Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
172 333 933 3
Connect ID #
172 333 933 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood Excelon DMX957XR

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # DMX957XR

Kenwood Excelon DMX957XR

Kenwood Excelon DMX957XR

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # DMX957XR

22 reviews
View this product

Kenwood Excelon DMX957XR

Crutchfield customer from Garden Plain, KS on 10/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It has everything I want and need.

Pros:

Cons: A little difficult to install.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great upgrade for a C6 Corvette

Crutchfield customer from Oklahoma City, OK on 9/26/2020

2007 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This head unit is amazing. I went with this over other options because of its 720p display and wireless CarPlay, but I wasn't thrilled about the Kenwood user interface in product photos. Having installed it and actually using it for the last two weeks, I can say that the user interface is not nearly as bad as I expected it to be. Audio sounds great, even routed through my stock Bose amp and speakers, and the screen is gorgeous. Wireless CarPlay works great, although it does get confused if you disconnect and then try to reconnect either wirelessly or via wire. There was an echo for the other side on phone calls, which might have stemmed from my particular microphone placement, which I resolved with an inexpensive third-party microphone of a different style. All in all, I'm definitely impressed with Kenwood. This is an incredible upgrade for my car.

Pros: Capacitive HD screen with great viewing angles, excellent sound, responsive, wireless CarPlay, multiple camera and expansion connections, angle adjustment

Cons: Dated user interface, shiny bezel looks out of place in most older cars

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Overall nice unit, very good music quality

Crutchfield customer from San Diego CA on 9/21/2020

2005 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall nice unit at the price level, wish the user interface and screens were a bit more customizable. Display and touch screen work well. Audio quality is very good and configurable with different settings, FM reception is on par with my OEM Toyota radio which was decent. Digital music sources sound much better. Can't comment on the internal amplifier as I used the AudioControl LC-4.800 which was very musical. GPS, I use ways and interface with my cell phone which works well and is real time traffic using Ways. I am very satisfied with the radio, the major weak point is the Android Auto which may improve with software updates. Biggest issue is Android Auto buggy and how it interfaces with your particular cell phone. As others have indicated, software for interfacing with cell phones is pretty poor and seems to be problematic. I linked mine to two phones, but at times I couldn't switch between phones and it took some time to link up. Read the reviews on Kenwood software aps/products for their radios, but this seems typical in the industry. Voice command seems to only work with Android Auto which is disappointing, so pretty minimal and could be better. Need to update the radio software via USB, would be nice if it could use Bluetooth or WiFi. Instructions are poor, like it shows camera power connections but this only works with a specific Kenwood camera. I used the Kenwood CMOS-740HD back-up camera but had to rewire the power source, nice overall camera.

Pros: Musical quality and general functions

Cons: Android Auto is not very well interfaced, and may be a problem for some individuals.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great digital media receiver

Andrew from ATLANTA, GA on 9/17/2020

2006 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased to replace my 10 year old Pioneer in-dash nav system, mainly to add in Android Auto and XMSirius radio. Overall extremely happy but Android Auto was a chore to setup. In the end, it functions as expected with only a few minor annoyances. Mostly, Google Maps navigation doesn't overlay on top of the main menu of the recevier and you must be in AA to get directions. Minor issue that might be fixable with a firmware update. Also, Kenwood really pushes their wired streaming functionality but I've found the Android App is useless and wireless works pretty much flawlessly so why even bother.

Pros: Sound and EQ setup Android Auto (once you get it to work)

Cons: Difficult to get Android Auto working Wired streaming doesn't work

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX957XR

Reed from ELMHURST, IL on 9/17/2020

2015 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit. Wireless Carplay works great and connects quickly. The interface is fast and the screen looks great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX957XR

Crutchfield customer from Lanexa, VA on 9/17/2020

2013 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome radio, easy install, great audio,easy to use with plenty of adjustments for the perfect sound. Rocks my reg cab Silverado

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

HD screen is everything!

Warren from Lompoc, CA on 9/15/2020

2015 Scion tC

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I decided to upgrade my factory stereo in my 2015 Scion tc and I couldn't be more happy! The HD screen is amazing, super responsive and bright. There are so many eq customizations and the sound quality over the stock unit is impressive, I didn't have to change out my speakers, there is more clarity now and the bass seems tighter. I bought this unit for the Apple CarPlay and the wireless capabilities, however wireless CarPlay from my 11 pro Max has connection issues, the audio will eventually cut in and out, the maps/responsiveness of the unit will lag and then not respond at all. If I disconnect from the unit, it starts working again, this only happens when using wireless CarPlay. I've contacted KENWOOD and they said they would look into it. The thing I like most is that you can update the firmware of the unit, so I'm guessing they will come out with a fix eventually, no big deal as wired CarPlay works flawlessly. Install was a breeze and there's really nothing I dislike about the unit.

Pros: HD Screen, super responsive,

Cons: Wireless CarPlay needs work, hope a future firmware update fixes the random lag, rebooting and disconnects, please fix this issue KENWOOD, I'm not the only one experiencing this, read the reviews here.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX957XR

Steven R from Naperville, IL on 9/11/2020

2016 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This headunit replaced the OEM in my 2016 Subaru Outback with HK and nav. Bought all the adapters as Crutchfield recommended and everything worked perfectly. This unit has a highres screen and is an real upgrade. One thing I did find is that the Maestro Acc-SAT-TO2 adapter works perfectly with the Subaru even though it is designed for certain Toyotas. This allows you to use the OEM GPS and XM antennas and not have to add these. Important note is that the SiriusXM antenna is the light blue connector in the Subaru wiring harness and the GPS is the gray connector.

Pros: Excellent screen Improved Sound (probably even better if I changed out the speakers) Great integration with the back-up camera, etc.

Cons: None that I have found.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX957XR

Crutchfield customer from Monroe, NC on 9/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this unit! After a little research we replaced our dated factory 2013 Tundra head unit and couldn't be more pleased with the results. With the EQ and crossover settings it has plenty of flexibility to get it just where I wanted. Wireless android auto is a nice change, display is nice and crisp at any angle, very fast response time. Have not found anything I dont like about this unit! Paired with the idatalink maestro gives some useful info like tire pressure, trouble codes and some gauge options.

Pros: Eq, crossover, wireless Android auto, works with idatalink maestro.

Cons: nothing so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

2016 HRV Kenwood

Crutchfield customer from Harrisburg, PA on 9/2/2020

2016 Honda HR-V EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio with lots of functions, Great add on to the 2016 HRV. audio is definitely an improvement over the stock radio. Retained following accessories and added feature rear view camera lane changing camera added odbII funtionality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Unit, great Install!

Kevin from GREENSBORO, NC on 9/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After the dealership wanted to replace my second factory unit for $1000, I thought I'd give Crutchfield a call, I am glad I did! 2017 Subaru Outback I was never really impressed with the factory unit, plus I wanted Apple CarPlay. I got Gus in Customer Service and he asked what I wanted out of the unit and to me, he matched it perfectly. He also included everything that was needed to retain, I think, all of the car's controls. ( just installed yesterday and still experiencing it). One thing I was concerned with was appearance. The face place looks great! The install was pretty straight forward and only 2 calls to Technical Service ( Guage and Mark) I was done! Both techs conducted the calls as if I was the most important customer they had that day. They used video conferencing off my phone and worked thru my problems. VERY professional! This unit is great and I wish I had done it sooner! If your on the fence to whether to do it, I hope this helps you to make the decision. Thank you to all the Crutchfield Reps that made this happen!

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Beyond Satisfied

Crutchfield customer from Champaign, IL on 9/1/2020

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade to my car stereo. Also price matched and Crutchfields unit was the lowest price I could find for this unit.

Pros: Nice display Plenty of useful features High quality unit

Cons: Will take some time learn certain features.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing unit

Crutchfield customer from Santa Rsa Bch, FL on 8/30/2020

1998 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great features from this unit. Wireless Android auto works great. Everything is smooth and responsive.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood DMX957XR

Rick from Cloverdale, CA on 8/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced my top of the line Harman Kardon in my 2016 Outback 3.6 limited. Night and day sound quality over harmon kardon. Everything on steering wheel and reverse camera works like it did before

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great upgrade

Kim from LIVONIA, MI on 8/10/2020

2019 Ford E-450

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade for our RV. Installation was pretty easy. Crutchfield instructions were spot on.

Pros: Apple car play, hi def screen

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Decent. NOT worth Android Auto Wireless

Treydon from FOUNTAIN CITY, IN on 8/9/2020

2014 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Android Auto Wireless was the main reason for buying this unit, and it is extremely dysfunctional. I have a Galaxy S20 Ultra, so I know the phone isn't the issue. The wireless android auto connection consistently drops, and then freezes. So then you have to stop the vehichle and cycle the power off and on. The screen is about an 7.5/10. Colors are decent and brightness is good, but at times whenever you don't look at the head unit head on, the viewing angle simply isn't the best. Other than that the software is decent, and the vehichle data from the Idatalink Maestro is pretty cool.

Pros: good sound quality Customization Software

Cons: android auto is practically useless Screen is Okay

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Can't go wrong with this one

Crutchfield customer from Mahwah, NJ on 7/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted a display that could be seen in the sun with the top down. This one is great. Looks good in the dash, easy install with the supplied harness, lots of options to customize the display. On another note, Crutchfield should be the role model for customer service. I needed help choosing a radio and a technical question when installing . Great service both ways.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Navarre

Joseph from Navarre on 7/27/2020

2015 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had the DMX957XR for about a week now. I've used the HD radio, Apple carplay, Android Auto, AM and emulated my androids screen onto the DMX957XR's screen. It is great most of the time! All features continue to work perfectly when they work (see pros)... The wireless apple car play has given me buyers regret to the point of returning it. It randomly reboots while displaying google maps, apple maps... and then will continue to reboot until I stop selecting the wireless apple carplay.

Pros: Ultra Responsive device with great screen quality. Premium finish on the plastics and edges. Top notch equalizer settings & sound effects. I didn't know my stock stereo speakers could sound that good! It also has a useful mechanical angle adjustment function.

Cons: I've been using this for about a week now and the one thing that irks me about the DMX957XR is it will freeze and reboot randomly when using the wireless apple car play function. After the reboot, the GPS in the carplay displayed incorrect positioning data. It would say I'm driving about 10 feet to the left which made both apple & google maps unusable. It restarts enough to where I want to return it. There is a slight delay when using the backup cam when shifting in reverse.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

fantastic

Crutchfield customer from Mattoon, IL on 7/21/2020

2013 Scion FR-S

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This headunit is everything I expected a top of the line headunit to be in 2020.

Pros: everything just works.

Cons: interface can take a bit of learning.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Sound and Great CarPlay Integration

Crutchfield customer from Carmel, IN on 7/13/2020

2008 Toyota Camry Solara

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, reasonably straightforward install, beautiful display, and perfect integration with CarPlay. After completing the installation I realized that I couldn't hear callers when I used the unit for calls. A quick call to Crutchfield support got that straightened out. I'd used the wrong pair of outputs on the back. There are still a couple of un-connected inputs on the Maestro harness, but that doesn't seem to be a problem. The only lingering thing is that the unit has spontaneously rebooted a couple of times. The first time I'm not sure what was going on, but the second time I was on a smooth, straight road in the middle of a song and it just rebooted. I'm a little concerned about that.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX957XR

Crutchfield customer from Hesperia, CA on 6/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

HD display is worth the extra money, very clear and details are easy to see. Good clarity and volume with mid price speakers without an amp. Android mirror by USB works well, my phone is too old to work well with wireless mirroring so can't really comment. Overall very happy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Best receiver I've ever owned!

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth, TX on 5/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had to write a review after listening to my new Kenwood Excelon; When I first played a song I started to cry! Yes, I said I begun to CRY, I've never owned a stereo that sounded this clear and crisp. Usually after purchasing a stereo I'll have to play with the setting and EQ to get an alright sound stage. Not the case with this Kenwood unit, I initially set my crossover to 80 Hz all the way acrosss w/ -12 roll off, and the EQ set to flat. The sound quality pumped from this receiver is by far the best I've ever dealt with. Oh, and don't even get me started on all of the sick features this deck does as well. Thank you Crutchfield, You've got a loyal lifetime customer!????

Pros: Sound quality, screen adjustment, Apple compatible, wireless mirror, and fine tuning sound ability.

Cons: Price is a bit high, but well worth it.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 14 found this helpful

TOP