Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Jensen CAR910W

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play discs)

MFR # CAR910W

Jensen CAR910W

Jensen CAR910W

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play discs)

MFR # CAR910W

19 reviews
View this product

Don't buy if you need GPS

Guest from Stamford, CT on 11/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this for apple car play specifically for GPS with apple maps and/or WAZE. Basically, it works 2/3 of the time. The third of the time it doesn't it puts me somewhere off the road. Ive had multiple conversations with Crutchfield (who tries their best) and Jensen themselves. Some blamed the new iOS 15, but it didnt work before that. They had me do an upgrade, remove my battery terminal. Hours of calls. Basically, its crap.

Pros: screen size, install

Cons: GPS

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Great model but slightly buggy software.

Crutchfield customer from Guerneville, CA on 10/27/2021

2011 Volkswagen Jetta Sportwagen

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My 2 requirements for buying this model was Wireless CarPlay and ability to access a backup camera. I would give this model a 5-star review, but the software in the unit is slightly buggy. There have been times that connection between my phone and the unit have not worked (phone not found). I've had to delete the connection information from both the unit and the phone and reconnect as a new phone. There have been other times when some features (not in CarPlay) will not work and I have to turn the car and the unit off them turn it back on to make everything work again. I do realize that at the time I bought this that finding a unit that supported Wireless CarPlay was very hard to find and this model was newly released for sale, so I can somewhat forgive the software of a 1st generation product. However, for the price, very happy otherwise. I would buy this unit again.

Pros: Wireless CarPlay. No cables!

Cons: Software has some minor issues.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Jensen CAR910W

Crutchfield customer from Myrtle Beach, SC on 10/8/2021

2001 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield was great, but I give 4 stars to the radio. Installation was pretty straight forward, but the Jensen documentation was poorly done and confusing. The screen is MUCH too bright for night time driving, even with the "night" setting on zero. Jensen should be ashamed to market such a product. I have to cover mine with a rag at night.

Pros: Volume button. Thank you for that!

Cons: screen brightness is far too bright on lowest setting.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Jensen CAR910W

Crutchfield customer from Slingerlands, NY on 10/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Nice unit, great sound.

Michael from LEBANON, OH on 10/3/2021

2011 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this into a 2011 Suburban. Used the Metra single DIN dash kit which gave me a nice pocket underneath the receiver to put my sunglasses. The wireless Carplay is great. The buttons are a blue color which goes well with the Suburban interior as does the volume knob. This unit works great and has all the features I need. Great value for the price.

Pros: Wireless Carplay. Clean interface. Volume knob.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR910W

Crutchfield customer from Farmington, UT on 10/2/2021

2019 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ended up sending it back because it kept draining my battery. I worked with the technical team to try and get this fixed but everything we tried failed. It is a good looking stereo and had a smooth touch screen. I don't know if there was going to be an update to get the Android auto feature symbol to show up but you just had to select the Android mirroring symbol to use the auto. I wish I could have tried to use it and learn more about it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR910W

Crutchfield customer from East Hartford, CT on 10/1/2021

2003 GMC Sierra 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Save your money and buy something better or comparable. GPS absolutely SUCKS, there is no rhyme or reason to how or when it will work. It usually says I'm driving 140mph in the ocean if it doesn't have me stopped in the woods. There is no way to use my phone as a backup while driving becuse once the Bluetooth is connected you can only type locations into the phone and not see where you actually are unless you "forget" your phone which means no streaming music. There is also no way to turn it off to use the phone or any way to reset it once the vehicle is on. Then the airplay, for whatever reason it only recognizes 3 of my airplay compatible apps. I'd return it in a heartbeat if it weren't a 3 hour installation. Becuse oh yeah, it doesn't really fit my vehicle (gmc 2500). Yeah the shifter hits the screen.

Pros: It's a radio

Cons: Nothing about it works like I had hoped

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

Large Touch Screen

Crutchfield customer from Fallon, NV on 9/27/2021

1997 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good, installation was easy, love getting the pre made wire harness. Sound is good, touch screen is easy to read and we really like the ability to move it depending on light conditions and person using it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great experience

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 9/13/2021

2001 Freightliner Sprinter

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a 2006 Sprinter, and have wished for an affordable single din head unit that will do Apple CarPlay for a while. This unit fits the bill perfectly. Crutchfield (once again) provided the pieces and expert consultation to make this an easy install. I used their prewire service for the wiring harness connections, and I recommend it- The installation was a piece of cake. When I put the unit into my van, the screen showed only static. I sent Crutchfield tech support a picture of this during a phone call with them. They immediately diagnosed a faulty screen and immediately sent me a replacement unit along with a UPS return label for the defective unit. The new unit works flawlessly. The screen is great. The features are clear and easy to setup and use. Apple CarPlay is implemented very well, both wired and using Bluetooth. The radio is also strong. I think the sound is actually better than on my old Sony unit. Furthermore, I did some consulting with Jensen technical support ahead of the install, regarding the parking brake switch requirement/connection, as well as about the firmware update process after the install. They were extremely responsive and helpful. In summary, I'm very pleased with the unit, as well as the support I've received.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Englewood

David from Englewood on 8/4/2021

2008 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I don't have anything negative to say about this unit. I had heard some generally negative things about Jensen being a low cost and therefore, low quality vendor but have seen nothing to support those opinions. I wanted a HUD with at least a volume button because the car I was installing this in (2008 Porsche Boxster) had no steering wheel controls and I don't like hunting for the small icons on many of the touch screens. Not inly do you get a good 'ol volume knob but skip and back buttons and a few others - really come in handy. The screen is big which is good and bad and it is quite adjustable -- height as well as multi tilt. It certainly stands out and is easy to see.

Pros: big adjustable screen volume knob and other physical controls

Cons: screen can stand out too much

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Perfect for my RV

Crutchfield customer from Church Hill, MD on 8/4/2021

2004 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Choose this mainly for the size of the screen and how it adjusts and the fact that it's a Jensen is just a bonus. I installed this in an RV so with the Apple car play I use it for navigation and the size of the screen makes it easy to see at a glance. I am a novice at installing aftermarket equipment and I did this in less than 2 hours And looks and works perfectly. Highly recommended Happy with Crutchfield advisor and his recommendation

Pros: Adjustable screen and great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good stereo, but could use improvements

Mario from Santa Rosa, CA on 8/2/2021

2011 GMC Yukon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First, thanks to Crutchfield for all the assists on this. I installed this on a GMC Yukon. Make sure to get all the suggested add ons as they are necessary for the proper install. The stereo screen looks great and sounds great. With the Steering wheel kit i was able to preserve volume control. Paired it with my iphone and carplay works great. My wife has android and while i was able to pair her Bluetooth, android auto is completely nonfunctional. Phone calls are crisp and clear, and with iphone I now have the option of having texts read to me while a drive. So hear are the Cons: 1. Although it is single Din, it is the full length in depth and a tight fit. With the wires plugged in, it still would not fit into the slot as the cables sticking straight out the back were jammed up. Even though the wires were tucked down below, there was still not enough room. I had to cut some of the plastic bracing from the back of the slot for it to fit. fitting would have been much better if the wire harness were 90 degree connectors. 2. It sticks out quite a bit. I measure a full 3 inches from the face of the stock dash panel, so it's a bit too close to Shift lever 3. Android auto does not work. 4. need a separate backup camera purchase. Camera cable adapter won't work unless your backup camera unless Yukon comes with original OEM Nav system 5. A bit slow to start and slow to shift from car play back to radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Jensen CAR910W

Crutchfield customer from Fallbrook , CA on 7/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Single DIN with a large easy to use touchscreen at a good price point. This is what I needed, and the Jensen has checked all the boxes. No issues installing.

Pros: Function and price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR910W

Keith from Hermitage, TN on 7/25/2021

2013 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

On the box from Jensen, it say's "Works With Apple CarPlay", "Wireless Connection To Apple CarPlay", *****COMPATIBLE WITH ANDRIOD DEVICE'S***** This is your CLUE! I sure didn't catch that! I spoke with several technicians from Crutchfield and they got me to a Jensen rep after exhausting all their efforts over the course of several days. I spent about two weeks working with "Dual" from Jensen thru email. Down loading radio updates multiple times on a MAC at first (Don't waste your time there), and several attempts on an HP. Nothing worked! Finally I had my last straw with this thing last Tuesday. I contacted Jensen (Dual) and told him I would send him a Thumb drive, if they would install the update and return it, and I even told him I would pay for shipping. I forwarded proof of receipt and shipping address, and Jensen was cool enough to send me that update on a thumb drive at no charge. So, with Jensen's own thumb drive and their own installed update for Android devices to be "COMPATIBLE", I plugged in and installed the update. The icon on the radio changed from Android Mirror to an Android Auto icon. It did not fix anything, in fact its worse. Problems with Navigation, mirroring, blue tooth, ect. My wife has a iPhone, for those wondering, and yes it works the way it should, flawlessly. For those with an Android phone, I would definitely say, NO. Do not purchase this one. This is a product issue for Jensen that needs to be fixed, or take Android off the box.

Pros: Works Flawlessly with Apple / iPhone Back up camera compatible Large touch screen easy to navigate through settings and app's Clear picture

Cons: Does not work with Android Auto well or at all Have to purchase a separate rear camera Difficult to set up and test during install with screen and single din head unit being separated from each other.

Crutchfield response on 7/27/2021
Keith, we're sorry for the issues you've had with your receiver. If you'd like to try another receiver, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

10 of 10 found this helpful

Great carplay headunit

Kyle from Nashua, NH on 7/25/2021

2008 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good unit with great features. First off the wireless CarPlay works great and is the main reason I bought this. I do wish the unit was slightly snappier. While it's not bad there is a slight delay switching between sources. Boot up time is quick from a start and wireless CarPlay connect within a few seconds. Would highly recommend if you are looking for a wireless CarPlay head unit with large screen.

Pros: Wireless CarPlay Fast boot up Large screen Great touch screen responsiveness

Cons: Slight delay switching sources

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

JR's thoughts

Crutchfield customer from Decatur, AL on 7/25/2021

1996 Chevrolet K Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit works flawlessly with Apple CarPlay. Touch screen is very responsive with no delay. It is also very user friendly. If you're replacing a single Din unit and want a Big screen, this of the way to go.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Really nice & useful!

Crutchfield customer from Fall River, MA on 7/24/2021

2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the way it looks in my Subaru & it works great so far!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worth it

Larry A. from Williston, SC on 7/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Let me start by saying that i LOVE this head unit. I've replaced all of the speakers with Kicker brand, including the tweeters. I have a Kicker Key 200.4 amp in the glove compartment and a Kicker 46HS10 sub under the front passenger seat in my Nissan Titan. This stereo brings an easy to use interface and a large clear screen with good resolution. It works great with my setup. It has an eight band EQ and Time Alignment (I had no need for those features thanks to the Key). The wireless Carplay works great. No issues with connectivity. The stereo is easy to wire and does exactly what it is supposed to do. Jensen has already issued a firmware update for the GPS. After PROPERLY loading that update and the Carplay screen resolution update I am impressed with the resolution. I was on the fence because of the price but I am happy with my purchase!

Pros: Screen size and adjustability, User interface, wireless Carplay THAT WORKS, easy installation and setup, and buying from Crutchfield (over and over and over)

Cons: No RDS?! Whatever....there are no Cons.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love Wireless Carplay

Crutchfield customer from Baysie, NY on 7/20/2021

2004 Hummer H2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For Hummer H2. This one is replacing Jensen's CAR1000 that I had. Much better fit and love tilt&swivel feature. The small pocket below the unit is hard to reach but I don't think I will be using that space. Half the height and shorter depth!! and Wireless Carplay!! Wait a few seconds and walla!! Carplay!! You do need to connect bluetooth first then wifi. How did they fit all that in such a small package is still a wonder. But I love the unit. SWC worked out of the box with dial setting on the PAC adapter set to #7. PAC manual doesn't mention Jensen brand but it's same as I believe it was Pioneer. Wireless Carplay is so much convenient than wired. I don't think I will ever go back to wired. Resting my hand on the shifter, my fingers are at exact reaching distance for the volume dial. Very nice!!

Pros: Tilt & Swivel screen

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

TOP