Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

CD receiver

MFR # KDC-BT278U

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

CD receiver

MFR # KDC-BT278U

104 reviews
View this product

GREAY BUY!!

Crutchfield customer from Keithville, LA on 2/6/2021

1990 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

GREAT BUY for my 1990 Ford F-150!! Modern convenance...I will NOT miss the AM radio!!

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Amherst, VA on 2/2/2021

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, easy install. Worth the money

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Acton, CA on 1/5/2021

2005 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice radio easy install and great technical assistance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Mc Neal, AZ on 1/5/2021

2000 Honda Odyssey

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall, we like the Kenwood KDC-BT278U. The unit has a lot of nice features, and we found the Blue Tooth to be easy to use. Sometimes we have to cycle BT off and back on with our phones to get it to connect (like when we have just gotten in and started up). We really like being able to pause and skip ahead with BT audio; very nice features. We do wish the audio controls were a little easier to get to and adjust and then get back out of, but it isn't TOO difficult. The unit has a good overall value and we are very glad we bought it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Heath from SHUMWAY, IL on 12/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield kit was great. Install in Jeep was easy and worked well. Sound is good. Wish I'd bought a higher model Kenwood so I could change color. Dark blue on buttons is difficult for parents to see. Radio works well

Pros: Good sound, fair price

Cons: Small buttons, hard to read them

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Newburgh, IN on 12/24/2020

2004 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Gets the job done at very affordable price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 12/24/2020

2002 Isuzu Rodeo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The radio is great, installation instructions were a bit lacking.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Provo, UT on 12/22/2020

2005 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect radio/cd/bluetooth player. Much better than my cobbled together system of playing external media. Yeah, I've been living in the dark ages.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2001 Jeep Wranger/Kenwood

Crutchfield customer from Melfa, VA on 12/20/2020

2001 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have always been a Kenwood fan, and this head unit doesn't let me down so far. I've had it for almost two weeks. It offers more technology than what I was used to such as Bluetooth access to Pandora and Spotify. Its great to have easy access to my favorite music. And, I can always toss in a CD if I want. For the money, I am very happy overall. The install was very easy. Using supplied wiring harnesses and mounting kits made it painless. I also purchased direct replacements for my factory speakers. These Kenwoods are great! Clean mids and highs. A big improvement over factory speakers. I used a power driver to do the swap, so it only took about 20 minutes to do all four speakers. The whole job took about an hour. I've only had this setup for a couple of weeks.....so I can't judge what will happen long term. If they do like other Kenwoods I've had in the past, I will be happy! There are other models with more options, but this one worked fine for my budget. I spent about $250 total. I just need something that works well in my everyday driver. Its not a show piece (my jeep) but its paid for!

Pros: Easy install. Easy to use. Looks and sounds great. Not overly expensive.

Cons: None as of this point.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 12/17/2020

1992 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Franklin, NC on 12/16/2020

1996 Chevrolet K Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Buen stereo toda las conexiones modernas . Pandora Bluetooth y muchas más micrófono manos libres para llamadas

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Mishawaka, IN on 12/16/2020

2005 Dodge Stratus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value and a very quick easy install. Wanted a hands free update with two phones. Everything needed was supplied.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Locust, NC on 12/14/2020

2000 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio for any car!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Casselberry, FL on 12/6/2020

2010 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation was made simple with one phone call with Carl. Navigation thru different modes seamless. Great head unit.

Pros: Easy install. Connecting BT easy.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Jay, ME on 12/1/2020

2004 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice upgrade to get Bluetooth in older toyota highlander

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 12/1/2020

1998 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks and sounds awesome in my 1998 Tacoma. The hands free phone function works well. Callers can hear me clearly.

Pros: Costs, features, functionality.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Midland , NC on 11/18/2020

2000 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just need a simple replacement. With upgrades, Bluetooth, hands free phone, streaming. Xcross over and eq this sounds amazing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, IL on 11/15/2020

2003 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installing into my daughters car, surprised she wanted a CD player. Install and initial setup of BT linking to Phone was a breeze. Navigating the menus takes a few tries to get used to. Great features and sound for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Alsea, OR on 11/15/2020

2000 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Shipped fast and works great! Need new speakers next!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from New Paltz, NY on 11/11/2020

1999 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with this unit. Does what it is supposed to do. Straight forward functionality. Bluetooth operation is flawless. Good audio controls for customizing the sound. Easy installation with Crutchfield directions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Safford, AZ on 11/11/2020

1994 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Had another radio but I bought this one because I wanted to take cell calls. I can and sound is clear and after call it goes back to previous USB function etc. I would recommend this radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Hardy, VA on 11/8/2020

2005 Jeep Liberty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've purchased a lot of car stereos over the past 6 plus years, both for myself and friends. Usually pioneer, they were out of stock so I purchased this kenwood. I love the features, great sound for stock speakers in my 05 Jeep Liberty. Bluetooth is great , didn't think " larger volume knob " would be a selling point but it is great.

Pros: As advertised, great value for the money

Cons: Only been a week, none .

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Lompoc, CA on 10/18/2020

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent unit. The sound quality is so much better than the 17yr old stock unit. It came with everything I needed to install it in my 2003 F150.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Oakland, TN on 10/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Effortless harness to harness plug-in, mounted easily with included bracket, works great, this unit REALLY woke up my already rockin' factory Infinity speakers (2003 Ram), the difference was as if I'd upgraded speakers! Playing with the wide ranges on EZ equalizer settings lets you be very specific pertaining to acoustics. I Bluetooth through my iPhone, works great & picks up right where you left off when you crank the unit back up automatically! Ex: go to the gym, switch of BT headphones as you crank your ride & the jukebox keeps rollin'! Great unit!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

More than adequate

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, CO on 9/28/2020

2011 Chevrolet Traverse

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Somewhat easy to navigate. Would like to have larger buttons on the face plate for station select. A little difficult to reach over and change station in radio on my Traverse.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Entry Level Radio

Crutchfield customer from Turlock, CA on 8/26/2020

1999 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We bought a 1999 Explorer for my son and the factory Mach radio had seen better days. We didn't want to spent too much money, but wanted a quality head unit. This Kenwood fit the bill nearly perfectly. It checked off most of the boxes my 16 year old son wanted. The sound quality was good and controls, once figured out, are good. With the recommended installation accessories, installation was easy and took no time at all. The fact he can connect to his phone for hands free calls and to listen to his music made this unit worth it.Great

Pros: Great Sound Bluetooth

Cons: Instruction book is not well written

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love it!

Crutchfield customer from Puyallup, WA on 8/24/2020

2000 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy to use and very great price! i love it for it's simplicity.

Pros: easy to use great price bluetooth is great

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Exactly what I wanted.

Crutchfield customer from Herndon, VA on 8/22/2020

2007 Honda Pilot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to setup and use. The Bluetooth works well with my phone. Good reception on the tuner.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Iuka, MS on 8/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo with great sound. All of the adjustments make customizing your sound so easy. Thanks Crutchfield and Kenwood, way to deliver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 8/17/2020

2007 Subaru Impreza 2.5i

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really good, would recommend

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, CO on 8/16/2020

2004 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Kenwood radio worked well in first attempt. It was easy to fit in 2004 Toyota Highlander. The instructions were good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great stereo except for the microphone routing

Jeff from Bellingham, WA on 8/13/2020

2003 Volkswagen Eurovan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield made it easy to install, except for the microphone. This Kenwood unit doesn't have a mic built in. You have to run a cord from the back of the stereo through your dash somehow (I'm assuming people cut holes to use the mic). You cannot make calls without this microphone installed (well, you can but no one will hear you). Otherwise, it seems like a great stereo so far.

Pros: Great Price Easy Installation (except microphone) Sounds great

Cons: No internal microphone. You have to cut a hole in the dash to route the included external microphone if you want to use it for phone calls.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Radio

Crutchfield customer from West Point, KY on 8/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Radio at a Great Price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Flemington, NJ on 8/9/2020

2005 Dodge Neon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy install. Great to have bluetooth in the car. Many more options than original radio.

Pros: Works great!

Cons: Small buttons with the many features

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Woodland, CA on 8/8/2020

2004 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

new model..No instructions on set-up adjustments.Only have back speakers working. Touch the volume knob and you are dumped into set-up mode ,that doesn't save any settings as you try to escape. Kenwood doesn't have instruction on-line yet.

Pros: great sound and reception

Cons: I hope kenwood gets updated soon

Crutchfield response on 8/10/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

A radio in a Morgan ? ? ?

Dabney from Northumberland, VA on 8/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installing in a '67 RHD Morgan Plus 4, 4-seater - I know, why in a Morgan? Nice to have some tunes available whilst enjoying a wicker hamper picnic in the Northern Neck, no? Won't interfere with the classic sounds from a Triumph TR4 power plant. Top Ho, Rathuh ! ! !

Pros: Great application

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Flagstaff, AZ on 8/3/2020

2006 Kia Sorento EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit and has worked well with no issues. Great upgrade from the stock head unit.

Pros: Easy to use Easy install Great price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Maple Valley, WA on 7/27/2020

2005 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome deck for the price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Fairfield, OH on 7/11/2020

2005 Pontiac Vibe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent radio for a reasonable price, very easy to install and set up with the kit and all included directions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect for my needs

Crutchfield customer from Valencia, CA on 7/9/2020

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bluetooth connects flawlessly (2 phones at a time), interface looks nice and clean, extremely easy to use, sound quality is excellent. Overall, perfect product for my needs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood for a 2005 Jeep Wrangler

Crutchfield customer from New Providence, NJ on 7/5/2020

2005 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the stereo a lot. Instantly connects to my phone and after some practice I can find the programs I want to use such as Spotify, Apple radio, pandora, radio. The only complaint I have is the buttons to change channels are small. Other than that it looks good and sounds good.

Pros: Looks and sound great

Cons: Buttons are small to change channels

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Sheffield, AL on 7/2/2020

1996 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo! I replaced my factory stereo. I'm very happy with it so far!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

top notch

Crutchfield customer from Flowery Branch, GA on 6/30/2020

1990 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo and even better service from crutchfield!

Pros: easy BT connection

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Features Great Price

Crutchfield customer from Rossville, GA on 6/24/2020

2005 Jeep Liberty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in my daughters Jeep. She loves it. Great price point with essential functions for a teenager in her first vehicle.

Pros: Read above

Cons: None that are apparent

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Saint Albans, WV on 6/23/2020

1994 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A very good deal, shipped quickly.Had it installed in a1994 500 SL which had no sound for so long . Now driving the car is joyful , more like when my late husband used to sing to me with the music . Thank you.

Pros: Ordering is very convenient

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Wadsworth, OH on 6/17/2020

2000 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great wiring harness

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Arlee, MT on 5/25/2020

1995 GMC Sonoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome Deck, I love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Earlysville, VA on 5/20/2020

2003 Jeep Liberty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

User interface is a little confusing when using with a smartphone connected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Gainesvillle, FL on 5/19/2020

1986 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy install with instructions provided

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Chester, PA on 5/18/2020

2001 Ford Crown Victoria

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

HI GUY THANKS FOR THIS KENWOOD KDCBT278U STEREO.QUITE EAST TOO REPLACE MY RADIO WITH ALL THE PARTS I GOT.ALL I NEED NOW IS SPEAKERS NEXT ON MY LIST.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Gold Canyon, AZ on 5/18/2020

2005 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice radio. Sounds good installed perfectly. USB charger is awsome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Black Mountain, NC on 5/17/2020

2005 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit was great sounds better then the factory stereo and has all the features I was looking for.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Radio, Good Sound

Bruce from Carsonville, MI on 5/15/2020

2006 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a RADIO! I'm up in the thumb of Michigan, 90 miles from Detroit. There's only a local low power station within 50 miles. This radio has a live signal just about every .1 MHz, and nearly every 20KC. LOTS of stations, and good reception. Evidently the rest of the world has developed small, accurate, robotic fingers. I looked at a lot of radios, and unless I went with a 'touch screen' the layout on this receiver is what is being made these days. That being said, there's not too many buttons, and a lot of preset positions. Everything else is in the menus, you'll hafta go to the Kenwood site to get a decent setup manual. Other than that, it has a GREAT sound, if you like to 'fiddle around' with the settings it's got adjustments for the speaker size installed, listener seating position, sound reconstruction to correct for digital lag..... You could be in there for a week! I soldered the two wiring harnesses supplied together, and the install trim kit popped in like the OEM. Quick easy install, and my ol' '06 sounds like a new car!!

Pros: Sensitive receiver, lots of audio adjustments, good sound and volume. Hook it up and it sounds GREAT!

Cons: Fiddly little buttons, dismal manual supplied with radio.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Castle Rock, CO on 5/10/2020

2000 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use and sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Fort Plain, NY on 5/10/2020

1994 Geo Tracker

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does exactly what is should for the price is my son's first car. Thank you

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great quality

Sutton from New Cuyama,CA on 5/9/2020

1999 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with the product it is perfect for what I need it for thank you

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Lansing, MI on 5/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

perfect unit for my car, thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Gibsonia, PA on 5/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not the easiest controls, but otherwise good.

Pros: powerful internal amp. Bluetooth with mic

Cons: scrolling through sources is clunky. would have to read manual to set clock

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Needs Constant 12v source.

Henry from SPRINGFIELD, VA on 5/5/2020

1989 Chevrolet Cheyenne

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great.. a bit of a learning curve to get all the features to function (Keep the manual handy). BUT- Beware.. this unit **requires** a constant 12v source (memory/clock) AS WELL as the switched 12v source for it to function. It wont even turn on without a constant 12v source, even though you may have a regular powered switched 12v source. The install manual does not specify this. This unit was installed into a C/K late model GM pickup. Most late model GM's will have a constant source 12v in the radio harness.. if you install it, and it wont come on, check all your power leads.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Wheatland, WY on 5/3/2020

2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice stereo, does everything needed and simple to operate.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Radio

Crutchfield customer from Willard, NC on 5/2/2020

2007 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted a double din. But crutchfiled said my truck would not take it. After taken the old radio out I noticed it was the same size as a double din, so I am thinking it was the because they dont make a dash kit that works with double din.

Pros: Easy install Great Sound

Cons: USB charges Android, but when I connect android it says unsupported device. The time sets it self back every once in awhile

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

An affordable upgrade for the auto.

Crutchfield customer from Newburg, MO on 4/27/2020

1995 Mercedes-Benz E300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An economical way to update your vehicle with Bluetooth and hands-free calling. Phone calls are clear and easy to communicate. Really enjoying the radio.

Pros: Easy installation. Good sound control and navigation through the adjustment screens is simple.

Cons: The return, search, and station buttons are difficult to see from a distance.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

1993 Crown Vic radio replacement

Crutchfield customer from Monroe, MI on 4/10/2020

1993 Ford Crown Victoria

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound! Super easy self installation!

Pros: Amazing how easy it was to connect the old wiring to the new radio harness! The sound is amazing, even with the original 1993 Crown Vic speakers!

Cons: Nothing to report.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from El Cajon, CA on 4/6/2020

2005 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I'm very disappointed and it hasn't been installed yet. The unit was back ordered for 2 weeks and when it finally arrived, it was missing parts. The unit and manual were in the box but not wrapped or sealed in any plastic and it was missing all the hardware and the wiring harness. Now I am waiting for the missing parts to be sent and my vehicle cannot be driven unless I put the dash panel and console back together. I find it difficult to believe that those parts were left out when it was originally packaged at the factory and suspect someone had returned it without all the parts. I'm not happy about this at all and am close to shipping it back for a refund.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 8 found this helpful

Easy

Crutchfield customer from Beaumont, TX on 4/4/2020

2008 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy on the wallet, easy to install - a good combination to put in an older pickup (2008 Tundra).

Pros: Easy install, get the pre-built harness!

Cons: Not really a con, but give yourself some time for the install.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

stereo swap out

Crutchfield customer from Lompoc, CA on 4/4/2020

1998 Ford Club Wagon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

crutchfield made this swap out and instalment on my wifes van effortless everything went perfect and it looks and sounds as if i took it to a stereo shop great job to the crutchfield team i logged into fit my vehicle and ordered all that i needed to do the instal and had there team do the wire harness so it was a plug and play i will be ordering for my truck next thanks again

Pros: see my review

Cons: no cons here everything went great

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love my kenwood

ANTHONY from Clayton, NC on 3/30/2020

1990 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have always love a Kenwood system, this is everything I needed and more in my older pickup. Just love it

Pros: Bluetooth

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Golden, CO on 3/29/2020

2000 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the Kenwood and the folks at Crutchfield are superb! Support helped me a couple times and they were friendly and very willing to help. Very knowledgeable as well! I'd recommend anytime!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Defuniak Spgs, FL on 3/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

user instructions on radio functions could be better

Pros: great sound, better than original radio

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Johnson City, TN on 3/22/2020

2000 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo so far. Does everything I need. Bluetooth, aux, USB. Very affordable and easy to install. Plug and play. Great instructions included.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Instruction was not accurate

Crutchfield customer from Evansville, IN on 3/18/2020

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound Great price. Easy to install. the installation instructions stated that a very substantial metal support would have to be cut out with a hack saw in order for the unit to fit. After struggling for 30 minutes to cut out the metal I tried to put in unit without cutting out metal and the unit fit fine without removing the metal. Whats up with that instruction sheet sent with the product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Rainier, OR on 3/16/2020

1999 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Immediately improved the stock speakers insanely easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Elgin, SC on 3/4/2020

1985 Volvo 240 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like this stereo, it was easy to install. The sound is quality and has all the functions and price of a more expensive stereo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Dunkirk, MD on 3/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was an easy installation except for the fact that I had to trim the dash surround. Getting the pre-wired wiring harness is the way to go

Pros: Works great and sounds very good. Much better than the stock radio

Cons: Had to cut out a section of the cover panel to make it fit

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from New Haven, IN on 3/3/2020

2007 Mercury Grand Marquis

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Install was easy. Unit has a lot more power and bass than factory unit. Nice product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Happy driver!

Crutchfield customer from Hartford, WI on 2/23/2020

2007 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good! It's installed- looks great and sounds better. Love the phone connectivity! Makes for safe driving!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Quincy, MA on 2/22/2020

1999 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a fine looking radio; at this price point you can't really expect anything crazy but it certainly does the job. The buttons are a little bit on the smaller side but that's alright. My only gripe is that Crutchfield recommended this radio as a fit in my '99 Honda Civic, and while it does fit into the radio enclosure on my dash, the radio's plastic housing does not align flush with the enclosure, as there is a lip left where the plastic tabs cannot move past a certain point.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Wilmington, IL on 2/16/2020

1997 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great service again haven't bought a car stereo since 1991 i had to replace the stereo i got from crutchfield in 1991 it finally died so i went to crutchfield for my replacement had great service from them its the only place to get car audio the replacement radio sounds great easy to use and the install kit makes life simple it fits great no rattling when it gets warmer ill buy new speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Unit!!

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 2/13/2020

1998 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit, especially for the price. Has everything I need and want.

Pros: Value

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Fort Mohave, AZ on 2/11/2020

2002 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All good, except function identification is too small for these eyes.

Pros: Service is top notch, instructions and connectors on the mark. Love Crutchfield.

Cons: Only complaint about player, I need a magnifying glass to identify functions

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Charlottesvle, VA on 2/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Every feature you could possibly want; super easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect update for Z3

Crutchfield customer from Wellington, FL on 2/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this as a replacement for a prior Kenwood unit that was in my wife's BMW Z3. We are very pleased so far. She is able to make and receive calls as well as listen to Pandora via Bluetooth. Installation was easy with a little help from a crutchfield tech adviser.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Monroe, MI on 2/2/2020

1997 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this radio for my aging pickup truck. If fit perfectly and its performance is excellent for a radio in this price range. I am still exploring all the "bells and whistles" it has but I am very pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Grand Rapids, MI on 2/2/2020

2006 Ford Econoline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice deck. Sounds great, easy to set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Cambridge, MA on 1/30/2020

2006 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect! Exactly what I required. Order was easy and delivery was outstanding.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Hamburg, NY on 1/24/2020

2002 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I think it is a great radio for the price and the installation kit made it a breeze

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Gran producto!!!

Crutchfield customer from Coto Laurel, PR on 1/19/2020

1996 Chevrolet Lumina

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excelente producto, fácil para instalar,muy buen sonido. Lo instalé en un Chevrolet Lumina y no necesité cambiar las bocinas de fábrica, pues con este radio suenan perfectamente!!!

Pros: Muy buen producto por un excelente precio!!!

Cons: Ninguno

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Rumford, RI on 1/19/2020

2011 Nissan Frontier SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It sounds nice and has the features I was looking for (bluetooth, usb, aux, cd). Their video on wiring the bluetooth microphone made it easy to complete.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Purchase, Well Worth the Price.

Crutchfield customer from Wichita, KS on 1/17/2020

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My original radio was shot in my 94 Jeep Grand Cherokee(It has the Infinity sound group). The radio is great and hooked up easily and looks great. Functions well, easy to configure, as if a sane person designed it. The buttons feel good. The blue tooth calling has better audio then my phone does. Bought this one because it doesn't look cheap and gaudy like every other radio. Would very much recommend.

Pros: Good feeling, quality, easy to use.

Cons: None as of these two weeks.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Monee, IL on 1/12/2020

2007 Chevrolet Silverado (New Body Style

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really easy to install. Of course I use wire harness that crutchfield made up for it. Literally Plug and Play. Simple programing for phone and stations and im done. Took about 30 minutes to do.

Pros: Great sound and features.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Flagstaff, AZ on 1/10/2020

2005 Saturn VUE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the Kenwood KDC-BT278U and installed the radio/CD player for my wife. She likes it and is happy with the car stereo. Thanks for the quick shipping!

Pros: Sound quality is good.

Cons: None for now.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great

Crutchfield customer from Highland, AR on 1/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fast service great product great help great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Kill Devil Hl, NC on 1/2/2020

2001 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Minooka, IL on 12/30/2019

2006 Chrysler Town and Country

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Happy with this easy install easy to operate great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 12/30/2019

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros: Well thought-out, easy installation and setup.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very good receiver

Crutchfield customer from Bastrop, TX on 12/29/2019

1999 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great radio for the price. Installed into a 99 GMC Sierra which did not have bluetooth hands free. Very easy to install with the supplied kit, less than 30 minuters. Would recommend and buy again.

Pros: ease of installation, sound, features, looks

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Greensboro, NC on 12/24/2019

1998 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a good clean sound unit that is mostly easy to navigate. The description on the website was accurate and overall, I am satisfied with this head unit

Pros: Easy to mount Simple to navigate the menu system Eq staging, sound reconstruction, Digital time alignment

Cons: On a phone call you must end the call via the phone, other wise it's all good.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Sun City, AZ on 12/22/2019

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit works very well, but the blue lit background combines with the tiny font to make it next to impossible to read the lower buttons. Need to tape the manual to my dash until I get them memorized.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sounds good even with factory speakers!

Crutchfield customer from Matthews, NC on 12/17/2019

2007 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio is replacing the factory radio that stopped working in my 2007 Ram 1500. I like the price point this time of year as Christmas can get $$$$. Played Santa for myself. Love the Options for playing music and my old CD collection. The best thing i did was have Crutchfield pre wire so plug in was easy. Install was quick after I got the one screw out that was stripped in the dash. Going to replace speakers next after christmas bills are paid, just might have to get them for my Birthday.

Pros: Plenty of music options and BT makes radio worth the price. Like the hands free calling also. Very easy to set up, not so easy to read buttons with out my readers on. I have not gotten the EQ dialed in yet but its a work in progress. The USB on front face of unit is very easy to get to and i like the fact that i can have even more music avaliable.

Cons: Its a little hard to operate while driving if you have eye site problem.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Lawrenceville, GA on 12/16/2019

2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works good went in easy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, CO on 12/12/2019

2008 Nissan Xterra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

LOVE LOVE LOVE KENWOOD. THIS IS THE 4TH DIFFERENT UNIT I'VE OWNER OVER THE YEARS

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, MA on 11/24/2019

1999 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in a 1999 mustang. Got it mainly for the Bluetooth. Pretty easy install and nice basic features. A solid basic unit and a clean installation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Lacey, WA on 10/30/2019

2006 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lots features for a modest price! My only con to this unit is that the controls are not very intuitive to setup and adjust. Just growing pains with new equipment I suppose. Sounds clean with a massive amount of equalizer bands to play with. Plus, you cannot go wrong with Crutchfield's prewired factory compatible harness!! Truly plug and play!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT278U

Crutchfield customer from Menlo, GA on 10/27/2019

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good stereo for the money, nice options and features. And it doesn't light up bright orange or florescent green!

Pros: Good stereo for the money

Cons: Could use more details in the manual but so can most things these days, tells you basic installation and then you're on your own

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

TOP