Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Works with select 2007-up European vehicles (Motorola male to OEM antenna female)

MFR # 40-EU56

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Works with select 2007-up European vehicles (Motorola male to OEM antenna female)

MFR # 40-EU56

93 reviews
View this product

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Whitefield, ME on 2/13/2021

2011 Volkswagen Jetta Sportwagen

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely necessary adaptor for my Jetta Sportwagen! Your website made it very simple to find the right parts to make the installation easy! Thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Pinehurst , NC on 2/5/2021

2013 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and works great with the Boss unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Bryan from ELIZABETHTOWN, KY on 1/23/2021

2014 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Godfrey, IL on 12/31/2020

2015 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly to maintain AM FM factory antenna capabilities. Not much else to say. Plug and play.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 12/12/2020

2015 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A must have if you want to keep your radio going with an aftermarket unit.

Pros: Easy to install.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Lafayette, GA on 11/29/2020

2014 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hookup was very easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

VW powered antenna harness

Crutchfield customer from Hainesville, IL on 11/24/2020

2010 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plug and play. Worked great!

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Moscow Mills, MO on 11/9/2020

2008 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works great. Just didn't come with anything telling you where the blue wire connects, luckily I already knew. But not many people know a lot about wiring/car stereos.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Port St Lucie , FL on 10/28/2020

2011 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great harness

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Sonora, CA on 10/19/2020

2008 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just what I needed, the single connection antenna adapter only gave me FM stations, this one gave me AM back.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Reseda, CA on 10/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

pugged right in to factory plugs, no cutting or difficulty to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Lincoln, RI on 6/19/2020

2010 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Yes it's makes life a lot easier when you need to hook up your antenna

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality adapter

Crutchfield customer from Council Bluffs, IA on 6/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not much to say worked flawlessly in my passat

Pros: Worked perfectly

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Lake Charles, LA on 6/11/2020

2012 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Andrews Afb, MD on 4/20/2020

2018 Volkswagen Golf GTI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made the install quick and easy. When I did call in with a question they had the answers I need right away. Thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Jeff from WESTMINSTER, CO on 4/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This works perfect with my 2011 VW Tiguan S even though the website says it doesn't.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

It simply works

Joaquin from MOUNTAIN VIEW, CA on 4/9/2020

2012 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this is a part of my installation package. The ready harness service took care of wiring the blue wire where it needed to go. Then all I had to do was plug and play.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

it just works

Crutchfield customer from Seven Hills, OH on 4/5/2020

2012 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

simple adapter for a VW antenna. It does exactly what it is supposd to do. Can't ask for more.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from North Dighton, MA on 3/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Alton from Riverview, FL on 3/8/2020

2014 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Going to need it , better get it . Easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Fort Myers, FL on 2/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as advertised

Pros: Works great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Prior Lake, MN on 1/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Bossier City, LA on 1/16/2020

2011 Volkswagen Jetta Sportwagen

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect! Worked Great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Lincoln, NE on 12/21/2019

2012 Volkswagen Golf

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Arrived on time for Christmas

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works perfectly

Crutchfield customer from Olathe, KS on 9/16/2019

2004 Honda Element

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfectly. Easy way to adapt VW antenna to Kenwood radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Milton, DE on 8/11/2019

2014 Volkswagen Jetta Sportwagen

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased as an adapter from European antennae connecter to US antennae connector on 2014 VW Jetta Sportwagen to install Pioneer unit. seems to work fine.

Pros: Seems to be of good quality and fits properly.

Cons: Does not clearly state that blue wire needs to connect to + wire powered when radio is turned on. (ie power antennae wire)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Adelanto, CA on 7/20/2019

2014 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very simple. Connect to the factory antenna harness coming out of the car to the antenna hole in the back of the aftermarket head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good adapter!

Crutchfield customer from Hoboken, NJ on 6/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I needed for my stereo upgrade.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Cape Coral , FL on 6/5/2019

2012 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

needed adaptor that they told me about

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Sidd from Temecula, CA on 3/3/2019

2007 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It doesn't pick up any AM stations. FM is working ok.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Reception is terrible, but could be the head unit.

Crutchfield customer from Parker, CO on 2/21/2019

2008 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I can't say for sure if it's the adapter or the Sony XAV-AX5000 head unit so I'll go three stars since it might not be the adapters fault. FM stations are much weaker than before I switched head units and not a single AM station comes in.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Works as expected

Dennis from Port Charlotte, FL on 1/15/2019

2012 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Antenna adapter installed easily and fit perfectly in my 2012 Turbo Beetle, no complaints here. The new stereo that I bought (not from Crutchfield) just didn't work properly and was faults advertisement, so I returned it and bought the Kenwood Excelon DPX593BT. This head unit I bought from Crutchfield so, I know it will fit and I won't have any problems. The only regret I have was, not buying from Crutchfield first because, I hate doing the same job twice.

Pros: Perfect fit

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It works like it should

Kirk from Port St Lucie, FL on 12/29/2018

2016 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does what it's supposed to do and fits like it should.

Pros: Does what it's supposed to do

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 12/26/2018

2014 Volkswagen Golf

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Conroe, TX on 12/11/2018

2015 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as expected

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, MN on 11/18/2018

2012 Volkswagen GTI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a must have for an aftermarket install in a Volkswagen. I put this in a 2012 VW GTI.

Pros: Keeps your radio working to perfection

Cons: Creates more clutter behind your head unit

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Montgomery, TX on 9/30/2018

2011 Volkswagen Jetta Sportwagen

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Connectors matched perfectly with VW's antenna cables. Easy hookup. Amplifier must work because radio signal is stronger than had been with factory radio.

Pros: Easy installation; Clear radio AM, FM, and HD Radio signal

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Carriere, MS on 8/27/2018

2012 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works like a champ, perfect fit!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Murrieta , CA on 8/10/2018

2012 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This antenna adapter is a must. Easy plug and play.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect.

Mitchell from Urbana, IA on 2/1/2018

2008 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as it should.

Pros: Easy to install.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Twin Lake, MI on 10/3/2017

2009 Volkswagen Jetta Sportwagen

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The connection could of fit better pretty hard to connect not enough gap between the prongs

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

it works

Richard from Wichita KS on 4/20/2017

2011 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does what it's supposed to.

Pros: It does what it says it does.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It's simple and it works.

Matthew from Carlisle, PA on 4/6/2017

2012 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works like it should. Better than the cheaper ebay connector I bought that only connected to one side.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does what it's supposed to do.

Mike from Colorado Springs, CO on 2/24/2017

2008 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It plugs in, and adapts the antenna. Nothing special. Works well.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Palo Alto, CA on 2/2/2017

2012 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

installed as a package with alpine receiver and works perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Mark from Austin, TX on 1/3/2017

1991 Toyota MR2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked without issue. First time to have to install a powered antenna adapter but it was self explanatory. Leave it to VW to go to great lengths to over-engineer what could be a very simple connection!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Don from Sugar Land, TX on 12/29/2016

2007 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Keeps the install clean

Pros: works great with OEM harness

Cons: must find additional room in a cramped area for some

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product

Randall from Chattanooga, TN on 12/29/2016

2015 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great with my Volkswagen Passat and aftermarket radio.

Pros: Price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Remember to power it!

Crutchfield customer from Aliquippa, PA on 11/28/2016

2011 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works Ok once you wire the Blue wire to the amp power on wire. Lack of directions caused my reduction. I never had to wire antenna before, so figured I did it correctly. Tech support would have solved this very quickly if I had thought to contact them.

Pros: It works

Cons: Lack of printed instructions in the installation documents.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Paul from West Richland, WA on 11/7/2016

2012 Volkswagen GTI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great in my 2012 VW GTI. Had to read on the net how the amplifier needs to be powered up (blue wire) on the FAKRA antenna adapter/converter to get good AM reception.

Pros: Easy install with the aftermarket radio

Cons: No instruction set came with the unit.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Amarillo, TX on 11/3/2016

2012 Volkswagen Golf

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfect in my VW Golf R.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Doing the job

Crutchfield customer from Mountain View, CA on 8/29/2016

2013 Volkswagen CC

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works fine.

Pros: Just working.

Cons: A bit too big to fit in the back for some radios-cars.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fit OK but Missing Instructions

Robert from Los Angeles, CA on 7/6/2016

2011 Volkswagen GTI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Of all the things Crutchfield sent with the Pioneer HU, the 3 star rating reflects the lack of instructions for this piece. I spent 3 weekends prepping the Idata Maestro modules, wiring harness, and pulling out those darn VW interior panels (really really hard). I finally got to the point where I could use the adapter, opened the package and saw an electrical wire I had to hook up, besides the antenna cable connections. My brain went ???!?!?!? because it was the weekend. After half an hour, studying the wire harness diagram and reading what little came with the adapter (the wire was for an inline amplifier), walking around and thinking about the power on sequence for the HU, I remembered my first car radio install EONS AGO was on a Toyota with a power antenna. The antenna only telescoped when the radio was turned on. So I crossed my fingers and re-crimped the wires for the AMP turn on, but the Pioneer diagrams (the Pioneer manual is wonderfully detailed!) said only 300 milliamps on the wire. The antenna adapter packaging had no info on how much current it needed. So I gave up on running it to the powered subwoofer. If I knew the power requirements I could have figured out if I could have also used it to power on external amps. In the end it works, but some radio stations are sound weaker compared to the OEM radio. I don't own RF signal power equipment so I can't say if it was the adapter or Pioneer HU.

Pros: The adapters to the weird connectors to the antenna fit and I could tell which were for the radio antenna (dual connectors) versus the Sirius antenna (single).

Cons: No instructions on what to do with an extra wire and no info on power requirements - how many milliamps did it need ?

Crutchfield response on 7/11/2016
Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, especially a situation like this, please contact our tech support team right away. They can help you solve the problem and get the stereo installed and working! Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Makes it Tons easier!

Dan from Central Illinois on 7/3/2016

2012 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great reception and simple to install.

Pros: Easy

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

OK, but

Lyn from Hilton Head Island, SC on 7/2/2016

2011 Volkswagen Jetta Sportwagen

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

bulky and does not provide equivalent reception for local FM channels vs. factory powered antenna

Pros: good price, rapid delivery

Cons: does not provide the best reception

Crutchfield response on 7/5/2016
We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Works great

Gene B from Gainesville, TX on 6/5/2016

2011 Volkswagen Jetta Sportwagen

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works and fits great.

Pros: Great radio reception

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Didn't fit car exactly. Had to remove connector and tape together.

James from Batavia, OH on 4/10/2016

2009 Volkswagen Jetta Sportwagen

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Didn't come with any instructions for the blue wire. Also the 2 separate connectors would not fit on the Jetta's single dual connector. I don't get any AM signal, but I don't listen to AM anyway.

Pros: FM/HD radio works.

Cons: Doesn't fit my vehicle as expected.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from duluth, MN on 3/23/2016

2011 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does the job, Easy connection.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Madison, sd on 2/28/2016

2011 Volkswagen Jetta Sportwagen

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

reception on the new pioneer radio is not very good on my 2010 jetta tdi, not sure whats wrong, wired as per instructions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 3/1/2016
We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 3 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

tmiller from morehead city, NC on 2/22/2016

2010 Volkswagen Jetta Sportwagen

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy to connect.

Pros: easy to connect to existing wiring

Cons: reception not as good as old radio

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Jose from Pearl river , ny on 2/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quick and easy, don't forget to connect the antenna power blue wire.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Euro antenna adapter

Joe P from Milford, CT on 2/16/2016

2012 Volkswagen Golf

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly to connect my pioneer AVH head unit in my 2013 VW Golf.

Pros: Easy install. Clear instructions.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

European Antenna Adapter

BryanG from Texas on 1/18/2016

2011 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a super easy install and I think my radio reception is improved.

Pros: Easy Install Improved Radio Reception

Cons: VW needs an adapter for everything.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect Fit

jkcooney from Nevada on 1/7/2016

2013 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit to conform to European standards for antennae installation in my 2013 VW Jetta. Easy to install. Wiring harness somewhat difficult to stow away but not a big deal.

Pros: Good quality. Easy installation. Perfect fit.

Cons: Wiring harness somewhat difficult to neatly stow.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Illinois on 1/4/2016

2014 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit with no problems

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

European Antenna Adapter

Rick T from Kansas on 1/2/2016

2014 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A must have for AM Head unit, quick easy install, reasonable price

Pros: Well constructed, Reasonable Price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Donny D from Virginia on 12/28/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was used with a Kenwood DDX393 and the system has the worst radio reception. My stock radio In my 2010 VW Jetta got 10 times better reception.

Pros: None

Cons: Doesn't work

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Antenna connection

Doug from Michigan on 12/18/2015

2010 Volkswagen Jetta Sportwagen

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple to install and connects were perfect on my 2011 VW Jetta Sportwagen.

Pros: Good Reception

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy install

Jeff from Kentucky on 12/15/2015

2011 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. It took 10 minutes and my new stereo works great. Existing wire harness remains the same if you ever want to switch to a factory stereo. Crutchfield did a great job setting me up with what I needed for my install!

Pros: Easy

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Adapter for 09 Jetta Sedan

KeiranSolaris from Maryland on 12/14/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This antenna adapter is ok, reception isn't as good as the original unit in the car but it does work. 3 stars because the two connectors are much too close together to connect both the clips from the car. I had to remove the green plastic and then shove the loose wire into the VW clip and electrical tape the whole thing together to make sure it stays. Really need an adapter that looks like Item #: 12040EU55 but with 2 wires instead of 1.

Pros: Works

Cons: Does not actually without modification.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Antenna Adaptor

KP from New Hampshire on 12/3/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This adaptor fit perfectly on the first try

Pros: It fit on the first try.

Cons: This was the second adaptor which delayed my install by 3 days. it would be nice to be able to avoid this problem.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Poor reception, but probably not the adapter's fault

Mike M from Maryland on 11/18/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used this antenna adapter to connect the stock antenna to a Kenwood Excelon DPX791BH receiver. The receiver had compatible connectors so installation was fairly straightforward aside from not being sure whether I needed to connect the blue wire to power (I did). After the installation FM reception was much worse than it was with the stock stereo - until the stock unit spontaneously died I had no problems at all with reception. The weak signal is much more noticeable because of the Kenwood's digital tuner and the frequent switching between digital and analog signals, but in analog mode the signal is definitely weaker, just not completely terrible.

Pros: Simple and inexpensive

Cons: Weaker reception than stock

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

antenna adapter

bob from Ohio on 11/15/2015

2011 Volkswagen Jetta Sportwagen

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

fit and function well no problem

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Instructions would be nice

K2 from New Jersey on 10/6/2015

2008 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This adapter works well enough but the lack of any type of instruction with it was a bit frustrating. After some searching the web I found out that if I didn't connect the blue wire then the signal reception would be significantly worse even though it still works without it.

Pros: Reception seems good.

Cons: No instructions

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Antenna adaptor for Volkswagen 2011 Jetta

Joe T from Ashland, Kentucky on 9/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was fairly easy, but took a couple of minutes to figure out how to disconnect from the factory one.

Pros: Fitted well and was easy to install after getting factory wiring unplugged. It did take me a few minutes was worried about ripping the original wiring that you needed. But all in all it turned out.

Cons: Could of had some instructions on how to separate the small wiring harness so you could install the new one. Everything else was easy.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Antenna Adapter

Kevin B from Pennsylvania on 8/23/2015

2014 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does exactly what I need it to, instructions are useful and the item itself does the job well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not Impressed

JeffM from Stafford, VA on 8/22/2015

2009 Volkswagen Jetta Sportwagen

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I didn't think it was possible to have worse reception than the stock head unit/antenna setup on my 09 VW Jetta SW - but this adapter convinced me otherwise. I swapped out the stock HU for a Pioneer. I've had great success with Pioneer SuperTuners in the past. The only thing different this time was this adapter, which is needed to couple the VW's 2 cable system to the Pioneer's single antenna socket. I went from getting 10 stations in my driveway to 3. This unit also has a blue wire and absolutely zero instructions - so I've no idea what to do with it. As is mentioned in other reviews here, the connectors don't match the VW connectors at all. I had to remove the connector housing and connect each cable individially. There's got to be a better way to do this. I'm now considering replacing my factory antenna with a standard 31" whip antenna. I've been using those since I started driving in the mid-1970's - and they work.

Pros: None. Seriously - none.

Cons: No instructions - AT ALL. Connectors don't fit. Once connected, reception is horrible.

Crutchfield response on 8/26/2015
Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our tech support team right away. They can help you solve the problem and get the stereo working. We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

European Antenna Adapter - Works fine

PeteL from Colorado Springs, CO on 7/6/2015

2008 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works fine, but not getting quite the reception I was with the factory antenna.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Less reception

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great for aftermarket install

C. K. Eskew from North Carolina on 5/14/2015

2007 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Been waiting for a while to have a wiring harness that keeps factory antenna. Reception quality is not the same but is hardly noticeable.

Pros: Keeps factory antenna

Cons: Slight loss of reception quality

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Didn't fit properly

JasonC from Utah on 4/28/2015

2009 Volkswagen CC

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For an antenna adapter it looks to work fine but the connections didn't match up to the factory system in my VW CC

Pros: Easy to use

Cons: didn't have the proper connections

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

European Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Florida on 3/28/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had much difficulty because was sent a single plug adapter which fit in to the satellite radio antenna but not the AM/FM. Once we got it straightened out that my Jetta has a dual plug adapter it went smooth.

Pros: Worked great once I got correct adapter

Cons: Might have to go by VIN when ordering adapter to get correct one for vehicle. Apparently 2010 Jetta made changes in that year.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

European Antenna Adapter

Lars from Clinton, NY on 3/19/2015

2012 Volkswagen CC

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replacement Radio for my VW had a Motorola antenna connector while my car had two antennas using a dual Fakra connector. Radio came with an adapter with a single Fakra. Radio reception was spotty. Ordered the European Antenna Adapter with dual Fakra connector. Fit perfectly- very easy install. Radio reception now great. Highly recommended.

Pros: Fits perfectly

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

2010 VW

Davek from Ohio on 2/11/2015

2010 Volkswagen Jetta Sportwagen

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly

Pros: Perfect fit

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Houston, Texas on 1/27/2015

2013 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

perfect fit, as advertised

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Did the trick

Paul from New Hampshire on 4/17/2014

2011 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not much can be said about this product other than it works as expected.

Pros: Nicely made and works as it should.

Cons: Not a single one.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Antenna Adapter

Joe from Bantam, ct on 3/5/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Be careful to get the correct adapter. There are two types used in VW Jetta Sport wagon. Tell customer service representative what type of antenna you have (short roof or long antenna) so you get the right one!

Pros: Good reception. Easy to install

Cons: Have 50/50 chance of getting the correct adapter since VW uses both types. Depends on antenna type!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

dave from hudson, wi on 1/13/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the second adapter that Crutchfield sent me and it still didn't fit my car. I had to cut the plug in half because my car had 2 single plugs instead of the dual plug shown in picture

Pros: it works and reception is great

Cons: didn't really fit my car

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

OEM adaptation!

JC from Fairport, NY on 12/27/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, no downgraded radio reception

Pros: Not bulky at all, will fit behind your aftermarket radio with no problems.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

European Antenna Adapter

Wade from Reno, NV on 9/13/2013

2013 Volkswagen Golf

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed this product to install an aftermarket Alpine unit in a 2013 Volkswagen Golf. Crutchfield is your one stop shopping page !

Pros: Item worked exactly as stated. Instructions were clear, easy to install

Cons: As noted by others, the reception is not as good as the OEM

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works, but no wiring information.

Dave k> from MI on 9/3/2013

2007 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Certainly worked as advertised, but didn't come with any wiring information. It only has one wire coming off it, but I wasn't sure if that wire was a simple "AM Antenna", or if I should run power to it. Turns out you need to run power to it.

Pros: Easy install.

Cons: No wiring information provided.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not as good as OEM

SamW from Sugar Land, TX on 7/3/2013

2007 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

While this adapter was easy to install and does work, I have noticed a noticeable decrease in my reception clarity.

Pros: Easy to install and does work

Cons: Receptions does not seem to be as good as OEM

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

European antenna adapter

J from Clifton nj on 8/14/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This antenna was very easy to install. No splicing wires just plug and play

Pros:

Cons: The only thing I can say negative is that some of my radio stations I get some static but I hardly listen to the turner radio anyway

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-EU56 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from VA on 7/20/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I received this free with my purchase of a Pioneer receiver and i now have better reception than with my stock radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP