Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood DMX47S

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play discs)

MFR # DMX47S

Kenwood DMX47S

Kenwood DMX47S

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play discs)

MFR # DMX47S

18 reviews
View this product

Kenwood DMX 47S

William from Warrenville, SC on 5/24/2022

2008 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with product! Wanted to upgrade from factory radio and this product met all my wants and expectations!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect!...except 1 thing

Josh from Woodbine, GA on 5/23/2022

2008 GMC Canyon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So good so far. Installed in an 08' canyon 2 days ago and with the wiring harness, made for a super simple install. Also installed the compatible kenwood reverse cam, and besides it raining on me while running the wires under the truck and not having a whole lot of maneuverability to make a quick escape and getting soaked, from opening both head unit and cam boxes to reconnecting the battery only took about an hour. Only con for me is I can't seem to get streaming apps like Netflix or Disney+ to stream on the unit. Tried the mirroring feature and it shows my phone screen and works with all other apps besides any video streaming app, screen just goes black ( I do have the kenwood app that's recommended downloaded also) . I'm still troubleshooting so if I solve the problem, will make 5 star rating.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just don't

Devin from Russellville, MO on 5/22/2022

2008 Ford Edge

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bad out of the box. Piece of junk wasted a week of my life.

Pros: None

Cons: Everything

Crutchfield response on 5/24/2022
Devin contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

If you're looking to upgrade check this one out

Alan from Southaven, MS on 5/22/2022

2013 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you're looking to upgrade your old radio check this one out. Very clean and has a very good sound ,quality and a lot of features. Backup camera options XM radio options also carplay, upgraded my wife's radio and her truck and she loves it. Has phone to radio mirroring which is cool, also loves Android auto and iphone carplay

Pros: Touch screen and sounds great very powerful blends in with dash. Has to have features everybody must need

Cons: With this radio really can't find any cons out of it. It meets all my requirements for my wife's upgrade

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

BIG improvement over Subaru Starlink Head unit

William from Stamford, CT on 5/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very Easy to use and install. The guys here at Crutchfield helped me with some wiring and I could not suggest the wiring harness prep kit more. Almost entirely plug and play and helped me understand what cables go where and which cables I needed to splice/ Posi-Tap. The actual product is good. Sound is a HUGE improvement over the stock OEM Starlink Headunit from Subaru. My 2018 STI now sounds good both inside and outside. Next thing I need is some speakers because the stock speakers cannot handle the new raw bass this machine can push out making the sound distorted if you crank it up. Apple car play is a must and This unit has both car play and Android Auto. The screen is very responsive in both normal functions and Even more so in apple car play. It is fast bright and adjust with the brightness/ dark mode using the cars sensors as well (day time lights vs full lights at night. This is one of the best things to buy if you want a BIG improvement over the stock headunit in a subaru wrx or wrx STI.

Pros: Better sound. Better screen. Better Bass. Tons of EQ options and easier manipulations. bass can be HEAVILY boosted

Cons: Without crutchfield harness assist this would be a daunting task for a normal person. you need to buy the dashkit to make it fit and fell OEM.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood DMX47S

Trevor from Tucson, AZ on 4/1/2022

2003 Acura 3.2TL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First head unit I've ever purchased, works fantastic.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood DMX47S

Robert from Mechanicsville, VA on 3/7/2022

2013 Ford F-150 STX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outlet purchase, very happy with radio and condition, didn't even look like it had been taken out of the box.

Pros: Great customer service

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Really Great Stereo & Great Service!!!!!!!!

Taylor from Waterbury, VT on 3/4/2022

2003 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I very happy with this stereo! But before I go in about how great this stereo is I am going to explain how I got to this stereo. I first started off with the BOSS BE7ACP-C Package and I had it for about 2 weeks and I promptly returned that stereo because it had a bunch of problems. I then found this Kenwood DMX47s and ordered it because it looked really nice and I watched some reviews on YouTube as it didn't have any reviews on Crutchfield yet. I really wanted the Alpine ILX-650w but it was not in stock at the time so ordered this. I am VERY happy with it! The screen is super responsive, the menu is easy to navigate through and I love how the home screen still displays your music, and the time in a large format. It connects to Apple Carplay and Bluetooth seamlessly! The sound is amazing with many ways to adjust. We installed a back up camera and it works perfectly, no delay! YAY! Installation was super easy as we already wired the back up camera wires, so it was plug in play. Overall, I am very happy! As I am writing this review the Alpine radio I really wanted is in stock and I am keeping the Kenwood because it's just that good! It makes our 2003 4Runner feel like it is 10+ years newer. If you are on the fence about which stereo to get, get this one you won't regret it. Crutchfield makes everything super easy from start to finish and they have an amazing 60 return policy so you can find the right unit.!!!! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!! THANK YOU CRUTCHFIELD FOR YOUR HELP!

Pros: Ease to use Capacitive Screen Apple Carplay Great Sound Loaded With Features Great Price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood DMX47S

William from Torrance, CA on 3/4/2022

2006 Chevrolet HHR

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice radio, works great. Add a backup camara.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood DMX47S

Lisa from Hamilton, WA on 2/27/2022

2006 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like it. Still trying to figure it out. I like being able to use my phone with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Musicmann

Jason from Williamsburg, IA on 2/20/2022

2004 Lincoln Town Car

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I'm extremely happy with this receiver exactly what I would expect from Kenwood. Crutchfield made installation easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

5 star service

Jeff from Naperville, IL on 2/19/2022

2018 Jeep Wrangler (JK)

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield made the purchase and installation easy. They provide all of the needed components and instruction sheets. Customer service was available and answered immediately for my installation questions. Very knowledgeable and helpful. Will be using them again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Glitchy

Anthony from Eugene, OR on 2/17/2022

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As far as I can tell, the best way to make it work properly for CarPlay use is to allow the unit to power on (which is very, very, very slow) plug in your iPhone and never change to a different source or unplug the iPhone. When connected in this manner, the unit works well. I would also advise against programming and connecting via Bluetooth. There appears to be confusion that develops when the phone is connected via USB and it's also listed as a Bluetooth device. I don't think I would recommend this and I know I wouldn't buy it again. However, for the price, it gets the job done. Sometimes .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 2/22/2022
Anthony, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver and CarPlay. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Dmx47s

Russell from Puyallup, WA on 2/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's an awesome deck, its everything I need and also makes the sound a lot better, Crutchfield is awesome to the shipping was unbelievably fast which was awesome I also had to call them for a question I had and Owen picked up and was very friendly, thanks again Crutchfield, 10 out of 10 would recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood DMX47S

Robert from Peoria, AZ on 2/11/2022

2019 Nissan Frontier SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound quality, works good with iPhone. Easy to navigate through.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood DMX47S

Jim from Racine, WI on 2/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this for my 2015 Ram 1500 to replace the basic stock radio so I could add a backup camera and use CarPlay. So far it seems like a great sounding unit with decent features. The ability use Apple CarPlay is really nice for using Apple Maps for navigation, or even Gaia GPS. It also has adjustable lines for the backup camera. The install was pretty easy, altho I've installed a few car stereos in the past.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood DMX47S

Dan from Calabash, NC on 2/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

From the initial call to Crutchfield, to the final installation, the entire experience was flawless. All of the harnesses, wiring instructions and mounting hardware fit my 2003 Mustang GT with Mach 1000 stereo perfectly. The Kenwood DMX47S so far has met all of my expectations. There are so many fine tuning abilities with this system, which allows personalized listening for all types of music. For the price of the unit, I am very pleased overall.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood DMX47S

Crutchfield customer from Riverview, FL on 2/5/2022

2019 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio is pretty straightforward, it's thin enough to fit in many tight spaces. The features are to be expected for an entry unit. It sits flush on a 2019 WRX on the 3rd hole from the closest to the driver. Biggest downside is that the screens look outdated. All the pictures and icons look like it's from the 90s.

Pros: Features Audio levels Rms watts

Cons: No remote The interface looks like it's from the 90s. Great screen, why not use it?

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound