Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
587 573 842 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
587 573 842 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

For simple questions about your order,
try our new virtual agent:

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 70-5008 Receiver Wiring Harness

Connect a new car stereo in select 1993-00 Ford, Lincoln, Mercury, and Mazda vehicles with factory amplifier

MFR # 70-5008C

Metra 70-5008 Receiver Wiring Harness

Metra 70-5008 Receiver Wiring Harness

Connect a new car stereo in select 1993-00 Ford, Lincoln, Mercury, and Mazda vehicles with factory amplifier

MFR # 70-5008C

75 reviews
View this product

Metra 70-5008 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Lansing, MI on 5/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great ,solved a real mystery, thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Doesn't fit 01 explorer

JESSE from Cimarron, NM on 1/17/2020

2001 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wiring harness wasn't even close to fitting my 2001 Ford Explorer XLT even though Crutchfield said it would

Pros: None

Cons: Doesn't fit 01 explorer

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-5008 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Guyton, GA on 11/4/2019

1995 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

More than enough wore given to remove the factory amp. Nice kit!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5008 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Oklahoma City, OK on 9/16/2019

1994 Ford Escort LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent stuff here. Just match the wires with the diagram and plug in to factory plugs.

Pros: Such an easy job with these!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

good way to go

Crutchfield customer from Versailles, MO on 8/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

worked fit perfect

Pros: fit

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5008 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Helena, MT on 7/26/2019

1994 Ford Aspire

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked like a dream

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Would get the job done if correct

Brent from Sprague, WA on 3/17/2019

1995 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

95' f350 crew diesel, the black plug was incorrect. The gray plug was very flimsy and the metal connectors moved around independently so if you used it you would have to line them up before installing.

Pros:

Cons: One was very cheap and the other was incorrect for my vehicle

Crutchfield response on 3/19/2019
Brent, whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

it works

justincrediable from Corpus Christi, TX on 2/25/2019

1998 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It worked

Pros: yep lots of pros

Cons: nope no cons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit for 97 Ford Explorer Limited

Donnie from Fishers Island, NY on 10/11/2018

1997 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect!!! Super easy install

Pros: Super easy install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

perfect,

Charles from Binghamton, NY on 8/28/2018

1997 Lincoln Town Car

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

exactly what I needed, the Rep reccomneded just the right stuff

Pros: all

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-5008 Receiver Wiring Harness

Richard from Arroyo Grande, CA on 5/20/2018

1996 Lincoln Town Car

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plenty of line and all connectors fit as advertised. The long bundle is 204" long and when it has to go to the trunk you think you need it all. Actually I had about 18" extra. The connector to the factory radio bundle fits perfectly.

Pros: All fit my conditions

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-5008 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Manchester, PA on 5/13/2018

1997 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made the installation much easier. Well worth the money spent

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5008 Receiver Wiring Harness

Michael from St Petersburg, FL on 12/4/2017

1993 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made the Premium Sound Bypass w/ the factory amp under the passenger seat very simply with extra long wiring to get to the amp plug located next to the amp. Good job on the design for the 1993 Mustang for the 1 year they put the amp under the seat vs right behind the stereo in the dash.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simplifies install

Lester from Mableton, GA on 7/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used it on a 2000 Mustang to put an aftermarket stereo in. I bypassed the factory amp at the same time. Very easy to match up the wire colors or functions. Just plug into factory plug and a few splices later you are done.

Pros: Provides direct connection to factory harness.

Cons: A little pricy

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5008 Receiver Wiring Harness

Gordon from Bellingham WA on 4/9/2017

1997 Lincoln Continental

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Matched up perfectly to the Lincoln harnesses

Pros: 100% match, easy install

Cons: Poor design from factory had to run speaker wires from trunk of car plus needed 17 foot antenna adapter

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5008 Receiver Wiring Harness

Phillip from Tuscola, IL on 3/19/2017

1999 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made install a quick job

Pros: Instructions, adapters, and diagrams made install effortless

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5008 Receiver Wiring Harness

Jim from Elizabeth, CO on 3/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plug and play, what more can I say.

Pros: The prewired harness was well worth the cost. What a time saver!!!

Cons: Because my amplifier was in the rear of the vehicle the speaker wires had to routed to the rear approximately 12-15 feet. I purchased some wire loom from auto zone to keep it all together, which made it even easier to route the cable along wire tray under the carpeting to the rear amplifier.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5008 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Broken Bow, NE on 5/31/2016

1993 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good instructions and product worked great.

