Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
386 833 372 3
Connect ID #
386 833 372 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

For simple questions about your order,
try our virtual agent:

We're sorry; chat is unavailable at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood KCA-MH100

5-pin cable for using select Android™ smartphones with HDMI-equipped Kenwood multimedia receivers

MFR # KCA-MH100

Kenwood KCA-MH100

Kenwood KCA-MH100

5-pin cable for using select Android™ smartphones with HDMI-equipped Kenwood multimedia receivers

MFR # KCA-MH100

24 reviews
View this product

Pointless Samsung?

Robert from Waynesboro, PA on 3/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm not exactly sure why the description for the Kenwood head unit I bought led me to believe I needed this to use my Samsung phone but I have yet to find need for its usage. Thing is from what I understand Samsung discontinued MTL support awhile back, regular USB C cable works with Android auto, and I just think it's pointless. Maybe other phones need it but not mine, I bought it as an open box and I think mine was generic as it does not have the Kenwood brand or mark. This is a neutral rating but when I plugged my Samsung S7 in with it the phone comes up with a "moisture in port" error, weird right? Maybe my S9+ will be different but its not here yet.

Pros: It's long Seems to be good quality

Cons: It seems to have no function for current Samsung devices and since I was instructed to buy it that's a pretty big con.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KCA-MH100

Joel from Little Elm, TX on 9/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great with my phone I can mirror the screen

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KCA-MH100

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 6/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome cable. I have a Galaxy note 4 at the moment. I wanted to mirror my phone with my DNX573S Kenwood head unit I purchased for my vehicle. So, now, I plug in the cable and everything that is on my phone mirrors to my car stereo's touch screen. Now I can enjoy Hulu and Netflix shows on my stereo. That is pretty cool for taking trips etc. Of course if I had an apple product, the cable would not have been needed, but if you have an Android and purchase this particular Kenwood unit, you will want to get the cable so you can exercise all of the functions the radio is capable of.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood KCA-MH100

George from Twentynine Palms, CA on 2/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood KCA-MH100

Crutchfield customer from Downey, CA on 12/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I haven't had a chance to use the cable yet, but I would like to review "Sony", the employee that was extremely helpful when I purchase my Kenwood DNX773S. His knowledge of the product and the system made ordering very easy. Thank you "Sony"

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Nice Cable

Billy J from Arlington, TN on 4/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This cable was easy to install. The Android Auto connected very easily. The only downfall is my phone (AT&T Samsung Galaxy S6) is not MHL compatible and I can not play videos from my phone..and the charge rate is ridiculously slow. When plugged in my phone charges at least 5 times slower than it would with a regular microUSB cable. Other than that it works perfectly and connects every time.

Pros: Easy to Install, Ease of Connectivity, Android Auto

Cons: Slow Charging

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kca-Mh100

Edward W from Las Vegas, NV on 4/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The cable works with my Jvc/kenwood DDX902s. I can hear the phone connect when i plugged the cable to my Galaxy s7 edge but i couldn't get it to mirror. I tried the kenwood audio smart control app. I tried a bunch of other things as well. I talked to fry's audio techs, best buy audio and the people who installed the system audio express no luck yet. I think the problem is the phone it doesn't have Hdmi / Mhl capability.

Pros: The kca-mh100 solved my first problem now i need to get a phone that has hdmi/mhl capabilites. The g6 edge and the g7 edge doesn't offer this.

Cons: I liked the kca mh100

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood KCA-MH100

ejalvara2 from st louis, MO on 3/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The cable arrived on time and the price was the best I could find from multiple locations. The cable works as advertised, though make sure to review the type of phone you have, since older android phones might need a tip adapter to render mirrorlink. Otherwise, the cable is excellent and connects very fast to the deck unit I am using on an DDX9702S.

Pros: Fast connection, mirrorlink capabilities

Cons: Needed a tip adapter for Samsung Galaxy S4.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Works

Rich from Nevada City, CA on 1/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works well.

Pros: Works

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood KCA-MH100

CarmenY from New Jersey on 1/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The device works, however... The technology is not ready for prime time. I was able to mirror my screen without any issues and with the touch screen app running on my phone, I was also able to "manipulate" the controls. There are some "keystrokes" that do not work like zoom in/out. My biggest complaint is when the phone is connected via this cable, the bluetooth connectivity for the phone drops out. So while I could use Waze with good results and launch other apps, when a phone call came in and I answered it by pressing a button on the head unit, the phone's speaker/mic were active not the head unit's devices. Since the phone was in my glove compartment, it was not easy to have a conversation. For reference the phone is a Sony Xperia.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Not Sure...

Derek S. from Wisconsin on 1/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I tried connecting my phone (Samsung Galaxy S5) to my head unit (Kenwood DNN992) with this cable and was unable to do anything but charge it. I probably am using it wrong but didn't care to try any further with it because I thought it would just allow me to display my phone on my head unit's display. As soon as I realized it charged my phone, I didn't like that and unplugged it. I may never use the cable again. I've had problems with this phone using an HDMI/MHL setup before so I can't totally blame this cable for not displaying on the head unit. I can say that I am now using a HDMI wifi adapter to display my phone on my head unit. It's a "Actiontec ScreenBeam Mini2" wireless display receiver. This thing works awesome. No cables and you charge your phone when you want to.

Pros: Charges your phone.

Cons: Charges your phone even if you don't want it to.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Nice accessory

PaulS from New York on 1/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well with htc m8, easy to install.

Pros: Fits well in the hdmi slot on my ddx9902

Cons: Very long cable, shorter would be more convenient in my installation.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood cable

NickS from Wisconsin on 12/16/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hooked the cable to the back of my dnn992 and it worked right then and there.

Pros: Problems with my phone not the cable.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not worth the effort

SSM from Pennsylvania on 12/13/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does not work with Galaxy Note 4.. Requires a 5 to 11 pin adaptor not included use a Microsoft wireless dongle instead since Kenwood can seem to sell there own in the USA.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood MHL to DDX9702s

Curtis from California on 11/23/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a Nexus 5. I upgrade my car stereo to use Android Auto and MHL to mirror my screen when I am parked and just hanging out. So I thought I would try with what I have and and it didn't work. I have an extension from the back of the radio to my counsel so I can get to it easy. I used my slim port and didn't work with Kenwood. So I read some more and found out they tell you that you need to use their cable only and no extensions. So I ordered this cable and when I received it I had to remove my stereo and test it. Well it worked the same as it did with the extension and slimport. Well not the same. the extension and slimport worked better. I didn't get a display with either. But the extension and slimport I was able to moved a pointer from the stereo unit to the phone. I have a Yamaha home receiver that works perfect with my Nexus and MHL-slimport but not with the Kenwood MHL cable. So I can't use this cable with anything in my house.

Pros: None for me. I can say if you have a Nexus 5 with any OS version it will not work on the Kenwood DDX9702s. If you are using another phone and stereo, you may have better luck.

Cons: Would be nice if they tell you why their mhl is not the same as others and if it is why you must use theirs. No wiring diagram.

Crutchfield response on 11/23/2015
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to help the customer. We'll either help him get this working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Don't get this.

FatSteve from Tennessee on 10/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Didn't do anything but cost me money. All of the documentation I could find says it's the cable I need to connect my Galaxy Note 4 to my Jensen VX7022. It didn't work. Looks like I need a 5-pin to 11-pin adapter, but even then it still may not work. I am considering seeing if I can make a return.

Pros: It's black and looks like a fancy cable.

Cons: Doesn't work.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good product

JLo from Florida on 10/25/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good cable. Does what is advertised

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worthless purchase

joker28 from Illinois on 10/17/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Do not buy

Pros: Seems to be well made

Cons: The whole MHL thing is a crock. What is new technology with car audio is already being discontinued by phone manufacturers. They should include the 5 pin to 11 pin adapter for Samsung products.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Does not work with some samsung phones

Jason123 from Pennsylvania on 10/17/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Gave it a 3 for the price. Do the research on your phone before buying this. Some samsung phones use an 11 pin micro usb rather than the standard 5 pin. Also, my kenwood dnx692 only puts out 0.9 amps through the html port. This is not enough to charge my note 4. I had to buy a cable from another retailer that dovetails to a usb port that I needed to source and then wire in behind the stereo. Worst part is tearing the dash apart twice. Not so much the cables fault, but there is no documentation on the site that tells you this stuff.

Pros: Well made cable.

Cons: No documentation on the Crutchfield site. Very expensive - multiple times the price of other sites.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

May need an adapter

Dane H from Kansas on 9/11/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great.... with an adapter. Only reason I give it 4 stars is because of the need for an additional adapter for my Note 4. I failed to read the reviews before purchase & had Crutchfield's Technical Support, which was great, inform me of the needed adapter.

Pros: Works great!

Cons: The need for an additional adapter with newer Samsung phones.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works with my HTC One m7

Sione from San Jose, CA on 2/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works with the Verizon HTC One m7 on my Kenwood DNX891HD and it charges my phone at the same time which is a big plus.

Pros: I get to watch youtube and NetFlix now from my phone on my Kenwood deck.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

you might need more...

G Money from Scarborough, ME on 1/9/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cable works great. I have a NOTE 4 (and I believe Note 3 will have the same issue) you need a 5 pin to 11 pin adapter. I bought one online. The cable will not work with a samsung note 4 without this adapter. with it...it works perfectly. for the head unit I have a Kenwood DDX8901HD. this is for using the MHL feature. hope this helps save someone some time. but the cable itself is perfect....

Pros: not much to screw up...unless they come in an 11 pin version

Cons: only works with the samsung note 4 (and I believe note 3) with a 5 pin to 11 pin adapter.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

BIG PICTURE

highdef1 from OH on 11/1/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the second one I purchased from Crutchfield. The 1st on is hooked into my new Kenwood 7" display radio and it worked so well I thought I would try it with my 65" LCD flat screen. Well it's pretty cool looking at the pics taken with my Galaxy S5 through a 65" screen. Works flawlessly thru my Onkyo receiver hdmi input then into the tv. Also checked out iheart radio from my Galaxy, with this connection, sound through my 9.2 surround is system awesome and reading the lyrics for the song was pretty darn easy on 65 inches of screen.

Pros: Harness is six feet in length

Cons: Some phones require an adaptor to function properly. Samsung HDTV Adapter TIP (5 to 11 Pin Converter) EPL-FU10BEBSTD for Galaxy

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

does the job...ish

Crutchfield customer from honolulu hi on 10/4/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First off if you have a newer phone with the micro usb most likely you'll need a 5-pin to 11-pin adapter in order to use this cable. That being said once i got that this thing works as advertised but it would be nice if they sold these as 11-pin straight out of the box or at least make it an option when ordering. i have a Samsung galaxy note 3 btw. Also if i had to do it over again i would just go with a regular hdmi cable and then buy whatever adapter was needed to fit my phone as it leaves you with more options.

Pros:

Cons: Needed adapter to function correctly with my phone.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

TOP