Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 70-1728 Amp Bypass Harness

Connect a new car stereo and bypass the factory amplifier in select 2006-up Honda vehicles

MFR # 70-1728C

Metra 70-1728 Amp Bypass Harness

Metra 70-1728 Amp Bypass Harness

Connect a new car stereo and bypass the factory amplifier in select 2006-up Honda vehicles

MFR # 70-1728C

43 reviews
View this product

Metra 70-1728 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Findlay, OH on 4/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to hook up! Sound coming from the actual head unit instead of the factory amp makes a huge improvement! I'm even hearing sounds I haven't heard before! Especially sounds coming from the tweeters!

Pros: Extra long wires

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-1728 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Moorestown, NJ on 4/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome product Crutchfield help guid me to pick this harness it fit perfectly plug and play the advisors at Crutchfield are very helpful and highly knowledgeable great company and great products

Pros: Awesome

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-1728 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Folcroft, PA on 12/6/2020

2010 Honda Civic SI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As usual, Crutchfield delivers on customer service and pricing. The bypass harness had great instructions and was super easy to wire. Had the head unit installed and the amp bypassed in less than thirty minutes.

Pros: Great instructions.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-1728 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Dalton, GA on 10/30/2020

2007 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just like all the harnesses sold by Crutchfield it was a perfect match! And regardless of where the stock car amp is located you will have plenty of wire length to reach it in order to bypass it. I believe I had about 6 feet of wire I trimmed off when I used it on my civic. It's better to have too much than not enough if you ask me. If you need to bypass your amp this is the harness I recommend!

Pros: Perfect fit Plenty of wire length Easy to install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great

Crutchfield customer from North Windham, CT on 10/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great harness. Comes w a ton of wire length. Easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Too long

Crutchfield customer from Jackson, MS on 7/7/2020

2006 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Entirely too long had to shorten it down

Pros: It works

Cons: Too long it only has to go 2 feet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amp and radio connections

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, NE on 7/5/2020

2006 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall good. Has the plug for the radio also.

Pros:

Cons: Amp connectors terminals are cheap, ends are rough and bend easy

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-1728 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Toledo, OH on 6/22/2020

2008 Honda Civic SI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as described.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit!

Crutchfield customer from Amarillo, TX on 4/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great adaptor! I was confused on why is was so long but then I understood you can actually run the wires all the way to the back to a amp. Perfect fit!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-1728 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Waipahu, HI on 12/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It didn't work for me. Had to cry the wires and hook it up to the stereo directly

Pros:

Cons: Didn't work

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fried stock amp fix!

Crutchfield customer from Tolleson, AZ on 11/26/2019

2007 Honda Civic SI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This works, Installation was easier than I thought, of course thanks to Crutchfield team. The reason I needed this was because the factory amplifier was fried and all my speakers were not working so with this I bypassed the amp and then presto! just like that every speaker was working, except the stock subwoofer, in which I plan on getting an aftermarket amp and subs anyway. So If you ever need one this is the way to fix your system.

Pros: Gets all your speakers to work and Installation was easy!

Cons: Stock amp and stock subs wont work. You have to go aftermarket.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-1728 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Defiance, OH on 9/15/2019

2008 Honda Civic SI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness worked great once I found the amplifier under the drivers seat! Instructions were clear and concise. Wiring was extra long, so there is plenty of left overs! :)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-1728 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Mc Gehee, AR on 6/5/2019

2006 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works wonderfully. Way too much wire for my car though.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-1728 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Auburn, WA on 6/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, after unwinding the miles of wires, necessary to reach all parts of the car. Prevents all the 'wiring' issues when you replace the stock head unit with a new one and are installing a new, aftermarket amp.

Pros: All

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-1728 Amp Bypass Harness

Christian from Alexandria, VA on 1/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just what I needed

Pros: fits perfect

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-1728 Amp Bypass Harness

Jeffery from Mc Lean, VA on 12/14/2018

2007 Honda Civic SI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This worked great. Yes, it's a bit long, but you have to remember the civic sedan has the amp under the drivers seat. But it still has excess, I guess for possibly other cars. Overall, it's a great harness, and plug and play with the factory premium audio wiring to bypass the amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-1728 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 6/1/2018

2007 Honda Civic SI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-1728 Amp Bypass Harness

Frank from San Antonio, TX on 4/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Took all the guess work out of installing aftermarket stereo to aftermarket amps. Was able to use factor wiring of speakers and circumvented factor amp. Greatly recommend this product.

Pros: Easy to use and saved LOTS of time.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-1728 Amp Bypass Harness

Philly from Tempe, AZ on 2/3/2018

2008 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, the extra long wires are a must depending on where your factory car audio amp is located. Warning! do not cut these wires until you have established the location of your amp, measure the distance, then add an extra 8-12" inch then cut.

Pros: Extra long wires, decent gauge, easy to determine each wire with the chart.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-1728 Amp Bypass Harness

Heath from Edison,OH on 9/25/2017

2006 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works perfectly. only complaint is it comes with way to much wire. For some it could be intimidating.

Pros:

Cons: to much wire. you only need about 2ft.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

OEM connection

Rudy from Killeen texas on 7/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excess of wire but works perfectly for all speakers

Pros: Wiring sheet helps

Cons: Wire too long

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great harness

billy from farmville, nc on 3/15/2017

2007 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great for installing a Blaupunkt San Antonio in my Honda Civic EX coupe.

Pros: between the master sheet, the harness and the Crutchfield tech support...this system is failsafe!

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works but not completely

Dustin from Ohio on 2/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This set up has the wires for tweeters and subwoofer for the 06 civic but you are not able to use them the instructions do not give any details on the his either they are just there.

Pros: Gets sound to basic speakers

Cons: Does not get sound to tweeters and subwoofer (maybe fullrange)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-1728 Amp Bypass

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 1/21/2017

2008 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The adapter did not work for my car. Therefore I can't rate it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

great product

miles from Lewis Center, OH on 1/19/2017

2007 Honda Civic SI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does what its supposed to do. MUCH longer than what I needed, but cutting off excess wire is no biggie. Just makes it more tedious to run because fishing 12' of wire through little spaces is kind of a pain. The wires were zip-tied together every so often, so that helped.

Pros: works

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-1728 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 12/8/2016

2008 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple instructions and easy installation!

Pros:

Cons: Wires entirely too long for a simple amp bypass to the head unit. Probably going to have to cut them down.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Gets the job done with minimal fuss

Crutchfield customer from Ft Collins, CO on 8/22/2016

2007 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Color coding was spot on. -1 star for insane length (way to long) for my application.

Pros: Works to bypass factory amp.

Cons: For my application way to long. Had to shorten by ~5 feet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Riding the musical highway until I hit the bypass

andre k from Eureka, CA on 5/24/2016

2007 Honda Civic SI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Before I had this my music sounded mediocre at best. After tethering this harness to my system-Big Badda Boom! I now have a rocking' car stereo.

Pros: Lots of extra length to make sure you have enough for your install. Plus with the multi-colors it looks like peel and eat twizzlers. (Please note this installation was done by a professional who did not eat them like twizzlers as you should not).

Cons: Kind of pricey, but what are you gonna do? When you need it, you need it.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A nightmare turned easy

Bbear from Durham, NC on 4/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Item worked very well a must have to bypass the week factory amp an run your own amp an lots of wire to reach your trunk or cut it an run it to the head unit great buy

Pros: Plug an play easy install

Cons: Opened the box an foam penuts went every where

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bypass harness

Tim from Sacramento.California on 8/29/2015

2008 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Arrived in three days.was exactly what I needed.

Pros: Customer service was very helpful, answered all my questions

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Was what I needed

Corey from Harrisburg PA on 5/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness was just what I needed to put a kenwood in my 2006 civic. I installed component speakers in the car so I would still have tweeters which I put in the factory location. I needed this to bypass the factory amp and it worked great. Just don't understand why it's 20 feet long!! I only needed a foot or two!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-1728 Amp Bypass Harness

Nick from Virginia on 4/9/2015

2007 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product works and arrived as expected.

Pros: Plenty of extra wire provided.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-1728 Amp Bypass Harness

CPete from North Bend Oregon on 3/25/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness worked great and allowed me to do a fast install, the right way when saving my OEM speakers.

Pros: Great length of capable and instructions were easily read

Cons: This item was matched with my stereo and vehicle but the instructions didn't mention how to wire my tweeters. After I called Crutchfield I was able to go with my gut feeling and wire them in. For the first timer or average DIYer, this could cause issues. Make sure you ask questions if needed.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy!

Searcy from Searcy on 12/30/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy instal!

Pros: Simple to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

awesome

Joel Z from dexter, NM on 12/24/2014

2009 Honda Civic SI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

its super long.

Pros: It's super long.

Cons: none.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

too long

David from APO Kaiserslautern, Ge on 1/27/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked good but way to long for coupe install

Pros: Worked good quality wire

Cons: Rediculously long

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

honda civic 06

honda from california on 7/9/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product is good but they still dont show u got to bypass the harness when i pay for the instructions that just show u were the amp is located ..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

works good

Crutchfield customer from manahawkin nj on 1/12/2013

2007 Honda Civic SI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfect excepts wires are 400ft to long you gotta cut them

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A pointless piece of the puzzle

John doe from Wyoming on 12/13/2012

2007 Honda Civic SI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I rated this a 4 because for the quality it's great, now if only I truly needed it..... I made my own essentially. So this is a waste of money for me. However now I've got labeled factory wires to wire anything else I may want to.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Works well in 2007 Honda Civic Si

Mr. Mike from Adamsville GA on 9/1/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There were no problems with the functionality of the harness. You will get wires that are about 14 to 16 feet long, so you will have to cut them as there will be no room behind your dash to stuff all that wire. This is no problem at all because I would much rather have too much wire than not enough. You will lose the use of your subwoofer and steering wheel controls, so an aftermarket amplifier and steering wheel control adapter will need to be purchased.

Pros: Works well

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Not for 2008 CRV EX-L

Matt from Chantilly, VA on 8/13/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness is not needed on a 2008 Honda CRV EX-L with factory subwoofer; there is no amp to plug it in. Crutchfield techs were great though and sent me out the correct one, which installed easily.

Pros: NA

Cons: NA

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

WRONG PART!!

Lyadonna22 from Fayetteville, AR on 5/8/2012

2010 Honda CRV EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm sure this is a fine product for the right car, but Crutchfield sent this to me for use with my Honda CR-V and I had to go out and pick up the correct part. The wires are CRAZY long on this unit, too... Not sure why you would need that much, but I guess it's always nice to have options?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Ok for basic radio

car audio from woodbridge VA on 2/14/2009

2009 Honda Civic SI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness is ok only for basic aftermarket install as it will still require you to splice/tap into VSS/VSP wire even though it is present in the OEM connector. The 09 Si civic has two illumination wires and most radios only have one (this connector only has one) so it doesn't help. It is also important to note that you WILL lose your sub woofer with this harness if you do not get an amplifier as all aftermarket radios only have 4 channels. The Civic Si needs at least five (you can run the front mid's and tweeters in parallel off the same line (thanks Crutchfield for that advice, works great)). This will work great as I will soon buy an amp to get back my subwoofer. I think this harness should have had the VSP wire (that is common in GPS aftermarket units) as it IS in the OEM harness. As it is for the honda civic they should know and tell you that there is an issue with the illumination as well. You get tons of wire so there many options to run the harness. Center console to under the seat only takes about a third of what they give you. Good quality wire too! Hope this helps everyone looking at this.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

39 of 48 found this helpful

TOP