Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Kenwood KFC-WS12

Shallow-mount 12" 4-ohm subwoofer

MFR # KFC-WS12

Kenwood KFC-WS12

Kenwood KFC-WS12

Shallow-mount 12" 4-ohm subwoofer

MFR # KFC-WS12

14 reviews
View this product

Kenwood KFC-WS12

Guest from Fallbrook, CA on 4/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice slim design doesn't take up much space and nice sound on my 2008 scion xb

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KFC-WS12

Crutchfield customer from champaign, il on 5/21/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sounding shallow sub for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Sound Great Price

Mark Hexamer from Navarre Florida on 2/17/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and price for a shallow sub...high quality and durable

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sub

jbas1123 from minden, la on 2/15/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Its a pretty awesome sub. I got it hooked to a 1000 watt Kenwood amp and an alpine head unit and just got some infinity reference components to even out the highs and bass. Overall would highly recommend this sub to any one lookin to add some bass to a tight space.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sweet woofer

NT from Boise, ID on 1/24/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very nice woofer. Be aware, if you order the "outlet" version, as I did, it may not come with any instructions, mounting hardware, or the ring that hides the screws. This was not a problem in my case as I have lots of screws, the instructions are on the internet, and I am using it in a down-firing config. so it is not visible. Which is a shame, as the woven silver fiberglass is quite pretty. It is a well-made unit, with a sturdy basket and other heavy-duty components. This unit has respectable Xmax numbers and a low Vas which allows for small boxes. Kenwood recommends a 0.8 cubic foot box, but my calculations showed that would result in a boomy response. I made the box as big as the back seat would allow (~1 cu ft.) with lots of fiberglass and it still sounds a bit taunt but still quite nice. Recommended, especially for the price.

Pros: shallow profile good looks good excursion well built low fs low Vas means smaller box

Cons: high Qts means bigger box "outlet" means no hardware

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Decent Sub

Sparkknocker from Maine on 1/9/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought one of these subs paired with the Sound Ordnance (SO) M-1350 amp, and SO BB12-T enclosure. I did not want to spend a lot of money as I was installing into my secondary vehicle (regular cab GMC Sierra.) The sound quality is decent. However, not the best sounding bass I have heard. I think that the sound is improving as the sub breaks in. I have only had the setup for a few days. I certainly enjoy driving my truck more now so it is a win. The M-1350 amp seems to be plenty enough power for the sub. You can distort the sub when cranking the gain on the amp. The price of the above setup from Crutchfield was great. I would recommend this sub to anyone who doesn't need the "absolute" best and has a vehicle where space is tight. Keep in mind that this is my first experience with a shallow mount sub so I have nothing else (in it's class) to compare it to.

Pros: Shallow sub for tight spaces. Good looking sub. Price

Cons: seems to distort easily.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood KFC-WS12

A.B. from Culpeper,VA on 6/11/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have have this installed in a Ford '05 crew cab, pushed by an alpine m500 and it sounds great. Tight fit but it fit without the bars on it. Great price for what you get.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Best hard hitting sub for truck

Steve from Tulsa, OK on 5/30/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub hits harder than any sub I have previously Owned. The benefit of this sub is its shallow depth which is perfect for my F-250. It fits snug behind the seat which is exactly what the sound ordanance box was made for. Pushed by my Alpine MRP-M500 and paired with Alpine S Components and 6x9's, it is by far the best complete sound system I have ever heard. I've had several SUV's with pairs of Dual 12" subs, and sony 10" subs, and this single 12" Kenwood Sub is by far the best sounding sub.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Big sub in a small package

EricB from Burlington, NC on 2/5/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have to say the shallow mount subs put out as much thump as the normal counter part. The Kenwood KFC-WS12 can fit in lots of locations, but still sounds great. I installed this in my 1982 Camaro where space is at a minimum to begin with. You can put 2 of these in the well of the trunk and still have room for your T-tops. The power handling is excellent so far, I'm pushing this with a Kicker ZX amp, and it sounds sweet. The KFC-WS12 really balanced out the low end of my system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

awesome

jazzy from Detroit on 1/29/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Im running this sub with an Alpine MRP-500 amp around 300 watts says the sub will run 350 and 1400 for a brief peak, using this sub in the free box it came in and its sealed. Sounds really good for the money and I gaind more space in my trunk. hits harded and plays louder than my 2 twelve inch kicker comps and calfornia AP1040 amp running bridged at 225 watts. I want a shallow mount sub like this one but to run 2 ohms. Awesome amp for the price being a class D amp designed speciffacly to run a sub.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Really like this sub

AGlow from Macomb, IL on 11/23/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a 2007 standard cab Chevy Silverado. I have a Kenwood Excelon Head unit, 3- way Infinity Kappas 6 1/2s in the doors and Kappa 4 x 6 plates in the rear pillars. I was using my 5 channel infinity kappa amp to run the speakers and then I ordered the sub and s/o enclosure combo package (12") for some bass. I had to order the shallow sub because it's all that will fit behind the seat. I was satisfied with the bass I was getting and the fit of the S/O box. I've since put one of my kappa class D 1000watt sub amps on the single 12 and I agree that it can be overdriven, easily. I need more bass and am satisfied with the KFC-WS12. I'm going to order another one. I should get the bass I'm looking for out of a pair of 12's in my standard cab. I don't believe they will be overpowered by the amp. I love the sub and believe its doing everything I thought it could. I've got a pair of 18" Kicker Comp VR in my car so the single 12" is definately a different kind of bass, but still good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Decent Sub

FowlerJE from Eastman,WI on 9/26/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price, it's a good sub. However, it doesn't hit as low as I would like. It says it handles 1400 W, I'm running about 1000 W and it doesn't seem to handle it as well as it should at very high volumes.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 6 found this helpful

Definetely Awesome for the size

Wayne from Boston, MA on 9/13/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding package. Running a Sound Ordinance 1500 Mono amp to power this and it sounds awesome. The remote bass adjuster is a must. Every song is different and every song needs different level of bass. This package handles it perfectly!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A lot of ''bang'' for small spaces!

aleIANated from New Orleans, La. on 6/26/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a '99 Ford Ranger with a regular cab. I shopped around for a while looking to put some bass in my truck. I figured I would not be able to put much in there until I found this sub. I didn't even know they had shallow mount subs and when I bought this one and installed it I was trulely impressed. The box was just small enough to fit behind my seat without pushing me up into the stearing wheel or takeing away my leg space. I had bought the Kenwood KAC-7204 amp to push the sub and now it's hard to realy crank it and sit in my truck! If you have a small space to work with and a tight budget, like me, I recomend trying these subs out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

92 of 98 found this helpful

TOP