Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
980 004 941 3

Call center hours

Connect ID #
980 004 941 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood KCA-RC55MR

Wired marine remote control

MFR # KCA-RC55MR

Kenwood KCA-RC55MR

Kenwood KCA-RC55MR

Wired marine remote control

MFR # KCA-RC55MR

14 reviews
View this product

Kenwood KCA-RC55MR

Crutchfield customer from Tappahannock, VA on 1/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KCA-RC55MR

Crutchfield customer from Oak Creek, WI on 9/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This wired Kenwood remote matched perfectly. Works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KCA-RC55MR

Crutchfield customer from Birchwood, TN on 9/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome remote hooked it up the the radio and was ready to use.

Pros: Love that you can control the function of the radio from this remote without going to the radio for some of the functions.

Cons: Has a little bit of a delay when buttons are pushed.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great remote

Crutchfield customer from Poughkeepsie , NY on 8/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great remote, I have a 24ft cabin cruiser and the radio in down below and was always a pain to do anything on the radio when I was operating the boat. I installed this right in the dash at the helm and now can work just about all the controls on my new radio.

Pros: Hard wired and weather proof

Cons: You have to figure out how to run a cable from your radio to the unit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KCA-RC55MR

Crutchfield customer from Napa, CA on 8/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple and straight forward installation, however there is a bit of lag time of communication between remote and head unit, also it seems my volume down button sticks frequently.

Pros: Easy installation, nice display readout

Cons: Lag time, sticky volume down button

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KCA-RC55MR

Crutchfield customer from Fremont, NH on 7/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed quickly..love the one step cable to the reciever. Some of the functions seem slow but time and experience with it will tell. Install directions are basic and fine. No real function directions included...kind of frustrating

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KCA-RC55MR

Lost Tackle charters from East Liverpool, OH on 7/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice but wish it had mor features like toggling through channels that's are preset.

Pros: Easy to use

Cons: Need a hole saw to make it clean looking on the dash, it has a offset on the back which would make it stick out without hole sawing prior to installing.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Terrible Buttons

Jordan from West Jordan, UT on 4/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lousy remote buttons! The volume buttons in particular are terrible.. I would push it and push it and it wouldn't do anything then it would finally catch up and go full blast. I avoided using this remote as much as possible, the buttons just sucked! Then it finally wouldn't turn on anymore, i was so happy to be able to replace it with a kicker marine remote

Pros: Secondary location

Cons: Buttons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KCA-RC55MR

Doug from Owosso, MI on 8/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A must for any boater, after a day of boarding we like to anchor on the standby a anchor on the sandbar and have a couple cold ones. This allows us to stand in the water and control the radio without having to get in and out . Love it!

Pros: Easy to use and can control the inputs also

Cons: You got to order the cable to connect to the radio.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Ok

Geremie from Delco, NC on 5/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install could use more cable but they sale extention and wish it worked with presets but for the most part great buy

Pros: Easy install works perfect

Cons: Wish it would use presets and had a longer cord

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Expected More

Jason from Owosso, MI on 4/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought 2 of these to go with a KMR-765BT stereo to replace a dated Alpine. These have a cheap feel to them right out of the box. Once installed there is a delay in each button function, enough to where to where you question if it's working. I expected more, I would NOT buy these again.

Pros:

Cons: Cheap feel. Delay in operation

Crutchfield response on 5/2/2017
Jason, we're sorry you're disappointed with your remote control. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very Pleased!

Flandanagan from New York on 9/2/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been using this remote all season this summer. It works great hooked up to Kenwood receiver! I pretty much only listen to Sirius XM on the boat. It displays the station number and name. The buttons are large and easy to use when driving the boat.

Pros: Easy to install. Visual display to show stations. Large buttons that work very well and are responsive. Need to buy the extension cable separately if have more than 3 ft to the receiver.

Cons: Wish it worked with the Preset stations on the receiver. I would give the remote a 5 if you could tune with the preset stations instead of only manual tune. When you turn the unit on you have to advance the stations one by one until you find the station you want to listen too. So if you like the Classic Vinyl (#26) you have to push the advance button 26 times to get to that station.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Poor housing quality

Guest from Orange County, CA on 9/22/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The product itself is easy to use however shortly after one year the exterior housing began to chip and crack. When I spoke to Kenwood customer service I was told they don't cover the exterior housing and since it's over the one year warranty nothing is covered at this point. Waist if my money!!

Pros: Features and easy to use

Cons: Housing cracked in multiple places at about one year. Kenwood does not warranty it. How convenient for them!

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Great for boating!

Ryan from Virginia on 6/24/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little wired remote that I installed with my radio, I love it! It alows you to control everything that the radio can do through it, even adjusting the bass and treble + sub level! Would defiantly recommend this!

Pros: Easy use

Cons: Screen is a little hard to see but I mounted it kinda low and I think that's why.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

TOP