Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
966 125 521 4
Connect ID #
966 125 521 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Jensen CAR710W

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play discs)

MFR # CAR710W

Jensen CAR710W

Jensen CAR710W

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play discs)

MFR # CAR710W

111 reviews
View this product

Good value for the money

Joel from Grover Beach, CA on 11/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This unit is better than expected. CarPlay works flawlessly.

Pros: Everything works great

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Music Format

Darrell from Oliver Springs, TN on 11/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far so good! My only issue is that using a thumb drive with music loaded from my iTunes it will not recognize the music. Is their a certain format I have to use? I just thought the two would interact with each other!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 11/23/2022
Darrell, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Steven from GADSDEN, AL on 11/21/2022

2007 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very pleased with unit. Super easy install with crutchfield pre wiring adapter. Simply plug and play.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Richard from Eatonton, GA on 11/21/2022

2015 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Seems like a pretty decent radio so far - easy to install, and works much better than the original head from Subaru with Carplay etc. Have to get to the adapter and try some different settings for the SWC - works for volume and PTT, but the off and on hook buttons - not yet. Havent had time to talk w tech support folks yet

Pros: Great with Carplay

Cons: SWC dip settings need tweaking from the settings given to get all controls working

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Derik from Ava, IL on 11/21/2022

2016 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great radio. Easy install. Easy to use. Wireless carplay works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Jason from Springfield, MO on 11/20/2022

2008 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fit perfectly in a 2008 mustang. Has some good features for the price. Only thing I wish the head unit could do is turn off the display.

Pros: Wireless car play works well Decent set of features for the price.

Cons: No way to turn display off EQ seems to be a bit lacking, but for the price it's acceptable.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Loving Wireless

Matthew from Knoxville, TN on 11/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far, so good. I love having wireless Android Auto and a backup camera, even on my old gas saving daily driver (2008 Camry). Pretty easy install at face value. I paid for the pre-wired harness which was worth it, except one thing. The purple with white striped wire, was crimped in, but needed to be left open for an aftermarket camera. I lost time with this issue, but tech support helped me and we finally got it going. I do not understand the complaints on boot up time. My camera works instantly when the car is turned on and it is ready to play music quickly. It always connects to my phone (Samsung Galaxy S20) on its own within 15 seconds. Overall, this has made my commuting pretty easy. I love my podcasts and maps starting as soon as I get in the car. No more fooling with unlocking my phone and navigating apps at stop lights. I just park my phone in my wireless charging cradle and this Jensen takes care of the rest. Colors are not super vibrant on the main splash screen, but not much of an issue since I usually stay in Android Auto.

Pros: All Wireless No fooling with phone Clear Picture

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Dulio from Carthage, MO on 11/15/2022

2005 Nissan 350Z

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very clean product, fit perfectly into my 350z. Display is bright and audio adjustability settings is good. Wireless car play is a game changer. Could use a better looking UI but overall happy with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2003 SSR

Allen from Sebastian, FL on 11/14/2022

2003 Chevrolet SSR

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product, easy install following directions

Pros: Nice fit, sounds great

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield staff unbelievably supportive

Mark from Buskirk, NY on 11/9/2022

2008 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fantastic company to do business with! Slight mishap in shipping and wiring issues on my behalf but the Crutchfield staff got me going in a heartbeat.

Pros: Great products and support staff

Cons: Absolutely no cons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Tom from ORO VALLEY, AZ on 11/2/2022

2001 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Exactly what I was hoping for!! This unit works great and pairs very easily with my iPhone/Car Play. It exceeded my expectations in sound, ease of use, Touch Screen, Display brightness, and the over all controls!!! I have No complaints at ALL!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good for the price

Duy from Beaverton, OR on 10/31/2022

2012 Lexus ES350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great price, works well with essential knobs. Audio don't sound as good, I have original Lexus speakers, I think it need a good amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing!!!!

Michael from ROCHESTER, MI on 10/27/2022

2012 Nissan 370Z

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very very happy with the screen quality, ease of use, look, and feel

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

All about Crutchfield

Crutchfield customer from CHESTER SPRINGS, PA on 10/24/2022

2002 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Ok so the Product is Excellent but that's not the story here...Crutchfield is EXCELLENT They guided me to this unit and they were there for 10 calls during installation. I have NEVER installed something like this (of course they didn't have anything like this when I was wrenching) But the company and its help is amazing. I have never experienced a customer service like this in my 62 years. Thank You all who helped me!

Pros: The company

Cons: 0.0

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Wellington from Ormond Beach, FL on 10/23/2022

2009 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great system for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Erick from Bellingham, WA on 10/22/2022

2011 Kia Sorento

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works well in my 2011 Kia Sorrento fits perfectly

Pros: Fits good and looks nice

Cons: The wiring that Crutchfield sent me was not accurate, the wiring to the backup camera was wrong and had to figure it out myself. Connected the purple wire to the backup lamps to get it to work.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality Receiver

David from KINGSTON, GA on 10/22/2022

2005 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I installed this in a 2005 Mustang. So far I am very pleased with it. Easy to install. Plus I added a back up camera. I removed the cigarette lighter and put the USB port in its place

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Fewer install headaches, Connects/Sounds Great

Ronald from Tomball, TX on 10/21/2022

2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I haven't installed a car stereo in about 35 years, but this one couldn't have been more simple to install. 2007 Jeep JK. Dash removal was a snap. I opted for Crutchfield's Ready Harness--TOTALLY WORTH IT! Total install time was about 45 minutes--probably would've been half if I knew what I was doing. Wireless Android Auto works perfectly with my Moto One 5G--Google Maps, Pandora, phone calls, messaging by voice--"Look Ma, no wires!" Now if I can get that $350 gift card, I can replace the factory speakers and I'll be set.

Pros: - Fully-wireless Android Auto/Apple CarPlay - Fast and easy install (with optional Ready Harness) - Easily connects to phone (1st setup and anytime you get in your car)

Cons: - Screen difficult to see in bright conditions (top off, reflecting off light-colored seats, etc.)

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Terrible Unit

Adam from MT ZION, IL on 10/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This unit is terrible. What a waste of my hard earned money. It doesn't want to stay connected wirelessly or wired to android auto. The radio is completely worthless. I can't listen to any local stations. Good luck if you have 2 people trying to use it at different times. About the only way a different person can connect is if you completely remove the first person's connection. I also really hate that I have to use the screen for Google maps and it locks out my phone screen. I'm sorry but the UX isn't nearly as good as what's offered on my phone. On a side note, I got an alpine unit that does android auto.and it's almost as bad. Maybe it's android auto that's making these devices bad. I'm going back to a Bluetooth only unit. At least I can then still use my phone screen. Don't waste your money on this unit or really any android auto unit.

Pros: Touchscreen is nice

Cons: Nothing works well, and it's pretty buggy.

Crutchfield response on 10/18/2022
Adam, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. While your order is beyond Crutchfield's 60-day return policy, please feel free to reach out to our Tech Support team for help, or for information about the 2-year warranty on this deck. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 3 found this helpful

Great suggestion on Unit

Richard from Peoria, AZ on 10/17/2022

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This was the unit suggested by the team at Crutchfield and it is perfect. The biggest concern I had was wireless Carplay and it works flawlessly. A great product at a great price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Mark from Kennesaw, GA on 10/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Apple carplay looks so good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very nice

Oliver from Bend, OR on 10/4/2022

2017 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I like it and it works perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Al from Frisco, TX on 9/27/2022

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Screen freezes daily, sometimes goes completely black. In addition, the buttons at the bottom of the receiver that control the volume, source, etc. are tiny and not easy to use without looking at the receiver. And the price dropped $100 since I ordered this unit, which may make it worth the gamble, but all it is now is a Bluetooth capable radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/28/2022
Al, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. While your order is beyond Crutchfield's 60-day return policy, please feel free to reach out to our Tech Support team for help, or for information about the 2-year warranty on this deck. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just what the doctor ordered

Peter from Las Vegas, NV on 9/20/2022

2008 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice unit at a fair price. Exactly what I was hoping for. Installation with the wiring kit made it very easy. The whole installation took about an hour. In the end, it updated our old ute with new technology and better sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

A great wireless android auto/carplay device

Ritesh from Mountain View, CA on 9/18/2022

2013 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A very good fit for my 2013 Subaru outback. Wireless Android Auto features work very well. The included mic may not be the best quality (attached it right below the rear view mirror). The biggest challenge is the glare/inability to see the screen clearly in direct sunlight even at the brightest setting. A smaller issue is that even though it boots quickly, it takes a little while to initialize (whether to play radio or to connect to android auto). Did not connect backup camera and after using Crutchfield's ReadyHarness service, there was no need to splice any cables - just remove the old and replace with the new. The inbuilt equalizer does a decent job! Highly recommend this unit for anyone who can manage the glare (which may be an issue with the angle the device is installed on my car)

Pros: - Wireless Android Auto - Easy install - Functions - USB in, GPS syncing, Aux in

Cons: - No volume knob - Glare/not bright enough in some sunlight

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome Unit!

Anthony from Dunedin, FL on 9/13/2022

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased this unit as a replacement to the factory receiver in my 2005 Chevy Silverado 1500 WT. I also purchased the mounting kit and wire harness to go along with it. The wire harness made the install a heck of a lot easier because you do not have to clip wires. The mounting kit was also very simple to install. With the mounting kit, the unit fits flush into the same spot as the factory radio (see pics below). Nothing sticking out in the front. It looks very clean. The unit overall is awesome. I love the wireless Apple Car Play feature. No more wires hanging out to get tangled up, etc. Plus, you do not lose sound quality with Apple Car Play like you do with Bluetooth often times. I'm very pleased with the unit thus far. It's a lot of value for the price. And with support from the Crutchfield team, you cannot go wrong.

Pros: Great value for the price. Easy Install.

Cons: None that I can think of.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Ronald from Levittown, PA on 9/12/2022

2011 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far I really like it installed it on 9-10-22. Got the factory wiring harness for a gmc. Easy-to-use easy-to-install.

Pros: Everything is crystal clear phone, Bluetooth and android smart play.

Cons: It keep automatically wanting to play pandora on my phone. I know it's just probably a setting but.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing

Rodrigo from Bakersfield, CA on 9/6/2022

2008 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Loved it

Pros: Everything

Cons: Borders that come with radio could be a bit better and the radio isnt flush with the hole in the brackets but regardless its fine

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent unit for the money!

Hunter from Lafayette, LA on 9/5/2022

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I don't think you can find a unit that beats the value of this one. Most other units with wireless Apple Car Play are nearly double the price. I installed this in my 2005 Tacoma along with a backup camera and it has made my driving experience much better. This is my first experience with Apple Car Play and I wasn't really expecting to use it much. I typically just listen to YouTube while I drive, but. I must say that it has been a very pleasant surprise. It's a very seamless and convenient integration with Siri, maps, messages, music, and phone. I can also still listen to YouTube through Bluetooth if I want. The quality of the screen is good with a clear picture for the backup camera. The touch screen isn't the snappiest but plenty good enough for me. I'm not sure if it's the touch screen or the software but sometimes there is a half a second delay after pushing a button. No big deal. The center mute button is nice for drive throughs or anytime you just want to make it quiet without changing your volume settings or having to pause your music. Crutchfield's tech support is absolutely amazing. I spoke with them a couple of times on the phone and both times there was no wait. I spoke with a guy in tech support right away after pushing just 1 button, definitely not the norm these days. I also corresponded through email and the tech sent me pictures and information that made everything so easy. Get the pre wired harness for $25, it's so worth i

Pros: Price, wireless Apple Car Play, 7" high quality screen, easy install, great sound

Cons: Hard to think of any cons for this unit. Maybe the screen could be a bit snappier but that's being pretty picky. Would have liked to see the ability to recall my backup camera when not in reverse. It also doesn't have screen mirror.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Michael from Olympia, WA on 9/3/2022

2012 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great improvement over my stock system. I live the big display.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great value and upgrade

Jonathan from Menlo Park, CA on 9/2/2022

2007 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed easily in my 2007 Rav4 Limited JBL with the custom wiring harness and RP4 interface I purchased from Crutchfield along with the dash kit. Overall a great unit, lowest price I could find for Android Auto, and I've dialed in the sound to be at least equal to my previous JBL setup and probably better. Only negatives are that the dash kit could fit better or have an additional bezel to hide minor gaps/alignment issues, the screws provided with the CAR710W weren't quite long enough for the mounting bracket, and sometimes Android Auto Wireless doesn't connect, which I'm 99% sure is an Android issue because when I toggle Wireless Android on my phone it connects right away. Classic Google Beta for life stuff. Overall a great upgrade for a 16 year old car that I decided to keep!

Pros: Well-featured Good price

Cons: Dash kit minor fit issues Short mounting bracket screws Android Auto wireless connection issues (likely phone related)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Daniel from Forest Grove, OR on 8/6/2022

2001 GMC Sierra 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Android connectivity is flawless so far, downsides doesn't push the speakers that hard ok but that's all, not much equalizer options, probably would be good pared with an amp

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Kit from Atwater, MN on 8/3/2022

2009 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy functionality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Mick from Greenwood, IN on 8/2/2022

2006 Nissan 350Z

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love the Jensen CAR710W unfortunately the dash kit never fit my 2006 350Z so I am planning on installing the Jensen CAR710W in my 2010 Frontier

Pros: Love the Jensen CAR710W. It was easy to setup and seemed to work great.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Nathan from Lyndon, KS on 7/24/2022

2011 Buick Enclave

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great quality, user friendly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Most Affordable Wireless Apple Carplay

Colby from New Bedford, MA on 7/22/2022

2011 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I really wanted to give this 5 stars but I'll outline what I think could be improved. Having no volume knob takes getting used to but I understand the trade off for a larger screen. Having a home button would be nice. The screen isn't the most responsive but given the price point it does just fine. The blue lights are a little too bright and cannot be adjusted. The User Interface feels dated. It has limited amount of radio presets. The GPS port won't accept a factory plug without a pigtail adapter. Sometimes audio won't come through CarPlay but this is rare and a quick Bluetooth toggle off and on remedies it. Having said that, this stereo has tremendous value. The unit looks great, screen quality is good, hard buttons as opposed to capacitive touch, steering wheel controls work fine, sounds as good if not better than stock stereo, wireless CarPlay, and it happens to be the most affordable option that works like it should. I'd also highly recommend Crutchfield's Ready Harness service. This made installation incredibly simple and quick. Truly plug and play. Overall I'm happy with my purchase and even happier with my experience with Crutchfield.

Pros: Simple Good Looks Screen Quality Ease of Installation Hard Buttons Sound Price

Cons: Limited Radio Presets GPS Port Placement Rare Bluetooth Issue No Volume Button No Home Button Dates UI

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

8 of 8 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Ryan from Newcastle, CA on 7/18/2022

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very high quality especially for the price. Very sleek and gave my old call a really modern feel.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very pleased with this unit

Charles from Paoli, IN on 7/16/2022

2009 Nissan 350Z

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The reduced depth allows for easy stowage of all the wires. The video quality is very good. I also installed a backup camera at the same time and it shows up on the 7 in screen with great clarity. Sound is great.

Pros: Short depth. Quality sound. Good picture. Wireless Android Auto and Apple CarPlay

Cons: Needs firmware update right out of the box.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Garbage

Crutchfield customer from PRESTON, ID on 7/9/2022

2014 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Screen freezes all the time, most modules don't have info for this receiver. Absolute garbage touch screen response. Wireless CarPlay takes forever to connect.

Pros: Wireless carplay

Cons: Everything else.

Crutchfield response on 7/13/2022
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. While your order is beyond Crutchfield's 60-day return policy, please feel free to reach out to our Tech Support team for help, or for information about the 2-year Jensen warranty on this receiver. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

4 of 6 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

John from Richmond, VA on 7/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The wireless CarPlay interface is slower than I expected. Sound is good and included microphone works well. Spend the extra $25 and have them make all the connections between the 2 wiring harnesses as it makes installation very quick.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Debbie

Debbie from Rogers, AR on 7/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great stereo. Only complaint is no good directions on how to set everything up once installed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Michael from Waterford Works, NJ on 7/1/2022

2004 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great head unit for the price! Phone automatically syncs when radio is turned on. Plug and play wiring form Crutchfield makes installing a breeze.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Honda civic a no go

Joel from Clayton, NC on 6/30/2022

2017 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Overall not a bad unit. It takes April 60-90 seconds to link up to your phone when you start your car if installing in a Honda Civic ten edition. The steering wheel controls only work for volume not phone. After two weeks working with technical support sent unit back. Was disappointed. Will spend a little more and get a unit that works all around. Display is in changeable. Crutchfield was great. The first time I had them wire my harness it was wired incomplete. I had To finish it. It was popping fuses in my car. They sent me a new one that worked. I feel that a better unit would have avoided all these problems. Thank you Crutchfield for standing behind your products. Thank you Jesus for dying in my place and giving me a peace and a hope in this world that appears to be a mess. John 3:16

Pros: Nice unit wireless

Cons: No steering wheel buttons

Crutchfield response on

4 of 13 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Raymond from El Cajon, CA on 6/22/2022

2007 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works fine, main complaint is the slow "start up" when first starting your car. Needs 10-15 seconds before music or using the screenn

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Good budget unit for wireless carplay.

Ian from Greenville, SC on 6/20/2022

2013 Ford F-150 STX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Chose this unit for the wireless CarPlay and it works well. Usually connects within a minute of turning it on. For the price it's a good head unit, but I wish the radio supported rds. Other than that no real complaints about it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simple but feature-full

Habeeb from Orlando, FL on 5/30/2022

2015 Nissan Frontier SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Simple enough with the features I need. Very easy to install.

