Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
966 125 521 4
Connect ID #
966 125 521 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Jensen CAR910W

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play discs)

MFR # CAR910W

Jensen CAR910W

Jensen CAR910W

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play discs)

MFR # CAR910W

47 reviews
View this product

Jensen CAR910W

Walter from Martinez, CA on 10/17/2022

2008 Honda Element SC

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Overall very happy sounds and looks great in the car!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR910W

Dillon from Caldwell, ID on 10/10/2022

1998 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works sometimes. Screen will go black and doesn't come back without turning the vehicle off but when it works it's nice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/11/2022
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to Dillon to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works and looks great!!!

Kevin from Morgantown, WV on 9/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works and looks great! Only issue I have is I wish it had more articulation options at all depth settings and would flip screen when rotated 90 degrees

Pros: Easy to use

Cons: Does not have full articulation

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR910W

Josh from Durham, NC on 9/13/2022

2016 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This radio was a great upgrade for my stock radio in my 4Runner! Wireless and wired Apple CarPlay are both working very well (installed about 2 weeks ago). I would definitely recommend this if you're considering upgrading to apple CarPlay.

Pros: Looks great CarPlay is a great upgrade Starts up really quick

Cons: Does block center air vents

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Knoxville

Michael from Knoxville on 9/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

No options for 0 stars. This thing, with less than 10 total hours on it, has frozen and is totally unresponsive. Sort of liked its features until then. I tried to update the firmware and it won't allow that. There are multiple other complaints all over the internet about this. It was put into a vacation car and hasn't been used since last summer, so not eligible for warranty. $ down the drain.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Terrible software, great hardware

J from Monett on 8/10/2022

2016 Subaru Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this unit to put in a 2016 Subaru Crosstrek. I was primarily interested in having wireless Apple CarPlay and being able to use my stock backup camera. The good: Installation was straightforward. The screen and overall hardware design were top-notch. Backup camera worked very easily. The bad: I had a terrible time with the software on the unit. Here is a list of things this unit was doing: -screen would freeze and music would keep playing -screen would go black but music would keep playing -screen would go black and the unit was dead, I would have to turn the ignition off then on to get it to reboot -carplay connection would drop repeatedly, often in less than a minute, resulting in the music skipping I tried several remedies for this, and Crutchfield tech support was extremely helpful in working on these. We did a factory reset, updated the firmware, and even returned the original unit and tried a second unit. None of these solutions fixed the problem, and ultimately Crutchfield allowed me to return the unit for a full refund. As always, I'm very happy with their solid customer service. I feel like this could be a very good unit if the software bugs are ever ironed out.

Pros: -hardware -screen -ease of installation

Cons: -software/firmware -poor wireless CarPlay connection

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Jensen CAR910W

Nathan from Volga, SD on 7/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits nice in 2004 gmc 2500. Shifter gets a little close to screen when in park but doesn't hit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Terrible, please don't buy

Ruben from North Carolina on 6/26/2022

2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Honestly I regret buying this radio. I didn't return it only because it was a PAIN to install even with the help of professionals. -The radio randomly shuts off in the middle of driving and I can't turn it on unless I turn off my car -The CarPlay works about 50% of the time, the other 50% it doesn't connect. Every week or 2 I have to disconnect and reconnect the CarPlay -It was terrible to install, it makes a noise (professionals have already attempted to). The screws are too tiny -The screen freezes completely. Terrible for road trips, we always miss the exits because the screen freezes. It freezes completely no matter what the app is. We have to hit the home button manually and go back, but it still freezes. Overall terrible radio, I completely regret buying it. The stock one sucked but this one is worse.

Pros: When it works, it's great.

Cons: Everything

Crutchfield response on 6/28/2022
Ruben, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. While your order is beyond Crutchfield's 60-day return policy, please feel free to reach out to our Tech Support team for help, or for information about the 1-year Jensen warranty on this receiver. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

4 of 4 found this helpful

Jensen CAR910W

Corey from South Windham, ME on 6/15/2022

2018 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

1 week installed and its great so far. Quick start up, quick to switch to back up camera. It's froze once but so did my OEM radio and once didn't connect to my phone but every other time its been perfect. Installed in a 2018 Tacoma to gain apple carplay. Bright enough in daylight and dim enough at night.

