Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood KAC-9106D

Mono subwoofer amplifier — 1,000 watts RMS x 1 at 2 ohms

MFR # KAC-9106D

Kenwood KAC-9106D

Kenwood KAC-9106D

Mono subwoofer amplifier — 1,000 watts RMS x 1 at 2 ohms

MFR # KAC-9106D

28 reviews
View this product

MAKES THE CAR GO BOOM

William from Middletown, VA on 1/2/2021

2002 Chevrolet Tracker

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have this amp hooked up to 2 Alpine type R 12's in a bandpass box, and let me tell you....IT HITS HARD!!!! The bass is set at zero on my JVC head unit, that I also bought from Crutchfield while the power to the sub is only on 5 out of 10. My bass boost on this amp is set at half, anything higher is just to much bass. AWESOME amp, with so much more room for bass output with the right audio accessories. Would recommend for the weekend warrior, or bass head enthusiasts.

Pros: Plenty of bass range for your liking.

Cons: I didn't buy it sooner.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

If you chat, you will regret it.

Nicholas from BEAVERTON, OR on 11/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Will not accept 4 gauge power and ground wire with out spade terminal connectors. Not only do you need these to install this amp but Crutchfield does not sell them. They had no problem selling me the amp and the Crutchfield 4 gauge wiring kit but when I messaged customer service chat, the rep told me that this amp will accept bare wire and if I wanted spade terminals I could go "to somewhere like a hardware store to find them". He then kept insisting that the amp could accept bare wire. I am here to tell you it will not. I tried. It is way too thick for the small terminals. Don't buy this amplifier because you will just have yo go to another store as well. So much for a one stop shop. You should change your bumper sticker to "I got my bass at the Hardware Store". Thanks for nothing!!!!

Pros: None.

Cons: Rude customer service. Crutchfield does not carry 4 gauge spade terminals required for installation. Rude customer service representative.

Crutchfield response on 11/25/2020
We were sorry to hear about Nicholas's experience with our Customer Support team. We're forwarding this on to our Customer Support supervisors, so they can look into it. We strive to provide the best service, before, during, and after your purchase, and it looks like we missed the mark this time. We hope he gives us another chance to prove we're the best in the business.

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-9106D

Crutchfield customer from Salem, OR on 8/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp pounds, pushing two focal 10" subs and sounds amazing

Pros: Cheapest power I found online hands down and it's from kenwood.

Cons: Non yet solid so far and I see no issues in the near future

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-9106D

Crutchfield customer from Langhorne, PA on 8/13/2020

2007 Chevrolet TrailBlazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp to push two infinity kappa subs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-9106D

Crutchfield customer from Ottawa, IL on 5/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What an upgrade! It sounded amazing, right up until the moment I blew up my Bazooka tube lol. Upgraded the sub and it's incredible!

Pros: Amazing sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-9106D

John from LOUISVILLE, KY on 5/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great piece of gear from Kenwood. Got ir pushing 2 10" Kicker Comp Rs and they love each other

Pros: Kenwood quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Insane Bass

Emilio from Parachute, Colorado on 4/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this item have had no problems with it and overall just a great product

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Powerful

Ryan from FARMINGTON, NH on 3/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Powerful amp. Running ONE Alpine Type R (12" 4ohm DVC and 2ohm (~1000wRMS)). This amp has enough power to run AT LEAST one more identical subwoofer with plenty of power to spare.

Pros: Powerful and aesthetically pleasing

Cons: Tuning takes time

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Nice features for the price

Crutchfield customer from Cartersville, GA on 11/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my second Kenwood Amp in 20 years. The first one moved with me from vehicle to vehicle until it finally gave up last year. Yes you read that right....20 years in service. Installed this new one and it worked perfectly in my 2019 Hyundai Veloster. I'm using the factory head unit so I needed speaker level inputs. I'm pushing a Kicker Solo baric 15. Sounds fantastic...plenty of power without any signs of getting hot. One small complaint...the power terminals are just barely big enough for the recommended wire size but it does fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-9106D

Guest from Seattle, wa on 4/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm powering 2 Rockford Fosgate P3D2-12"s. This app has more than enough power to shake everything within 20 feet of my truck. I am very very impressed with Kenwood and this amp. I bought it second-hand and it's still power Subs like it was the very first day on the job. I will definitely be a repeat buyer

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Bad terminals

Johny Thunder from Minneapolis, MN on 4/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to power 2 dual 2 CompVR 10" subs, so naturally I thought 4 gauge wire would be just fine, also Crutchfield recommends using 4 gauge for this amp. Let me just say this, getting the power and ground wires into the tiny little terminals they have took almost 30 minutes, I had to take off the lock nut and push as hard as I could just to barely catch a thread since the screw is only 1/2 inch long and the thread is sunk way down in there, I'm gonna go to a hardware store to find bigger screws that will actually fit.

Pros: Decent power and quality.

Cons: The dumbest power and ground terminals I have ever seen, expect to buy bigger screws of using 4 guage wiring.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 26 found this helpful

Great Sound!

George from Helper, Utah on 12/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Haven't installed this unit yet but purchased one prior for my middle child and now purchasing again for my youngest as the unit has been very good and held us well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great amp

steven from Black Creek, WI on 10/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have this amp powering 2 kicker 12's that are rated 1000w rms as a pair running at 2ohms. This amp pounds them without even breaking a sweat. It sounds great. I am extremely satisfied with this amp. Would recommend if your looking for a good reliable 1000w amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-9106D

Troy from Charlotte Hall Md on 9/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just installed this amp with 1 alpine type r 12 inch and I am very impressed so far.

Pros: Clean looking, plenty of power for my setup

Cons: Gets a bit warm after awhile but I assume that's normal

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Drives two 4 ohm shallow mount subs very well

SpencerH from Angel Fire, New Mexico on 12/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp does a good job of driving two MTX FPR12-04 shallow mount subwoofers in my Mercedes E350. I like the speaker level inputs that are included, as in this application in a Mercedes with a Harman-Kardon system, line-level inputs were difficult to achieve. The speaker level inputs work very well, and also act for remote power, removing another wire that I didn't have to run. Ability to roll-off high frequencies at the amplifier itself is another benefit, as it eliminates the need for a more formalized crossover.

Pros: Sufficient power for two 4-ohm speakers wired in parallel. Does not overheat. Speaker level inputs with remote power make installation easy.

Cons: I can't think of any cons at this time.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sounds great when it is working.

Nate from Ohio on 9/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am impressed by the power I get from this amp however I am about to send it to get fixed for the second time within a year of having it. The first problem was a capacitor blew out and I suspect the exact same thing happened this time! Never have I had a fuse on the amp blow or any anything like that happen to try to protect the amp. Thankfully it comes with a one year warranty however it still isn't fun to pay shipping for an amp twice! I do not try to push the amp as hard as I can because I try not to damage it in any way that I could control.

Pros: Creates plenty of power for my subs.

Cons: Doesn't seem to have a very good protection system seeing that it has quit working twice now and requires it be sent to a repair shop.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 19 found this helpful

Kenwood

joe from Alabama on 6/16/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simply awesome amp!

Pros: Gobs of power! Looks great to boot.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

bang for your buck

grove from kaufman texas on 3/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have to say, this is a great amp. I have two kenwood 400 rms 12's wired for 2 ohms and this baby powers them perfectly while staying perfectly cool. I have all settings on amp on half and its powering my subs like a champ. Price is reasonible and shipping was like four days. No problem whatsoever with the amp. Crutchfield did and awesome job.

Pros: Simply outstanding!

Cons: There are no cons lol

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-9106D

Crutchfield customer from Senatobia, ms on 2/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Powerful amp. Easy to install. Small form factor. Sleek design. Excellent all around.

Pros: Everything!

Cons: None found so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Surprised

ryan from Hawaii on 1/24/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Look/Design: Very sleek. Excellent looking design. Wish there was more lighting on it like the 9104 and 9105 but still very clean. Durability: Pushes a Rockford P3 12 that I wired for 4 ohms, and I push it hard. Longest use was BLASTING it for about an hour, switching between hard rock and rap. Never shut off, and when I got home I checked to see how hot it was... it was warm. Just warm. Remember it's wired for 4 ohms and not 2 so it will get hotter at 2 ohms. Features: Has low pass and subsonic filters and bass boost. Wish there was a bass remote option (knob you can run from the amp to the front of car to adjust bass) Ease of use: Easy to adjust, easy to splice RCA's into the connector, easy to hook up cables.... the same as any other good amp. Value: 1000 rms at 2 ohms and 500 rms at 4 ohms that is CEA 2006 certified for a great price! Overall: I purchased this amp because I saw it pumped out 500 rms at 4 ohms and was cea 2006 compliant. Honestly I was skeptical at first. I even made sure I could return it for free if it didn't deliver as promise. After breaking in my sub, I set the input signal(gain) to 3/4 and have the bass boost at about 1/4 and it slams my P3. Chest pounding, great quality bass! My Music preference is hard rock and rap and they both sound great. My experience: A.A. in Electronics 10 years personal car audio hobby (will update with true RMS when my works o-scope gets back from calibration)

Pros: It is a good amp that delivers as promised for a good price. I highly recommend!

Cons: No bass knob to run upfront.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

Awesome...

Reef from Pompano Beach , Fl on 12/28/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome amp :) Came with 2 12" subs and THUMPS in the trunk of my Genesis coupe ...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simply AMAZING

Certified from Knoxville, Tennessee on 10/16/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I believe this amplifier is the most amazing amp ever made. The tuning capabilities are infinite. I am able to push my 12" subs to their limits. Others can NOT believe that it is only 1000W and two 12" subs destroying their thousand dollar systems.

Pros: The capability to fine tune the sound and being able to subtract the unnecessary oscillation of the speakers when there is no sound coming from them.

Cons: I have yet to find one.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

5 Stars!!!

Casper24 from Boston, mass on 8/9/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best amp for your money! I'm very impressed. For many years I've only had jl audio slash series amps and this amp does the same and puts out almost the same quality for power and sound! I'm running a jl audio w6 v2 on a 2 ohm load and this thing feeds it more than enough power =)

Pros: Price, quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Tons of power

Ben from Silvis, IL on 8/7/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tons of Power output, doesn't kill your battery.

Pros: Stays cool with high output use.

Cons: My face plate was for a different model.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product

Devin from Maryland on 8/5/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall a great amp that is easy to inatall

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Well worth the money

Degs from Regina Saskatchewan on 6/25/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These amps can,t be beat for the price of them, I had a Audison mono bloc amp that was suppose to be 1200 watts (RMS) end 3 times the price of the Kenwood -9106 D. I still kicking my butt for buying that Audison, It was the worse sounding amp I ever had in my life. The kenwood blows the Audison away, I only got the gian turn up not evan a quarter ways, End it shakes the whole car, Wth 2- 12 Alpine R series subs in a seal box, I have the subs wired down to 2 (Ohms) End run my car stereo at 3/4 volume all the time, When I playing my stereo, End I in my car for hours driving around, End never had a problem with it. I have install car audio for over 38 years on end off, I have had lot of kenwood mono bloc amps tough out the years, Since 1987, From a KAC-9152 D. Down to the KAC -9102 D. End they all were very good amps. With no problem with them. End really thump. you can,t go wrong buy buying one of these amps.

Pros: Easy to install, Doesn,t take up much room in vehicle, Verry clear sounding if set up properly. Good bang for the buck.

Cons: getting it fine tuned properly

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Upgrade

Robert W from SanAntonio Texas on 4/29/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded to this amp and have been more than happy every time I get behind the wheel. Let the good times roll.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Amp

Brock from San Antonio on 4/4/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's been working great, no blow outs and went it easy

Pros: Nice size

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

TOP