Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood Excelon P-XR600-6DSP

6-channel car amplifier with digital signal processing and Maestro AR interface — 75 watts RMS x 6

MFR # P-XR600-6DSP

Kenwood Excelon P-XR600-6DSP

Kenwood Excelon P-XR600-6DSP

6-channel car amplifier with digital signal processing and Maestro AR interface — 75 watts RMS x 6

MFR # P-XR600-6DSP

18 reviews
View this product

Great for the money

Crutchfield customer from Buford, GA on 2/14/2021

2019 Ford F-250 Lariat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp, integrates nicely with my 2019 F250. Wish the directions were better and KW really needs to get a professional to set up their app, but all in all it works well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon P-XR600-6DSP

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 1/1/2021

2019 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfect on 2019 tundra!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon P-XR600-6DSP

Crutchfield customer from Florissant, MO on 12/10/2020

2013 Ford F-150 Limited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was simple to install into my F150. Sounds amazing! Great update to my stock Sony Sync system. Wish I knew about this option years ago.

Pros: Easy plug and play installation. Just wire in power from the battery. Great clean sound

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2019 ram classic

Crutchfield customer from Blue Springs, MO on 12/3/2020

2019 Ram 1500 Classic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I opted to install this myself, the instructions seem a little confusing and lacking but if you've ever installed an amp and head unit you should be able to muster through. I installed this in '19 ram classic with non amplified Uconnect 5.0 with excelon 6903c up front and kfc-x694 in the rear doors. I love the versatility and sound quality of this amplifier. It is running dash high pas, FR doors midbass and rear doors high pass at 80hz. I have a separate amp for 10" JLs for low end.

Pros: Adjustability, versatility, x-overs, eq, sound quality, power

Cons: In depth install, instructions are lacking

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon P-XR600-6DSP

Crutchfield customer from Lees Summit, MO on 11/12/2020

2018 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Close to plug and play, but the outputs on mine had to be tested per each speaker as they were labeled wrong. No biggie. Once channels were correct and powering the right speakers amp works great. Running Infinity Ref comp and coax in doors. Didn't bother with the center channel or rear pillars (at least for now, probably won't) RCA outputs to mono amp for the sub. DSP controls and EQ settings allow for a dialed in for each users own sound preference tuning and once tuned switching to the user mode gives you some sound control while driving. Says somewhere in instructions to leave the tuning to a professional. I don't know this stuff and I tuned my own and it sounds great. Pretty simple and self explanatory. Might suggest going on YouTube and watching the demo and installation videos Kenwood and Five Star Car Stereo have on there ahead of time. I would suggest hooking it up and programming your speakers so it sends the signal and then run one channel to test each speaker one by one to make sure you have them correct and label your speaker wires not trusting the pre-labeled output wires. IDK, maybe that was just in mine. This set up does work great in my Explorer for upgrading the "premium" crappy sounding Sony system. Sounds incredible now. With the Maestro AR didn't lose any vehicle controls. Have all chimes, NAV sounds, Bluetooth phone calling, steering wheel, etc.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Harley Davidson Install

Juan F. from CENTRAL ISLIP, NY on 10/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So i bought this to install on a 2104 Harley Davidson motorcycle i have a 6 speaker system i used 4 JBL Stadium GTO620 full range speakers and 2 JBL GX 862 for the saddle bag lids. if you are using a factory gt radio not gts you do require a AHD2 radio harness and that will program amplified mode into the radio without a flasher. program the meastro ar for harley davidson and this sound had never been better. it blows the boom audio out of the water. it took some research and trial to get this amp and dsp to work but it was well worth the money. crutch field staff was very helpful meastro and kenwood staff not so much didnt seem like they knew too much on their product and on how they work together.

Pros: very powerful amp small form factor fit great in my tourpak

Cons: kenwood and meastro should be traind more on the product not alot of info on this product online and took some research to figure out. meastro said to flash the meastro ar for universal and not use the AHD2 harness but they were wrong.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon P-XR600-6DSP

Crutchfield customer from Margate, FL on 9/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice upgrade for my 2018 F250. Nice crisp sound. Easy installation.

Pros: Amp bolted right into old Sony bracket.

Cons: Setting up mystro.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon P-XR600-6DSP

jeri from FSTRVL TRVOSE, PA on 9/12/2020

2018 Dodge Durango

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in my 2018 Durango to replace the factory "Beats" system. Significant improvement in overall sound quality. I'm still playing around with all the DSP settings but everything fit nicely under the rear cargo area. The only problem I had was with the harness required. The catalog recommended the ch2 harness but after a phone call with Crutchfield and then with Maestro I was quickly sent the proper ch4 harness. Flashing the module was quick and simple. I have also added a mono sub amp using the preamp outputs on this Amp and everything works as promised. Zero splicing was required to the factory wiring and the installed harness also provided the turn on signal for the separate subwoofer amp. The app is required for set up and it's fairly simple to use. The maestro ar allows me to adjust the subwoofer level on my factory radio screen which eliminated the need to install a bass knob. This means a very clean install overall

Pros: No splicing-plug and play Configure things the way you want

Cons: As with anything, there is always a little troubleshooting which can be frustrating at times

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon P-XR600-6DSP

Jacob from Tampa, FL on 9/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a phenomenal product but does require a very specific install sequence, including flashing firmware. Follow the directions, use the appropriate vehicle firmware and harness and it will seamlessly work with all of your cars features. Once installed, you WILL need the Kenwood app to complete the install and configure the outputs. Without competing the setup via Bluetooth, you will have 0 sound.

Pros: Great Value Full support for navigation, chimes, warnings, etc. Fantastic Sound

Cons: The temperature is pretty warm on these.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Quick Guide for Universal Install

Jesse from EVERETT, WA on 8/25/2020

2016 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'll start off by saying that this device is absolutely awesome for the price. Yeah, it is a bit difficult to set up but it's all about reading the directions carefully and thoroughly. Also, it was a bit difficult to find information on using this device WITHOUT using the Maestro device to connect to the factory system in your car but you absolutely can do this. What you need to know is that even if you don't need/want to use the included Maestro device, you still have to use it. If you are using it in Universal mode, you DO NOT need a harness. If you ARE connecting to the factory system for the door chimes etc. then you do need one. I am specifically talking about using this amp without a need for the Maestro device, though. If you are in this position, you need to connect the Maestro device to your PC (I think they only support PC at this time but I may be wrong), you need to download the Maestro app (Google it) and once you have installed it, connected your device, you need to install the UNIVERSAL profile for it to function with your system. Afterward, you can attach the universal harness (look at directions) and finish the installation. You shouldn't have any problems if you do this the way I've detailed. By the way, if you decide to call Kenwood support for help with the device, I'm going to give you a heads up by saying that they won't know what they are doing. They are going to search for it on their database and give you the same directions as your manual. Good luck!

Pros: Inexpensive, DSP (Digital Signal Processor), Bluetooth (without buying adapter like AudioControl, crazy expensive), Kenwood Quality, Premium Build Quality, You would own the same device as me (This is important), Multi-Configurable, Quiet, Discreet

Cons: Does get a bit warm at times, Removeable speaker wire insert is a bit flimsy (The speaker connections are in three separate bridges that you can remove for easier connection but are flimsy and afraid they will break), the speaker wire bridges also use a very small Phillips screwdriver that are very easy to strip and this is especially true when trying to tighten them securely so be careful, Software can bug out (I spent hours tuning and on a few occasions it deleted all my data so be careful!)

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NOT Happy in the Desert

Cody from El Paso, TX on 8/1/2020

2020 Dodge Charger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far this is a very disappointing experience. Like others I have NO signal from the RCA outputs to my sub amp--in fact I can't even configure channels seven and eight. Even more puzzling is the fact that I have no signal to my rear speakers. Not a thing. Unplugged the harnesses and plugged them back into the factory amp and *bam* SOUND!!! One more thing: I am not new to 12 volt electronics. I have installed a system in every car I have owned MYSELF for the last 25 years. I have never had something sound so poorly. I never got around to adding delay for time alignment because the system sounded very off. I had mid bass but the highs were muddy and without volume. I will work with the software a little more then will pack this thing up and call for a refund if I can't clean it up and get sound from the other four speakers (rears and dual 12's). I'm really regretting not going with a PAC piece and a couple amps but wanted to do the all-in-one six channel route for an "easier" install experience...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/4/2020
Cody, we're sorry you're having issues with your amp. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 3 found this helpful

'17 highlander limited amp solution

Crutchfield customer from Mayville, WI on 7/30/2020

2017 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My factory "premium" amp went out in my '17 highlander. I spoke with Carson about options and this amp with the included AR maestro was exactly what I needed. No cutting of wires was needed which really made the hook up fairly fool-proof. While I did have to combine a few speakers into the 6 channels (I ran 9 speakers off the 6 channels as I had no interest in running a second amp to power stock speakers), everything sounds much better than stock. If you're looking for an option to retain your factory radio with all its functions, yet still make the system sound great, this is it for sure!

Pros: Very easy hook up, no cutting into factory wires at all.

Cons: Doesn't have quite enough speaker outputs to have each speaker on it's own channel, unless you run a second amp off of it.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Skip this if you have a Mustang

Nick from El Cajon, CA on 7/19/2020

2018 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice looking amp but does not work for 2015 and up Mustang (C'mon Crutchfield, what gives??). This unit only supports 2 inputs, where the mustang head unit outputs 4. The only way it will work at all is in "universal" mode which is less than functional (no chimes, no tire pressure sensors, audio sounds like crap, etc...) I spoke with iDatalink and they confirmed, this amp is not supported for the Mustang. They also said there's no workaround at this point and likely never will be. Moral of the story, save your money and buy a nice DSP with a regular old amp....

Pros: Nice looking unit

Cons: Doesn't work for the application

Crutchfield response on 7/22/2020
Nick contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great idea horrible execution

Francis from Kingwood, TX on 7/1/2020

2017 Ford Edge

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really disappointed with this product, after installing all components no sound. Reflashed maestro, verified all connections and checked amp power, nothing. Contacted Crutchfield and replaced all components still nothing. Kudos to Crutchfield for amazing customer service but Kenwood has lost my business.

Pros: Crutchfield customer service.

Cons: Everything else.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon P-XR600-6DSP

Crutchfield customer from Juana Diaz, PR on 6/28/2020

2019 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amplificador con buena potencia, ajustes de sonido facil.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 7 found this helpful

Fantastic value

Crutchfield customer from Saint Joseph, MI on 5/19/2020

2019 Dodge Challenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is really an amazing package if you have a vehicle that can be interfaced with this gear. Go price check any 75x6 amp of any reasonable brand and you might be able to get close to paying this price. Then add on a full DSP and the maestro interface. I looked extensively and this is by far the best value right now. This amp is driving infinity kappa tweeters, midrange and a set of coax 6.5's. The four output RCAs are also managed by the onboard DSP so I have another four channel pushing the midbass and subs. The 75 watts is plenty to make your smaller drivers sing but my midbass is looking for a little more. That isnt a problem with the amp...I just chose power hungry speakers. Most people wont be running 3 way active components so you could easily bridge a couple channels to really power up a nice midbass. My only complaint thus far would be the need to modify the maestro extension harness before use. Would have been much better is datalink simply included a long 2 pin cable instead of asking the installer to cut it in half and splice into the existing harness. I do want to add that the DSP control ap running on my phone NEVER turns off. Mildly annoying..the app seems to work very smoothly I had no issues flashing my cars program to the maestro and can change so many settings at a whim.. I just wish the program would actually go away when I was done with it. Install of the unit was clear and easy if you have limited background in audio/assembly experience.

Pros: Great value..good quality sound...the 75 watts is plenty to drive smaller speakers.

Cons: Some harness modification needed in what I suspect is most cases.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

sounds Nice

Casey from FELTON, CA on 5/2/2020

2018 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great sounding six channel amp. Was very straightforward to hook up and get going.

Pros: Straightforward input/output. Not very noisy even when hot and fan is blasting.

Cons: The Kenwood app some getting used to but once you get it it's pretty simple.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Keep looking. These are junk

Crutchfield customer from Billings , MT on 4/1/2020

2015 Jeep Renegade

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you think this amp is for you keep looking. This should have been a great amplifier to upgrade a Beats Audio system. I got it installed and it had no signal from either set of preouts to drive the sub amp. Crutchfield was awesome and sent me a replacement right away. The second amp has the same issue. Crutchfield then referred me to Kenwood who acknowledged they have had the issue before, but blamed it on the Maestro AR and told me to reflash it. When that didn't work Kenwood told me I would have to take it to a dealer on my dime to look at it. The amps clearly have a software issue that Kenwood knows is a problem, but they don't have a fix for. I called Crutchfield back and Tia took the time to call Maestro and Kenwood who both blamed each other for the problem. Good thing I bought this from Crutchfield. They stepped up and made me a deal on two new amps and a DSR1 to replace this with.

Pros: Crutchfield support is the best!

Cons: Kenwood is selling an amplifier with know issues.

Crutchfield response on

47 of 50 found this helpful

TOP