Pros: Quick start up, wireless carplay works great, movable

Cons: has froze once hopefully only time

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

unit A+ Insatllation D-

Randall from Berryville, VA on 6/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Jensen unit is great...the Crutchfield installion experience was NOT. I picked up my vehicle and noticed that i could NOT see my climate contols at all!!! How would an installer think that it was OK not to be able to see your controlls. Fortunately i was able to slide the the screen up 1.5" so i can now see the bottom half of my climate control panel. This situation exists due to the fact that the dash kit (see attached pic) was installed upside down resulting in the unit being installed at the bottom of the double DIN opening and NOT the top of the opening. If the dash kit was installed correctly and the screen was at the upper limit of its range of adjustment my climate controls would be easliy accessible. As it is now, it is not safe to attempt to use the climate contols while driving

Pros: unit works flawlessly

Cons: can't operate climate controls safely while driving

Crutchfield response on 6/22/2022
We're sorry for the issues with the installation of your new Jensen stereo, Randall. However, our professional installers at our Harrisonburg, Virginia retail store realized that they had to install Randall's stereo and installation kit in a vehicle that had already been modified for a previous aftermarket radio. The kit we offer only works when replacing the factory radio without modifications. Due to time constraints, the stereo was temporarily installed that way to keep it secure and still usable for the time being. Our installers contacted Randall to set up a future time to do a modification installation for a better solution for the climate controls; however, Randall had not contacted them back before posting this review. They're still working with Randall to finalize a better in-dash solution for him.
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Needs work

Dave from Northern VA on 5/16/2022

2017 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Before the firmware update, the maps were substantially off in terms of location. After the firmware update, it crashes about every 3rd time I drive my car and it won't turn back on until I restart my vehicle. This unit has good potential if they can get the software right, but Jensen really need to issue another update.

Pros: Nice screen Wireless carplay

Cons: Never know if it will freeze

Crutchfield response on 5/17/2022
Dave, we're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great

Jose from Ft Lauderdale, FL on 5/13/2022

2018 Ford Transit Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Looks great and is perfect for low budget nice look

Pros: Great price and looks

Cons: No Cons till now

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR910W

Rodney from Gilbert, AZ on 5/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great unit. Very happy with the 9" screen.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bad

Sam from Rancho Cucamonga, CA on 5/2/2022

1996 Ford Bronco

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Looks great but is awful. I feel like once a week the screen freezes and I can't do anything about it until it reboots itself. The unit has now frozen every time I turn my car on and is basically useless

Pros: Looks good Wireless CarPlay

Cons: Very glitchy Always freezes No reset button

Crutchfield response on 5/3/2022
Sam, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. While your order is beyond Crutchfield's 60-day return policy, please feel free to reach out to our Tech Support team for help, or for information about the 2-year warranty on this receiver. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Perfect unit to replace cheapo head unit in RV

Mel from Harpers Ferry on 4/28/2022

2019 Ford E-450

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not having the energy or desire to dismantle the dash as required in our 2021 Four Winds RV based on Ford E450 we ordered this unit and the install kit and took it to an RV pro. It was a perfect fit and looks great. We mostly listen to Sirius/XM or our own mp3 files and both work great. Bigger screen makes backup camera much more useful. No complaints at all . . except maybe the price . . but worth it.

Pros: Big bright screen. Good sound quality. Well respected brand.

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR910W

Zack from LENOIR CITY, TN on 4/27/2022

2018 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works excellent with wireless Android Auto. Firmware update made it much better as well. Crisp clear images. Doesn't crash. Very pleased so far. Installation went smooth. Had to splice the factory steering wheel control wires. Unfortunately was not 100% plug and play like I'd hoped it would be. Crutchfield instructions were incorrect in that regard. That was the only factory wire I had to splice tho, so not bad I guess. Had to go to the manufacturer website for proper correct instructions on how to get the steering wheel controls to work. Everything else was spot on. Ready harness service was well worth it as well. Installed in a 2018 Ford Escape SE with 4" infotainment screen.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR910W

Crutchfield customer from West Plains, MO on 4/4/2022

2007 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Started out great and has so much potential but it's very glitchy and crashes multiple times daily.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 4/6/2022
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 3 found this helpful

Adding diamonds to the Whoopty

Padraic from Studio City, CA on 3/30/2022

2010 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This system is fantastic. It took longer to put in than I thought, but I'd never installed a stereo before so that's on me. Crutchfield's instructions and teach support were on point.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR910W

Guest from New york on 3/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good improvising ! No complaints, simple use and great screen function

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I'm Impressed!

Mike from Southaven, MS on 3/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

To say the least, I'm Impressed! If you took all of the units out there, married them, and they had a baby, the CAR910W would be the baby! The 9" display is crystal clear and easy to navigate, the icons are large and easy to read, and the sound is amazing! I installed this in my 2001 Toyota Sequoia with JBL with Infinity REG 6532 speakers, WOW. Installation, thanks to Crutchfield's free kit, was a breeze....The best part is the seamless wireless transition with my Samsung S20+ using Android Auto.....Thanks Jensen for creating the ultimate multimedia experience and thanks Crutchfield for Amazing customer service! Mike H

Pros: Screen Size, Screen Swivel Design, Physical Volume Knob, Countless Options like Rear Camera, AV inputs, etc.

Cons: No Cons Found...

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Works for the most part

Stu from Thousand Oaks, CA on 2/5/2022

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought this unit for my pick-up truck primarily for Google Maps under Android Auto. First Android Auto experience for me. Unit works as expected for the most part. Android Auto and it's related apps all work. Maps doesn't have quite the functionality of Maps on my phone (e.g., actual driving speed), but it's pretty close. I'm playing around with apps I've never used, such as Google Podcasts. On the CAR910W, Google Maps loses GPS signal frequently enough to be annoying, and much more than when I used to use Maps just on my phone. There's a GPS receiver that comes with the unit (to stick to your windshield) that you'd think would improve GPS reception, but it doesn't seem to help any. How this GPS receiver works isn't documented anywhere, so I'm doubtful as to its utility. Jensen needs to improve the GPS reliability for this unit. Given this, the CAR910W is acceptable for my use, but I wouldn't depend on it for a delivery service application. The CAR910W has Los Angeles programed as GMT-7 when it should be GMT-8. That's a signal of pretty basic QC problems at Jensen and the necessity of performing firmware updates. This unit is half the price of other wireless Android Auto units out there, and I really didn't want to pay more. So, it'll do for this round.

Pros: Wireless Android Auto at half the cost of other units.

Cons: Flaky GPS service in AA Google Maps.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Glitchy unit out of the box

Dale from Kansas City MO on 1/26/2022

1999 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Install was clean and simple. Plenty of room behind the dash bezel and connections are standard. Comes with a GPS receiver but still needs your mobile device to connect - not sure what thats all about. The screen vibrates a little bit but I assume thats normal with these type of units. Display is a bright as the sun when using at night. Touch screen works very good and the tuning app is simple and easy to tune. I have ran into some problems and I hope doing all of the firmwear up-dates fixes it or I'll be pretty up set for the cash I spent on it. Will freeze up occasionally, re-boot at times, looses GPS sometimes, not 100% friendly with all apps, currently it will not close the back up cam once engaged. I have to restart my vehicle to close it out. Pretty glitchy...

Pros: Nice layout easy to navigate Install is easy Audio tuning is simple Worked 1st time it was powered up

Cons: Glitchy as heck Screens freeze Not always happy to work with apps Sometimes I have to restart the vehicle to re-boot it when it has a bad day

Crutchfield response on 2/1/2022
Dale, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

5 of 5 found this helpful

Jensen CAR910W

Christopher from West Babylon, NY on 1/14/2022

2017 Toyota RAV4 Hybrid

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very happy with features v price. Two things that were huge on my wish list was having a volume knob and wireless AA and this had them at half the price compared to a Sony or other top tier stereo. Something I lost converting from my stock stereo was hd radio but honestly I haven't even listened to the radio in years so this was no deal breaker for me. I got everything I wanted with this stereo and it sounds better than my stock stereo.

Pros: Great price Great features

Cons: No hd radio if that matters to you

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Jensen CAR910W

Alan from Nichols, NY on 1/9/2022

2008 BMW X3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works well had issues installing but with the awesome help from tech support (Evan) was able to finish the install and works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Android Auto All Day!...Apple Car Play , Not So Much

Patrick from Garner, NC on 12/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought a new plumbing truck and installed this just for the Apple Car Play so I could use google maps on a huge screen. I also bought the Jensen back up camera. Upon installation the following characteristics were evident. Good bluetooth, decent sound, touch screen was pretty nice and it swivels a bit to face the driver better. The backup screen was great so was the camera. The graphics for the radio and such seemed a bit dated, but useable. The equalizer is not that great. Apple CarPlay using Iphone 12 mini was disappointing. It did not work well using wireless. It would work about 40% of the time. The arrow was all over the place ,sometimes 3 streets over from actual location. It did not work with wires at all til the firmware update. Android Auto works perfectly wired. I bought a phone plan with Patriot Mobile just to use with a Nokia I had and it works beautifully. The one thing you need to do is download the update for the firmware. Until I did that the Android Auto did not work. All in all it is a disappointment since I bought it just for CarPlay and it does not work well. Android Auto works well but their interface is not as good as the CarPlay. Overall, if you have Android you will be happy.

Pros: Backup Camera, Android Auto

Cons: Apple CarPlay

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Quality With Some Quirks

Crutchfield customer from Savannah, GA on 12/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Before rattling off the challenges, I will say that this is a very handsome, user friendly unit and appreciate the function and value of it. I like a good volume contro knob and that was one of the reasons I purchased this receiver. I would warn that if you're driving a GM made vehicle like my own Escalade ESV, that you may have to pursue a custom made element that moved object above ordinary placement so that the shifter on steering column does not rub or hit unit, unless you're comfortable with simply having it face slightly towards the passenger. There is no readily findable kit that addresses this nor is it in the description which frankly for Crutchfield,was bit of a ball drop. I would not have purchased this if knowing that in advance or would have gone for smaller screen? Additionally I have found that to get to some basic settings adustment screens, for what should be "quick things," you have to go a bit around your derriere to finesse them. What should be 1 step end up being several and no remedy to that to my discovery. I wish Jensen and other makers of these offered more of a true metal face as these things often feel bit too plasticky for my preference and as this is my first purchase of this type, not sure it can take a beating but guess we'll find out.

Pros: Looks great, smooth operation, actual volume knob.

Cons: Interferes with GM shifter, no known kit for remedy, some common sense 1 step features escaped designers and turn into 3 or 4. Spock wouldn't go for it but liveable.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Want to love it - but USB playback is near useless

Chad from Asheville, NC on 12/15/2021

2014 Volkswagen Eos

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I really want to love this unit. It has so many things going for it. The price is right, screen is big, the UI is no-nonsense, the screen is responsive, Wireless carplay works well, and it has a physical volume knob. The sad part is that the USB playback on this unit is near useless.unless you only want to do MP3s..and even then it sometimes doesn't work. If you try to play a video file - good luck! It hardly plays any of my files (which my BMW i3 and older Pioneer unit had no problem with) and when it does it often crashes the whole unit.making even the physical buttons on the front unresponsive. I reached out to Jensen customer service but they think it's a video encoding issue. Since these files play on everything else I own I'm inclined to say it's a software issue on their part. Besides, should an unsupported file format crash the whole unit and force you to turn your car on/off to bring it back?!? If I could I'd give it 2.5 stars out of 5 because since USB playback is so terrible the unit is half as useful as I want it to be.

Pros: Big screen Responsive display Wireless CarPlay works well

Cons: USB playback often crashes unit Poor video file support Buggy software

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Jensen CAR910W

Crutchfield customer from Simi Valley, CA on 12/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

navigation is never. on point.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/7/2021
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 4 found this helpful

Don't buy if you need GPS

Guest from Stamford, CT on 11/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this for apple car play specifically for GPS with apple maps and/or WAZE. Basically, it works 2/3 of the time. The third of the time it doesn't it puts me somewhere off the road. Ive had multiple conversations with Crutchfield (who tries their best) and Jensen themselves. Some blamed the new iOS 15, but it didnt work before that. They had me do an upgrade, remove my battery terminal. Hours of calls. Basically, its crap. UPDATED 1/18/22: Replacement just as bad - My previous review explains that the GPS works less than half the time with Apple Car Play wireless. Crutchfield kindly replaced with a new receiver. I have the same problem. So I'll repeat, DO NOT BUY THIS if you want to use Apple Car Play wireless GPS. Jensen claims they've hear this complaint a few times and is willing to ship me one they know will work. However, what is the probability that I got two bad ones? Crutchfield should consider not selling this until they get a firmware fix or something.

Pros: screen size, install

Cons: GPS

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Great model but slightly buggy software.

Crutchfield customer from Guerneville, CA on 10/27/2021

2011 Volkswagen Jetta Sportwagen

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My 2 requirements for buying this model was Wireless CarPlay and ability to access a backup camera. I would give this model a 5-star review, but the software in the unit is slightly buggy. There have been times that connection between my phone and the unit have not worked (phone not found). I've had to delete the connection information from both the unit and the phone and reconnect as a new phone. There have been other times when some features (not in CarPlay) will not work and I have to turn the car and the unit off them turn it back on to make everything work again. I do realize that at the time I bought this that finding a unit that supported Wireless CarPlay was very hard to find and this model was newly released for sale, so I can somewhat forgive the software of a 1st generation product. However, for the price, very happy otherwise. I would buy this unit again.

Pros: Wireless CarPlay. No cables!

Cons: Software has some minor issues.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Jensen CAR910W

Crutchfield customer from Myrtle Beach, SC on 10/8/2021

2001 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crutchfield was great, but I give 4 stars to the radio. Installation was pretty straight forward, but the Jensen documentation was poorly done and confusing. The screen is MUCH too bright for night time driving, even with the "night" setting on zero. Jensen should be ashamed to market such a product. I have to cover mine with a rag at night.

Pros: Volume button. Thank you for that!

Cons: screen brightness is far too bright on lowest setting.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Jensen CAR910W

Crutchfield customer from Slingerlands, NY on 10/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Nice unit, great sound.

Michael from LEBANON, OH on 10/3/2021

2011 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed this into a 2011 Suburban. Used the Metra single DIN dash kit which gave me a nice pocket underneath the receiver to put my sunglasses. The wireless Carplay is great. The buttons are a blue color which goes well with the Suburban interior as does the volume knob. This unit works great and has all the features I need. Great value for the price.

Pros: Wireless Carplay. Clean interface. Volume knob.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Jensen CAR910W

Crutchfield customer from Farmington, UT on 10/2/2021

2019 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I ended up sending it back because it kept draining my battery. I worked with the technical team to try and get this fixed but everything we tried failed. It is a good looking stereo and had a smooth touch screen. I don't know if there was going to be an update to get the Android auto feature symbol to show up but you just had to select the Android mirroring symbol to use the auto. I wish I could have tried to use it and learn more about it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR910W

Crutchfield customer from East Hartford, CT on 10/1/2021

2003 GMC Sierra 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Save your money and buy something better or comparable. GPS absolutely SUCKS, there is no rhyme or reason to how or when it will work. It usually says I'm driving 140mph in the ocean if it doesn't have me stopped in the woods. There is no way to use my phone as a backup while driving becuse once the Bluetooth is connected you can only type locations into the phone and not see where you actually are unless you "forget" your phone which means no streaming music. There is also no way to turn it off to use the phone or any way to reset it once the vehicle is on. Then the airplay, for whatever reason it only recognizes 3 of my airplay compatible apps. I'd return it in a heartbeat if it weren't a 3 hour installation. Becuse oh yeah, it doesn't really fit my vehicle (gmc 2500). Yeah the shifter hits the screen.

Pros: It's a radio

Cons: Nothing about it works like I had hoped

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 8 found this helpful

Large Touch Screen

Crutchfield customer from Fallon, NV on 9/27/2021

1997 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far so good, installation was easy, love getting the pre made wire harness. Sound is good, touch screen is easy to read and we really like the ability to move it depending on light conditions and person using it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great experience

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 9/13/2021

2001 Freightliner Sprinter

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have a 2006 Sprinter, and have wished for an affordable single din head unit that will do Apple CarPlay for a while. This unit fits the bill perfectly. Crutchfield (once again) provided the pieces and expert consultation to make this an easy install. I used their prewire service for the wiring harness connections, and I recommend it- The installation was a piece of cake. When I put the unit into my van, the screen showed only static. I sent Crutchfield tech support a picture of this during a phone call with them. They immediately diagnosed a faulty screen and immediately sent me a replacement unit along with a UPS return label for the defective unit. The new unit works flawlessly. The screen is great. The features are clear and easy to setup and use. Apple CarPlay is implemented very well, both wired and using Bluetooth. The radio is also strong. I think the sound is actually better than on my old Sony unit. Furthermore, I did some consulting with Jensen technical support ahead of the install, regarding the parking brake switch requirement/connection, as well as about the firmware update process after the install. They were extremely responsive and helpful. In summary, I'm very pleased with the unit, as well as the support I've received.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Englewood

David from Englewood on 8/4/2021

2008 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I don't have anything negative to say about this unit. I had heard some generally negative things about Jensen being a low cost and therefore, low quality vendor but have seen nothing to support those opinions. I wanted a HUD with at least a volume button because the car I was installing this in (2008 Porsche Boxster) had no steering wheel controls and I don't like hunting for the small icons on many of the touch screens. Not inly do you get a good 'ol volume knob but skip and back buttons and a few others - really come in handy. The screen is big which is good and bad and it is quite adjustable -- height as well as multi tilt. It certainly stands out and is easy to see.

Pros: big adjustable screen volume knob and other physical controls

Cons: screen can stand out too much

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Perfect for my RV

Crutchfield customer from Church Hill, MD on 8/4/2021

2004 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Choose this mainly for the size of the screen and how it adjusts and the fact that it's a Jensen is just a bonus. I installed this in an RV so with the Apple car play I use it for navigation and the size of the screen makes it easy to see at a glance. I am a novice at installing aftermarket equipment and I did this in less than 2 hours And looks and works perfectly. Highly recommended Happy with Crutchfield advisor and his recommendation

Pros: Adjustable screen and great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good stereo, but could use improvements

Mario from Santa Rosa, CA on 8/2/2021

2011 GMC Yukon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

First, thanks to Crutchfield for all the assists on this. I installed this on a GMC Yukon. Make sure to get all the suggested add ons as they are necessary for the proper install. The stereo screen looks great and sounds great. With the Steering wheel kit i was able to preserve volume control. Paired it with my iphone and carplay works great. My wife has android and while i was able to pair her Bluetooth, android auto is completely nonfunctional. Phone calls are crisp and clear, and with iphone I now have the option of having texts read to me while a drive. So hear are the Cons: 1. Although it is single Din, it is the full length in depth and a tight fit. With the wires plugged in, it still would not fit into the slot as the cables sticking straight out the back were jammed up. Even though the wires were tucked down below, there was still not enough room. I had to cut some of the plastic bracing from the back of the slot for it to fit. fitting would have been much better if the wire harness were 90 degree connectors. 2. It sticks out quite a bit. I measure a full 3 inches from the face of the stock dash panel, so it's a bit too close to Shift lever 3. Android auto does not work. 4. need a separate backup camera purchase. Camera cable adapter won't work unless your backup camera unless Yukon comes with original OEM Nav system 5. A bit slow to start and slow to shift from car play back to radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Jensen CAR910W

Crutchfield customer from Fallbrook , CA on 7/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Single DIN with a large easy to use touchscreen at a good price point. This is what I needed, and the Jensen has checked all the boxes. No issues installing.

Pros: Function and price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR910W

Keith from Hermitage, TN on 7/25/2021

2013 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

On the box from Jensen, it say's "Works With Apple CarPlay", "Wireless Connection To Apple CarPlay", *****COMPATIBLE WITH ANDRIOD DEVICE'S***** This is your CLUE! I sure didn't catch that! I spoke with several technicians from Crutchfield and they got me to a Jensen rep after exhausting all their efforts over the course of several days. I spent about two weeks working with "Dual" from Jensen thru email. Down loading radio updates multiple times on a MAC at first (Don't waste your time there), and several attempts on an HP. Nothing worked! Finally I had my last straw with this thing last Tuesday. I contacted Jensen (Dual) and told him I would send him a Thumb drive, if they would install the update and return it, and I even told him I would pay for shipping. I forwarded proof of receipt and shipping address, and Jensen was cool enough to send me that update on a thumb drive at no charge. So, with Jensen's own thumb drive and their own installed update for Android devices to be "COMPATIBLE", I plugged in and installed the update. The icon on the radio changed from Android Mirror to an Android Auto icon. It did not fix anything, in fact its worse. Problems with Navigation, mirroring, blue tooth, ect. My wife has a iPhone, for those wondering, and yes it works the way it should, flawlessly. For those with an Android phone, I would definitely say, NO. Do not purchase this one. This is a product issue for Jensen that needs to be fixed, or take Android off the box.

Pros: Works Flawlessly with Apple / iPhone Back up camera compatible Large touch screen easy to navigate through settings and app's Clear picture

Cons: Does not work with Android Auto well or at all Have to purchase a separate rear camera Difficult to set up and test during install with screen and single din head unit being separated from each other.

Crutchfield response on 7/27/2021
Keith, we're sorry for the issues you've had with your receiver. If you'd like to try another receiver, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

12 of 12 found this helpful

Great carplay headunit

Kyle from Nashua, NH on 7/25/2021

2008 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good unit with great features. First off the wireless CarPlay works great and is the main reason I bought this. I do wish the unit was slightly snappier. While it's not bad there is a slight delay switching between sources. Boot up time is quick from a start and wireless CarPlay connect within a few seconds. Would highly recommend if you are looking for a wireless CarPlay head unit with large screen.

Pros: Wireless CarPlay Fast boot up Large screen Great touch screen responsiveness

Cons: Slight delay switching sources

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

JR's thoughts

Crutchfield customer from Decatur, AL on 7/25/2021

1996 Chevrolet K Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This unit works flawlessly with Apple CarPlay. Touch screen is very responsive with no delay. It is also very user friendly. If you're replacing a single Din unit and want a Big screen, this of the way to go.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Really nice & useful!

Crutchfield customer from Fall River, MA on 7/24/2021

2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love the way it looks in my Subaru & it works great so far!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worth it

Larry A. from Williston, SC on 7/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Let me start by saying that i LOVE this head unit. I've replaced all of the speakers with Kicker brand, including the tweeters. I have a Kicker Key 200.4 amp in the glove compartment and a Kicker 46HS10 sub under the front passenger seat in my Nissan Titan. This stereo brings an easy to use interface and a large clear screen with good resolution. It works great with my setup. It has an eight band EQ and Time Alignment (I had no need for those features thanks to the Key). The wireless Carplay works great. No issues with connectivity. The stereo is easy to wire and does exactly what it is supposed to do. Jensen has already issued a firmware update for the GPS. After PROPERLY loading that update and the Carplay screen resolution update I am impressed with the resolution. I was on the fence because of the price but I am happy with my purchase!

Pros: Screen size and adjustability, User interface, wireless Carplay THAT WORKS, easy installation and setup, and buying from Crutchfield (over and over and over)

Cons: No RDS?! Whatever....there are no Cons.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love Wireless Carplay

Crutchfield customer from Baysie, NY on 7/20/2021

2004 Hummer H2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For Hummer H2. This one is replacing Jensen's CAR1000 that I had. Much better fit and love tilt&swivel feature. The small pocket below the unit is hard to reach but I don't think I will be using that space. Half the height and shorter depth!! and Wireless Carplay!! Wait a few seconds and walla!! Carplay!! You do need to connect bluetooth first then wifi. How did they fit all that in such a small package is still a wonder. But I love the unit. SWC worked out of the box with dial setting on the PAC adapter set to #7. PAC manual doesn't mention Jensen brand but it's same as I believe it was Pioneer. Wireless Carplay is so much convenient than wired. I don't think I will ever go back to wired. Resting my hand on the shifter, my fingers are at exact reaching distance for the volume dial. Very nice!!

Pros: Tilt & Swivel screen

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound