Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
236 294 184 3
Connect ID #
236 294 184 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XW1000F

Shallow-mount 10" 4-ohm subwoofer

MFR # KFC-XW1000F

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XW1000F

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XW1000F

Shallow-mount 10" 4-ohm subwoofer

MFR # KFC-XW1000F

13 reviews
View this product

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XW1000F

Crutchfield customer from Asheboro, NC on 11/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was pleasantly surprised on the frequency range that these speakers play through low to higher frequencies. Especially when I use them in my extended can truck with not much box space. Sounds great with all genres of music.

Pros: Match the RMS power rating and they sound great. Fits well and sounds excellent in small enclosures. Great price also.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XW1000F

Crutchfield customer from Newnan, GA on 9/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've always been a Rockford Fosgate guy but since I bought the Kenwood 5 channel amp I figured I'd give these a try. They paired perfectly (power) with this amp and the enclosure space required matched up with the under seat box for my F-150. The verdict...sounds awesome. Huge bass on rap/pop songs and banging drums on hard rock tunes. The subs are built tough and we're definitely shallow mount. My only suggestion is to make sure you have a bass knob controller on the amp (mine was not included and had to purchase separately). This allows you to dial up or down the bass for the different kinds of music, otherwise you be bumping all the time and overpowering the mids and highs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked until it didn't

Mark G. from FOUNTAIN, CO on 6/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this sub around four or five years ago. I have punished this thing in a sealed box every day, to and from work, the whole time except one year I was away. It has performed flawlessly until today. The smell was horrendous. I am trying a different sub now but will come back to this one if it doesn't work out.

Pros: Took the punishment for quite some time.

Cons: Not enough power handling capability

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XW1000F

Ethan from Deridder, La on 12/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing quality for the price and size!!! I have had multiple setups in all my vehicles and I decided to give this one a shot and I have not been let down. Only downfall is it can only reach 35Hz which I wish would go lower, but still packs a punch at low tones.

Pros: Price Size Versatility

Cons: Can't go lower than 35Hz

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Stellar sound

Crutchfield customer from Rockport, TX on 5/27/2019

2003 Nissan 350Z

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My only regret is not buying a second one. It does what it's should and provides clear sound for my enjoyment.

Pros: Exact fit for my car's existing sub enclosure.

Cons: I have none...hopefully won't in the future

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XW1000F

Bill from Brick, NJ on 1/29/2019

2013 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

With the help of the Crutchfields knowledgeable staff. They suggested the Kenwood Excelon KFC-XW1000F. I was blown away from the performance

Pros: Great sound

Cons: None at this time

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XW1000F

Travis from 84067 on 5/10/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works perfectly in the Honda Pilot I believe it fits better than stock now I just need to get some sound Matt to stop the vibrations

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

I'm happy

craigr from California on 2/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needing to replace an old MTX sub in a Bass Slammer box, my options were limited by the dimensions of the enclosure. I was initially put off by the "unusual" specs of the Kenwood: 30-700hz frequency response. Is this just a "woofer" being sold as a "subwoofer"? Every other subwoofer was advertising lows in the low 20's, but then again I had my amps "subsonic LPF" set at 30hz (and HPF at 100z) already! So I went ahead and bought it, as I've had good experiences with Kenwood Excelon products. Build quality is excellent--milled rather than pressed mounting ring and rubbery vs plasticky feeling parts. No flash, but it's going into the cargo bed, and I'm WAY past the age of showing my friends my "cool gear". Very impressed with the sound Quality. This is not the sub if you're interested in rattling the rear view mirror of the car next to you, but if you want a (shallow-mount) sub that gives you the punch of a real bass drum and the pluck of a real bass guitar--then you're be happy with this one. And it's very efficient. I'm driving it easily with a Soundstream PN2.350D amp to give me overall a very space-efficient (and cost-efficient) installation.

Pros: Sound quality Build quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

good and bad

01fiddy from Austin,Tx on 2/15/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was awesome when I was breaking it in and even after for awhile. Started pushing it and had nothing but problems. Not really over powering it but 2 weeks of getting on it and now it rattles like crazy! Thinking it probably burnt a voice coil. Really a shame, this sub sounds really crisp and can hit pretty hard. I am going to try to get it fixed and try again. Pretty disappointed. I had nothing but good things from my other Kenwood stuff. For the price I expected a good sub, heck I got 2 12" Kenwoods for that and beat the snot out of em

Pros: Very great on break in and has a very good sound quality.

Cons: Breaks if you even get close to its "RMS" wattage let alone the "Max"

Crutchfield response on

6 of 13 found this helpful

Good sub for its intended use

BryanS from Dallas, TX on 7/22/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You won't blow off the roof with this sub, but given 150 watts of clean continuous power and you will have a nice sounding sub in your ride. The 400 watts spoken of by somebody else was WAY too much power and if you're going to put these subs into small boxes under the seat, just understand that big bass does not come in small packages. Good bass, Yes. Big thunderous bass, No. These just aren't designed to do that. The laws of physics can be strained but they cannot be broken. A good sub for hard to place locations. Enjoy the music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

18 of 18 found this helpful

Great at first

Guest from VA on 11/19/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So i had this sub in a .6 cuft sealed box on a RF T-400-2 bridged set at about 35-40% gain. For the first three weeks it was awsome during break-in. Then when enough time had passed, i turned it up but only about 10%, well it blew. The audio shop i use said i did nothing wrong and it should not have blown. Until it blew it sounded great. Now i got a RF shallow mount sub and I am in the process of breaking it in. I was sorry to see it go but thats that. Overall a great sub but watch the power you put to it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 16 found this helpful

great little sub

livinloud from fairfield, CA on 2/24/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

talking about the other guys review....you need a different amp and box....if you don't have enough power for both speakers all its going to do its stress them and your amp out cause they want to draw more power and your box especially a ported one needs to be tuned for the proper Hz and the airspace has to be right or it just beats up the sub......I had 2 of these subs in a custom sealed box with a 500W Kenwood amp in my standard cab s10 and it was crazy I was really surprised at the sound quality those speakers produced

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

24 of 27 found this helpful

descent

Alex from Lafayette, LA on 9/20/2007

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

not exactly what i wanted to get for my money. i have a 250x1 pushing 2 of them in a ported box, under the seat of a NBS 2007 Chevy Silverado. they slam pretty hard with certain songs but just not worth the whole $180. maybe worth $100. not really built solid either. had to replace two of them within 4 months from the cone cracking to the actual frame around it cracking and coming loose where the screws are screwed into the box.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

62 of 83 found this helpful

TOP