Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Kenwood DNR876S

Digital multimedia navigation receiver (does not play discs)

MFR # DNR876S

Kenwood DNR876S

Kenwood DNR876S

Digital multimedia navigation receiver (does not play discs)

MFR # DNR876S

34 reviews
View this product

Kenwood DNR876S

Crutchfield customer from Lawrence, KS on 2/8/2021

2021 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Slow boot up, nice other wise. easy install with a maestro rr. Also worth the money having the wiring all put together..

Pros: Work great with a maestro, everything is like factory radio.

Cons: Slow boot, smaller screen than factory radio... the

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood DNR876S

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 2/7/2021

2016 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall I'm quite pleased. If I had it to do over, though, I would find something with an actual knob for the volume.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Solid Upgrade for Ram Promaster City

Crutchfield customer from LOS ANGELES, CA on 2/4/2021

2017 Ram Promaster City

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had this Kenwood DNR876S professionally installed, and it is a definite upgrade from the stock unit in my Ram Promaster City van. The Maestro Harness and Module kept all of the steering wheel functions, and added the ability to see things like tire pressure. The only thing is that the odometer is flashing all the time now. The installer does not have a fix for this, they are not sure why it is happening. (And during the Covid, not easy to keep going back). I am glad I went to college because the Kenwood Owners Manual requires some careful study. There is a lot of functionality in this unit, but not all of it is intuitive, so you'll have to dig through the manual to figure out how to set it up to your liking.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood DNR876S

Crutchfield customer from Fort Pierce, FL on 2/3/2021

2019 Ford F-250 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great unit love it

Pros: does a lot

Cons: a litle expensive

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood DNR876S

Crutchfield customer from Lewistown, MT on 1/30/2021

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like it , but it could be more user freindly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood DNR876S

Crutchfield customer from Fairfax, VA on 1/24/2021

2014 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this unit on sale, and at this price it is a very good value. I mostly wanted wireless Apple Car Play, but the Garmin-based GPS was a big plus. The touchscreen is nicely responsive, and I like the arrangement of slim buttons below the screen to maximize screen size. I'm just beginning to explore the features, but the unit is very well "equipped" at this price point. The only issue I've encountered so far is the boot time when the ignition is turned on: it's waaaay is too long. Otherwise, a solid thumbs up.

Pros: Very good screen - responsive and clear Many capabilities

Cons: Boot time is long

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood DNR876S

Crutchfield customer from Moneta, VA on 1/24/2021

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

installed easily and fit well. Looks great. and with the crutchfield pre made wiring harness it was a snap.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood DNR876S

Crutchfield customer from Mustang, OK on 1/23/2021

2010 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great - As advertised.

Pros: Excellent display and user interface options.

Cons: When used in connection with Ford Sync via Maestro RR, Bluetooth connections required for handsfree telephone are very finicky.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood DNR876S

Crutchfield customer from Oakland, NJ on 1/18/2021

1998 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set install and setup, great features and customization.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A great buy.

Crutchfield customer from Greenville, NC on 1/11/2021

2002 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really nice head unit. I have had no trouble installing it and getting it set up in my son's car. The head unit puts out very clean signal to the amps, and the user interface is both simple and effective. It was nice to be able to set a system up without using a DSP or active crossover too, the built in tuning tools made the project simple and required less space for the install. Phone sounds amazing, Back-up camera is clear and bright, Car Play works perfect.

Pros: 4v signal out to amplifier. Doesn't distort at full volume. Easy user interface. Great tuning capability. Phone works great.

Cons: Some technical knowledge required to tune crossovers if you are using amplifiers.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fort Lauderdale

Victor from Fort Lauderdale on 1/10/2021

2017 Subaru Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this radio in my Subaru 2017 Crosstrek Limited. I used the Scosche SU2031B Dash Kit, the iDatalink HRN-RR-SU2 Interface Harness with the iDatalink maestro interface. My backup camera works, my steering wheel controls work and the radio functions well. It does take a few seconds to boot up, but once running is responsive. I referred to Crutchfield's wiring harness data and the maestro wiring data to get it all pre-wired on my bench before installation. There were some differences that I had to figure out and a fair number of extra connectors from the iDatalink interface and the maestro module that were not needed. Also, my factory radio had a square 4 pin connector on the back that is not shown on any diagram. This connector goes to the two USB ports in the console of the Crosstrek. There was also a small coaxial connector on the back of the OEM radio for the XM antenna. I didn't opt for the XM addition. I had to call Crutchfield customer service to confirm this. They are sending an adapter so I can use the USB ports. Additionally, the Crutchfield removal notes for my radio were not accurate. There is a data module under the OEM radio that needs to be retained (that wasn't mentioned) as well as there weren't any AC cables that needed to be removed to get to the 10MM bolts on the side of the OEM radio. I was able to get to these bolts with a deep socket and extension. Care must be taken to get all the wiring in behind the new radio. Very Happy!

Pros: Works great. Fits great. Lots of EQ adjustments!

Cons: A little slow on boot up.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

5/5

Crutchfield customer from Omaha, NE on 1/3/2021

2009 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Double Din

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 12/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this Radio. I wanted it for the navigation easy to use interface. It did need an update which was easy to do. I would recommend it to anyone

Pros: Garmin Navigation Easy to use interface Nice Screen quality Face response touch screen

Cons: Boot up a little slow

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Superior Customer Service

Michael from OREFIELD, PA on 12/23/2020

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Kenwood unit was a replacement for a 10 year old Kenwood/GPS unit that I also bought from Crutchfield. The new tech had changed a lot in 10 years and I wanted the newest maps, safety, and phone features. The new tech is amazing and the user interface very easy to use (aka very intuitive). I worked with the Crutchfield staff to figure out the best overall upgrade package and integrated a new dashcam, satellite radio, etc. in the end. The unit did not work with Apple Carplay at first, but a quick call to Crutchfield fixed that with a new firmware update that was needed. They of course new immediately what to do. The real value is the Crutchfield customer support who never gave up on me as we worked though an intermittent glitch that plagued me for weeks. We nailed down the cause eventually which turned out to be a bad wiring harness in the end. Anyone can sell you nice gear, but Crutchfield backs it up with superior technical assistance and knowledge. And of course their prices are very competitive too.

Pros: Wireless Apply Carplay, Integrated Dashcam, easy user interface.

Cons: The wiring harness can be a little intimidating at first as you work through the installation, but read the directions and call Crutchfield if needed for help. It would be nice if there was a true "plug and play" option for the harness, but I know that would be implausible with so many different vehicles.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy to use

Crutchfield customer from Edwards, NY on 12/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great system, simple to use. The sound coming out of this receiver was great enough that we did not need to replace the speakers in our vehicle. We thought both the radio and speakers were bad but it turned out we just had a crappy radio. The GPS is easy to use also. We are not techie people and will probably never use half the options this has but we are very happy with the radio receiver and the GPS.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood DNR876S

Crutchfield customer from Riverside, CA on 11/30/2020

2011 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed about 10 days ago and I am really pleased with this receiver. Improved the sound with stock speakers (no factory amp). Bright screen, really helpful with the back up camera. Haven't found anything I don't like about it yet.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood DNR876S

Crutchfield customer from Middleburg, FL on 11/28/2020

2005 Honda Accord EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love my new stereo. It amazing!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Decent

Crutchfield customer from Fair Oaks, CA on 11/24/2020

2019 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After meticulous research, I went with this stereo. It's got all the features I wanted: HD Radio, GPS, and Android Auto. GPS is Garmin which I grew up with and so I'm used to them and their maps. Definitely more friendly and easier to figure out than Pioneer's GPS navigation on my NEX 7200. Android Auto is what it is like on any other stereo. HD Radio is good, just a little cumbersome to figure out how to operate (Seek vs Favorites button isn't clear, it looks like you can't press a seek button to go between saved channels, it only seeks the frequencies). I did read through the manuals and of course will have to poke around some more to get used to this since I'm used to Pioneer's. And maybe it's just me, but I feel like this receiver does take longer to start up than my Pioneer does. Not a huge deal, but if I want to use the onboard nav instead of my android auto, it can take 10 seconds after I start the car before it finally shows me a screen I can proceed on. Overall, I'm happy with it for the price. If I had a few hundred more, I'd probably have gone with the Pioneer, but the price difference is definitely worth getting this one. This was already going to be an expensive upgrade, and I did do the install myself. I'm an IT guy by trade, so soldering wasn't unfamiliar territory, and the rest of it was just finding which plugs plug into which thing. Not bad... if you can solder, you can install this yourself. I was surprised how easy it was. Just took a few hours!

Pros: Garmin GPS, HD Radio, Android Auto, Easy install

Cons: Slow to boot up

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Kenwood DNR876S Review

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 11/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Initially, I was very impressed with this unit. Since getting a chance to dig into the full capabilities, I've found the Apple CarPlay to have a few connection issues, likely due to a the BlueTooth connection rather than CarPlay itself. The layout of the user interface is great, and very intuitive. Going beyond what any audio head unit should do, the Kenwood DNR876S provides a very cool trip computer, and a eco-Challenge to fully geek out on. The integration of HD Radio, SiriusXM, Apple CarPlay, and three camera inputs, all on one interface has made my 2010 Tacoma just as nice a 2020 model. Excellent product by Kenwood.

Pros: HD Radio, SiriusXM, Apple CarPlay integration in one head unit.

Cons: Bluetooth connectivity is tricky if connecting multiple devices.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood DNR876S

Crutchfield customer from Winston, OR on 11/21/2020

2004 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome!

Crutchfield customer from Elkhorn, WI on 11/13/2020

2011 Ford F-250

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome unit! I'm very pleased with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood DNR876S

Crutchfield customer from Hokes Bluff, AL on 11/1/2020

2008 GMC Canyon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit, but alot of wires would recommend having someone install it for you

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood DNR876S

Crutchfield customer from Longdale, OK on 10/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

nice head unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood DNR876S

Crutchfield customer from Williamsburg, VA on 10/11/2020

2012 Ford F-250

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Slow boot time and delay between phone on android auto otherwise this would be five stars. This absolutely brought the stereo to life in my F250 with the Clarion system. It brought my 8-year-old truck up to today's standards in terms of technology. I had to do some custom wiring to get the backup camera to work but it is doable. Overall I'm very pleased.

Pros: Wireless Android auto and excellent sound customization.

Cons: Very slow to boot up and major delay on Android auto.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Kenwood DNR876S

Crutchfield customer from Camby, IN on 10/7/2020

1997 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great quality easy to install instructions very easy to follow

Pros: good quality easy to install

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Sounding, Clean Install

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 10/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this into a 2000 Mazda Miata with the Bose music system. It took me about 8 hours to complete the install. I had to extend the wiring harness about 6 inches to move the amplifier adapter from behind the head unit (it's kind of tight back there!!!). I did not have to use the suggested dash kit to install. I'm totally pleased with the unit and the sound is great. The install is really clean. The XM adapter is behind the unit and both the GPS and satellite antennas are both on the dash close to the windshield. They look like original installations. Check out the pictures of the finished product!!! The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because the power antenna lead is always hot when the unit is powered on regardless of the music source. It annoying to me that the antenna is up when I'm listening to FLAC files. I'm still extremely pleased with the product.

Pros: Great Sound, Integrated seamlessly with Factory amplifier and speakers. Clean install.

Cons: Power antenna stays up regardless of music source

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood DNR876S

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 10/2/2020

2015 Nissan Xterra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, easy to install! Love the wireless car play.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A great unit for the money

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, WA on 9/25/2020

2014 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit, Lots of features and improved the overall sound in my car.

Pros: Good price with all the options

Cons: A bit slow to start up.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood DNR876S

Crutchfield customer from Lompoc, CA on 6/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 8 found this helpful

Amazing sound and useful. Map updates are problematic.

Crutchfield customer from CAMERON, NC on 6/27/2020

2008 Chevrolet Silverado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing head unit for use on roadtrips. Pairs nicely with the Maestro for my truck. Also got the dash cam system for it too, so the Kenwood DRV-N520 works perfectly with this setup. The Garmin GPS is a win in my book, however, it has a problem of not wanting to update the onboard maps to the most recent release of the maps published (series 2020.0 released in early June). Does read from SD card which entirely hinders your use for using the SD card port as a music source. Plus won't accept any other extras (such as the vehicle Icon). What happens with the Garmin GPS on the head unit: Note - Head unit is already on the latest firmware update from 11OCT2019. I am not aware of any new releases at this point. 1. You plug in the SD card, you run the update function on the head unit GPS section to write a control file. 2. Take said card to your computer, run Garmin Express, obtain/purchase the map*. 3. Download map to SD card until you get the confirmation note. 4. Take said card to the headunit. (ensure engine is running to keep power going) 5. Allow it to reboot so that it access the maps on said card. 6. Access Garmin > Setup > Device Setup > Update. GPS complains that you must visit the website and perform everything from step 1 all over again. *Only purchased once (thankfully)

Pros: Amazing sound and ample amounts of features.

Cons: Garmin GPS does not update the onboard maps at all.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Awesome Support and Love The Radio

Felisha from Milwaukee, WI on 5/7/2020

2009 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this head unit. This has all of the features that we were looking for and then some. I install this in a 2012 Toyota FJ Cruiser. There was a hiccup when installing this as the steering wheel buttons weren't functioning. Crutchfield quickly sent a replacement Maestro which turned out not to be the issue. After a few phone calls we finally figured it out. I'm glad that they have a knowledgeable and patient support staff. Also dealing with my salesperson, Nemo, was great as well. The GPS is a Garmin which I'm already familiar with. The USB ports are being used for charging and to link my phone to the radio if needed. The icons are all configurable and setup was a snap after everything was sorted out.

Pros: The Ready Harness Service is awesome Radio is highly configurable Great sound out of the box

Cons: Didn't get the problem sorted out right away I wish the fit kit looked better

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 5 found this helpful

2005 Mustang GT with Shaker 1000 - Works Great

Crutchfield customer from Corona, CA on 5/2/2020

2005 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this DNR876S in January 2020; Crutchfield did a first rate job in packing and shipping. Installed in my 2005 Mustang GT with a Shaker 1000 system. INSTALLATION Crutchfield recommended Metra dashboard installation kit is absolutely necessary. While I get it's a "one size fits all" it is pretty wasteful to include single DIN and other parts that will go straight to the trash. GET THE READY HARNESS SERVICE. I'm an experienced car stereo installer since the 1980s and it saved me a lot of hassle. The camera power wire is not apparent in the harness, and was useless since it only puts out +7VDC. Crutchfield "custom" instructions are big on taking interior panels apart but had NO detail with regard to connecting power wires or stereo-specific functions such as RCA plugs for the Sub. RADIO Very long boot time, followed by an idiot lawyer screen. Sound from radio/USB doesn't start until lawyer screen goes away, which can be some 25 seconds. UI is good, I'm very pleased with its flexibility and the sound quality is very good. Shaker 1000 sub is powered well by the unit. Navigation works well. I'm puzzled by the grayed out apps for gauges, code reader, and other functions that clearly are disabled. There doesn't seem to be any way of plugging this unit in to OBDII to activate those features. Radio clearly shouts "aftermarket" in dash, but that's what it is right? Overall for a radio/bluetooth/NAV system I am very happy with this unit.

Pros: - Modern UI, reasonably customizable - User friendly Garmin navigation, easy to update - Good sound

Cons: - Quite a few grayed out functions, such as code reader function, car gauges - "Drive by" instruction manual, some functions/settings unclear from the instructions - Rear view camera power lead unusable to power camera - Extra long boot time, this is pretty annoying - Lawyer disclaimer screen that is very intrusive and cannot be turned off! 10 second delay really? I GET IT. I AGREE. Now I NEVER WANT TO SEE THAT SCREEN AGAIN.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

13 of 14 found this helpful

Great unit.....sometimes.

Randy from Victoria, British Columbia on 11/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit, sounds good but iPhone connections is spotty. Sometimes it recognizes my phone and connects CarPlay, other times it doesn't and I have to go through a bunch of menu items to manually link my phone. Very annoying. There is one button on the front for screen mirroring, easy to accidentally hit it and then you have to go through all the menu items to get CarPlay working again. Not very seamless. When it does work, the wireless connection is great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 15 found this helpful

Amazing sound, with another nagging issue

Chris from Pensacola, FL on 9/17/2019

2012 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced my Clarion NX604 with this Kenwood DNR876S multimedia receiver. This unit has amazing sound quality and is easily adjustable to meet your listening needs. There are so many features that are not only desirable, but they're also user friendly!! Kenwood has hit the nail on the head when it comes to a total package multimedia receiver. The screen is crystal clear and very responsive. Radio reception is better than before and user friendly controls make navigating a snap! Great job! My only complaint is with the wireless Apple CarPlay. There is a speed signal input requirement for "wireless" CarPlay" to work. While I do have a good signal going to the receiver, the receiver throws a caution telling me to connect the signal wire. At that point, "wireless" Apple CarPlay will no longer work. The fantastic folks at Crutchfield shipped a new unit to me today. Hopefully this is the issue!! Fingers crossed!!

Pros: Great sound quality Great radio reception Many useful features Tons of expandibility options It offers peace of mind for those travelling and considering what this unit has to offer...the price isn't so bad.

Cons: Speed sensor to receiver interface is horrible. Super annoyed at the fact that I'm replacing a stereo that is less than a week old.

Crutchfield response on

18 of 18 found this helpful

TOP