Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Jensen CAR710W

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play discs)

MFR # CAR710W

Jensen CAR710W

Jensen CAR710W

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play discs)

MFR # CAR710W

35 reviews
View this product

Hamburg

Jeffrey from Hamburg on 9/9/2021

2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The product is pretty good. I bought it to replace a failing head unit in my 2014 jeep wrangler. Overall I'm pleased, though I feel for the prices, some of the cons with the software really should be addressed.

Pros: 1. Carplay wired works flawlessly as was my initial need 2. Sound is good 3. Installation was easy. Was able to easily also add a backup camera 4. Touch screen responsive 5. Jensen provides regular software updates

Cons: 1. Screen hard to read in daylight which is a problem for a wrangler in the summer. I had to angle it down to make it a little more legible, but it looks goofy. 2. Built-in SiriusXM radio has no artwork, no Song/Artist labels for the presets. Its just P1, P2, P3 etc.. This one annoys me 3. No digital FM tuner. I thought this was sort of standard stuff these days 4. Wireless carplay is a little laggy. Certainly serviceable, but the wired connection is better. 5. Software updates w

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Crutchfield customer from Sheboygan Falls, WI on 9/9/2021

2001 Ford Excursion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great when new. 2 months later, it does not turn on.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/14/2021
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him with his receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

No ipod support - but there is workaround.

Crutchfield customer from Randolph, NJ on 8/31/2021

2013 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good radio. All was as expected. The only thing to be aware of is that it is not compatible with iPods. There is a way to connect through the audio wiring in the back, but need to control through the iPod itself.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Crutchfield customer from Canfield, OH on 8/31/2021

2000 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great . My only complaint is the complexity of the equalizer

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Radio Upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Cape Coral, FL on 8/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade for 2006 mustang. Great sound with many features. Bluetooth works great and with the usb port I am able to get many more features that were not offered for my ride. Well worth the investment and the people at Crutchfield guided me to this product and meet all my needs. Thanks again to Ray from Crutchfield.

Pros: all features, bluetooth, usb port, gps, Sireus radio, AM/FM stations etc

Cons: none so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Crutchfield customer from Sulphur Springs, TX on 8/27/2021

2000 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio was easy to install and functions well. I wish the buttons for volume and such were illuminated so you could see them at night.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome!

Crutchfield customer from Port St Lucie, FL on 8/24/2021

2005 Lexus ES330

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome product! Way better than is expected. Installation & sound quality is amazing! I will look toward Crutchfield for all future purchases.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Front buttons and GPS may not work out of the box.

Jim from Boca Raton on 8/22/2021

2005 Jeep Liberty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Should have looked at the reviews first.... So right out of the box, the five physical buttons DO NOT WORK. (Crutchfield customer service is amazing though - so they are taking care of me on that). Assuming that they worked however, here's my thoughts on the rest of it. The GPS... Why? Why does a non-nav radio have or need a GPS antenna? Oh right! So that it can automagically set the time.... For China. Yup, it chose the wrong time zone, EVEN WHEN it was actually saying that I was located in the Eastern Time Zone. Bravo JVC, that's very creative stupidity. The screen is very pretty, and has a decent resolution compared to a Pioneer AVIC model that I have used. It's not super visible when using polarized sunglasses though. The user interface MIGHT be better if I didn't have to use an adapter just to change the volume (no front buttons remember) and there is a fair amount of wasted space on screen when you aren't in an Apple Carplay screen. Wireless Carplay also seems to be about 40% of the time successful in connecting... It's easier to just use the cord. Points off for that. If it was fully functional, I MIGHT be keeping it, but as it is with all these issues.... I'm swapping to maybe a Sony.

Pros: Pretty screen, high resolution. Sound quality is decent if not spectacular

Cons: Defective buttons (known issue) GPS doesn't work properly (and why does it have this?) Wireless carplay only connects about 40% of the time Aux input and bluetooth input levels are much lower than they should be, and not adjustable

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Do not purchase

Cori from CATHEDRAL CITY, CA on 8/22/2021

2004 Chevrolet Cavalier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Initial impressions were good. Apple car play is easy to set up and the navigation works well. But after about 3 days of use I started having issues to where Apple CarPlay would freeze then kick me back to the Home Screen. Cutting all audio and forcing me to reconnect my phone via either Bluetooth or USB. Soon it devolved to the radio just going black. Sometimes it would still have audio sometimes it would cut audio completely. Forcing me to power the radio off then back on, and completely reconnect my phone to be able to use Apple car play again. For a head unit at this price, im totally disappointed and would not recommend anyone to purchase this.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/24/2021
Cori, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Crutchfield customer from Lk In The Hls, IL on 8/22/2021

2011 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Install was super easy. Features are everything I was looking for at this price point

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Well worth the price.

Crutchfield customer from Porterville, CA on 8/22/2021

2012 Chevrolet Impala

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Jensen Stereo is well with the money. I had the custom wire harness made that allowed me to do the installation my self. I have the Bose speaker setup so I didn't upgrade the speakers. I am very happy with this the Chutchfield wire harness and Jensen stereo.

Pros: 1. It receives my favorite FM stations much better. 2. It is truly a wireless connection. 3. Automatically connects to my phone while it's still in my pocket.

Cons: It didn't come with a backup camera

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Crutchfield customer from Brighton, MI on 8/22/2021

2009 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Front buttons didn't work. Seems like there were reviews from others sitting the same thing. I returned it after fighting with it for a day and a half

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Radio

Crutchfield customer from Ballston Lake, NY on 8/22/2021

2015 Ford F-150 XL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Radio with lots of features. Connects quick to the phone. Calls are easier to make than the Original System. It is easy to install it yourself and the help from Cruchfield is amazing. Sound is very good. Think I have to change my standard speaker to better ones with more power.

Pros: Easy Install. Connect good to phone. No cable needed. Sound good.

Cons: Sometimes Google Maps is a little bit off the road with the Arrow. After restarting car and new connection to the phone it works.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works as intended, for the price, its great!

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paul, MN on 8/20/2021

2004 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Boots fast, easy to use, touch screen works well, buttons on the bottom is responsive. Did not get 5 stars as there is no way to change the assigned menu items on the main menu, if you wear polarized sunglasses you can't see the screen very well, and when you shift out of reverse and the back up camera shuts off - for a split second it says "connection lost" before switching back to whatever screen you were on last which is kind of odd.

Pros: Fast start up, smooth operation

Cons: Cannot customize main menu

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Crutchfield customer from Marion, OH on 8/19/2021

2010 GMC Acadia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The radio is nice but for some reason and has messed up my location on my phone and now every time I ask for a phone number it gives me numbers out of in California in California and Greece so I'm still trying to figure that out

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A very returnable stereo

Crutchfield customer from Van Meter, IA on 8/19/2021

2007 Pontiac Solstice

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I find the stereo frustrating. The integration with Android auto is weak. Yes, it works, but switching between radio and maps is not simple. The radio interface itself seems poor. No RDS, limited to 6 presets, manual brightness, just is odd in a modern device. I plan to return it. I'm very unhappy with the technology.

Pros:

Cons: No RDS. Very small recessed buttons - are difficult to use. Poor user interface - looks dated.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice radio

Charles from Hemet, CA on 8/16/2021

2004 Ford Thunderbird

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. Only problem was the GPS telling me that I was in China. Very frustrating trying to make it work. Finally I found a software update on the Jensen website. I called Jensen and they walked me thru the process of downloading it to a thumb drive and then download onto the radio. All in all I'm very pleased with the new radio.

Pros: Works great

Cons: Sold with outdated software no one told me about.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Better, but still a ways to go.

Crutchfield customer from Roseville, CA on 8/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a nice small, light unit to replace the VM9226BT that the touch screen went out on. Love the wireless Carplay, sensitive touch screen and clean and easy to navigate display and controls. Not happy that the bezel was the wrong thickness to hide the mounting sleeve, and was not a standard DIN size. Had to use the bezel from the old Jensen, then dremal out the ends to make it fit the new unit. I thought the DIN size was a standard? Nice that it comes with a GPS antenna to supplement the phone in case of less than optimal signal. Bad that Jensen removed the option to display the backup camera while driving, was a great aid in the RV to see the blind spot and watch the tow car as well as see when it was safe to move into the right lane after passing trucks. Had to add a powered switch and diode to the reverse sensor lead to allow the rear camera to work while driving. All in all a good unit but missing a few need to have options.

Pros: Price point Size & light weight easy to hook up sensitive and clear touchscreen Plenty of line outs two sub woofer line outs Built in amp has plenty of power

Cons: Not all DIN sized bezel's will fit No option to turn on rear camera while driving. No front USB port

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Crutchfield customer from Bethlehem, PA on 8/16/2021

2011 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall its a Great radio , worth the money

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Crutchfield customer from Clayton, NC on 8/16/2021

2018 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A lot of bang for your buck. The screen is pretty good quality and plenty of features. The wireless carplay is easy to set up and works great. I had to return the first unit due to the front panel buttons not working. It looks like others have reported the same issue. The second unit I received worked flawlessly. Crutchfield support was excellent and had the replacement to me in no time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 8/14/2021

2011 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Main software is a little janky however overall it is a very good system with wireless CarPlay. Overall very pleased with this system but need to break my habit of trying to reach for a volume knob, definitely worth to get SWC working with this receiver. Screen brightness could use improvement as direct morning sunlight will make the screen hard to see however this I feel is a minor complaint.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Update Firmware for Android Auto

Benjamin from Raleigh, NC on 8/10/2021

2004 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What an upgrade for my 2004 Toyota 4Runner! Easy install and great working unit with excellent Android Auto connectivity. Now my phone never leaves my bag and have access to phone calls, text (read), maps, Audible, podcasts, etc. is a game changer. NOTE: I was initially frustrated with Google Maps and Waze unable to connect. Jensen provides a firmware update on their website that solved the problem. Just download, copy unzipped files to a blank USB drive, plug into the car and start up the car. It installs itself. I also purchased an inexpensive USB port that fits in a lighter port in case I want to connect a phone via wire or charge my phone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Orland Park

Jason from Orland Park on 8/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There must have been a bad batch of these, because the first unit I got, the front buttons didn't work like 2 other reviews mentioned. However, Crutchfield sent me out a new one, and this one works great. wireless carplay is good, sound quality is good. Hoping it is a reliable unit that will last, and the button issue was just a bad batch and not a sign of things to come!

Pros: lowest price wireless carplay. good sound quality.

Cons: quality control

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worth the price of admission

Crutchfield customer from LEES SUMMIT, MO on 8/9/2021

2003 Dodge Durango

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far this thing has worked like a dream! I can now see behind me when I put the Durango in reverse and I have wireless AA! The screen looks pretty good and the music sounds great. I am running everything through an amp so I can't say much about how this sounds on it's own but it performs great and boots up pretty quick. The one thing I had to discover on my own (Thanks Google and Reddit) is that the unit ships with an out of date firmware that no matter what I did showed me as being in mainland China instead of Missouri. So you will need to perform a firmware update to fix this issue, after that it has worked great!

Pros: Sounds and looks great. Easy install.

Cons: Outdated firmware and nothing telling you how to fix it. Had to find it on my own.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A bit disappointed with the unit

Mike from New Jersey on 8/4/2021

2015 Hyundai Sonata SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not impressed with this system. I had a similar experience as another customer where the 5 buttons on the front and the reset button didn't work. I had Crutchfield send out a replacement which is nice, however its still an inconvenience for me as the installer and for the customer to come back and have to take apart the dash again. I also had an issue when using android auto with the stereo GPS antenna connected it would be fighting with my phone for the correct location thinking I was in Kazakhstan while I was actually in the U.S. however disconnecting the antenna solved that issue, I'm honestly not sure why Jensen they bothered adding it to the stereo if it works fine without it connected and only causes problems. Overall Jensen could have some better QC on these units.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Crutchfield customer from Sanford, NC on 7/25/2021

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install with all the parts that was sent with the package. One question that was quickly answered by Crutchfield tech and I was done and listening to a great sounding radio. CarPlay works great wireless.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Crutchfield customer from Myrtle Beach, SC on 7/24/2021

2005 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wireless Apple CarPlay is amazing

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Carplay value

Crutchfield customer from Sharon, MA on 7/19/2021

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound and a good value. If you want wireless Carplay at a reasonable price, this is a good way to do it.

Pros: Wireless CarPlay is awesome.

Cons: Radio does not have RDS.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Crutchfield customer from Brooksville, KY on 7/14/2021

2011 Hyundai Sonata SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have gone 3 years without a stereo and finally decided to get a new one, I am 110% satisfied with the Jensen.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Value

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 7/12/2021

2014 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall, this head unit a great value offering many of the most desirable and state-of-art features at a very competitive price. The double-DIN form factor is suited for most modern cars, and being completely "mechless" means there are not moving parts that will fail over time. But alas, circuit boards can still fail - just not as often or quickly, and so it goes... After the initial installation of just the head unit with the car-radio harness, the front panel control buttons on my CAR710W unit did not function (including the tiny "Reset" button). Using the "Reset" option via the touchscreen menus did not resolve the issue, nor did adding the Steering Wheel Control Interface (which worked for the most part right off the bat). Fortunately, the SWC did provide alternate access to the front-panel controls, so I was not dead in the water. Here's where I am so glad that I placed my order through Crutchfield! Telephone support was readily available, knowledgeable and helpful. They quickly set up an RMA plan for my unit that will send out a new one as soon as it is available, and provide for free return shipping of my current defective unit. One aside: a GPS antenna is included with this non-navigation unit. It turns out CarPlay/Android Auto are able to utilize an outboard GPS antenna in head units that have one available, which will improve GPS accuracy. That said, it still works without the GPS antenna installed.

Pros: + Wireless CarPlay + Large 7" screen, minimal bezel for a double-DIN form factor + Capacitive Touchscreen... visible even when wearing polarized sunglasses + Video display via USB port

Cons: - Front panel buttons are difficult to access if unit is recessed into dashboard (but this is a trade-off for the large screen). Built-in EQ settings are a bit wonky

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Crutchfield customer from Oviedo, FL on 7/12/2021

2005 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a simple install. I purchased the kits associated to my car and the rest was as easy as possible.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Value is the operative word here

Crutchfield customer from Lunenburg, MA on 7/12/2021

2014 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In the day of Apple Carplay and Android Auto, most of us no longer care how many radio stations a radio can program or whether it has different color backgrounds. Well I am one of those people and I wanted an affordable wireless Carplay head unit. This fits the bill hands down. The phone connects wirelessly and everything works as expected. Very happy with this unit and the price point!

Pros: Price and wireless Carplay

Cons: The wireless connection to Carplay could be faster. Takes maybe 20 seconds before it connects itself from starting the car.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Crutchfield customer from Bronx, NY on 7/5/2021

1988 Toyota Corolla SR5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This stereo is great! Installation took longer than I expected, but once the wires were paired correctly, it was a breeze. The screen is bright, clear and responsive.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wireless Android Auto/Apple Car Play is a game changer

David from St. Louis, MO on 7/2/2021

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I swapped out my Jensen Car689 for this unit, and I was able to get it installed yesterday. Currently Crutchfield does not offer the wire harness service for this unit, but I was able to get it wired quickly to the harness using the instructions they sent me. The install was very easy, and this is a major upgrade from the CAR689. The unit itself boots up very fast, and connecting to bluetooth/Android Auto takes only 20-30 after starting the vehicle. I must say after using wired Android Auto, switching to wireless is a huge upgrade and justifies the cost of this unit. The screen is clear in the day, and looks really good at night. I was able to retain all of the steering wheel controls, and having wired Android Auto and Apple Car Play is nice a plus for long road trips when you will need to charge your phone. The sound quality is also better than the stock radio I had in my truck prior to installing the CAR689. All in all, this is a worthy upgrade for anyone looking for a good deal on a head unit that has wireless Car Play and Android Auto. I highly recommend it.

Pros: Fast Boot Screen Quality Sound Quality Wireless Android Auto Wireless Apple Car Play

Cons: None that I have encountered so far

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

8 of 8 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Guest from Paris texas on 6/30/2021

2010 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing. Pure Amazing

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

TOP