Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

FM Signal Amplifier

Signal booster for problem reception areas

MFR # 44-UA60

FM Signal Amplifier

FM Signal Amplifier

Signal booster for problem reception areas

MFR # 44-UA60

51 reviews
View this product

Radio disfuntional

Crutchfield customer from Fountain Hills, AZ on 9/30/2019

2010 Chrysler Sebring

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed the product and had no relief of all the static reception I have with the radio so I'm returning it for a different radio and hope that will help with the reception problem

Pros: None

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

FM Signal Amplifier

Jim from Effort, PA on 8/31/2018

1999 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works very well. Using it to help with a 8" antenna (1999 Mustang convertible for better looks) and it brings in all of the weak stations that I had lost with the antenna swap. Only wish it had a pilot light to know when it is powered on.

Pros: Works well

Cons: No pilot, on/off light.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

FM Signal Amplifier

Crutchfield customer from Kings Park, NY on 8/20/2018

2013 Subaru BRZ

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was easy to install and actually worked. Stations I could not get now come in and stations I did get now come in clearer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

FM Signal Amplifier

Crutchfield customer from Silverhill, AL on 8/6/2018

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This booster actually works. I had read about boosters and was somewhat skeptical when I purchased this unit. To my happy surprise, the weak FM station are now comin in strong!. A word of caution: carefully look at your setup. At first I only order one converter cable when i should have ordered two!! Folks at Crutchfield were very helpful and got the other cable to me quickly. Great company. Great service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

FM Signal Amplifier

Robert from Worcester, MA on 3/14/2018

2007 Dodge Sprinter Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This works great. I will buy another for second car. Takes some skill to install in dash.

Pros: works great

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

FM Signal Amplifier

Shane from Attica IN on 9/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works very well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

FM Signal Amplifier

D Bel from Texas on 8/20/2017

2007 Dodge Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems to help FM quite a bit but if you're looking for AM gains I'm not real sure yet

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: No gains for AM

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

FM Signal Amplifier

Anthony from Kentucky on 6/26/2017

1992 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Stations are better with out it,makes good channels go out

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/27/2017
Anthony, whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our tech support team right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

15 of 15 found this helpful

WORKS FINE

PAUL from Silverthorne, CO on 4/20/2017

2002 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

IT WORKS AS ADVERTISED. PLENTY OF MOUNTING OPTIONS.

Pros: WORKS AS ADVERTISED

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

FM Signal Amplifier

Andy from Plymouth, MA on 3/22/2017

2003 Nissan Pathfinder LE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product

Pros: Small

Cons: Good

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

FM Signal Amplifier

Gene from Nebraska on 9/1/2016

1983 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pushed the button and the guts pushed out the back

Pros: At least, it does work

Cons: Cheap made. Premium price.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

FM signal amp

JimH from Sykesville, MD on 7/25/2016

2007 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It could be the area I'm in, but I haven't found a signal amp which does anything, including this one. Maybe it works if you're closer or farther from stations.

Pros: Cheap, easy to install

Cons: Waste of time and money (for me)

Crutchfield response on 7/26/2016
Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our tech support team right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

9 of 11 found this helpful

Poor

Russ R from Colebrook NH on 6/11/2016

2000 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Poor design, Button gets hung up inside. First time I tried to push the button the inside pusshed through the back side. Did not improve reception either.

Pros: Easy to installl

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 14 found this helpful

Antenna booster

GR from Parlier, CA on 6/10/2016

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome worked perfect,great doing business with you guys

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Not bad

Noe from California on 5/26/2016

2013 Smart fortwo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The product is OK. Did not notice much of a difference, but it could be my antenna that is giving the problem. Product is also a little big.

Pros: Easy to instal

Cons: Did not notice much of a difference.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Function quality to be desired

GIl M from Minooka, IL on 5/18/2016

1999 GMC Jimmy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Poor function, pressing the button causing the button to get hung up inside the bezel that comes with the unit. Poor bezel button design and function.

Pros: Seems to work OK

Cons: Bad design and button function.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

nice unit

wooly from Aberdeen, WA on 4/18/2016

2005 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does help receive stations I just leave the unit on all the time and radio on distant and I get stations about 20 % more than without the unit. I have this unit connected to the Jensen vx 6020 which was reviewed as not getting very good reception and this units improves it about 20% even in heavy timber area where I live.

Pros: helps improve radio reception very small amount.

Cons: does help a whole lot to improve reception.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 10 found this helpful

Pretty good

ChanceB from Spencer, ok on 12/16/2015

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works pretty well, not a miracle fix, but definitely improved my signal reception.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Bad Product

Terry from Oregon on 11/30/2015

1998 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product did Nothing for reception!!

Pros: easy to install

Cons: Did Nothing for reception!!

Crutchfield response on 12/2/2015
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to help the customer. We'll either help him get it working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

9 of 9 found this helpful

FM Signal Amplifier

Coffey from Virginia on 11/9/2015

2003 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We bought this amp to increase the raido in a car for a friend...but we got it hooked up and really didn't see a big sound change...so now I'm going to try it in my truck to see if it will boast the sound...we were dissapointed that it didn't do what we hoped but willing to try it again before returning it...

Pros: Not to hard to install

Cons: Didn't performed with the first try like we hoped

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

small effect

km from Rhode Island on 8/16/2015

2010 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. Button quality is low. Minor improvement in signal

Pros: Easy instll

Cons: Questional quality build

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

FM Signal Amplifier

PerryH from Illinois on 6/11/2015

2011 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy hookup install amplifies signal mount construction not good

Pros: amplifies signal

Cons: poor construction

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

fm signal amplifier

ag from so cal on 6/2/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the product does what it's supposed to but the quality is poor.

Pros: amplifies fm signal

Cons: cheap construction had to remove bezel case and the push button to make it operational.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Works but quality lacking

ldesy from Massachusetts on 6/1/2015

2005 Hyundai Santa Fe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After installing the product I can now pick up 31 stations instead of 14. So the product works, I was a little disappointed with the quality of the switch though. It's a little hard to actually get the button to press on and off.

Pros: easy to install increased the number of station I could receive

Cons: lacking quality of workmanship Had to install under the dash

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Doesn't Work

Kevin from Las Vegas, NV on 2/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Didn't work at all. No difference in signal strength.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

works well

bakerstrike from newton, nc on 7/22/2014

1998 Mitsubishi Eclipse

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I hooked it up in my 98 eclipse and it worked better than I expected. Actually when I had it of but still hooked up it seem to work alot better.

Pros: Clearer and stronger signal. cheap

Cons: Bulky and if you want to mount it any where you need room and an antenna cable extender

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

FM Signal Amplifier

NomadPar from Missouri on 6/25/2014

2007 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Classic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Boost the FM signal to a useable level.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Used for testing a bad FM tuner head

Wes from Rockville, Va on 5/24/2014

2001 Ford Crown Victoria

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had purchased a Kenwood KDC-BT955HD in March 2013. End of April 2014 FM tuner section picked up less stations (AM was OK and I put an older head which FM HD worked OK). (Note I"m an RF broadcast engineer ) EX: I live 15 miles from an WCVE transmitter and usually get instant HD digital lock. I did a road test and got a HD Digital lock 2.5 miles from the transmitter. I was trying to troubleshoot if problem was the front end of the tuner or the AGC. Amp overloaded the front end to the point I couldn't pick up even the local stations. So I sent the Head to Kenwood for repairs. This test only validated my assumption to Kenwood that I was not just an average Joe in troubleshooting the problem.

Pros: Only cost me $23 to do a troubleshooting test. May have some use in the future for it for another application such as feeding multiple FM tuners in a house with the preamp close the antenna and before the splitter. It also may be useful if you live in a very rural area. If you live in a metro area with many FM stations already, the preamp will overload.

Cons: Since most tuners are sensitive to pick up most stations (we no longer live in the 1970's folks) most people do NOT need a pre-amp such as this. If you DO NOT know what you are doing, don't purchase it if you think you can get better reception with a tuner manufactured since the 80's OR you can use it IF you have a long down-lead between the antenna and the head unit (but really who has land yachts these days) or you plan to feed multiple tuners with the pre-amp before an 8 way splitter.

Crutchfield response on

18 of 23 found this helpful

Fm signal amplifier and adapters

Mark K. from In Maui on vacation on 4/24/2014

2009 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Live in the mountains of Colorado. Our radio station reception is horrible. You can see the tower and lose the station. Trying to pick up some station better. Lose them going into certain neighborhoods for work. Now the local stations overpower the one further away. Need to remove and go back to stock. Listening to iheart radio on my iPhone instead

Pros: As always adapters and tool made install a breeze

Cons: Does not work for fm signals in the mountains. Need to talk to Crutchfield and return product

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

FM Signal Amplifier

fishingfox from Phoenix, AZ on 3/17/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this because my HD radio fades in some areas of the valley. It does help, but not as much as I had hoped.

Pros: Price, ease of install

Cons: Not as effective as I had hoped.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Not Impressed

Minnesota Lurch from North Branch, MN on 10/25/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not what I was expecting. I was trying to reduce dropouts I get with some of the weaker HD signals. Improvement is marginal at best. If I paid full price out of pocket, I'd have been a lot more disappointed. Fortunately I had a Crutchfield gift card to cover the majority of this purchase.

Pros: Marginal signal improvement. Installation is a no-brainer.

Cons: Doesn't provide the signal improvement claimed in description. Seems kind of flimsy too. Not worth the money.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Don't buy

Clark from Gatlinburg, TN on 10/16/2013

1991 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hooked it up and saw no change. The hassle and cost of shipping it back was more than the effort, so its in a box in my garage with other useless electronics.

Pros: None

Cons: Waste of money.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

FM Signal Amplifier

800-10x from Illinois on 10/3/2013

2004 GMC Envoy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised as long as one follows instructions.

Pros: Works

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

FM Signal Amplifier

Ben from Sacramento on 6/13/2013

2001 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made no difference in reception at all

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/17/2013
We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

8 of 9 found this helpful

Workes very well

Jimmy from Florida on 11/25/2012

2001 Ford Crown Victoria

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this antenna booster in my daughter's car, she already has an aftermarket CD/USB deck but was having trouble receiving weaker FM signals. She lives up in the foothills of the Appalachians and sometimes FM reception can be poor when driving. At first I did not know whether the booster would really help or not, but my daughter tells me her FM radio reception is a lot better and seems to be stronger now. I would say try the booster if you are having similar reception problems, it may help.

Pros: It worked and actually did improve the FM reception.

Cons: The plastic housing around the on-off button is kind of flimsy and it can bind up making it harder to turn the booster on or off. This is the only reason I rate the booster at 4 out of 5 stars.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

FM Signal Amplifier

Robbie from Orlando, Florida on 6/18/2012

2006 Nissan Xterra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would not reccomend this signal booster. not only does it fall apart it does not boost the signal at all....

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Dont work at all poor construction it falls apart and the spring pops out on the switch

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

FM Signal Amplifier

Crutchfield customer from AZ on 5/19/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Barely boosted the signal and the power button on all 4 I purchased . It was getting stuck.Poorly constructed .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 5/21/2012
We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

10 of 10 found this helpful

FM Signal Amplifier

Crutchfield customer from New Mexico on 5/13/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am using your products in a very remote mountain location. This RF amplifier helps me to obtain good quality signal reception to more stations than I could otherwise. Very good product for the use that I am implementing it for

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

FM Signal Amplifier

Josh from WV on 1/16/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would have rated this a 0 but they don't give you that option. Bought an aftermarket radio with sub-par FM radio signal. Crutchfield sent this out to me to try to amplify the signal. IT MADE THINGS WORSE! I didn't do a hard install (thankfully!) because I wanted to see how well it worked first. Plugged in and turned on, fm quality on stations near by did not increase, only the sound level increased. Stations further away that I used to be able to hear in my original radio come in now with lots of static on the aftermarket radio; once the amplifier is turned on they go away completely! But at least I can hear the static loud and clear!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

20 of 21 found this helpful

Save Your Money

Bob N from Havre, MT on 10/16/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After an hour's worth of work installing the unit, found out it made absolutely NO appreciable DIFFERENCE in increasing FM reception. In an area with only a half dozen FM stations, there was no improvement. With the booster 'off', when signal strength begins to fade, switching the booster 'on' only increases the static level. The construction quality is also to be questioned: On receipt the front panel decal was applied upside down, not allowing the on/off to shine through and, the on/off switch mechanism sticks badly impairing turning the unit on or off ... which is off little consequence now since I leave it off !! I would take it out but another hour underneath the dash is not worth the $15 effort. The laws of radio wave propogation cannot be enhanced with this booster - - Save your money and hope that you'll soon be driving into any area with better 'natural' reception!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

20 of 22 found this helpful

HD reception

Crutchfield customer from Clinton, WA on 11/25/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have installed a DUAL HD car radio in my off-the-grid home. It locks into the HD signal on three of the four FM stations of interest just fine. The forth station switches in and out of HD, holding pretty steady under ideal atmospheric conditions or when one stands in just the right place relative to our in-house antenna. I installed one of these amplifiers to get a slightly stronger signal (all I need). In "turned off" (bypass mode) there seemed to be a slight degradation in reception, turned "on" there was no improvement. It didn't work for me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

23 of 26 found this helpful

FM Signal Amplifier

Derek from Seattle, WA on 6/8/2009

1993 Geo Prizm

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was a complete waste of money. I hooked up power plugged the car antenna into it and then the boosters antenna into the radio. Turned it on and FM stations came in worse with more static. Unplugged it put the car antenna directly into the radio and the reception was much clearer. Forget AM reception because with it on not one AM station could be heard. Turn it off and reception returned. So it's a complete waste on money in my opinion.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

24 of 29 found this helpful

FM Signal Amplifier

Alex from Illinois on 9/26/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It didnt help with my radio reception in my car at all!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

16 of 20 found this helpful

FM Signal Amplifier

Manuel from San Antonio, TX on 5/6/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I tried this product and all I heard was noise when I powered it up. The idea seems good, but the design is poor.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 14 found this helpful

Not a good design

Dr. Ace from near Bloomington, IN on 10/15/2007

1994 Mercury Sable

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would have liked to rate this unit a ZERO. I ordered the unit (I won't call it a signal booster/amplifier) on 9-20-2007. I began formally studying radio/electronics in 1975. I earned a college degree in electronics and have held the highest class FCC issued Amateur Radio license for over 10 years. And have been licensed for about 25 years. I have used some very good signal amplifier/boosters, But this is NOT one of them! I live in a quiet rural area 10 miles outside Bloomington, IN. I conducted multiple tests with this unit. On hilltops and in valleys with many different radio stations, with the cars engine running and with the cars engine off, on AM and FM bands. No detectable difference of any kind switching the unit on/off on FM. On the AM broadcast band I tuned in a station with the signal amplifier/booster off, then I turned the signal amplifier/booster on; at that point I totally lost the AM station and all I had was NOISE !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

104 of 110 found this helpful

Great product- not a miracle cure

bass-bumper94 from Fargo, ND on 6/24/2007

1991 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very good product. I agree with those who say that this is not a miracle cure for bad reception and dont expect to be picking up stations from a few states away. This is simply way to bring up the power of a few weak stations. Since you can turn it on and off, it wont degrade your signal once you install it which was a deciding factor for my purchase. Works great and sounds great. I would recommend this product to anyone. Really nicely designed with a good looking bezel. Great for any cars interior.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

18 of 26 found this helpful

Great Product When used and reviewed correctly

Jeremy from Chouteau, OK on 1/7/2007

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is a very simple signal amplifier, not a signal processor. It amplifies the incoming signal by 15Db, it does not reduce extra noise, or cut out static, or improve signal quality, only signal strength. This is a great product if you know what it really is and don't believe that it is a "magic box" that will solve all your static problems.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

40 of 44 found this helpful

Works Exceptionally well with a static filter inline with it

Chris from CA on 12/8/2005

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just cruising through the site, I stumbled on a product I put in my Fiance's Mustang a few years back. We live in the High Desert of Southern California so we definately have lots of flat open space. I used the amplifier with a static filter and the sound was absolutely amazing, at the time it was the best radio sound I have ever heard. Then I could only listen to CD's because I hated radio quality. Now I can actually listen to Am/Fm in the Mustang. It came close to cd quality on many stations. With the static filter and amplifier, the combo could not be beat.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

57 of 61 found this helpful

FM Signal Amplifier

Kenny from Jackson, TN on 8/13/2005

2003 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Like the other reviews, this thing is garbage! It just added more static & the signal didn't improve at all. If your make of vehicle requires antenna cable adapters for installation on your vehicle, then you will spend more on them than the item itself.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

36 of 45 found this helpful

FM Signal Amplifier

Brian from Warren Michigan on 6/17/2005

2004 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

it doesn't work just makes the static come in better

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

53 of 66 found this helpful

FM Signal Amplifier

Kevin from GA on 5/24/2005

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This item was garbage for me. It boosted the signal alright. Right along with the static I was getting. Maybe it was cause of the radio I don't know, but it was useless to me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

129 of 160 found this helpful

TOP