Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood Excelon DDX9907XR

DVD receiver

MFR # DDX9907XR

Kenwood Excelon DDX9907XR

Kenwood Excelon DDX9907XR

DVD receiver

MFR # DDX9907XR

53 reviews
View this product

Top quality from Kenwood

Aaron from Jacksonville, FL on 5/22/2022

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One of the few true HD screens out there, I don't know why. If you love Kenwood's control functionality, you'll love this head unit too. Bonus for the multiple camera capabilities and the quality components. I would gig the head unit only for the cluttered screen format for the radio section and small button function on the bottom row of source "buttons" on screen.

Pros: HD screen Audio control quality Multi camera and input/output capabilities

Cons: Rigid display format for some screens

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Seriously, WOW!

Michael from SEASIDE, CA on 2/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This review is based on sound quality with CD only. I just installed this have not yet spent much time tuning, but the sound quality of this unit compared to the Pioneer 2550 is amazing! The Pioneer quit working in cold weather after a month and there is not much available at this time, so I just went for it and spent the money for this unit. I will now recommend anyone looking for SQ to spend more once and save in the long run. This is not simply in my head "It costs twice as much so it sounds better" thing going on. It starts with installing the CD and there is no hiss like the Pioneer had before the track starts, and then when the music starts, seriously arm hair raises and the grin/astonishment begins. Everything is smoother, cleaner, brighter, and deeper. I will make adjustments to my DSP soon, but so far, with no other changes to my system settings, this thing sounds amazing compared to a $500 head unit. I do not regret spending the money on this will definitely purchase again.

Pros: CD sound quality compared to mid priced units is exceptional. Display/screen image is quite good.

Cons: Drive safely acknowledgment screen is lame.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Hapoy

Jacob from Wichita, KS on 2/20/2022

2012 GMC Acadia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio is amazing it does everything as advertised and still seeing it work with my own eyes just blows me away how far automotive electronics has come since my 1st car a 74 Plymouth duster with a pioneer 8 Track!

Pros:

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

2003 non bose 350z stock radio upgrade

Andrew from Astoria, NY on 2/20/2022

2003 Nissan 350Z

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Still getting used to the new head unit, but so far everything is a far better upgrade from what I had before. Not much downtime from startup and navigating through the UI fairly simple. Car play a bit trickier vs Android auto (I need car play not android auto). Overall the features and possible upgrades are huge on this head unit.

Pros: - possible features - wireless CarPlay/android auto - sleek aesthetic

Cons: - pricey - more in depth style in install guides would be appreciated (But it's a universal product so I get it).

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

For this price, has annoying design oversights

Daniel from Grand Forks, ND on 2/15/2022

2018 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This stereo is great for wireless android auto and it puts out decent sound, but it has some serious oversights for such an expensive stereo. Firstly, the USB ports are slow charge 1.5A, unacceptable for such an expensive device; Next, I like to turn my device screen off when driving at night to ease the burden on my eyes. This screen, while it has an "off" option, does not actually turn off. It SHINES BLACK, and that is veerrrry different. Even when you turn the screen "off" and turn down the backlight, it is brighter than I want for night time driving. How do you screw up a "screen off" function??? Why does it not actually turn off the screen? Next, the screen has no multitouch. No multitouch on a stereo that rivals the Galaxy S22 Ultra for price? WTH, Kenwood. Want to zoom in on Google Maps? You have to hit the tiny buttons on the far side of the screen to do so, no pinch zooming for you. These may seem like small gripes (and they would be if this were a less expensive stereo), but this thing is much more expensive-- I expect polish and quality. There is no excuse for such lack of care for features that justify the price.

Pros: Good sound, wireless android auto works well

Cons: Slow charging USB ports "Screen Off" option doesn't actually turn screen off No multitouch on Android Auto (or anywhere)

Crutchfield response on 2/16/2022
Daniel, we're sorry you're having issues with your Kenwood receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

7 of 8 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9907XR

Mark from Kearney, MO on 2/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks good in the box, this is part of a build on a 1971 VW bus, needing the unit now for fitting but will not actually be hooking up for a few more months, I hope it is a good as everything I have already read!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great replacement for my stock headunit.

Jody from Alexandria, KY on 2/7/2022

2013 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, I love the head unit. I have it connected to an Audiocontrol DSP then to two different amps. It has cleaned up my connections. Apple car play is excellent and works well. I have the two USB ports mounted to my dash to plug directly into it. I flatline the unit, and it does everything I need. The mic cord could be a little longer, but that is the only complaint so far.

Pros: Apple car play, Two USB ports, install was easy, Crutchfield always kills it!

Cons: Mic cord is a little short for my Tundra on where I wanted to route it.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

so good i ordered two of them

Andrew from Florham Park, NJ on 1/29/2022

2001 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

wireless car play is a game changer. new firmware update doesn't require VSS wire anymore and easy to bypass if you so choose to. 4 camera inputs is way more than you would need but provides flexibility with a dash cam if you decide. solid headunit, i ended up ordering two of them.

Pros: wireless car play 4 camera inputs high res screen dvd player, can play CDs if you still old school like me

Cons: price

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Wouldn't buy Kenwood again

Matt from Portland, OR on 1/5/2022

2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

System stopped working after 8 months. Called 3 different Kenwood tech support lines with no help. Need to send unit into Kenwood on my dime and they estimate it will be 2 to 3 weeks once they receive the unit. I'll be without stereo, Bluetooth to make phone calls, etc for around a month. Needless to say, will not be buying anything Kenwood in the future. Crutchfield support was awesome!

Pros: When it worked, it was good

Cons: Extremely poor Kenwood customer service.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 13 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9907XR

Crutchfield customer from Titusville, FL on 7/25/2021

2005 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent media player. Now I have to get new speakers!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9907XR

Crutchfield customer from Greenville, SC on 7/24/2021

2016 Hyundai Sonata SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing quality with every possible feature you can imagine. Perfect.

Pros: Sound quality. Every feature possible.

Cons: Lots of menus and sub-menus. However it's a necessary evil.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9907XR

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 7/13/2021

2012 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding, installation was a breeze. The sound is superior!! Technical installation support was best in industry.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

2007 Mazda MX-5 Grand Touring Miata

Crutchfield customer from Ponte Vedra, FL on 6/18/2021

2007 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product sounds and looks really good in my 2007 Mazda MX-5 Grand Touring Miata. I purchased the additional ready made harness and that made the installation a snap. Also added Sirius XM and a backup camera.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9907XR

Crutchfield customer from Auburn, CA on 6/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Many features

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9907XR

Crutchfield customer from Castle Rock, CO on 6/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bright screen even with sun shining in and very responsive when touching it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood 9907XR

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 5/30/2021

2004 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio. I don't have any of the same problems as I did with the Pioneer-W4660NEX which when into boot loop after 4 months of having. Apple car play works amazingly. It automatically connects to my iPhone. I use the CD Player to set all my levels with a Sound quality bc I use it in my show truck. Love the 5 volt output RCA's which adds extra output signal. Overall a great radio.

Pros: 5 volt output, active touch screen, Apple car play that connect. Automatically and fast

Cons: There no cons for me because I knew exactly what I was looking for.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

8 of 8 found this helpful

If you got the cash, buy this and nothing else

Ian from Waterbury Center on 5/28/2021

2001 Honda Prelude

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver is rock solid and unlike many mass produced receivers today. I have typically owned single DIN Alpine head units in the past, liked the sound quality, didn't like anything else. This is my first Kenwood and I LOVE IT! The touchscreen is crystal clear (720P HD Resolution) and not only that it has some sort of high gloss glass or plastic as a top layer that makes for a great touch or swipe experience, the system is reasonably responsive and straightforward. Sometimes you touch a icon on the screen and it doesn't quite acknowledge the input but thats ok! Just touch again with a little more of a deliberate touch and it works right away. (Something that keeps you thinking and immersed). This thing was well designed, its got a well thought out feel and interaction. It feels like your "part" of it and its "part" of your car, not an easy feat. You won't be complaining of distortion at high volumes or a lack of high quality sound, your just gonna be plain happy with this receiver. With as many features it has and expand-ability you can't go wrong with this Kenwood, if you have the money to spend or even if you have more, don't go with anything other than this. Setup: (2001 Honda Prelude) -Alpine R-Series R-A60F 4Ch Amp (100Watts RMS X4) -JL C2 Evolution 5-1/4" 2-Ways -Alpine Type-R R-S69.2 6"X9" 2-Ways -Alpine MRP-M500 500Watt Mono Amp -Kicker 08S12L54 12" L5 Subwoofer (600Watt RMS) -Samasung Galaxy S10+ (Running Napster on Android Aut

Pros: -720p HD Screen with High Quality Touch Interface -Tons of Audio Tuning Options and Settings -DVD Player & CD Player (A rare thing now adays) -Motorized Display -5V Pre-Outs -Screen Mirroring for Phones -Android Auto -Simple To Navigate Menus and Settings -Different Display Options (Including Photo Slideshow)

Cons: -Cost (I could see this going for closer to $700) -Motorized Screen Only Tilts Upward not Downward -Manufactured by Kenwood & JVC (Not a fan of JVC) -There is some lag when selecting certain icons/menus/features but it feels like its just the way the whole thing is designed to work so its manageable.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

Very happy with this.

Crutchfield customer from Corvallis, OR on 5/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Android auto seems good. Glitchy at first. Amazing sound quality on my SQ setup. Great screen. I'm happy !

Pros: 5v output, screen quality, I like the hard buttons

Cons: Bluetooth did not sync up easily at first. After a few power up cycles this changed.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9907XR

Crutchfield customer from Nashville, TN on 5/21/2021

2005 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very happy with the Head unit. It was exactly what I was hoping for when I started shopping. I put it in a little older spare emergency car I have that almost never gets used but when I do need it, I wanted it to have some of the features that a newer car would have. I had to call crutchfield a couple times during the process of picking the right unit and they were very helpful and informative. I've never installed a car stereo before so doing this myself was a little daunting but crutchfield made the process doable. I had them take care of splicing the wires for me in advance (well worth the extra money). It took me longer than it should have to install and I did need to call once to get an issue worked out but they were there to help with knowledgeable answers and the unit was working great in a reasonable amount of time. I won't hesitate to buy from Crutchfield again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9907XR

Crutchfield customer from Salt Lake City, UT on 5/20/2021

2015 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter Passenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the new radio! It is so much better than the OEM radio that came with the Sprinter. I installed the equipment myself with the help of Tech. Support and had a lot of fun doing it. I saved myself a lot of money as well. Thanks Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Old Truck now has BlueTooth!

Crutchfield customer from Claremont, NH on 5/6/2021

2008 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit in my 2008 F250. Great installation instructions and support! Thank you!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9907XR

Crutchfield customer from Joliet, IL on 5/2/2021

2007 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This model is very capable. Any modern means of audio playback and broadcast audio is easily at your fingertips. I personally like the phone sync and CD formats. With Apple Car Play I can use Maps or Waze with ease. I do a lot of highway driving so this model will be a nice improvement over OEM.

Pros: Cutting edge radio

Cons: Had to remove the trim a few times to reconfigure the wiring.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

flawless wireless android auto

Crutchfield customer from Port Orchard, WA on 5/2/2021

2016 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my 5th double din. First one with wireless Android Auto. Awesome unit!! The sound is great (multiple amp system), plus I purchased a dash cam that works with the deck too. With the addition of my wiring harness I now have access to my cars computer. This is a feature I never had. There is so much with this stereo I still am finding fun things about it. Plus the screen mirroring works awesome as well. But I tend to just use the android auto.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Crutchfield is AWESOME and so is the DDX9907XR! Well worth it!!!

Joseph from Dublin on 4/30/2021

2017 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It has been a couple of decades since I have been into car audio and Crutchfield now is still as good if not better than the Crutchfield of the catalog days! It was time to update my 2017 Tacoma's stereo and all it took was a quick online chat with a Crutchfield representative along with a few requirements and I gloriously ended up with a Kenwood Excelon DDX9907XR. I bought everything required to make it a plug-and-play installation so it will be fully integrated with my Tacoma. If it wasn't for Crutchfield's very responsive tech support - it would have taken me twice as long to install it. Boy has car stereos have changed since the late 90s early 2000s - that harness alone had so many connectors that I had no quick way to figure out which one went where. It also doesn't help the Tacoma has two connectors that look alike except one is white and one is black/grey. Thank gosh for tech support, I was able to figure out that one is for GPS and the other for satellite radio. Also with their help - they guided me on how to enable my backup camera. I am beyond satisfied with the Kenwood DDX9907XR and ecstatic with the support I received from the team at Crutchfield. The Kenwood sounds and looks great! Yes, it doesn't have navigation but I don't need it since I use Google maps anyways (Android Auto). I get annoyed with the built-in navigation, need to update it and all - end up never using it. The kids love the screen mirroring - they can stream Netflix, HBO Max, etc.

Pros: Wireless Android Auto/Carplay, satellite ready, nice touch screen, Maestro link,

Cons: No built-in navigation and might be a bit small for some folks

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Perfect upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Wagener, SC on 4/30/2021

2010 Chevrolet Silverado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the unit. Definitely can't go wrong with Kenwood. Still getting used to all the features

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

An awesome radio and worth the price.

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 4/24/2021

2016 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio is awesome! Wireless CarPlay is super helpful and convenient. The radio is quick responsive snd feature packed. It sounds really good and is an absolute joy to use! The datalink for the steering wheel controls and for the car data is really neat.

Pros: Fast, responsive, feature packed.

Cons: Expensive.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood features/quality + Crutchfield Service = Winning...again!

Crutchfield customer from Upper Darby, PA on 4/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It has been a long time since I owned an aftermarket radio due to limitations of my vehicle fitment. Recently I purchased a used car for my wife and we noticed it was missing apple car play which was pretty important to us. This receiver has that as well as a bunch of other useful features and exceeded our expectations from day one. Wireless apple car play is a game changer and works exactly as every other wireless apple tech (seamless) upon entering and turning the car on. It also allows us to use two phones and switch between them. The most important thing was that with iDatalink Maestro, I didn't lose a single OEM feature including the birdseye monitoring system while reversing. (this was tough to find information online for my car but Crutchfield called iDataLink and confirmed everything works .) The only negative comment , not really a big issue, was that Crutchfield only offered one dash kit which didn't match my interior at all. I had to purchase another one online and just kept the one Crutchfield sent since it was part of their discounted package. After over a decade gap from my last purchase from Crutchfield , the service was still tremendous and by far the biggest reason I will continue to shop for car audio (and potentially other gear) exclusively from Crutchfield. They answered my calls on the weekend and helped me with the wiring I had some doubts about and just like that, everything worked great! Thank you again, Crutchfield!

Pros: Unbeatable Crutchfield Service, Kenwood features (carplay), Retain OEM controls

Cons: Dashkit in package provided didn't match trim - had to buy elsewhere for true OEM look.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Apple car play upgrade in Travato.

Crutchfield customer from Pinehurst, NC on 4/18/2021

2019 Ram Promaster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in RAM pro master 3500 2019 ( Travato 2020). I followed the installation almost to the letter and it worked first time. After my first trip I noticed that the Apple car play GPS was off by ~ 50 yards causing the navigation to be not usable. After reading the installation guide again and internet search I moved the supplied GPS antenna to the right side 3 feet away from the iPhone and Apple car play maps, google maps and Waze worked perfectly. Very happy with the big screen upgrade for back-up including guided line following the truck direction! The sound is also 10 times better even with the original speakers.

Pros: Easy buy as all you need is already pre-selected to have easy installation. No need to pay ~$500 to $1000 for the installation. I kept all the wheel buttons and more added with the iDatalink Maestro. Perfect.

Cons: Don't be afraid by all the cables, there is enough space in the RAM to hold it.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9907XR

Crutchfield customer from Laveen, AZ on 4/17/2021

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This head deck unit has more features than I know what to do with! I love it so far.

Pros: Feature list Apple CarPlay AND Android Auto 13 Band EQ Maestro integration

Cons: It is rather expensive

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent quality

Crutchfield customer from Acworth, GA on 4/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Top of the line! What do you expect... if you want nothing but the best this is it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9907XR

Crutchfield customer from Sandy, UT on 4/13/2021

2013 Subaru Impreza WRX STi

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is just awesome! A bit pricey but worth the money!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pretty Basic

Crutchfield customer from Round Rock, TX on 4/10/2021

2019 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a decent product but for the price I was expecting way more. If you're looking to upgrade for wireless Apple/Android connection go with a cheaper option.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9907XR

Crutchfield customer from Olivehurst, CA on 4/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works wonderfully as advertised.!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Excellence

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 4/7/2021

2010 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You get what you pay for. Kenwood is a name you can trust. Everything is setup very neatly. Crutchfield makes it easy to put in with experts available if needed. It fun setting it up yourself, and you know it's done right. I've gotten all my gear from Crutchfield for the last 14 years. If you're looking for a dvd player with every option available, this is it.

Pros: All the options you will ever need. Very easy install thanks to Crutchfield. Looks factory.

Cons: I didn't do it sooner.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9907XR

Crutchfield customer from Oakland, MD on 3/31/2021

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome radio and is a major upgrade over the factory radio in the Jeep Wrangler! The factory speakers sound so much better and the bluetooth mic works 100 times better than Jeep's UCONNECT!

Pros: EVERYTHING!

Cons: NONE!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Lots to love, a few annoyances

Greg B from Atlanta, GA on 3/27/2021

2016 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I LOVE Apple CarPlay's simplicity and the 9907XR's wireless CarPlay connection is AWESOME! This Kenwood unit sounds great - the 22 watts are plenty to bring new life to my factory speakers (perhaps might upgrade speakers in a year or two). Gorgeous bright screen. The iDataLink Maestro integrates wonderfully with my factory steering wheel controls and factory backup camera. Installation seemed daunting but it all went surprisingly smoothly with Crutchfield's install instructions. But compared to Apple's intelligently simple CarPlay user interface, the Kenwood functionality is overly complex - for example, I've read the whole manual and still can't tell you how the Supreme audio mode is different than the Loudness mode or Reality mode. I chose this unit because I wasn't ready to give up a few favorite CDs and HD radio. Turns out I mostly just use Apple CarPlay and love it!

Pros: +Wireless Apple CarPlay is AWESOME +22 watts sounds great on my factory speakers +Gorgeous screen

Cons: - Kenwood user interface is overly complex

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

9 of 9 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9907XR

Crutchfield customer from Angola, NY on 3/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

New to it. Still learning. A little confusing at times. Nice radio. $$$ . We shall see. So far so good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9907XR

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 3/8/2021

2018 Freightliner Sprinter Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great stereo. Bluetooth works great w/android once I figured out how to connect. I was told my factory back up camera wouldn't work. But Crutchfield figured that out and it works great without adding a new camera. Was also able to hook up the subs and amps no problem. Sounds amazing.

Pros:

Cons: After starting the vehicle it takes a couple minutes to connect w/bluetooth.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

9 of 10 found this helpful

DDX9907XR

Crutchfield customer from Manvel, TX on 3/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent head unit. Crisp clear sound. Prefer all music on one screen so I keep main apps up instead of main menu. Android auto keeps map display up as primary. Overall great if you want HD, dvd/cd and USB in one. A little hard to wire up unless you have guide or pre-wired service. Even then, maestro is a necessity.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Worth the extra money

Crutchfield customer from Staples, MN on 1/9/2021

2007 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the Kenwood DDX9907XR.I am extremely pleased with the deck.I had done some research and Crutchfeild was 100 bucks more than some other retailers. I also purchased the idatalink maestro , GM5 harness and the metra install kit. After watching several videos detailing the amount of wiring I decided to go with Crutchfeild and pay the extra money and purchase their wiring service (25 bucks)package as well. Yes this costed me more but oh so worth it.The included support diagrams and wiring diagrams. .. priceless..I would not have received that support had I bought from competitor and saved my 100 bucks. When I got the radio It was basically plug n play. Match the plugs to the maestro control unit , the head unit run microphone lines, the gps antenna and usb and OBD connector .I was scared I would have to cut into my OBD wires however with the GM harness the OBD plug was already wired I Just had plug it in,when you need to run OBD scan tool unplug it Its that simple. I was quoted almost 1500 dollars to have a 350 dollar radio Installed including rear cam. In turn I was able to buy a 900 dollar radio pay the couple hundred for wiring harness and Crutchfeild support and do it myself. In my opinion thats a no brainer Im so happy to have the better radio. Bottom line the support from Crutchfeild is definitely worth the extra money. Thanks Crutchfeild

Pros: Crutchfeilds wiring service oh so worth the 25 bucks! Diagram Support showing instructions on what to use how to use,and what is not used! Priceless!! The vehicle support where you type in your vehicle and they show you what will fit your vehicle and which addons you will need and make it a complete package for purchase!

Cons: None I am extremely satisfied !!

Crutchfield response on

28 of 28 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9907XR

Crutchfield customer from Cadott, WI on 1/8/2021

2013 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9907XR

Crutchfield customer from Conroe, TX on 1/2/2021

2010 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great stereo .very uder friendly and vrry versital

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 7 found this helpful

Huge upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Asheboro, NC on 1/1/2021

2008 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently bought a 2008 Frontier that had an old Kenwood head unit that the previous owner had installed. I'm guessing it was 5-10 years old. It was dated, but was still a double-din unit so I didn't expect much in term of a sound quality bump. It was actually a night/day difference. This one put out much more power that the old one did, and made the stock speakers sound much better. I replaced the stock speakers anyway with some low RMS Pioneer speakers, and this head unit pushes them nicely. The install of the new head unit was straightforward and easy, thanks to the harness and bracket that I also got from Crutchfield. In terms of usability, this head unit is very easy to navigate and the addition of wireless CarPlay is fantastic. Connects very quickly to my phone when I start the truck (faster that the OEM wireless CarPlay in my wife's 2020 Nissan Rogue). The screen shows fingerprints quite easily, so I keep a little microfiber cloth in the truck and that zaps them quickly. I also hooked up a JL powered sub and this head unit has nice controls for an external sub. Overall, I'm very pleased. I got this as a "scratch and dent" so I saved a little $$$. The actual head unit was in perfect shape.

Pros: Simple interface Great sound compared to old head unit Wireless CarPlay is great Simple install

Cons: None that I can really think of.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

15 of 15 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9907XR

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 12/26/2020

2004 Nissan 350Z

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit Is the best upgrade I've done to my car. I bought it for the high resolution. This unit does not disappoint. Pair with my astell & kern SR25 and music never Sounded do good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Great upgrade to Porsche Cayenne PCM 3.0

Gamal from Santa Rosa, CA on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am extremely pleased with the purchase, The unit is amazing, with tons of advanced features and outstanding sound quality. I must admit that it took me a good couple of days of research on how to wire the double din unit in my car while maintaining the steering wheel control. Many thanks to Crutchfield, I highly recommend it.

Pros: Reliable, fast, high definition, State-of-the-art double din upgrade unit for luxury cars with the latest technology

Cons: Could be challenging for DYI installers. I highly recommend seeking support from the Crutchfield team.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

11 of 11 found this helpful

Well worth it.

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 11/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Totally recommend this headunit since it gives you so many options for setting your sound just right. It's basically an all in one stereo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9907XR

Crutchfield customer from Grandville, MI on 11/16/2020

2004 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Working flawless. Love the wireless car play.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

New system,

Crutchfield customer from Shelbyville, KY on 8/30/2020

2005 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds really awesome. Easy to install with you tube help. Cameras work awesome. Made my 05 f150 a smart truck. Hands free text and call

Pros: Nice radio w/phone navigation

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

7 of 8 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9907XR

Crutchfield customer from Stevensville, MI on 8/16/2020

2006 Nissan Xterra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this radio. It sounds great and has plenty of useful features. It is a must have for frequent drivers!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Great Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Niceville, FL on 8/10/2020

2000 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far its an excellent receiver, The ready harness made it a breeze to install. I also like that I can use a Dash Camera, Rear Camera and the side camera is pointing at my 5th wheel hitch. Bluetooth Care Play is also a +.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 14 found this helpful

KENWOOD proves its self again

Danny from Luray, VA on 8/4/2020

2018 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Coming from the bug ridden pioneer 8600next. I was hesitant on going smaller but I am very pleased with this unit. At almost 7 inches for the screen but packing an hd resolution really makes things crisp. The wireless auto and CarPlay are very smooth with no issues. I love having the ability to use my own wallpapers and color combinations. Most head units are basic on that. The built in amplifier and eq options increased the sound and punch coming from just stock speakers in my tundra. The price is high but if your looking at units in this range then you already know. The only unit I am looking forward to is the KENWOOD ddx1007xr that's supposed to come out later this year, but if it doesn't match the speaks and features of this one I will stick right here.

Pros: Hd display Wireless CarPlay and android auto DVD player built in Adjustable screen and position Deep customization Custom colors and wallpapers Widgets

Cons: Ui can be a little bit of learning to get it the way you want

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9907XR

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, TN on 7/17/2020

2008 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product! Robust features and great sound quality! Only issue I had was getting wireless android auto and GPS to work at first , but it turned out my phone just needed a software update. Ever since it has worked flawlessly

Pros: Robust options Great sound quality

Cons: for the price, I was expecting a glass touchscreen like most smart phones.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

10 of 13 found this helpful

Awesome Head Unit

Crutchfield customer from Seattle,WA on 7/9/2020

2005 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just got it installed. It's a beauty. Lots and bells and whistles. HD radio. There will be a learning curve. No knobs which is a first for me. Sound great with my factory speakers and subwoofer 2005 Ford F-150. I bought scratch and dent. Saved money and I can't tell anything is wrong with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound