Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
832 102 621 3

Call center hours

Connect ID #
832 102 621 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Jensen VX7228

Digital multimedia receiver with navigation (does not play discs)

MFR # VX7228

Jensen VX7228

Jensen VX7228

Digital multimedia receiver with navigation (does not play discs)

MFR # VX7228

42 reviews
View this product

has to be a better option

rich from Pleasantville, NY on 12/28/2019

2007 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Disappointing. Original unit sold to me was defective and had to be replaced. The replacement worked well while it worked. Recently the nav gave out with a loud "bong"sound and an alert that was in too small print to read. Nav now returns at random. Not able to update nav maps with Apple OS. While nav is out it negatively affects the sensitivity of the screen. Have never been able to get the steering wheel controls to work, although I don't think that is the fault of the radio and in hindsight should not have bothered as at best it only works for volume. Have had no problems with FM tuning, back up camera or bluetooth. Tuning SiriusXM and selecting presets is awkward. Nav has never been trustworthy. In a word, would look for a more durable option if I had to do it over again.

Pros: works well when it works

Cons: sketchy nav

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen VX7228

Crutchfield customer from Monticello, GA on 11/7/2019

2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Most all the reviews I read seemed to say this was a good receiver. It's not that great! Sometimes, not all the time, the Bluetooth cuts in and out. Very annoying listening to music. That also caused dropped calls. There's other things I don't like, that's the worst. Wish I would have taken the time to try it before I bought it. Would I buy it again, NO!!!

Pros: None

Cons: Way Bluetooth works. The GPS setup

Crutchfield response on 11/19/2019
We're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Budget minded

Crutchfield customer from Long Beach, MS on 10/27/2019

2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For an entry level Navigation unit it works well.

Pros: Inexpensive

Cons: Limited functionality

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Tunning stations and camera issues.

Crutchfield customer from Denver, NC on 10/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The radio has a lots of bugs with screen brightness,also radio stations don't stayed tune it literally start seeking without being activated to do so,also the backup camera is very dark you can't see anything,the installer checked it out twice with different cameras and the diagnostic came back as radio issues not the camera.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen VX7228

Brendan from HILTON HEAD, SC on 9/21/2019

2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Horrible. READ BEFORE BUYING!

Pros:

Cons: What a horrible product. Whoever designed this unit should be fired. Sirius XM presets: You have to tap two different screens to get to them and then double tap on the preset to select. NOT SAFE while driving. Presets would constantly disappear and I used a Crutchfield harness. Navigation was quirky at best and would make lous popping sounds when on. LCD Display looked fuzzy and not crisp. Bought an Alpine to replace this piece of junk. Buying Alpine only in the future.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Jensen VX7228

Crutchfield customer from Seymour, TN on 9/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit. Still learning how to use it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen VX7228

Crutchfield customer from Charlevoix, MI on 8/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been away from stereo installation for a while. The Crutchfield team did an excellent job From ordering the right unit, supplying all the install parts and wiring harness that I needed and awesome service when I had one question during install. Thanks guys!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

2011 jeep grand cherokee

Crutchfield customer from Gowen, MI on 8/18/2019

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

installed this ragio into a 2011 jeep grand cherokee it wasnt a easy fit had to cut the radio opening in the dash a 1/4 of a inch top and bottom. also had to cut the mounting brackets to fit so this was not just a bolt in radio. the nav takes some time to learn but it does work as good as any gps.the sound is great better than the oem radio. the only sound I use is the usb input from a thumb drive loaded with my mp3 music. the radio always start off with low volume dosent remember last level used. takes awhile to figure out how to get music with nav gps. have to push the right buttons its not clear how to do that. start the nav then push src two times slowly and wait till it opens usb input.also installed the jvc rear cam the cable just made it with none to spare. had to remove a lot of panels. took about 8 hours. be careful reinstalling the spare tire cover if not locked downed with a click your keyless go and start will not work all in all it got done not the worst install my vette was worst but it can be done. it earned a 3 star believe me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen VX7228

Crutchfield customer from Thomasville, NC on 8/11/2019

2002 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Difficult to use while driving. Navigation response is aggravatingly slow.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen VX7228

Crutchfield customer from La Porte, IN on 8/1/2019

2006 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Great Radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen vx7228 review

Crutchfield customer from John Day, OR on 7/26/2019

2002 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They're very responsive and good customer service. Only I have a problem is navigation and music the doesn't work the same time. When navigation is using the music stop.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Jensen VX7228

Crutchfield customer from Huntingtn Bch, CA on 7/26/2019

2006 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great new addition with everything I needed in one box! Made a thirteen year old truck feel like new! I realized the magic blue box that cam with the installation package communicates with the computer on my truck perfectly. I realized that it has a back-up camera option (after I had installed). I just ordered one from you guys but haven't installed yet. Not looking forward to removing my console and dash... Again... but I will now that I have done it before, it won't be such a challenge. Worth the safety and added technology for an older truck. Thanks again! Keep up the great work!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen VX7228

Crutchfield customer from Hastings, NY on 7/20/2019

2009 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit perfect, purchased the harness and other accessories which made it very easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen VX7228

Crutchfield customer from Lithonia, GA on 7/19/2019

2008 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit for the price. Install was flawless

Pros: works great easy to operate and change between modes

Cons: voice from gps interupts when signal is lost even when gps is not in use

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen VX7228

Crutchfield customer from Leander, TX on 7/16/2019

2005 Toyota Camry Solara

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen VX7228

Crutchfield customer from Worley, ID on 7/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice fit in 2007 Sierra Classic. Excellent technical support from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen VX7228

Crutchfield customer from Oronoco, MN on 7/6/2019

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works fine the gps and radio are a pane

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Jensen VX7228

Crutchfield customer from Belvidere, IL on 6/30/2019

2014 Kia Soul

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I was looking for and the price was right! What set this apart from other purchases was Crutchfield's continued customer support and direction in making this the best electronic buying experience I've ever had. I will liste to my phone speaker in my car before I make a car audio purchase through any other company. This was perfect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen VX7228

Crutchfield customer from Hagaman, NY on 6/30/2019

2005 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Radio with Navigation for the price. Clear screen ( little hard to see in bright sun light) responsive touch screen and great sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Grandview

Brian from Grandview on 6/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to replace the UConnect that died in my wife's jeep, and this was the only reasonably priced replacement that would fit. If you have never used a Garmin or TomTom GPS unit before then you might think this Jensen VX7228 is a good unit to buy---> It is NOT. Very disappointed in this device. Takes way too long to power on and get either to radio or GPS mode, 30+ seconds loading time is ridiculous. Firmware is still buggy even after 2 new versions, still waiting for more updates. Our unit randomly loses audio (doesn't matter the source) for about 5 seconds at a time, and we have confirmed it is not a loose wire. Would I buy this unit again? Nope. I'm stuck at this point because I am not spending $1000+ dollars to find another unit that might be better in the jeep.

Pros: GPS does work but compared to Garmin or TomTom is junk. At under $500 which included all the wiring kit/harnesses it was the best option for the price range.

Cons: Searching for amenities in the GPS is worthless, if you don't have the exact street address you are wasting your time. Slooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooow staratup time. Audio quality is only average. Using some weird outdated Windows PE operting system, since i have seen the firmware crash with computer dialog boxes. GPS data is on the SD card, and only supports an 8GB card which is difficult to buy new these days, running GPS off the SD card has to be one of the

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Don't waste your money - save up buy a better brand.

Gary from Knoxville, TN on 6/29/2019

1998 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Spend a little more and get a better unit - This thing is SLOW, push a button then wait & wait. Also the manual is thin on useful information or maybe it is just so poorly organized that I can't find what I am looking for. Sound is OK but a bit muffled, Customization is very limited, Did I mention how SLOW to respond the unit is.

Pros: Cheap

Cons: I know why it was cheap - because it is cheap.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Jensen VX7228

Crutchfield customer from South Windsor, CT on 6/27/2019

2010 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very user friendly, abundant features, great instructions, 5 star rating.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Jensen VX7228

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, Nc on 6/19/2019

2005 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install in to a 2005 F150. Touch screen is fairly responsive but maybe not to the point people are accustomed to. BT music will play even when the GPS is in use. Dont know why other reviews mention it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Economy unit

Crutchfield customer from Oak Harbor, WA on 4/29/2019

2006 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an economy unit and it shows. The install was not hard due to the prewire kit I ordered too. Also installed a back up camera which works fine. The radio sounds good and although the reception of signals where we live is usually poor, this radio in both AM and FM does a better job than any of the other vehicle radios we own. A couple things I don't like a bout it. The biggest drawback is that the NAV , or backup camera, is treated as a source, just like the audio functions. But, the unit will only accept one source at a time. The result is that you can not use the audio and NAV at the same time. I have never seen this before and if it is listed in the description , I did not see it. Would not buy the unit again for that reason. The other problem I've had with it is on start up the radio station that is selected, say for example570 AM will just shift to 580. It only seems to happen on initial power up and not after the radio has been on for a while. Hopefully that will get better.

Pros: Pretty good sound, although I'm not too particular

Cons: Audio will not play while using NAV.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Always trust crutchfield

Crutchfield customer from Oxford, MS on 4/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, excellent customer service. Touch screen is responsive and works well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen VX7228

Crutchfield customer from Deltona, FL on 4/20/2019

2002 Chevrolet Express

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great customer service making you feel that you are important to them. Very helpful!

Pros: Super fast delivery.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Solid performer

Crutchfield customer from Aiken, SC on 4/19/2019

2005 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio for my daughter's first car. Allows her to be hands free with Bluetooth. Transitions between navigation on radio are a little clunky but altogether great radio. Pretty simple to install but GPS antenna can be a bit tricky. We added a backup camera licenseplate that works well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Sounds!

Crutchfield customer from Bella Vista, AR on 4/15/2019

2016 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy Fit into my 2016 Subaru Impreza. I enjoy the sounds and the navigation gets me where I need to go. With multiple settings for any need.

Pros: Sounds great! Installation was easy. Navigation shows me the speed limit and the speed I am going.

Cons: It took me a while to figure out how to navigate through what source I was looking for, but I figured it out.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen VX7228

Crutchfield customer from Huntsville, AL on 4/14/2019

2007 Ford Edge

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not a bad radio but the first one had a software problem and would not keep bluetooth or other settings once the car was turned off. Replacement one works pretty well except for a few small issues.

Pros: Easy to use interface

Cons: Software is a little buggy.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

2007 Mazda Miata

Crutchfield customer from Lk Forest Pk, WA on 4/11/2019

2007 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits, works, and looks fine in my 07 Mazda MX-5 (Miata). Still haven't figured out how to keep music from BlueTooth going and using navigation at the same time. Instructions were good to excellent. (couldn't identify one bolt in dark photograph, but it worked anyway). Sound is good, audio balance controls on touch screen is nice. Using the ReadyHarness made it easier.

Pros: Fit, appearance, sound quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen VX7228

thomas from lakewood on 4/6/2019

2011 Jeep Patriot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

install was easy came with alot just step by step and i was done.So far no issues But its new Ill say more in a few months.

Pros: Good sound and ease of use

Cons: none yet other then explore the options features

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen VX7228

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 4/3/2019

2013 Nissan 370Z

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's been a good stereo! I've been enjoying it, but it's super hard to install because of my car.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen VX7228

Crutchfield customer from Paducah, KY on 3/29/2019

2007 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit performs adequately. I bought it because I wanted budget friendly Bluetooth, GPS, and backup camera. It does all of this well

Pros: Price, options , overall performance.

Cons: Screen is very difficult to see (for me) during daylight and impossible to see with sunglasses on. This unit is in a 2007 Highlander so it may just be the fixed angle in relation to my position in the drivers seat. Also, I understand that polarized lenses will affect how well you see LED screen displays.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Jensen VX7228

Crutchfield customer from Enterprise, AL on 3/25/2019

2017 Nissan Versa S

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

some times does not want to connect with Pandora

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen VX7228

Crutchfield customer from Caribou, ME on 3/21/2019

2012 Ford Fusion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty decent unit for the price! It gave my stock system a surprising boost. Easy to navagate through the menus and the ability to customize the color is a nice touch. Only con is the system takes a little long to start up, a good 15 to 20 seconds from the start of my car to when music starts playing

Pros: Sounds good. Easy navagation and color customization

Cons: Start up time

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Jensen VX7228

Adam from Maggie Valley, NC on 2/25/2019

2007 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio has great features for the price it was easy to install and looks great in my 2007 Ford F-350

Pros: Price and features

Cons: None as of right now

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Everything I was looking for

Paul from Colorado Spgs, CO on 2/21/2019

2006 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this unit is just what I was looking for, installed easy, the prewired harness from Crutchfield was spot on. Installation was simple. The gps antenna is very small and is very inconspicuous on my dash. GPS is great, definitely need to download the GPS manual from Jensen. Updating the maps was simple also, just follow the directions and download the IGO software and follow the instructions. I will buy another one of these for mu wife's truck too. The Crutchfield support was great too, emailed a question after hours and had an answer when I woke up. Very pleased.

Pros: great volume, love the equalizer, camera inputs, display is not overly bright-does not distract me while driving

Cons: non yet

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great!!

John J from King Of Prussia, PA on 2/5/2019

2006 Chevrolet Equinox

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio! Easy to install! Love it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen VX7228

Bruce from Clearwater, FL on 1/27/2019

2008 Dodge Durango

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was easy to install in a 2008 Dodge Durango.....30 mins. No kidding !!!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very Nice Nav Stereo but Accessories are External

Derek from San Diego, CA on 1/24/2019

2000 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this in-dash Nav stereo for our 2007 Toyota Sienna and I like it. Sounds great + bluetooth connects easy! This time I added the wiring harness and saved myself the pain of wiring. Installation took about 2 hours but my son and I were working at night - I had to adjust the placement later the next day to get the trim to fit and run the mic. The two biggest dings on this setup are: 1) the GPS antenna is about the size of a half inch stack of baseball cards, is magnetized at the bottom, and is expected to be mounted to the top of your car! Lol! Have you ever seen a car with something like that on the roof?! Neither have I, and it wasn't clearly stated pre-purchase that this is recommended GPS set up. Only when I called Crutchfield did the helpful tech inform me of this way of optimizing the GPS. He also said that factory GPS antennas were routing along the regular stereo antenna. What I did instead is stick the antenna to the back of the stereo and it seems to work decent. About half the time it takes 2-3 minutes to get a GPS lock but the other half it connects under a minute. I may route it to the top of the dash if this becomes an issue. 2) The mic is not built into the front of the stereo - you have to plug it in back and route the wiring outside the dash. I mounted mine on the front of the dash near the steering wheel but it also came with a clip to put in on your visor. Again, this was not clear before I bought the stereo that the mic wasn

Pros: Bluetooth connects quick, autoplays music from phone, can get loud if you like!

Cons: External accessories, GPS doesn't always connect quickly

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Wire harness trouble

Dustin from Trenton, FL on 1/11/2019

2010 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Don't really know about this unit yet. Had issues installing. The wiring harness has posed problems. Was on the phone with tech service for about an hour. Will try to install again this weekend. Will have to update on the unit once it is installed.

Pros: ????

Cons: Wire harness

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen VX7228

Crutchfield customer from Wakefield, RI on 11/22/2018

2009 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing system especially for the price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

TOP