Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Navigation receiver

MFR # DNX996XR

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Navigation receiver

MFR # DNX996XR

25 reviews
View this product

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Crutchfield customer from Macclenny , FL on 12/9/2019

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Easy to use and great picture and sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

After market NAV audio update

Crutchfield customer from Bartlett, TN on 10/29/2019

2008 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What's not to like? Took my 2008 Corvette into 2019. Great update. Like a new car.

Pros: Nice fit. Love the glass capacitive touch screen and hands free Apple CarPlay takes care of the rest. My new favorite line is Hey Siri.

Cons: Needed some tech help to overcome speed sensor error message restricting Bluetooth operation. Resolved finally with Crutchfield techs.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

nice radio

Crutchfield customer from Kalamazoo, MI on 10/19/2019

2011 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this radio is supper cool, and works, just like Kenwood said it was going to

Pros: hooks up to your phone wirelessly

Cons: the price is pretty steep right now.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 10/9/2019

2015 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wireless android auto is seamless and resumes right where it was left off. This integrated perfectly with both the K40 rl200di with maestro.

Pros: easy to use, simple but effective interface. you can move icons and customize how you want it to look.

Cons: Screen in my dash looks very small compared to my teslas, but thats how it is with double dinns. Not really any fault of the unit, i just wish there were better large options.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Ok, but...

Crutchfield customer from Barboursville, VA on 10/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Definitely, like the NAV models of this product line better only in that if you are not in a cellular service zone, you will be dead with just your phone. Back up for me. In general, my experience with Kenwood line has been about 4 stereos over the last 4 years. I got this for seamless apple play. Better know your speed pulse wire or the wireless apple play will be useless. I had to buy a Kenwood Speed Pulse OCDII adapter to make this work (and the fine details including Crutchfield did not tell me this) find out the hard way....I did. I have a 2008 Buick Enclave. Anyway, hooked that up and both the wireless car play and INRIX traffic (for the NAV) are working flawlessly now. Car Play sort of hijacks your phone and you must switch between interfaces every now and then--like XMSirius within the radio or within the carplay app...and texting via voice (which is car play) or grabbing your phone. The "eyes on the road" mentality of Apple is a bit annoying as the control over car play and what you want to do with your phone is a bit choppy at times/ and this unit or any unit utilizing car play. So far, I find most functions nice. The home screen, customizable yes if you figure it out. One thing I absolutely hate and Kenwood really dropped the ball on this and most recent stereos--is the inability to SEEK your XMSirius stations within your presets. I.e., you set preset favs channels and hit up/down and you go by presets. It only defaults to CHAN UP/DOWN. ANNOYING.

Pros: Nice unit, pretty interface if you can figure it out on your own. Bright as hell and not dimming but that is likely an installation issue. Fairly easy to operate with all modern features. DVD nice. NAV, nice. Rear Camera set up nice. Lots of add ons you can use.

Cons: Inability to seek through your FAV presets. Only can go UP/down channels. Especially lame on SiriusXM. Only can SEEK up/down like channel 4,5,6,7,8 and so forth. So if you have presets at channel 4, 20, 56, 225 on XM, hitting the up/down on your steering wheel--good luck! You will go 4,5,6,7 and you MUST go to the stereo itself to get to the desired preset,. Old Kenwood, had seek feature for presets. NOPE, not the new interface. Whatever. Almost enough to make me return it.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 15 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Crutchfield customer from Bethlehem, GA on 9/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it! Still learning all the cool features.

Pros: Everything clearly labeled. The pre-wired connection is a must b/c it simplified the install.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Crutchfield customer from Cabo Rojo , PR on 9/13/2019

2010 Mitsubishi Outlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product.

Pros: All features are awesome

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Phillip from Tucson, AZ on 8/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is great!!! I'm completely in love with it

Pros: Everything it does and more

Cons: Nothing in my opinion

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Crutchfield customer from Puyallup, WA on 8/27/2019

2019 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit is awesome much better than the stock Toyota entune system. and with all the options from crutchfield the installation was a breeze

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

LAVEEN

Rick from LAVEEN on 8/20/2019

2014 Cadillac Escalade

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When Kenwood pulls their proverbial head out of their ass and adds HDMI input back in it would be a 5 star

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 15 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Crutchfield customer from Oklahoma City, OK on 8/19/2019

2014 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Huge improvement over the Alpine factory head unit in my Wrangler JK... and using the factory amp!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

2019 Toyota 4Runner TRD ORP.

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, CO on 8/11/2019

2019 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely awesome radio. I will tell you if you're not comfortable with doing the wiring have the pros at Crutchfield do it. Lots of wires and harness building. I did the more expensive charcoal color kit. Looks like factory only amazing.

Pros: All positives so far.

Cons: Harness and install kit are extensive. This really isn't a con only a heads up.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Kenwood makes great products!

Crutchfield customer from Albany, OR on 8/4/2019

2017 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter Camper Van

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Haven't used very much. However, quick thoughts after short ride. Love the touch screen which is what our other vehicles have but the one we replaced didn't have. Super easy to use. Really appreciate how easy it is to sync phones and go from one phone to the other. Only system we have that is that easy and fast! Love the ability to plug in Apple or Android phones. Beautiful screen.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Add options without buying a new vehicle

Crutchfield customer from Smyrna, TN on 8/2/2019

2010 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My 2010 F150 didn't have GPS or Back up camera options. A simple order at Crutchfields' and maybe half a days self install and more than the two options added. Their instructions and adapter kit made the install easy with just a few common hand tools. the Kenwood head unit adds a fresh updated look just like factory. The iData link maestro easily allowed me to retain the steering wheel controls and sync functions.

Pros: adds several camera inputs not just backup camera, 2 extra USB ports,simple well explained installation instructions

Cons: none that come to mind

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

8 of 8 found this helpful

Makes my Tundra feel like a new truck

Crutchfield customer from Rockwall, TX on 7/27/2019

2003 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used the ReadyHarness from Crutchfield. I found out they didn't connect the Metra female jack adapter for the Kenwood steering wheel controls. When I called them because the controller wasn't working, they knew exactly what the problem was right away. Only the Kenwoods have this mini-jack. The tech helped me and refunded me the ReadyHarness fees without asking. I was very impressed. There is a huge load of wires. I used the void from the factory amp to stash all the wires. Ensure you do this since there is a fan behind the radio. The screen is bright and looks great. It is a fingerprint magnet. I like how you can adjust the angel and the video playback quality is good. The Wireless Carplay works well; however, some menus required some thought like it took a few tries for me to find out how to connect my phone to Bluetooth. It takes about 10 seconds to startup, which is about the same as my wife's OEM navigation. This was my first aftermarket radio install. It was a little expensive even with the rebate being offered and discount. The audio quality is great even in factory speakers. There are more options for newer vehicles. Another reason it gets 4 stars is that the Kenwood accessory kit requires a hacksaw and double-sided tape if you wanted to use that instead of the Metra install kit. For a high-end product, this is just sad. The microphone for the handsfree is a little too big. I have it on my steering column, but it really stands out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Crutchfield customer from Hebron, IN on 7/22/2019

2011 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just finished the install in a 2011 F150 with Sync using the Maestro rr and so far it lives up to allow the great press. A couple of installation tips that weren't clear ( I am one of those guys that researches and reads everything). The vehicle speed sense wire is shown on the table as no connect. It actually connects to the pink wire in the radio harness. Furthermore you must remove the white plastic case which houses a diode. Had to remove everything twice to get it right. Now the CarPlay works fine. Also I was thinking about using the factory microphone instead of the one that comes with the radio. Oops. The factory mic only works for the Sync. Everything else needs the mic that plugs into the radio. All I all I love the system and it is worth the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Crutchfield customer from Sandusky, OH on 7/21/2019

2016 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks and works great in my 2016 Chevy Silverado, makes the truck look better than the stock radio. Got all gages on the stereo and sounds 10x better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Awesome

Crutchfield customer from Great Falls, MT on 7/20/2019

2012 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it!

Pros: Full color screen and reverse camera

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX996XR

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 7/14/2019

2008 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound , plug and play with Crutchfield's Ready Harness

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Exceeded my expectations

Brian from Bucks County, PA on 5/28/2019

1998 Acura 3.5RL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Kenwood DNX996XR, as I understand it, is their premier head unit. After struggling in deciding between the Pioneer and the Kenwood top of the line models, I finally settled on the Kenwood... I was NOT disappointed at all - in fact, this unit simply SOUNDS better than any vehicle head unit I've ever heard. The user interface is intuitive and snappy and offers a good deal of customization options. The screen is crystal clear and bright - even in direct sunlight, thanks to a decent anti-reflective coating. It does show its fair share of fingerprints, but this is a small price to pay for this AMAZING 720p display. There are features I can't speak to, like the multiple crossover options and such, and I do not have an Android phone, so I can't speak to the Android Auto features either. Having said that, I absolute LOVE the Wireless CarPlay functionality. This allows you to set up your iPhone (5 or newer) for a completely wireless connection. Most CarPlay connections must be hard-wired through the lightning cable of your phone - but THIS unit has amazing wireless capabilities. I start the car, and within 30 seconds or so, the phone simply connects with full CarPlay functionality. Only catch to you self-installers is that you must connect to the Vehicle Speed Sensor wire for Wireless CarPlay to work properly. I was replacing the factory unit in an effort to modernize a 1998 Acura RL with this unit. Picture attached!

Pros: Wireless CarPlay and beautiful hi-res display

Cons: Have not found any cons yet!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

15 of 15 found this helpful

Very happy owner

Crutchfield customer from Oxford, AL on 5/24/2019

2018 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Kenwood has exceeded my expectations so far, and I have yet to use all of its functions. If it conyinues to impress as it has so far I will continue to be very happy. Yes it is expensive, but it is the top of the line and I believe it is worth the price.

Pros: Interface is not difficult to learn. Features to cater to everyone. Sound quality is exceptional. Sound can be tailored to anyones taste.

Cons: Takes about 15-20 seconds to initially start up. Other than that nothing so far.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Was expecting more at this price

Matthew from Chattanooga, TN on 5/17/2019

2017 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter Passenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been waiting for the DNX996 since I saw it at the Consumer Electronics Show in January of this year - wireless Apple Carplay is a feature I've been waiting for on the Kenwood line. I went straight to the top-of-the-line and read every Tech Spec on the Crutchfield website - also considering the 9906 model for $500 less (the only real difference being Garmin Navigation). After using this in my vehicle for the last 2 weeks I must say at this price, I'm very disappointed. The User Interface is terrible - as much emphasis as consumers put on having a good UI, this Kenwood looks like it was programmed in the mid 1990's. The setup isn't intuitive, the instructions are essentially non-existent (given the rich feature set), and I had several questions that Kenwood support wasn't able to answer (what is the significance of the colors on the parking guidelines, the phone mirroring feature isn't explained, for example). Note - despite what you may be told, the Garmin maps are indeed update-able but at a fee - what's included when the unit is built is the version you get (my Crutchfield Rep said updates were free for 2 years). Similarly, the INRIX traffic subscription is advertised as free for 2 years but upon activation it's actually 4, which was good. Overall, the radio works as described and the wireless Apple Carplay is flawless. But at $1400, there really isn't that much difference between this model and a $500 JVC. Bottom line, I was expecting much more .

Pros: Wireless Carplay is flawless, lots of features, superior display / high quality. Get the Crutchfield pre-wired harness for $25 - its not hard to do yourself but sure does make life easier during the install.

Cons: Instructions are terrible, User Interface leaves much to be desired. Expected much more at this price. Consider the Kenwood 9906 for $500 less

Crutchfield response on

37 of 42 found this helpful

Love it!!

Brian from Indianapolis, IN on 5/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this unit!! Turned my good stereo into an amazing sound system. The maps are nice and clear. The screen is nothing short of fantastic. My 6 year old even commented on how good the picture is on the dvd. Still learning all the features, but the wireless CarPlay is awesome. Connects automatically every time I get in my Jeep. Highly recommend this unit!

Pros: Tons of features. Clear picture. Great sound. Easy to use.

Cons: CarPlay and Bluetooth can't be connected at the same time. Might be a wiring issue though. Still looking into this so may be user error. Otherwise none so far.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 12 found this helpful

Bullhead City

jason from Bullhead City on 5/2/2019

2014 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice unit, compliments from all my friends.Thank you Crutchfield, you've done it again,superb service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 6 found this helpful

Winner !!!

Crutchfield customer from Rochester, MN on 4/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This new DNX996XR seems to do it all. The Garming navigation with both lane assist and 3D is nice and clear. Hookup is straightforward and with Crutchfields "does it fit" feature you are gauranteed a good fit. I love the new Kenwood screen - it is nice and clear and the touch sensitivity works perfectly. While I am still learning the menu, I like that this model has the "swipe" feature that works like our cell phones so it seems a bit more intuative than prior models. This model withits camera inputed and aux input can have 3 cameras installed -- planning forward/back/dash cam. I installed the microphone at the headliner above the rearview mirror and the sound sensitivity picks up throughout the vehicle. You can't go wrong with the DNZ996XR. Can't wait to accessorise it.

Pros: Clear, touch sensitive, Screen. Not a deep, unit so easy to install with plenty of room in the dash. Great version of Garmin navigation with lane assist and 3D More intuitive than previous models.

Cons: Still looking

Crutchfield response on

28 of 28 found this helpful

TOP