Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

T-Spec Capacitor

3.0-Farad capacitor with red LCD meter

MFR # V8-3DDC

T-Spec Capacitor

T-Spec Capacitor

3.0-Farad capacitor with red LCD meter

MFR # V8-3DDC

46 reviews
View this product

T-Spec Capacitor

Crutchfield customer from Dracut, MA on 11/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, works as advertised, bass is cleaner.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

T-Spec Capacitor

Crutchfield customer from Portales, NM on 9/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had thought this product would eliminate the issues I was having with power. I bought a 3 farad capacitor for a1000 watt system. I do listen to my music at high volume with lots of bass, so I still experience the dimming lights even when I'm running no other accessories. It's not near as bad as it was though.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

T-Spec Capacitor

Crutchfield customer from Alloway, NJ on 9/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought it to remedy my dimming headlights. Does its job and looks good doing it.

Pros: Installation was a breeze, instructions were extremely clear

Cons: None that I can think of

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

T-Spec Capacitor

Rado from Lombard, IL on 6/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm sure this may be fine for other amps but I have to return this due to the JL Slash 1200 amp drawing too much. Lights still dim and battery needle still drops as amp bumps. They say 1 farad for every 1000 watts?! Ummm no. Crutchfield should not recommend this for the Slash 1200. Need a larger capacitor or battery.

Pros:

Cons: Does not do the job for a powerful amp that draws too much like Slash 1200

Crutchfield response on 6/18/2019
Rado contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

2 of 4 found this helpful

Solved my electrical issues!

Michael from Levittown, PA on 5/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had already upgraded my alternator, big 3 cables, and battery and still was experiencing dimming headlights and sometimes with headlights on while at a red light my 75x4 JL Audio Slash amp wound shut off. My bass amp is a JL Audio Slash 500x1. After a lot of reading it seemed to me about 60% of people or so believe capacitors work and the rest do not. Well this capacitor completely solved my problems and I had one many yrs ago that also worked great with nothing upgraded. I think people who say capacitors don't work is just a case where a capacitor didn't work to solve their particular problem. Give this Tspec capacitor a shot, if it doesn't help ur problem, return it. It was very easy and quick to install; directions sound more complicated than it actually was. Very happy with purchase.

Pros: Smaller and better connections than 1.5 farad Tspec.

Cons: Charging with resistor extends install time, but u must do it or there could be dangerous consequences.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great product

JC from Santa Maria, CA on 3/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great! Easy install, good price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

T-Spec Capacitor

Crutchfield customer from Lake Charles, LA on 3/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plenty of power for my prime 1200d and punch 400-4.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Power that keeps on giving

Crutchfield customer from Fort Mill, SC on 2/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This capacitor makes crisp tight base eliminating headlight flicker and gives power needed smooth lows hard bass that is amazing with my Rocksford 12 subwoofer

Pros: Crisp tight base and power amps need

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A must for great bass

Luiz from Spring, TX on 12/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This high quality cap sounds awesome in my truck, keeps the voltage steady at 14.5 with very low fluctuation. The installation is very straight forward. I wish it came in blue LED display over the red that looks boring and a separate remote turn on, over the auto shut off to prevent small amount of battery drainage over time. Over all, I'm very pleased with this purchase.

Pros: Strong Bass has plenty of reserve.

Cons: No separate remote turn off

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good construction

Josh from Garden Grove, CA on 11/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Haven't installed it yet just waiting until after the holidays but it's construction is very high quality and it's visually appealing. Something to note is that it says it can take 4 awg but if you pull the little terminal sleeve it has the input capability of 1/0 so that was pretty cool.

Pros: Cool design on it

Cons: Crutchfield didn't offer all too many options

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 2 found this helpful

Used??

Crutchfield customer from Salinas, CA on 8/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I received this the day they said it would arrive. As I pulled it out to inspect it I noticed the box the cap comes in is crushed and ripped. No big deal I'm not using the box, but when I pull the cap out it's all scratched up from the top to the bottom on the front part of it. It looks like my review title states... it's used or a return. If not for my time line of needing to get this project done. I would of returned it for a new one like I thought I had paid for. This should of been addressed at the time it was being shipped out. Not once it arrives to the costumer. I have no complaints about the representative that I spoke with when I made my order. River was very nice and a delightful person to deal with. I will give the cap another review later on how well it performs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/22/2018
Once we saw this review, our Customer Support specialist, Case, reached out to this customer to apologize and resolve the issue. If you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, it's important to contact our Customer Support or Tech Support teams right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return or exchange within 60 days of purchase.

1 of 2 found this helpful

More than enough power

Keith from Westbury, NY on 7/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed something to offset a 1200 W Alpine for my 2013 Somata Se. Working better than I expected. Especially like the digital read out of the voltage as the amp powers the deep bass. I world recommend if you don't want the headlights flickering

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

T-Spec Capacitor

Crutchfield customer from El Portal, FL on 6/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and does what it should. No more dimming lights on hard bass drops.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

T-Spec Capacitor

Guest from Berkeley CA on 6/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

"Smooths Out The Bass" LOL Q: Do you really want to "smooth out" the bass? A: No! Maybe: "Holds Power For More Solid Bass" would be better... you think?!?!

Pros: Additional power for additional power.

Cons: Installation can be problematic.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 9 found this helpful

T-Spec Capacitor

logan from Drasco, AR on 6/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy hook up and it works as it should. No more dimmed lights every time the subs hit!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bueno bonito y barato

Agustin from Guayama, PR on 6/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

bien construido

Pros: construcción cómodo para ontalar

Cons: no

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Don't see why people hate capacitors so much.

Day from Kansas City, MO on 4/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really don't know why everyone dislikes capacitors so much. This thing has done wonders for me and wish I would have jump on and got one years ago. Does everything its suppose to do. Holds a charge like suppose to and doesn't let the volts dip down to low. Everything else in the car is stock. Battery and alt. As this is a lot cheaper then adding a big battery and a alt. Volts still dip to a low 12.5 on low dips (Going by volt meter on car dash not cap) and hard hits but its rare and on really demanding songs where you don't want to be in car long with that much bass going on. Head lights don't dim any longer at least to where you can tell it is. I am pulling around 300 amps or close to it.

Pros: No light dimming any longer. Volts for the most part stay above 12.5 Volt meter on Cap.

Cons: It's has dipped below 12.5. But not very often at least the volume level i set it to. The casing is wrapped in plastic. It does tear easy. May or will need 2 of these to keep a solid 14 volts so it doesn't flinch on hard or deep bass hits.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

T-Spec Capacitor

Robert from Tennessee on 11/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like having back up power for the hard hits on my subs without robbing power from my trucks system .

Pros: Does a great job !

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

T-Spec Capacitor

Crutchfield customer from Denver co on 6/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My main goal was to have people to have people roll their windows up in traffic and have businesses and establishments Windows shaking and with this compacity I have succeeded 10 Stars if I could give it to you

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 18 found this helpful

T-Spec Capacitor

Shannon from Oak Lawn, IL on 6/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation :) and haven't had any problems with it works well on a 800 watt 8 channel jl audio amp I am using to run my entire system includes subs

Pros: Easy installation and haven't had any problems with it it's a good product

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great product

Thomas from San Mateo, CA on 4/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome product no complaints it stopped my headlights from flashing on hard bass hits

Pros: Easy to install once I figured out where to mount it

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

T-Spec Capacitor

Crutchfield customer from Elizabethtown, PA on 4/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it and great price! It works very well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Solved the problem it was supposed to.

Douglas from Monterey, CA on 2/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not every install benefits from a capacitor. Mine did. Had wired my 1200 watt amp driving a single 10" with #8 wire. Had voltage drop/spike issues resulting in poor sound quality. Installed capacitor without difficulty. Straightforward. No problems. Stopped the twitch in my voltage and produced a notable improvement in sub performance which I could describe as tighter/cleaner bass. If your amp is starving for power momentarily as the music asks for high energy, this is a great solution.

Pros: Easy install helped by wiring options, kit includes resistor to charge and friendly hardware to make mounting easy.

Cons: The material of the outside of the capacitor containing graphics and brand is delicate and shreds when slipped in and out of mounting bracket. It is very easy to cosmetically injure this product.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

T-Spec Capacitor

Todd from Port Orchard, Wa on 1/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product looks amazingly sharp and does its job very well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

T-Spec Capacitor

Crutchfield customer from Boise, ID on 1/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, using it to run my 600 and 1200 alpine amps..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Huge complement!

Brandon from Florida on 11/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow, I pulled this thing out of the box and was like "this thing looks amazing!" it is a serious complement to my subwoofer and it works really well. Before I had serious headlight dimming and now it is only just barely noticable if I have the car stopped and idleing. I also really like the double ports on the top, it made wiring a little nicer. Otherwise it perfect!

Pros: Works as it should, looks fantastic! And the wiring was super awesome to.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

T-Spec Capacitor

John from Smyrna, GA on 11/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good capacitor for the price. It did not solve all my power problems but made a significant improvement. Still have dimming. But to be fair I'm running a Sundown Audio amp and subs which are Extremely power hungry. It's able to hold my voltage at around 13.0 from a charging level of 15.3 during heavy bass, which isn't bad considering the equipment I'm running. It was dropping into the 10s. I need to upgrade to an XS battery & 200+ amp alternator. My only complaints are that the capacitor I received looked slightly used & it does not come with a proper initial charging card or even a resistor, only the bulb. All in all it's a decent product and delivers good performance for the price.

Pros: Price & design.

Cons: Needs better initial charge equipment. Looked used when opened.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

No Difference For Me

Rudy from Miami, FL on 3/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed and see no difference. I'm running it to a single 500 watts rms amp (4 guage KnuKoncept Wiring) to a single Rockford P3 12" in a built to spec sealed enclosure ( 10 Gauge Wiring). My alt is stock 145amp and haven't done the big 3 yet. My lights still dim the same and I see zero difference. My battery is 34/78 size 800 CCA. Funny thing is I was wanting to switch out my system for a Alpine Type R 12" with an Alpine PDX M12. Guess I will have to wait until I could fix this lack of power I been stuck with

Pros: none

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 10 found this helpful

T-Spec Capacitor

Jay from wilmington, IL on 2/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

using Kicker 12CX1200.1 and Kicker 12CX300.4 the capacitor worked great voltage was dropping to 9 volts not any more in a Pontiac trans am firehawk

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

No dim

Shawn from Santa Rita, Guam on 12/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far its kept my Amp from shutting off even when its too hot to touch! My lights never dim. So far so good.

Pros: Amp Keeps running

Cons: none yet

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Capped up

Chuck B from Georgia on 12/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First time with a cap, not running enough power to really need this but I wanted a little more reassurance that my amp wouldn't get starved! Clamp connections no ring terminals needed, don't buy any like I did! Ha!

Pros: Easy install, looks cool.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

T-Spec Capacitor

Crutchfield customer from Maryland on 9/28/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Just what I needed

Joey from North Dakota on 9/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My system kept shutting off, and this has prevented that completely. Would highly recommend. Easy installation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

cool product

Blackstarr617 from Massachusetts on 8/31/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Inexpensive addition to make my system complete, plus system bangs with little to no power drain

Pros: Price,look

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

This product kills it!!!!

G31e from victorville on 6/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome product took care of all of my dimming problems.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

tspec 3 farad capacitor

bones from Maine on 5/11/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works awesome lights don't dim subs get the extra power they need when they need it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent!

Nick M. from Anchorage, AK on 4/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So I have upgraded my stereo a few times replacing parts and pieces to get everything just how I want it, never really put much thought into the power cap beyond whatever was cheap. Holy cow what a difference spending a few more dollars makes. This thing is great! Supplies all the power my subs need when they need it, which is really great since I don't have the room in the truck cab for a second battery and I didn't want to buy a super spendy alternator. I would highly recommend.

Pros: Looks great, works great.

Cons: I haven't found any!

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

T spec

Nik from Mishawaka in on 4/17/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hasn't worked yet not sure what I did wrong during installation but it turns on and off randomly

Pros: Nice easy and small

Cons: Hasn't worked properly yet

Crutchfield response on 4/20/2015
We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 3 found this helpful

T-Spec Capacitor

Jeromy from Chicago, IL on 10/16/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Affordable and efficient.

Pros: Easy to hook up and helps a lot when needing the extra juice.

Cons: Installation recommends 5-20 sec pre charge with the included light bulb before connecting. I believe it needs much longer to prevent an arc happening. Perhaps 2 min.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

power when needed

Stan from Michigan on 8/15/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Deffinitley worth the money. I have had multiple capacitors and none of them were really that effective at controlling voltage regulation. Then i got this one and it delivers evertime its needed.

Pros: appearance. installation. quality.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

T-Spec 3 Farad Cap

Ed from LA on 7/31/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far this is the one component I haven't had some type of problem with. Been in use for several weeks now and I haven't noticed any symptoms of reduced voltage like headlight dips. Person that helped me install the power amp said he had never seen a cap charge up so fast as this one.

Pros: Appears to be performing it's purpose successfully. The only component I haven't had an issue with so far.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

it works

kcurtsinger from spring Texas on 7/15/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The product is fine and works. The only complaint is the bolts that hold down the wires won't tighten down properly. Its like they were stripped when I got it!!

Pros: Looks good and helps the lights

Cons: The screw downs are crap!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

t-spec 3.0-Farad capacitor

Juan from Santa Ana on 7/8/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked well lights still dim but at higher volume checked alternator and its going south so need to replace it. Hopefully after that all will be good.

Pros: Has 2 terminals for power and ground no need to buy a distribution block to install

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

T-Spec Capacitor

Crutchfield customer from IOWA on 3/14/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Received it with manufacturer packaging old and falling apart. No glue to keep plastic window in place and would've been a good product I think. Bulb was shattered upon arrival. Crutchfield handled my return great and got a full refund.

Pros:

Cons: Packaging

Crutchfield response on

2 of 7 found this helpful

Decent

Dvargas1123 from South Plainfield, new jersey on 2/15/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My headlights still dimmed, however I had a 1 farad cap on earlier which would drain and shut off my amp, so I had to upgrade to the 3 farad, no longer turned off, so that's a plus. I recently blew my inline fuse however so that's where I'm at now

Pros: No longer drains and shuts off amp

Cons: Headlights continue to dim

Crutchfield response on

3 of 10 found this helpful

T-Spec Capacitor

Crutchfield customer from Lewis Center, Ohio on 10/27/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does everything that is says stops headlights from dimming would definitely recommend to anyone.

Pros:

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

TOP