Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

CD receiver

MFR # KDC-X704

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

CD receiver

MFR # KDC-X704

64 reviews
View this product

Easy to use

Tony from Chicago on 2/25/2021

2001 Nissan Pathfinder

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you want great sound and a light show this is your stereo . Needed steering wheel control kit for my Nissan Pathfinder .

Pros: Easy to view display

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

Crutchfield customer from Palmdale, CA on 2/4/2021

1991 GMC Syclone

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits good.Sounds a lot better than stock radio.

Pros: lots of color options.

Cons: buttons small

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

Crutchfield customer from Kerman, CA on 2/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds good, functions fine but way too difficult to operate. The options are somewhat endless and at the same time somewhat useless. Probably perfect for a 16-18 year old who thrives on technology that you would never use but want to brag about. It needs more buttons to operate all the functionality rather than just maneuvering through the source and volume knob. Making a change takes way too much time and effort. The optional remote utilizes about 25% of the buttons on it and the others are useless with this unit. I wanted to purchase an Alpine but read the reviews and went with this unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 2/4/2021
We're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Just do it

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 2/3/2021

2001 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great system and an upgrade from the original Becker in my 01 Porsche. I was hesitant to remove the OEM radio, but it was no longer functional. This Kenwood has so many options like bluetooth streaming, I wish I had done it years ago.

Pros: Colors choices for the display are plentiful. Found an almost exact match for my other interior lights. Looks factory.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

Crutchfield customer from Hendersonvlle, NC on 2/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent upgrade from ten year old unit that I removed. Sleeve is sturdy, allowing no movement of the unit. Head unit is very versatile, but not the user friendliest receiver to adjust to personal preferences. Great connections for future expansion. I followed the recommendation of the Crutchfield's rep. after I narrowed my choices down to two units.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

Crutchfield customer from Arroyo Grande, CA on 12/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent Reeiver

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Gibsonia

Craig from Gibsonia on 12/17/2020

2005 Honda S2000

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

DO NOT ORDER from Crutchfield. Ordered this stereo, then played the waiting game. Called Crutchfield a month later only to hear "unknown" delivery date. Really, the big online retailer can tell me which road my package is traveling on, but you can't even give me an estimated delivery month? I expected better customer service from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

car audio lover

michael from calgary on 12/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this for my daily driver I like the simple look as it deters thief's as well good specs for the money

Pros: 5v outputs volume knob front powered usb really clean sound

Cons: The screen could be better and brighter for day time use no remote

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Sound and Outstanding Features

Crutchfield customer from Newnan, GA on 12/1/2020

2001 GMC Sierra 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this unit in my 2001 GMC crew cab pickup to replace an 18 year old Alpine CDA-7894 which has been slowly dying the last 2 years. The Alpine is an old school audiophile high end unit which was superior in power and sound; however, I couldn't find a unit which is comparable (IMHO) on the market right now. I've had good luck with Kenwood products in the past so I chose the highest powered Kenwood DIN unit with the most features that Crutchfield offers: The Excelon KDC-X704. I will mention that I also installed 4 new SKAR 6.5 inch 2 way round speakers in the doors and it already has a 800 watt Sony Explod amplifier driving two 10" Kicker subwoofers. I must say that I am impressed with the sound of the Kenwood unit! It sounds good even without the subwoofers but really comes alive with them active; almost as good as the original Alpine unit! I really love all the features of the Excelon! Great I'm no longer limited to just the radio and CDs. It feels good to have finally moved into the 21st century! I just hope the Excelon lasts as long as the Alpine. Kudos Kenwood and the team at Crutchfield!

Pros: Great value for the price.

Cons: Could use more internal power and more options to customize graphic equalization.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Strongly recommend Kenwood and Crutchfield

Crutchfield customer from Brighton, CO on 11/24/2020

1986 Ford Thunderbird

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this head unit. Great power and numerous options to accommodate anyone's listening and visual needs. Great power from a head unit so an amplifier is not initially needed. Highly recommend both Kenwood and Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

carlyle

joseph from carlyle on 11/23/2020

1997 Mercury Cougar

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great for the price and what most $600 radio has this has it for the low low

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

Crutchfield customer from Martin, TN on 11/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding. All together its sounds like a concert in my truck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

Crutchfield customer from Santee, CA on 11/8/2020

2004 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit with great features!!!

Pros: Easy setup Great quality Everything I was looking for

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

Crutchfield customer from Fulton, MO on 11/8/2020

2000 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the best Head unit that I have ever bought. If you wanna change the output level of your subs you can do it by adjusting from your Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

Crutchfield customer from Flemington, MO on 11/6/2020

2000 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit sounds awesome looks awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great

Crutchfield customer from Macon, GA on 11/4/2020

2003 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really enjoy that the the entire display color can be changed and it puts out great sound. The Bluetooth mic included with this picks up my voice very well and clear in my convertible.

Pros:

Cons: Sound Bluetooth mic Display color Volume knob

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

Crutchfield customer from Apalachin, NY on 11/1/2020

1997 Dodge Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love It ! Great Customer Service

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

Crutchfield customer from Simi Valley, CA on 10/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Where to begin. Crutchfield has always been my go too. Especially in these times, always pleasant staff as well as fantastic pricing. Keep up the great work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

Crutchfield customer from Bedford, PA on 10/6/2020

1988 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful radio so far. Has a nice crisp, clear sound through it. I would recommend this radio to anyone looking for a single-din radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

Crutchfield customer from Tuscumbia, AL on 10/6/2020

1988 Merkur XR4TI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cool thing about crutchfield, tell what you're looking for and trying to do, then their opinion. They will send you exactly what you need.

Pros: Affordable and everything I need

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 10/5/2020

1971 Pontiac Firebird

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up great quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

Crutchfield customer from Archdale, NC on 10/4/2020

2003 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield nailed it matching the right stereo with the right speakers! I love my upgrade

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

Crutchfield customer from Rochester, MN on 10/4/2020

1998 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio. The custom made wire harness made installation a snap

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

Crutchfield customer from La Grange, CA on 10/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome quality head unit

Crutchfield customer from Hereford, TX on 10/1/2020

1991 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really nice head unit for my car. Great sound, styling, and Alexa works great.

Pros: Easy setup, great sound, looks good, instant connection, and Alexa.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

OK, but frustrating low-end unit

Matt from Hillsborough, NC on 9/26/2020

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this for its HD radio and CD player. I trusted the Kenwood name from past experience. It's a low-end unit, I know, but I'm less than thrilled with this unit, but t's OK enough to keep. It does what its supposed to do, but the design and build quality are not as good as I expected. The main knob and all the buttons feel cheep, plastic-y (well, they are plastic) and hard for my adult fingers to operate. The user interface is frustrating; a little effort by the engineers could have made this so much better: Some adjustments can only work from "standby" mode, while others can be adjusted in other modes. The on/off switch is really the mode selector--and "off" is just one of the modes. Adjusting the tone control is maddening: make an adjustment and the sound is briefly muted before returning to full volume. The "animations" on the display are childish distractions. Maybe I'm not the right demographic for this unit. You can get off my lawn now. The Kenwood remote app is terrible, really doesn't do much that the phone doesn't do already. App itself warns that it won't run well under current Android, and I confirm that. It is nice being able to adjust the backlight colors to match the rest of the dash ('05 Taco). Sound quality is fine. HD Radio sensitivity is about as good as the factory radio in our other Toyota. Bluetooth pairs easily with my phone. Really, it's an OK low-end unit. I'm just frustrated that it could be much better for little effort on

Pros: HD radio, color adjustment, easy integration

Cons: Klunky user interface, cheap feel, lousy app.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great looking radio, solid features

Crutchfield customer from Chula Vista, CA on 8/30/2020

2000 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nephew is beyond happy with his gift. Features are exactly what he needed - hands free, Bluetooth, with great design

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great edition to my Esprit!

Eric from Auburn, CA on 8/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My '91 Lotus Esprit needed an updated head unit with modern features such as Bluetooth. I trust the Kenwood brand (have a touchscreen CarPlay unit in my Ford F-350) and this one got good reviews so I went for it. Much better sound quality than the old Sony CD head unit the car came with and it's nice to have Bluetooth connectivity in my old 90s exotic. Installation was simple. Didn't even have to replace the metal sleeve, just used the one already in the dash for the Sony. A bit more power would be nice but 22 watts is still decent.

Pros: Great price. Great features. Easy install.

Cons: A bit tough to see in direct sunlight. Could use a bit more power.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent value

Crutchfield customer from Howell, MI on 7/16/2020

2005 Buick Park Avenue

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Terrific car stereo. Lots of options, sounds and looks amazing, and a good value. The adapter console that came with it to fit my 2005 Buick did not have the best instructions is the only negative.

Pros: Options Appearance Value Sound

Cons: Still have to connect a wired microphone somewhere for bluetooth phone calls. Comes with unit.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

Crutchfield customer from Gallup, NM on 7/15/2020

1994 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm so happy to have purchased this item, The sound and features are very nice, I would recommend this product to those looking for a nice stereo

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

Crutchfield customer from Franklinton, NC on 7/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent unit easy to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

Mike from Oconomowoc, wi on 7/6/2020

1997 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

just received my package today and I am very impressed! You guys couldn't of packed it any safer. And also thank you for the wiring kit and dash kit for free! I will definitely be purchasing more products from you in the future. keep up the good work.

Pros: everything works as it should very happy with purchase

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 7/3/2020

2001 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good radio for a single dinh space . android features lacking, cant not figure out to hang up on a phone call from the radio. When volume turned up sound starts to distort quickly. spotify controls are lacking can not advance songs like pandora to the next song.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Programming

Crutchfield customer from Farmington, UT on 7/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A little hard for an old guy like me to get used to how to program it but once over that hill it was easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

Crutchfield customer from Renton, WA on 6/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it and the features.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

Crutchfield customer from Fredericksburg, VA on 6/27/2020

2002 Dodge Durango

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible radio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

Crutchfield customer from Buckley, WA on 6/26/2020

2014 Chevrolet Spark

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds good. A lot of options to fine tune sound. I still haven't got it to sound how I like but I am getting close. Pandora bluetooth and Spotify bluetooth are unnecessary. It can be frustrating changing sources, if you wait too long between pressing source it will load the source and you have to wait a few seconds to change again. Plenty of power for my system. RCA sub out is nice. Screws provided with the unit are too short for the bracket I used. Crutchfield sent additional screws but they were the wrong thread pitch. Overall I am satisfied with this unit.

Pros: Sound, volume, colors, sub-out, CD.

Cons: Pandora and Spotify bluetooth require some special setting on my phone to work correctly. Using regular bluetooth works fine.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

EXCELLENT!!!

Disco from Middlesex on 6/23/2020

2006 Chevrolet Express

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent so far!! Replaced older Kenwood unit. Tech thought wire harness was same but wasn't. No biggie one had a slot on the plug and one didn't. Pulled old one out of sleeve in dash,reconnected 3 wires,left everything alone. Slide back in and cranked it up. Display very clean and seems easier to read than older unit. Have the remote from other unit. Works fine. Now I'm tweaking the settings and can connect to my flip phone!!!!. Wife and kids get the good phones. The KDC-X704 ia a must have!!

Pros: Clean look. Easy to read display. Great sound!

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Best Purchase I've made all year!!

Crutchfield customer from Whitestone, NY on 6/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After doing some research, comparing quality & price, I decided that I'd give this Kenwood a run for its money. I looked at Pioneer & Sony but something about this particular Kenwood radio gave me good vibes. I purchased it from Crutchfield and received 2 days before the expected delivery date. My salesperson was fantastic and knowledgeable about the unit as well. I had the radio installed by a professional installer and it looks beautiful in my dashboard. After a few adjustments to the sound coming from my 3 amps and 12 speakers, I must say that I am more than happy I picked this radio. Easy to use, easy to adjust and it sounds amazing. Being a disc jockey for over 40 years, I do know a thing or two about good sound. This unit cranks! I love it. A remote is available for about $13 online. I wonder why it wasn't included in the box. I'd definitely recommend this radio and buy it from Crutchfield. They know their stuff and you get the install kit, harness and antenna adapter for free! Crutchfield is now my go to source for my car audio products.

Pros: Looks great! Sounds great! Easy to set controls & balances 3 sets of outputs for amps A lot of colors to choose from as your display Price is very reasonable compared to others Free installation kit is included!

Cons: None other than the remote control should've been included instead of purchasing it elsewhere

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

Crutchfield customer from Claremont, NC on 6/5/2020

2005 Mercury Sable LS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great produce, great price, easy install

Pros: Every feature and option available

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very nice head unit!

Crutchfield customer from Westland, MI on 5/29/2020

1999 Chevrolet Silverado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just purchased this Kenwood deck to replace an older Kenwood deck that I had in my truck and I love it! I purchased it because of the bluetooth option and I was very impressed at how easily I could bluetooth multiple devices. The functions were very similar to my older deck so it was fairly easy to navigate and get the sound to my liking and with color options I could match it almost perfectly with my eq. The only thing missing was a remote control but I'm going to hop on the Crutchfield site and order one asap. The price was great and shipping was very fast!

Pros: Price, ease of use, and bluetooth setup.

Cons: Doesn't come with remote but I'm purchasing one soon.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

Crutchfield customer from Salisbury, NC on 5/27/2020

1983 Dodge Charger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good sound, and there were many more features / configurations that I didn't realize this had.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

Crutchfield customer from Lodi, CA on 5/27/2020

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Very user friendly.

Pros: Easy to use

Cons: Non so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

kenwood KDC704

Crutchfield customer from Menifee, CA on 5/20/2020

1997 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far no problems looks and sounds really good, easy to install with all the provided wring and instructions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood in the Jeep

Crutchfield customer from Winston Salem, NC on 5/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product was delivered as promised. Easy install. I especially liked the screw together wire connectors.

Pros: Good value. Easy install.

Cons: Tiny print in the owners manual (maybe I need glasses).

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood failure

Crutchfield customer from Stewartsville, MO on 5/3/2020

1999 GMC Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Shuts off after bring for 10 minutes. Brand new out of box and having issues. Waiting for new one to arrive. Crutchfield responded excellent, no questions asked.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

Crutchfield customer from Indianapolis, IN on 5/3/2020

2000 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a great radio I love it. It does everything it is supposed to do

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Just The Way You Want It.

Crutchfield customer from Hattiesburg, MS on 4/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've always been a fan of Kenwood Excelon stereos. The customization options are just fantastic. Speaker positioning, speaker size, multiple equalizers, display colors, good power output, sound reconstruction/effects, etc. This unit will deliver what you want once you are used to it. Just to throw one com out though, the buttons are kinda small for some. But I'm content with them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

Crutchfield customer from Shawnee, KS on 4/25/2020

1997 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a definite step from the factory unit and the blue tooth features are good also. Does tend to wash out in bright sun. For the price it's a good value Installed in my 1997 Suburbsn

Pros: Good sound and drives aftermarket speakers well. Blue tooth features were why we bought and they are goid.

Cons: Display can be hard to read in bright sunshine

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worth the price

Crutchfield customer from Independence, MO on 4/25/2020

2000 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This replaced my 15 yr old JVC stereo (also purchased from Crutchfield) in my 20 yr old Ford pick up. The sound is incredible. I have upgraded door speakers and amplified subs. Sounds great out of the box if that is good enough for you. This unit is fairly complex and not entirely user friendly. but it is worth the time learning all the adjustments

Pros: Nice look, lots of adjustments to play with, great sound and power

Cons: Many adjustment options are hard to find Can't figure out how to make clock display bigger (station numbers are large, clock numbers are small)

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

Crutchfield customer from Wilsonville, OR on 4/20/2020

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds and looks great. FM reception is very good. BT connection with iphone 11 is virtually automatic. Gets my 2001 Silverado into the 21st century.

Pros: Sound. Huge array of options to customize EQ, dispaly, etc.

Cons: None I can find.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

Crutchfield customer from Gold Beach, OR on 4/18/2020

1991 Toyota Pickup

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit, everything works perfect. Very easy to use and navigate. I have always had great luck with kenwood products!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Head Unit

Crutchfield customer from Lucerne Valley, CA on 4/5/2020

2001 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A pretty good head unit. I have ha the older model before. It has so many options as far as sound settings. It can be kind of overwhelming. But there is always the reset and can start over. I do wish it came with a remote. It's hard to do adjustments even the smallest ones while driving.

Pros: Lots of sound adjustments for your preferred sound

Cons: Dose not come with remote

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

Crutchfield customer from Spicer, MN on 4/2/2020

2009 Ford Crown Victoria

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound, many features, many display colors, pretty easy to use and setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Headunit

Warren from Las Vegas on 3/26/2020

2002 Chevrolet Blazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this in my 2003 corvette z06. Came out really nice i was able to adjust the colors to match the dash perfectly. Looks and Sounds better then the stock radio. Only thing i dont like is you are forced to select a speaker size for the front and rear speakers and this modifies the sound. I dont want that, and there is no way to turn that option off. Other than that its great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good radio for the price.

Crutchfield customer from Stephens City, VA on 3/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm enjoying the radio. It has a clean look, and the features that I had wanted. I just wish that the instruction guide was more complete. However, YouTube had some tips that cleared up some of the confusion; just had to dig a little. Good price as well, but no remote.

Pros: Features, and style.

Cons: Instruction guide is skimpy; including the on-line version. Remote not included.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

My old Jeep brought back to life.

Crutchfield customer from Pearland, TX on 3/24/2020

2004 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit for a great price and it has all the options I wanted.

Pros: Packed full of options

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Crutchfield - a true pleasure to deal with

Crutchfield customer from Fall City, WA on 3/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Caveat: only 1 week after install... So far really like this unit, would have given a 4.5 - marked down due to poor AM radio reception. Otherwise, install (not by me), set-up (including the Kenwood manuals, the online version from the Kenwood site is needed as it has more full capabilities coverage), performance, bluetooth pairing/Pandora connectivity, all impressive. The Alexa feature is a nice bonus, though I haven't mastered it yet.

Pros: Install, set-up, audio performance, overall feature set, value

Cons: AM radio reception, small buttons (as many have said) but I chose this model and knew that might be an issue

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Another winner from Kenwood

Crutchfield customer from Arroyo Grande, CA on 3/15/2020

1997 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Feature rich, attractive styling , works great

Pros: HD receiver, Bluetooth, Hands Free calling

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

Crutchfield customer from Liberty, MO on 3/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing does it all. Glad I chose the Kenwood.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Solved my problem

Crutchfield customer from Santurce, PR on 2/23/2020

2000 Acura 3.2TL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for my needs at a reasonable price

Pros: Extra features

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Keenwood exelon kdc x704

Crutchfield customer from Dawsonville, GA on 2/12/2020

1990 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Received my order in timely manner with everything in it. The receiver has been great so far. The hd radio comes and goes depending on area. The sound quality is excellent and I like being able to set my own eq settings. Has a lot of sound settings. I will be playing with them for a while. I have a Moto g 7 phone it hooked up to bt with no problems.

Pros: Everything

Cons: Non so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X704

Crutchfield customer from Woodstock, VA on 2/1/2020

2003 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect

Crutchfield customer from Ocala, FL on 1/24/2020

2005 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product was sent with appropriate wire harness and hardware required for my 2005 Dodge Ram at no additional charge. Install instructions were E-mauled at no charge. Product installed easy, fits perfect, and sounds amazing!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

TOP