Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
172 333 933 3
Connect ID #
172 333 933 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Digital media receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # KMM-BT228U

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Digital media receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # KMM-BT228U

88 reviews
View this product

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Gilbertsville, PA on 10/6/2020

2000 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought from Open Box, great sound, simple install!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Ashland, PA on 8/13/2020

2004 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Lancaster, CA on 8/13/2020

2011 MINI Cooper

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great unit, easy to install, set up and use. It offers a good amount of bass if you have the speakers to handle it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Midland, TX on 8/11/2020

2013 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, the bluetooth connects quickly when starting the vehicle, and picks up right where it should. Installed in my 2013 F150. Only con is I wish the screen dimmed with the vehicle lights. At night it is a brighter than all my other instruments, however it is not too bright to drive or anything, I just wish it would dim.

Pros:

Cons: Does not dim with panel instruments

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Arcadia, FL on 8/11/2020

1994 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I give this radio a 4 star rating. It has great sound quality, and many features at a great price

Pros: Bluetooth

Cons: No remote

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Phila, PA on 8/9/2020

1987 Volkswagen Cabriolet

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy straight forward install. Supplemental information was very helpful.

Pros: Easy install. Good directions.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It'll do

Crutchfield customer from Adamstown, MD on 8/5/2020

1987 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've only had this radio installed for a week but so far I'm not very impressed with the controls...not very intuitive for an aftermarket products. Install was not difficult. Bluetooth and features seems to work fine. Manual is not that great, also couldn't get the KENWOODRemote app to even connect. I bought this because it says made for iPhone however I don't see what this benefit really does over standard Bluetooth. I didn't want a CD player but not sure if this radio is worth the price when there were a lot less expensive options. Maybe I'll be more pleased when have this a while longer and understand the controls better

Pros: Standard radio, works fine, bluetooth

Cons: Unintuitive controls

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very satisfied

Crutchfield customer from Old Orchd Bch, ME on 8/2/2020

2015 Dodge Grand Caravan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent service, shipped promptly, and the Crutchfield website is very well designed. Installation was simple, good instructions. This is a simple radio that does everything I need it to do. Hooks up seamlessly to an Apple iPhone six. Very satisfied customer

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent unit for the price

Crutchfield customer from Glen Burnie, MD on 8/2/2020

2002 Dodge Durango

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install , looks and sounds great. Easy to navigate through the menu.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome

Crutchfield customer from Fairhope, AL on 8/1/2020

2001 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product was just what I ordered and very fast shipping. Easy install instructions.

Pros: perfect

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Everything I needed in a retrofit car stereo.

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, NC on 7/28/2020

1998 Ford Taurus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything I needed in a retrofit car stereo. Even though my vehicle had a 10 CD changer, I had long since stopped listening to CDs and either listened to the radio or streamed news, music, and podcasts through my phone. My streaming connection came through a cassette adapter connected to a Bluetooth receiver meant for an aux input and powered by a cigarette lighter extension that was cut and wired to the radio fuse. The setup actually worked well, but did not have full frequency response (something was missing in the mids). Then one day the factory radio did not recognize the cassette adapter and the adapter would not eject. Time for a new system. I went to the Crutchfield website first. I entered my car info and my "must have" filters and Crutchfield gave me several options. My son has enjoyed Kenwood car stereos in his car, so I decided on this model. It fits my needs perfectly. Full-range audio once again that sounds fantastic with my factory speakers. Bluetooth connectivity for all my streaming without a 3-piece adapter. The radio stations that I always listened to and even ones I could never tune in to. Hands free phone that sounds great. And a volume knob. The install with the adapter is very clean. I never could have picked out the right system this fast on any other website. Crutchfield customer from now on!

Pros: Great sound. Bluetooth connectivity. Digital only since I no longer use CDs in my car. Small footprint behind the dash helps with install. Volume knob.

Cons: Haven't found any yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Monroe, NC on 7/27/2020

1996 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible for a stereo in this price range. Super happy with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Phone App is Garbage

Crutchfield customer from Garden City, MI on 7/26/2020

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Phone app is garbage, I like the rest.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pretty good

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 7/26/2020

2003 Toyota Matrix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does the job perfectly well. Aesthetically great looking. Several options for playing source, display, audio equalizers etc. I just wish the buttons below had that click feeling right now they are very soft but work as expected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Addison, NY on 7/26/2020

2002 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install and working great.

Pros: Connects to phone automatically when I start my car.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Southfield, MI on 7/21/2020

1999 Subaru Impreza Outback Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Features quality and price insurmountable and the installation tools were phenomenal! Love Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Big Bear Lake, CA on 7/19/2020

1992 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like this Bluetooth head unit , Nice that you can pick different colors On the display. I really do like that I have a USB plug-in and an off plug-in just in case the Bluetooth stop working

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Value and Sound!

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 7/13/2020

2001 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in a 2001 VW Jetta, works seamlessly with the Monsoon amp and sounds great with my stock speakers. Even seems louder than the original head unit. One stumbling block on the install was that then DIN cage was backwards on the unit. It was probably that way for shipping so it doesn't lock on. Therefore, I was installing it backwards and it took me a while to figure out I had to flip it around. The Kenwood instruction booklet diagram was really small so I didn't notice that detail right away. The Crutchfield master sheet and wiring instructions were awesome. Bluetooth and USB connection/charging works great with my iPhone.

Pros: Sounds great, great value, does everything I want it to.

Cons: Buttons are small and blue lighted icons are very hard to read.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Shelton, CT on 7/11/2020

1998 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good head unit Bluetooth works good, connects to my phone super quick, and really easy to figure out

Pros:

Cons: Bracket that comes with the radio is 50/50 to how it will work with the area you put it in

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A Solid Upgrade from Stock

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 7/8/2020

1996 Buick Century

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far this head unit has been working very well. The option to connect via cable or bluetooth is nice, especially when I need to charge my phone. Looking forward to pairing it with the new Alpine speakers I bought when they arrive, as it made quite the difference with (read: almost immediately blew out) the stock speakers in my 1996 Buick Century. It would be nice if the Kenwood app were...better...but it's not so I'll just have to deal.

Pros: Huge improvement over factory radio Connectivity Sound quality (bluetooth and wired)

Cons: Kenwood App for iphone is clunky and looks like it hasn't been updated in years Navigation of menus is awkward Display doesn't name the song/artist/album etc.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

ABOVE & BEYOND

Crutchfield customer from Woburn, MA on 7/6/2020

1990 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The radio is just what I needed. The service has exceeded my expectations rating it to the best I've ever had with any company. Installing a radio is way outside my comfort zone, yet Crutchfield made it so easy by doing the thinking and making tech decisions for me. The tech help couldn't have been better, very patient which took the anxiety away. CRUTCHFIELD IS THE BEST! thank you, Roger G.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Bartlett, IL on 7/3/2020

2004 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to install with instructions provided by Crutchfield. Sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Charlestown, RI on 6/21/2020

2005 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything fit perfect no problems to install it. The instructions were great. I certainly be a customer agai.

Pros: Great product great company

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love it!!

Crutchfield customer from Helena, MT on 6/18/2020

2001 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love my new radio. It sounds great and I love the blue lights!

Pros: Everything about it!

Cons: Don't see any yet!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood deck and Fosgate speakers

Crutchfield customer from Santa Fe, NM on 6/11/2020

2006 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased and installed this for a friend. She is thrilled. Kenwood is a solid choice for a deck. Versatile and packed with features. This was my first time installing and using Rockford Fosgate speakers. They were better than I expected for the price. Loud, clean and clear sound. I was very impressed. And as always, purchasing from Crutchfield is a no brainer. You can shop for what fits your vehicle so you know it fits before it arrives. On this purchase I received the instal dash kit, speaker brackets and wiring harnesses all for free. And they even included the installation instructions. As easy and cost effective as it gets.

Pros: Powerful deck with many features Bluetooth Apple car play Removable face plate Large volume/menu knob

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Maple Shade, NJ on 6/11/2020

2008 Ford Crown Victoria

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks nice, sounds good, installed easily. Very happy with this unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Thumbs up

Crutchfield customer from Sanford, ME on 6/9/2020

1999 GMC Jimmy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound at a great price as always

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Detroit, MI on 6/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Wamego, KS on 6/2/2020

1979 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to program. Lots of features

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Flint, MI on 6/1/2020

2012 Jeep Patriot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall I'm pleased with my purchase I give it a 4 cause the volume only goes up to 35

Pros: Good quality sound easy hook up

Cons: Not loud enough volume only goes up to 35

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Dillsburg, PA on 5/28/2020

2005 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We like it so far.

Pros: Easy install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Lancaster, CA on 5/25/2020

2004 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced my factory radio with a KMM-BT228U. This bluetooth radio was very easy to install. Easy to tune to my liking and this unit sounds great. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking to replace their old radio and looking for great listening pleasure.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

good stuff

Crutchfield customer from Waves, NC on 5/19/2020

1994 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just wished I could cha get color of backlight

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Snohomish, WA on 5/14/2020

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There is a lint to get to learn on the controls. But overall it is pretty intuitive and easy to use. Installation was also pretty easy, as always with crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

WORTH IT

JEsse from Bainbridge NY on 5/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very impressed with the quality. I went from a jvc Bluetooth media unit to this. The buttons and display are worlds different in a good way. Sound quality is incredible and microphone supplied is great. The main difference between them is the functionality of the Bluetooth. I am now able to instantly connect my phone play music and even use the apps. With the jvc I had problems with the apps and sometimes Bluetooth wouldn't connect or songs wouldn't play.

Pros: Amazing quality and feature rich.

Cons: Can't change colors on display

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Boulder, CO on 5/11/2020

1985 Volkswagen Vanagon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quick delivery from Crutchfield. Love the price, quick and easy install. Connects iPhone easily and sounds great. Thanks!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

All Kenwood in 84 Fiero

Crutchfield customer from New Castle, IN on 5/7/2020

1984 Pontiac Fiero

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced a Pioneer head unit that was in my 84 Fiero when I got it a year and a half ago. Since I owned the car I also replaced the dash speaker and added rear speakers, all Kenwood. They work very well together. I chose the radio because of the bluetooth feature.My only dissapointment in it is when getting direction on my phone, it does not come through unless I have the unit set on a bluetooth setting, it does not come through on the radio setting. Really like that it has a 13 band equalizer built in to it. Still fine tuning the sound from it, has a lot of adjustment, but I am very happy with it.

Pros: Bluetooth, and 13 band equalizer

Cons: blue does not give directions through radio, only the bluetooth setting.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Mostly great; a couple nitpicks.

Crutchfield customer from POOLER, GA on 5/3/2020

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First of all, Crutchfield tech support is the best. I was stunned at their level of knowledge. The hit it out of the park! I really like the receiver. It does everything I want it to do, with one exception (maybe I just haven't learned how to do it yet): I want to be able to step through the radio frequencies, whether the receiver thinks there's a strong enough signal at a given frequency or not. My only other complaint is that the installation instructions could be a lot better. I would have liked more detail on how the receiver sleeve mounts to the faceplate adaptor, and on which 12 pin plug goes into the chime module. This would have saved me a call.

Pros: Crutchfield customer suport and tech expertise

Cons: Installation instructions not quite good enough

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Basic, but works great

Crutchfield customer from Independence, MO on 4/27/2020

2013 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Loved this head unit. First off, it's shallower since it's a digital only receiver. This makes it easier to get it to fit in tight spaces with full wiring and everything. Kenwoods are always great with their settings to allow you to customize the sound based on the size of your speakers and the size of your car. Much better features than most head units at this price

Pros: Lots of options Great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

CRUTCHFIELD is the Best!!!

Crutchfield customer from Hayden, ID on 4/27/2020

2002 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kenwood deck is simple to use well made and inexpensive. Everything you need and nothing you don't! As usual Crutchfield has the best prices best shipping and the very best service in the industry. No reason to buy stereo equipment anywhere else. Thank you!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 4/23/2020

2007 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this new addition to my 2007 RAV4. Clean setup, many sound settings to adjust to preference, and super easy to use and install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Nolensville, TN on 4/21/2020

1992 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simple, clean. Fit and finish.

Crutchfield customer from King George, VA on 4/21/2020

1998 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I didn't have to many options for my single din civic, but the fit and finish of kenwood products never disappoint. For the price this little radio packs a big punch.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Saturn Vue 2004

Crutchfield customer from Marion, VA on 4/19/2020

2003 Saturn VUE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit was simple to install and sounds really good. The Kenwood app is a nice feature to have as well as the multiple phone pairings for the music mix. This unit is lit Blue with white in the info panel. It does not have any other color choices. Plugging the iPhone in it does charge and did so on the Android also.

Pros: Sounds real good and has a lot of features.

Cons: It does not have any other lighting display choices.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Bonner Springs, KS on 4/19/2020

2006 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit and suuuuuuuuper easy to install with the kit and diagrams from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Mechanicsville, VA on 4/13/2020

2005 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything delivered in a timely manner and as promised. I am not overly handy but this was easy to install on my 2005 Toyota 4 Runner.

Pros: Synched to both of our apple iphones very quickly. I like the blue and different settings on display. Shows what is playing on my spotify account so I can teach my children about good music.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome products and service.

Crutchfield customer from Green Castle, MO on 4/5/2020

2001 GMC Yukon XL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The installation instructions were extremely helpful for this unit. Also I did have to call tech support, and they were extremely knowledgeable and helped to quickly diagnose the problem and what to do to repair my issue. Thanks Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Baldwyn, MS on 4/5/2020

1997 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Way exceeds quality for the price.the equalizer took a min to figure out.. but once I did man o man.

Pros: All good

Cons: The lil screw that hold the brace for rear of unit was missing..minor issue

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Farmington, NM on 3/25/2020

2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, easy installation instructions!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome!

Crutchfield customer from Morgantown, PA on 3/22/2020

2007 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything arrived in one box with clear instructions sent to my email...couldn't have been any easier for the DIYer!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not overly complicated, good head unit.

Crutchfield customer from Simi Valley, CA on 3/18/2020

1983 Mercedes-Benz 380SL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit. Sound quality is very good. FM reception is acceptable. Controls are laid out nicely.

Pros: Short depth makes installation easier since there's more room for wires behind the unit.

Cons: Haven't found any.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Calexico, CA on 3/18/2020

2003 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo..good price..awesome sound with same brand speakers

Pros: Microphone for phone calls is a plus

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Neodesha, KS on 3/18/2020

1995 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent services

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Terrible for navigating a memory stick

Jim from Killeen TX on 3/16/2020

2005 Scion xA

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this because the kmm100u was discontinued. As good as the 100u is at navigating through files from a memory stick the BT-228U is terrible. Maybe this player would be great for someone who plays files from their phone. That's not me. I'm sad to say memory stick capability has diminished since its predecessor.

Pros: That great built in Kenwood amp

Cons: Pale in comparison to its predecessor the kmm 100 U On the previous model it was a joy to navigate through files on a memory stick, on this one it's a nightmare.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sounds good

Crutchfield customer from Gladstone, MO on 3/16/2020

2004 Dodge Stratus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great stereo. Definitely a good upgrade from the stock radio. Only thing I don't like is the one knob to control everything, but I guess they're all like that now.

Pros: Sound quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome Radio at a very good price. This Radio will not Disappoint.

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, TX on 3/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very impressive radio. I got more features and sound quality that I ever expected. Thanks Crutchfield in helping me select this radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice stereo for the price.

Crutchfield customer from Centralia, MO on 3/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The quick start manual was not extremely clear, and screws were not included for mounting, but once installed it worked perfectly. The bluetooth hooked up immediately.

Pros: Bluetooth, microphone (for hands free cell phone use), USB and Aux.

Cons: Quick Start Guide not clear, no screws provided.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Elizabethville, PA on 2/25/2020

1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything you need, nothing you don't. Gives fantastic control over the speakers and subs allowing you to tune everything from the front seat. It does a good job powering my 40w component speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy as pie to install.

Crutchfield customer from Mason City, IA on 2/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio is fantastic. Love the sound quality and the bluetooth calling.

Pros: Crutchfield factory harness job.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Martinsburg, WV on 2/24/2020

2007 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo, easy to install and crutchfield scan amazing company to deal with.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Bristol, CT on 2/23/2020

1996 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice radio. I had installed new Kenwood speakers a while ago in my 96 F150 work truck, big improvement from the old speakers. The sound was OK until I installed this Kenwood unit, this made the speakers come alive. The bass boost gives you a nice solid bottom. This is a work truck so I get phone calls often, 1 button to answer the call, the microphone is clear and the person on the other end says it sounds like I have the phone to my ear. Installation was quick with the wiring kit from Crutchfield. The part of the install that took the longest was to run the wire for the microphone, I ran it up the front door post then under the trim in front of the visor and aimed the microphone at myself. I am very happy with the unit and I would high recommend it. The price for the quality would be hard to beat. There is no CD player but that is not something I will miss, the radio that came out had a cassette player that never got used.

Pros: Easy to install, especially with the Crutchfield recommended kit. BT pairs easily, streams music with good sound quality and calls are clear.

Cons: Not much of a Con but there is no CD player.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound!

Crutchfield customer from Newton, KS on 2/23/2020

2008 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a nice little stereo for the money. I installed it In my daughters 08 Ford Escaoe. My daughter loves the Bluetooth functionality.

Pros: Lots of versatility for sound adjustments. Looks good. What a difference a new Kenwood head unit makes... wow!

Cons: You know, for the money, I really don't see any cons here.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Decent radio.

Crutchfield customer from Leo, IN on 2/20/2020

1999 Subaru Impreza RS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice radio

Pros: BT connects very quick.

Cons: Buttons are small and hard too see labeling

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Colden, NY on 2/16/2020

2007 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Classic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome head unit, very easy to use, couldn't be happier with all the settings

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great affordable option

Crutchfield customer from Clarkdale, AZ on 2/14/2020

1989 Toyota Pickup

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as it should. Every once in awhile the bluetooth does something weird but thats normal for a cheaper head unit. Satisfied for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Severna Park, MD on 2/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Tyler, TX on 2/8/2020

2005 Jeep Liberty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything you need in a simple package. Replace factory unit in less than 5 minutes with the optional vehicle specific connector. Very happy.

Pros: inexpensive, quality sound, easy device pairing

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Turlock, CA on 2/4/2020

1998 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Am /Fm radio not good will not receive Radio signal as good as O E M Radio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 2/5/2020
Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. They can help you solve the reception problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 2/2/2020

2001 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

arrived as expected, all parts were there, easy install

Pros: very easy to install, the prewired kit made the job so easy

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Leeds, ME on 1/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This system has great sound quality and worked great out of the box. Crutchfield is amazing with the support they provide when buying items to make sure you get the right item. All the features work great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Mesa, AZ on 1/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit works as described and is a nice upgrade to my 19-year-old system. The reason why I'm giving 5 stars is because of the customer service. Usually, I research and buy without seeking help. However, while searching the Crutchfield site, I saw the little "chat" pop-up and said what the heck. Colby, the representative who helped me, was awesome. He found all the items I needed quickly, added to a cart with a link, and gave me all install parts at a discounted rate - free! Shipping was quick and installation was a breeze. I probably won't need another car stereo for a while but when/if I do, Crutchfield will get my business!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Kenwood Quality!

Crutchfield customer from Portsmouth, VA on 1/14/2020

2004 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does exactly what you need. The usual Kenwood quality that I look forward to and keeps me ordering Kenwood. And as always great customer service from Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good head unit

Crutchfield customer from Coggon, IA on 1/12/2020

1990 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Real basic head unit but, it was super easy to install and set up. My teenager loves it. Has decent EQ options and ranges. Considering getting one for my self.

Pros: Easy install, low profile.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Whiteland, IN on 1/11/2020

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really nice receiver. Easy to install thanks to Crutchfield's step by step guidelines. This radio has more adjustment options than I ever thought possible. Great purchase!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great bluetooth car stereo at a reasonable price

Crutchfield customer from Wisc Rapids, WI on 1/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this as a Christmas gift for my daughter after consulting with Crutchfield staff to determine what stereo would be best for her 2005 Mercury Mariner. The install was super easy with the prewired harness, and the stereo sounds great and is easy-to-use. It pairs up effortlessly with bluetooth and the hands free phone works great. Great stereo at a reasonable price.

Pros: Reasonably priced

Cons: Install went well, but I had to search online to determine how to remove some of the dash trim to install, but I figured I would probably have to do that anyway

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Not bad for the price

Crutchfield customer from Absecon, NJ on 1/6/2020

2014 Ram Promaster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not a bad price point and good entry level radio, easy to use and great product

Pros: Bluetooth, front USB easy connectivity

Cons: No CD player

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great bluetooth radio!

Crutchfield customer from Indianapolis, IN on 1/4/2020

2003 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation was a breeze with the wiring harness and instructions that Crutchfield provides. I replaced my daughter's factory unit in her 2003 Beetle. She really wanted to listen to the music on her phone via bluetooth. Once it was in the dash (20min), she was able to pair her phone with it immediately.

Pros: great sounding easy installation intuitive operation budget priced

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Napa, CA on 1/2/2020

1999 BMW 328I

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great price

Pros: Price

Cons: Crutchfield Catalog does not have an option for a 1999 bmw 328i sedan. I had to buy a dash kit separately

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Tacoma Factory Replacement

AJ from Midlothian, VA on 12/30/2019

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Christmas gift for son to replace the factory unit. We installed it this weekend in his Tacoma. Best guidance came from a YouTube video of a guy (not an employee) installing his Sony car stereo from Crutchfield. The install went well and he's happy with it. The radio preset buttons are really small, but he'll never use them anyway since he uses Spotify through Bluetooth. Butler did a great job making up the ReadyHarness... no splicing!!!

Pros: Well-known brand name. Shallow chassis. The Crutchfield ReadyHarnessT Service was the way to go!

Cons: Small preset buttons requires finger nail operation.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Billings, MT on 12/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Set up was EZ

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Cortlandt Manor, NY on 12/29/2019

2002 Jeep Liberty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This company is unbelievable, I purchased the upgraded plug in and I literally installed this radio in less than a half hour , great product and great company no guessing if it fits your car so easy to purchase , will definitely buy again from this company .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Worland, WY on 12/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value all features and easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality stereo

Crutchfield customer from Coeur D Alene, ID on 12/12/2019

1992 Chevrolet Cheyenne

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality stereo at a low cost. Easy to operate and it looks good. Major plus is the stereo isn't very deep and that make install in older cars great where there isn't any room behind the stereo

Pros: Shallow depth Price vs quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Newton, IA on 12/5/2019

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

nice unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect fit

Crutchfield customer from Castle Rock, CO on 12/2/2019

1999 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Perfect fit to my sons car. Will be upgrading the speakers soon since this has ample power

Pros: Car play Bluetooth multiple phones Hands free calling

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 11/8/2019

1998 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I liked the small depth of the chassis. it was light and did not require a rear strap. unit functioned as expected and worked well with the factory speakers. phone calls are good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-BT228U

Crutchfield customer from Los Banos, CA on 10/29/2019

2005 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Freaking awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

San Jose

Sean from San Jose on 10/15/2019

1999 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty meh, to be honest. I wasn't expecting an amazing piece of hardware for the price point this thing sits at and I wasn't let down. I also wasn't blown away. It's a super simple, super basic bluetooth capable receiver which is what I needed as a needed as a short-term replacement for previous head-unit in my car. I wouldn't recommend this head unit, tho. It's too feature starved to even really be a good "basic car stereo." I'm already shopping for something better.

Pros: - Inexpensive - Streams Bluetooth well - Plays over-the-air radio

Cons: - No dimmer connection - Super basic features, almost no configurability - The Kenwood App is pretty bad, don't waste time with it

Crutchfield response on 10/15/2019
Sean, we're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

4 of 5 found this helpful

TOP