Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Jensen VX4014

DVD receiver

MFR # VX4014

Jensen VX4014

Jensen VX4014

DVD receiver

MFR # VX4014

34 reviews
View this product

Great bang for the buck

Crutchfield customer from Morris Plains, NJ on 12/4/2019

1996 BMW M3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does everything I expected, but more importantly, the customer support from Crutchfield was top notch~

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clock Settings

Crutchfield customer from Dorothy, NJ on 12/1/2019

2004 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After a difficult install in my corvette. Clock will not keep the correct time once the vehicle is shut off. There is no way to change the clock settings (very basic clock settings)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/9/2019
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great unit

Crutchfield customer from Summerville, SC on 11/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works and sounds awesome. very happy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The Search is over

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 11/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Jensen VX4014 was just what I wanted for my 2000 Mercedes Sport. Installation was not complicated and the unit has so many features that are not on the original piece. Bluetooth, CD capability, pop up screen has made my audio equipment just where I want it, a major upgrade. Also, thanks to the professionals at Crutchfield for their expertise and assistance with this fabulous product.

Pros: Ease of installation with the Crutchfield harness, saved money on the installation.

Cons: None so far!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen VX4014

Crutchfield customer from Moorestown, NJ on 11/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was exactly what I was looking for: a reasonable 1 DIN unit at a reasonable price with CarPlay and the ability to hook up a reverse camera to. That said, the screen resolution is noticeably lower than some other units which are only a $100 more and the touch screen response rate is slower than I would like. There is also no way to turn the screen closing function off so it cycles open and closed every time the car is turned off. Still, it's a great buy and I'm happy.

Pros: Price Function CarPlay Reverse Camera Ability Handles Glare Well

Cons: Cycling of Open/Close can not be turned off Screen Response Rate Screen Resolution

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Wow

Crutchfield customer from Cheyenne, WY on 10/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

System works great, really like car play feature plus DVD. Customer service and tech support was excellent.

Pros: CarPlay, DVD player. Easy install Tech support.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen VX4014

Eddie from PASO ROBLES, CA on 10/20/2019

2008 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Kind of a mixed bag in this review. First, this deck looks clean and

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

Jensen VX4014

Crutchfield customer from Palm Desert, CA on 10/13/2019

2004 Land Rover Discovery

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this in my older Land Rover with the back-up camera and I couldn't be happier with the update. It gives me modern safety and convenience, with touchscreen interface and Apple CarPlay!

Pros: Easy phone set-up, interface and operating system. Pretty intuitive. You can use the Sirius app on your phone, rather than installing the external antenna and activating a new vehicle (as long you don't mind using your data). Same goes for Nav. Pretty good stuff for my 15 year old vehicle.

Cons: USB charging cable on the back of the unit charges quickly but only charges (No data connection) The second USB port is on the front of the unit and this is the only one that works for CarPlay. It would be a cleaner look to just have the one cable. Not a big thing but worth mentioning.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome Bang for the Buck

Crutchfield customer from Somerset, NJ on 9/24/2019

2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A lot of bang for the buck. CarPlay is an absolute game changer, allowing any driver to instantly have an at-home familiar feeling in any equipped vehicle. This single din fold-out unit brings that possibility to many more vehicles at an incredible price point. Growing up in the 70's -80's, the Jensen name was well known for affordable quality speakers. That was enough to let me try this unit. So far I am very satisfied with the ease of use, feature set, and overall performance. The cherry on the cake is Crutchfield's service. They provide all the supplemental components and diagrams needed for a successful, stress free installation... That couples with their price match policy means you never need to look elsewhere for your vehicles audio/visual needs!

Pros: Apple CarPlay, price point, loaded with features and a multitude of connection options.

Cons: Screen is a little less dynamic in brightness and contrast than your standard IOS devices.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Jensen VX4014

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 7/30/2019

2002 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleasant installation, on a scale of 1 to 10 with 10 being the hardest. This task was about a 4, in my opinion. Just follow the directions and wiring diagrams. I'm very pleased with the unit too. I would definitely recommend this unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Jensen VX4014

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 7/23/2019

1998 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works better than expected very pleased

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice unit for the $

Crutchfield customer from Pineville, PA on 7/21/2019

1998 BMW 328IS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really nice unit for the money. Apple car play works great. I had a problem on install, I didn't realize the car I put this in had an amp. One short call to tech support and it was sorted out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Jensen VX4014

Crutchfield customer from Moyock, NC on 7/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio! I modernized my 1987 Monte Carlo SS with this. I now have touchscreen, USB, (no more CDs!), Bluetooth and hands free calling and a USB charging port. Hardest part was fitting the adapter to the car, hook-up was fairly easy. The touchscreen does cover the heater/a/c controls but with the touch of a button it slides back in out of the way. I used the thickest adapter so the screen doesn't come into contact with anything but it stays put when I use it. Later I'll add a back-up camera to it - should be fun!

Pros: Look at all of the features! Even though it has a CD/DVD slot, I no longer need to fill my console with CDs and a memory stick holds more than my console ever could and I no longer have to fumble on the road to switch CDs. Hands free calling keeps me safe as well. I can even enter my own custom wallpaper display.

Cons: Can't think of any.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Jensen VX4014

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 4/28/2019

1998 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome Stereo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

1U CarPlay!

Crutchfield customer from Glendale, CA on 4/19/2019

1997 Mercury Tracer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have an old, small car. I've had holders on my dashboard for years to carry my iPhone. I wanted CarPlay, but my radio slot was 1U, not 2U. This works just fine, though I don't think I'll ever play a DVD. Next, rear camera and

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Jensen VX4014

Crutchfield customer from Henrico, VA on 4/10/2019

2004 Land Rover Discovery

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great. I have noticed that with an iPhone 6 there can be some Car Play issues and the radio locks up. Great features for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Good radio overall, some issues. Not a bad price.

Loken from Oskaloosa, IA on 3/31/2019

1999 Pontiac Bonneville

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm pretty satisfied with the radio overall. I like its features and it works well for what I need it to do. I like the Apple Carplay feature and the Bluetooth feature. I even ran a USB-powered LED light strip and plugged it into the auxiliary USB port in the back to light up the floor in my car. I also connected a backup camera and that works extremely well and is very smooth. However, the climate control knobs on my 1999 Pontiac Bonneville SE are located right above the radio and stick out quite a bit, so when the touchscreen opens up, it bumps into my climate control knobs (photos attached). I decided to 3D print my own knobs. I did that and now the screen can full open up (photos attached). So that was frustrating to have to deal with especially when Crutchfield assured me it wouldn't be an issue. The clock also doesn't work properly. Whenever you change the time (like for daylight saving), the clock always goes back to the previous time it was set to. It never wants to hold the new time you give it. I select "Save" and everything when setting the time but it just won't hold it. Lastly, one feature I wish it had was to show the time even when the touchscreen was retracted. When you retract the touchscreen, the display only shows volume or radio station, not the time. Overall, not a bad radio for a pretty good price. I like it and it gets the job done and has some nice features.

Pros: Apple Carplay Bluetooth compatiblity Retractable screen Good quality hardware Automatic screen brightness

Cons: Clock doesn't hold time No time displayed when touchscreen is retracted Sometimes motor doesn't fully extend the screen

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Jensen VX4014

Crutchfield customer from Fredericksburg, VA on 2/24/2019

2004 Dodge Neon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very decent radio. The response speed on touch controls is a tad slow and sometimes the USB port doesn't register a device connected to it. The only fix for the usb is to shutoff and restart. Other than that, it isn't bad.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Confused Product Quality

Logan from Azle, TX on 2/6/2019

2015 Ford Fiesta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have ordered two of these stereo units and both of them didn't work.

Pros: None

Cons: Doesn't work.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

Works just as well, if not better than my more expensive CarPlay units

Jeff from Auburn, WA on 1/27/2019

1999 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great fit in a 99 wrangler. I was worried that the screen would jostle around if I hit a bump in the road, but the screen actually puts a little pressure on the heater vents and it stays in place tightly.

Pros: '99 Wrangler: Great fit, easy install, lots of features, screen auto stows and deploys, intuitive menus

Cons: Blocks heater vent when screen is deployed. (I just close the vents most of the time)

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Jensen VX4014

Jim from Daytona Beach, FL on 1/11/2019

2000 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit has all the best features for a great price.

Pros: Easy install, great features, touch screen works well.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Outstanding unit

Robert from Moultrie, GA on 1/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, outstanding unit. Easy to install

Pros: Easy to install and use

Cons: Touchscreen sometimes is a little slow to react to touching

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen VX4014

Crutchfield customer from Russellville, KY on 12/26/2018

1995 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did not fit like it said it would. Had to build an adapter so the screen would flip right. Does not allow android phones to work through the pandora menu like it says it will. Will not screen mirror android without hdmi cable and adapter

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

Looks great!

Crutchfield customer from Cocoa, FL on 12/22/2018

2001 Chrysler PT Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great. Installing during Christmas break. I can't wait to try it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

Jensen VX4014

Crutchfield customer from Oceanside, CA on 12/18/2018

1990 Honda CRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's good, but I didn't like the fact that you can't adjust the tilt on it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Jensen VX4014

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, TN on 12/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice radio,and has good sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Sounding Radio

Robert from Clearwater, FL on 12/6/2018

2002 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

While I have just owned this receiver for about a week, it has really shined! The audio is great. It was easy to install (with Crutchfield's great instal guides). The radio is very easy to program right down to the backlight color. Works great with XM, my iPhone, CDs (yes I STILL use them as well as DVDs. It was also super easy to get AM & FM radio stations programmed into memory. Also has lots of great inputs as well as the all important front facing USB port. Handy for plugging in your phone and using Carplay! This radio was not the most expensive, but it does everything I need it to do and sounds great! Very happy with my purchase. Aslo Crutchfield Customer Service is second to none! They take great care of their customers! All around great buy from a company you can rely on.

Pros: Does Everything you could ask from an in dash tuner that fits in a single DIN opening.

Cons: Can't adjust the tilt of the screen. (not too much of an issue, though!)

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent Bargen Stereo

William from Leander, TX on 12/6/2018

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Value for a CarPlay head unit. This did not work in my truck because of the gear shift, but the stereo has a lot of great features and is a great way to add modern tech to your older ride. This was the first Jensen stereo I had (I had Pioneer before), and this head unit performed very well compared to those given the lower price of this unit. If it had fit, I know I would have been very happy with it. Crutchfield was awesome about helping me out to get a head unit that would fit. I will continue to buy all of my stereo equipment from here!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Jensen VX4014

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 11/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation. Good product but Over the air reception has noticeable hummm and No option to display time when screen is retracted

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Jensen VX4014

Crutchfield customer from Kirkland, WA on 11/25/2018

2004 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent value and features

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Jensen VX4014

CaptainMike from Henderson, NV on 10/11/2018

1995 AMG Hummer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great item for the price. Staff helped me find exactly what I needed. Install instructions were perfect and easy.

Pros: Fits perfect

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice but could be better

Michael from Tallahassee, FL on 9/17/2018

2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Decent product. The touch screen is not as responsive as an iPhone. And Apple CarPlay is only available from the front USB port. Would be better if the rear USB port supported Apple CarPlay so you could drop the phone in a glove box or console and not have wires dangling everywhere.

Pros: Easy install

Cons: Lack of back USB port support for Apple CarPlay.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Great Radio

Melvin from Hawkins, TX on 8/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well except radio reception but that may be an install error. Only thing I would change is more detailed instructions for functions and features and wiring options.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Instructions lack detailed use of functions and settings.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Jensen VX4014

Crutchfield customer from Oconomowoc Wi on 8/2/2018

1985 Pontiac Trans Am

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Single Din adapter did not allow for proper installation of unit as promised. Device would not allow angulation adjustment for the TFT display. Installation could not be completed due to lack of clearance between the dash and the TFT display. Awaiting exchange / return

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/6/2018
emailed CS: 45121484 7/9/18 Stetz Can you please set up a return for this customer? Thanks.

12 of 18 found this helpful

TOP