Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX1057XR

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play DVD/CD discs)

MFR # DMX1057XR

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX1057XR

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX1057XR

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play DVD/CD discs)

MFR # DMX1057XR

27 reviews
View this product

Greay Radio

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 2/28/2021

2017 Nissan Titan XD

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works wonderfully in my Titan XD. Music and reception is very clear. The EQ is one of the most adjustable I have ever used.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Complicated but worth it.

Crutchfield customer from Alpharetta, GA on 2/21/2021

2012 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Started out with a Alpine iLX-F411 and could not get the phone volume loud enough or my iPhone contacts to download. I liked the screen and the features, but the volume was a deal breaker. I bought the Kenwood and installing it was fairly straight forward since I had learned the basics with the Alpine. The screen, although smaller, is actually a higher resolution and looks fantastic. The interface is more complicated, especially all the sound settings, but once you get through that, the sound quality is great. I thought I needed a volume knob, but I find I rarely use it. The volume is either on or off. The Apple CarPlay works flawlessly, both wired and wireless. The wiring harness is challenging with the Maestro RR interface, but Mike from Crutchfield was able to get me all the information I needed and I could not have done it without him. I recommend soldering all the wires instead of using mechanical connections. The connections and harnesses are a bit overwhelming at first, just take your time and use the color coded wiring diagrams to get it correct. Finding a HDMI cable that fits in the tiny recessed opening was a challenge, but another retailer had one and it works flawlessly. The Metro mounting system was a joke; the plastic mounts do not hold the radio and fortunately the metal Toyota original was a direct fit and it is locked in solid now. The only thing I used was the bezel, which works well. Great radio and am very happy I spend the extra $$ for it.

Pros: Beautiful screen Lots of audio settings to play with. Apple CarPlay works flawlessly. Once you get it all hooked up correctly, it is nice to have all features.

Cons: Complicated wiring harness interface with the Maestro RR system. Lots of unused cables and connectors. You feel like you forgot to do something...

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

100% This is the one you want!

Crutchfield customer from Goodyear, AZ on 2/9/2021

2005 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing better and bigger then a new car super easy install.

Pros: Wireless apple car play and simple installation.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood DMX1057XR

Crutchfield customer from Myrtle Beach, SC on 2/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just saying Crutchfield awesome customer service! DMX1057XR looks great in my 2019 Slingshot. Sound is Excellent!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great with Polarized Sunglasses

Crutchfield customer from Appleton, WI on 11/28/2020

2015 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have owned the DDX9906XR for over a year, which is the 6.8" version and it's by far the best head unit I've every owed. What I like the most about the DMX1057XR is just like the 9906XR, which is polarized sunglasses work with this display, no lifting my glasses to see the screen. Beautiful display, easy to read and using wireless connection to my iPhone spoils me. Great sound, makes for an excellent front sound stage in my wife's Toyota Sienna using factory speakers.

Pros: Great display, vivid colors, works with sunglasses.

Cons: It's big, sometimes it is too much light at night but I'm getting used to it.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Love it!!

Crutchfield customer from Mission Viejo, CA on 11/25/2020

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really great unit - fast boot up - install was smooth - definitely recommend!!

Pros: Screen size wireless CarPlay - fast boot - awesome screen saver mode

Cons: It's pricey but worth it

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX1057XR

Crutchfield customer from Gloucester, MA on 11/25/2020

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit with the best display of any other

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Awesome, but.

Ernest from Charlotte, NC on 11/25/2020

2012 Nissan Rogue S

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What can I say? It's a beautiful HU and it sounds fantastic! This is my second Kenwood HU. I only gave it 4 stars because I have been getting random re-boots. I have yet to notice a pattern and it's infrequent. I have gone through the wiring harness twice, re-flashed my RR, and initialized the radio. Unfortunately, I am still getting the re-boots. There isn't much info on the web about it and Kenwood's website isn't much help. At this point I am hoping that a firmware update will fix the issue. Luckily this HU has a two year warranty so if I can't get this resolved I'll see about getting it swapped. The re-boots may seem minor, but at this price point I just can't accept it...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX1057XR

Crutchfield customer from Accoville, WV on 11/17/2020

2013 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The raido is great works flawlessly very responsive and might i add looks beautiful

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Almost a flawless machine.

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 11/17/2020

2016 Toyota Yaris

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall works excellent, only problem is when I use the idatalink maestro TO1 kit to install to my 2016 Toyota Yaris, the whole system will stays on even if you removed the key from ignition, and key fob will not function because the car is still on accessory mode, I have to cut the red wire from the 3p connector from the maestro module and problem was fixed. Another problem was the HDMI input hole was too small, and I can't use a HDMI function with a monster cable HDMI cable, I believe it only compatible with the kenwood one.

Pros: Support many functions and works with the N520 dash cam.

Cons: Maestro issue, HDMI issue, dash cam not as high definition as advertised.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Excellent

Crutchfield customer from Millbrae, CA on 11/17/2020

2015 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's only been 2 weeks so far but the KENWOOD is truly amazing! Can't be happier with it and the screen resolution is crystal clear! Instaler it my self in my 2015 Toyota Tundra with a maestro kit and went flawlessly. All the functions work and the screen size is huge and still super clear! Great options for adjustments also, now I plan to ad speakers amp and sub.

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Want one in every car!

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 11/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow! What else can I say. Installed this in my Toyota Sequoia and it looks amazing and sounds great. The maestro was super easy to hook up and the sounds quality and controls are wonderful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX1057XR

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 11/13/2020

2012 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

5 stars system

Pros: Good sound and interface

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 6 found this helpful

Kenwood quality

Crutchfield customer from Saratoga Spgs, UT on 11/12/2020

2020 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got it installed finally and wow it's so nice. Need to learn how to use all the features

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX1057XR

Ron from Bronx, NY on 11/12/2020

2012 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great set.. 2nd Gen Tundra have to be fully retracted (the way it comes in the box) don't even remove the little caps in the front. This will save u at least a couple hours of installing and reinstalling. Wireless android auto and carplay is the sh#%t. Screen clarity 2nf to none. Screen mirroring was a bonus, YouTube and TV sweet. Watch 5star install video on YouTube b4 u install, some great tips. They have 3 videos + a bonus video. Watch them all. I found it easier to put everything together outside then bring the entire assembly into the car. This was a recommended by 5 star and it works.

Pros: Screen Clarity Seamless wireless

Cons: Tough to test fit without fully installing

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

11 of 11 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX1057XR

Crutchfield customer from Paulsboro, NJ on 10/31/2020

2008 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best big screen radio on the market I have had alpine Halo and pioneer module not even close easy install easy-to-use lots of features

Pros: Easy installation

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Awesome car stereo

Dalton from Fairhope, AL on 10/29/2020

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Highly recommend this screen for anyone. It has very great quality. Yes it is kind of pricy but totally worth it. Kenwood did very well and it has apple carplay and android auto.

Pros:

Cons: no cons at all

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX1057XR

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis, MO on 10/26/2020

2001 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome HD.

Pros:

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX1057XR

Crutchfield customer from Darby, PA on 10/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it it takes my system to another level

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX1057XR

Crutchfield customer from Lakewood, NJ on 10/22/2020

2015 Honda Civic SI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing ??

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX1057XR

Crutchfield customer from Tehachapi, CA on 10/21/2020

2019 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a great head unit! I was concerned about how this would fit in my 2019 5th Gen 4Runner and if it would block the vents, but it fit great considering it size and only blocks about 10% of the vents and it centered perfectly using the OEM radio mounts. It has a fantastic HD screen with almost no glare and very intuitive controls. With apple car play, I got rid of the ipad I was using for Wase and the Gaia GPS app.Using the connection to the OBD2 port, I can read my tire pressure and even read and clear fault codes (my gas cap was loose and I threw a code the day after install so no scan tool needed). It's all around just a fantastic head unit, but for me, using my truck off-road all the time, having the ability to have 4 camera inputs is a game changer. I installed the Kenwood CMOS-720HD on the front of my rig to take advantage of the HD screen and the results are stunning. Thanks to the ability of the DMX1057XR to mirror the cameras the installation was a breeze. Side cameras are next, so I can keep an eye on my rock sliders and tire placement! Overall I love this head unit. From the factory Entune unit to the DMX1057RX is a giant leap. I'm sure that beyond the fantastic sound quality, the vibrant HD touch screen and all of the tools that Kenwood has built into this head unit that it will serve me well for years to come.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

19 of 19 found this helpful

Brooklyn

JOHN from Brooklyn on 10/20/2020

2013 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the first aftermarket radio I had in a long time.... And the first I installed myself! The screen is fantastic. And the unit has no lag. I have it integrated with the maestro so I can get info from my toyota sequoia, like toms readings. If your are looking for a great radio and a super sized screen.... This is a great choice. Plus.... You get waze with Android auto!!!

Pros: Great screen

Cons: Hard to test as you need to mount the screen.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

10 of 10 found this helpful

Reno

Kendall from Reno on 10/18/2020

2012 Ford F-550

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was my first car stereo install. You're basically buying this unit for the large display and Carplay so it serves that purpose well, but for that the cost is too high and I expect pricing to drop dramatically once there are several other competitive options available. Unfortunately the native Kenwood UI is still super basic and frankly, archaic compared to Apple Carplay or other good modern phone apps. I really hope the quality/longevity of the hardware and subcomponents will justify the price. I also bought Maestro, Maestro T wiring harness, Kenwood 230 camera, Sirius SXVC300 tuner and recommended Metra mounting kit. This was my first install - recommend reading wiring instructions first and buy the Posi-connectors if you have to make connections between Maestro wiring harness and radio harness - I did :). All of this leads to a massive jumble of wires/modules that need to get stuffed into a very small space behind radio. For the high price and size of the radio, I think some of the 3rd party integration (Maestro module, Sirius tuner, etc.) should just be integrated as a software/firmware update and physical connections on the head unit to greatly simplify the complexity. The plastic Metra mounting kit recommended by Crutchfield is suspect for holding such a large, heavy unit. Noticeable, instant improvement in sound quality over OEM. Crutchfield tech support during the install was outstanding, called twice and spoke to actual experienced installers both times.

Pros: Large, high quality display Carplay Sound quality

Cons: Display sits further from dash than it should Native Kenwood user interface is basic/still 5yrs behind Cost Limited functionality / value from Maestro

Crutchfield response on

6 of 12 found this helpful

best radio ever

Jason from San Antonio, TX on 10/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The best radio I have ever bought! Buying another for my wife's car!

Pros: great screen great hi res bt audio car play ez to use interface

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX1057XR

Guest from Grand Blanc, MI on 10/10/2020

2012 Chevrolet Traverse

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had this unit for about a week upon writing this review. And I love it. I found installing into my 2012 Traverse a little different and slightly more challenging than past car stereos I've done myself over the years. But I figured it out. The sound is great and currently I still have the factory Bose sound system in my car. It's by far the best and most costly car stereo I've ever own. I give it 10 stars if I could.

Pros:

Cons: Only thing I dislike is the first screen you see when you first turn the car on that warns you about operating the radio when the car is in motion. It's a car radio. It's gonna happen. Get it off my screen.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

10 of 11 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX1057XR

Phillip from Bakersfield, CA on 10/6/2020

2015 Nissan Titan PRO-4X

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Added this unit to my vehicle today. Great product. Awesome screen and the sound is amazing!! Definitely recommend this unit if u like a bigger touch screen.

Pros: Great sound Awesome screen

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

I can finally read my maps!

Nick from Phoenix, AZ on 9/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really like having a bigger screen! Two drawbacks so far - the bezel surround is pretty wide on all sides, making the display itself quite a bit larger than it needs to be. Also, the rendering of e.g. Android Auto is still the same, meaning larger navigation boxes and bottom menu. AA could stand to shrink the rendering of those items on larger screens so you get more field of view in maps. Installation was fairly straightforward, just a few more wires than my previous Kenwood unit so I had to install a new idatalink pigtail. The display sits a bit further from the dash than I'd like. I suppose I could change the mount, but then there'd be a large gap between the dash fascia and the main unit. Other than that - great sound settings, and the UI is pretty classic Kenwood - easy to navigate and find the settings you need. Wireless AA starts up within 10s of hitting the icon, usually about 20-25s after ignition until I have AA loaded on my screen. No AA autolaunch, unfortunately. Have not tried CarPlay yet.

Pros: Large screen size, fast startup for Android Auto, nice UI, expansive sound settings

Cons: Large bezel surround, no autolaunch for Android Auto.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

10 of 10 found this helpful

TOP