Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Works with select 1994-up Volkswagen and Audi vehicles (Motorola male to OEM antenna female)

MFR # 40-VW54

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Works with select 1994-up Volkswagen and Audi vehicles (Motorola male to OEM antenna female)

MFR # 40-VW54

131 reviews
View this product

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Oak Park, IL on 3/1/2021

2004 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Cypress, TX on 9/22/2020

2003 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Should I connect the 12+ wire? Maybe I'll never know.

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 7/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple, but there's a 12+ wire. Should I connect it to positive or not? There are no instructions, so didn't connect it and the antenna works. But I'll always wonder....

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Avon, OH on 7/15/2020

1998 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as advertised

Pros: Price and fit

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Duluth, GA on 6/8/2020

1998 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I paid for installation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Palmyra, PA on 5/6/2020

2003 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works good but had to internet research on how to correctly get power feed.

Pros: Nice Quality.

Cons: Vague instructions, had to research.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Loveland, CO on 4/30/2020

2001 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple to install.

Pros: Easy install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great products

Crutchfield customer from Chetek, WI on 3/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the fit was perfect and the instructions easy to read and simple to follow.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2004 Pontiac Bonneville

Crutchfield customer from Roosevelt, UT on 2/25/2020

2004 Pontiac Bonneville

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as it should!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Newnan, GA on 1/12/2020

2000 Pontiac Bonneville

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. Connect to blue power antenna wire plug both ends into appropriate connector and you'll be picking up all your favorite radio stations in no time.

Pros: Easy install

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Arvada, CO on 12/9/2019

2005 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product...and Crutchfield supplies it at no charge! Can't beat that!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Antenna adapter

Charlie from Lowry on 12/8/2019

1995 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just ordered this Antenna adapter for my 1995 Volkswagen sedan Passat will be here Wednesday everything I order from Crutchfield works and the customer service is outstanding this is a very special company

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Coopersville, MI on 11/21/2019

2003 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

WORKS LIKE IT SHOULD TO CONNECT MY FACTORY ANTENNA TO THE RADIO

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, VA on 11/10/2019

2002 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does not fit my car like it said it would. Does not fit a late-model 2002 Volkswagen Passat Wagon.

Pros: Antenna adapter.

Cons: Did not fit my car.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Charlestown, MD on 10/21/2019

1999 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great on my 99 Volkswagen Passat. Very fast shipping.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Woodville, VA on 7/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works - required to connect to existing antenna

Pros: Easy connection

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Lake Oswego, OR on 7/4/2019

1997 Volkswagen Jetta III

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works nicely with my '97 Jetta powered antenna.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, OH on 6/23/2019

2003 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from North Platte, NE on 6/23/2019

2010 Nissan Titan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install would have been 5 stars but it's a little bulky to stuff I. The dash

Pros: Easy install

Cons: Bulky

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Fort Myers, FL on 2/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly-perfect fit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

This is a problem solver

Crutchfield customer from Wildwood, IL on 1/14/2019

2000 Audi S4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used this to match an Audi S4 antenna system to a Kenwood head unit I was installing. Went in effortlessly, matched connector/impedance/level for robust reception of AM/FM. Does what's claimed for it.

Pros: Works. Fits. Installs quickly and easily.

Cons: Takes up space in an already crowded installation pocket. Requires padding to prevent rattles.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Brockton, MA on 12/27/2018

2006 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

work great with car

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Blanchard, ND on 12/9/2018

2004 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The antenna adapter immediately picked up all the local stations and worked exceedingly well!

Pros: Worked as advertised.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Chris from Manassas Park, VA on 10/28/2018

1998 Volkswagen Jetta III

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great quality, works perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Salinas, CA on 10/22/2018

2005 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Will not fit a 2005 A4 B7 with Bose system and navigation plus system. My car needs something that has two prongs for the car antenna to the aftermarket radio. I'm now waiting for enfig for that part.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/23/2018
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support guru, Daniel, reached out to this customer to get him the correct adapter for his Audi. If you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worked Great

Crutchfield customer from Kalamazoo, MI on 10/14/2018

2002 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This adapter worked great, I think I even have better radio reception than the old factory set up!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Levittown, PA on 9/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The antenna adapter was simple to install and works perfectly. I thank you for your service and help and be completing my project.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Didn't work well with 2001 VW Passat

Greg from Bellingham, WA on 8/28/2018

2001 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield provides this antenna adapter free with the appropriate vehicle (mine being a 2001.5 Passat Sedan with Monsoon). It didn't work - problem was a lot of background noise on AM and weak AM reception and seemingly random cross-talk between FM stations.. I purchased a 40-VW53 on Amazon as a replacement and all the problem disappears. For this vehicle, I kind of wish Crutchfield would give the purchasers the option of which adapter they want delivered free with the purchased HU. I spoke directly to Metra tech support and they told me there was no difference between use of the 40-VW53 and 54 - so Crutchfield tech reps didn't really do anything wrong. Who knows, perhaps it was a defective antenna adapter after all.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Poor, noisy reception with 2001 Passat amplified antenna base.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Signal Boost

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 8/23/2018

2003 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Much needed product, were I live there are many mountains affecting reception, greatly helps with reception.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Middletown, MD on 7/18/2018

1998 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Bradenton, FL on 6/24/2018

2002 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from White Hall, MD on 5/28/2018

1999 Volkswagen Golf

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install

Pros: Easy to use

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy to install

James from Kenosha, WI on 5/27/2018

2000 Pontiac Bonneville

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not much to say lol easy to install it was very hard to push into the factory connection but I guess to insure it stays in?

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Hard to push into factory connection

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Macon, GA on 5/10/2018

2000 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as expected

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Benton from Fallbrook, CA on 4/23/2018

2003 Audi TT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for those cars that use the opposite style antenna hook up. Did exactly what it is designed to do

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Rochester, NY on 3/26/2018

2004 Pontiac Bonneville

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

can't pick up AM radio on this unless you're within a 5-7 mile radius of the station. even then its very staticky. come on people, can't we do with a better antenna adapter in the hi- tech year of 2018?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 3/27/2018
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get the antenna adapter working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Sabillasville, MD on 12/14/2017

2006 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

WITH PROPER ADAPER WORKS GREAT!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Kenneth from Vaughn, WA on 11/30/2017

2003 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy install. Reception is now better than it was with the stock unit on this antenna. Highly recommended!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Disappointed

Skyler from ID on 8/8/2017

2006 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was sent this antenatal for my 06 a4 with bose and it was the wrong antenna for my vehicle so I had to send it back. Again was disappointed I ordered from Crutchfield for the first time everything in a kit because I thought I could avoid being sent wrong items and the install would be smoother.

Pros: I got sent an antenna

Cons: It was the wrong antenna and you'd think it would have been the right one from such a reputable company.

Crutchfield response on 8/16/2017
We're sorry the antenna adapter didn't work for Skyler's vehicle. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days, and our Customer Support team set up a refund for Skylar.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Christa from Fairfield, Va on 7/30/2017

2002 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works and fits great !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Kalamazoo, MI on 7/19/2017

2000 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No Issues, works great!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Vancouver, WA on 6/19/2017

1997 Volkswagen Jetta III

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Allowed painless interfacing between my VW Jetta antenna connector and the JVC receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA. on 3/27/2017

2005 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well, but is very hard to install because of it's size and tight working area.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Freddy from Baltimore, MD on 2/5/2017

2002 Volkswagen Cabrio

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My new HD radio gets excellent reception.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Buffalo, MN on 1/12/2017

2002 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Be sure to splice 12V power to this or your reception will not be good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

works well

scott from Louisville, KY on 12/24/2016

2001 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

allowed me to use new pioneer head unit in my audi a4

Pros: does job

Cons: n/a

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 12/8/2016

2000 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Signal!

Crutchfield customer from Carrollton, TX on 11/22/2016

2003 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Antenna adapter was easy to install. Great AM/FM signal.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 11/4/2016

2001 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to install. Works fantastic with my radio

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Kingsport, TN on 10/13/2016

2001 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works as intended

Ted from Gallatin, TN on 10/9/2016

2005 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The antenna adapter works as intended. The only draw back is the adapter is a little big and when room is an issue with all the wires and connectors space is crucial.

Pros: Works

Cons: A little big

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Buena Park, CA on 7/1/2016

2005 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great power attena. works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Simple and it works

Jon from Guilford, CT on 6/28/2016

2005 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not much to say about it. It's easy to hook up and adapts your stock antenna to an aftermarket head unit. If you're using the Crux harness to hook up your head unit, don't connect the turn-on lead to the "antenna turn on" lead on the Crux's harness. Use the antenna turn on lead (or the amp turn on lead) on the head unit's harness instead.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Necessary Part

Wade C from Sicily, Italy on 6/20/2016

2007 Audi A3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This piece fits and installs easily. No degradation in signal quality that I can appreciate.

Pros: Easy install

Cons: My only con is that the piece is necessary at all. I've never installed a radio that required this part.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Will not fit 2006 A4 with Navigation

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 5/30/2016

2006 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this wire for 2006 A4 with Navigation, and it did not fit, even though Crutchfield online said it would fit. Highly dissapointed, ended up throwing wire away since to return it i would have to pay $10, so made no sense.

Pros: None, wont fit

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice

Brady from Ogden, UT on 2/29/2016

2001 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

perfect fit and convenient install. I had no idea you needed this for my car. Thank you Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worked good

Garth from Nebraska on 1/28/2016

2000 Pontiac Bonneville

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great

Pros: Fit well and works great.

Cons: None really to mention.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

40 VW 54 antenna adapter

Chris from cabot, AR on 1/27/2016

2009 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product worked great. No problems.

Pros: Prefect fit.

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works great!

Ray from Fort Wayne ,IN on 1/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At first, I did not think it was the right one because it was difficult to push in. With a little bit of persuasion,it got in there. Worked for my 2005 Bonneville.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

works great

Dave from Ohio on 12/29/2015

2010 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

works well

Jeff from New York on 11/29/2015

2001 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Jarod from Florida on 11/1/2015

1997 Volkswagen Golf III

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was easy to install, works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works 100% in my 2001 Allroad

BigChiefS4 from Minnesota on 9/23/2015

2001 Audi Allroad Quattro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was leery of using this as the one in my A4 can't pick up anything but the closest radio stations. This works 100% perfect in my 2001 Allroad.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Utah on 9/19/2015

2001 Volkswagen Golf

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy Straight forward installation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Texas on 8/31/2015

2003 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No problem, easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice addition to the purchase

TCas from Santa Barbara on 7/9/2015

2004 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield does their research and knows putting an aftermarket radio requires the powered antenna adapter to obtain quality am/fm reception!

Pros: Necessity

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Just because !

Lucbob32 from Concord, CA on 5/8/2015

2000 Audi A6 Avant

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just because you need it ! It did make movement of the stereo easier for sure!

Pros: Easy to attach

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

adapter

David from Bristol Va on 2/23/2015

2001 Audi S4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Standard adapter. Plug n play

Pros: Radio now works

Cons: Could be shorter in length or more compact

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra Antenna Adaptor

CHalloran from Schenectady new york on 1/25/2015

2003 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice add on

Pros: Great signal strength now! I never lose any stations.

Cons: Its a little bit of a pinch fitting it being the receiver along with everything else back there (05 beetle). It eventually found its place without coming unplugged

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from big sandy, tx on 12/28/2014

2001 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2001 Beetle Radio replacement

Manny from Lubbock, Tx on 10/23/2014

2001 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The antenna adaptor worked well with no problems installing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

A+

Paul Heinen from North Dakota on 9/22/2014

2000 Pontiac Bonneville

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as it should price and shipping were great

Pros: It works for a very specific vehicle set up

Cons: a little long and hard to hide in the dash but that is more a product of the vehicle than this adaptor

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Antenna adapter

Louis T from Bayside, NY on 8/20/2014

1999 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Has fixed hard section that was a bit of a challenge to fit into space to get new radio back into

Pros: Works well

Cons: Hard mid wire dongle interferes with space for radio

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

This thing is big

PM from Durham, NC on 8/15/2014

2000 Volkswagen Golf

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed this when hooking up a new head unit to a 2000 VW Golf. It appears to be working fine, though it is a pretty big piece of kit for the small job it has to do, and was difficult to squeeze back into the tiny space behind the head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Antenna adaptor

Frosty from Young America, MN on 6/14/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Antenna adaptor works well but it is bulky and difficult to position in small spaces.

Pros: Easy to connect. Does its job well.

Cons: Bulky and difficult to position in tight space.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great adapter

N5JJR from Ponca City, OK on 4/13/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

With this, the Pioneer radio I installed seemed more sensitive (would pull in distant or weak stations well) than the factory VW radio in our 05 New Beetle.

Pros: Works great

Cons: can't think of any

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works great

Mus5083 from Lacey,WA on 4/7/2014

1999 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to use

Pros: Instructions included

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Terran from Johnsburg, IL on 4/1/2014

1999 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Customer service makes it easy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Incredibly fast delivery and perfect fit

Rich_05156 from Springfield, VT on 3/27/2014

2001 Audi S4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was working on putting my daughters aftermarket car stereo and realized I needed an adapter for the antenna. Looked it up on Crutchfield and ordered. The item was shipped THAT DAY and arrived very quickly. I am extremely happy with the product and quick service.

Pros: Quick shipping

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

beetle antenna adapter

Crutchfield customer from pompano beach, fla on 3/3/2014

2006 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does the job, the hole was a little small for adapter and i had to open it up a bit.

Pros: The stereo works like a champ with aftermarket radio signal

Cons: See review

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from derry nh on 2/23/2014

1999 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

worked well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works as it should

Chris from NC on 2/15/2014

2001 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works right out of the box and hooked up without a hitch to my 01 passat. Couldn't ask for anything simpler or any better than this.

Pros: Cheap, works right out of the box,

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

powered antenna

tom k from Hatboro, Pa on 2/7/2014

1999 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Antenna and connector hooked right up to my 99 passat. Worked fantastic.

Pros: Ease of connect

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Free and works

this guy from Charleston, SC on 2/4/2014

2002 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was free with my JVC head unit and it does what it supposed to.

Pros: Free and works right.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Antenna Adapter

SteveB from Rhode Island on 2/3/2014

2000 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Must have product for the antenna. easy installation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Marty from Norman, OK on 1/21/2014

2003 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Straight forward install with clear instructions. It is a little bulky to fit behind a radio, but it fit with a little coaxing. Reception is good (actually way better than with the stock radio, but I believe that has more to do with the stock radio having a weak tuner)

Pros: Simple install: one wire and two plug-in connectors

Cons: It's a little bulky for something that gets installed behind a car radio.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

VW Antenna Adapter

CrevC from Las Vegas, NV on 1/13/2014

2000 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect.

Pros: You need it if you've a VW.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Antenna adapter

Hector V. from Modesto, CA on 1/1/2014

2002 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product really handy

Pros: Make intallation a sanap

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not for an 2006 Audi S4

Crutchfield customer from Burbank,CA on 12/19/2013

2006 Audi S4 Avant

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the incorrect adapter for an 2006 Audi S4. Needed a Fakra Adapter, not a coaxial type.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Also Useless

Anon from Denver, CO on 12/10/2013

2006 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This adapter is not compatible with my factory antenna as promised.

Pros: ...anyone?

Cons: Not compatible.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Not for a4 avant

jozaan from ny, ny on 12/9/2013

2001 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Adapter worked for rf antenna but no adapter for if antenna

Pros: None

Cons: Bad reception

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does it's job

uscgqm from Poulsbo, WA on 11/23/2013

2000 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does exactly what it needs to do. Only this I would change is to make it a either a bit shorter or not as stiff because it was a bit difficult to stuff it into the small space available for all the wires behind the receiver.

Pros: Does exactly what it needs to do and makes install of a new receiver easier.

Cons: Its a bit difficult to fit into the small area with the rest of the wires behind the receiver due to its length.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Long adapter

AM radio junkie from Saint Paul, MN on 10/25/2013

2000 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This addaptor works fine but I am having an issue getting AM now? My old radio (manufactor) received AM great. I am wondering if it is because of the addaptor I had to use on my VW? This also adds a bit of material to fit behind the stereo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/28/2013
We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 2 found this helpful

antenna adapter

antenna adapter from Whidbey Island, WA on 10/20/2013

1999 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

it works

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer

aag007 from Tucson, AZ on 9/14/2013

2002 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I LIKE

Pros: BEST

Cons: NOO

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works great!

Chachi007 from Midwest, Il on 8/25/2013

2001 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This part fit great & did the job it was meant to do.

Pros: Long enough, called tech support to find out what to do with the extra wire & they came trough! A++

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Should be smaller

Bill from Pa on 8/20/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works fine but it should be smaller, there's not a lot of room behind most receivers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy solution to antenna

Bigdrill777 from Texas on 8/17/2013

2003 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An easy solution to the add-on radio in a VW, the installer had cut and spliced the antenna wire in the previous installation and not said anything about these being available.. This was the fix when installed in the new VW. It fits and is easy to install.

Pros: Works and helps radio pick up stations.

Cons: Should have a clip to keep the connectors' together.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Fireproof from Denver, Pa on 7/21/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

VW Antenna Adapter

Leo from Sterling, Va. on 7/18/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plugs right in! Easy to use!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Dan from Yakima Wa on 6/15/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Product easy to connect and follow instructions.

Pros: Works perfectly for my car.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Product

Juanster from 90280 on 5/31/2013

2003 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does exactly what it says. I installed it and my radio gets reception now. Awesome!!

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Adapter

Andy R. from Muskegon, MI on 5/17/2013

1999 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product! Works great.

Pros: Easy fit with no modifications.

Cons: Kind of long.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Antenna Adapter

Randy from NY on 5/10/2013

1997 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. Works like a charm

Pros: This little sucker even brought the AM stations in better!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works well

Rick T. from Pen Argyl, PA on 4/29/2013

2002 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as expected.

Pros: Worked perfect, good documentation.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Kenosha, WI on 4/27/2013

2005 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install no complaints.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Antenna for new radio

Elizabeth K from Centreville, Va on 4/16/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am not the person that installed the radio, I own the car that the radio was installed in. The radio is installed and plays wonderfully.

Pros: Installing a radio in the little hole on the dash is a testy jjob, the part fit and the radio is working very well

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I love free stuff

Rob K. from Kingsport, TN on 4/15/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's an antenna adapter that I didnt have to buy, thanks.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

antenna adapter

john from Vermilion Ohio on 4/6/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly

Pros: simple

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked Perfect

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 4/2/2013

2002 Audi TT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This connected perfectly

Pros: Works

Cons: NA

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Huge and weak fitting

LairK from San Clemente, CA on 2/14/2013

2003 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The fitting to mate the existing antenna cable is not secure. The OEM deck had a mechanical restraint for the cable. This just has the opposite gender and not much of an option to secure it.

Pros: If works.

Cons: Securing the connection as you cram this monstrosity into the already too small space for the deck is next to impossible...

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Indianapolis, IN on 10/16/2012

2000 Volkswagen Golf

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

good

JMR from Washington, DC on 6/2/2012

1998 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

as advertised

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Antenna Adapter

Zack M from Evansville, IN on 5/3/2012

2000 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product works for what it says it does. The installation was fairly easy in a 2000 VW Beetle with a JVC ARSENAL KD-AHD79. I wish there was more space in the dash, but that wasn't a big deal. Something you should know if you're adding a deck to a Beetle--I attached this to the amp kick-on wire.

Pros: Meets expectation

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good antenna

Adamk from Nepa on 3/31/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Mark from Peachtree City, GA on 3/12/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Becasue of the short aerel the booster was necessary and I am now able to pick up stations that I could not with the original system

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Oakdale CT on 2/4/2012

2001 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised but had to contact Technical support as the installation instructions did not address what to do with the additional wire. Tech support was very responsive and answered the questions quickly and accuratly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Worst ever from Crutchfield

Crutchfield customer from Ohio on 1/22/2012

2000 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No one from Crutchfield has a clue. Worst installation ever. The adapters are so bulky and the space in the dash is small. Sorry Bill Crutchfield, but your brand is slipping. Please pull this item as it is a bust.

Pros: None

Cons: Bulky. Wont fit without sawing up the inside panels. There is no way anyone at Crutchfield has ever tried to install this.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

fits well

Aovi from Alabama Coast on 10/6/2011

2002 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was another in a series of free extras with my car stereo purchase from Crutchfield. Fit with my daughter's 2002 bug perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect

Steve K from Branford, CT on 4/19/2011

1999 Volkswagen Golf

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A must have. The length is ideal as are the connectors. Everything fits perfect and is soft enough to be bent without crushing or kinking. I didn't need the 12v connection so it got wrapped in electrical tape to be safe.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

VW Chick from Charlotte, NC on 3/18/2011

2001 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used to connect aftermarket radio. A must have. Very easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A6 antenna adapter amp

Tim from Ft Collins Co on 2/27/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Adapter worked great once I wired the blue wire to a 12v source. The radio went from picking up one station bearly to receiving the weakest station clearly in HD. A must have if your VW/Audi has a Bose or Synphany factory radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Matt from Alexandria, VA on 3/7/2010

2001 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Martin from Houston, TX on 10/23/2009

1998 Volkswagen GTI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this with the addition of a Alpine CDE-103BT. Couldn't get AM reception with my previous Alpine head unit and after I installed the new radio with this harness(running the power antenna wire to it since I don't have a power antenna on my car), got better FM reception and got AM reception that I never had. Thanks Crutchfield!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Ryan from Tampa, FL on 5/14/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is required to change from the factory installed stereo to an aftermarket, only if you want to listen to the radio. Adapts the factory antenna lead to the universal that the aftermarket stereos use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It's a must for this car

Alejandro from Miami Lakes, Fl on 4/22/2009

1999 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Never had a wrong purchase from Crutchfield and all the parts always come with all the info you need to complete. Always happy with all I buy from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

You need this no matter what.

Shane from Michigan on 2/2/2009

1999 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a must have for most Audi and VW applications. it works perfectly with my 99 Passat estate. Contrary to some other reviews, the instruction do tell you what to do with the blue wire: nothing. The wire is for a specific application to a 2003 audi or something. I didn't need it so I just wrapped it around the other cable and put a little electrical tape over it to keep it out of the way, problem solved.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

No tuner without it!

Jonathan from Mesa, AZ on 1/25/2009

2001 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfectly and couldn't be any easier to install in an '02 VW Jetta. People complaining about the blue wire need to remember this is for several different makes of vehicles. If your vehicle antenna doesn't need voltage then there won't be a wire, I thought that was pretty self-explanatory. There is also no reason to strip and solder(?) the wire if you don't need it, leave the wire alone - it receives voltage it doesn't send voltage out! Oh, yeah, it's FREE with stereo purchase from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

cesnaz from Boston, MA on 10/25/2008

2001 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This adapter works and fits perfectly, the only problem is nothing was said about the blue wire. It is useless tom Aayone with an 01 jetta.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Antenna Injector

Rickna from Stamford, CT on 1/30/2008

2001 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I could not get any stations (AM or FM) without this item. Now, I get all stations even my garage! The difference is like night & day. Great value, and fast shipping. Thank you Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Metra 40-VW54 Antenna Adapter

Joe from Illinois on 11/21/2007

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as described, but instructions didn't mention that the connector on the end of the blue 12V wire is basically useless. Plan on cutting it off and stripping the end, then crimping or soldering the wire.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

TOP