Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood KDC-BT778HD

CD receiver

MFR # KDC-BT778HD

Kenwood KDC-BT778HD

Kenwood KDC-BT778HD

CD receiver

MFR # KDC-BT778HD

31 reviews
View this product

Great CD unit

Kenneth from Tazewell, TN on 1/18/2021

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered the Kenwood KDC-BT778HD CD Receiver and with in 2 to 3 hours it was shipped out and I got it a day before the date that Crutchfield said I would get it. I had it installed within a hour and setup. I'm telling you this Kenwood unit rocks my Ford factory speakers, I'm going to purchase some different speakers later on for some more great sound. You won't be disappointed if you buy this Kenwood unit. Crutchfield rocks on their services and their products. Thank you Crutchfield...

Pros: The Bluetooth handsfree phone works great on this unit.

Cons: No cons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT778HD

Crutchfield customer from Navarre, FL on 12/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The radio that I purchased is a very good radio, however, it is difficult for me to use because the buttons are very very small and hard for me to see in the daytime. Overall, I like the radio because it sounds very good, it is just difficult for me to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT778HD

Crutchfield customer from Euclid, OH on 12/6/2020

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this new radio the sound is top notch

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

New camper entertainment center

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Spgs, CO on 11/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We bought this HD Kenwood stereo to replace the original 1997 cassette/radio stereo in our truck camper. We love listening to NPR and HD tuning makes it easier to find community public radio stations wherever we travel. The CD player is a bonus in case someone should give us one to listen to. It was easy to install and fit perfectly into the cut out where the last stereo was mounted. The changing colors on the faceplate are fun to watch when you're listening to stories, news and interviews!

Pros: Easy to install in our truck camper, nice looking graphics with color changing faceplate, HD radio and CD player with bluetooth.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC- BT778 HD Great!

Crutchfield customer from Waldorf, MD on 11/28/2020

2002 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hello to all who maybe considering purchasing this Kenwood KDC-BT778HD receiver. This unit has a lot of nice features that I'm sure if you're like me not trying to spend a lot cash. I could go into a long detail of good features I liked, but that would take too long. Let me say this , I installed this unit into my 2002 Dodge Dakota (see photo) very easy, with the free accessories & minor speaker upgrades, I was blown away @ the sound of this Kenwood unit. I've been purchasing Kenwood units from Crutchfield for YEARS, I've always been pleased. The BT, HD radio, CD player, USB input for music playback, Spotify, Pandora, just a few, was enough for me! I would definitely recommend the purchase of wonderful unit.

Pros: HD Radio, CD Player, BT, Thumb Drive connection, very powerful, etc.

Cons: Small clock read out

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT778HD

Crutchfield customer from Everett, WA on 8/17/2020

1995 Nissan 240SX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as promised. Easy install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome Kenwood

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, VA on 8/16/2020

1993 BMW 700 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow !! I have always been a fan of Alpine products ,but I officially impressed with my new Kenwood radio purchase from Crutchdield ! Watch out Alpine because there is a new Sheriff in town !!!! This radio is just simply amazing in every way that you can inmagine Best bang for the buck Thumbs up Kenwood ????

Pros: Features sound options display graphics etc

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great basic unit. Very happy.

Crutchfield customer from Metairie, LA on 8/15/2020

2004 Toyota Matrix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this receiver to replace original factory unit in 2004 Toyota. I mainly wanted broadcast HD radio tuner for listening to local commercial-free jazz station and I absolutely love this feature. Single CD player is fine for my needs. Bluetooth MP3 connection from my phone plays surprisingly clear and crisp music and phone calls through the original cheap factory speakers. 3 items that fall short: the faceplate release button is tiny and hard to reach. The clock display on the info readout is so small I can't see it. No way to enlarge the digits for easier reading. Adjusting the equalizer settings is a bit tedious and should not be done while driving, but after getting the levels close in my driveway I really haven't made many changes. These are minor issues and I can live with it. I also bought Crutchfield pre-spliced Ready Harness. Absolutely worth the money and I strongly recommend it if you're not familiar with wiring and splicing. Just remove old unit, then plug and play. Installation was fairly simply, but be careful when handling the plastic mounting bracket. Tabs for the mounting bolts are not heavy duty. Great service from Crutchfield. Delivery to my door in 2 days. Overall I'm very pleased and would recommend this unit and the Ready Harness if you're looking for a good quality CD/MP3/HD radio unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT778HD

Crutchfield customer from Jensen, UT on 8/11/2020

2000 Chevrolet Blazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

much brighter display than previous kenwood stereos I have had

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Electronic Systems Installer

Crutchfield customer from Cameron, SC on 8/5/2020

2008 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quick selection to fit vehicle and prompt delivery!

Pros: Good value.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent unit!

Crutchfield customer from Saltillo, MS on 7/27/2020

2000 GMC Sonoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent unit! The only negative thing is the back button makes a clicking noise and makes you think it could break at any moment.

Pros: Easy operation and great sound quality

Cons: Back button makes an unusual click when pressed

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT778HD

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, VA on 7/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not bad. Just kidding I like it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT778HD

Crutchfield customer from Greensboro, NC on 7/14/2020

1994 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was mostly interested in HD radio. I'm very impressed with the quality of the unit and the extensive adjustment possibilities. Nice.

Pros: Extensive adjustments are a bit overwhelming. I went to the Kenwood site for the complete manual which was very helpful. The Crutchfield Tec people are fantastic. I had to call twice and was so impressed I also purchased a sub woofer. I know if I have any issues I can get quality Tec assistance. That's worth alot to me.

Cons: The eight pin connector that converts speakers to RCA was difficult.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

2003 F150 - Awesome Radio

Crutchfield customer from Powder Springs, GA on 7/12/2020

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced 2 DIN factory radio on 2003 F150. Great radio. Great sound. The wiring on the harness was totally different from truck, which was expected. First call to crutchfield, the guy said everything should be same color. After double checking to make sure I wasn't crazy, I called back and that person told me none of the colors would match up and sent me a guide for what each color wire went to for truck and radio. Once I paired them up, install was a breeze.

Pros: Ease of install once I got the wiring charts. Great radio. Quickly syncs to iPhone. Clarity is awesome.

Cons: Not getting good info from first person at Crutchfield.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Make sure you read the fine print

Mark from Colorado Springs, CO on 7/11/2020

2005 Mitsubishi Montero

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a older Kenwood Execelon deck and purchased the KDC-BT778HD. This was installed into a Mitsubishi Montero and Crutchfield provided all the information necessary and the install was seamless. The audio quality of the deck is great in my system. What I am finding out are the features with the deck are lack luster regarding integrations with the phone. I have a Android Pixel 2xl and I have had issues with Bluetooth keeping paired. I can supposedly use a application on my phone to control the deck and have not found one which works yet. And the Alexa functionality is just calling commands on the phone and does not control functions of the deck. I would say it is my fault not looking at the Details tab because this is spelled out in the fine print. And I would give kudos to Crutchfield because they spell it out a lot better then Kenwood. I see the support from Kenwood more than lacking and would not buy another product from them because of this.

Pros: Audio Quality Bluetooth Audio Quality

Cons: Alexa does not control deck Alexa forgets device No Remote Small buttons for station memory Cannot find proper control application Support from Kenwood is lacking and no direct contact with support.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great Value Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Leander, TX on 7/10/2020

1993 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great price for CD, BT and HD Radio. USB and 3.5mm AUX inputs as well as customizable illumination cover all the bases.

Pros: Easy install, great features for the price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT778HD

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 7/6/2020

2004 Nissan Maxima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a very good stereo. It has a lot of great features, yet the stereo itself is very inexpensive. I've been a Kenwood fan for sometime and will continue to be

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT778HD

Crutchfield customer from Tyler, TX on 7/2/2020

2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds Great! Very happy with this purchase. It took about 1.5 hours to install. User friendly controls.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT778HD

Crutchfield customer from Winnemucca, NV on 6/30/2020

2001 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio easy to operate

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT778HD

Guest from Alhambra, IL on 6/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this Kenwood BT778HD in my 89 'GMC tow rig about a month ago, replacing a 2005 Pioneer unit that was near top of the line at the time. I never was thrilled with the Pioneer unit. That's not the case with this unit. The BT works very well with my iPhone 7+, and reception is better than the Pioneer 'SuperTuner'. An inexpensive Kenwood RC406 remote works just fine. Installation was a breeze thanks to the kit Crutchfield supplied at an incredible price. Although the audio controls seemed complicated at first vs the Pioneer, once I got used to it I prefer the menus on the Kenwood over the Pioneer. I am almost 60 and still a dedicated rocker. This unit really rocks!

Pros: Excellent sound quality Excellent FM and HD radio reception Good Bluetooth

Cons: Had to buy a $15 remote

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT778HD

Crutchfield customer from El Paso, TX on 6/27/2020

2000 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice radoo. Easy to install with supplied mounting hardware in my 2000 Jeep Wrangler.

Pros: Easy to install and connect to Sirius XM receiver

Cons: No remote

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood headunit

Crutchfield customer from North Beach, MD on 6/17/2020

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought for the wife. She has not complained. The settings are a little difficult to figure out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT778HD

Crutchfield customer from St Augustine, FL on 6/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit delivers what the Kenwood name stands for.....Great Sound! I recently bought a garage stored, lovingly kept '94 Ford Ranger.....a sweet ride like this needed a way better system than the cassette player/radio and factory speakers that it came with. I put a Kenwood system in my last Ranger (a '93) and the decision to go with a similar unit was a forgone conclusion!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT778HD

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Spgs, CO on 5/31/2020

1991 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Couldn't ask for a better stereo

Pros:

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Sound Quality

Bill from Menlo Park, CA on 4/14/2020

1999 Chevrolet K Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit works excellent. Very good sound quality. Much better sound than the stock stereo. Was super easy to install in an older chevy truck. The pre-assembled wiring harness made the installation quick and simple. Looks good too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT778HD

Crutchfield customer from Magna, UT on 3/24/2020

2002 Isuzu Rodeo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the Bluetooth for satellite radio from my phone, and a great looking display, as well as top-notch sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT778HD

Crutchfield customer from Ocala, FL on 3/22/2020

2006 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound, the MP3 file / folder interface is not intuitive

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good unit; but no remote ,and app doesn't work for me.

Bob from Long Island, NY on 3/17/2020

1999 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easily installed, the Crutchfield wiring kit and Dash Kit worked perfect. Sounds just fine, it's in my full size 4x4 1999 diesel truck. Making calls through the hands free via the BT works well. Voice dialing easier (so far), than the OEM BT info system in my 2013 wrangler. Great choices for the call setting to improve the call; mic gain, echo cancel, noise cancelling... all adjustable. For my noisy 21yo diesel truck, the noise cancelling works great, wife hears me easily. On basic direct speaker phone , on any of my cell phones, she can't hear me. Used a 16g usb thumb drive out of my pile of thumb drives, filled it with music files, works great. I could not find a "list of compatible" drives. Annoying parts... -Need to DL the FULL manual. -Manual was not clear on setting up the voice dialing, I tripped over the solution. -App does not work on my Pixel3XL /Andriod 10 -No remote.. found it on the auction site that everyone uses for 15 bux, new. -Annoyed that Crutchfield didnt list it as an accessory. -For my older eyes in the full size truck, buttons are small and so is the labeling. But the different sets all do feel different. -Remote is very useful in a bouncing full size truc -Must download the FULL SIZE MANUAL from Kenwood website, and keep it on you phone till you learn the settings and get it all tweaked up. -No setting for a large view of the clock, only the date , that I found so far.

Pros: BT Paired easily. Great choices for the call setting to improve the call; mic gain, echo cancel, noise cancel. Unit sounds good. Easily use thumb drive for music files. HD Radio at this price point and single Din! Alexa built in! Voice dialing works well.

Cons: -Must download and read the full size manual. -Buttons are small and so is the labeling. -No Remote included. -The App crashes on my Android 10 / Pixel 3xl. -No setting for the display for large clock view. -Setting up Voice dialing isn't fully explained, need to have the google assistant setup, but not explained anywhere.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT778HD

Crutchfield customer from Williston Pk, NY on 12/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The product installed as advertised with help from Crutchfield personnel and is working well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great stereo, terrible to install

David from Ohio on 12/28/2019

2010 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

4 Stars is because of install, the product itself looks and sounds great in my 2010 Subaru Outback 2.5 Premium without navigation but...car stereo install 15 years ago was one wire harness, no splicing and the hardest part was taking old unit out. Now with steering wheel controls, amplifiers, Bluetooth microphones, etc it took 4 calls to Crutchfield multiple splices, a new splice (military splice), opening up the pillar to run the new mic and about 6 hours. It works and sounds great but I'm thinking it's now worth paying for install. Keep in mind on install you cannot or at least not easily use the factory mic, and you may have multiple unused harnesses, cables, or you may have splice into one wire on an otherwise unused harness. And by the way, the colors when spicing don't connect one for one! Without Logan from Crutchfield I would have been hosed! He was great and emailed numerous other resources that should have been included by Crutchfield initially! Hurrah for technology :-(

Pros: Fairly easy to use. Great inputs and really nice customization of colors and sound.

Cons: Terrible to install when have existing amp and steering wheel controls. Not a novice diy install at all! If you can pay $100 or so for install, pay it!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-BT778HD

Crutchfield customer from Huntsville, AL on 12/19/2019

2005 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It has just what I wanted and nothing more! Superb sound, and great functionality.

Pros: Sound, audio tailoring, Bluetooth, etc.

Cons: Doesn't always revert to the last used source, when restarted.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP