Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood CMOS-740HD

HD backup camera — surface-mount

MFR # CMOS-740HD

Kenwood CMOS-740HD

Kenwood CMOS-740HD

HD backup camera — surface-mount

MFR # CMOS-740HD

10 reviews
View this product

Kenwood CMOS-740HD

Andrew from Atlanta, GA on 2/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent video quality on my Kenwood DMX957XR. Unfortunately, Crutchfield wasn't able to help me find my Reverse wire and I can't get the parking guidelines to work or have it come on automatically when reversing, but that's more of a function of a DIYer.

Pros: HDR quality Compatibility with DMX957XR

Cons: Difficult to connect to Reverse for some non-experts

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-740HD

Crutchfield customer from Scottsdale, AZ on 2/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice camera and easy to install

Pros: easy to install

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-740HD

Crutchfield customer from Middleburg, FL on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Would be great if it was compatible with my 800 dollar kenwood head unit. But apparently the 800 dollar head unit cant function with the hd camera.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Check compatibility, very finnicky

Crutchfield customer from Palmetto, FL on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not compatible with my Kenwood DDX9906DX head unit I received for Christmas, check to see if it is compatible with your unit prior to purchase. Need to obtain a RMA.

Pros: HD output

Cons: Wont work with most head units

Crutchfield response on 1/7/2021
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-740HD

Crutchfield customer from Eatonton, GA on 12/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera just night vision not good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

CMOS-720HD

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 11/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent camera! The HD quality image is amazing and I'm thinking of buying another one to mount on my roof top rack for overlanding!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-740HD

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 11/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great image day or night!

BatKitty from California on 10/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was installed onto 2017 Jeep Wrangler JK with the Kenwood DNR1007XR and it looks AMAZING! Day and night the resolution is incredible with the 1280x720 resolution screen. Without wanting to mount to the spare tire carrier (going to be removing it and relocating the camera to the delete kit once installed) we used a rubberized hitch cover and mounted it there for the time being so that it would have a central location for the best usability. I'm glad we chose to spend a little extra for the great image quality!

Pros: Great image, works well at night, easy install

Cons: Limited mounting options for a Jeep

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-740HD

Crutchfield customer from FALLBROOK, CA on 9/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice backup camera, good resolution and low light visibility. Seems to be well built, was paired with the Kenwood Excelon DMX957XR radio. Wide field of view, and there are adjustable distance markers that are adjustable in the radio view screen. Slightly grainy picture, although it probably doesn't matter. Wanted to keep most of the components Kenwood from a comparability point of view. The camera power was wired into the accessory power so camera is always on when the key is in, the camera view is triggered by the radio and the radio backup trigger was tied to the backup lights wire connection under the dash. There is no tail light connection in the camera cabling at the back of the vehicle. Four stars because of cost.

Pros: Very good picture quality, good low level brightness with wide field of view, seems to be well built and nice (durable) cabling.

Cons: Cost, not quite as nice (picture quality and distance markers) as some OEM camera systems I have seen in other cars.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Beautiful HD Backup-Cam

Crutchfield customer from Carmel, IN on 7/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I paired this with the Kenwood Excelon DMX957XR. The picture quality is fantastic. Installation was difficult, but not because of anything that Kenwood could have improved. It was just challenging fishing the wire from the dash to the trunk. That will be true with any wired backup camera. The only thing to know is that the receiver doesn't default to automatically turning on the backup cam when backing up. It is an easy setting to change, but strange that it isn't the default.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

TOP