Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
095 286 473 3
Connect ID #
095 286 473 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Digital media receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # KMM-X704

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Digital media receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # KMM-X704

81 reviews
View this product

Awful QC

Levi from Fort Worth, TX on 11/28/2020

1999 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Randomly all buttons and screen will stop working and the only way to fix it is to remove the faceplate and put it back in. Back button rarely works. Honestly extremely disappointed in this top of the line Kenwood single din. I bought this brand new about 6 months ago and it's only been installed for about 2.

Pros: Bluetooth works great.

Cons: Back button doesn't work. Whole head unit will randomly stop working.

Crutchfield response on 12/2/2020
After receiving Levi's feedback, we looked up his order and found that his receiver is still under warranty. While his order is beyond Crutchfield's 60-day return policy, he can contact Kenwood at 800-536-9663 for further information about the 2-year warranty on this receiver.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Weird glitches

Connor from Seattle, WA on 11/21/2020

1995 Pontiac Firebird

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2 of my friends and I have this head unit and they all have the same problems. The head unit will switch inputs randomly, takes a long time to connect to Bluetooth and sometimes just won't at all. Sometimes the volume knob will have a delay. It seems to get confused easily. All of these seem to happen once a week or so.

Pros:

Cons: Weird glitches.

Crutchfield response on 11/24/2020
Connor, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If the problem continues and you'd like our help, please just reach out to our Tech Support team. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice head unit

Crutchfield customer from MAUGANSVILLE, MD on 11/17/2020

1996 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this head unit to replace one that went bad after drinking coffee through the CD slot. Been using this unit for just over a month and it does not disappoint in sound quality whatsoever. Packed with features that I'll never use, but very thoughtful of Kenwood to make it very customizable for any user. I listen to every type of music and it delivers great sound regardless of what I'm listening to. Since I've been buying Kenwood head units for decades it was very easy for me to get accustomed to using this head unit and I really like the intuitive feel that makes setup a breeze. The 2 drawbacks are the display having poor visibility in bright sunlight which is understandable as I've had this same issue with every stereo in my truck due to the location in the dash. The other is the lack of a remote, it would have been nice if Kenwood offered this as an optional purchase or add-on as my truck does not have stereo control on the steering wheel. I've had absolutely no luck downloading the Kenwood Remote app on 2 different phones and hopefully they will release a universal Bluetooth remote for us cavemen to use in the future. As a reference for others, I paired this head unit with a new Kenwood compact amp and new Pioneer D-series speakers in the rear. Front speakers are older Sony XPLOD's which I'll replace when I get a chance. Had to wait for this unit as it was back ordered, but as usual Crutchfield delivered the very next day when they got it in.

Pros: Great sound, highly customizable.

Cons: No remote.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great head unit.

Crutchfield customer from Beaufort, SC on 11/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit upgraded from my Kenwood of four years ago. Great improvements very versatile.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Crutchfield customer from Merrick, NY on 11/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

it was even easier to install because its small chassie size it sounds great easy to nav the diff menus love to alexa button all works well im happy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great value.

Crutchfield customer from Newborn, GA on 11/2/2020

2003 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Extremely nice unit for the money. All functions work well... as with any receiver I've tried lately the accessory feeds sound better than the FM band. Love the rear USB plug... I pulled it into my glove box so it's accessible yet tucked away. Very happy with the purchase.

Pros: Great Value User Friendly Customizable Rear USB Hands Free with mic works great

Cons: FM Band clarity is just ok

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Radio

Crutchfield customer from Newbury Park, CA on 11/1/2020

2004 MINI Cooper

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was easy to install and easy to set up. When I first turned it on accidentally set the language to Spanish and took me some time to reset it. It is easy to pair with Bluetooth and works well with my iPhone music and Spotify. Overall it's good value for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Michael from Hamilton, OH on 10/31/2020

2001 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this unit to replace my aging kdcx-797 excelon unit which had nothing wrong with it to begin with I just looked to upgrade. This new unit was just that. Lots of additional features over the old radio but the same great sound quality. Kenwood excelon has me as a life long user! Very happy! Not to mention the excellent crutchfield customer service.

Pros: Alexa. Apple Music. More adjustability on the EQ.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Crutchfield customer from Hanover, PA on 10/29/2020

2006 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just wish it had a CD player. I love the radio and features.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Buy this head unit!

Chris from Conway, SC on 10/28/2020

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2006 Chevy Silverado Z71 with factory Bose system. Ive always been happy with the factory setup but really wanted the option to have Bluetooth as well as an Aux in feature. I wanted something low key, dont care for anything bright and flashy so decided on this Kenwood unit. 5 volt pre outs, easily color match lights with any interior, USB, Bluetooth, etc.. Installed it last night along with the corresponding interface unit (SOCGM-17C) to retain my Bose amp. I didnt expect the sound to change at all but im telling you guys.. HUGE difference in sound. I thought it was great before but now its SO much more clear, I can turn up much louder without distortion, everything connects like it should , etc. Very happy and of course Crutchfield gives you all the info and support you need to make the install as painless as possible. Cant thank you guys enough!

Pros: Signal is much better than factory Bose Looks great, not too flashy Inputs I wanted are there and work great Very affordable for features available

Cons: Zero

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best car stereo I've ever owned

Crutchfield customer from Chico, CA on 10/18/2020

2001 Mercury Grand Marquis

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this radio. I replaced an old Blaupunkt in my 2001 Mercury Grand Marquis. What a difference. The sound is very clear, and I can turn up the volume without distortion. I had planned to install an amplifier in the future, and I still may, but I'm happy with what I'm hearing now. I like the shorter depth. It made it easier to install. The Bluetooth works very well. The music and phone calls sound very clear. I haven't figured out what I'm going to do with the rear USB inlet. Highly recommended.

Pros: Bluetooth, sound, good radio reception

Cons: Small buttons for station presets

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Jonathan from Sherwood, OR on 10/11/2020

1992 Toyota Pickup

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in my 1992 Toyota Pickup Extended cab with Ready Harness. Installation instructions were accurate and helpful. Ready harness greatly assisted in the ease of installation. Radio fit perfectly without complications. Radio sounds great (probably one of the best sounding radios I have heard) in spite of factory speakers. Videos may be helpful as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product, even better service!

Crutchfield customer from Menlo Park, CA on 9/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

More than the quality of the product, the customer service was surprisingly good! I thought something was wrong with the unit. A technician called back, got us on a video session and was able to tell me what to do within a minute of looking at my wiring. Works well now. Just so happy to find a company these days that invests in customer service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

If you like ease of use, I recommend

Crutchfield customer from Menomonee Falls, WI on 9/30/2020

2001 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is easy to use, It provided better clarity and better sound than my stock (BMW (Blauplunkt) business CD radio). I was looking mostly to get phone connection capability, but it has so much more. I didn't read the manual, it is pretty user friendly (something I find very important). To my surprise, it is half the weight, and half the depth of the stock radio. It includes lots of features I didn't expect. RCA outputs, in dash and front facing USB ports. Looks and work great!

Pros: Good price, ease of use, good sound!

Cons: So many inputs, flipping through them can take more steps than anticipated.. sometimes passing the input you want, going back around again.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Rick from Trevose, PA on 9/28/2020

2008 Chevrolet TrailBlazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have purchased radio's in the past and by far this is the best one that I have purchased. I will be purchasing another one for my wife's 03 Jeep in a couple of months. Thank you

Pros: Everything

Cons: Stay's in Standby mode everytime you turn you car on

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Mercedes Radio Replacement

Crutchfield customer from The Villages, FL on 9/21/2020

2000 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks to be a nice unit. Haven't had a chance to install it yet. It was definitely the choice over having my Mercedes radio repaired. (Please imagine the cost of that!) Kenwood has always been good equipment.

Pros: All the bells & whistles that an aging radio lacks.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Crutchfield customer from Spring, TX on 9/9/2020

1995 Chevrolet Cheyenne

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in my 1995 Chevy pickup. The Metra 99-3002 Dash Kit made installation into the factory dash opening an easy task with no mods needed. The radio has plenty of power to each of the four speakers and the hands free telephone option works perfectly. A perfect upgrade to the fifteen year old Kenwood installed when I bought the truck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Crutchfield customer from West Covina, CA on 8/16/2020

1998 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit well, instruction were very easy to follow and a ton of options on the radio.

Pros: East install and sounds great

Cons: Buttons a bit small but still usable

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

$ + HD radio= steal

Crutchfield customer from Casa Grande, AZ on 8/12/2020

2001 Ford Taurus SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy! If your looking for a great quality HD radio at a great price. Then this is the best deal.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Crutchfield customer from Murrieta, CA on 8/9/2020

2000 Honda CRV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Connects to bluetooth well, haven't tested the front usb yet, but the stereo sounds nice, woke up my music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

John Deere 5083E-Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Don from Texas on 8/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded the stereo in my John Deere tractor so I could have hands free calling, Bluetooth, Aux hook ups and a subwoofer. This Kenwood Digital Media Center fit the bill and sounds excellent. Tons of seperate fine tuning adjustments for every mode function so you can dial in the perfect sound while in each mode. Hook up was easy for the speakers and included mic for hands free voice. I also coupled this system with the Kicker 8" powered Subwoofer installed it behind my seat. Really nice setup now I can actually jam out while workingin my big tractor, thanks Crutchfield for another great stereo setup I've been using you guys since 1982 for all my audio needs and you all have always taken care of my audio needs with top notch excellence!!! Thanks again

Pros: Everything great about it

Cons: none I know of

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Crutchfield customer from Sterling Hts, MI on 7/29/2020

2000 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice, complete unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Crutchfield customer from Suisun City, CA on 7/26/2020

2003 Chevrolet Cavalier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice! Being half the size it left me with plenty of room behind it for all the wires. The sound is amazing as well. I had the X998 prior but this one sounds better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Crutchfield customer from Wallingford, CT on 7/26/2020

1998 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I wanted. Easy to install and I love having Bluetooth now in my 22 year old Jeep!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love all of this unit in my 25 year old B4000

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 7/25/2020

1995 Mazda B4000

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this unit! Replaced a 25 yr old B4000 (Ford) OEM system. I cannot believe how good it sounds. There is an amazing amount of audio controls to tweak it to your liking. The HD radio And Alexa are bonus features. I use Apple Music from my iPhone mostly. I am not much of a Spotify or Pandora user but those are options to explore. I also replaced all four of my speakers (2-6x8 Kickers & 2- 5x7 Sound Ordinance) and added a Kicker 8" powered subwoofer. I could not be happier.

Pros: Great sound and features. Excellent customer service and free installation accessories

Cons: When using the Front or Rear USB connected to my iPhone the unit powers off and resets every few minutes while playing music. Haven't pursued customer service for it yet. But I will.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Crutchfield customer from Chatham, NJ on 7/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I should have installed this years ago what a great upgrade from my old factory radio Installation was easy and you service help desk was terrific they were their on the 4 th of July when I was installing it. Top shelf all the way.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great value

Crutchfield customer from Monona, WI on 7/9/2020

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great value, easy install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Crutchfield customer from San Marcos, CA on 7/8/2020

1989 Isuzu Spacecab

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I own another excelon deck and it is awesome. I like this one more than the first one i bought.

Pros: Works grear changes color excelent sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Crutchfield customer from Brownfield, ME on 7/6/2020

1994 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutcfieldhas been my go to for car stereos and amps forever.Their expertise and assistance is beyond compare.Thanks again.??

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Crutchfield customer from Elmira, NY on 7/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Kenwood Excelon is far from flashy, but has plenty of power. Looks very similar to the one I bought 15 years ago, just wanted Bluetooth capabilities. The Bluetooth reconnects to my phone automatically and very quickly. Doesn't matter if you're running it as a stand alone or just feeding signal to your amps. It definitely gets the job done.

Pros: Has the power to run alone or feed amps. Has Bluetooth capabilities.

Cons: Still looks like the one I bought 15 years ago.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Crutchfield customer from Gold Beach, OR on 7/2/2020

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

nice radio and is as i expected

Pros: 2 year warranty

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Price, great sound, and easy to install!

Crutchfield customer from Berwyn, IL on 6/30/2020

2005 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this to replace an older Kenwood Excelon installed in a 2005 Corolla I bought. The Bluetooth in the older model would make a loud click through the speakers within the first minute of being turned on. Strange. I really like this new model. Much easier to navigate through all the preference menus and is more intuitive. I also appreciate the frequencies being shown on the EQ. The old model did not tell you what frequency you were tuning. The only con with this one is the glossy display. Sometimes it's hard to read in direct sunlight. But not a dealbreaker for me. Great Price, great sound, and easy to install!

Pros: Excellent audio quality! Lots of control and media choices. Compact and easy to install.

Cons: Sometimes it's hard to read the display in direct sunlight.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Crutchfield customer from Dellroy, OH on 6/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit but I had to read up on how to change the audio levels

Pros: Has everything I need

Cons: Hard to figure out how to change audio levels

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound decision

Bart from Fort Atkinson, WI on 6/27/2020

2006 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Ultra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this unit in a2006 Harley Davidson Electra Glide UltraClassic. With all the crossovers, EQ settings, car settings... speaker distance....speaker size..... It goes on and on. That means, The 5" HOG TUNES front speakers and HOG TUNES 4" in the rear speakers sound nothing short of awesome. A HOG TUNES 40X4 amp provides a little extra oompf. Even at higher (85 + m.p.h.) speed. There is nothing better for my money, than Kenwood Excelon

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Glad I bought this!

Crutchfield customer from Sorrento, FL on 6/25/2020

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio is very nice. It had all the features I needed. Great quality!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Crutchfield customer from Heber, CA on 6/23/2020

2001 Dodge Neon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great buy for the price . Very bright display , very easy to set up .

Pros: Display, easy installation, 5V outputs

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-X704

Crutchfield customer from Lyman, NH on 6/21/2020

2010 Suzuki SX4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like this unit and for it's price.

Pros: Nice unit; plenty of connectivity options.

Cons: Most of the buttons are very small, especially for someone with large fingers.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Glenn from Austin, TX on 6/18/2020

2005 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My old Kenwood navigation head unit KVT-614 (bought from Crutchfield) drew its last breath two weeks ago. Had it for fifteen years. Love Kenwood but did not want another touch screen unit. I did want a unit that had Apple ecosystem features along with Bluetooth connectivity. My wife and I run a lot of Spotify and Apple Music in our vehicles. This bad boy does that and more. Even Alexa gets into the mix. Easy set up. Once everything was hooked up (got new speakers too). I got to setting up the sound. Rocked out to the point my neighbors were looking at me. It was LOUD. Awesome unit. Great price. Awesome features. Thanks again Crutchfield!!!!

Pros: Everything good

Cons: Nothing bad

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

new stero for jeep

Crutchfield customer from Burlington, NJ on 6/18/2020

1998 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Crutchfield customer from San Angelo, TX on 6/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The receiver is exactly what I was expecting. I love the front and rear USB connections. The BT connected to my phone no problems and the voice quality is excellent. The only issue I found was Android Auto does not work with the Samsung S7. I think I will have to upgrade my phone.

Pros: Cost, BT phone and music connection, Spotify

Cons: Age of phone matters, Samsung S7 doesn't work for Spotify streaming through USB.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

How is this level of quality so inexpensive?

John from Melissa, TX on 6/14/2020

2005 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Talk about bang for the buck. I'm very picky and am into music production. I needed to replace the aging OEM stereo in an older Jeep TJ I recently purchased and did a lot of homework. Having prior experience with Kenwood's Excelon line and knowing I needed to power upgraded replacement speakers as well as drive a subwoofer amp, this unit checked all the requirements boxes. I also had no use for a CD player which turned out to be a physical benefit in that this unit is noticeably shallower, which makes installation all the easier. And it is shockingly lightweight. One of the great features of this deck is that you can keep it simple if you want to in terms of tweaking your system, and you can also get very advanced and specific with things like EQ and crossover frequencies and slopes. The dedicated Spotify integration works great with my iPhone and the HD radio reception is very sensitive (a good thing). As an added benefit you can select one or two zones of custom display colors which allow you visually integrate the deck seamlessly with your vehicle's color/s. In summary, the deck really delivers in all ways. The deck has plenty of power to drive upgraded aftermarket speakers and still gives enough clean power to make your music plenty loud and clear at highway speeds even with the top of my Jeep completely removed. Its great on its own and integrates wonderfully with other components, like external amps. What a great deck and, at this price, its a real steal

Pros: Feature rich, sonic quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great little unit

Crutchfield customer from Irrigon, OR on 6/9/2020

2003 Ford Taurus SES

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, easy to install. Kenwood always exceeds my expectations.

Pros: Easy installation, compact size, great sound, simple to program.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Radio.....Kind of

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 6/9/2020

1997 Jaguar XJ6 L

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am not sure what I did but for some reason, I lost the front channel and had to do a factory reset. I had this on the same radio that I actually thought I lost the front channel and sent it back (Not Crutchfield). I did not know that you could do a factory reset. As for the radio's performance great radio. Two features that I like on my Alpine better was that the only time that your power antenna would go up was when you turned on the radio. If you were in another source it would stay down. So I had to add a toggle switch. The other feature was I was able to set up my stereo on my phone. There is no real Kenwood app that works with this radio...for now. I have also noticed that using the back USB does not charge the phone. Maybe I missed something but I would think that it would.

Pros: Sound Display Size Ease of installation

Cons: POwer antenna wire keeps the antenna up all the time No smartphone Application USB does not seem to charge the phone

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great radio for the price!

Crutchfield customer from Ponce, PR on 6/5/2020

2001 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great audio, lots of cool features and settings. Buttons are too small. Alexa can be a pain to connect sometimes, wish you could use the wake word "Alexa" instead of having to push the button, Also you can't control the radio with Alexa, like when playing from USB, wish you could control it like that, and also the radio, like say "Alexa, tune in to 107.3 FM, etc.. or set fader, etc.. but overall the sound is amazing! Really clear!

Pros: Great sound and features, lots of settings!

Cons: Alexa could control more stuff...

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Crutchfield customer from Merrillville, IN on 6/2/2020

2003 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a nice unit. Sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Crutchfield customer from Newark, DE on 6/2/2020

2015 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple, full-featured receiver in a small, single-DIN chassis.

Pros: HD radio, Bluetooth, USB, variable color displays to match dashboard lighting

Cons: Control knob can be touchy, menus are a bit complicated because there are so many customizations available. Android app not updated/doesn't work on Android 10

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice Sound. Clunky ergonomics.

Crutchfield customer from Narragansett, RI on 6/1/2020

2007 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No complaints about the sound. I have this paired with the KAC-m1814 compact amp and it does a very nice job in my Miata. But, man, I REALLY wish we could go back to twin post radios. This is not unique to this radio or to Kenwood, it's the same with all of the modern single-DIN radios. Too many menus that are too deep even for basic radio functions. Having more control inputs would help a lot.

Pros: Nice clear sound, and I guess that's the most important thing in a radio.

Cons: Trying to do everything through one control input is insane and distracting. I don't understand why it's not possible to have more control inputs.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great deal

Crutchfield customer from Wichita Falls, TX on 5/30/2020

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My unit had a problem but Crutchfield promptly replaced the unit and apologized for the inconvenience. The new unit seems ok. I like it very much. The HD radio is awesome. The unit is feature rich and for the price ,Its really an outstanding deal. Plus a two year warranty instead of the standard one year warranty. I'm very pleased. And Crutchfield as usual is an outstanding organization. No need to deal with anyone else.

Pros: HD radio, two year warranty. BT radio, Pandora BT, Spotify BT. Phone BT had good sound quality. Great upgrade from factory unit. Great price.

Cons: No booklet explaining all the features. I didn't check website.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood does it again !

Crutchfield customer from Wappingers Fl, NY on 5/29/2020

1994 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I originally had the Kenwood KDC-BT565U in my "94" Honda civic which was a pretty good radio with nice features, but felt a little outdated. My music loaded flash drive would take entirely too long to load and if I switched the source before it finished reading the drive, no sound would play from the other sources ,such as the radio,the aux,or the cd player unless it was switched back the USB source and it finished reading until the music started playing and then you can switch the radio source without a problem. Otherwise it was a great radio ! I decided to bump it up a bit with the Kenwood Excelon KKM-X704. Wow ! What a difference ! I lost the feature of the cd player but I never play cd's anyway ! The short chassis design makes for easy install because it leaves so much space to tuck all the wires into the dash easily, especially if your hooking up an amp and optional Sirius/XM tuner. The features are awesome ,like front and rear USB ports,Alexa,and the ability to stream Pandora or spotify, which I prefer. It reads my flash drive and begins playing music almost instantaneously. My conversations using the hands free bluetooth feature is crystal clear on both ends of conversation. My friends are quite surprised to find out that I'm actually driving in my car when I converse with them. Overall its a great radio with great features and the front display has great visibility day or night ! From now on Kenwood Excelon radios will be my car radio replacement choice !

Pros: Short chassis make for an easy install into the dash. Quick and easy bluetooth connection. Rear USB drive port. Stream Spotify, or Pandora

Cons: Doesn't come with radio remote control like past Kenwood radios

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Crutchfield customer from Anaheim, CA on 5/25/2020

2006 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The alexa feature comes in handy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great radio

Crutchfield customer from Everett, WA on 5/24/2020

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio it does everything I need plus has ability to expand when I want to. The only reason I did not give it five stars is because there is a 10 second or so delay after saying "hey Siri" on my iPhone 11 or "ok google" on my Android.

Pros: 5 volt pre amp outputs and lots of expand ability.

Cons: 10 second or so delay after saying "hey siri" or "ok google"

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Receiver at Good Price

Crutchfield customer from O Fallon, IL on 5/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am pleased with the Kenwood KMM-X704. It has all the features that I wanted and produces a good sound. I found the price to be acceptable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Crutchfield customer from Poynette, WI on 5/16/2020

2004 Chrysler Sebring

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

More functions than one could possibly need. But I'm still trying to figure out how to play music through my android phone...

Pros: huge array of settings

Cons: a bit complicated...

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Jason from Seattle, WA. on 5/15/2020

2008 Hyundai Tiburon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to replace my factory stereo and to be able to play music from my IPOD Nano. Even though it says it supports IPOD, it is not compatible with the IPOD Nano. This is a huge disappointment. On the positive side, this stereo is a vast improvement in sound quality over my factory stereo. Install was easy. My other vehicle has a Kenwood so I am used to the interface (consistent controls over the years!). I love the stereo but like I said it does not support the Nano.

Pros: Vast improvement in sound quality over my factory stereo.

Cons: Is not compatible with the IPOD Nano

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Crutchfield customer from Galt, CA on 5/15/2020

2008 Harley-Davidson Street Glide

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo for my Harley streetglide. I can see display brightly during the day ride.

Pros:

Cons: Doesn't support iPod or my iPhone via usb but will Bluetooth

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Crutchfield customer from Kennewick, WA on 5/10/2020

1998 Chevrolet K Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it easy to install. Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

nice but ! clock display lacks visibility

Crutchfield customer from Nashville, NC on 5/8/2020

1999 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

nice unit ! just cannot see the clock ?I mean I wanted a clock it has one but hard to see !

Pros: nice sound , colors are cool , fairly loud better than stock

Cons: clock display is not very visible , you need to be at a stop to look at it to see what time it is

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very nice head unit. Has all I need.

WILLIAM from Aurora, CO on 4/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple to install. Wife having vision problems and she says the display is brighter than on other units and easier to read. Plenty of power for pairs of 5 1/4, 6x8, and 6x9 speakers (JBL Club) in a '98 Dodge Grand Caravan.

Pros: Simple to install. Plenty of power for me. Wife finds the display to be brighter.

Cons: None at all.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just OK, not great

Ryan from INDEPENDENCE, MN on 4/22/2020

2007 BMW X3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this stereo to replace the factory stereo for my '07 vehicle. It has good power and sound. The interface is very clunky and switching between inputs is very slow and painful to do sitting still, and even worse when driving. The screen is also very hard to see, even at it's brightest setting, during the day. The buttons are very small and difficult to see the icons on or above the buttons. If this were the vehicle I was driving daily, instead of my child, I would be extremely frustrated, and would likely return it. On a positive note, the tech support staff was PHENOMENAL!!! They quickly understood my issue, and were able to quickly explain to me what needed to be done, and were able to email me additional diagrams to help.

Pros: Tech support best I've ever experienced

Cons: Small buttons, screen not visible in daylight, icon are very small and hard to read, switching inputs is slow and painful.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Smooth

Blake from Seaford de on 4/21/2020

2001 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice head unit powerful on pre outs love the 5 volts

Pros: Powerful I like it better than a CD head unit more room for tucking wires easy to function love the xover features the speakers get the right tone and bass perfect deck if your building a high power system

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood for the win

Crutchfield customer from Indianapolis, IN on 4/21/2020

2006 Harley-Davidson Ultra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks amazing in my 06 ultra classic. Extra USB port in the rear is really helpful to charge go pro or sena. Bluetooth works great.

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Highly recommended

Crutchfield customer from Prnc Frederck, MD on 4/17/2020

2003 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent style and sound for a reasonable price

Pros: Performance/ looks

Cons: None at this time

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Crutchfield customer from Ormond Beach, FL on 4/13/2020

2005 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio , easy to install. More functions than I even know what to do with

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good sound, Alexa enabled.

Crutchfield customer from Puyallup, WA on 4/12/2020

2004 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple easy installation, the deck performs as I expected it would. Being able to push a button and tell my wife I am on the way home with Alexa is kinda fun ("Announce I am on the way home") . If you have smart lights, thrermostat etc at home you can tell Alexa to turn up the furnace or turn on lights etc on your way home. A little more fun than most. HD radio is also very nice.

Pros: Alexa, HD Radio, easy to install sound great

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Crutchfield customer from Salem, OH on 4/11/2020

1994 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really enjoying this radio. Sounds great easy to use.

Pros: A lot of options.

Cons: Clock is hard to see.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Let Down - Could Be Much Better...

Crutchfield customer from Roebuck, SC on 4/10/2020

2004 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not as nice a head unit as expected . Knobs and buttons are flimsy, buttons are small and hard to push. HD radio sucks as it cuts in and out changing volume and losing total signal quite frequently. Easy install and plug - n - play with the wiring harness adapter; however, the unit doesn't power up with auto key in accessory mode and I have to turn ignition key all the way on to power the unit when listening without the engine running..

Pros: Cheap

Cons: Cheap

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Love it!!

Crutchfield customer from Roy, UT on 4/8/2020

2005 Dodge Neon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the new radio play great, always loved knewood

Pros: Great

Cons: No cons yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Crutchfield customer from Fayetteville, NC on 3/30/2020

1997 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this head unit to replace the factory Tapedeck in my BMW Z3. Installing it was simple. The factory system had an Alpine head unit with Harman / Kardon speakers and amp. Installing this head unit really woke up the system. You'd have thought I replaced everything by the sound of it. I particularly like the fact that you can match the display color to the factory colors. The BY and hands free calling is also clutch.

Pros: 22 watts RMS per channel Hands free calling Bluetooth Color options

Cons: Menu should be more customizable to eliminate sources not used in addition to streaming services

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Crutchfield customer from Los Altos, CA on 3/30/2020

2005 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great so far, audio sounds amazing, not sure I love every price of the UI yet but the audio is priority 1 and they delivered.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just what I was looking for.

Crutchfield customer from Mesa, AZ on 3/29/2020

2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Gr8 deck. Fir perfect with the install kit included from Crutchfield. The deck is exactly what I was looking for my PT Cruiser Convertible. Sound is awesome with the already installed Kicker speakers/hideaway sub.

Pros: Easy install with included instructions and adapter

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Well worth it

Crutchfield customer from Catonsville, MD on 3/29/2020

2005 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and reasonably priced. And my daughter loves the colors! It easily connects to our phones with bluetooth. And the hands-free works great for calls. Every time I get in the car I just turn on my bluetooth and let it connect. If I get a call, whether I'm listening to the radio or using Spotify, it automatically displays who is calling. If I want to answer it I just press the telephone button on the face. And similarly if I want to make a call, I just press the same button (it will let you scroll through your contacts, which is a little clunky but still better than doing it on your phone). And Alexa works too - you just need the Alexa app on your phone. This is my first Kenwood, and based on all the other positive reviews, it's obvious they made the extra effort to work out all the bugs in order to provide a great end-user experience.

Pros: Sound, Bluetooth, Spotify, Alexa, hands-free

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Crutchfield customer from Crownsville, MD on 3/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit, bluetooth works great with my android phone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 3/28/2020

1993 Nissan Hardbody

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit for what I need

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Crutchfield customer from Dededo, GU on 3/18/2020

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Such a good player and really fast shipping!!

Pros: Cheap. Bunch of expand ability. Fast shipping!

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great affordable unit

Crutchfield customer from El Cajon, CA on 3/14/2020

1997 Buick Park Avenue

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product, it exceeded my expectations. easy install, great customer service. The unit has a rear USB cord about two feet long, in addition to the front face USB port. It has three rear rca outputs. easy to use display.

Pros: easy to use easy to install

Cons: lots of sound options, not sure how to set the correct frequency hrz.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

First reactions of ownership

Crutchfield customer from Brentwood, NY on 3/10/2020

2004 Honda Element

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Over all the initial owner's experience is good. There is a learning curve with this unit that will take some time to master. I would say the controlls are only somewhat intuitive. Aurally this is a great unit with certainly enough sound field control to overcome almost any enviornment. Echoing earlier comments, the buttons are smallish and do take some getting used to. Perhaps the addition of the remote control might help especially for us older folks. I'm taking this just one step at a time learning a new function or two with every use.

Pros: Sounds good, good tuner, plenty of audio control functions, good, readable display even in sunlight.

Cons: Smallish buttons, unusual function for off/on, not exactly intuitive, definite learning curve which needs to employ the manual only obtainable on line.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great sounding head unit

Nicholas from Saginaw, MI on 3/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit, does everything I need and want for a great price, definitely worth buying !

Pros: Beautiful clean sound, has everything I'm looking for Spotify Pandora and iPhone hook up !

Cons: No cons what so ever!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704

Guest from Fresno, CA on 3/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a nicely priced unit that supports Flac and has HD radio. I've been looking for a HU with these two features for the longest time. I wish it was built with better quality components such as in the Pioneer 80PRS but that would increase the price significantly. I can't believe some of the higher end "Audiophile" units from other brands don't support these features. Why would top of the line stereos only support WMA and MP3 formats and bluetooth streaming? That doesn't make sense. I love that I'm able to rip my entire CD collection to loseless flac on a large flash drive and play from it on this stereo. I'm a casual listener so I don't have any fancy equipment or the expertise to really know the difference between the sound out of this and Audiophile units like the Pioneer 80PRS but it sounds pretty good to me. I have a full amplified system and I notice the biggest difference between Flac files and MP3 files at high volumes so this unit shines because of the Flac support. I'm not a big fan of the display and styling of the face as it looks too much like every other radio available out there. I wish it would be more of a high end brushed or polished metallic look. I hate this cheap clear plastic look. I haven't fully utilized all the features but this is a feature packed unit that should really cost more than $130. Kenwood has a winner with this one. Nice job Kenwood!

Pros: Feature packed. Flac support and HD radio.

Cons: Face and display look cheap. No face case, no remote

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Not a fan

Crutchfield customer from Sequim, WA on 3/5/2020

1994 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had only used Pioneer decks up til now, and thought I'd give Kenwood a try after I saw all the features it has that Pioneer doesn't. Most were superfluous, hardly affecting the way the music sounded. The bluetooth takes almost a minute to load up when you start the car. The dial is extremely touchy, making it very difficult to navigate or alter settings. If you're going to get a songle-din, I'd strongly recommend looking at other options, I myself intend on exchanging mine.

Pros: X-overs give you great options to tailor to your set up

Cons: Dial is way too sensitive BT takes for days to play upon car-start Android app is useless

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Optimal!

Crutchfield customer from Bristow, OK on 2/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All i can say is that is, I will never go with any other car stereo than Kenwood

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great upgrade over factory radio!

Crutchfield customer from Dunlap, TN on 2/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great radio for the price. I purchased as the factory CD/AM/FM /SXM radio in my 2012 Ram 2500 pickup did not have Bluetooth and was a pain to connect newer iPhones since they no longer have a headphone jack and require special adapters. With the ability to stream music from my phone via Bluetooth I have no need for a CD player and the improvement in radio reception and sound quality make this a purchase that would have been worth much more than the purchase price. Install was very easy with the install kit and there were no surprises due to the detailed instructions provide by Crutchfield.

Pros: HD Radio, Bluetooth, Great Sound Quality, No longer need to carry around CDs and Easily Installed.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

TOP