Pros: Easy to figure out wiring with diagram.

Cons: Way to much wiring.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Did not fit 2001 Explorer

Jeff from Winooski, VT on 5/20/2016

2001 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The wiring kit had different connectors than my vehicle although it was the one suggested by Crutchfield. I ended up having to run out and buy an adapter locally.

Pros: Very inexpensive. Now I have lots of extra spare wiring.

Cons: Didn't fit my vehicle even though it was listed for it.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Free!

Max from Bell Gardens, CA on 5/18/2016

2000 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's amazing how the wiring is free for the instalation. This makes me want to share this site with every friend I have.

Pros: Adding the tools and wires is very cool and much appreciated.

Cons: The wiring sent was missing a connector. Since my car had a cd changer the wires sent weren't enough. Somewhere I must have forgotten to add my car had a cd factory installed.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

metra 70-5008 wiring harness

sam from joliet, IL on 4/30/2016

2001 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

couldn't used they sent the wrong set for my 01 explorer

Pros: none

Cons: wrong sets

Crutchfield response on 5/3/2016
We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good wiring kit

Djmiller from Fort wayne indiana on 11/29/2015

1998 Ford Windstar

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good wiring kit.

Pros: Easy wiring, color coded

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5008 Receiver Wiring Harness

GP from Florida on 11/11/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome, perfect for my Lincoln

Crutchfield customer from Ohio on 10/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome, perfect for my Lincoln

Pros: Awesome, perfect for my Lincoln

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-5008 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Pennsylvania on 10/26/2015

1998 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness did not work in my 98 Explorer with the premium head unit. After a quick call to Crutchfield support I had the correct harness.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-5008 Receiver Wiring Harness

Levi from New York on 7/23/2015

1996 Lincoln Town Car

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I shopped at local discount retailer and bought 2 connectors that did not work. A local auto store could not help me. This one fixed the problem and worked perfect.

Pros: More than enough wiring and easy to install.

Cons: To bad I had to bypass the factory amp.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect Harness for my truck

Jessieva from Virginia on 7/10/2015

1995 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The right harness to wire my new radio to my 1995 F-150 Truck. Worked pefectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

woot!

V from Washington on 6/16/2015

1999 Ford Contour

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So...many...colorful...wires!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Good kit

Crutchfield Purchaser from Greensboro, NC on 5/4/2015

1997 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kit was exactly what I needed. Worked perfectly to route the speaker outputs to the back corner where the factory amp is.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

No cutting wires

dvan from Utah on 3/26/2015

1997 Ford F-250 Heavy Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This made my install easy. Simple to use.

Pros: Simple and no cutting factory harness

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5008 Receiver Wiring Harness

Marvin from Virginia on 2/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There is NO way I'd every try to install a stereo in a car without this harness . So Easy to install and No cutting of the Factory wiring . This way if you ever want to reinstall the Factory unit it will as easy as unplug the Metra harness and plug in the factory unit .

Pros: Easy to follow instructions and No cutting of Factory Harness

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

wire harness

hugh from Massachusetts on 1/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

taking the guess work out of wiring

Pros: simple application

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

alot of wire

jacknifetrucker from s.e. texas on 6/15/2014

1996 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

matched factory plug perfect, only prob was Crutchfield sold me the factory amp bypass kit. the 96 f250 never had a factory amp.

Pros: works great

Cons: there is no factory amp in a 96 f250

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5008 Receiver Wiring Harness

Don H from Austin, Tx on 5/25/2014

1994 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

quality, good fit, right price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-5008 Receiver Wiring Harness

John from Charlottesville, VA on 5/7/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in a 2006 Nissan Pathfinder to replace the BOSE Premium Sound Package. It is now far the better. Works flawlessly, was a pleasure to work with the Crutchfield team. Very easy to work with and installation was quite fast. Very glad to work with Crutchfield, and will do so in the future without a doubt.

Pros: Fluid communication without interruption.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The perfect work around the factory amplifier

Doug from Bellingham, WA on 4/9/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered an Alpine car stereo, 4 speakers, and dash mounting kit for my daughters 99 Ford Escort. Crutchfield sent me all the goodies to make the install as easy as could be. However, because my daughter had a tape stuck in the factory tape deck, I didn't see the label that said "Premium Sound." With the premium sound option, there is a power amplifier under the drivers seat. In order to install an after market stereo with speakers, you have to bypass this amp. This pig tail is all that is required. Unplug factory amp (two connections), plug in pig tail, and run the wires under the carpet and up to the new stereos speaker connections. That's it. Worked like a champ. The pig tail comes with about 10 feet of wire. Don't let that scare you. Just cut the wires up near the new stereo with a little extra length to play with and your done.

Pros: Crutchfield's tech support. These guys know their stuff. The pig tail adapter was exactly what I needed.

Cons: Nothing.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fast and easy

SirVesa from Houston, TX on 4/1/2014

1996 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ended up using the Scosche CFDK6 factory integration kit when I realized I would have to run about 10 feet of wiring harness from the right rear of my Explorer (where the amp is) to the front of the car. Not being familiar with the install process, I thought nothing of it when Crutchfield offered me this "free" harness and the head unit I was installing already had amplified outputs. So I said, "sure, we'll bypass the amp". It would have been nice if my "advisor" had said "hey, you might want to re-think that and save yourself a few hours of work and aggravation and by this $15 integration module instead".

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

wrong wiring for my car

Dylan from glendale utah on 3/9/2014

1997 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wish this would have worked. It was advertised to bypass my factory amplifiers. It did not the plug was right but it didn't work. I do not blame the product but're technicians that sent it. I finally bought a wiring harness that used the factory amp.

Pros: Nothing for me but the was plenty of length in the wires you can pit if anywhere in the car.

Cons: To many loose wires it needs to be taped before Install.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect

Andy B. from Smyrna, GA on 2/13/2014

1997 Lincoln Town Car

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly.

Pros: Easy to use/install Good wiring diagrams

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Always Use A Harness

EJCUSA1 from Streamwood IL on 2/9/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness has more then enough wire to run. Always use a harness, don't cut stock wires

Pros: Very Long.

Cons: Loose wires. Need to tape the harness up so its not a mess of wires.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

bill

bill from Bull Shoals,Arkansas on 1/13/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

product work as advertized

Pros: plenty of wire,plugs correct.good tech support

Cons: About half way down the harness,on the side with out a plug,the color code for the negitive /positive speaker wires was gone[.about the last 4 feet].I should have checked this before I completely installed it from the rear of the veihicle to the front.My bad.I pulled it back out til I picked up the color code,put my own mark on the ends,etc..problem solved.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bypass harness

Jim g from Palm Bay fl on 1/1/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Completed install easily, real easy to wire.

Pros: Easy to follow instructions quick install.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wrong original stereo model

Juan C from Calexico, CA on 12/2/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I can't use the black one, because I confused my original stereo model, so I acquired the black one in other store to connect the speakers, is why I assigned three stars for this item

Pros: Easy to connect with receive wires

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wire harness

Hillbilly Jim from Grasston,MN on 8/10/2013

1994 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfect, nice to solder wires together in comfort then under dash

Pros: Save time and no headache

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Didn't need them but...

Ed from Loganville, GA on 7/25/2013

2000 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ended up not needing these but that's OK, they didn't cost anything. The wiring diagrams make it just about fool proof.

Pros: Quality parts and great documentation.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Harness

Cop793 from Louisville ky on 6/17/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit. I also needed the harness to wire the factory amp. Crutchfield included this along with instructions. Perfect

Pros: Perfect

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Factory amp bypass harness

Cody from Villa Park, IL on 4/5/2013

1999 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My application was a 1999 Ford Mustang with the standard audio system so I ended up cutting off all but a foot of the speaker harness. Otherwise it was very straight forward. I de-pined a couple of the wires that were not used like the blue remote turn-on lead on the speaker harness and one of the illumination wires on the main harness.

Pros: Fits, decent quality wire

Cons: Extra wire length - waste if you're not using it for your application

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Harness

landrews from Stafford Va on 3/22/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am sure this is a fine wiring harness, but it did not fit my radio/truck, it was returned, the salespeople should have known, I had to get the proper wiring harness somehwere else.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

makes it easy

Jeff A from Wyoming on 3/17/2013

1997 Lincoln Town Car

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness is a must for bypassing the factory amp. I ran this harness down the right side of the car in the factory wire chase and then up under the dash to the radio location. I even had to cut off about 2.5 feet of wire. I used it in a 97 Town Car and I can't think of any application that would require a longer harness. Once I decided to remove the rear seat the acutal running of the harness took about 20 minutes.

Pros: plenty of wire

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Power and speaker harness.

MikeM from Huntsville Texas on 12/30/2012

1995 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The only part the worked snapped in right was the power connection. The only reason it gets a two instead of a one or less. The speaker/wire harness did not fit the connections for the amp bypass. So the only good that came out of it was I was able to use the wire to run it directly from the speakers to the radio. Lucky it was free wire.

Pros: Only the power wire harnees worked.

Cons: The speaker harness did not work, connections was useless. So had to cut the wires and run them directly. Which resulted in way more crawling around the belly of the vehicle then intended or expected with Crutchfield products I have used before.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 70-5008 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from yulee, fl on 10/29/2012

1997 Lincoln Town Car

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

just what i wanted

Pros: easy to install

Cons: no antenna extension

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect

Appleman from Plainsboro, NJ on 5/22/2012

1995 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for my application. Only gripe is that the wires are not sheathed. Whenever you run wire through a vehicle it shouldn't be just wires, they should be protected. Just enough wire. Had about 2 feet extra so I just coiled it behind the dash. Excellent instructions that anyone could follow. I found the remote lead to be slightly confusing, so I just hooked it up to the amp in the back because I didn't have a remote antenna.

Pros: long, labeled clearly, great condition/packaging.

Cons: exposed, confusing remote wires.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-5008 Receiver Wiring Harness

russ3or8 from klamath falls, or on 5/1/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i am very happy with this since i didnt even know it existed and the local stereo store said i was gonna have to re-wire the speakers ugh!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Receiver Wire harness

Gary from Rhode Island on 4/27/2012

1995 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The harness was useless, I used power and ground on one harness ( no use for the other 6 ) and the second harness the connector did not match my existing so I had to cut the existing and butt splice it to my radio.

Pros: There were none.

Cons: The Crutchfield on line system that offers you an after market harness to match your vehicle is not very accurate, my harnesses were useless for installation.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works Awesome

CitySammy from NYC on 4/2/2012

1997 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Once you get to the amp, which is tucked way in the back qrt. panel, (97 Explorer), setting this up is pretty easy. I found that I couldn't get the antenna to work only using the speaker harness, so I disconnected it from the amp, and just ran it straight to the head unit. Otherwise the power harness and speaker harness work perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Receiver Wire Harness

Mark B. from Wake Forest NC on 2/3/2012

1995 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this wiring harness made installation very easy

Pros: step by step instructions with color wiring that matched my original wiring made it very easy

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

good idear

D from East Coast on 11/8/2011

2000 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2000 Mustang, premium sound system. Unplugged the factory amp connector, plugged it into my Crutchfield harness, cut the wires a foot or less on the other side of the plug (since I didn't need most of the wire that was in the kit), wired other half of the harness for the power and ground, plug and play. AWESOME

Pros: good quality, much better than the cheapo harness adapters that were replaced with the old aftermarket cd player

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worked perfectly

Nick from Bakersfield, CA on 9/26/2011

1994 Mazda B Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This wiring harness was the key to making the installation very straightfoward. All I had to do was splice the corresponding wires from the radio using the documentation from the radio with the clearly defined and color coded wires on the harness.Everything worked perfectly the FIRST time!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Ford Receiver Wire Harness

m-will from Colorado Front Range on 6/19/2011

1994 Ford Bronco

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What can you say - this harness works, saves the stock wiring, and simplifies the overall wiring job.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Just What I Needed

LorenC from Soap Lake, Washington on 5/21/2011

1997 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness was just what I needed to hook up my new car stereo. I was unsure about the application of one of the components but a call to Crutchfield provided the quick answer and everything fit just right.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-5008 Receiver Wiring Harness

mgmuggs from Modesto, CA on 5/17/2011

1994 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One harness fit the other didn't would have had to strip and wire together everything and still wouldn't know if they were correct. Instructions were real vague. When ordered cd player these were supposed to snap together and ready to go, no such luck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Wrong Speaker Wires for B2300

BrianH from Renton, WA on 4/14/2011

1994 Mazda B Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The power harness worked just fine on my 1994 B2300. The bypass harness was not the right fit, however. Many times the Ford Ranger and B2300 parts are interchangeable. Unfortunately, this was not one of them. I used my old harness for the speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 70-5008 Receiver Wiring Harness

Dennis from Central Iowa on 1/27/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect match

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

life saver

joe from Opelika, AL on 12/6/2010

1999 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this Harness is a life saver. a lot of extra wire for my app but just cut it off and worked fine(speaker wire for amp bypass)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5008 Receiver Wiring Harness

Saul Maldonado from Rio Grande Puerto Rico on 11/15/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was the wrong one

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Get Ready to Wire the ENTIRE CAR!!

Whitster from Salisbury, N.C. on 10/21/2010

1997 Lincoln Town Car

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The last one of these Town Cars I did, utilized a simple By-Pass Harness that just went right around the Factory Amp (in the trunk). The Amp appears to be the same as earlier models (NON JBL - Ford Amp). The By-Pass Harness I received this time, goes ALL THE WAY from the Head Unit to the TRUNK!!! I'm gonna' have to Rip This Car APART to do this job!! Not Very Happy with this change. Too much extra work, to do the same thing that a TWO-FOOT By-Pass did before!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Perfect Fit! Take your time and be patient!

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paul, Minnesota on 12/6/2009

1996 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I needed in order to bypass the factory amp in my 1996 Ford Explorer XLT with Premium sound package. Make sure you have the proper clip removal tools and for the back trim panel. Be careful to not push the top of the rear trim panel into the headliner as to not tear it. The amp is located in the passenger rear under the back window behind the trim panel. Pry off the trim along the passenger side of the car and place the wire in the factory track under the trim. I had about 5 feet of extra wire so I coiled and zip tied it together behind the passenger front kick panel. Plan on it taking about 1 - 1.5 hours to disassemble the car, run the wire, solder the wire and heat shrink tube, zip tie the wire in place, behind the glove box, and reinstall the panels that were removed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Not all harnesses are created equal...

BrianC811 from Huntsville, AL on 4/11/2009

1995 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There is nothing wrong with this harness in and of itself. Directions are reasonably clear, and it can accomplish what you need. The thing that I would like to make Ford owners aware of is that I have had two Ford vehicles with factory upgraded stereos which means that Ford includes an amplifer in their system that when using this harness you would have to bypass. Most of the time this amplifier is located no where near the radio itself and you will have to take apart half of your car as well as reroute speaker cabling in order to do this. That is not very appealing to me and no matter how careful I am, things get broken and or are never reafixed as well as they originally were. So in short while this is a good product, I want people to know that spending just a few more dollars for the amp integrating wiring harness instead of this one will save literally hours of install time, give you solderless connectors, and lessen the chance of damaging your vehicle on the install as everything will be located in the radio compartment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 14 found this helpful

Fit perfectly

Art from Miami, FL on 4/8/2009

1997 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The adapter fit. Took about an hour to run the wires from the rear amp to the head unit. Not as hard as I was expecting actually, just peel up the trim and follow the other wires in the wire tracks.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Works great, saves time

Daniel from Pittsburg, KS on 1/16/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Kudos to Crutchfield for providing wiring harnesses for free. That's why I'll never buy anywhere else. This makes it pretty darn easy to do a pro installation and saves you time to boot.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5008 Receiver Wiring Harness

John from Louisville, Ky on 3/13/2008

1999 Mercury Mystique

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this was exactly what I needed to install the aftermarket head unit, this matched the factory harness perfect, good job Crutchfield,, keep it up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Crutchfield is the ONLY one to have this adapter!

Hugh from Philly, PA on 2/6/2008

1996 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Here is the deal. On these cars there is an amp in the back of the vehicle. The harness you get is basically an amp bypass. What you need to do is run a set of wires all the way from the head unit to the amp in the back of the vehicle. Plan on spending an hour to run the wires. Do not be misled by other companies. This is the adapter that you need. Crutchfield has done their homework!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Ford F-150 Receiver Wire Harness

Brian from Henderson, KY on 2/4/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I accidentally ordered the wrong harness (my bad) and when I realized it I called support immediately, told the guy what had happened and with one question he knew the correct harness I needed and told me it would be sent right away. I got it 2 days later and it fit like a glove. No problems here. I love these guys.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5008 Receiver Wiring Harness

Dustin from Chandler, AZ on 2/8/2006

1998 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product, little bit of time to install but the directions were easy to follow and in the end it works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 8 found this helpful

Did the job

William from Wiesbaden, Germany (military) on 9/1/2005

1997 Lincoln Continental

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great. Got to do all the labor in front of the TV.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 14 found this helpful

TOP