Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
597 344 940 4
Connect ID #
597 344 940 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood Excelon XR-1701P

Excelon Series 6-1/2" component speaker system

MFR # XR-1701P

Kenwood Excelon XR-1701P

Kenwood Excelon XR-1701P

Excelon Series 6-1/2" component speaker system

MFR # XR-1701P

10 reviews
View this product

These things are wonderful!

Eugene from BRONX, NY on 9/13/2022

2021 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Extremely clear sound. Both the mid and high ranges were crisp, clear, and booming with no distortion whatsoever. Keep in mind these tweeters are bright and will need a good amp to properly set crossovers. I started with a different manufacturer to maximize watts but the tweeters were too bright no matter how much I tweaked. I switched over to the Kenwood Excelon Reference XR401-4 amp and it worked really well for me. The amp was setup using Bi-amp mode(so all four outputs are used for all four speakers) and using the amp settings to tune the sound. I'm seriously blown away by the sound quality.

Pros: Extremely clear crisp sound Highly tunable with different configurations

Cons: A high quality amp is a must!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon XR-1701P

Crutchfield customer from Indianapolis, IN on 10/29/2021

2009 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing very nice

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

2005 350Z Roadster

Chad from LENEXA, KS on 7/4/2021

2005 Nissan 350Z

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought 2 sets of these to put into my 350Z. The Crutchfield description claims they won't fit the front doors because of mounting depth. I discovered that with applying dynamat, using a baffle and a speaker adapter provides the perfect amount of clearance for the front doors. The tweeter IS much too large to mount in the factory housing, so I used the included angle mounts and attached them to the tweeter grills and they point directly at each passenger. For the rear speakers, I mounted the tweeters onto the center of the factory speaker grills built into the interior panel. It looks great and was a cinch to install. I have them powered by a Kenwood Excelon XR401-4, and the sound is fantastic!

Pros: High quality sound! Ease of installation. High-quality construction.

Cons: The tweeters don't click in to the angle mounts very well, they fall out easily, so I had to use the included grill putty for the woofers on the tweeters to keep them secured.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon XR-1701P

Crutchfield customer from Leighton, AL on 4/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They are crystal clear

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Buy!

Crutchfield customer from Asheboro, NC on 3/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound amazing. I knew I would have to do some door panel cutting to get them to fit my altima but they fit my door great. Excellent buy. Very happy with these speakers.

Pros: Sound amazing!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon XR-1701P

Crutchfield customer from Hialeah, FL on 2/16/2021

2017 Volkswagen Touareg

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super high quality speakers. I really recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon XR-1701P

Crutchfield customer from Edgewater, MD on 2/11/2021

2020 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound quality, very clear with no distortion all the way to max volume. Running them off the Kenwood 1057xr head unit. I purchased the matching Excelon amp but after hearing them at max volume from the head unit, I was more than satisfied with the power and clarity; and returned the amp. These speakers are in all four doors now on my 2020 Camry TRD with only the fronts using the crossover/tweeters. Side note for any non JBL 2018+ Camry installs, I just clipped the stock tweeter off the harness (the actual speaker at the soldered leads, not damaging the white plastic harness its attached to) in the dash, wrapped the harness in electrical tape and stuffed it back in the cavity. The stock tweeter and the front doors are wired together, doing it this way allows the door speaker to be run from the head unit without a dash speaker. They are expensive but they perform with clarity. I think they are absolutely worth the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Full Range Sound, 2010 F-150 Install Help

Robert from Lathrop on 8/7/2020

2010 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2010 Ford F-150 XLT SuperCrew Cab Perfect audio quality with no other additions, good highs, mids, and lows and maintains the full sound at high or low volume. Installation Help: I have the cheapest factory audio package available, SYNC without navigation, no DSP or amp, and no subwoofer. Just 4 - 6x8" Ford custom pain in the butt speakers and the head unit to start with. I removed the two from the front doors and replaced them with the woofers. I was able to use the multi-bracket each came with to use two of the original holes and screws and then I simply drilled two small holes into the sheet metal and added two new sheet metal screws. I then used a Milwaukee 1&3/4" Hole Saw to install the tweeters in the door panels right near the defrost vents. The hole saw cut such a perfect hole that I was able to snap the tweeter into it with a perfect snug fit that is never coming out. I was able to fit the crossover in each door close to the woofer but that is really trial and error, use some double sided tape to hold it temporarily and put the door panel on to see if it will fit and then drive two sheet metal screws into the door panel once you've found a location it fits properly. I set my tweeters to -3db because I put them on the much higher up on the door than the woofers and as a motor vehicle it is prone to vibration and always needs a small boost to the lows when the vehicles in motion. In my case no cutting or metal working was needed, just a few holes drilled.

Pros: Full range sound at any volume, usually the cheaper speakers I've owned miss the low and mid range at low to normal volumes and then way over do the lows at higher volumes and pretty much always missed the mid ranges. These don't have that problem if installed correctly, specifically referring to the install location of the tweeters. I can hear the most subtle notes and sounds at low volumes and still at high volumes without distortion.

Cons: With the addition of two holes on the installation brackets Kenwood could have made these fully drop in and go with Ford's annoying 6x8 oval speakers. These are just small enough that with the depth added by the install brackets they do fit comfortably into a 6x8 opening without cutting into the metal.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Exceptional

WAde from Albuquerque, NM on 6/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

From the highs to the lows to the style and ease of installation these new Excelon Reference Components sound awesome with all genres of music, their over sized tweeters blend with the mids to create big wide open full range sound, the materials and hardware are top notch and would love and sound very classy in custom installations. Installed in a 2018 Acura ILX running off Excelon Reference 4 Channel Amp, signal provided by Audio Control.

Pros: Over Sized Titanium Tweeters, Glass Woven Cone Material, Epic Crossovers, Gorgeous Grills, very useful mounting brackets and hardware!!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon XR-1701P

Crutchfield customer from Westminster, MD on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome. Sound quality is very clear and can handle alot of power. I ordered for a 2017 VW jetta, a car that the system says wont fit. These speakers (and the XR-1701 coaxial) WILL fit in the MK6 Jetta. First, I used 1/2 inch universal speaker brackets from metra. They worked great with some nutsert rivets, I just has to grind down the edges of the metra brackets a bit (photo posted below). I dont like rattle, so after I drilled out the metra brackets and grinded a spot for the wires to run behind it, I filled them in with regular black silicone. I also used a small peice of dynamat and Stinger speaker baffles for added rattle protection Plus, (I didn't know it when I ordered) the speakers come with a universal bracket, mounting screws and clips. Cut the braket with scissors or a utility knife, put the clips over the sheet metal and place the clip holes over the factory holes and use the screws to mlm mount the speakers and brackets. No buying bracket sets or drilling of the factory holes is needed if you use this option. Not to mention they handle all the power with no problem from my amp.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Not so far!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound