Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
095 286 473 3
Connect ID #
095 286 473 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood Excelon Reference DNR1007XR

Digital multimedia receiver with navigation (does not play CDs/DVDs)

MFR # DNR1007XR

Kenwood Excelon Reference DNR1007XR

Kenwood Excelon Reference DNR1007XR

Digital multimedia receiver with navigation (does not play CDs/DVDs)

MFR # DNR1007XR

19 reviews
View this product

First Radio Ever

Crutchfield customer from LOS ANGELES, CA on 11/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very first radio I have ever purchased and upgrade for a 9 years old RAV4. Works as expected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiophile DAC in a car stereo

Guest from Miami on 11/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The three 10" screen Kenwood units DNR1007 (+NAV), DMX1057 (No NAV) and DMX1037S (1 year warranty instead of 2 and 4V pre-out instead of 5V) have the best DAC's in the car audio business with great equalizer and sound setting options. Unless built-in navigation is important for you I would save money and get the other models; I purchased the 1007 for the live traffic feature in the navigation, which only works if you download a Kenwood INRIX traffic app on your smartphone and make sure it is connected every time you start driving. The app fails to connect to the traffic several times and it defeats the purpose of investing extra $400 compared to the wonderful 1057XR model; I am using the wireless android auto (working on my Huawei Mate 20X after enabling wireless mode in developer settings of android auto) with Waze maps (with traffic) for my daily driving routine. The built-in MAPS are much more detailed and great to look at compared to the android version, but I wanted to post my experience that may help other buyers in making a decision.

Pros: Awesome DAC for a car stereo (try with old speakers and amplifier) Great bass output from same old woofers with many bass settings Zero lag for screen operation Instant rear view camera Very fast boot up times (<10 seconds till song plays from starting the engine)

Cons: No live traffic by default in the Garmin navigation.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Beautiful display with so much to offer!

Crutchfield customer from Hialeah Gardens, FL on 11/25/2020

2016 Chrysler 200

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this unit to upgrade from my Chrysler 200 2016 touch screen display in order to have the newest features like Apple CarPlay, a solid GPS connection provided by Garmin and just appreciate an overall beautiful screen with incredible colors. The display is enormous, but go bug or go home right? It has absolutely helped me fall in love with my car again after Chrysler unfortunately stopped making more of the 200 models. This is one of Kenwood's most premium head units and now I definitely understand why!

Pros: Screen response is fast, no lags in switching from any application, Screen can be tilted in a forward and backward angle to prevent glaring, Apple CarPlay does indeed work wireless, nothing negatively impacted my steering wheel controls

Cons: Once mounted the display to the head unit, remember to install the security plastic bar over the connector as that has a hidden feature once mounted to enable video signal to turn on your display. I had to call Crutchfield as this was entirely missed and Kenwood should do a better job informing lol - It did require some customized work inside the 200 to allow for space to install but no big deal as that was easily cut and the metal plate after a few pulls back and forth finally came off.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DNR1007XR

Guest from Jacksonville, FL on 11/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best sounding car stereo in the market. I was hesitant upgrading my 2019 Subaru Outback Harmon Kardon factory installed unit but I am very happy with the great audiophile quality upgrade from this unit. I did not even change the speakers, yet noticed the sound difference.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DNR1007XR

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 11/8/2020

2014 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 8 found this helpful

Kenwood DNR1007XR

Crutchfield customer from Folsom, CA on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This multi media radio is stunningly beautiful. The big screen really helps my aging eyes. The audio is very pleasing. The mechanical buttons are well thought out and the knob is so much easier to use for volume control. This is by far the best multi media radio I have ever owned.

Pros: BIG screen, knob for volume control is easy to find while driving, Apple CarPlay works great.

Cons: Pricy

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DNR1007XR

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Response to swipe is very good, clarity excellent. I would for sure recommend this unit to anyone who thought otherwise.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

soldotna

Kyle from soldotna on 11/4/2020

2013 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio touch is very responsive. All functions and connection sources worked without issue. Is well made with good materials, so much so that i would have perferred metal mounting brackets instead of the plastic the dash kit came with. It was an immediate sound quality improvement over my stock HU which is no surprise, but i was already running aftermarket amps , speakers and DQ61 for factory interface. Was waiting for this one to become available, and i am not dissapointed. I did have to make space in the dash for the install. Radio is great. Love the accuracy of the updated GPS.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Wow - This is a must have

Kirk from Ridgecrest, CA on 11/1/2020

2018 Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've got a pretty high-end JL Audio amplified system with JL subs and speakers in my 2018 Ram Big Horn. I was running this system through the factory Ram 8.4 radio through a JL Audio FIX 86. Although this set-up sounded pretty good, it lacked the 'punch' and crispiness i new this system could deliver. So i set out and almost purchased an Alpine Halo, but learned this Kenwood will retain all factory settings using the iData Link Maestro RR so i waited for the Kenwood and i finally got one from Crutchfield a couple weeks ago and installed it this weekend. All i can say; this Stereo is going to surpass anything out there for a long time.. I know have that great sousing stereo with that 'Punch & Crispiness" i was lauding before and the plus side of this whole package, this screen is apsoutley beautiful. The response is very fast, just as fast as a good tablet, screen resolution is out of the ball park, Kenwood defiantly hit the "Home Run" with this floating head unit. Haven't had a chance to mess wit the NAV to much but the little i did, im am way more pleased with this Garmen NAV vs. the Factory NAV.. This unit retained all factory settings and options including the factory Bed Camera and the factory back up camera with active grid lines. (The Maestro RR is required to meet this). The screen is pretty large, and i'm already appreciating it's massive size. It fits nicely and overlaps the side vent about 1/4 inch or maybe less. Install was not too bad took 3 hours.

Pros: Large High Res Screen, very fast display response, very vivid and bright during the day and lovely at night. The mounting function was well thought out and engineered.. Very factory look.

Cons: The only Con i can come up with was the 9 month wait when announced at SEMA.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

Good but could be better.

Crutchfield customer from Saint Charles, MO on 11/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Screen display is nice. Touchscreen presses work as good as my iPhone which is great Love the on screen controls for sound and how you can easily select which camera is to be shown. Kenwood could have knocked this thing out of the park if they would have added two features which I feel is just a blunder. There is no swivel, only a tilt. The screen sticks out so far from the head unit, which gives it a more industrial look than tech look, they they should have the swivel so the driver can angle towards them. Second, yes it can have four cameras input however only the backup cam has a trigger wire to be automatically activated when put on reverse. They mention it can be used for Left and Right mirror cams however if you read in deeper, you have to buy more expensive gear to get your blinkers to activate the cams automatically. I don't understand why this was not addressed internal to this unit. Switching by touch screen is fast but you are not going to be doing that each time you turn on a blinker.

Pros: Great screen quality. Has a volume knob.

Cons: Expensive No trigger input for side view cams No swivel on screen, just tilt Screen sticks out from unit quite a bit Garmin GPS doesn't have all features of a standalone Garmin and only 3 year free updates.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

This Thing Is Rad

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 10/30/2020

2017 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ok. First off, this thing almost seems like it was made for my 2017 Toyota Tacoma access cab. It's a thing of beauty. The touch screen is incredibly responsive (better than my previous Excelon or Entune units). Another thing I noticed is that it boots A LOT faster than my previous Excelon Garmin unit. I only have my stock speakers (for now) but this baby sounds amazing. Even the video quality when using the HDMI connections with my iPhone is spectacular. Is it expensive? Sure. Is it worth it? For me it was 100% worth it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Muskego

Charles from Muskego on 10/26/2020

2017 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I install this in a 2017 chevy colorado. I've been using it for 2 weeks now so far I'm very pleased. I had a few install issues crutchfield true to there word were right there to help me out. I really like the built-in garmin navigation works great. The wireless android auto works flawlessly. The hi res screen is noticeable from the minute you boot up the unit. Very bright and vibrant. Its an awesome stereo. I would recommend to friend.

Pros: It looks and feels like a high end headunit. the garmin navigation and the wireless android auto.

Cons: It does cover about a half inch of my vents on both sides. I measured the space and did expect that before I order.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Highly Recommended

Crutchfield customer from Rockford, IL on 10/26/2020

2007 Cadillac DTS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed easily into my 2007 Cadillac DTS using the iDatalink Maestro module. This is a stunning radio, both visually and sonically. The sound can be tuned in an almost infinite number of ways and when you find the sweet spot your music will give you goosebumps. The massive screen is a delight to use, and the wireless Apple CarPlay works flawlessly. I have seen it do two random reboots, but I'm not too concerned since I expect Kenwood to address this in a future firmware update and the Excelon units carry a two year warranty. As always, the Crutchfield sales experience was unequalled. I am completely satisfied with the entire experience. This radio and Crutchfield are both highly recommended.

Pros: Outstanding radio.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Jeep Wrangler JK finally has the stereo she deserves!

BatKitty from California on 10/21/2020

2017 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

SO we waffled back and forth between this unit and the DNX997XR because I was worried about interior cabin space. I thought I might share my experience for other Jeep Wrangler JK owners so they can get an idea of what this might look like installed. First off, IT'S BIG! But it's big and BEAUTIFUL. True measurements are roughly 10"Wx7"H. Yes our cabin space is limited and this unit will feel like it's close to you, but I haven't found it distracting while driving. Secondly, yes it will cover a small portion of your central climate control vents (I have not noticed a change in air flow that reaches me) and the automatic window switches on the top most adjusted setting for the screen. By now you probably have muscle memory to where the switches are. :P Now for all the good stuff! The resolution on this bad boy is amazing! Images are beautiful and clear, navigation is bright and vibrant, wireless CarPlay has worked seamlessly for us, and the capacitive touchscreen has worked without any lags. If you purchase the idatalink maestro RR (in fact purchase all the recommended install gear that Crutchfield recommends - it's a great deal and you'll use every component without issue) you will retain all your factory controls on your steering wheel. When a navigation destination is set it will still show on your dash gauge cluster behind the steering wheel. I also installed the Kenwood CMOS-740HD backup camera and I'm in love! 5/5 stars for this unit and 5/5 stars for Crutchfield

Pros: Large capacitive HD screen, wireless CarPlay, lots of options to personalize

Cons: Tight fit for small spaces

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Excellent

Taylor from Florida on 10/15/2020

2016 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'll start with a couple of details first from my install experience. 1.) There is a small plastic shroud that MUST be placed over the hex screws that fasten the screen, otherwise the unit does not power on! 2.) This style sandwiches any dash bezels between the hu screen and the hu chassis. 3.) USB has no folder support any longer, I guess? All my music separated by genera/artist in their own folders on USB drives are combined together on the Kenwood. What happened? Kenwood used to recognize folders. Regards to issue #1 this is found in the Kenwood instructions however it's small print and a sentence, this is easily lost if you're flipping through the pages. If you need to do a lot of fitment testing and power up tests/tuning before securing everything. Keep the cover handy, with the screen, I would recommend. I tested this without securing the hex screws and it works (for the sake of testing). Regarding issue #3, it is disappointing a stereo of this caliber combines music files. All in all, I'm very pleased. I still rate this 5/5. Kenwood still reign supreme in my book.

Pros: This thing is fast and very responsive. The factory integration and options amaze me. The picture is astounding though I can't speak to direct sunlight visibility yet, only had this installed for five days.

Cons: See 1,2,3.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DNR1007XR

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 10/12/2020

2015 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The graphics and ease of use are excellent!

Pros: Larger so it is very easy to see

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DNR1007XR

Crutchfield customer from Paso Robles, CA on 10/10/2020

2018 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in 2018 4Runner. This is an amazing unit! Love it! Crutchfield staff were amazing!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

2015 Toyota Highlander Limited, working fine

christopher from St Paul, MN on 10/7/2020

2009 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used a Maestro RR as well, recommended Metra kit, iDatalink ACC-SAT-TO2 GPS antenna adapter. The iDatalink ACC-SAT-TO2 kit is NOT included in Crutchfield's gear recommendations although it should be. Allows you to use the built-in GPS which works perfect. In terms of install, there is not much room behind the head unit, no real surprise, and I wish I had been more aggressive in reducing the harness length and had pulled ALL the wires I didn't need from their connectors. I used the 2nd to the lowest vertical setting. Had to install the monitor with the A/C panel off and then adjust the height. There is about 10mm space under the head unit when installed and I tucked some cables in there as I put the head unit into the dash. Also, the instructions kind of leads you to to use the forward position as documented on page 89 of the Kenwood manual. DO NOT DO THIS. It sticks out too far. You have to adjust the screen position in the correct order (see prior paragraph) but it's a better install. For other vehicles, avoid the forward position unless absolutely required. I have had one spontaneous reboot. Will update if more. I bought this because the stock Highlander stereo/hands free phone support has a terrible echo for the person on the other end with the volume above about 30 making it unusable and the Entune navigation is very nearly impossible to use. It's not just you. There is a class action lawsuit over the hands free echo issu

Pros: Hands free audio quality Wireless AirPlay Dual Phone Support A million inputs - camera, A/V, USB, cameras, blah, blah

Cons: Has too many connection pigtails on the backside. takes a ton of room. No FaceTime on CarPlay (Apple!). Video screen does not move L/R.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 10 found this helpful

lakewood

Gilberto from Lakewood, CA. on 10/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed it in a 2019 Highlander hybrid limited and it looks great. Has a ton of audio settings that I don't know how to work yet. The wireless android auto works awesome! I used a metra install kit. In this car it fits better than the other option available. In my installation, I needed to put 3/8" spacers on the oem brackets where the brackets meet the car (hopefully this makes sense). If you don't do this, the stereo will sit "sunken in" behind the metra dash kit.

Pros: Works and looks great. Volume knob a lifesaver.

Cons: Stereo chassis holes only line up with 2 holes on either side of oem brackets instead of 4.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

TOP