Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
159 131 831 4
Connect ID #
159 131 831 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # DMX907S

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # DMX907S

98 reviews
View this product

Good with carplay but otherwise meh

Al from Medford, OR on 11/8/2022

2014 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed in 2014 F250 I have an Excelon that came in my older F250 that came with the truck and so I opted to get another one for this F250. I love that Carplay works so well. I also installed the with a Maestro RR to retain factory controls. Issues: - The dimmer on the unit (and my other Excelon) don't really work, so its hard to adjust the brightness during night time (too bright) and during sunlight (too dark). - Can't adjust the parking lines for the rear camera (I think this is a function of the ebrake wiring and me not wanting to cut into the factory wire harness) - This unit does not tilt up or down like my other Excelon. Overall, I love the carplay and that's what I got it for, but not really worth the premium price tag.

Pros: Carplay

Cons: Dimming No tilt adjustability

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Michael from Highland, IN on 9/29/2022

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Extraordinary glitchy. Back up cam comes on when not in reverse. Will attempt to exchange.

Pros: Air Play on iPhone works well.

Cons: USB mirroring does not work with latest iOS.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good, but needs some workarounds for older vehicles.

B from La Crosse, WI on 8/8/2022

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far, 3 days, it does everything it says it will do and more. But as installed in an older vehicle, 2010 Tacoma in my situation, a couple things to be aware of. The unit is mech-less but still pretty deep. There is a fair amount of additional wiring over a stock head unit. Fitting everything in was a real struggle. Older vehicle so it is not plug and play to the factory camera or the e-brake switch. Camera situation was expected so I added as second one which is a nice option because now I have two. The factory one which is directed at the hitch and a second that works better for backing and parking. Also added a front mount as well which is handy. The e-brake situation is irritating because the harness says it will work but it doesn't. There is no separate wire on the head unit to connect to. If I want to fix it I'll have to pull the head unit and cut into the harness. It's not a deal breaker for me since I don't use the DVD functions. However, Kenwood disables the ability to adjust the parking lines without it. I understand preventing the watching of DVDs while driving. But disabling a one time set up thing like parking lines? In any case, if you have an older vehicle, plan for a few things to not be plug and play.

Pros: Does everything it says it will and more. So many features it's difficult to figure out what to do with them all.

Cons: Cannot perform some basic set up functions without an e-brake connection. Don't know this until the installation is complete.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great, but..

David from Oak Ridge, TN on 7/31/2022

2014 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product. The only downside is that the SirusXM interface does not allow you to skip (via seek) through the current band of presets. The HD radio allows for that! Thanks to tech support for working through other options. Come on Kenwood! It's a simple software modification. The Apple Car Play is great. Easy install and intuitive interface.

Pros:

Cons: No Seek Mode options in SiriusXM apps.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great head unit

Joshua from Ellwood City, PA on 7/26/2022

2012 Honda Crosstour

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing head unit so far, I added it to my 2012 Crosstour with a factory amplified system and the increase in sound quality is astonishing! Lots of adjustability from background, to viewing angle, and limitless audio tuning capabilities. Worth it if sound quality is important to you! Wireless Android Auto works flawlessly with my s22 Ultra.

Pros: Sound quality, wireless Android Auto, tons of features

Cons: Nothing yet! Price point is high but you get what you pay for.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Horrible display makes this useless

Lee from New Jersey on 7/25/2022

1999 Lexus LX470

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I installed this on a Sunday (ironically). I drove my car the next day, which happened to be overcast--the display wasn't great (Waze via Android Auto), but it was viewable. On Tuesday, it was sunny and the display was completely washed out--like looking at a grey mirror. I adjusted all the display settings to no avail. Even the backup camera was useless as I couldn't see anything on the screen. By Friday, I had had enough and opted for a receiver with a better display. Luckily, Crutchfield customer service is awesome and I didn't end up with an expensive paperweight.

Pros: Easy wiring; Customization options; Android auto wireless; Crutchfield customer service

Cons: Can't see the display if the sun is out!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

4.5/5 Almost perfect.

Roshan from St Thomas, VI on 7/25/2022

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My only other experience with an Android Auto receiver was with the Boss BE950WCPA, so I'll be using that as a comparison. Build Quality: The build quality is good, and the screen looks great, even though it's not HD. The buttons in the product image are misleading as they aren't flush and stick out like a bumper. However, the buttons feel solid and responsive. Sound: I thought moving from my factory unit to the Boss was awesome but replacing the Boss with this was a significant improvement in quality with smoother bass. The sound settings feel limitless. With the number of sound effect enhancements available, I didn't even have to touch the EQ and it sounds excellent. Interface: It's not as minimal and clean as I would like. It can feel dated, especially the icon style, but you can configure the screen and widgets to your liking. There doesn't seem to be an option, like the Boss, to disable the startup disclaimer. Android Auto/Wireless Screen Mirroring: This is one area that initially frustrated me. Android Auto worked flawlessly on my Boss unit but now it sometimes wouldn't connect and then it would randomly disconnect. After doing some digging, I found solutions. When parked outside my home I'm usually still connected to home Wi-Fi and that was one issue. To fix the random disconnects I had to disable any battery optimization for Android Auto in settings. Wi-Fi Screen Mirroring works great with Samsung phones using "smart view" with full app c

Pros: Sound quality Feature packed, lots of sound settings Fast responsive display Wireless Android Auto / Carplay / Screen Mirroring

Cons: Wireless Android Auto can be spotty out of the box. Can't disable startup disclaimer.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Ryan from Lynn Haven, FL on 7/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent upgrade from the Kenwood double din receiver that was in the truck from the previous owner. With Apple Car Play it opens up endless possibilities from my iPhone.Very exiting addition to my system, crystal clear signal to the amps.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Andy from St Paul, MN on 7/22/2022

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just popped this in my '03 Silverado SS yesterday and I'm loving it so far! I've had many many aftermarket head units over the years and never bought one new in box. Worth the money in my opinion. Screen looks great, plenty of tuning options and looks very slick. Wireless Android auto and phone mirroring is very cool. My only (small) complaint is that when you hold the volume up button , it stops at 15 and you have to mash the button to crank it up (this may be a setting I haven't found yet). I've always thought HD radio is underrated. Sounds awesome. This unit may also push me to upgrade to a paid Spotify account as all my old CD's are obsolete. Crutchfield says this is a modified fit (back dash supports need to be cut) but I was able to get it in. It's sort of a tight fit but it went in all the way. If you're looking for a nice double DIN for under a grand I'd recommend this!

Pros: Everything.

Cons: Nothing. I knew what to expect and it delivered.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Chase from Waynesville, NC on 7/12/2022

2020 Jeep Renegade

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

richard from Douglasville, GA on 7/7/2022

2006 Honda Ridgeline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Mirroring it hard on iPhone other than that great unit awesome sound

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Compilations occur when trying to mirror iOS

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Powerful KENWOOD DMX907s

JUAN JOSE PEREI from SAN JUAN, PR on 7/6/2022

2020 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I installed the KENWOOD DMX 907 radio in my 2020 Tacoma following the steps sent by the Crutchfield technicians and the diagram of the radio and that of Maestro RR and everything works 100% well, the sound is powerful the screen is super clear. I only recommend that Crutchfield send a recommendation to set the EQ because there are so many options that radios have that the person can get frustrated. I searched YouTube for a recommendation and I am super happy and if I recommend 100% KENWOOD

Pros: Great sounds, easy to use, powerful sound

Cons: NO

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Tom from Sun City West, AZ on 6/26/2022

2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound is incredible and the features are amazing. Love this!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Overall a very good replacement for OEM

Lewis from Charlotte, NC on 6/8/2022

2007 Porsche 911

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed in an O7 911 with Bose amp/speakers. User interface is easy. Sound quality very good compared to OEM. EQ options are great. You can have different volume settings for various inputs so you don't get blasted when changing sources. Apple CarPlay wireless is a breeze. My only complaint, and it's probably my set-up, is the radio antenna signal is weak. I don't think that's a Kenwood issue. I've read the complaints about glare. I have a Targa (glass) roof, and was concerned about that. It's not bad. And the lighting and contrast is adjustable enough to compensate. I love that it comes with all the right USB wires so I don't need to purchase longer ones. Overall very happy with the product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Highly Recommended!

Thomas from Exton, PA on 6/1/2022

2015 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a fantastic upgrade to my stock 2015 RAV4 radio. I love thre wireless Apple CarPlay, it's so easy to use. I also enjoy the built-in HD tuner, radio stations sound loud and clear. Highly recommended!

Pros: Very easy to use. Great screen. Wireless CarPlay.

Cons: Screen is a fingerprint magnet (but I think they all are).

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

David from Oak Ridge, TN on 6/1/2022

2010 Honda Odyssey

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have the DMX7706 in my other vehicle. Wanted the HD and wireless carplay for this one. Using the internal amp (don't have an external) I'm surprised by how good it sounds. I would guess most people that pick up the Excelon series are going with external amps. Features are great. Looks great. Sounds fantastic.

Pros: Sounds great. Looks great. Has all the features and more that I'm looking for.

Cons: $$$

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Sound - Questionable Software

David from Durango, CO on 4/14/2022

2015 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Apple Car Play works okay with this, but the Kenwood has a pretty irritating software design. Car Play takes over from the HD radio when the receiver starts up. Car Play also takes over from the HD radio whenever a news feed is clicked in Safari. In fact, Car Play takes over from the HD radio in pretty much every situation except when the Car Play button is selected. In that case, when Car Play is selected manually, the radio continues to play. Sketchy. Also, with all of these amazing customizable audio controls, you'd think Kenwood could include an initial volume level option so the receiver would begin at a lower volume if a person forgets to turn it down before turning off the vehicle. Great sound - Questionable software.

Pros: Sound

Cons: Software

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2007 Avalon install

Robert from Richardson, TX on 2/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Apple carplay works well. Carplay is the way we use maps. The sound is great. Installed in 2007 Toyota Avalon. Backup camera works great. Better music album access than my E350 Ford Sync system. Works well from the start. We did not want a DVD player but we did want maps that are constantly updated. The features in this DMX907S were perfect. We use iphone carplay and Google maps. We also use a USB drive for all our music. The right set of features for us.

Pros: Best set of features for what people use today.

Cons: The screen is clear but can be difficult to read in bright light.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Wireless Carplay is Awesome

Jeff from Scituate, MA on 2/11/2022

2013 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very easy install. Wireless Carplay is super nice. The audio settings can turn any car into a great sounding car. The screen isn't HD, but since I'm not planning to watch DVDs on it, I stopped noticing quickly.

Pros: Wireless Carplay, audio settings. It's a great radio for 2022.

Cons: Low-res screen, confusing menus. It's a pretty medicore screen for 2022.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great multimedia head unit.

Robert from Lebanon, IN on 2/8/2022

2002 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

First time owning a Kenwood after being a long Alpine user. I like it a lot. I like the 5 volt pre-outs even though all the alpines I got were always 4 volts which still isn't bad but I just like some of the features how you can turn the crossovers totally off and they don't allow that on alpines. And I really like the tilt action Hit it one time and it's pointing perfectly up at me. I put anti-glare screen protector from a company called tuff protectors off eBay and they specialize in screen protectors for touch screen radios. So they are guaranteed to fit because they are cut to each model size and not just one size fits all scenario so if anybody's like me and OCD on that stuff I do the same with my phone. That way when I either go to sell it or trade it in the screen is perfect and that really helps the resale value. Definitely like this unit The only thing I don't like is I've watched a bunch of videos on it and I guess when it was released like a year ago it was a lot cheaper but now I'm guessing do to the chip shortage they are this price. But yes I would definitely recommend this. Can't believe I've used Alpine nearly my whole life except for one Sony and one pioneer but the rest of all been Alpine. I also think it's crazy how you been at up to four cameras. Most I've seen is two being able to be added.

Pros: Seems like you have more control over certain items. Love the tilt feature, love the 5 volt pre-ops.

Cons: Could be a little brighter.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Royal palm beach

Jeffery from Royal palm beach on 1/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I like the unit but the down side is that my installer says I have to get a aftermarket camera because the couldnt be tied into my stock camera in my f250. I m upset because it says on the box that it should be able to be tied into my sync feature in my truck. I contacted support and have received any help.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/25/2022
Jeffrey, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver and stock backup cam. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team for help, or for information about the 2-year Kenwood warranty on this receiver. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 1/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great radio, love the futures

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sounds Great But Needs Improvement

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 9/27/2021

2017 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this radio for the features and Kenwood's reputation for sound quality. The sound quality is as expected and I'm happy about that. It connects to my iPhone wirelessly rather quickly and it's great to have maps and messages so easily available. However, it also is a huge drain on my iPhone battery. I could plug the phone into the USB in the glove box but that's not convenient and the phone gets hot so it might not be good for the phone. The RAV4 USB port is connected but can't be used for CarPlay due to the adapter. It will charge the iPhone. I'm using a USB flash drive which is nice but the features could be improved as search functions are difficult while driving. I can't make it work with my iPad but it will work with an iPhone if you still have one of those. The worst part is how washed out the screen gets. It's impossible to see sometimes. Prepare to buy an anti-glare shield as the factory adjustment is not enough. I did get some daytime improvement by setting it so it did not dim with the headlights. Still, the backup camera is way too washed out. Also, it randomly goes back to demo mode which is fun while driving. It's an improvement over the factory radio in my 2017 RAV4 but it's really expensive for something I don't love.

Pros: Good sound Wireless CarPlay

Cons: Screen is impossible to see in daylight Randomly plays demo video Flash drive search is cumbersome

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 5 found this helpful

Sounds great, wireless Android Auto is terrible.

Russ from Phoenix on 9/9/2021

2004 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This receiver is an excellent choice EXCEPT for the wireless Android Auto which barely works. I get a connection but I lose the connection within a few minutes and then I have to restart the whole thing - difficult while driving. All of the other features are fantastic and it sounds great, but I paid a premium price for wireless Android Auto and I didn't get it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Fun, Impressive, & Loaded Head Unit

John from STRUTHERS, OH on 7/16/2021

2001 Pontiac Firebird

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I chose to completely overhaul my '01 Trans Am's sound system during the past winter - and the DMX907s was my first purchase in the process. I've been out of the mobile audio scene for over 15 yrs, so you can imagine how overwhelming/surprising it was to dive back in & see how far the technology has come. I settled on the 907s mainly because my research led me to Kenwood's Excelon line of HU's premium components & vast features. I mainly listen to high resolution music, so USB compatibility was a must, a capacitive touch-screen was a second priority. 5 volt preamps "blew my mind". At the time, I still wasn't sold on Digital Signal Processors, so I chose the 907s because it had an array of advanced DSP features built-in, Wireless Apple CarPlay wasn't as important to me, but I wanted to indulge in it - just to see if the hype was real. Months later, unit is installed & overall I'm very impressed. I love how it looks more OEM than the 15yr old single DIN Pioneer it replaced! It sounds great, too - the DSP features are vast. I'm learning to appreciate the convenience of wireless CarPlay & Bluetooth calling (don't laugh). Installation was more complex than back-in-the day: finding a vehicle's VSS, Parking Brake & Reverse wires is painstaking. I also had to modify my car's dash opening to make the HU fit. The METRA bezel Crutchfield tossed-in for free was appreciated, but hideous. It didn't match my interior color & texture at all, so I ordered a better one online.

Pros: Options-Loaded Head Unit. Wireless & Wired CarPlay. Great-Looking Display. Responsive Touchscreen. 5volt PreAmps. Impressive Sound Processing Features. Quiet Operation.

Cons: DOES NOT play Apple Lossless files. No HD display. Playing music via a USB Flash Drive is frustrating (unit processing lags/makes you wait several minutes before allowing you full access to your music files). Manual Buttons protruding from HU ruin the "flush mount" aesthetic. Long Start-Up/Load times. HU preout distorts/clips at 70% volume (*according to Audio Control's Clipping Indication hardware. An SMDD-1 shows no distortion at full volume).

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

2012 F150 radio upgrade.

Chris from Columbus, OH on 5/26/2021

2012 Ford F-150 Lariat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I started with a refirb and that did not work too well. Honestly, tech support had to walk me back from the ledge and my open box replacement arrived today. This was installed in a 2012 F-150 with sony sound and no navigation (so no lcd panel). I would say that dealing with the trim pieces was the most difficult part of the project -mostly the re-install. Everything seems to work as it should. The head unit sounds great and is a noticeable improvement improvement from the first sound that comes through the speakers. I am uploading 4 photos. One is everything wired before the install because usually you don't see the ugly just the finished product. After the Metra trim piece after final installation to give you a feel for the look - paying $200 for a wood look trim piece wasn't worth it to me. One shows the gage information through the Maestro datalink I did not have before. The last one shows that the radio and song information along with your direction and temp is still on the original factory information panel above the radio. The sales plug: you could buy this radio in many places but I don't think you will find better tech support anywhere. They were kind and knowledgeable. Also, they followed up on when we had different information to admit the manufacture did not update the information. It was something minor so they did not have to contact me back but they did.

Pros: over the factory radio, the sound is so much better.

Cons: the screen does show fingerprints pretty bad.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Good unit for my C230

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 5/9/2021

2005 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The DMX907S met all of my expectations and was relatively easy to install in my 2005 Mercedes C230. (I replaced an older Kenwood DNX 6180 head unit that had stop working. It was a 2011 model and I assume that age finally caught up with it.) I was able to reuse my steering wheel control adapter, microphone, GPS antenna and reverse camera, which saved a bit of work. I understood when I bought the unit that there were models with higher-resolution screens available, but I am satisfied with the screen in this unit. I also consider buying a 9-inch or larger screen, but decided it would look out of place in my car and would also cost significantly more. The wireless and wired Apple CarPlay work great and I was able to fine tune the sound to my car using the controls in the unit. The HD tuner also works well. Overall, I find the DMX907S to be a significant upgrade over the unit it replaced. As always, Crutchfield provided great service. I called an advisor before bought the unit and he was able to confirm that I could reuse my steering-wheel control adapter which avoided a significant expense.

Pros: Wireless CarPlay and HD Radio

Cons: None that I wasn't aware of before purchase.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Awesome

Crutchfield customer from Claremont, NC on 4/26/2021

2012 Ford F-250

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Huge upgrade from factory Ford stereo. I added 3 cameras to the unit for bed view, bumper view and also a hard wired rear of camper view. It's a great easy to use system and with the add on accessories I kept my sync and all factory features on my 2012 f250. It fits clean in the dash A+ to Crutchfield and KENWOOD on this product

Pros: Ease of use, design and features

Cons: Lots and lots of wires to hide in the dash

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Outstanding features, effortless use

Crutchfield customer from Ellicott City, MD on 4/10/2021

2011 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I wanted to replace my factory original Toyota radio CD player with something that had wireless CarPlay and auto switching to the backup camera. This Kenwood does everything I wanted and it has been effortless to make it work. Everything worked the first time I powered it up. I wasn't as concerned about the sound - I was sure it would be more than good enough - but it's been a huge improvement, even just for playing Spotify. The sound is not only much clearer, but it's focused in front instead of sounding like it's spraying all over the car.

Pros: Does everything I expected it to do and more and does it without troubleshooting.

Cons: It seems like there are multiple menu structures, not all in one hierarchy. When do you press Menu? When do you press Setup? Where do you get to the "Widgets"?

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Head Unit - Worth Every Penny!

Jim from Oaklyn, NJ on 4/9/2021

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I installed the DMX907S in my 2015 Jeep Wrangler JKU and it's perfect! I purchased the installation kit with the factory wiring harness adaptor and the Maestro Rr, and it made the installation much easier. I retained my steering wheel controls, factory amp, subwoofer, and Alpine speakers as well as the USB port in the center console, plus I now have 2 extra USB ports in the glove box. Not that I need them. The wireless Apple Car Play is seamless. I did have to call tech support to clarify a couple of wiring connections that weren't clear in the instructions, but those guys were great. Car Play and the HD Radio are awesome, plus the OBD II feed sends a ton of vehicle info and gauge readings right to the head unit. I also installed a backup camera that I got from another retailer, and not only was it plug and play, but the DMX907S added dynamic (they move when the steering wheel turns) and adjustable guide lines to the camera view. The installation was a little intimidating when I unboxed everything and was staring at the pile of wires on my workbench, but the included wiring diagrams were very good (with only a couple of ambiguities) and by following them I ended up with a wiring harness that was plug and play without having to modify any factory connectors. Even trimming the 1/16th of an inch off of the radio opening was easily done with a utility knife. Overall I'm thrilled with the way the unit looks, sounds, and works! Don't hesitate to buy this un

Pros: Perfect fit Great sound Beautiful screen images Apple Car Play HD Radio Retained Steering Wheel Controls Customer Tech Support

Cons: Sirius XM tuner is an extra add-on Install time is significant Instructions aren't 100% perfect

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Would recommend

Crutchfield customer from Warren, NJ on 3/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great stereo. Wireless Apple CarPlay works flawlessly every time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Magnolia, AR on 3/4/2021

2004 Nissan Xterra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just amazing takes some time to set up but worth it

Pros: Hands free

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sounds great, but interface issues make this nearly useless

Frankie from Massachusetts on 3/1/2021

2016 Ford Transit Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It works great now, no complaints there. My complaint is the user interface. It's straight out of the early 90s, and being a UX designer/developer, I can barely stand it. It makes me think too much. When I'm in the Kenwood-designed sections of the interface I can only shake my head in disappointment. It's downright frustrating. - Some interface elements only appear periodically and there's no documentation about when it shows up and when it doesn't. Example: contrast/color/etc screen controls. - Some menu elements appear in at least two different locations, which creates confusion when that's what you're trying to remember how to get to. - The default is "non-small" text, and that default result is an extremely cluttered interface with text usually cut off. The expectation seems to be that they expect you to know what the rest of that text is, since there's no way to see everything it says. - There are weird jagged borders/hairlines all over the place with opposing arrows that have no indication for what they actually do. You have to sit there while parked, playing with the controls, just to figure out what each one does. - Certain buttons show up when they'll never be necessary and there's no way to disable them. Example: If you use Apple CarPlay, the Android Auto icon is always front-and-center in the menu that's always visible, even if you'll never use an Android device. I won't recommend it, and I wouldn't buy Kenwood again.

Pros: Sounds great

Cons: Interface is donkey doo-doo

Crutchfield response on

10 of 15 found this helpful

Happy

Crutchfield customer from Schertz, TX on 2/23/2021

2021 Ford F-350 XL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crutchfield has been great to work with. Love this unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Nice head unit with great sound and wireless Android Auto

David from Denton, TX on 2/11/2021

2017 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a great replacement for a stock 2017 WRX Limited factory head unit. Sound on the stock speakers is incredible in comparison to the stock head unit. The built-in equalizer profiles are good. I prefer presets to spending my time in the EQ. My stock backup camera appears almost instantly as opposed to taking seconds on the stock head unit. Android Auto wireless is so convenient (Pixel 5)! The menu and widgets are nice and simple and the touch screen is very responsive. The ReadyHarness service was well worth it. All required wires were professionally crimped with butt connectors. Aside from finding a place to fit the ridiculous stock Starlink telematics unit the installation was straightforward and instructions were helpful. In order to get any of the car telemetry data such as tire pressure, dials, etc., you must use the included ODB2 connector - inconvenient for those with an access port. I'd like to propose a fix for the dimmer issue many complain about. 'Display' in the Menu section has separate Backlight settings for dimming on and off. To set your backlight for when your lights are OFF make sure to turn them off (not auto) and set the backlight from 0 to 4. Now turn your lights ON and go into the Backlight again. You should see that it is set back to 0 or slightly lower than with your lights off. Set the value from -1 to -4. This will dim the HU properly when your lights come on.

Pros: Wireless Android Auto is very convenient. Great, full sound. Retains steering wheel controls. Retains factory backup camera.

Cons: The screen is very susceptible to finger prints and smears and quickly gets completely coated within minutes. It is also difficult to see in direct sunlight when clean and when dirty is even worse. Keep a micro fiber cloth handy! Android wireless phone call volume is extremely low. I have to turn up the unit just under max to hear callers. Maybe an issue with Android, though.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Alstead, NH on 2/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Absolutely love the unit, although a tad on the pricey side. Installation is pretty straight forward, as long as you're not intimidated by lots of wires and cables. The head unit is very responsive to the touch and quick to respond. The night time illumination, even though connected to the car circuits, the display is pretty bright and doesn't dim much. Also, it tends to wash out in direct sunlight. All in all, it's a nice unit!

Pros: Easy to operate. Tons of adjustments for audio settings.

Cons: Expensive

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Lynnwood, WA on 2/8/2021

2013 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Install was easy enough. The screen looks great. Touchscreen works well enough. I gave it 3 stars because the GPS is terrible. My friend has the same unit. We thought it was his antenna placement on his dash. I put mine a lot higher, and I get the same issues. It does not accurately show where the car is on the road in real time. It keeps glitching out placing the car on side streets. Very frustrating. Overall its a great replacement from the stock stereo I had in. But I expected better.

Pros: Looks good. Touch screen works well.

Cons: GPS is terrible. Wireless car play doesnt pick up my phone 100% of the time.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Pretty good

Nickolaus from Fort Wayne, IN on 2/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice unit. Touch screen is responsive. Sound isn't quite as good as the new Pioneer that it replaced. Graphics are a little bit plain and lame for an expensive system, but functionally works well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great radio

Crutchfield customer from Simpsonville, SC on 2/6/2021

2011 Ford Expedition EL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great radio. Features are awesome and definitely will be relevant radio for years to come

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Low volume during phone calls

JB from El Dorado Hills, CA on 2/2/2021

2019 Subaru WRX STI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed the head unit tonight and everything went well. Everything is connected and seems to be working, but with one major exception. While connected via wireless apple care play via my iPhone 11 Pro Max running iOS 14.4 the volume suing a phone call is low, despite the volume turned up to the Max. Everything else is fine. I have checked every setting and nothing works. Hard to be hands free when you can't hear the caller. Just for this reason, I would not recommend this head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 2/3/2021
JB, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 3 found this helpful

Worth the extra $$$

Crutchfield customer from Gray, ME on 1/29/2021

2008 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is replacing a high end (but older) Alpine that came in my truck when I bought it. This Kenwood DMX907S blows it out of the water! So many features let you fine tune the sound. I have an MTX Thunderform amplified sub that I always thought wasnt as good as it should have been for what it cost. This radio woke it up and it's never sounded better! Seperate crossovers or front, rear, and sub mean you can turn it up without distortion. 2 USB inputs in the back so you can have multiple audio sources. Other reviews say it doesnt dim enough and is distracting at night, but I disagree. I think it dims just fine. Android auto works flawlessly with a wired connection. Havnt tried it wirelessly but with multiple USBs why would you. It even rapid charges your phone while its plugged in. Has a cam button on the face so (if you wire it that way) you can turn the reverse cam on at any time. I honestly dont have anything bad to say about this unit.

Pros: Multiple USBs, tons of audio customization, tons of display customization, 5v preamp outputs give a super clean signal, better than average radio reception, touch screen uses the same tech as smartphones and works perfect!

Cons: Literally zero

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent choice!

James from COLSTRIP, MT on 1/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I wrestled with this choice for some time before buying, as the head unit really is the primary piece of the overall system. This unit gives excellent control over nearly any aspect of dialing in the entire system, and in combination with an Alpine 5-channel amp, front and rear door Focal speakers, and a pair of Kicker 6x9s acting as a subwoofer in the rear deck, this system exceeded my expectations. This unit was not recommended for my car (depth issues) so I had to do some minor surgery behind my dash, but it was well worth it -- it looks like it came with the car. CarPlay works like a dream, the mic mounted on the steering column provides excellent sound to callers (while speaking in a conversational voice, no less!), the GPS is seamless, but most importantly I can fine-tune the sound to produce tones and instruments I had never heard before in songs I first listened to 45 years ago. using touch screen controls that are easy to find and use. I had a number of calls with tech support to tie the unit together with steering controls and the factory harness, mostly because my car has wiring peculiar to a single year, but due to their efforts everything finally worked properly. Without their aid it would have been a significantly more difficult task to install. I've waited six years to upgrade the sound on this car because the factory system was already quite good, but I have to say this is much, much better.

Pros: If there are any features not offered by this unit, I don't know what they would be...

Cons: The only two things I really miss from the factory head unit is the automatic volume adjustment with road speed and brightness control linked to the dash lights. Maybe this Kenwood has those functions too, but if so, I haven't found the settings...

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

I want to like it, but I'm facing what seems like a dealbreaker

Dave from Boston, MA on 1/17/2021

2014 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I picked this unit for two specific reasons: Capacitive touch screen Wireless Carplay I installed using the ready-harness from Crutchfield, which made it fairly easy -- especially once I was able to have a Crutchfield tech walk me through the installation with their app that lets them use my phone's camera during the install. It seemed to work great at first, however, during my first longer (30 minutes) drive, the unit rebooted for no apparent reason. I've disassembled the dash and triple checked all my connections, the unit still reboots intermittently. It's been fine on very short drives, but any drive I've had longer than 30 minutes, it'll reboot at least once. It doesn't seem to be happening at with any rhyme or reason (e.g. going over a bumpy road). I exclusively use Carplay, so not sure if the problem would happen with android audio or even using the radio. I've tried updating the firmware from Kenwood, but the unit has failed to recognize two properly formatted (FAT32) USB drives with the firmware update at the top of the drive's hierarchy. I'm going to try contacting Kenwood to see if they have any resolution to the problem, it'd be nice if bluetooth firmware updates were an option... If I can't get anywhere with them, I might be out of luck and stuck with the rebooting issue as I'm quickly approaching the 60 day return window -- not to mention having paid for the trip pieces, ready harness, etc.

Pros: Capacitive touchscreen, wireless carplay

Cons: Rebooting, inability to update firmware

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Love the Apply Car Play

Crutchfield customer from Stockton, CA on 12/27/2020

2006 GMC Yukon Denali

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wow! Very nice stereo. I like everything about it. The wireless connection with Apple Car Play is just one great feature. Matched up with the Bose system in my Denali, the sound is unbelievable. Very easy to access all of the features. One you use it for a few days, you will have no problem navigating through the menu options. It has the capacity to hook up several cameras but I didn't install any. What an amazing upgrade to the factory installed unit. I highly recommend it.

Pros: User friendly. Great to have navigation when needed.

Cons: None so far...

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Hoover, AL on 12/27/2020

2006 Toyota Highlander Hybrid

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this unit to replace a 15-year old factory radio in a Toyota Highander. The sound is excellent, a big improvement over what had been a pretty good (JBL) factory setup. The wireless Carplay works very well. For a product as complex as this, the instruction manual is, as expected, quite large. However, some of the instructions for setting up features (e.g., wired mirroring for iPhone) are not as clear as I would wish.

Pros: Excellent sound Wireless Carplay is very convenient Plenty of inputs Offers both simple sound setup and many optional and detailed fine-tuning features

Cons: Some instructions in the manual could be clearer/more detailed

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Tom from Richmond, CA on 12/22/2020

2019 Nissan Frontier SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Tremendous deck. This is the 2nd aftermarket wireless Carplay deck I've owned (the first was a Pioneer 4500NEX). Install was great and setup was a BREEZE compared to the Pioneer. I'm running 6x9 Focal Separates up front and Focal 6.5 coaxes in the back of my Nissan Frontier pickup truck - both sets running off the deck power - and it sounds tremendous. Very happy with this purchase. Can't wait to add a sub.

Pros: Easy setup, clean interface, intuitive menus, deck power is adequate to drive higher end speakers

Cons: I'm reaching here, but no remote control. I know, that's dumb. Just buy this deck.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Deck

Crutchfield customer from Frederick, MD on 12/14/2020

2011 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This replaced a Mazda 3 Eonon replacement stereo. It failed 3 times and was brand new so out it went. This deck sounds hand over fist better than the last and that was a vast difference over stock. I used this with Focal door speakers and a JLAudio subwoofer all powered by JLAudio amps. Everything connected as it should and sounds amazing. The Audio customization allows those of us that know how to make magic. I couldn't get it to dim with the headlights, double checking the Illum orange wire was connected as it should have been. Just made the background a dark one and it's fine. Steering wheel controls work as well with the added components Crutchfield offers. Everything was plug and play aside from the harness wires which needed soldered, even that matched up well. I soldered and shrink tubed the harness and it has been very stable. Highly recommend this unit, it's simple to use and even though the lcd isn't 1080p it's fantastic. I would buy this again! The only way this was better was getting it on a Black Friday sale, thank you Crutchfield!

Pros: Options and EQ are amazing

Cons: Dimming with headlights was an issue.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Sarasota, FL on 12/13/2020

2011 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to use and high quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

James from ALTAMONTE SPG, FL on 12/10/2020

2018 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am very pleased with the performance of this head unit so far. Compared to my stock unit, this makes my stock speakers sound much better and the dynamic range is great when using the powerful Equalizer setting. I like how you can save your audio / customization settings so that they can be easily recalled in the event you need to disconnect or change the car's battery. The screen has an anti- glare coating so that you can easily see the screen in bright daylight. Andrio Auto works great on this head unit and I have had no issues so far. I installed this in my 2018 Toyota RAV4 and it works great with the Maestro RR and the Kenwood Dashcam DRV-N520.

Pros: -Anti- Glare Screen -Cam button -Save/ Recall Audio Settings -Great Sound -Maestro RR Compatible - Android Auto

Cons: -The disclaimer warning comes up every time you start up the car.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

A must have

Crutchfield customer from Woodbury Hts, NJ on 12/7/2020

2008 Dodge Charger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is an amazing product! Love the all that it offers. Perfect for my car

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Collinsville, IL on 12/4/2020

2002 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I cannot say enough about the Kenwood radio I received from Crutchfield. The unit is as described and works flawlessly. I also ordered a BoYo back up camera that interfaces with the Kenwood very nicely. Great products Crutchfield!

Pros: Sound quality, looks like a factory installation.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Go with Kenwood

Crutchfield customer from West Linn, OR on 12/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far, so good! This screen head unit has a pretty good looking display, processes touch inputs quickly, and has loads of audio adjustments and tweaks. One thing that would be great is a physical dimmer button for night driving, and a bit more customization. For example, I will never use Apple Carplay. Ever. But it sits on the home page. Android auto works great too!

Pros: Display quality, quick screen, enormous amount of audio adjustments

Cons: Lacks customization, needs physical dimmer button

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound improvement, no backup camera for WRX

Jody from Aldie, VA on 11/29/2020

2018 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this unit mainly for the wireless Android Auto functionality and in the hopes that I could maintain the rear backup camera functionality on my 2018 Subaru WRX base that it said could be maintained. The associated installation kit had no provisions that I could find to maintain the backup camera, so I ended up ordering a 12v to 6V converter from another company to try and get it to work. All of the scenarios that I could find required you to tap into the factory wiring harness, which I just was not willing to do. I reached out to Crutchfield tech support and they could not help and told me to reach out to the tech support of the so called no cut wiring adapter company (Crux). The gentleman was as helpful as he could be but I just did not get what he was trying to convey and even then, I am almost certain that his solution still required me to splice into the factory side of the harness. So if you have a 2018 WRX and you want to use your factory backup camera, be prepared to do it the old school way and splice into your factory wiring harness. There is no plug and play scenario that I can find that will get you there. Otherwise, the unit has been phenomenal. the sound of the factory speakers is much improved just by installing this unit, which I expected.

Pros: -Sound is much improved over the factory head unit -Wireless android auto functionality is top notch

Cons: -No backup camera anymore -UI of the unit looks dated

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Seamless Installation in my 2012 Jeep Wrangler

Christopher from Westford on 11/29/2020

2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The stock touchscreen "premium" radio in my 2012 Jeep Wrangler stopped functioning so I was looking for a replacement head unit that had flawless Apple CarPlay integration and would function seamlessly with my steering wheel controls. I ordered the Kenwood DMX907S and the recommended Crutchfield install kit including the iDatallink Maestro RR2 and what I thought was all the correct harnesses. The install was very straightforward and *almost* everything worked flawlessly. Even nitpicky features like the speed control to turn the front camera on and off at low speed. As the RR2 does not convey the stock microphone to the Kenwood, I removed the factory microphone from the a-pillar and installed the Kenwood one in its place. The audio quality of the head unit is miles ahead of the stock infinity system. I am using the stock jeep amplifier and stock speakers and the sound stage opened up drastically. The response time of the Kenwood is instantaneous, pressing buttons have an immediate response. I am using Apple CarPlay and that works great as well. I would have preferred a volume knob, but the ATT or mute button replaces that function. The Crutchfield "premium" install kit is missing two key adapters. A iDatalink ACC-NAV1 adapter is needed to connect the factory GPS antenna so Apple CarPlay can access the factory antenna, it is also used to set the clock. A Accele USBR2X is required for wired Apple CarPlay as the stock wiring does not have enough bandwith.

Pros: Sounds great Looks good Easy to install

Cons: The display does not dim at night Crutchfield install kit is missing required components for the GPS and USB

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

I'd go with something else

Eric from Newark, OH on 11/27/2020

2006 Ford Fusion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've had it for 5 months in my daily driver so I waited to review. You can't control the screen brightness. I'm surprised other reviewers give this high marks but note that you can't see the screen. I'm driving an F150 and during the day when the sun is coming from the south you can't see the screen because it is not bright enough. Using it for directions with Waze or Google maps is useless if you can't see the screen. In the dark it is too bright. The widgets are semi-useful but on the f150 you use temperature you can't make the temp a widget but it will pull it from your phone rather than from the vehicle. You can get there but its a pain and not how you would want it to work. For bluetooth apple play or android play it does connect but it take 30 seconds or so and can be twitchy. I've bought 3 Jensen CAR70V that I like better for $300 less however you have to plug it in. If I had the choice I wouldn't have bought it at that price point.

Pros: Lots of widgets but not all work like you would want

Cons: Screen brightness, connectivity, adjustability, widgets.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paul, MN on 11/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm really happy with this head unit. I'm using it with wireless Apple CarPlay and the connection has been flawless in my 2016 FIAT 500X. It's quick to connect and everything works. The sound quality is solid and everything "just works". I'm using it with a Maestro and the Crutchfield ReadyHarness, and installation was really straightforward. Also, two thumbs up to Crutchfield support - I started out with a unit from another manufacturer, but it had a few issues, and they made it really easy to swap it for this Kenwood.

Pros: Fast and consistent Apple CarPlay Better audio quality than stock UConnect with Beats Audio Physical buttons are handy

Cons: Screen isn't the highest quality

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sweet, good, eh..

Earl from HOUSTON, TX on 11/17/2020

2010 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love Kenwood. However I think they, and others alike are becoming really lazy in their user interface designs. Seems to be the way of new and lazy Software Engineers these days. I just finished installing a nice Pioneer in my nephew's truck which got me back into audio. I've been waiting for Wireless Carplay for a wile to come out and be better. Figured now is good enough. For the most part, it's great. But there is no real customization on controls and where they go. I can't hide the Android button even though I'll never use it. I can't have my USB music alongside Apple Music. The power is there for the ability to really customize this thing to where it's actually useful. Unfortunately we have to leave it up to Kenwood and others that can get over "it's too hard" BS and actually do it. Either that or they have capable people, just bad management. But yes, I like it still. Not the way I would of limited things to throw out a receiver in the market... But re-use what you got change a couple of things and bada boom... same thing with glitter.

Pros: Plays HD Music awesome. A ton of equalizer control if your into fixing poor sounding streaming music or low format music... Time Consuming It's fast interface with your phone.

Cons: No Real dimming control on the Head unit. It's Light like Day, Headlights come on and it twitches a little less brighter. A FREAKING little I want to make it go down further. Can't Customize the menus so you have what you need instead of having what they think you need.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S / Toyota Tundra

Gre from BRISTOL, CT on 11/11/2020

2018 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I installed the Kenwood DMX907S in a 2018 Tundra DC Limited and have been using it for a week or so. The sound is greatly improved even with the OEM speakers. Wireless CarPlay is amazing, huge improvement in mobile connectivity and functionality. I easily adjusted to the Kenwood menus, screens and customized displays. There are a lot of sound adjustment features in this unit, both for music and telephone (Microphone). Front buttons make it easy to quickly access important functions (Vol, Att, Home, Menu, CarPlay, Camera). iPhone mirroring is ok but requires the USB cable and does not use the full screen. I find the viewing angle to be perfect in the Tundra. I added the SiriusXM SXV300v1 Receiver. The integration & functionality is a huge improvement over OEM, another reason I upgraded. I selected and recommend one of the Crutchfield install packages. The packages include the Dash Kit, iDatalink Maestro (Vehicle interface module & harness) and a variety of cables & adapters. I upgraded to the iDatalink RR2 for some added features and used ACC-SAT-TO2 & AX-TOUYUSB adapters to connect the OEM GPS & Satellite antennas and retain the Toyota USB port. The iDatalink integration retains steering wheel controls, factory harness connections and some vehicle info which makes upgrading easy. You can even customize the steering wheel controls. I did have to use the included Kenwood microphone, but callers tell me the sound is great and voice commands (Siri) work flawles

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Good - Could use some UI improvements

Crutchfield customer from Sunnyvale, CA on 11/6/2020

2000 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This unit was installed in a 2000 Toyota Tundra. This unit was installed several weeks ago and I am still working on fine tuning the settings. The audio quality from this unit is great, I still have to go through the many available settings to optimize the audio for my truck. I have not completed adjusting the hands free settings to optimize the microphone reception but I have no complaints in its performance. I am experiencing some anomalies connecting this unit to a iPhoneX via cordless Airplay. Sometimes it will disconnect and reconnect while driving, I am not sure why. I installed two cameras with this unit (forward and reverse). The reverse camera is the Kenwood CMOC-320 multi view unit. The front camera is a generic wide angle. I am experiencing some inconstant behavior with changing the view mode of the rear camera. The DMX907S and the camera were designed to work together so I am puzzled as why I am having difficulty changing the view when the rear camera is selected. Sometimes I can change the view mode other times I can't.

Pros: Sound, Apple wireless car play (when it works), screen responsive

Cons: CMOS-320 integration and operation is inconstant. Apple wireless car play occasionally drops out or freezes

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Crossville, TN on 11/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Quality product and sounds incredible.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Super Clean and User Friendly

Crutchfield customer from Church Point, LA on 10/30/2020

2017 Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great looking and high end performance. Fits perfect in Ram dash. You will need to be sure to hook up the supplied GPS for the wireless CarPlay to work. After that works seamlessly. Lots of features that I didn't expect!

Pros: Great looks and power Highly customizable

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Portsmouth, RI on 10/29/2020

2018 Subaru Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great head unit, no problems, have two of them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Renton, WA on 10/26/2020

2017 Toyota RAV4 Hybrid

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Overall, we're pleased with the unit. The interface is friendly and intuitive. One of our older iPhones has a bit of trouble connecting with wireless Carplay without restarting and recycling things sometimes; even though that phone model was advertised to be supported. But, I'll chalk that up to Carplay being somewhat finicky in general. Maybe a newer iPhone has improved connectivity. Installation was moderately easy with the harness service that Crutchfield offers and the data link instructions. The bezel looks seamless in the dash. The only slightly tricky part was getting the car (steering wheel controls and backup camera) to talk nice through the data link to use the original capabilities of the car, which took couple of support phone calls. But, it works! I recommend it (2017 Toyota Rav4 Hybrid).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Easy in, great sound

Crutchfield customer from Shavano Park, TX on 10/25/2020

2014 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice unit, good sounds wireless airplay works great. I'm surprised all car stereo User Interfaces are so behind mobile phones, but this Kenwood does what I need (even if it has the ascetics of 2012...

Pros: fit my FJ cruiser with good fit and finish

Cons: The screen interface doesn't looks nearly as good as the phone in your pocket

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Franklin, TN on 10/25/2020

2015 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wireless CarPlay is pretty and seamless.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 10/22/2020

2009 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound is great, love CarPlay! I have had a few issues with the stereo losing power and restarting. The am/fm/HD radio is not working optimally either. Both of these issues could be installation errors on my part. Instructions could have been more helpful for a novice. Outstanding support from crutchfield over the phone when I needed some support.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Unit

Crutchfield customer from Saint Joseph, MI on 10/21/2020

2009 Audi A3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great head unit. Extremely satisfied. Super easy installation with Crutchfield's wiring guide.

Pros: One of the less expensive options with wireless CarPlay. Touch screen is very high quality and responsive. Wireless CarPlay connects fast and runs very smoothly. Great sound improvement over my stock Audi head unit. Tons of audio customization, almost too much to keep track of.

Cons: The stock home screen and widgets don't look very good, but that's just my opinion and if you use CarPlay you'll never see it. Had to do a lot of audio customization to get it to sound right in my car.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Best car stereo I've ever owned

Crutchfield customer from Oxford, NY on 10/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Plugged it in and everything runs flawlessly. Looks great in the dash, Android Auto wireless is awesome. So many toys are gadgets.

Pros: Everything works great, instructions from Crutchfield were perfect

Cons: Order the pre done harness. Soldering takes a while.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Driggs, ID on 10/18/2020

2012 Subaru Impreza WRX STi

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love this unit. The sound quality is great. Only down fall of any touch screen is the glare.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent unit.

Braydon from Rochester, NY on 10/15/2020

2013 Toyota Prius C

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really an excellent unit. Looks great, and performs really well. Wireless Android auto, and screen mirroring are truly features to beat. Definitely sure i made the right call.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Rotonda West, FL on 10/15/2020

2015 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works well, a real step up from my factory system.

Pros: Much better sound.

Cons: Still trying to get my steering wheel controls to work with new sound system.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Henrico, VA on 10/12/2020

2006 Honda Ridgeline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Seems to be and do everything I expected

Pros: Seems to be and do everything I expected

Cons: The only thing that bugs me (still not sure if there is a way around it yet) is that when I channel up/down my HD Radio from my steering wheel buttons, it goes through my presets instead of tuning...which is fine. But when I do it with my SiriusXM, it changes the tuning/individual channels and does not go through my presets...so its backwards from the HD Radio.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Ludowici, GA on 10/12/2020

2005 Nissan 350Z

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

You get everything you need in one piece. Love this radio.

Pros: Easy access and safety to drive.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Happy customer

Crutchfield customer from Burbank, CA on 10/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crutchfield is recommended to everyone

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Reseda, CA on 10/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

sounds great with all the current features, screen is sharp and clear

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Menifee, CA on 10/8/2020

2008 Acura 3.2TL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My car is 12 years old so upgrading to this unit is a huge step up. Apple car play is the best and the audio sound clean and crisp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Exactly what I wanted

Crutchfield customer from Floyds Knobs, IN on 10/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Exactly what I wanted. I needed Wireless Apple Car Play, Hands Free for my phone, and Backup Camera capabilities. This unit delivers. I'm powering aftermarket 6.5 component speakers with the head unit and coupled it with a small amp/sub combo. Sounds great. I was concerned that I would need an aftermarket amp for the components but the HU puts out enough without distortion to sound fine. It has a nice variety of EQ and Crossover settings, too.

Pros: Good price, Wireless apple Car Play

Cons: Screen controls are a little dated, but none of that matters if you spend all your time with Apple Car Play because then it looks like... Apple.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worth it.

Crutchfield customer from Arnold, MD on 10/3/2020

2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a great stereo. Every feature works as expected I took one star off because it's not the most intuitive UI but it's easily to figure out and easily to get used to. Wireless Android Auto and Apple Car Play are worth the extra.

Pros: Great sound Wireless Android Auto Keeps infotainment features

Cons: UI could be simplified

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 9/29/2020

2004 Chevrolet SSR

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

athese 3 items function perfectly in my 2004 Chevy SSR.

Pros: Perfect functionality, all steering wheel interface included.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 9/29/2020

2002 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Pros: Sound quality is great. Wireless AirPlay is awesome and connects reliably. Touchscreen sensitivity is good. Screen size is awesome. The Cons: Wireless Android Auto doesn't work with Pixel 2. Screen contrast is unsatisfactory and legibility suffers at steep viewing angles. Reflectivity of screen worsens visibility in sunlight. UI is a jumbled mess.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Best Upgrade I Have Made to my Vehicle

Crutchfield customer from Puyallup, WA on 9/28/2020

2007 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Feature rich receiver. The flexibility of control is amazing and I'm still finding things that it does that I had no idea it was capable of doing. The display is responsive. I was able to incorporate the steering wheel controls on my 2007 Toyota Tacoma with this receiver. The link to my Samsung Galaxy S10 works flawlessly, connects automatically whenever I get into the vehicle, and the compliments on my audio via speakerphone tell me that works well too. Most don't realize I'm on a speakerphone. The ability to display vehicle information is a plus that I wasn't expecting, things like tire pressure and temperature of each tire, MPG, speed, etc. It's a fun receiver to have and I'm so glad I bought it.

Pros: -Feature rich -Integrates with steering wheel controls -Sensitive FM receiver -HD Radio automatically selected when station broadcasts HD content -EQ is adequate to tailor audio -Vehicle information is a nice plus -Connects with phone easily

Cons: -Several spare connectors after installation completed, made me nervous I was missing something -Tight fit in dash after harness was all connected -Took me 9 hours to install, but worth it! -Still not sure how to make GPS work

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 9/28/2020

2012 Ford F-250

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great head unit, love the apple wireless carplay. Little small in the Dash of my F250, but overall great product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2010 Ford Explorer Sport trac Adrenalin

Crutchfield customer from Warsaw, IN on 9/27/2020

2010 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good upgrade for my Pickup Truck!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Birmingham, AL on 8/14/2020

2001 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've very happy with the unit and would give it five stars, but the overall experience doesn't rate five stars. Installed in a 2001 Ford F-150. Crutchfield had disclosed that some permanent modification to the dash would need to be made, so I knew that going in. But the instructions did not cover all the cutting that had to be done. With proper instructions and the right tools (a Dremel with a flexible shaft and metal cutting blades) it would not have been bad. But not even YouTube had good instructions. Also on the negative side, the description indicated that wireless mirroring was a feature. Not only can I not get it to work, wired mirroring usually will not work. However, I've decided that I don't need it anyway since my iPad has a better screen. The good: it's a very good radio. The HD radio is great and I can get more channels than with the factory unit. Wireless Car Play is great. Playing music from a USB thumb drive works great. I haven't found a shuffle function yet for it and that would be helpful while driving. I was able to convert an old iPhone 5s into an iPod and the unit recognizes it as an iPod, so that's cool. I connected two rear cameras, one for backing and connecting to a trailer and one higher, on the camper shell, for backing a trailer. The cameras connected with plug-and-play ease and work great except I had to name the second one a side view camera since the choices are limited to back, front, or side, and only one can be back. I'm happy with it.

Pros: HD Radio, Wireless Carplay, Multiple cameras, USB Thumb Drive, iPod USB connection, conductive touchscreen, sounds good with 20 yr old factory speakers.

Cons: Terrible installation instructions for my specific vehicle, no wireless mirroring, very spotty wired mirroring, no shuffle mode on USB thumb drive.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Love wireless airplay

Crutchfield customer from Salisbury, NC on 8/3/2020

2006 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A great receiver with excellent Airplay (wired & wireless)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Addition to my Jeep Wrangler

MS from Chicago, IL on 8/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced the standard radio in my 2017 Jeep Wrangler JKU w/ Alpine system. Sound is so much better with the Kenwood. Purchased with Sirius, upgraded idatalink kit and Crutchfield Ready Harness, which I highly recommend. Also added a backup camera. Crutchfield staff were very great with the few questions I had and very responsive...can't say enough good things about the company. Installation, with harness and instructions, was surprisingly simple with the exception below. Even with the idatalink module and Sirius tuner, I was able to get all the wires and parts stashed behind the radio. It is a lot to get in the dash though. Interface is easy to get acquainted with. I have no issues with the screen and it is very responsive to the touch. The only trouble I encountered installing the radio was with the Metra 95-6511 Dash Kit Crutchfield includes. The ends are screwed on which makes it bow outward from the radio, creating a gap. I also tired many different locations to secure the kit to the radio but none of the locations allowed the radio to sit forward enough to close the gap at the bottom of the radio and the dash or the sides of the kit and dash. I did a lot of research and ended up purchasing the old...now new...Metra 95-6511-17 Kit. It is definitely a lot sturdier as it comes as one piece. Also, with four simple cuts, the kit allows the radio to sit forward enough to eliminate the gap on all sides. Looks great. Highly recommend the radio...wireless carplay is worth it!

Pros: Apple wireless Carplay works flawlessly. Sound Touch screen

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Awesome Stereo

Crutchfield customer from Glendale, AZ on 7/29/2020

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a very powerful and complex stereo. It has many screens and features. I have a front and rear camera. The stereo looks and sounds great. You have to work with the manual and work through the features and settings. Once you do the stereo will be customized exactly the way you want. I love having a big compass and tire pressure on the first screen. The only bummer is there are only a few phones that work with wireless Android Auto and my phone is not one of them.

Pros: Feature rich

Cons: Only a few phones work with Android Auto

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 6 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Wailuku, HI on 7/19/2020

2012 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not to bad. It is a good deck o my downfall it doesn't mirror iphone

Pros:

Cons: No mirror iphone

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

great sound

Crutchfield customer from Collegeville, PA on 7/16/2020

2011 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This Kenwood was purchased to replace a 4 year old Pioneer AVH4100NEX which lost it's AM/FM and then Bluetooth after a firmware upgrade. Way to go Pioneer! So far the sound is superior to the Pioneer. Something I wasn't expecting. I'm still learning the system so don't want to say anything negative. One of the things I'm disappointed in is I have all of my music on SD cards for my two vehicles. So when shopping for a replacement head unit I used the Crutchfield filter tool to narrow down the results fo SD card compatibility. However this unit doesn't have a slot that I could see or read in the manual. I had to use a SD to usb adapter and it hangs from the cable extension routed under the dash. Also when in USB mode it looks like you can only scroll thru the current folder and not back to root directory. It may be that I'm not understanding how to get there so reading the manual is essential. Otherwise I would give it 5 stars if it had a native sd slot. - Steve

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Crutchfield customer from Avondale, AZ on 6/8/2020

2015 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome stereo and love the HD radio! I would've thought the stereo would've been a little thinner it being a media player but it still a little bulky. The MIC works great for incoming and outgoing calls and doesn't sound like your speaking from a distance. The sound to the factory speakers has more depth and more clarity.

Pros: The screen is awesome and the extra features give this stereo many options to play with. The ability to blackout the screen is nice to have and also the scenic screen savers are great.

Cons: All the camera output cables which are permanently connected to the stereo. Would be nice to have removable camera outputs in cases where camera's aren't used.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Beautiful Work of Art

Crutchfield customer from Hermosa Beach, CA on 6/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I Love the DMX907S It sounds GREAT, Has a ton of features and is BEAUTIFUL to look at in my car. The only reason for giving it only 4 stars is that it is a complex unit to learn how to use. Your going to have to spend some time with it to learn how to use all of its features. Directions not as helpful as you might hope and there is not much available yet on the internet to get help. But Hey, Did you want something simple or something state of the art? Easy Choice!

Pros: Sound Quality Features Touch Screen Beautiful Unit

Cons: Takes a little time to learn

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Disappointing - could have been so much more

Matthew from Lookout Mtn, TN on 6/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have 3 other vehicles with Kenwood receivers and by far this is my least favorite. Install is pretty straightforward (definitely use their ReadyHarness service) but this model is missing some very key features that I've found frustrating. Earlier this year I purchased 2 Kenwood 906S models (just below this one) and have been very happy - the Apple Carplay works flawlessly, which was my primary reason for the purchase. But the ability to control screen brightness / contrast is very poor with the 907 and looks washed out, no matter how many adjustments I made. Color is much better / crisper with the earlier 906 model. Second, the user interface of all Kenwood devices were apparently designed by engineers and not users. To live in 2020 - in a world of beautiful interfaces (Andriod, iOS, Windows, MacOS, etc. etc.) - Kenwood's 1990's interface isn't intuitive, unnecessarily text based, and takes several finger strokes to do what could potentially be accomplished in one. Third, Kenwood offers so many models of what seems like the exact same device it's hard to tell what exactly you're getting. I needed a receiver that had the ability to tilt the display - I thought (assumed, perhaps) this one did but apparently only available in the highest end model. Overall, disappointed but it's the best way to get Apple Carplay.

Pros: Wireless Apple Carplay works flawlessly

Cons: Interface designed by engineers, not users

Crutchfield response on

12 of 16 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX907S

Brandon from Schenectady, NY on 6/2/2020

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome radio. Replaced a factory entune radio in my Toyota tacoma and the sound improvement is incredible. Wireless carplay is amazing. Crutchfield provides everything needed to do install. I haven't been able to get wired screen mirror to work on my iphone. Saw another user was having problems with this as well. I will have to call customer support for kenwood to see if they can help. Other than that small issue i have no complaints and am loving this unit!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent stereo!

Crutchfield customer from Saucier, MS on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Head unit is awesome. Huge upgrade from my factory stereo. Have not been able to get the USB mirroring to work and that led to the 4 stars instead of 5. Crutchfield was amazing. Customer support is second to none and they were there to help through the entire installation. I did the entire install myself and my expertise is very limited. Kudos to Crutchfields ability to help the novice complete a successful install.

Pros: Crutchfield makes installation easier with ready made harness and providing advice on what is needed for a successful install. Radio interface is very user friendly, capacitive screen is awesome, wireless Apple car play excellent, and radio features are very nice

Cons: A few minor features are currently not working on the head unit, but they aren't game changers.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great replacement head unit with wireless carplay

Crutchfield customer from Stewartstown, PA on 5/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed in a 2015 Subaru Outback. Installation was easy with the instructions provided. Installed with the Maestro and the buttons on the steering wheel work. The sound is so much better than the OEM radio and stock speakers (No Harmon Kardon). Lots of audio settings available to optimize the sound. The touchscreen works well and as others have mentioned is a fingerprint magnet. Chose this model over others for the wireless carplay option. Glad I did.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Mahalo Crutchfield

Crutchfield customer from Murrieta, CA on 5/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I wasn't going to change my deck, but I spoke to numerous Crutchfield representatives and did a lot of research to make sure this is going to be a "one time" install. I am very pleased with this choice and because of the support and information that I was able to gather online and through Cruthfield support, my wife and I are pleased with the features and the sound quality. I did a full system upgrade on my 2017 Tundra Platinum. Total Gut Job and glad I did it using this Deck!!!

Pros: Easy to install with the total accessory kit that was needed/recommended!!!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great Head Unit.

Crutchfield customer from Rincon, GA on 5/24/2020

2012 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent radio. Only problem I encountered was that it doesn't have a setting to flip the image from the front camera, what you saw on the left was on the right and vice versa. So if thinking about installing an aftermarket front camera make sure the image can be flipped from the camera itself.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Regina

Mike from Regina on 4/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great deck and happy I went to the wireless unit. Works with my Galaxy S8 Android Auto. The sound quality is beyond belief. I installed it on my 2006 Toyota Highlander with a rear camera and replaced the cigarette lighter with a USB port. Now I'm loving this SUV all over. Again. Mike from Canada

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound