Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
945 259 531 4
Connect ID #
945 259 531 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood Excelon DNX697S

Navigation receiver

MFR # DNX697S

Kenwood Excelon DNX697S

Kenwood Excelon DNX697S

Navigation receiver

MFR # DNX697S

25 reviews
View this product

Nice unit

Eric from Blaine, WA on 9/28/2022

2011 Honda CRV EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice unit and at it's current price it's a good deal for the money

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX697S

Mark from Baltimore, MD on 7/27/2022

2014 Dodge Challenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Alot to say about this head unit. Some good some not. First, the sound is awesome. I replaced the speakers first and that was a huge improvement. So huge I almost didn't change the head unit. I'm so glad I did. Kenwood's audio is excellent. Brought out all the frequencies I was missing. With the equalizer I could finely tune the unit to my taste. Love the Hd tuner as well. Much better than analog. I retained my factory amp, so I had to use the speaker outputs, which basically makes the crossover settings useless. I'm not sure anyone would need them but I guess it's good to have if needed. I have a powered sub, so the sub crossover is also useless to me. For the not so good. The screen is finicky. Trying to swipe to a different page is very difficult. Sometimes it works sometimes not. Especially the home screen. You must swipe on the actual widget to change the page. If not, the screen changes to whatever you touch. I actually got stuck on the second home page and it took about 20 swipes to get back to the original. I just keep it there. Also trying to scroll like on the tuner to see your presets tends to select the preset your finger hits first, instead of scrolling. Luckily there are up/down buttons for that. I'm also not thrilled with the search functions. But that's a personal preference. Bluetooth works good, but I can only text through android auto. My crappy uconnect could at least let me hear incoming messages. Lastly, source pages are kind of plain.

Pros: Audio section is awesome Kenwood , plenty of user adjustments

Cons: Lack of text messaging, insensitive screen, although the manual is over 100 pages, it is still lacking in clarity.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX697S

John from Henderson, NV on 7/27/2022

2007 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a awesome Radio so glad I purchased this one it has everything and then some

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX697S

David from Webster, NH on 7/26/2022

2005 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this kenwood to up grade modernize my 2005 jeep it looks great and more importantly it works great a little fabrication was necessary for fitment into the hole but all and all very happy with the purchase

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX697S

Eldean from Ladson, SC on 7/23/2022

2010 Ford F-150 King Ranch

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The unit looks great and function per all the reviews. It brought my 2010 F150 Lariat into the 2020s

Pros: Easy install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX697S

Patrick from Diamond Bar, CA on 6/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Super unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

25 y.o. 300ZX Twin Turbo Install

David from Friendsville, TN on 6/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing functionality !- You will be blown away at all the bells and whistles this unit has built in - Kenwood engineers really put a lot into the real world functionality of this head unit. I bought the DNX695S primarily for the GPS, XM radio and Multiple (4) Camera Inputs - Installed in a Z32 (1996) Nissan 300ZX TT sports car after finding a double-DIN console bezel to fit as I was committed to not making any cuts, drilling holes or hacking into OEM wiring harnesses of this 25 y.o. vintage collector stock car w/ 21,400mi. - Sound quality through Crutchfield purchased (4) Infinity 6" speakers and Infinity low-profile Subwoofer is nothing short of amazing - can hear the frequency spectrum like never before with my marginal hearing. (too much R&R and Chain saws throughout my 66 years ;) Still discovering all the configurable sound tailoring functions to customize for the interior of this small but unique cars' interior. I would give it 5-stars but I know there are higher quality (but more expensive) head units out there. Only negative aspects I came across so far are --- 1) Takes awhile (almost 15 secs.) to boot up pgm. when starting - 2) Reboots when going from running vehicle to ACC key position 3) Was difficult to install on brackets for perfect alignment in my 300ZX Twin Turbo car console bezel - but that's not Kenwoods fault and I am very satisfied it fit in the depth dimension with room for cooling at all. Still learning the nuances of the unit so more Stars p

Pros: Amazing Sound Quality through Infinity Speaker + Subwoofer - GPS perfect Nav. - Camera adaptability is everything I asked for - Seemingly infinite sound tailoring functionality for the interior of your vehicle -

Cons: Takes 15+ sec. to boot from ignition 'ON' and reboots from car running to 'ACC' key position - Screen brightness in full sun needs to be brighter and auto-adapting to ambient conditions -

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

Not an upgrade...

James from East Alton, IL on 6/9/2022

2012 GMC Canyon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

i bought the DNX697 to replace my failed DNX6990 after 8 years. I expected an upgrade but not so. 1. I hate the tiny volume buttons vs. the normal knob on the 6990 2. Still can't find a way to quickly mute the audio (6990 just push the volume knob). 3. For over $1000 they include a "Quick Start Guide", I had to download and print the 133 page manual from Kenwood. 4. I still can't get the traffic feature to work (have to have a smart phone connected, which I do), free on the 6990. 5. The menu systems is way too cumbersome. 6. Every time I try to add a radio preset by scrolling the list it selects the station. 7. The list could go on... The 6990 is a much more desirable radio for me and I should have researched repair options further. Lesson learned.

Pros: Good sound Many features (some useless)

Cons: See above review

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Outstanding Tech Support

Phillip from Chandler, AZ on 5/23/2022

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good Product; Excellent Support. Installed in my 2nd gen Tacoma; super tight fit (recommend getting a shallow unit that's not so deep to save yourself struggling to get everything in there). Unit works as advertised with room for future expansion. Had to call tech support for hands free set up. Call was quickly answered and provided expert help with email photos to assist. VERY impressed. First time customer that will be back for more based on their high level of customer support.

Pros: Expandability, Features, Audio Settings

Cons: Deep unit for tight spaces

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Choice for C5 Corvette

Vincent from Marco Island, FL on 5/9/2022

2001 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I would consider myself a novice installer, but between the Kenwood instructions and those provided by Crutchfield, along with the Metra DP-3021B Dash Kit (also provided by Crutchfield) this was a much easier install than I expected in my (very custom) 2001 Corvette Convertible. It looks and sounds great, and I now have a modern, Bluetooth enabled, stereo with screen mirroring for navigation from WAZE, Apple Maps, or Google Maps. I have several classic cars and , thanks to Bluetooth, I always have access to use Apple music on my i-Phone , along with the Sirius XM app.

Pros: Along with the Metra DP-3021B Dash Kit , looks "factory"

Cons: I've seen You-tube videos where people use a grinder or Dremel to cut the old brackets , but a 90 degree drill bit attachment is helpful for drilling out the rivets from the old 1.5 DIN radio brackets .

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX697S

Dale from Cedarville, NJ on 5/4/2022

2009 Ford F-450

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX697S

Rick from Springfield, MO on 3/31/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just got it hooked up last night but everything so far is excellent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great unit, superior quality, rapid install

Michael from Littleton, CO on 9/4/2021

2009 Saab 9-7X

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a GREAT head unit! I have a 2009 Saab 9-7x (aka Chevy TrailBlazer with some Swedish touches). The Unit - FANTASTIC! Installation was quick, efficient, and just as outlined in the instructions sent from Crutchfield and Kenwood. It has multiple features, many of which I will likely not use. I won't use the INRIX traffic app, nor the weather feature as those are so poorly rated in the Google Play Store that I can't justify wasting my time with it. But the balance of the features are superior. Garmin maps are solid and easily updated using Garmin Express. All Bluetooth connections are great! (FYI, if you have a SiriusXM subscription, you can Bluetooth that into this device. I used to have five subscriptions, one for each of my cars. Now, I have one and Bluetooth into all of them -- a $400/yr savings.) AM/FM/HD work great. CD works great. Phone works great. Backup cam works great. It's just a superior unit and has made a world of difference. Crutchfield Support - They have been fantastic. I had one question because everything else was so well laid out. Crutchfield Accessories - I did buy the SmartHarness package and it works like a dream! There is FULL steering wheel control compatibility with the way that Crutchfield's SmartHarness package was integrated into the package. This install went so fast that I was SURE I missed something...but I didn't. It all worked like a charm. Can you TELL I AM THRILLED?!?!?

Pros: Solid GPS Great stereo, Bluetooth, & CD Fast install Quality product Superior support

Cons: No ability to transfer "saved locations" from other mobile Garmin GPS platforms (really dumb) I didn't buy it sooner

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great, but BEWARE !

John from MIDDLE VILLAGE, NY on 7/7/2021

2017 Honda HR-V EX-L

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love this radio so far, BUT a huge heads up warning for some: It only works with certain later ipod and itouch models -check the instructions beforehand (my old click wheel that was used to store music and i left in the glovebox will not communicate anymore) ALSO for the 2017 HR-V CRUTCHFIELD DOES NOT TELL YOU that even with the Maestro idatalink you lose any factory Sirius radio - you cannot retain it. So now i have to get another Sirirus XM module and figure out how to either connect the Honda XM antenna to it, or how to run and use the XM antenna (that I now have to buy) that is in the sharkfin - UGH ! the 'complete kits' they sell are not so complete, and they are not 100% upfront and warn you about this. Great radio so far - just some more stuff to work out until i am 100% complete with install. Kenwood Navigation is 100X more friendly than HONDA's, the sound staging really blows away the OEM radio ( i finally get real use out of my aftermarket speakers !), and the interface is quicker and less infuriating than the Honda system. I may update this review soon.

Pros: Fantastic sound and features. I wish the Maestro came with more documentation to set up initially.

Cons: need to inform people about loss of factory XM etc.(IMO)

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX697S

Crutchfield customer from Woodhaven, NY on 4/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great screen quality. Very sensitive screen. Great sound reproduction

Pros:

Cons: Does not support wireless apple play

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX697S

Phil from Las Vegas, NV on 3/23/2021

2015 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'll give this a solid 4 because it is a good upgrade from the stock MyLink that came in my Camaro. I notice a clarity in sound that I hadn't had with the stock radio. The functions on it are great. Seamless integration using the Maestro module. I did lose my console USB, but I gained two that are easier to use with the dual USB connections and the iDatalink dash kit. Having Android Auto functionality has been a welcome change. I installed the SiriusXM tuner as well, and with the SAT 1 connector was able to use my OEM antenna with no issue. I also installed the DRV n520 dash cam and it works so well with the whole package. Be sure to read carefully about the Kenwood traffic app. It gets poor ratings and I think it's the weakest part of the whole package. However, there's a tidbit in the radio manual about a certain setting you need to enable. Once I figured it out, the traffic function has worked quite well. Problem is you need the smart phone. Overall, a good investment that has made my Camaro even more enjoyable on the road.

Pros: Clear sound, nice equalizer, customizable, dual USB, nice screen, add on camera is integrated well, plays well with iPod, Android Auto capability, enhanced the backup camera function

Cons: Can't scroll through saved satellite channels with my wheel controls. Traffic function is okay, but wish it wasn't phone dependent.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX697S

Crutchfield customer from Plainfield, NJ on 2/21/2021

2003 Chevrolet Astro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Best of the best... top of the line. Easy install and features above and beyond all the rest.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Solid unit

Crutchfield customer from Portland, ME on 11/22/2020

2012 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a fantastic unit that is easy to navigate and offers a bunch of features. Be aware that it does not do apple car play via wireless.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

8 of 8 found this helpful

DNX697S

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 11/22/2020

2008 Chevrolet Silverado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

a great unit easy to install has great features glad I bought it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great expandability!

Crutchfield customer from Philomath, OR on 11/13/2020

2009 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I chose this DNX model after reviewing several units with Navigation. I did want the option with an optical drive. With the ability to add vehicle metrics using Maestro, SiriusXM, multiple cameras, and customizing what is displayed, this model leaves little to want for. I have had it in for a few weeks before reviewing and do not really have any negative comments to add. You will need to add a separate app to get the weather widget to work but that is not an issue since that just adds more features to this.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX697S

Crutchfield customer from Kennesaw, GA on 9/15/2020

1999 Lexus LX470

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This system is full of features and works great. Couldn't be happier.

Pros: Full of Features

Cons: The Manual could contain more detail.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX697S

Crutchfield customer from Lewiston, ID on 9/5/2020

2011 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just put it in it's working great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Lovin' Kenwood

Crutchfield customer from Sachse, TX on 9/3/2020

2009 Ford E Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My first DNX crashed at 7 years old, and I could not live without. these are awesome tools for my vehicle. easy to input and follow the garmin maps. bluetooth is easy, just a few steps to set up, Cd and DVD plays simply and it looks great.

Pros: The whole thing is awsome.

Cons: Map updates are a pain and expensive.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Best decision I made

Robert from Brockton, MA on 8/1/2020

2016 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great unit. So much better than my old Entunes system in my 2016 Avalon.

Pros: Apple CarPlay and ease of use

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

awesome

Crutchfield customer from Tilton, NH on 7/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Buying this head unit from Crutchfield could not have been a better decision! First they provide you with step by step instructions on how to do the installation. Second they provide you with awesome phone support when you are too brain dead to follow the instructions Third this unit is AMAZING, it does everything you can imagine, at least 2 different ways. The sound through the stock speakers is amazing. Finally, cry me a river that you can't wait the 30 seconds it takes to boot up so that the rear cam is active. What did you do prior to 2000? Either wait or turn your head like we used to I planti buy the exact unit now for my winter vehicle, I love this unit so much and the installation went so smooth

Pros: garmin xm not married to cell service

Cons: it wasn't free

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound