Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
428 756 563 3
Connect ID #
428 756 563 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Navigation receiver

MFR # DNX996XR

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Navigation receiver

MFR # DNX996XR

41 reviews
View this product

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Crutchfield customer from Trabuco Canyon, CA on 5/15/2020

2017 Subaru WRX STI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love it!!!

Crutchfield customer from Wabash, IN on 4/5/2020

2011 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it!!! This unit brought my 2011 camry into the modern era of technology as far as features and functionality. My stock radio had no Bluetooth options , back up camera , or any of the vehicle interface info. Now I can use apple CarPlay wirelessly, I can monitor battery voltage, tire pressure, intake temp, throttle percentage and muck more from my screen. Navigation is also amazing!

Pros: Wireless CarPlay, vehicle monitors,Bluetooth, retained steering wheel controls

Cons: Boot up time, complexity of install

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Crutchfield customer from Milford, MI on 4/1/2020

2009 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installing into a 2009 GMC Sierra 2500 had slt you need to remove some dash plastic behind the radio to get it to fit. Some of the connections interfere with the dash Also takes a bit to boot up. Otherwise a great addition to my truck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Crutchfield customer from Kansas City, KS on 3/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio. Very user-friendly. Superb support from Crutchfield to deal with the speed sensor wire.

Pros:

Cons: apparently there is a firmware upgrade. This would allow you to bypass the speed sensor wire.Upgrade should be easier to accomplish. Additionally, if the phone is not turned on, the screen constantly goes to an annoying advertisement for CarPlay

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Norman from West Sacramento on 3/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Receiver keeps rebooting itself. Just randomly turns itself off then back on. Had it installed at the #1 shop in my city. I'll be driving and it'll reset itself the most is three times on a 90 mile commute. Getting old. Once I can handle but three times? Otherwise it sounds wonderful paired to couple Zapco amplifiers a 150.6 and a sub amp.

Pros: Great unit when working. Love all the mini windows & notifies you of messages that can be replied to via voice. Nice.

Cons: Shuts off to dang much. Guaranteed once while driving and maybe more.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Crutchfield customer from Mission Viejo, CA on 3/10/2020

2008 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced factory head unit in a Dodge Ram Mega Cab. I had already replaced the factory speakers. I was expecting some improvement in sound quality but the DNX996XR far exceeded my expectations. It plays many file formats. I have all my music stored uncompressed as .wav files. I can plug in the hard drive or create playlists on usb. The sound quality between .wav, mp3, wired android auto and bluetooth android auto is very obvious with this unit.

Pros: Plays .wav files and just about any other file from a usb source.

Cons: I have yet to find a way to dim the screen. My choices so far are off, bright and staring at the sun.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Crutchfield customer from Medinah, IL on 3/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I think the unit is great. I wish the boot time was faster though, and have an aux audio in for a mope other than iPod with a 1/8 pin jack. Great tech help from all at Crutchfield

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Glad I jumped

Crutchfield customer from Pleasant Hill, CA on 2/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My former head unit flat out quit. It had a back up camera and a nav feature which I liked so I began reading about replacements. I settled on this Kenwood unit because it has many similar features to the old unit and I am very happy I chose it. No problem with wiring it in, the display is easy to see, the capacitive touch screen is awesome, and the many features are fairly user friendly. I just need time to learn and remember them! I'm not sure why but the sound from this deck is far superior to my old one. Both have equalizers built in but this Kenwood blows the old one away. The Garmin map is also very familiar and easy to use. Nice product!

Pros: Capacitive touch screen, user friendly, great sound!

Cons: The cost.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Awesome Product!

John from Fredericksburg, VA on 2/12/2020

2007 Cadillac Escalade ESV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Alright I am going to give this product five stars! I've only had it for about a day, but thanks to crutchfield I was able to install this beast within about an hour an a half. Thanks to their Ready Harness service, they save me some splicing; shout out to Howard who did a great job on splicing the wires (no loose connections), shout out to Veronica for packing of all my items. I highly recommend the ready harness service if you buy this unit and installation gear, it would have taken a long time. Overall the product integrated well with my Escalade's interior and functions smoothly. The device shows like it was expensive. The screen is crystal clear and the movies that play on it look magnificent. If you want a unit that functions like it came with the vehicle, this is it. Worth every penny!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Crutchfield customer from Oceanside, CA on 2/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The installation was not very difficult using the quick wire connectors I purchased with the radio. I have not yet connected my phone to the unit to test Android auto. The Garmin navigation works great. Radio reception in my area is poor. The Kenwood works as well or slightly better than the Alpine unit it replaced.

Pros: Looks and works great. Brings my 2007 Tacoma up to date.

Cons: No room to install the steering wheel control module.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Ok, but for the money...

Crutchfield customer from Attleboro, MA on 2/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this unit to replace the factory Entune unit in my 2017 Toyota Highlander for the features and the ability to retain the factory control s and hands free operation when used along with the iDatalink Maestro RR. I wanted the many input sources such SD card, USB, Bluetooth. I also wanted the NAV for the times when I'm in an area with no cell coverage. The primary feature I was looking for to go with th features was good front end audio performance. As I have an outboard amp the Kenwood's power didn't matter to me. Finally, as I am an iPhone user and often stream from my phone I wanted to use Apple CarPlay which I had not prior to this. The wireless CarPlay seemed like a worthwhile option from reading other reviews. First, let me say this unit was a beast to install along with the Maestro RR as the two units together take up a lot of space. I had to unwrap and separate both the factory harness and the prebuilt adapter harness I purchased with the unit in order to move everything out of the way and into the available spaces. Once I had it all in I felt like I had achieved a major accomplishment as I don't do this for a living! I've spent the first few weeks with this unit learning the audio features, finding which sources work best for me, and how to live with or overcome some of the annoyances. As I'm running out of space here I've listed those in the pros and cons but in summary I'm finding this unit a little "flakey" as it has rebooted on me twice already.

Pros: Good audio section - sounds great Access to hi rez audio through SD card is fast Wirelesss CarPlay

Cons: It's rebooted on me twice in a couple of weeks. Front face stuck in open position a couple of times - had to shut off the unit to get to close when this happened. Long startup time compounded by warning screen. Audio file search menu - listed alphabetically and not grouped into subgroups. No simple way to disconnect wireless CarPlay if I want to use Bluetooth instead?

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Crutchfield customer from Wichita Falls on 1/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like it but found out I could of got it new for around the price or so of their used one here. I learned to talk to the own or several people of the store around your area before buying something. If they tell you their new come back and talk to someone else at that store. Learned that to on this item.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 6 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 1/20/2020

2013 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome Stereo!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Crutchfield customer from Chandler, AZ on 1/7/2020

2014 Nissan Murano

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Has everything I need. The screen is bright and clear even in sunlight. The angled screen really makes a difference. Wireless Android auto was easy setup. Audio cell communication is clear both transmitting and receiving. GPS acquisition is quick. Time alignment and equalization for audio can't be as good as a dedicated processor but it's good enough for me. It works well. I have not connected the cameras yet but expect that to work well. The only drawback I see is the boot up time at engine start, much like many similar units. Overall, I am pleased. My wife loves it since it is in her vehicle (Nissan Murano).

Pros: Everything I need including GPS, Android Auto, Great audio features. The angled screen helps more than I expected.

Cons: Boot up time is slow, as is most comparable units.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

A serious upgrade

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 1/2/2020

2008 Saturn Sky

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This does everything I could have hoped for, with some minor comments. I still have a few things to calibrate (backup camera, source input levels, and speaker settings), but this is a serious upgrade from my factory radio. I selected all the Crutchfield recommendation for a complete install. Installation comments: The aftermarket bezel must be installed with as much room to the top as possible, otherwise the tray will not open.; The GPS antenna pad did not stick to my dash (but neither did a lot of glues I tried); The unit takes some serious time to boot (~18 seconds) which I will need to get accustomed too compared to OEM. CarPlay integration works well if you don't treat it like a BT headset (do everything from the car don't try to call with your phone and expect the mic and speakers to work as a headset does) - this was frustrating to learn. The unit does not include a pause input - this means that if you use onstar, the unit will likely be turned off until the call is done (remember boot time). I was able to update the firmware very easily - it even survived a power interruption.

Pros: Lots of flexibility, sounds better than OEM, Carplay works great

Cons: Boot time/Turn's off when Onstar is activated.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Crutchfield customer from Bettendorf, IA on 12/28/2019

2015 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent fitment with my 2015 F150. Wireless CarPlay works flawlessly. Was able to keep factory steering wheel controls. Sound quality is very good. Handsfree is very good. Screen quality is good, no pixelation. Ability to tilt screen to avoid glare.

Pros: Great fitment and wireless CarPlay.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Crutchfield customer from Macclenny , FL on 12/9/2019

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Easy to use and great picture and sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

After market NAV audio update

Crutchfield customer from Bartlett, TN on 10/29/2019

2008 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What's not to like? Took my 2008 Corvette into 2019. Great update. Like a new car.

Pros: Nice fit. Love the glass capacitive touch screen and hands free Apple CarPlay takes care of the rest. My new favorite line is Hey Siri.

Cons: Needed some tech help to overcome speed sensor error message restricting Bluetooth operation. Resolved finally with Crutchfield techs.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

nice radio

Crutchfield customer from Kalamazoo, MI on 10/19/2019

2011 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this radio is supper cool, and works, just like Kenwood said it was going to

Pros: hooks up to your phone wirelessly

Cons: the price is pretty steep right now.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 10/9/2019

2015 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wireless android auto is seamless and resumes right where it was left off. This integrated perfectly with both the K40 rl200di with maestro.

Pros: easy to use, simple but effective interface. you can move icons and customize how you want it to look.

Cons: Screen in my dash looks very small compared to my teslas, but thats how it is with double dinns. Not really any fault of the unit, i just wish there were better large options.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Ok, but...

Crutchfield customer from Barboursville, VA on 10/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Definitely, like the NAV models of this product line better only in that if you are not in a cellular service zone, you will be dead with just your phone. Back up for me. In general, my experience with Kenwood line has been about 4 stereos over the last 4 years. I got this for seamless apple play. Better know your speed pulse wire or the wireless apple play will be useless. I had to buy a Kenwood Speed Pulse OCDII adapter to make this work (and the fine details including Crutchfield did not tell me this) find out the hard way....I did. I have a 2008 Buick Enclave. Anyway, hooked that up and both the wireless car play and INRIX traffic (for the NAV) are working flawlessly now. Car Play sort of hijacks your phone and you must switch between interfaces every now and then--like XMSirius within the radio or within the carplay app...and texting via voice (which is car play) or grabbing your phone. The "eyes on the road" mentality of Apple is a bit annoying as the control over car play and what you want to do with your phone is a bit choppy at times/ and this unit or any unit utilizing car play. So far, I find most functions nice. The home screen, customizable yes if you figure it out. One thing I absolutely hate and Kenwood really dropped the ball on this and most recent stereos--is the inability to SEEK your XMSirius stations within your presets. I.e., you set preset favs channels and hit up/down and you go by presets. It only defaults to CHAN UP/DOWN. ANNOYING.

Pros: Nice unit, pretty interface if you can figure it out on your own. Bright as hell and not dimming but that is likely an installation issue. Fairly easy to operate with all modern features. DVD nice. NAV, nice. Rear Camera set up nice. Lots of add ons you can use.

Cons: Inability to seek through your FAV presets. Only can go UP/down channels. Especially lame on SiriusXM. Only can SEEK up/down like channel 4,5,6,7,8 and so forth. So if you have presets at channel 4, 20, 56, 225 on XM, hitting the up/down on your steering wheel--good luck! You will go 4,5,6,7 and you MUST go to the stereo itself to get to the desired preset,. Old Kenwood, had seek feature for presets. NOPE, not the new interface. Whatever. Almost enough to make me return it.

Crutchfield response on

20 of 22 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Crutchfield customer from Bethlehem, GA on 9/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it! Still learning all the cool features.

Pros: Everything clearly labeled. The pre-wired connection is a must b/c it simplified the install.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Crutchfield customer from Cabo Rojo , PR on 9/13/2019

2010 Mitsubishi Outlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product.

Pros: All features are awesome

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 7 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Phillip from Tucson, AZ on 8/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is great!!! I'm completely in love with it

Pros: Everything it does and more

Cons: Nothing in my opinion

Crutchfield response on

3 of 8 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Crutchfield customer from Puyallup, WA on 8/27/2019

2019 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit is awesome much better than the stock Toyota entune system. and with all the options from crutchfield the installation was a breeze

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

LAVEEN

Rick from LAVEEN on 8/20/2019

2014 Cadillac Escalade

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When Kenwood pulls their proverbial head out of their ass and adds HDMI input back in it would be a 5 star

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 19 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Crutchfield customer from Oklahoma City, OK on 8/19/2019

2014 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Huge improvement over the Alpine factory head unit in my Wrangler JK... and using the factory amp!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

2019 Toyota 4Runner TRD ORP.

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, CO on 8/11/2019

2019 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely awesome radio. I will tell you if you're not comfortable with doing the wiring have the pros at Crutchfield do it. Lots of wires and harness building. I did the more expensive charcoal color kit. Looks like factory only amazing.

Pros: All positives so far.

Cons: Harness and install kit are extensive. This really isn't a con only a heads up.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Kenwood makes great products!

Crutchfield customer from Albany, OR on 8/4/2019

2017 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter Camper Van

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Haven't used very much. However, quick thoughts after short ride. Love the touch screen which is what our other vehicles have but the one we replaced didn't have. Super easy to use. Really appreciate how easy it is to sync phones and go from one phone to the other. Only system we have that is that easy and fast! Love the ability to plug in Apple or Android phones. Beautiful screen.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Add options without buying a new vehicle

Crutchfield customer from Smyrna, TN on 8/2/2019

2010 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My 2010 F150 didn't have GPS or Back up camera options. A simple order at Crutchfields' and maybe half a days self install and more than the two options added. Their instructions and adapter kit made the install easy with just a few common hand tools. the Kenwood head unit adds a fresh updated look just like factory. The iData link maestro easily allowed me to retain the steering wheel controls and sync functions.

Pros: adds several camera inputs not just backup camera, 2 extra USB ports,simple well explained installation instructions

Cons: none that come to mind

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

10 of 10 found this helpful

Makes my Tundra feel like a new truck

Crutchfield customer from Rockwall, TX on 7/27/2019

2003 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used the ReadyHarness from Crutchfield. I found out they didn't connect the Metra female jack adapter for the Kenwood steering wheel controls. When I called them because the controller wasn't working, they knew exactly what the problem was right away. Only the Kenwoods have this mini-jack. The tech helped me and refunded me the ReadyHarness fees without asking. I was very impressed. There is a huge load of wires. I used the void from the factory amp to stash all the wires. Ensure you do this since there is a fan behind the radio. The screen is bright and looks great. It is a fingerprint magnet. I like how you can adjust the angel and the video playback quality is good. The Wireless Carplay works well; however, some menus required some thought like it took a few tries for me to find out how to connect my phone to Bluetooth. It takes about 10 seconds to startup, which is about the same as my wife's OEM navigation. This was my first aftermarket radio install. It was a little expensive even with the rebate being offered and discount. The audio quality is great even in factory speakers. There are more options for newer vehicles. Another reason it gets 4 stars is that the Kenwood accessory kit requires a hacksaw and double-sided tape if you wanted to use that instead of the Metra install kit. For a high-end product, this is just sad. The microphone for the handsfree is a little too big. I have it on my steering column, but it really stands out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

9 of 9 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Crutchfield customer from Hebron, IN on 7/22/2019

2011 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just finished the install in a 2011 F150 with Sync using the Maestro rr and so far it lives up to allow the great press. A couple of installation tips that weren't clear ( I am one of those guys that researches and reads everything). The vehicle speed sense wire is shown on the table as no connect. It actually connects to the pink wire in the radio harness. Furthermore you must remove the white plastic case which houses a diode. Had to remove everything twice to get it right. Now the CarPlay works fine. Also I was thinking about using the factory microphone instead of the one that comes with the radio. Oops. The factory mic only works for the Sync. Everything else needs the mic that plugs into the radio. All I all I love the system and it is worth the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Crutchfield customer from Sandusky, OH on 7/21/2019

2016 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks and works great in my 2016 Chevy Silverado, makes the truck look better than the stock radio. Got all gages on the stereo and sounds 10x better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Awesome

Crutchfield customer from Great Falls, MT on 7/20/2019

2012 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it!

Pros: Full color screen and reverse camera

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 7/14/2019

2008 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound , plug and play with Crutchfield's Ready Harness

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Exceeded my expectations

Brian from Bucks County, PA on 5/28/2019

1998 Acura 3.5RL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Kenwood DNX996XR, as I understand it, is their premier head unit. After struggling in deciding between the Pioneer and the Kenwood top of the line models, I finally settled on the Kenwood... I was NOT disappointed at all - in fact, this unit simply SOUNDS better than any vehicle head unit I've ever heard. The user interface is intuitive and snappy and offers a good deal of customization options. The screen is crystal clear and bright - even in direct sunlight, thanks to a decent anti-reflective coating. It does show its fair share of fingerprints, but this is a small price to pay for this AMAZING 720p display. There are features I can't speak to, like the multiple crossover options and such, and I do not have an Android phone, so I can't speak to the Android Auto features either. Having said that, I absolute LOVE the Wireless CarPlay functionality. This allows you to set up your iPhone (5 or newer) for a completely wireless connection. Most CarPlay connections must be hard-wired through the lightning cable of your phone - but THIS unit has amazing wireless capabilities. I start the car, and within 30 seconds or so, the phone simply connects with full CarPlay functionality. Only catch to you self-installers is that you must connect to the Vehicle Speed Sensor wire for Wireless CarPlay to work properly. I was replacing the factory unit in an effort to modernize a 1998 Acura RL with this unit. Picture attached!

Pros: Wireless CarPlay and beautiful hi-res display

Cons: Have not found any cons yet!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

17 of 18 found this helpful

Very happy owner

Crutchfield customer from Oxford, AL on 5/24/2019

2018 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Kenwood has exceeded my expectations so far, and I have yet to use all of its functions. If it conyinues to impress as it has so far I will continue to be very happy. Yes it is expensive, but it is the top of the line and I believe it is worth the price.

Pros: Interface is not difficult to learn. Features to cater to everyone. Sound quality is exceptional. Sound can be tailored to anyones taste.

Cons: Takes about 15-20 seconds to initially start up. Other than that nothing so far.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Was expecting more at this price

Matthew from Chattanooga, TN on 5/17/2019

2017 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter Passenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been waiting for the DNX996 since I saw it at the Consumer Electronics Show in January of this year - wireless Apple Carplay is a feature I've been waiting for on the Kenwood line. I went straight to the top-of-the-line and read every Tech Spec on the Crutchfield website - also considering the 9906 model for $500 less (the only real difference being Garmin Navigation). After using this in my vehicle for the last 2 weeks I must say at this price, I'm very disappointed. The User Interface is terrible - as much emphasis as consumers put on having a good UI, this Kenwood looks like it was programmed in the mid 1990's. The setup isn't intuitive, the instructions are essentially non-existent (given the rich feature set), and I had several questions that Kenwood support wasn't able to answer (what is the significance of the colors on the parking guidelines, the phone mirroring feature isn't explained, for example). Note - despite what you may be told, the Garmin maps are indeed update-able but at a fee - what's included when the unit is built is the version you get (my Crutchfield Rep said updates were free for 2 years). Similarly, the INRIX traffic subscription is advertised as free for 2 years but upon activation it's actually 4, which was good. Overall, the radio works as described and the wireless Apple Carplay is flawless. But at $1400, there really isn't that much difference between this model and a $500 JVC. Bottom line, I was expecting much more .

Pros: Wireless Carplay is flawless, lots of features, superior display / high quality. Get the Crutchfield pre-wired harness for $25 - its not hard to do yourself but sure does make life easier during the install.

Cons: Instructions are terrible, User Interface leaves much to be desired. Expected much more at this price. Consider the Kenwood 9906 for $500 less

Crutchfield response on

42 of 47 found this helpful

Love it!!

Brian from Indianapolis, IN on 5/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this unit!! Turned my good stereo into an amazing sound system. The maps are nice and clear. The screen is nothing short of fantastic. My 6 year old even commented on how good the picture is on the dvd. Still learning all the features, but the wireless CarPlay is awesome. Connects automatically every time I get in my Jeep. Highly recommend this unit!

Pros: Tons of features. Clear picture. Great sound. Easy to use.

Cons: CarPlay and Bluetooth can't be connected at the same time. Might be a wiring issue though. Still looking into this so may be user error. Otherwise none so far.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 12 found this helpful

Bullhead City

jason from Bullhead City on 5/2/2019

2014 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice unit, compliments from all my friends.Thank you Crutchfield, you've done it again,superb service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 6 found this helpful

Winner !!!

Crutchfield customer from Rochester, MN on 4/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This new DNX996XR seems to do it all. The Garming navigation with both lane assist and 3D is nice and clear. Hookup is straightforward and with Crutchfields "does it fit" feature you are gauranteed a good fit. I love the new Kenwood screen - it is nice and clear and the touch sensitivity works perfectly. While I am still learning the menu, I like that this model has the "swipe" feature that works like our cell phones so it seems a bit more intuative than prior models. This model withits camera inputed and aux input can have 3 cameras installed -- planning forward/back/dash cam. I installed the microphone at the headliner above the rearview mirror and the sound sensitivity picks up throughout the vehicle. You can't go wrong with the DNZ996XR. Can't wait to accessorise it.

Pros: Clear, touch sensitive, Screen. Not a deep, unit so easy to install with plenty of room in the dash. Great version of Garmin navigation with lane assist and 3D More intuitive than previous models.

Cons: Still looking

Crutchfield response on

30 of 30 found this helpful

TOP