Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
305 905 989 3
Connect ID #
305 905 989 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Jensen CM701MIR

Digital multimedia receiver with 7" touchscreen (does not play discs)

MFR # CM701MIR

Jensen CM701MIR

Jensen CM701MIR

Digital multimedia receiver with 7" touchscreen (does not play discs)

MFR # CM701MIR

26 reviews
View this product

Display could be better

Charlie from Orlando, FL on 8/8/2022

2002 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the unit. BUT-the display is hard to see. It's blue and the pictures make it seem black. I use Bluetooth alot and the display is Very small. I may return it .

Pros:

Cons: Display during Bluetooth is very small. Can't read while driving

Crutchfield response on 8/9/2022
Charlie, we're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CM701MIR

Tony from Kingsport, TN on 5/29/2022

1999 Pontiac Firebird

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Display is not bright enough. Other than that it's great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CM701MIR

George from Phoenix, AZ on 4/21/2022

2006 Ford F-550

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Shipping was quick. Install was easy and direction were easy to follow.

Pros: Nice system

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Junk!

Clifford from FULTON, MO on 4/4/2022

2001 Honda CRV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Junk! Installed September 2021, worked until December, screen turns off but Bluetooth stays connected. Continued to use and control by phone, volume knob still worked, just couldn't change sources or adjust any equalizer. February 2022 the entire radio no longer turns on. Removed the head unit in late March once the weather was good enough to tear down the dashboard in the car. Evaluated connections (bought wiring harness adapters and soldered connections as needed, heat shrink over the tops) and the fuse, good. Check voltages, all normal. Plug in head unit while hanging it out of dash, unit turns on. Cycled it off/on several times w/ ignition & power button, ok. Wiggled wiring and pulled on plug adapters, all good. Reinstalled head unit thinking it had to be a connection. Worked for 3 days, then unit will not power on again. Called Crutchfield tech support, the said it is under warranty, but I would have to send to Jensen for repair! So, I have to tear apart the whole dash, remove the stereo and send it off, and either put the car back together or have a the dash apart while I wait. Then of course take it apart/ install the head unit and hope for the best!!?? Pretty shoddy quality for what I paid and I'm not convinced Crutchfield has my back with the warranty. Probably end up buying a new head unit (which is what Jensen and Crutchfield really want anyway), but not from Crutchfield. I don't recommend this product.

Pros: Shallow, easily fits in the dash since there is no cd drive

Cons: Screen failed prematurely, equalizer is kinda janky. Entire unit will not come on, but has power. Warranty assistance is bogus.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Jensen CM701MIR

Dusty from Sherman on 3/19/2022

2015 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The screen is somewhat hard to see in sunny conditions. The Mirror Screen function is JUNK and does not work. I also bought the Maestro kit for the steering wheel controls, when I went to the Idatalink Maestro website to Flash the unit it does not have the Jensen CM701MIR. I tried several other ones but none would work..

Pros: Has a good sound and fit

Cons: USB Mirror Screen No Support for the Idatalink Maestro

Crutchfield response on 3/23/2022
Dusty, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best bang for the buck

Matthew from Sioux Falls, SD on 3/10/2022

2008 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value for the money. No complaints

Pros: Inexpensive, good sound, easy to operate

Cons: Tiny volume knob.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CM701MIR

Thomas from Chesapeake, VA on 3/3/2022

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought the Jensen CM701MIR to replace the Sony XAV-W650BT I bought 8 years ago from Crutchfield (which had its own issues like randomly factory resetting at least 5 times per day so I never could store settings or data.). With this new receiver I'm not sure how touch screen technology can take a huge stride backwards but the Jensen CM701MIR has accomplished just that. It's almost unusable in current February weather so I'm sure it'll be even worse when summer comes around. USB Mirror function doesn't work at all. Volume knob placement is terrible but at least it and the hard keys work consistently unlike the touch screen. Seriously, the touch screen is really that bad. Save the money you would've spent on this and take your mom out for a nice dinner.

Pros: Turns on

Cons: Everything else besides turning on

Crutchfield response on 3/7/2022
Thomas, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CM701MIR

Mike from Dutton, VA on 3/3/2022

2000 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty good little replacement/upgrade from stock radio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome

Scott from Leola, PA on 2/9/2022

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome radio, well made. Easy to navigate through the options and settings.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CM701MIR

George from San Antonio, TX on 2/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Didn't work for me, but overall decent radio. Returned for written reasons in cons.

Pros:

Cons: Other radios at this price have a minimum crossover for rca output. The Bluetooth didn't work either.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CM701MIR

Crutchfield customer from Preston, MD on 12/19/2021

2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great upgrade for my son's Jeep.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Okay

Lew from Pittston pa on 12/14/2021

2010 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The bluetooth works well but the screen mirroring isnt working at all. Will be contacting about that

Pros: Bluetooth works well

Cons: The screen mirroring does not work

Crutchfield response on 12/15/2021
Lew, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CM701MIR

Crutchfield customer from Mooresville, NC on 11/29/2021

2002 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You need child fingers to turn the volume controls. After 20 mins and the heat on in my truck the screen gets distorted. It gets so hot I'm worried it will catch on fire. A waiste of money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 11/30/2021
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CM701MIR

Crutchfield customer from Caldwell, ID on 11/12/2021

2004 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised.

Pros:

Cons: Screen is slow to respond

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield and no other for audio needs

Crutchfield customer from Findlay, OH on 11/3/2021

2001 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This fills the bill for my needs, good price and with Crutchfield's help, simple installation.

Pros: Simple install with Crutchfield's help.

Cons: The on-off volume knob on this model Jensen head unit is very loose. Feels like it might fall off.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CM701MIR

Crutchfield customer from Howard, PA on 10/21/2021

2001 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Touchscreen is very temperamental.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good unit, read my set up tip!

Brent from Salem, OR on 10/8/2021

2005 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good unit for the price. Functions are all working correctly on this first full day of use and the call quality on the other persons end is better than I expected in a diesel truck. One thing to know when setting up for the first time; do not download and turn on the J-Link remote before you pair the phone to the unit. The unit will pair to the remote app on the phone and block you from pairing your phone to the unit for the rest of the functions. After your phone is paired, you can then start the J-Link remote control app.

Pros: Good features for the cost.

Cons: Don't start J-Link app before you pair your phone.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 6 found this helpful

Value Head unit

Crutchfield customer from Morrisville, PA on 10/2/2021

2015 Honda CRV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is a good value but has some limitations. The display glitches occasionally. The random function disables itself when changing sources. And a few other minor inconveniences.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Jensen CM701MIR

Crutchfield customer from Valley Springs, CA on 10/2/2021

2013 Dodge Challenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty good head unit for the price. Had all the features I was looking for.

Pros: Bang for the buck

Cons: Touch screen is slow responsive

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CM701MIR

Crutchfield customer from Newport News, VA on 9/30/2021

2007 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great replacement to stock am/fm radio in 2007 tahoe.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

decent unit for the price

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 9/26/2021

2014 Scion FR-S

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

decent sound the internal amp inside is garbage. invest in an external 4 channel amp to really get the full value of this unit. great touch screen. was a little miffed that you cant make your own background for the screen you just have to use the 3 blue ones...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

CHAGRIN FALLS

Barry from CHAGRIN FALLS on 9/25/2021

2003 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio fits very nicely into the dash. Best features are the volume knob and the USB port on the front. The bad features : (1) the antenna is always up (2) the screen is very hard to see when the top is down and the sun is out. Also, the installation required several calls to the help desk. The radio comes with a plastic face plate that needs to be removed, but is not mentioned in the instructions. The antenna is always up and I didn't want that (I use the USB port all the time). First I was told to cut the blue/white wire, and that would keep the antenna down. That did not work. Next they had me cut the blue wire and install a toggle switch to control the antenna. That worked. In an attempt to get the screen to "increase" illumination, they told me to cut the orange wire. That didn't work. They said that this radio apparently does not have "illumination" control.

Pros: Nice Fit in my 03 Mazda Miata convertible, and has a volume know and a front USB port

Cons: Very hard to see the screen when sun is out and the top is down, which is most of the time.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CM701MIR

Crutchfield customer from Akron, CO on 9/20/2021

2005 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not the greatest volume button

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CM701MIR

Crutchfield customer from Mars, PA on 9/15/2021

2015 Ford F-450

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits the dash nice and works good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Decent unit with a couple of quirks

Crutchfield customer from Herndon, VA on 9/6/2021

2002 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a Jensen VX7020 in my Toyota Sequoia (with a JBL system) that started acting up after about six years. Given the current microchip shortage, I was limited in terms of choices. The State I live in now has laws against handheld devices while driving, which further limited my selection as I wanted a unit with a built-in microphone. I did not need a CD player or GPS, so the Crutchfield salesperson recommended this CM701MIR unit. I found that even at the low volume setting of 1, the volume was too loud when playing the radio or music from a micro SD card (similar to the previous Jensen unit). The guys at Crutchfield (super helpful as always) recommended a Scosche SLC4 line converter, which did the trick. I also had some trouble trying to find the right level of bass and treble. Since there is no separate setting for these, I had to play around with the equalizer. I found that a V-shaped setting worked best in providing the appropriate bass and treble. Overall, this is a not a bad unit for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Good sound, decent cost, tons of features

Nathan from Leechburg on 8/25/2021

2012 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Has tons of features that I was looking for installed in a 2012 Legacy with a Harmon Kardon stock system and still sounds good but very hollow very little bass going to reach out to Crutchfield to see if I can do anything about this before I return it. It might sound better with a stock system or an upgraded one my system uses 2ohm speakers all around so that also might have something to do with it. Will update review if I get this fixed.

Pros: Tons of features Over all sound is good Touch screen is decent Works pretty good overall

Cons: Not mutch bass

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound