Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood KAC-M1814

Compact 4-channel amplifier — 45 watts RMS x 4

MFR # KAC-M1814

Kenwood KAC-M1814

Kenwood KAC-M1814

Compact 4-channel amplifier — 45 watts RMS x 4

MFR # KAC-M1814

52 reviews
View this product

Nice little amp

TedNugent from Golden,CO on 2/28/2021

2001 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I mounted this amp to the steering column in a Jeep TJ. It runs the sound pod and dash speakers. Works fine for a simple system on a Jeep that seldom has doors and roof on. Theft resistant as no one would be able to find the thing. It has been reliable for a couple of years. I am buying another one to put in my 911.

Pros: Small, adequate power, nice wiring harness comes with it.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Tiny footprint, big sound!

Tom from Richmond, CA on 1/4/2021

2019 Nissan Frontier SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just installed this little amp in my 2019 Nissan Frontier and I am extremely happy with the results. I wanted a significant bump in power for my Focal speakers, but I couldn't sacrifice space in my cab for an amp rack - I actually use my truck for truck things. This 4"x6" amp (tiny!!!) fits perfectly under my driver's seat. The supplied harness gives you plenty of wire to use in the event that you wanted to mount it in a glove box or behind your dash someplace. For my under seat install, I soldered in an additional 3' of speed wire, connected to my Metra harness and et voila, off to the races. 45W/channel is plenty for my system. I've still got plenty of headroom and these speakers rock even harder than before when they were running off deck power. Sure, you can spend more money on a compact amp and get more juice and/or more features. For my truck, this is just what the doctor ordered.

Pros: Tiny footprint, 45W/channel drives my speakers nicely, Kenwood quality.

Cons: Power wire is yellow - I would have preferred red. Must be a marine/ATV thing.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-M1814

Crutchfield customer from New Orleans, LA on 11/25/2020

2006 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very Pleased with the sound quality from such a small amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-M1814

Crutchfield customer from Lebanon, OH on 8/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great and easy install...very small footprint

Pros: Small Footprint, sounds great

Cons: None...so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just the right size

Crutchfield customer from South Mills, NC on 8/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just what I needed for my 2004 TJ. Small enough to fit in the glove-box and now I can hear my music with the top down.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

great amp but runs hot

Stephen from MARSHVILLE, NC on 8/4/2020

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

amazing little amp. I have a 2006 Tacoma with notoriously little space under the seat. its a tight fit but it does in fact fit perfectly. sounds great. I give it only 4 stars because it does get pretty hot even for a compact amp not worried about that harming the amp itself but it might make the little adhesive covers fall off or in my case the velcro strips I used to a fix it to the carpeting

Pros: compact easy to install perfect length wires

Cons: runs hot control covers are basically heavy shipping tape

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Faulty power plug

Crutchfield customer from San Pablo, CA on 8/2/2020

2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amplifier was purchased to power four 2-3/4" Kenwood speakers in my father's FJ Cruiser. When its working properly, it produces adequate power for those speakers. Really brings out the kids and highs, however the supplied power plug harness that plugs in to provide for all signals; power, ground, remote, all four speakers, seems to have loose connectors. The amplifier is mounted so it doesn't move, but the wiring still may be bouncing up and down from bumps. It is installed under the center console. Very frustrating. I would take a 5w loss and take the traditional style amplifier Kenwood makes over this one. I want to exchange this one for that one.

Pros: Clean signal. Compact. Great power for size.

Cons: The designed power plug that is NEEDED for this amplifier has loose pins in the plug.

Crutchfield response on 8/4/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your amp. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-M1814

Crutchfield customer from Dallas City, IL on 7/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wired up easy and adds volume needed to boat speakers. Had to split two channels from radio to four into amp. Plenty loud when running full speed. Would put 5 stars if I had more hours on it, but no issues after a month since installing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great little amp

Jon F. from EAST HADDAM, CT on 7/21/2020

2000 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it - used this amp to replace the factory amp in the beach car (2001 Saab 9-3 convertible) which drove only the front speakers. This unit powers 4 factory speakers (front doors and rears) and a pair of new Kenwood Excelon KFC-X3C 3.5" speakers in the front dash. This amp delivers excellent sound at highway speeds with the top down. The installation was really simple: mounted in the factory location and the power leads connected to factory wiring without the hassle of running heavy gauge wires. RCA-RCAs included, and for it's purpose/price, provides great sound and value.

Pros: - easy installation - easy power connections - great sound - easy tuning for high/low filtering, front/rear gain

Cons: - none yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-M1814

Crutchfield customer from Dendron, VA on 7/21/2020

1991 GMC Sonoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very compact and works well for what I needed.

Pros: Compact but powerful.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-M1814

Crutchfield customer from Winamac, IN on 7/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good unit for the price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-M1814

Crutchfield customer from Roswell, NM on 7/14/2020

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice little amp, does what it's supposed to do. Not as powerful as another amp with the same rating I have in another vehicle. But still has quality sound and that's what I got it for.

Pros: Easy to hook up, nice lead from factory.

Cons: None really

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great service, Great Products... makes for returning customers.

Crutchfield customer from Lakeland, FL on 6/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, not overly complicated. Exactly what I needed and cheaper than the electronics store nearby.. And the service is amazing. What more can you ask for?

Pros: Amazing product. Amazing price. Amazing service.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Satisfied customer

Crutchfield customer from Maurepas, LA on 6/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

WOW What a great little amp. I can't believe how much it woke up my distorting speakers. Great crisp clear sound and volume for days!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-M1814

Crutchfield customer from Bayfield, CO on 6/12/2020

2010 Chevrolet Silverado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Compact easy to install. Gives speakers the power they need

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-M1814

Crutchfield customer from Benton, IL on 6/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was just what I needed to make my infinity speakers work without over heating the head unit, very compact installed it right in the dash. Also and just as important as the other two benefits, it sounds great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Perfect Power Bump for a Small Car

Crutchfield customer from Narragansett, RI on 6/1/2020

2007 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice power for the package size. Allowed me to put an amp in the dash of my Miata without excess wiring or putting it under a seat where water tends to find its way, and without a large financial investment in a rag top car.

Pros: Power per cubic inch; clean crisp sound when paired with quality speakers with a matched power rating.

Cons: Nothing so far.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-M1814

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paul, MN on 6/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little amp as far as first impressions go.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great brand, not extremely powerful

Crutchfield customer from Durham, NC on 5/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It didn't have as much power as I expected, but it is a good alternative to power from the stock head unit.

Pros: Small in size, easy to install

Cons: Not very powerful

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Awesome amp, great control over the sound

Crutchfield customer from Garner, NC on 5/11/2020

2009 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The controls on this little amp let you dial in the sound just perfectly. I used it in a 4-speaker setup with a separate amp for subs, and the ligh/low pass filters were just what I was looking for when I bought it. Couldn't be happier.

Pros: Very versatile and tunable

Cons: None that I could find

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-M1814

Crutchfield customer from Gibsonia, PA on 5/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a powerful little amp but it gets hot powering two 6.5 speakers.

Pros: Puts out at least rated rms wattage

Cons: Heat

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-M1814

Crutchfield customer from Little Rock, AR on 5/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good ??

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-M1814

Crutchfield customer from Jasper, GA on 5/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little amp! Have a Kenwood stereo on my bike, but this small amp helps it put out the sound that I've been looking for.

Pros: Small and compact so it fits great in a motorcycle faring.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect package

Crutchfield customer from Luthvle Timon, MD on 5/6/2020

2016 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was my first amp install and I'm happy I did it. Sounds great and really adds plenty of power. The adjustable control are a great feature.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-M1814

Crutchfield customer from Grants Pass, OR on 5/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits just about anywhere..also you dont have to run a power line to the battery. Good little amp for the price..

Pros: Small Self contained

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Powerful compact amplifier

Richard from Maine on 4/28/2020

2011 BMW X5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm using two of these 4ch amps in my 2011 bmw x5 to power 7-4"GRS midranges & 7- 3/4" infinity reference tweeters. Great amps. Gain is barely at a 1/4 and crossover isn't being used since it's getting it's signal through the DM-810 processor. My one gripe is this thing will get hot. Like burn your hand hot when played hard for awhile. But they haven't shut down yet, so I guess I'm just nit picking lol.

Pros: Compact size Good power

Cons: Gets hot!

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-M1814

Crutchfield customer from Clermont, FL on 4/24/2020

2012 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

power is more than enough to drive the 5.25" speakers, sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-M1814

Crutchfield customer from Prairieville, LA on 4/21/2020

2014 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Don't let this amps size fool you, it is very powerful. I am using this to power 2 sets of Kenwood Excellon speakers in my Toyota Tacoma. I can ride with all 4 windows down and this little dude will drown out all wind noise at any speed. I have the gains turned down a little under half and using the high pass filter set at 100hz. Installation was a breeze, the wiring harness has about 5' of wires so I didn't need any additional wiring to get from under the passenger seat to the factory wiring behind the radio.

Pros: Compact size Very powerful

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Good bang for the buck.

Romeo from Cudjoe Key, FL on 3/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very compact. I use it in my Harley Road Glide, and it fits in there with no problem. Great little amp.

Pros: long wires. Easy to use.

Cons: Distorts (a little) at a high volume.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-M1814

Guest from Stanley, VA on 12/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install just wish it was a lil more powerful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

More than you'll ever need for door speakers

Cole from Atlanta, GA on 12/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product. I have 6 kicker KS speakers in my s10, this powers the door-mount 6.5s and the rear 4x10s, with my kenwood head unit powering the front 4x6s. the adjustable filter and gain settings allow me to tailor the output nicely to the capabilities of the 2 different speaker sizes (4x10s are somewhat limited in their power handling and bass capability compared to the 6.5s.) so I end up with a stereo capable of causing ear pain without losing clarity or sound quality. Pairs perfectly with my RF Punch 10" powered sub. My neighbors hate me, but CCR's Fortunate Son never sounded so good at ridiculous volume levels.

Pros: Clarity, volume, durability, price, adjustability.

Cons: It's not free.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-M1814

Crutchfield customer from Morgan Hill, CA on 12/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Added this to my 1967 Bronco, found a great locations under the Pass seat. Tech was very helpful with the hook up details since I only have (2) 6x9 speakers for the time being. Plan is to add speakers in the front. Plenty of power so that I can hear the music with the top off. A vast improvement in sound quality as well.

Pros: Small and compact, simple hook up

Cons: Non found yet...

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Amp

Manuel from MIAMI, FL on 10/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Amp connected it to the 4 door speakers and 2 tweeters all from Kenwood sounds magnificent. Cross overs set to "off" by default moved them to HPF with a P-300 Sub handling the low I have full and rich sound in the car now no regrets about using this to replace my factory bose system in my 2005 envoy

Pros: Small compact, great price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-M1814

Crutchfield customer from Norfolk, VA on 9/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far this thing has proven to be a little beast. I use it to run my Infinity Reference 6x9 component midbass woofers in an active setup with a Rockford Fosgate DSR1 and it ROCKS. It has all the basic options you need.

Pros: Small form factor, massive power

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-M1814

Crutchfield customer from Bloomington, IL on 9/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Powers my kicker speakers very well. Easy install!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-M1814

Crutchfield customer from Newport News, VA on 8/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install, compact fits anywhere & great power!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-M1814

Crutchfield customer from York, SC on 8/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Great little Marine Amp

Crutchfield customer from Anderson, SC on 8/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quick shipping and great price from Crutchfield for this great little amp. Will be installed into a 1986 Jeep CJ-7

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Good amp. Poor communication.

Greg from Salt Lake City, UT on 8/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The amp is great, but I'm pretty disappointed with Crutchfield's lack of communication. I signed up for their "text message updates", but the ONLY message I received was two hours AFTER the package was delivered. Apparently, Crutchfield doesn't know what "message updates" really means. Might as well just order from Amazon. At least they keep you UPDATED on the progress of your package.

Pros: Compact size

Cons: - - - -

Crutchfield response on

2 of 27 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-M1814

Crutchfield customer from Ninilchik, AK on 8/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used to replace factory amp in a 1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee, very happy with the result/performance. Very small and cool running due to being a class D amp. Wouldn't hesitate suggesting it to someone wanting a budget amp or easy to conceal unit.

Pros: Very small, high efficiency, clear output.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Super cool small amp with great sound

Crutchfield customer from Scott, LA on 7/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit under my car seat. There are air ducts for the air condition and this amp was perfect as it did not impenge on this duct.

Pros: Small size good dynamic range

Cons: Not as powerful as some big amps

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great little amp!

Crutchfield customer from Lawrenceburg, KY on 7/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this amp! small footprint and not a lot of power draw which was very important to my application as I am still running the original generator in my 1970 VW. This amp really adds some punch to my Kenwood deck and was easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-M1814

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 7/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Sounds good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-M1814

Crutchfield customer from Sanger, TX on 7/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Much smaller than I expected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-M1814

Crutchfield customer from New Braunfels, TX on 6/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-M1814

Crutchfield customer from White Oak, PA on 6/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Significantly improves sound of speakers.

Pros: Sound improvement without running amp to battery. Size.

Cons: Requires cutting factory wires. Worth it though.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-M1814

Crutchfield customer from Torrance, CA on 6/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, great price, small footprint. Cleaned up the distortion from the head unit's amp and haven't had a problem at all. Great product for the price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-M1814

Crutchfield customer from Waxahachie, TX on 5/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to to hook up and great power for my speakers on the boat. Would buy it again.

Pros: Small and easy to mount.

Cons: None really

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-M1814

Crutchfield customer from Huachuca City, AZ on 5/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install like the small size and sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood KAC-M1814

Crutchfield customer from Grand Prairie , TX on 5/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and hookup. Sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood amp

Crutchfield customer from Savannah, GA on 5/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great for the money and size. Fits right in my glove box!

Pros: Easy to install.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound in a compact package.

Joel from Paso Robles, CA on 5/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this amplifier as an addendum to the Sony XAV-AX100 head unit. I had replaced all four speakers in my car at the same time I replaced the head unit and was disappointed with the overall sound output of the system. Granted I drive a Cavalier, but still. I had hoped for much better sound than the original 18 year old speakers had been putting out until the week before this. Anyway, I chatted in and spoke with Drew and he recommended this amplifier to power all four of my new speakers. I noticed it was a brand new model without any reviews, but decided to pull the trigger and go for it. I was not disappointed. I wired all 4 pre-outs from the head unit to the amp, and wired the new amp directly to all four speakers. The power/speaker plug for the amp caught me off guard- no screw terminals to deal with! It also made installation easier with 5 feet of wire attached to the plug. I like the built in high and low pass filters, and turned on the high pass filter for my smaller front door speakers, which cut down on their distortion, due inability to produce much bass at higher volumes. All in all, I'm very happy with this amp. I wanted something that would produce good sound from my replacement speakers, and I can turn up the volume without experiencing any distortion and hear the music with clarity. It's great!

Pros: >Compact >High and low pass filters >Decent power >Comes with 2 RCA cables, and connection cord with 5' of wire

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

TOP