Pros: Wireless CarPlay is super simple, easy to use and set up.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Shawn from Castle Hayne, NC on 5/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install since crutchfield had pre wired for me

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works as advertised, but.

Steve from Mount Juliet, TN on 5/17/2022

2012 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Head unit, visually is pretty solid. The response (once boot up is complete) is pretty solid. Sound is on par with expectations, wiring straightforward. But! Switching the car key from accessory to start the car, the power on the head unit is cut and it restarts. This wouldn't be so bad but the "Jenson" GUI on the display is long and drawn out. The lag time to get the unit to turn on and become useful (connect to CarPlay) is ludicrous.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 5/18/2022
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to Steve to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

6 of 7 found this helpful

very decent unit!

DIY_fan from NC on 5/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm pretty happy with this unit! The wireless Android Auto functionality is truly fantastic. I can basically get in my car and go. It auto launches Android Auto within less than a minute (exact timing unknown, I haven't properly timed it). Like most of us shopping during these obnoxious times of supply chain issues, I do wish I could have found one with a volume knob and more bells and whistles in general, but hey - it's doing the job. Proper fitment (read: no gigantic floating screen) was more important to me and fairly necessary with my exact car, placement of vents, etc. Firmware updates had to be done, was super easy and quick though so I don't really mind. Actually, points for Jensen bothering to release those! Overall I'm happy with it. It's a huge improvement over my OEM setup which didn't even have BT. The external wired mic is a big deal for me for audio quality (installed it where OEM would have been) Included GPS sensor is also a really nice bonus, which also pulls clock time from satellites so that's awesome. Someday if one becomes available that has a volume knob and more buttons for basic functions (back, forward, etc.), I might just upgrade at that time. Who knows? I should mention that I did notice one day the screen itself was getting a tad warm (it was only about 65 F outside), so I'll have to keep an eye on that.

Pros: wireless Android Auto fairly quick boot time voice activation button External wired microphone GPS sensor rear USB backup cam input

Cons: no volume knob no forward / back physical buttons only 1 USB no appearance themes built in can't change boot splash screen

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very Pleased

Michael from Liberty, MO on 5/2/2022

2008 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased this for my 2008 Toyota Rav4 Limited with JBL. I also purchased the recommended interface for steering wheel controls and the readyharness. I had installed an aftermarket stereo about a year ago and it died a couple of months ago. After attempting to trouble shoot I realized that I may have inadvertently messed something up with wiring because of some nuances in compatibility between factory Toyota wiring and the after market stereo wiring. The money spent to have Crutchfield pre-wire everything was well worth it! I enjoy this stereo, it has all the features I wanted and my steering wheel controls are working great. Installation was quick after I ran the cords for the mic and the navigation antenna. I simply plugged everything in and installed it in my dash. During my purchase I reached out to a Crutchfield representative and they were able to quickly help me. I am very pleased with my purchase and will not only make future purchases from Crutchfield but will also recommend to others.

Pros: Pre-wired Readyharness made installation plug and play. Crutchfield's recommended additions such as steering wheel control interface work great.

Cons: So far I cannot find any.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Scott from Wylie Tx on 4/18/2022

2014 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Kudos to the Crutchfield Team. Perfect fit, on my 2014 Toyota Corolla. Watched a You Tube Video, assembled the wiring harness provided with the Head unit, removed radio panel, unbolted 4 ea 10 mm bolts. No issues at any level. Wow does this this transform my car. I have CAR play in my other vehicle, so why wouldn't I have it in all my cars. Jenson has once again proven to make an awesome product. I had to order an after market rear view camera (from Crutchfield)), my OEM did not integrate with the new system. Otherwise Very pleased!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent Choice for Value

Kaleohano from MILILANI, HI on 4/17/2022

2006 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This was the first time I've upgraded from the OEM radio on my car. I have a 2006 Corolla and the Jensen CAR710W is an excellent upgrade/replacement option. The installation and setup process was simple and quick. Apple CarPlay had been set up after connecting to bluetooth and streaming music began instantly. The system takes about 15 - 20 seconds to completely boot up and start Apple CarPlay. After installing and listening to the sound for the first time, you'll notice it's really flat and doesn't compliment the music at all. This was easily fixed using the built in equalizer which is extremely easy to use. Using the touchscreen is easy and simple, although it does require you to apply a small amount of pressure for your input to register. The display is adequate, not too dim but not the brightest either. If your current radio is exposed to a lot of sunlight, I would look into other options. However, in my particular situation and vehicle (2006 Corolla) I don't have a problem at all with the screens max brightness. The display's quality isn't very sharp but works nicely in most situations. Text isn't affected by the lower quality but you'll notice album cover art and other pictures will lack sharper details. Overall, I believe the Jensen CAR710W is an excellent value option, especially for those looking for wireless Apple CarPlay.

Pros: Easy to use UI, Easy to install, OK boot up time, Apple CarPlay instantly starts, Good power to speakers, Easy to use equalizer, Quick mute button, Voice assistant button.

Cons: Display is a bit dim, Not very sharp display, Can't adjust night time LEDS, UI looks dated, Equalizer doesn't adjust in real-time.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Marcus from Iowa City, IA on 4/12/2022

2008 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great radio. Bluetooth apple car play is a must. Connects on its own every time you get in the car. Super easy install as well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Jon from Parker, CO on 4/10/2022

2009 Nissan Titan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good product for the money. Works great. Crutchfield customer service was amazing as always

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not bad but could be better!

Mark from Mount Wolf, PA on 4/9/2022

2013 Volkswagen GTI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

As far as an aftermarket radio it's okay. The installation was easy and the radio itself is okay. But my last Pioneer radio was much better. The issue I'm having is the screen is just too dim! Even with the brightness set all the way up it's not very bright on sunny days! Plus for Android auto users it's kind of hard to find the way to use it to it's potential. Yes google maps show up right away but as far as all the other apps it's not possible until you're sitting still with the parking brake on! Definitely not ideal. I understand they are trying to not have people watch videos while driving but it hinders apps like Waze as well.

Pros: Easy fit and install

Cons: Android Auto too limited

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Andrew from Springfield, MO on 4/5/2022

2017 Kia Forte

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very happy with new radio. Connects fast and reliably to Spotify which is the main thing I was looking for. Also nice to have a screen for navigation when I need it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wireless is the way to go

William from Lexington, KY on 4/4/2022

2012 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This unit was a needed upgrade from the OEM unit. Wireless CarPlay is a great time saver, keeps my head up on the road, and works seamlessly from the screen. Makes it super easy to access podcasts and maps/waze interfaces are great. Had issue originally with phone app and was ready to swap it out for a new unit when I found out that I was still connecting through the old OEM bluetooth as well. Once that was disabled, it's been smooth sailing.

Pros: Wireless CarPlay connects quickly. GPS works great and comes up automatically if an address is tied in with calendar. I can leave my phone in my pocket and don't need to have it in a stand.

Cons: clock in the corner is too small.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great product

Michael from Saddle Brook, NJ on 3/25/2022

2008 Scion xB

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

James Bryan from Midlothian, VA on 3/22/2022

2011 Chevrolet Express

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The stereo hooked up very easily and paying Crutchfield to make the connections to the two harnesses ahead of time was well worth the money. Stereo performed as advertised and everyone is extremely happy with the results.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

William from Bokeelia, FL on 3/21/2022

2004 GMC Yukon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wish the manual was a little bit more informative

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good value for reasonable performance

Drew from Simi Valley, CA on 3/17/2022

2013 GMC Acadia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a very capable, touchscreen stereo with my most useful features being the wireless android auto and wireless apple carplay. These work pretty well, though there can be a little confusion if you have both an apple and android in the car together. The stereo has decent basic functions, though nothing too fancy. For the price, this is a great value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great radio looks like an original option

Serafin from Ave Maria, FL on 3/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great radio so far and easy to install! Looks great in dash of my 08' F-150 King Ranch. It looks like OEM. Only thing it doesn't offer is a way to change button color.

Pros: Fit and look Easy controls Easy to install

Cons: Button color can't be changed

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

GREAT bang for your buck! Wireless Carplay works flawless.

Jason from Ruckersville, VA on 3/13/2022

2014 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Had this unit in my Tacoma for about 6 months now. VERY happy with it. I was hesitant at first because I was initially wanting a more "name brand" reciever....but they were all either out of stock or out of my pricerange -- when I was looking to buy. The wireless CarPlay works flawlessly with my iPhone. I start my truck and a few seconds later, I'm listening to a podcast and following Apple Maps (or Google Maps) without my phone ever leaving my pocket. Out of the box, I did have an issue with the GPS being off and flaking out on me. I downloaded/installed new firmware from Jensen and it fixed the issue completely (easy to install with a thumbdrive). If I had any complaint...it would be that I wish the screen was a little brighter. Even with the brightness all the way up...I find it sometimes appears dim on very sunny days. This is rare though. Most of the time, I can see it just fine.

Pros: Wireless CarPlay for a reasonable price. Fast boot/start/connection time. Decent resolution display. Acceptable performance (never feels slow).

Cons: Wish maximum brightness of screen was higher.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Wireless careplay!?

Aristomenes from Lake Orion, MI on 3/11/2022

1999 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great stereo and easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Natale from Bethlehem, PA on 3/6/2022

2010 Toyota Venza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not a bad radio but you would think it would have rds.

Pros: Looks good

Cons: A bit slow on start up. No rds info Needs a video input.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Jeremy from League City, TX on 3/3/2022

2011 Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked perfectly! I wanted to upgrade from my factory radio and I wanted Apple CarPlay. This unit was wireless Apple CarPlay and was exactly what I was looking for. Well worth the extra little bit of money for wireless!

Pros: Wireless Apple CarPlay

Cons: Display could be brighter

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great choice to upgrade stock Grand Cherokee

John from Newalla, OK on 2/27/2022

2010 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Does everything I want it to do. Great design gets you more space behind it to place your wire bundles without crushing them. The display is ok, not as crisp as others I've had, but at the price point it's hard to complain. Most importantly the sound is great!

Pros: Price Sound quality Options Ease of hookup Touchscreen

Cons: Display not super crisp

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Todd from San Antonio, TX on 1/13/2022

2014 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Tech support has the best ever! They had every answer each time I called them! The product was 100% what was offered. Excellent company, service, price and quantity of products. Now I'm ready to up grade the stereo system in my wife's car.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Baker from Hickory, NC on 1/11/2022

2005 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

works

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Crutchfield customer from Romeoville, IL on 1/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Great Radio/great service

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 12/29/2021

2012 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased the multimedia radio for hands free Car Play and navigation screen and larger backup camera view, to replace the OEM radio in my 2012 Subaru Forester equipped with steering wheel controls and a backup camera. There was no wiring harness to interface the Jensen radio with the OEM camera's proprietary plug, so I got a new camera to simplify the wiring. But it did not simplify the camera installation at all! The camera was the hardest part. The RADIO is fantastic. Never had such great sound and control in this car. Installation was not difficult because my son did it, with the Crutchfield download instructions and superb online help. With the additional trim kit it fits perfectly. Wireless CAR PLAY is a dream as well as the sound balance that you control with one finger. An antenna extension cable was included but not needed and Crutchfield issued a credit without question. The steering wheel controls work except for the up down arrows intended to move from radio preset to preset, instead they seek to the next station. Crutchfield tech said it is in the dip switch settings. I am confident that we set them correctly, but to verify this requires complete removal of the head unit, and I am not ready to do that. My son says who needs a radio if you mainly use Car Play and listen to everything via the iPhone and cell signal. The screen has a significant glare when the light strikes it at certain angles. I will be looking for some antiglare film f

Pros: Super sound, easy controls, perfect fit, good size, easy Car Play set up. Apple Maps incredible.

Cons: Steering wheel interface for radio presets does not work; screen glare, no harness available for OEM backup camera

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Crutchfield customer from Lewisville, TX on 12/26/2021

2008 GMC Acadia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

excellent and best of all I do not need any cable to connect the cell phone

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Just Awful!

Mike from Marietta, GA on 12/21/2021

2012 Audi TTS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This thing is absolutely terrible. It takes anywhere between 15 and 30 seconds just to have the stereo come on. Every time you turn on your car. Silence. If you want to use wirelesss CarPlay, that's usually another 10-15 seconds. I say usually because sometimes it takes several minutes before it starts talking to my phone. Frequently, it never recognizes it. I've used an Alpine head unit in the past that almost instantly connected every time, so this isn't a CarPlay issue. Also, the interface for this thing is just bad and ugly; as if it was designed by a time-traveling child from 1997. The Home Screen is hideous, not customizable (I'd like to hide sources that don't exist - nope) and the radio station touch boxes are far too small. Much of the touch boxes are too small and often too close together so sometimes the wrong button registers - that is, when your touch registers at all. The one good point I'll give it: is it has a numeric keypad for the stereo - which you'll likely use only while setting your favorites. I only got this for wireless CarPlay and due to Covid -induced shortages, this was the best one in stock at the time. I will be getting something else ASAP as this thing is junk.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/22/2021
Mike, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great value

Crutchfield customer from Galesburg, IL on 12/21/2021

2007 Chevrolet TrailBlazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love the wireless CarPlay

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Looks great

Crutchfield customer from Liberty Townshi, OH on 12/7/2021

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a great product! You will however need to use a Dremel to make the frame a custom fit. It is intended to be this way so no complaints here.

Pros: Ease of installation

Cons: The need for Dremeling.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Crutchfield customer from Lewis Center, OH on 12/6/2021

2013 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Decent stereo. It can have a few quirks with amazon music at times. Would like a few more audio options for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Hamburg

Jeffrey from Hamburg on 9/9/2021

2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The product is pretty good. I bought it to replace a failing head unit in my 2014 jeep wrangler. Overall I'm pleased, though I feel for the prices, some of the cons with the software really should be addressed.

Pros: 1. Carplay wired works flawlessly as was my initial need 2. Sound is good 3. Installation was easy. Was able to easily also add a backup camera 4. Touch screen responsive 5. Jensen provides regular software updates

Cons: 1. Screen hard to read in daylight which is a problem for a wrangler in the summer. I had to angle it down to make it a little more legible, but it looks goofy. 2. Built-in SiriusXM radio has no artwork, no Song/Artist labels for the presets. Its just P1, P2, P3 etc.. This one annoys me 3. No digital FM tuner. I thought this was sort of standard stuff these days 4. Wireless carplay is a little laggy. Certainly serviceable, but the wired connection is better. 5. Software updates w

Crutchfield response on

16 of 17 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Crutchfield customer from Sheboygan Falls, WI on 9/9/2021

2001 Ford Excursion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked great when new. 2 months later, it does not turn on.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/14/2021
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him with his receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

No ipod support - but there is workaround.

Crutchfield customer from Randolph, NJ on 8/31/2021

2013 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good radio. All was as expected. The only thing to be aware of is that it is not compatible with iPods. There is a way to connect through the audio wiring in the back, but need to control through the iPod itself.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Crutchfield customer from Canfield, OH on 8/31/2021

2000 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great . My only complaint is the complexity of the equalizer

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Radio Upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Cape Coral, FL on 8/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great upgrade for 2006 mustang. Great sound with many features. Bluetooth works great and with the usb port I am able to get many more features that were not offered for my ride. Well worth the investment and the people at Crutchfield guided me to this product and meet all my needs. Thanks again to Ray from Crutchfield.

Pros: all features, bluetooth, usb port, gps, Sireus radio, AM/FM stations etc

Cons: none so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Crutchfield customer from Sulphur Springs, TX on 8/27/2021

2000 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Radio was easy to install and functions well. I wish the buttons for volume and such were illuminated so you could see them at night.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome!

Crutchfield customer from Port St Lucie, FL on 8/24/2021

2005 Lexus ES330

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome product! Way better than is expected. Installation & sound quality is amazing! I will look toward Crutchfield for all future purchases.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Front buttons and GPS may not work out of the box.

Jim from Boca Raton on 8/22/2021

2005 Jeep Liberty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Should have looked at the reviews first.... So right out of the box, the five physical buttons DO NOT WORK. (Crutchfield customer service is amazing though - so they are taking care of me on that). Assuming that they worked however, here's my thoughts on the rest of it. The GPS... Why? Why does a non-nav radio have or need a GPS antenna? Oh right! So that it can automagically set the time.... For China. Yup, it chose the wrong time zone, EVEN WHEN it was actually saying that I was located in the Eastern Time Zone. Bravo JVC, that's very creative stupidity. The screen is very pretty, and has a decent resolution compared to a Pioneer AVIC model that I have used. It's not super visible when using polarized sunglasses though. The user interface MIGHT be better if I didn't have to use an adapter just to change the volume (no front buttons remember) and there is a fair amount of wasted space on screen when you aren't in an Apple Carplay screen. Wireless Carplay also seems to be about 40% of the time successful in connecting... It's easier to just use the cord. Points off for that. If it was fully functional, I MIGHT be keeping it, but as it is with all these issues.... I'm swapping to maybe a Sony.

Pros: Pretty screen, high resolution. Sound quality is decent if not spectacular

Cons: Defective buttons (known issue) GPS doesn't work properly (and why does it have this?) Wireless carplay only connects about 40% of the time Aux input and bluetooth input levels are much lower than they should be, and not adjustable

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Do not purchase

Cori from CATHEDRAL CITY, CA on 8/22/2021

2004 Chevrolet Cavalier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Initial impressions were good. Apple car play is easy to set up and the navigation works well. But after about 3 days of use I started having issues to where Apple CarPlay would freeze then kick me back to the Home Screen. Cutting all audio and forcing me to reconnect my phone via either Bluetooth or USB. Soon it devolved to the radio just going black. Sometimes it would still have audio sometimes it would cut audio completely. Forcing me to power the radio off then back on, and completely reconnect my phone to be able to use Apple car play again. For a head unit at this price, im totally disappointed and would not recommend anyone to purchase this.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/24/2021
Cori, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Crutchfield customer from Lk In The Hls, IL on 8/22/2021

2011 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Install was super easy. Features are everything I was looking for at this price point

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Well worth the price.

Crutchfield customer from Porterville, CA on 8/22/2021

2012 Chevrolet Impala

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This Jensen Stereo is well with the money. I had the custom wire harness made that allowed me to do the installation my self. I have the Bose speaker setup so I didn't upgrade the speakers. I am very happy with this the Chutchfield wire harness and Jensen stereo.

Pros: 1. It receives my favorite FM stations much better. 2. It is truly a wireless connection. 3. Automatically connects to my phone while it's still in my pocket.

Cons: It didn't come with a backup camera

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Crutchfield customer from Brighton, MI on 8/22/2021

2009 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Front buttons didn't work. Seems like there were reviews from others sitting the same thing. I returned it after fighting with it for a day and a half

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Radio

Crutchfield customer from Ballston Lake, NY on 8/22/2021

2015 Ford F-150 XL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great Radio with lots of features. Connects quick to the phone. Calls are easier to make than the Original System. It is easy to install it yourself and the help from Cruchfield is amazing. Sound is very good. Think I have to change my standard speaker to better ones with more power.

Pros: Easy Install. Connect good to phone. No cable needed. Sound good.

Cons: Sometimes Google Maps is a little bit off the road with the Arrow. After restarting car and new connection to the phone it works.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works as intended, for the price, its great!

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paul, MN on 8/20/2021

2004 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Boots fast, easy to use, touch screen works well, buttons on the bottom is responsive. Did not get 5 stars as there is no way to change the assigned menu items on the main menu, if you wear polarized sunglasses you can't see the screen very well, and when you shift out of reverse and the back up camera shuts off - for a split second it says "connection lost" before switching back to whatever screen you were on last which is kind of odd.

Pros: Fast start up, smooth operation

Cons: Cannot customize main menu

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Crutchfield customer from Marion, OH on 8/19/2021

2010 GMC Acadia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The radio is nice but for some reason and has messed up my location on my phone and now every time I ask for a phone number it gives me numbers out of in California in California and Greece so I'm still trying to figure that out

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A very returnable stereo

Crutchfield customer from Van Meter, IA on 8/19/2021

2007 Pontiac Solstice

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I find the stereo frustrating. The integration with Android auto is weak. Yes, it works, but switching between radio and maps is not simple. The radio interface itself seems poor. No RDS, limited to 6 presets, manual brightness, just is odd in a modern device. I plan to return it. I'm very unhappy with the technology.

Pros:

Cons: No RDS. Very small recessed buttons - are difficult to use. Poor user interface - looks dated.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice radio

Charles from Hemet, CA on 8/16/2021

2004 Ford Thunderbird

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far so good. Only problem was the GPS telling me that I was in China. Very frustrating trying to make it work. Finally I found a software update on the Jensen website. I called Jensen and they walked me thru the process of downloading it to a thumb drive and then download onto the radio. All in all I'm very pleased with the new radio.

Pros: Works great

Cons: Sold with outdated software no one told me about.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Better, but still a ways to go.

Crutchfield customer from Roseville, CA on 8/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a nice small, light unit to replace the VM9226BT that the touch screen went out on. Love the wireless Carplay, sensitive touch screen and clean and easy to navigate display and controls. Not happy that the bezel was the wrong thickness to hide the mounting sleeve, and was not a standard DIN size. Had to use the bezel from the old Jensen, then dremal out the ends to make it fit the new unit. I thought the DIN size was a standard? Nice that it comes with a GPS antenna to supplement the phone in case of less than optimal signal. Bad that Jensen removed the option to display the backup camera while driving, was a great aid in the RV to see the blind spot and watch the tow car as well as see when it was safe to move into the right lane after passing trucks. Had to add a powered switch and diode to the reverse sensor lead to allow the rear camera to work while driving. All in all a good unit but missing a few need to have options.

Pros: Price point Size & light weight easy to hook up sensitive and clear touchscreen Plenty of line outs two sub woofer line outs Built in amp has plenty of power

Cons: Not all DIN sized bezel's will fit No option to turn on rear camera while driving. No front USB port

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Crutchfield customer from Bethlehem, PA on 8/16/2021

2011 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Overall its a Great radio , worth the money

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Crutchfield customer from Clayton, NC on 8/16/2021

2018 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A lot of bang for your buck. The screen is pretty good quality and plenty of features. The wireless carplay is easy to set up and works great. I had to return the first unit due to the front panel buttons not working. It looks like others have reported the same issue. The second unit I received worked flawlessly. Crutchfield support was excellent and had the replacement to me in no time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 8/14/2021

2011 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Main software is a little janky however overall it is a very good system with wireless CarPlay. Overall very pleased with this system but need to break my habit of trying to reach for a volume knob, definitely worth to get SWC working with this receiver. Screen brightness could use improvement as direct morning sunlight will make the screen hard to see however this I feel is a minor complaint.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Update Firmware for Android Auto

Benjamin from Raleigh, NC on 8/10/2021

2004 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

What an upgrade for my 2004 Toyota 4Runner! Easy install and great working unit with excellent Android Auto connectivity. Now my phone never leaves my bag and have access to phone calls, text (read), maps, Audible, podcasts, etc. is a game changer. NOTE: I was initially frustrated with Google Maps and Waze unable to connect. Jensen provides a firmware update on their website that solved the problem. Just download, copy unzipped files to a blank USB drive, plug into the car and start up the car. It installs itself. I also purchased an inexpensive USB port that fits in a lighter port in case I want to connect a phone via wire or charge my phone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Orland Park

Jason from Orland Park on 8/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

There must have been a bad batch of these, because the first unit I got, the front buttons didn't work like 2 other reviews mentioned. However, Crutchfield sent me out a new one, and this one works great. wireless carplay is good, sound quality is good. Hoping it is a reliable unit that will last, and the button issue was just a bad batch and not a sign of things to come!

Pros: lowest price wireless carplay. good sound quality.

Cons: quality control

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worth the price of admission

Crutchfield customer from LEES SUMMIT, MO on 8/9/2021

2003 Dodge Durango

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far this thing has worked like a dream! I can now see behind me when I put the Durango in reverse and I have wireless AA! The screen looks pretty good and the music sounds great. I am running everything through an amp so I can't say much about how this sounds on it's own but it performs great and boots up pretty quick. The one thing I had to discover on my own (Thanks Google and Reddit) is that the unit ships with an out of date firmware that no matter what I did showed me as being in mainland China instead of Missouri. So you will need to perform a firmware update to fix this issue, after that it has worked great!

Pros: Sounds and looks great. Easy install.

Cons: Outdated firmware and nothing telling you how to fix it. Had to find it on my own.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

A bit disappointed with the unit

Mike from New Jersey on 8/4/2021

2015 Hyundai Sonata SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not impressed with this system. I had a similar experience as another customer where the 5 buttons on the front and the reset button didn't work. I had Crutchfield send out a replacement which is nice, however its still an inconvenience for me as the installer and for the customer to come back and have to take apart the dash again. I also had an issue when using android auto with the stereo GPS antenna connected it would be fighting with my phone for the correct location thinking I was in Kazakhstan while I was actually in the U.S. however disconnecting the antenna solved that issue, I'm honestly not sure why Jensen they bothered adding it to the stereo if it works fine without it connected and only causes problems. Overall Jensen could have some better QC on these units.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Crutchfield customer from Sanford, NC on 7/25/2021

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install with all the parts that was sent with the package. One question that was quickly answered by Crutchfield tech and I was done and listening to a great sounding radio. CarPlay works great wireless.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Crutchfield customer from Myrtle Beach, SC on 7/24/2021

2005 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wireless Apple CarPlay is amazing

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Carplay value

Crutchfield customer from Sharon, MA on 7/19/2021

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good sound and a good value. If you want wireless Carplay at a reasonable price, this is a good way to do it.

Pros: Wireless CarPlay is awesome.

Cons: Radio does not have RDS.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Crutchfield customer from Brooksville, KY on 7/14/2021

2011 Hyundai Sonata SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have gone 3 years without a stereo and finally decided to get a new one, I am 110% satisfied with the Jensen.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Value

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 7/12/2021

2014 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Overall, this head unit a great value offering many of the most desirable and state-of-art features at a very competitive price. The double-DIN form factor is suited for most modern cars, and being completely "mechless" means there are not moving parts that will fail over time. But alas, circuit boards can still fail - just not as often or quickly, and so it goes... After the initial installation of just the head unit with the car-radio harness, the front panel control buttons on my CAR710W unit did not function (including the tiny "Reset" button). Using the "Reset" option via the touchscreen menus did not resolve the issue, nor did adding the Steering Wheel Control Interface (which worked for the most part right off the bat). Fortunately, the SWC did provide alternate access to the front-panel controls, so I was not dead in the water. Here's where I am so glad that I placed my order through Crutchfield! Telephone support was readily available, knowledgeable and helpful. They quickly set up an RMA plan for my unit that will send out a new one as soon as it is available, and provide for free return shipping of my current defective unit. One aside: a GPS antenna is included with this non-navigation unit. It turns out CarPlay/Android Auto are able to utilize an outboard GPS antenna in head units that have one available, which will improve GPS accuracy. That said, it still works without the GPS antenna installed.

Pros: + Wireless CarPlay + Large 7" screen, minimal bezel for a double-DIN form factor + Capacitive Touchscreen... visible even when wearing polarized sunglasses + Video display via USB port

Cons: - Front panel buttons are difficult to access if unit is recessed into dashboard (but this is a trade-off for the large screen). Built-in EQ settings are a bit wonky

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Crutchfield customer from Oviedo, FL on 7/12/2021

2005 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

What a simple install. I purchased the kits associated to my car and the rest was as easy as possible.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Value is the operative word here

Crutchfield customer from Lunenburg, MA on 7/12/2021

2014 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

In the day of Apple Carplay and Android Auto, most of us no longer care how many radio stations a radio can program or whether it has different color backgrounds. Well I am one of those people and I wanted an affordable wireless Carplay head unit. This fits the bill hands down. The phone connects wirelessly and everything works as expected. Very happy with this unit and the price point!

Pros: Price and wireless Carplay

Cons: The wireless connection to Carplay could be faster. Takes maybe 20 seconds before it connects itself from starting the car.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Crutchfield customer from Bronx, NY on 7/5/2021

1988 Toyota Corolla SR5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This stereo is great! Installation took longer than I expected, but once the wires were paired correctly, it was a breeze. The screen is bright, clear and responsive.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wireless Android Auto/Apple Car Play is a game changer

David from St. Louis, MO on 7/2/2021

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I swapped out my Jensen Car689 for this unit, and I was able to get it installed yesterday. Currently Crutchfield does not offer the wire harness service for this unit, but I was able to get it wired quickly to the harness using the instructions they sent me. The install was very easy, and this is a major upgrade from the CAR689. The unit itself boots up very fast, and connecting to bluetooth/Android Auto takes only 20-30 after starting the vehicle. I must say after using wired Android Auto, switching to wireless is a huge upgrade and justifies the cost of this unit. The screen is clear in the day, and looks really good at night. I was able to retain all of the steering wheel controls, and having wired Android Auto and Apple Car Play is nice a plus for long road trips when you will need to charge your phone. The sound quality is also better than the stock radio I had in my truck prior to installing the CAR689. All in all, this is a worthy upgrade for anyone looking for a good deal on a head unit that has wireless Car Play and Android Auto. I highly recommend it.

Pros: Fast Boot Screen Quality Sound Quality Wireless Android Auto Wireless Apple Car Play

Cons: None that I have encountered so far

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

8 of 8 found this helpful

Jensen CAR710W

Guest from Paris texas on 6/30/2021

2010 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing. Pure Amazing

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound