Digital Media CarPlay Head units

Crutchfield customer from Robins, IA on 4/13/2021

2007 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

4 of 5 stars because there's no such thing as perfect. I'm impressed with this unit and it installed rock solid in my 2007 Tacoma using the OEM Steel brackets, NOT the flimsy brackets of the Metra kit. Tape the faceplate to the surround (see pic). Install the stereo leaving the 4 bracket bolts loose, then fit the surround positioning the stereo just right. Now tighten the 4 bracket bolts. Perfect fit / finish. The 10" screen centers between the air vents w/out blocking them. Hands down the BEST bang for buck in a 10" floating screen, apple CarPlay, digital head unit. Sound output is outstanding! The internal Mosfet amp has ample clean power that makes the Oem speakers sound like quality aftermarket upgrades. Paired with a sub this system will blow away any OEM stereo in a Toyota Tacoma. NOTE: This is a bare bones digital head unit priced right with ALL the install essentials, thanks to Crutchfield. It does not support screen mirroring or play movies but I knew that B4 buying. Quick boot up and easy user interface. Back up cam plug and play. The Car1000 has smart illumination as it dims when my lights turn on and day / night brightness can be set to acceptable levels. FYI: The sound does not lower when using the back up camera as many others have reported. While using maps, adjusting the volume during voice prompts, sets volume separate from music volume. I'd like to be able to change the startup Icon and change the blue illumination to Red to match my Tacoma.

Pros: Large sharp screen, good illumination control both day and night. Plug n play backup cam ready. Mosfet power is clean and loud. No amps needed. Super easy user interface. Subwoofer controls. Quick boot upon start up. LOW PRICE is great value for a barebones CarPlay unit if you don't need mirror image / video play etc.

Cons: Minimal Cons are No ability to select illumination color to match vehicle so Blue is what you get. Cannot change turn on Icon from Jensen. Limited tilt down adjustability of screen position, but it works for most. Tricky to install screen bolts, especially if your install is recessed. ROCK SOLID install on my Tacoma 4x4 using OEM Toyota brackets, not the flimsy plastic Metra brackets.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

15 of 15 found this helpful

JUST DON'T

Christopher from Ft Worth, TX on 4/3/2021

2013 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

*****BUYER BEWARE***** This is the first time I've ever taken the time to write a negative review. This stereo looks great and the sound is decent. My first one was defective and the second one decided to get stuck on a boot/load loop only displaying the Jensen symbol. Unfortunately Crutchfield tech support was not able to assist. This is not a knock on them, it's a reflection on the substandard quality of this unit. For those of you enticed by the price like I was I suggest you stay away. Either spend the extra money for a more reputable brand or forego the floating screen. I'm sure if I got a 3rd replacement it would work fine but this is two defective units in a very short amount of time: a month total. I'm disappointed. I tried to update the firmware but that didn't work. It was fun while it lasted. I wanted to love it and I did until it decided I can only look at the word Jensen on the screen and nothing else. May this unit be discontinued in an excruciating manner...I'm actually surprised that Crutchfield sells a unit with similar reviews to this.

Pros: Great looks and decent sound for a modest price

Cons: 2 for 2 were defective High Blood Pressure from over reacting to the defective units I received.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

15 of 20 found this helpful

Jensen 10"

Aaron from Towson on 4/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall a decent product at an affordable price.

Pros: Large display/ great sound/very affordable

Cons: Blocks climate controls / isn't wifi compatible like the 10" Android radio l had previously

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

Love It!

Crutchfield customer from Lutherville, MD on 3/21/2021

2013 Mazda CX-9

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this unit - simple to use - meets the needs and was a huge upgrade from the original unit that was in the car. I love having Apple CarPlay in the car now and love the larger backup camera display!

Pros: Great screen Simple Atractive

Cons: Lost some sterring wheel controls Could nto figure out how to use factory mic and needed to use the one included

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Jeffrey from Indiana on 3/12/2021

2021 Subaru Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like the headunit. The screen is awesome, and responsive. It doesn't have alot of features, but I knew that going in. My main issue with this headunit /harness (Crux) that Crutchfield recommended is it is not compatible with my 2021 Crosstrek Starlink system as advertised. The red Starlink light is on after installation. I confirmed it is the headunit/harness because when I plugged my factory stereo back in...the issue went away. Crutchfield basically told me because my car was so new..there might be some compatibiliy issues..even though they and Crux have it listed as compatible. So, the whole reason I bought this stereo is because it was Starlink compatible...and it is not. The exact issus I was trying to avoid happened when installing this radio.

Pros: Nice large screen. Definite upgrade from factory radio.

Cons: Not compatible with Subaru Starlink...you light will turn red and you will receive emails and notifications that your system is not functioning properly. No good.

Crutchfield response on 3/31/2021
Jeffrey is currently working with our Tech Support team to resolve the issues. They'll either help him solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

4 of 5 found this helpful

Cheap and reliable

Crutchfield customer from Medford, MA on 3/8/2021

2014 Honda Ridgeline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit. The screen real estate is huge. The car play is fantastic ( just don't set up your primary phone on Bluetooth if you plan on using the wired car play ) as you can do everything hands free and enjoy the use of voice assistance while you're on the road. So far I have had no issues with the unit and strongly recommend this to anyone looking for a cost effective way to get a large screen car play experience in their life.

Pros: Cost, works as described, large screen, great features

Cons: Screen glare can be an issue

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice unit, too bright at night

Dean from Delavan, IL on 3/7/2021

2014 Dodge Charger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, I really enjoy the car stereo. It has great sound, a responsive touchscreen, and simple controls. One down side is that it is just too bright at night. Even on the minimum brightness setting. I'm hoping an update comes out that let's me turn down the brightness more than I can currently.

Pros: Responsive touch, huge display

Cons: Too bright at night

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

10 of 11 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Avondale, AZ on 2/22/2021

2009 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very useful and high resolution. Makes things incredibly easy when tuning speakers and pairing devices. Not as responsive as it could be and Apple CarPlay and Android Auto aren't wireless unfortunately but I'm still very happy with the overall experience.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Rifle, CO on 2/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

large screen for old people

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Take 2

Crutchfield customer from Pensacola, FL on 1/27/2021

2013 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First touch screen did not work.. replacement had to be sent still waiting on install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Gilroy, CA on 1/21/2021

2010 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit, flawless user interface for CarPlay, easy installation.

Pros: Huge screen, perfect for navigation

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 1/18/2021

2006 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great addition to my trusty 2006 Ford F150. Added a rear view camera with it and I went from am/fm radio to Bluetooth/Apple-car device. The Jensen Car1000 looks awesome on my dash. It works flawlessly, probably not a high end device in this price range it does what is advertised. Also, kudos to Crutchfield's tech services. My radio screen wasn't working. A quick call to tech support and 48hrs later I have a replacement. In situations like this is when you see the actual customer support response vs the marketing promise.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

8 of 9 found this helpful

Nice unit , great value

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 1/17/2021

2005 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit , looks great in the car . I only wish it had wireless CarPlay. The screen is hard to screw on, screws are so small . I just love the big touch screen and the physical volume button is great . Great value for the money.

Pros: Nice big screen

Cons: Wired car play

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Frustrating

Crutchfield customer from AUSTIN, TX on 1/16/2021

2006 Honda Odyssey

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After approx 100 days of use I can't recommend this product for the simple fact the Jensen Car1000 crashes at least once a day, and will not always keep the phone charged when connected. For reasons unknown the USB connection for Carplay/Android Auto will stop working and the screen goes dark. Whereupon I must reboot the unit or turn off the car, wait a few minutes and then reattach the phone to the rear USB cable. This causes a great amount of frustration when using maps or Carplay/Android Auto. To determine if it was due to the type of cable I was using I purchased different quality types and had the same results Ultimately the Jenson Car1000 is a "buyer beware" in that by reading the reviews others have had similar problems so you may or may not have issues. Maybe I just have a bad unit. My biggest mistake was not returning within the 60 day window. So if you have issues return ASAP. Again just really frustrating.

Pros: Nice Screen

Cons: Crashes - Doesn't Always Charge - USB connection doesn't always connect - No Clarity on how to enact warranty.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Clinton, TN on 1/3/2021

2008 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I received my CAR1000 right on time It was easy to install and it sounds amazing! I will definitely be ordering more things in the future

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Ok for a budget buy

Eric from Chicago IL on 12/18/2020

2015 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Jensen Car1000 for a budget unit buy is not too bad. 10.1 screen is always a party favorite. Does everything its supposed to do well. Got it because it had Apple Car Play and Android Auto The little screws are absolutely a pain to install. I needed my wife to help me install the screen. (had to put the screen in last after the dash was installed) However. In terms of making the music sound better. It's eh at best. Really you only can mess with the time alignment (assuming you know how to set that up) Plus the EQ settings. The weak amp on the inside make very little difference. Even with loudness feature on. Also note the LPF is set by default. Go to settings to take it off. Other wise you'll have no bass when you install this. In my opinion if you have an extra $200 or $300 I'd recommend Alpine Halo9 iLX-F409. Which is what I'll probably be doing soon

Pros: Big screen Works well Volume nob Android Auto & Apple Car Play

Cons: Doesn't do much to improve the sound. Weak amp Tiny screws that hold in the screen are a pain to install. Due to Such a fine thread on the screws.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 5 found this helpful

Great Looking Below Average Headunit

Paul from Austin, TX on 12/18/2020

2006 Honda Odyssey

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Jensen Car1000 is a below-average double din head unit with a great looking screen with the ability to utilize Android Auto or Apple Car Play. If it wasn't for both Android Auto or Apple Car Play there wouldn't be any reason to purchase this item. There are too many little things that are annoying that make this item overpriced. Among those include the randomness of when the phone stays charged while attached. The inability to keep the screen on the home page as well as the inability to have the unit on without having to turn on then turn off an audio source. Buy it only if you want to add Android Auto or Apple Car Play and there are no other choices at this price point.

Pros: Great Looking Android Auto Apple Car Play

Cons: Doesn't Always Charge Micro SD Card Doesn't Work Defaults to the radio upon startup and one must select another audio source to turn off the radio. Forces one to attach the unit to the parking brake yet no instructions are provided on how to do so.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

This is not the head unit you are looking for

Jeffrey from LINCOLNWOOD, IL on 12/4/2020

2015 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ran great for about a month and a half after installation. The screen was nice and big and made using CarPlay so much better. Then it started glitching out. The screen would freeze up and would no longer respond to any touch inputs. CarPlay would skip songs randomly. It would sometimes go into a sort of sleep mode intermittently with the display flashing on and off until I pull over and shut down the whole car to resent the unit. Thought updating it with software from Jensen would help. It didn't. Overall, good for a really tight budget, but I'd shell out a bit more for a more reputable brand just to avoid the frustration and headaches.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Decent

Giovani from BRIDGEPORT, CT on 10/20/2020

2013 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pros: Price. Screen. Sound.

Cons: Rear USB has inconsistent charging. Android Auto freezes about 30 percent of the time. Volume automatically set to 12 when switching sources.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

big screen for the car!

Crutchfield customer from Ormond Beach, FL on 10/19/2020

2007 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit. Big screen. Hooking up the screen to the unit is the only BIG minus with this purchase as it is unnecessarily difficult to bolt up! Other than that, no problems and does what it was purchased for

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great unit.

Natan from MCKINNEY, TX on 10/11/2020

2012 Honda CRV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit with affordable price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 2 found this helpful

Possible power shortage

Crutchfield customer from Fairborn, OH on 10/3/2020

2013 Chevrolet Cruze

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As of rite now the only issue I have is the fact that I can't turn the volume up past 29 or 30 out of the highest level of 45. What happens is the screen goes out and the music stops! Not a good look at all. Can't figure it out for myself because I didnt install the eck and don't even know where to start with any troubleshooting or whtevr!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

110% recommend

Guest from Newton, KS on 9/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super nice unit, very smooth functionality. Fit great and video Quality is amazing

Pros: Huge screen and very smooth operation

Cons: None found

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Crystal River, FL on 9/29/2020

2013 Mazda 2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice radio. CarPlay work well and unlike other reviews I've read my settings don't clear when I turn the radio off

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Union City, OH on 9/29/2020

2006 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an awesome unit! I ended up returning it due to clearance with my gear shift as I was afraid it would damage the screen over time. If I need another radio in another vehicle this will be an option for sure

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Buy it - What a nice unit, glad I bought it for my JK Wrangler

Crutchfield customer from Normal, IL on 9/27/2020

2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I waited quite a while to make this purchase, I am glad I bought it, it's a good looking head unit. Display is vibrant, looks amazing in my Jeep. I added a back up camera, which looks great on that big screen. For the money it has great features. The only thing I wish was different is I wish I could angle it towards the drivers seat for better view....Maybe next gen.

Pros: Great price Beautiful touch screen Screen can be tilted slightly up or down during install Backup camera can be added and view is amazing

Cons: Touch screen is not removeable quickly (4 small screws hold it) Setting the tilt angle is somewhat permanent (4 screws need removed to change it) Cannot change screen angle to left or right.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Awesome!!

Crutchfield customer from Prompton, PA on 9/24/2020

2011 Ford F-250

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this radio! Waited so long to replace my stock radio in my 2011 F-250. Couldn't find the right one for me. This one is perfect. Only down side was that it wouldn't pick up the rear camera. Solved that by getting an adapter from infotainment.com. Also got a mic adapter from ending.com so I could use the stock mic position. Wish Crutchfield had offered them as an option, but was able to get them regardless. Would definitely recommend this to anyone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice size

Crutchfield customer from West Palm Beach, FL on 9/21/2020

2013 Chrysler Town and Country

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice radio, fits well in my Town & Country

Pros: Fits my car well

Cons: Had to cut the older radio frame... very concerned but worked out well

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

mediocre head unit.

Tim from FEDERAL WAY, WA on 9/13/2020

2011 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

if you don't use android auto there really isn't anything special about this. The big screen is nice for maps but that's about it. Don't think you can play any video on it and it has a huge bezel. There is no adjustment side-to-side at all. There is some tilt to it but not once it's installed. So if there's any glare there's nothing you can do about it. The volume starts on 11 every time you turn it on, so I have to constantly change it whenever it starts up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Hampton, VA on 9/13/2020

2006 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid product. Attaching the screen is a nightmare.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Love the screen!

Crutchfield customer from Castle Pines, CO on 9/10/2020

2004 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the screen! This stereo is packed with features, but the screen really sets it apart. Looks great and easy to use. I'd definitely buy it again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

autoplay

Crutchfield customer from Elkhart, IN on 9/10/2020

2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Android autoplay did not work with my LG Stylo 4 phone

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Good Product

Crutchfield customer from Vacaville, CA on 9/10/2020

2014 Ford F-150 STX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product love the big screen look, just takes little long for unit to register I got iPhone hooked up for CarPlay, also at times CarPlay would already be on and the screen won't display right away, but overall worlks like supposed to and nice screen!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Big Screen With Not Much Else

Crutchfield customer from CUMBERLAND GAP, TN on 9/9/2020

2014 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you wanted a big screen to replace your existing radio with Android Auto/Apple CarPlay, at the lowest cost, this is it. The screen is nice and big, and reminds me of the fancier head units newer cars have. Unfortunately, that's about where the pros end. The resolution is pretty poor for a screen its size. The audio levels will reset every time you turn off your car. The head unit's UI is mediocre at best. Fortunately for me, I just plug in my Android phone, and use Android Auto. I rarely have to deal with the built-in software.

Pros: Big screen.

Cons: Low resolution. Volume levels reset every start up.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Its a nice upgrade from factory, but some issues leave it a bit flat

Ray from ARNOLD, MO on 9/7/2020

2002 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the screen size. Touch response is quick. Remote is handy. Does not have RDS or HD which is a bummer. Android Auto connection with phone is flaky. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. I've tried many different ways to get it to connect when it doesn't connect automatically, but when it doesn't want to connect, it just won't, and I have to wait till the next time it autoconnects. Although it has a rotary volume knob, it is not your normal rotary volume control. A rotary should gradually, and linearly, raise and lower the volume. This unit doesn't. It does it in steps as if pressing a remote button. This is annoying since I was expecting a smooth volume raise. Instead, it jumps from one level to the next. Change from 16 to 17 is big. So is 17 to 18. I'm giving it four stars only because its such a huge jump from the factory stereo, otherwise it would be a three.

Pros: Screen size. Touch screen response. Moving map function.

Cons: Android Auto connection not consistent. Volume knob is not linear, and changes volume in steps instead of smoothly. Doesn't have RDS.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Keeper

Crutchfield customer from Liberty Center, OH on 9/6/2020

2010 Dodge Journey

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this stereo! Pros: Nice screen (like running your car stereo from your smart pad). Smooth operations All the options and more Cons: Not really a "Con" but more of a suggestion: The screen doesn't have a quick disconnect which would be nice as an anti-theft tool. I'm simply throwing a sweatshirt over it to keep advertising it at a min. That's the only downside on this unit that I see. Highly suggest this unit. Top notch.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

3 Stars

Robert from LEHIGH ACRES, FL on 9/1/2020

2011 Ford F-150 XL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like it alot far as operations and stuff... I hooked up a rear camera on a ford f-150 and it was seamless . The android auto is dream it mutes the radio as it barks out orders the next turn =P It Great... The only issue I have is the default volume level it's a issue~~~~ It a pain I need to turn up the volume up everytime I get in the truck and start up the truck... Default lvl is set at like 11 ... I search the internet high-and-low and there is no way to change default volume lvl it SUCKS... so because of that I give the radio 3 stars ... After spending this much, I want a radio I don't wanna mess with ever time I get in my truck...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/7/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to Robert to help him further. We'll either help him get the receiver working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Jon from Birmingham, AL on 9/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really enjoy this head unit and I mostly got it just for the carplay feature to be safer while looking at maps when I'm driving. It looks really good in my F250 but I dont like how it looks in some of the other vehicles.

Pros: Large screen Quick boot up Carplay

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Giant upgrade from factory system

Crutchfield customer from Morgan City, LA on 8/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed it about 2 weeks ago and have really enjoyed the sound and functionality of the unit. having the ability to use maps from the phone was the biggest selling point.

Pros: Android Auto play giant screen ease of use

Cons: none yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Paul from DALZELL, SC on 8/29/2020

2010 Nissan Frontier SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely love this headunit. Was easy to install. The 10.1 screen is awesome! Has lots of great features: Apple Car Play-Android Auto, built in EQ, front/rear rca, subwoofer, video inputs, rear camera input, etc. The only thing I wish was included was being Sirius XM ready then it would have been perfect. Very much worth the great price it's offered at. My daughter loves it in here 2010 Nissan Frontier.

Pros: 10.1 floating display Apple Car Play Rear Camera Input Remote/ease of operation

Cons: Not Sirius XM ready

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 8/27/2020

2013 Toyota Prius C

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great stereo with a great fit. I have had so many different brands in the past and this is my first time trying a Jensen and I love it. It works perfectly and I'm happy with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Chula Vista, CA on 8/26/2020

2005 Infiniti QX56

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good quality get a perfect 10

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excelente

Crutchfield customer from Budd Lake, NJ on 8/25/2020

2016 Hyundai Santa Fe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Me gusta mucho fácil de seguir las instrucciones solo necesité ayuda con la cámara excelente servicio también

Pros: Me encanta

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Eugene Irons

Darrell from AMORY, MS on 8/18/2020

2010 Dodge Avenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the clarity of this unit and the sound I've been missing ?

Pros: It boots up instantly.. Equalizer is awesome and the touch response is good as well

Cons: Can't connect the web without another device.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great specs

TImothy from Brownsville,TN on 8/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my dream radio for my truck

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Gordo, AL on 8/13/2020

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it! Works flawlessly. Pretty easy to install!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Gettysburg, PA on 8/11/2020

2005 Dodge Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tons of features in this radio. Android auto popped up immediately with waze already loaded. Everything about this radio says quality. fits in the 3rd gen rams really well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great upgrade for older vehicles...

Philip from SIMI VALLEY, CA on 8/7/2020

2006 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far a great upgrade for me. The screen is huge and makes my Avalanche feel like a new truck again. Wife and I love how clear the screen is, and makes the use of CarPlay Nav much easier to see. Thought it was going to hit the shift lever but it doesn't. You will have to cut the inside of the radio din area to get it to fit properly. Also once it's in your not going to take this out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from West Linn, OR on 8/5/2020

2005 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this unit, looks great and the price was very reasonable. I installed myself, swapping the CAR1000 in place of an older Pioneer with GPS deck that I had installed 5 or 6 years earlier.

Pros: Looks great, plenty of features, and lots of expansion possibilities. Great price for an Apple CarPlay unit. Love the large, clear screen.

Cons: None that I have noticed...

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Fantastic Value!!!

Crutchfield customer from Green Cv Spgs, FL on 8/5/2020

2015 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just a fantastic unit for the value!! It was a little difficult to install due to how large the screen is and how it mounts. Once I got passed that, the reward of using it and the way it looks in our Mazda CX-5 is 5 stars. It performs very well with Android Auto and Apple CarPlay.

Pros: An awesome Android Auto and Apple CarPlay option with the added benefit of steering wheel control capability.

Cons: Installation more time consuming, due to size of screen and mounting system.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen car1000 unit

Crutchfield customer from Clermont, FL on 7/26/2020

2012 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent radio for the price range, boot up speed good, screen good, I added a back up camera works well. There are some minor things that you would get from a a more expensive head unit but your going to pay big dollars ( $800 or more). As far as sound quality. I did not change or add to my speaker. Just used stock speaker the vehicle came with. I believe that sound quality is better but I'm not a great judge on that.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Just get it

Crutchfield customer from Hinsdale, IL on 7/20/2020

2012 Ford F-150 Lariat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had quite a few car receivers and most recently the latest Sony offering and I can say without a doubt this is the best bang for your buck. I don't understand why more car radio manufacturers don't follow Jensen's lead with this knockout product. This Thing Rules. I cannot understand why other manufacturers fill their receivers with navigation, useless features, DVD players, come on. It's 2020. I don't know a single person that doesn't have an iPhone or Android. These things are way more powerful than any cars built in GPS, so why include a bunch of features that nobody is ever going to use. This Jensen has an awesome huge display, and exactly what you need, nothing more. Car play, a very decent DSP (somewhere in between Sony and pioneers) time alignment that actually works (although could be more precise), and rock solid car play. If your hesitating like I was because "what the hell is jensen besides a Pyle sounding off brand". I can promise you this thing is quality, pull the trigger.

Pros: -The receiver every car manufacturer should be making - huge display for double DIN - No BS built in - No Nav, DVD, unnecessary and costly features from 2001 - CarPlay and android auto - no wireless car play (drains battery quickly, less stable) - the best aftermarket AVR for the money - looks like some sort of Mercedes OEM unit - Snappy interface

Cons: - Display resolution isint perfect, could be a bit higher - the bottom portion could be slightly sexier, although it's not super noticeable - one small not very frustrating bug where adjusting audio settings seems to jump back to CarPlay after 15 seconds

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

16 of 18 found this helpful

Love the Display/2006 Honda Ridgeline

Roger from Lake City, GA on 7/13/2020

2012 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the HUGE display. The screen can easily be seen even in the sunlight. I use Android Auto which works great. There are a few things that I wish worked different. When using anything other than Android Auto, you can't see the navigation instructions at the bottom like it does when using Android Auto. It has an EQ, but the sound adjustment wasn't nearly as comprehensive as it is on my older Kenwood Excelon. The screen sticks out, which I like, but I wish the controls at the bottom stuck out as well so I can reach it easier. I have the PAC steering wheel control and I can't get the steering wheel controls skip to the next song on Amazon Music which I use most. I haven't tried any other streaming music service. The steering wheel controls will skip around my FM radio stations, and the volume controls work. I used the same PAC control on my older Kenwood Excelon, and it could skip songs on all the streaming music services. Overall, I love the radio. I am contemplating buying another one for my Mazda.

Pros: Huge Display

Cons: Controls don't stick out far enough. Need better sound adjustments.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Eh

Crutchfield customer from Manchester, CT on 7/6/2020

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this unit in February, I loved it at first but the unit does not save any settings, every time it is turned off I have to reprogram the date, time, screen brightness and all other settings. After 6 months I have given up. It's a great budget system but I wish I purchased something different. I will be replacing soon.

Pros:

Cons: Settings don't save when vehicle turned off. Lack of features other units have

Crutchfield response on 7/7/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

7 of 14 found this helpful

Huge Screen with CarPlay

Andy from Memphis, TN on 7/6/2020

2017 Nissan Titan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was skeptical about buying this unit because the price was suspiciously low compared to similar models, but it lived up to my expectations. The screen is HUGE and looks great in my dash. Installation was straight forward - just like any other double-din unit. I'm still having some trouble with the steering wheel controls, but that's an issue with the adapter and my vehicle, not this unit. CarPlay works flawlessly - which is the main reason I got it. It recognizes my phone as soon as I plug it in. The touch screen is very responsive for this type of unit. It's not as responsive as your phone screen or an iPad, but still very good. 2017 Nissan Titan S

Pros: Huge Screen - Looks awesome Touchscreen very responsive CarPlay works great Camera Inputs work great Easy installation Full EQ

Cons: User interface is a little buggy, mainly in the settings menu. Startup screen takes a while; it displays the "Jensen" logo on the screen for about 5 seconds every time you turn it on. I don't see the point of the SD Card and USB inputs on the front (who actually uses those?).

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

6 of 8 found this helpful

Jensen Car1000

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 7/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The new radio that I installed is amazing. Tech support was outstanding. Very patient and knowledgeable.

Pros: Huge Screen CarPlay User Friendly

Cons: Screen background can not be customized

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Value

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 5/24/2020

2011 Toyota Venza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product for the price! Was relatively easy to install with help from Crutchfield techs. Looks great in my Toyota Venza and is great with Apple CarPlay. Touchscreen is very responsive and sound quality is better than factory system

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Good investment

jamon from GREENSBORO, NC on 5/22/2020

2014 Ford F-150 STX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The radio is amazing. Yes for some it will be basic but with Apple car play it's what I need. When traveling I can see the map without looking down at my phone. The installation was easy when reading the directions. The screen fit my truck perfectly. I have a 2014 F150 supercrew. If you want something practical this is the radio for you.

Pros: Good size, works as advertised very practical

Cons: Could not get the steering wheels control to work.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

good for the price

Crutchfield customer from Fort Smith, AR on 5/18/2020

2010 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

looks a little more like a tablet mounted to your dash than a radio -- makes me think my car is going to get broken into any day. Pretty bland visually but excellent audio clarity and fantastic bluetooth. Haven't gotten android auto working yet. Can't figure out if it's a compatibility with the deck issue, phone, or usb cable. Might be more impressed if I can ever figure that issue out!

Pros: huge display, great audio quality

Cons: car burglar magnet

Crutchfield response on 5/21/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with getting Android Audio to work. If you'd like our help, please just reach out to our Tech Support team. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, TX on 5/11/2020

2011 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After two weeks, the unit is very satisfactory. The screen is obviously the attraction here, and it doesn't disappoint. It could certainly be sharper and have more depth, but for the price point it's an awesome screen. The menu's could use a little UI update, they just seem a bit cartoonish, and it would be nice if the front USB port would work for CarPlay/AndroidAuto, but overall it's great bang for the buck and I'll be tempted to buy another one for my next project.

Pros: Huge Screen, CarPlay, AndroidAuto, Low Price

Cons: Front USB is for memory stick only, menu's could use some polish.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Stereo and a Good Price

Nick from Sterling, VA on 5/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The CAR1000 is an excellent head unit for Apple CarPlay or Android Auto users. I installed the system in a 2008 Ford F-150 easily in just a few hours. The screen is big and beautiful, with great touch response and sound quality. The power on response to a backup camera is almost instant, though you will wait several seconds for your phone to be recognized. The big sellers for me were the screen real estate and and ACTUAL VOLUME KNOB. You'll love this thing, so pick it up!

Pros: -Fast power-on response for the backup camera. -Actual volume knob. -Rear USB to hide cables. -Huge touch screen. -Very responsive to touch and gestures.

Cons: -Screen connector is a bit fragile (be careful with install!). -Several second delay recognizing a USB device.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

Fantastic

Crutchfield customer from Cedar Springs, MI on 4/16/2020

2009 Honda Odyssey

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got this to replace a factory nav. Glad I did. Really nice stereo. Huge screen that looks fantastic. Was worried about the hard button part of the stereo. Thought it might look cheap but no worries. It looks fantastic and is great quality. Sounds great as well. Could use some more customization features, but that doesn't really bother me because I'm usually in CarPlay. Overall, love it.

Pros: Screen size. Feel. Look. Sound.

Cons: Lack of customization features.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Owings, MD on 4/12/2020

2011 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome radio and Apple car play works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

GREAT PURCHASE

Crutchfield customer from Pahrump, NV on 3/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent choice for the money and the size of the screen. It's very easy to use and super easy to see even without glasses for us in our 60's. It's the best stereo on the market with a 10 inch screen. Everyone I show, wants one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great for a budget.

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, OH on 3/22/2020

2008 Mazda CX-7

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this radio. I was skeptical because of the brand and the low price but, it is a fantastic radio. I use Apple CarPlay all day long!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Bayside, NY on 3/10/2020

2009 Cadillac Escalade

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good touch response and it has everything I have been looking for. Crutchfield indicated SWC adapter will be needed but somehow SWC worked with the adapter when I had the unit out and connected but when I put everything together and placed the dash kit on, it didn't work anymore. I don't know if it's the unit or the adapter fighting each other.

Pros: Huge Screen. I don't need to squint looking into my phone anymore.

Cons: Shifter was touching the screen about .25". Had to push the unit deep into the extremes...Escalade owners, be ready to work around some things and cables in the back. Tahoe and Yukon may have similar issue with the shifter touching.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

kenyfredy from GRESHAM on 3/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

awesome car stereo and easy to use with great features and nice display , give a new look to your interior . so far loving it??

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Stereo

Nicolaas from Kingwood on 2/11/2020

2003 Honda Element

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely love this upgrade to my 2003 Honda Element. Android Auto is working great and the screen is HUGE. Abilty to stream Pandora and SiriusXM is a great plus! Hands free calling makes life on the road a lot safer. Did I mention the the radio portion works and sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 4 found this helpful

Love the large screen.

Crutchfield customer from Pompey, NY on 2/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great and touchscreen is very responsive. Love the large screen.

Pros: Has rotary volume control and physical mode buttons.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1000

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, TX on 1/29/2020

2013 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the Jesen Car1000 for my Hyundai Elantra '13 the first week it came out. The installation took a couple days only because it was my first time doing something like that. I had aftermarket speakers with a stock radio, but boy did the car1000 do my speakers justice. The car1000 just looks exquisite. I have gotten a lot of complements from people who ride in my car. A friend of mine wants to get it for his 2014 civic, would 100% recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Soooo close... but no. Yet.

Chris from Paterson, NJ on 1/27/2020

2015 Kia Sportage

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really really want to love this unit. But I can't. There are a bunch of quirks that maybe a firmware update can probably fix for example, every time you start the car, all of your volumes go back to zero. There are no less than 5 different volumes to adjust. The normal radio, CarPlay, Siri, Phone calls, and Navigation. It's maddening. When an iPhone is plugged in, even when in settings making adjustments or listening to radio, it automatically jumps to CarPlay even without you pressing the option and interrupting what you were doing. That Being said, the screen is on point. The touch screen is responsive and it boots up fast and looks great. No complaint there. Unfortunately the great screen doesn't make up for the unit's shortcomings. I'll probably be exchanging it for a different model. A software update would probably fix all that and change my opinion but Jensen is not known for firmware updates. They don't even have a website... Oh and Crutchfield service, is second to none. I will always get my car stereos from here. Thank you for the great service.

Pros: The screen Fast boot up Retains steering wheel controls Capacitive touch screen.

Cons: Software is not good. Feels like it's still in beta. Volume adjustment not retained after car is turned off. The button lighting at night does not match. It's blue and my car is red. It's not adjustable.

Crutchfield response on 1/28/2020
Chris contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

14 of 14 found this helpful

Good value option for large screen

BRAD from Keaau on 1/26/2020

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed the unit after running the Boss unit for a while. This unit is more basic. No custom backlight colors etc. Connected to my phone fine and android seems to work as usual. Screen resolution is a little low for this screen size but for the price I think it's adequate. I'm not using an external amp etc so I can't speak for outputs for that. I wired the "parking brake" wire directly to ground and it seems fine. Reverse camera input works find and is reasonably fast to respond. Overall happy so far. Will update if things change.

Pros: I can see it where a standard double din was hard to see.

Cons: No backlight color adjustment, very basic menu

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound