Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # DMX907S

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # DMX907S

33 reviews
View this product

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 10/22/2020

2009 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is great, love CarPlay! I have had a few issues with the stereo losing power and restarting. The am/fm/HD radio is not working optimally either. Both of these issues could be installation errors on my part. Instructions could have been more helpful for a novice. Outstanding support from crutchfield over the phone when I needed some support.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Unit

Crutchfield customer from Saint Joseph, MI on 10/21/2020

2009 Audi A3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit. Extremely satisfied. Super easy installation with Crutchfield's wiring guide.

Pros: One of the less expensive options with wireless CarPlay. Touch screen is very high quality and responsive. Wireless CarPlay connects fast and runs very smoothly. Great sound improvement over my stock Audi head unit. Tons of audio customization, almost too much to keep track of.

Cons: The stock home screen and widgets don't look very good, but that's just my opinion and if you use CarPlay you'll never see it. Had to do a lot of audio customization to get it to sound right in my car.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best car stereo I've ever owned

Crutchfield customer from Oxford, NY on 10/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plugged it in and everything runs flawlessly. Looks great in the dash, Android Auto wireless is awesome. So many toys are gadgets.

Pros: Everything works great, instructions from Crutchfield were perfect

Cons: Order the pre done harness. Soldering takes a while.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Driggs, ID on 10/18/2020

2012 Subaru Impreza WRX STi

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this unit. The sound quality is great. Only down fall of any touch screen is the glare.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent unit.

Braydon from Rochester, NY on 10/15/2020

2013 Toyota Prius C

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really an excellent unit. Looks great, and performs really well. Wireless Android auto, and screen mirroring are truly features to beat. Definitely sure i made the right call.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Rotonda West, FL on 10/15/2020

2015 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well, a real step up from my factory system.

Pros: Much better sound.

Cons: Still trying to get my steering wheel controls to work with new sound system.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Henrico, VA on 10/12/2020

2006 Honda Ridgeline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems to be and do everything I expected

Pros: Seems to be and do everything I expected

Cons: The only thing that bugs me (still not sure if there is a way around it yet) is that when I channel up/down my HD Radio from my steering wheel buttons, it goes through my presets instead of tuning...which is fine. But when I do it with my SiriusXM, it changes the tuning/individual channels and does not go through my presets...so its backwards from the HD Radio.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Ludowici, GA on 10/12/2020

2005 Nissan 350Z

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You get everything you need in one piece. Love this radio.

Pros: Easy access and safety to drive.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Happy customer

Crutchfield customer from Burbank, CA on 10/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield is recommended to everyone

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Reseda, CA on 10/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

sounds great with all the current features, screen is sharp and clear

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Menifee, CA on 10/8/2020

2008 Acura 3.2TL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My car is 12 years old so upgrading to this unit is a huge step up. Apple car play is the best and the audio sound clean and crisp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exactly what I wanted

Crutchfield customer from Floyds Knobs, IN on 10/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I wanted. I needed Wireless Apple Car Play, Hands Free for my phone, and Backup Camera capabilities. This unit delivers. I'm powering aftermarket 6.5 component speakers with the head unit and coupled it with a small amp/sub combo. Sounds great. I was concerned that I would need an aftermarket amp for the components but the HU puts out enough without distortion to sound fine. It has a nice variety of EQ and Crossover settings, too.

Pros: Good price, Wireless apple Car Play

Cons: Screen controls are a little dated, but none of that matters if you spend all your time with Apple Car Play because then it looks like... Apple.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worth it.

Crutchfield customer from Arnold, MD on 10/3/2020

2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great stereo. Every feature works as expected I took one star off because it's not the most intuitive UI but it's easily to figure out and easily to get used to. Wireless Android Auto and Apple Car Play are worth the extra.

Pros: Great sound Wireless Android Auto Keeps infotainment features

Cons: UI could be simplified

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 9/29/2020

2004 Chevrolet SSR

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

athese 3 items function perfectly in my 2004 Chevy SSR.

Pros: Perfect functionality, all steering wheel interface included.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 9/29/2020

2002 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Pros: Sound quality is great. Wireless AirPlay is awesome and connects reliably. Touchscreen sensitivity is good. Screen size is awesome. The Cons: Wireless Android Auto doesn't work with Pixel 2. Screen contrast is unsatisfactory and legibility suffers at steep viewing angles. Reflectivity of screen worsens visibility in sunlight. UI is a jumbled mess.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best Upgrade I Have Made to my Vehicle

Crutchfield customer from Puyallup, WA on 9/28/2020

2007 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Feature rich receiver. The flexibility of control is amazing and I'm still finding things that it does that I had no idea it was capable of doing. The display is responsive. I was able to incorporate the steering wheel controls on my 2007 Toyota Tacoma with this receiver. The link to my Samsung Galaxy S10 works flawlessly, connects automatically whenever I get into the vehicle, and the compliments on my audio via speakerphone tell me that works well too. Most don't realize I'm on a speakerphone. The ability to display vehicle information is a plus that I wasn't expecting, things like tire pressure and temperature of each tire, MPG, speed, etc. It's a fun receiver to have and I'm so glad I bought it.

Pros: -Feature rich -Integrates with steering wheel controls -Sensitive FM receiver -HD Radio automatically selected when station broadcasts HD content -EQ is adequate to tailor audio -Vehicle information is a nice plus -Connects with phone easily

Cons: -Several spare connectors after installation completed, made me nervous I was missing something -Tight fit in dash after harness was all connected -Took me 9 hours to install, but worth it! -Still not sure how to make GPS work

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 9/28/2020

2012 Ford F-250

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit, love the apple wireless carplay. Little small in the Dash of my F250, but overall great product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2010 Ford Explorer Sport trac Adrenalin

Crutchfield customer from Warsaw, IN on 9/27/2020

2010 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good upgrade for my Pickup Truck!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Birmingham, AL on 8/14/2020

2001 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've very happy with the unit and would give it five stars, but the overall experience doesn't rate five stars. Installed in a 2001 Ford F-150. Crutchfield had disclosed that some permanent modification to the dash would need to be made, so I knew that going in. But the instructions did not cover all the cutting that had to be done. With proper instructions and the right tools (a Dremel with a flexible shaft and metal cutting blades) it would not have been bad. But not even YouTube had good instructions. Also on the negative side, the description indicated that wireless mirroring was a feature. Not only can I not get it to work, wired mirroring usually will not work. However, I've decided that I don't need it anyway since my iPad has a better screen. The good: it's a very good radio. The HD radio is great and I can get more channels than with the factory unit. Wireless Car Play is great. Playing music from a USB thumb drive works great. I haven't found a shuffle function yet for it and that would be helpful while driving. I was able to convert an old iPhone 5s into an iPod and the unit recognizes it as an iPod, so that's cool. I connected two rear cameras, one for backing and connecting to a trailer and one higher, on the camper shell, for backing a trailer. The cameras connected with plug-and-play ease and work great except I had to name the second one a side view camera since the choices are limited to back, front, or side, and only one can be back. I'm happy with it.

Pros: HD Radio, Wireless Carplay, Multiple cameras, USB Thumb Drive, iPod USB connection, conductive touchscreen, sounds good with 20 yr old factory speakers.

Cons: Terrible installation instructions for my specific vehicle, no wireless mirroring, very spotty wired mirroring, no shuffle mode on USB thumb drive.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Love wireless airplay

Crutchfield customer from Salisbury, NC on 8/3/2020

2006 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great receiver with excellent Airplay (wired & wireless)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Addition to my Jeep Wrangler

MS from Chicago, IL on 8/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced the standard radio in my 2017 Jeep Wrangler JKU w/ Alpine system. Sound is so much better with the Kenwood. Purchased with Sirius, upgraded idatalink kit and Crutchfield Ready Harness, which I highly recommend. Also added a backup camera. Crutchfield staff were very great with the few questions I had and very responsive...can't say enough good things about the company. Installation, with harness and instructions, was surprisingly simple with the exception below. Even with the idatalink module and Sirius tuner, I was able to get all the wires and parts stashed behind the radio. It is a lot to get in the dash though. Interface is easy to get acquainted with. I have no issues with the screen and it is very responsive to the touch. The only trouble I encountered installing the radio was with the Metra 95-6511 Dash Kit Crutchfield includes. The ends are screwed on which makes it bow outward from the radio, creating a gap. I also tired many different locations to secure the kit to the radio but none of the locations allowed the radio to sit forward enough to close the gap at the bottom of the radio and the dash or the sides of the kit and dash. I did a lot of research and ended up purchasing the old...now new...Metra 95-6511-17 Kit. It is definitely a lot sturdier as it comes as one piece. Also, with four simple cuts, the kit allows the radio to sit forward enough to eliminate the gap on all sides. Looks great. Highly recommend the radio...wireless carplay is worth it!

Pros: Apple wireless Carplay works flawlessly. Sound Touch screen

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Awesome Stereo

Crutchfield customer from Glendale, AZ on 7/29/2020

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very powerful and complex stereo. It has many screens and features. I have a front and rear camera. The stereo looks and sounds great. You have to work with the manual and work through the features and settings. Once you do the stereo will be customized exactly the way you want. I love having a big compass and tire pressure on the first screen. The only bummer is there are only a few phones that work with wireless Android Auto and my phone is not one of them.

Pros: Feature rich

Cons: Only a few phones work with Android Auto

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Wailuku, HI on 7/19/2020

2012 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not to bad. It is a good deck o my downfall it doesn't mirror iphone

Pros:

Cons: No mirror iphone

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

great sound

Crutchfield customer from Collegeville, PA on 7/16/2020

2011 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Kenwood was purchased to replace a 4 year old Pioneer AVH4100NEX which lost it's AM/FM and then Bluetooth after a firmware upgrade. Way to go Pioneer! So far the sound is superior to the Pioneer. Something I wasn't expecting. I'm still learning the system so don't want to say anything negative. One of the things I'm disappointed in is I have all of my music on SD cards for my two vehicles. So when shopping for a replacement head unit I used the Crutchfield filter tool to narrow down the results fo SD card compatibility. However this unit doesn't have a slot that I could see or read in the manual. I had to use a SD to usb adapter and it hangs from the cable extension routed under the dash. Also when in USB mode it looks like you can only scroll thru the current folder and not back to root directory. It may be that I'm not understanding how to get there so reading the manual is essential. Otherwise I would give it 5 stars if it had a native sd slot. - Steve

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Avondale, AZ on 6/8/2020

2015 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome stereo and love the HD radio! I would've thought the stereo would've been a little thinner it being a media player but it still a little bulky. The MIC works great for incoming and outgoing calls and doesn't sound like your speaking from a distance. The sound to the factory speakers has more depth and more clarity.

Pros: The screen is awesome and the extra features give this stereo many options to play with. The ability to blackout the screen is nice to have and also the scenic screen savers are great.

Cons: All the camera output cables which are permanently connected to the stereo. Would be nice to have removable camera outputs in cases where camera's aren't used.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Beautiful Work of Art

Crutchfield customer from Hermosa Beach, CA on 6/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I Love the DMX907S It sounds GREAT, Has a ton of features and is BEAUTIFUL to look at in my car. The only reason for giving it only 4 stars is that it is a complex unit to learn how to use. Your going to have to spend some time with it to learn how to use all of its features. Directions not as helpful as you might hope and there is not much available yet on the internet to get help. But Hey, Did you want something simple or something state of the art? Easy Choice!

Pros: Sound Quality Features Touch Screen Beautiful Unit

Cons: Takes a little time to learn

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Disappointing - could have been so much more

Matthew from Lookout Mtn, TN on 6/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have 3 other vehicles with Kenwood receivers and by far this is my least favorite. Install is pretty straightforward (definitely use their ReadyHarness service) but this model is missing some very key features that I've found frustrating. Earlier this year I purchased 2 Kenwood 906S models (just below this one) and have been very happy - the Apple Carplay works flawlessly, which was my primary reason for the purchase. But the ability to control screen brightness / contrast is very poor with the 907 and looks washed out, no matter how many adjustments I made. Color is much better / crisper with the earlier 906 model. Second, the user interface of all Kenwood devices were apparently designed by engineers and not users. To live in 2020 - in a world of beautiful interfaces (Andriod, iOS, Windows, MacOS, etc. etc.) - Kenwood's 1990's interface isn't intuitive, unnecessarily text based, and takes several finger strokes to do what could potentially be accomplished in one. Third, Kenwood offers so many models of what seems like the exact same device it's hard to tell what exactly you're getting. I needed a receiver that had the ability to tilt the display - I thought (assumed, perhaps) this one did but apparently only available in the highest end model. Overall, disappointed but it's the best way to get Apple Carplay.

Pros: Wireless Apple Carplay works flawlessly

Cons: Interface designed by engineers, not users

Crutchfield response on

9 of 12 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Brandon from Schenectady, NY on 6/2/2020

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome radio. Replaced a factory entune radio in my Toyota tacoma and the sound improvement is incredible. Wireless carplay is amazing. Crutchfield provides everything needed to do install. I haven't been able to get wired screen mirror to work on my iphone. Saw another user was having problems with this as well. I will have to call customer support for kenwood to see if they can help. Other than that small issue i have no complaints and am loving this unit!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent stereo!

Crutchfield customer from Saucier, MS on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Head unit is awesome. Huge upgrade from my factory stereo. Have not been able to get the USB mirroring to work and that led to the 4 stars instead of 5. Crutchfield was amazing. Customer support is second to none and they were there to help through the entire installation. I did the entire install myself and my expertise is very limited. Kudos to Crutchfields ability to help the novice complete a successful install.

Pros: Crutchfield makes installation easier with ready made harness and providing advice on what is needed for a successful install. Radio interface is very user friendly, capacitive screen is awesome, wireless Apple car play excellent, and radio features are very nice

Cons: A few minor features are currently not working on the head unit, but they aren't game changers.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great replacement head unit with wireless carplay

Crutchfield customer from Stewartstown, PA on 5/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in a 2015 Subaru Outback. Installation was easy with the instructions provided. Installed with the Maestro and the buttons on the steering wheel work. The sound is so much better than the OEM radio and stock speakers (No Harmon Kardon). Lots of audio settings available to optimize the sound. The touchscreen works well and as others have mentioned is a fingerprint magnet. Chose this model over others for the wireless carplay option. Glad I did.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Mahalo Crutchfield

Crutchfield customer from Murrieta, CA on 5/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wasn't going to change my deck, but I spoke to numerous Crutchfield representatives and did a lot of research to make sure this is going to be a "one time" install. I am very pleased with this choice and because of the support and information that I was able to gather online and through Cruthfield support, my wife and I are pleased with the features and the sound quality. I did a full system upgrade on my 2017 Tundra Platinum. Total Gut Job and glad I did it using this Deck!!!

Pros: Easy to install with the total accessory kit that was needed/recommended!!!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great Head Unit.

Crutchfield customer from Rincon, GA on 5/24/2020

2012 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent radio. Only problem I encountered was that it doesn't have a setting to flip the image from the front camera, what you saw on the left was on the right and vice versa. So if thinking about installing an aftermarket front camera make sure the image can be flipped from the camera itself.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Regina

Mike from Regina on 4/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great deck and happy I went to the wireless unit. Works with my Galaxy S8 Android Auto. The sound quality is beyond belief. I installed it on my 2006 Toyota Highlander with a rear camera and replaced the cigarette lighter with a USB port. Now I'm loving this SUV all over. Again. Mike from Canada

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 8 found this helpful

TOP