Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Connect a new car stereo in select 1989-2000 Ford, Lincoln, Mercury, and other vehicles

MFR # 70-5510

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Connect a new car stereo in select 1989-2000 Ford, Lincoln, Mercury, and other vehicles

MFR # 70-5510

142 reviews
View this product

Buy the amp bypass harness instead.

Crutchfield customer from Findlay, OH on 5/30/2021

1997 Ford F-250 Heavy Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pins in the speaker adapter push out the back when you plug it in, rendering the adapter useless. I had to buy the factory amp bypass wiring harness to make everything work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Guest from Woodbridge, VA on 4/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Main radio harness was perfect but the black amp harness pins weren't aligned and kept being pushed out

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Ryan

Crutchfield customer from Humphrey, NE on 4/1/2021

2000 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use instructions. Worked as expected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

So easy!

Crutchfield customer from Champlin, MN on 3/16/2021

1999 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These wiring kits are awesome! They make hooking up the stereo to the car so easy! No more trying to solder in the car, it can all be done on the bench and then just snapped in and you're working!

Pros: Makes connections so easy!

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Made my install so quick!

Crutchfield customer from Roanoke, VA on 3/8/2021

1995 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness made my installation such a breeze. SO simple and easy!!

Pros: Such a time saver!!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Would not buy

Crutchfield customer from AUBURN, CA on 1/15/2021

1997 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the pins are lose and push out.

Pros: the radio harness works great

Cons: the amp harness pins push out when installed

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Worst design

BRIAN from WATSONVILLE, CA on 12/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The worst design not sure why they still sale it. Pins keep coming out. They replaced the first one and the second did the same thing! Because of the pins 2 speakers only work. Horrible!

Pros: None

Cons: Why does the pins keep coming out! This is the worst design I had another aftermarket stereo that wire harness for the speakers are completely different. At this point I don't know what to do but I'm very disappointed in Crutchfield! I paid good money for the new stereo and didn't even give me a break for all the problems I had on the way.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Manteca, CA on 10/27/2020

1997 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pins were very loose did not line up with factory connector.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Voorhees, NJ on 9/25/2020

1996 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kit allows you to connect an after market radio to the stock Mach 460 sound system in a 1996 Mustang, which it would be great for doing, however I had an issue with the pin connector. When attempting to push the pin connector on this unit into my factory connection, all the pins pushed right out of the back. This made the piece relatively useless - I had to cut off the factory connector and the pin connector on this harness to run the wires. I've installed 20+ radios over the years, and this turned into being one of the most difficult, had to figure out color codes for all the speaker wires on the factory harness. I'm sure I could have contacted Crutchfield for a replacement, but I figured it would be faster to just deal with it. Maybe I ham fisted this, but I really don't think so. The connector for the radio to the factory harness was fine, the only issue was with the connector for the amps on the factory system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

not good unless changes are made

LeRoy from BLOOMFIELD, MO on 8/30/2020

1997 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

piece is cheap, pins not mounted very sturdy. when installed the first time, several pins pushed out but was able to get back in, now after having to remove stereo while working on something behind the dash, pins pushed back out and wont align again so no sound from stereo which really sucks

Pros:

Cons: pins not mounted good, back out when installing

Crutchfield response on 9/7/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to LeRoy to let him know we are shipping out a replacement harness right away. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Mcsherrystown, PA on 7/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had to take the 8 pin connector apart & change around after cutting parts of the connector apart as the update recommended !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Stratham, NH on 7/9/2020

1998 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

prewire was easy install,great job

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

bad bad bad

Crutchfield customer from Tyler, TX on 7/6/2020

1996 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Main harness was fine. The amp output for the rcas is awful. I wish I'd seen these reviews. Why does Crutchfield continue to sell the obviously bad product? Because people keep buying it? Says alot in of itself... I bought a 70-5511 harness and the plug was so much better .of course it doesn't work for this application. So now I've got to try and cut open the RCAs and see if i can wire that. Overall , this was not worth the money. I paid for the service too. 50 bucks down the drain for a project going on 3 days and counting. After seeing this was a known issue , and sold to me anyways, will be my last purchase with Crutchfield. I left a review on the service page and the response was " support was available 24/7" which unless a new magical wiring harness appeared out of no where, i don't see what talking to someone i can barely understand on the phone would help at all. Just completely disappointed

Pros: none

Cons: Everything

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Stereo wires

Crutchfield customer from Buckhannon, WV on 6/4/2020

1995 Ford Bronco

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These definitely wasn't what I need to install the stereo in spot of the factory one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/9/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support guru, Cris, reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get the harness connected correctly, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Mach 460 Harness

Crutchfield customer from Willoughby, OH on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The square 460 connector housing is a very tight fit and may need modified to fit. It is still a much better option to wiring it yourself.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 5/26/2020

1994 Lincoln Mark VIII

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Makes the job much easier

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Inman, SC on 5/4/2020

1998 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had problems getting the rca plugs to work. Tech support was great, they had a fix but it did not work . I had to cut the plugs off and wire it to the receiver harness and kept the pins to plug in the car harness. Not Crutchfield fault, it is a Ford.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Springville, AL on 4/1/2020

1995 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made the install super easy. I highly recommend paying the extra to let crutchfield pre- wire them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Speaker harness pins did not stay in place

Crutchfield customer from Manteno, IL on 3/31/2020

1996 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Stereo plug worked great but the pins for the speakers would not stay in the harness and pushed out each time i tried to plug in the speakers, ended up having to cut the harness and hard wire the speakers in order for them to work.

Pros: Stereo plug worked well

Cons: Speaker harness not well made and pins pushed out.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from PA on 3/28/2020

1996 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The power harness worked perfect. The pre amp harness is useless. Crutchfield was nice enough to send me a replacement, that one didn't work either. When you look in, you can see that the pins are not close to straight, pointing in every direction. And nothing really holding them in place. I can imagine how anyone could get all eight of these to align when plugging into vehicle harness.

Pros: The power harness

Cons: The pre amp harness was impossible to use, had to cut the vehicle plug and splice the eight wires.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Pleasant Grove, UT on 1/22/2020

1999 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It connects, the 8 pin? black prong is something else though. I pushed the connector together and was only getting sound out of half of my system. You can't see the pins and they're way flimsy trying to align the connections blind due to covers shrouding them. I ended up taking a Dremel and cutting the protector/ cover back, just enough to see the pins. This way you can see the holes and connectors are aligned when going together and it worked like a charm. a couple of zip ties to secure the two connectors as I cut the locking tab off and retested.

Pros: makes install easy

Cons: pins on the black connectors are flimsy and difficult to align.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Mach460 amp wiring harness

Crutchfield customer from Hartsville, SC on 10/2/2019

2000 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A must have to replace the head unit in a Ford with a Mach 460 system. The amps work perfectly and sound quality is amazing. Installed a KENWOOD KDC -X303 in a 2000 Mustang, plug and play to factory amp harness.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Be careful some connectors are on the weak side

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Bend, OR on 9/19/2019

1999 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The amp connector pins do not line up with the factory plug, quick internet search shows this is a very common issue. I had to cut the harness and bypass the plug as it would not work even after 30 min of trying to align the pins.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Chantilly, VA on 9/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The receiver harness is excellent but the speaker harness connectors are sloppy and wobbly. Got two of them and neither would seat. Crutchfield is great but this harness is trash.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cheap product

Crutchfield customer from Lakeland, FL on 9/3/2019

1999 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The 8 Pin receptacle caused me issues... The pins move around making it hard to line up with the vehicle wiring harness. When you push with minimal pressure the pins come out the back, and the wires break very easy. Crutchfield had to send me 3 different harness, all had the same issue. This delayed my install 2 weeks until I got the third harness.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

one way too go,

Crutchfield customer from Versailles, MO on 8/15/2019

2000 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

got this harness first , it fit but didn't work very well for some reason , I was sent the 70-5008 harness and it fit and worked perfect.

Pros: it fit but didn't work very well for some reason

Cons: it fit but didn't work very well for some reason

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Horseshoe Bend, AR on 8/2/2019

1996 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not used

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 6/19/2019

1994 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice work, order this with the ready harness and let the pro's do the wiring for you! Simply plug and play!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works - could improve quality of audio pin set

Crutchfield customer from South Jordan, UT on 5/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as designed. Pins on the audio portion are not seated well and it takes some wiggling to get them to insert properly.

Pros: Easy to connect

Cons: Pin housing and seats loose on audio portion

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Remove pins from amp harness/ plug in the connector/ push in pins

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 4/24/2019

1995 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used this to hook up a new receiver to my stock Mach 460 amps/speakers in my 95 Mustang GT. The connector for the power connections is great. Directions mention no need for two of the three orange wires. As for the amp-to-RCA jacks harness, it is unlikely to just fit. I did find it was pretty easy to pop all of the pins out using my t20 torx bit driver, clip the black plastic Metra harness onto the amp harness and then insert the pins, seating them in with a small flat head screwdriver. The wires plug in he following order from left to right with the clip portion on top. Black/Purple|Black/Gray Black/Green|Black/White

Pros: Worked, sounds much better now that the speakers are getting high and low pass filters

Cons: I feel like they could just fix the obviously poor design of the amp hookup.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simply Didn't Work

Crutchfield customer from Athens, GA on 4/14/2019

1996 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness simply didn't work. Crutchfield service was great. With the first harness, only the two left-side speakers would function. Crutchfield replaced that harness with no questions asked, two-day shipping. With the second harness, three of the speakers functioned but not all four. We were able to cobble together a solution using different elements from the two harnesses, so the overall result turned out okay, but the harness itself simply isn't up to snuff.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bad Harness

Crutchfield customer from Hagatna, GU on 3/25/2019

1997 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The RCA harness did not fit the factory harness at all. The pins were to big on the Crutchfield harness, and did not fit the factory harness. I ended up using the one from the deck that was removed from the car.

Pros: The power harness was fine.

Cons: The RCA harness did not work for me.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good solution but poor quality preamp connector

Bill from Carrollton, TX on 1/3/2019

1997 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The receiver wiring harness for the power and non-preamp wiring was a perfect fit and had no issues. The major issue is the wiring harness for the preamp to the factory amp, it was almost impossible to line up the pins, after repeated attempts to line up the pins I almost gave up and hardwired it but gave it one more try using a very small pair of needle nose piers to line up the pins which did the trick. The issue is the pins are too loose and when plugging in the harness to the factory connector, the pins bend and actually cross connect into other pin slots creating a short in the connector. It takes a lot of patience, a magnifying glass and needle nose pliers to get the preamp connector to plug into the factory connector. The preamp connector needs to be updated to a more sturdy connector.

Pros: Easy to install, connect wiring.

Cons: Preamp connector pins are too loose in the connector and bend easily and can bend into an adjoining pin causing a speaker not to work.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Not impressed

Crutchfield customer from Alameda, CA on 8/25/2018

1997 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Poor quality multipin connector. I pretty much took it apart and manually made the connections. Completely worthless. If it wasn't free I would have definitely returned.

Pros: It was free

Cons: Impossible to install as intended

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Not bad, not great

Crutchfield customer from Thousand Oaks, CA on 6/5/2018

1996 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Main harnes was good worked as described. But major design issues with 8 prong speakerplug. Only one or two speakers would work at a time. The problem is the pins used are way too thin to make contact to the ford terminals. My solution was to rebuild the harness with larger pins which are big enough to make contact with ford harness. Yes it was a long process.

Pros: Was able to modify to work

Cons: Useless pins in speaker connection

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Matt from Livonia, MI on 5/24/2018

2000 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very low quality product. The 8 pin connector is not built well. Does not line up correctly with the vehicle side harness. Pins push out easily. Took some re-working to get all speakers working.

Pros:

Cons: Poor build quality

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Russell from Parma, OH on 5/11/2018

1999 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was not happy with the fit of the harness with the RCA jacks. There were no instructions to trim the cover if the speakers did not work. Found out through the tech line. The pins on the connector side are not installed well and can be pushed out while trying to make the connection. Broke one of the pins and thank you to Crutchfield for replacing the connector for me. Still a better designed connector would eliminate the problem.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Palmdale, CA on 5/2/2018

1998 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pins on the pre-amp interconnect wouldn't line up with the car connection. Had to pull the pins and mildly bend each one to get it to guide into the correct hole. Poor design.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Amplifier harness is terrible

Crutchfield customer from Long Beach, CA on 4/23/2018

1995 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Main harness is great but the small black harness for the amp is garbage. It's basically just a plastic box with the connections loosely placed in there. Nothing keeps them in place so as you try to connect to the male end, the wires just pop out the back. After calling Crutchfield, assured there was an issue with mine, they confirmed that this is functioning as designed, but was poorly designed and they get lots of complaints. Hmm. Very disappointed.

Pros: Main wiring harness is perfectly fine

Cons: Amplifier connector is terrible

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Tim from Pecos, NM on 4/15/2018

1997 Ford F-250 Heavy Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Every was perfect!

Pros: Well designed.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Fishers, IN on 3/27/2018

2000 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Harness to existing amps only operated 2 speakers and the connection was difficult to get the pins to line up. Scrapped it and just rewired all the speakers direct to the head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Mchenry, IL on 2/11/2018

1995 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The hookup was great however the pins in the rca cable hookup were very loose causing them to align themselves with other pins. Need a more sturdy harness.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Bad signal connector

Brian from Wilmington, NC on 1/1/2018

1998 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The fitment was BAD. The pins are too loose in the connector to match the precision of the factory connector. Crutchfield was awesome and sent a replacement that was better but to get it to work, I had to de-pin the Metra connector, connect it, and push the pins in one at a time. :(

Pros:

Cons: Too much play in pins :(

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Wire Harness

Joseph G from Hamilton, NJ on 9/14/2017

1999 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to use an aftermarket head unit to replace the factory MACH 460 in my Mustang. This harness is flimsy and it's difficult to line up the pins in order to push the clip in. Took me about 15 minutes to get it in, and the right front speaker has hardly any sound. You can only hear it if you put your ear up to it. All the other speakers work fine. I put the factory unit back in, and all the speakers work, so it's not the unit. Put the aftermarket back in, and that right front speaker same issue. Called Crutchfield tech support and the guy was stumped. We went through a bunch of stuff but he couldn't offer any advice. No matter how I line up the 4 RCA jacks, that one speaker will not work. I ordered another one hoping maybe I just received a faulty part. Still waiting for that to arrive.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cheaply made harness..

Tony from Camarillo, CA on 8/3/2017

1997 Ford F-250 Heavy Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Don't waste your time with the speaker adapter. The pins are not attached securely in the harness. It took 6-8 tries to get all the pins to line up and when they did, several never made contact with the female ends and each time a different speaker would not work. Cheap, Cheap, Cheap. Fortunately I have the skill set to cut all the wires and connect everything without the useless harness for the speakers. I opted to not hae a new one sent out because it would be the same and why waste a week of my time.

Pros: None

Cons: Pins don't line up. Pins push out the back if too much force is applied. Even if you do get the pins to engage, you don't always get all the speakers to function. It's a good idea, just a poorly designed product. Try again.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Very cheaply made but works

Karl from ILLINOIS on 7/24/2017

1998 Mercury Mystique

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The wiring harness itself worked very well and was easy to install. The audio cables however are too cheaply made as the pins in the connector all wiggle around so much that it's almost impossible to get them to line up. Don't try to force it either, I did and one pin that failed to line up got pushed right out of the harness. Crutchfield happily sent me a new one which took several minutes of effort I to get the wiggly pins all lined up. It should have been a 10 min. install and instead it took over a week to complete. The replacement part I received? It was just as bad as the one I originally had.

Pros: Power harness worked as expected, slipped on easily.

Cons: Audio cable is a cheap piece of junk, very difficult to install!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Verona, WI on 6/12/2017

1994 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It came fast and worked excellent clearly marked easy to do

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Wire Harness

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 6/4/2017

1995 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Electrical harness worked but speaker harness did not. Both were poor quality. Speaker harness pins will drive you crazy. I was sent another but same. Pins push out when you try to connect. Crutchfield did great but I lost in the end and didn't try to return.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A must have

Jeff from Buffalo, MN on 4/3/2017

2000 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great. A must to add a new Bluetooth radio to my 2000 mustang. The directions were pretty good. I was able to hook everything up and it worked the first time. The amp power switch was confusing to me but everything else worked. I did have to futz with my radio setting as the amp needed different settings so the initial sound was bad but once I did that everything worked great

Pros: Easy No wire cutting to factory harness Price

Cons: Amp switch wire confusing Lots of extra wires for my 2000 mustang

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Fremont, CA on 1/16/2017

1992 Ford Crown Victoria

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The connectors weren't bad and they were fairly easy. My only complain was the 8 pin speaker conector in the car wouldn't fit in the conector. I had to take out two of the pins from their conector, bend them slightly, then try again. This was a slight hassle but once I got it in everything was great

Pros: Easily detachable RCA connectors

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Wire Harness

Crutchfield customer from Easley, SC on 12/28/2016

2000 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The power adapter worked well. The speaker adapter on the other hand was a disaster. Plugging it in initially, right side and rear wouldn't work. No easy way to know if it was plugged in deeply enough, or even if the pins were correctly engaged. Ended up pulling pins out of adapter and installing into original plug individually. Insulated and secured with electrical tape. I had purchased from Crutchfield before and been very impressed with the adapters provided to make the job easier. I purchased this as a gift and the "ease" of installation was not there due to this plug. Very disappointing.

Pros: Power adapter works

Cons: Speaker adapter doesn't work

Crutchfield response on 1/2/2017
We're sorry you had problems with your harness connection. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our tech support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cheaply made Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Charles from Mexia, TX on 12/26/2016

1998 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Received this wiring harness as part of a gift of a new stereo. But the harness for the speakers is hard to connect to the factory connection. The pins are wobbly and don't line up making it almost impossible to go on. Even when I did finally get it to go on, the left rear speaker wouldn't always work. Apparently a short in metra wiring connector. All the speakers work fine when connected to the factory head unit. And if I wiggle the wires coming out of the metra harness I will get sound. Now I guess I'll have to wait another week before I can have a working stereo.

Pros: NONE!

Cons: Cheaply made!

Crutchfield response on 12/27/2016
Charles, we're sorry you had problems with this harness. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our tech support team right away. They can help you get the harness connected properly, or send out a replacement free of charge. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Could be great but falls short

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 12/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything in this could have been perfect had the part that connects to the stock speaker plug worked. The pins don't line up and it doesn't want to slide on completely.

Pros: Power adapter is perfect

Cons: Speaker harnes does not line up right at all and sucks to try to connect up

Crutchfield response on 12/13/2016
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to this customer to issue an apology and help him further. We'll either help him get the harness connected properly, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Mike from Springfield, OR on 11/22/2016

1999 Ford Contour

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A little disappointed with this product. the power adapter side was just great, but the piece that adapts to the factory speaker wiring (which goes to factory amp) was not of very good quality. The 8 little pins in the adapter would not slide into the factory plug... when I tried to push it on, rather than slide into the receptacles, the pins themselves pushed backwards out of the adapter plug (the metra plug). Crutchfield, always great on customer service, apologized and is sending me a new one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Myrtle beach sc on 9/7/2016

1999 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very straight forward, good instructions.

Pros: Easy to read instructions

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Harness

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, OH on 9/1/2016

1992 Lincoln Town Car

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

cheap junk, wont plug into amp harness

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/5/2016
Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our tech support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Bryan from Nebraska City, NE on 8/24/2016

1996 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The 8 pins in the RCA plug are very loose and are hard to line up to the factory plug, it took me 30-40 minutes to get them all to line up and work properly !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Almost Perfect

Jeff from South Jordan, UT on 7/20/2016

1999 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and once you get it it works great. The 8 -pin plug could be manufactured better. I installed my head unit in about fifteen minutes but because the pins were so loose in the 8-pin it took about 2 hours to get plugged in so all the speakers were working. I kept having to try and push the pins back in using a toothpick. Finally got it, but what a hassle it was.

Pros: Ease of wiring

Cons: Takes a lot to get the 8-pin plug just right.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pure amp harness

Tim D from Rockford, IL on 7/3/2016

1997 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A little more effort could be used to make a better quality pre-amp harness, I ended up removing housing and hard wiring connector. Pins would not line up with factory plug.

Pros: All the wires are there

Cons: Pins don't stay lined up to plug-in and make good connection, removed pins and connectors and hard wired once I wrote down connection/wire locations and colors

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Brad J from Waterboro, Maine on 6/28/2016

1997 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Would have gotten a full 5 stars but the 8 pin plug going to the Amplifier was not a simple "plug and play" type interface like I am used to with metra wire harnesses. Albeit some blame has to go to Ford for having some difficult connectors in the 97 Mustang GT. So to explain, the pins in the 8 pin connector do not line up perfectly and requires some patience to line everything up. On mine, one of the pins partially came out the back of the connector, I kept trying to push it back in, realign, and push the connectors together. Finally my son said, just leave that one out, push the connectors together, then push the pin back into its hole. Worked like a charm. The other side of the harness connector hooked up no problem.

Pros: It works, just have to have patience.

Cons: 8 pin connector is a little flimsy.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Stereo adaptor works but adaptor needs work also.

Jeff2016 from Decatur, AL on 6/22/2016

1997 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Only replacing the factory AM/FM cassette unit with a NEW aftermarket AM/FM CD player with bluetooth while still using the factory Mach 460 amps. Installation instructions are easy to follow. The black RCA harness connector needs to be sized correctly. The pins are easy to push out and I had to use a small flathead screwdriver to push the pins back in after connecting the harness. Also, the black connector does not slide all the way in for the locking tab to engage. I used tie-wraps to hold them together. No issues with the power harness connector. Pins stayed in place and the locking tab engaged. Since this harness is for Fords using the factory Mach amps, it would have been nice that it had included a +12 to +5 Volt DC power convertor. The factory amps require a +5 volt DC signal to turn on and all aftermarket head units put out a +12 volt DC signal (Remote wire). The issues with the black connector and this kit being all you need to install (power convertor) is why I rated it at 3 stars. The wiring harness does work. I also ordered/installed a +12 to +5 volt dc power convertor to supply the correct voltage for the amp turn on circuit. NEW aftermarket head unit sounds good.

Pros: Installation instructions are easy to follow.

Cons: (1) Pins are easy to push out while connecting the black RCA harness. (2) Black RCA Harness Locking tab does not engage (lock) (3) Would like to see a voltage (power) convertor added to this kit

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Red Tedd from Dallas, GA on 5/19/2016

1998 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just a wire harness

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

metra harness

Crutchfield customer from southwest, OH on 5/9/2016

1990 Ford Thunderbird

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

worked hooing the factory amp for the jbl system in my 90 tbird without having to use the amp bypass kit i was told i would most likly need although i had to fix a loose teminal on the rca line and file down the pins so they went in they are slightly oversized for the plugs

Pros: great for keeping the factory amps and not having to rewire the car

Cons: might just be my kit but the pins were to big and one pin was really loose

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 5/5/2016

1999 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything worked eventually. The radio wiring harness was fine. No issues. The rca to factory amp harness is laughable. The pins are loose and don't line up properly. After hours of plugging and unplugging the harness repeatedly and using a flathead screwdriver to adjust the pins so they would line up properly with the factory harness, I finally got all channels to work. Probably would have been easier and less frusterating to splice into the factory wires. From other reviews, it seems like I'm not alone with this complaint.

Pros: Free with the head unit.

Cons: Connection pins are loose and don't line up without modification.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Finished my Install

Dakota from Elkhart, IN on 5/2/2016

1998 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product to finish your aftermarket radio install. To ensure you are getting what you need, make sure you get at least 4 RCA inputs on your receiver. Otherwise you will need to get two adapters that take the four plugs into two. I had to go the adapter route due to the radio that came with the car. As others suggested I did have an issue with the plugs on the inside of the speaker plug coming out. BUT I ending up just pushing them back in as I plugged it in. It does cause some issues when trying to plug it in. You have ti wiggle it and move it around it attempt to not get them to push out, but you can just push them back in after. It is better for them to be this way rather than breaking!!

Pros: What you need to finish install your aftermarket receiver.

Cons: Black connector as loose connections on the inside. It is easy to fix/redo, but as a finished product it should be better. It is better for them to be this way rather than breaking!!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works

Corza from Denver, CO on 4/28/2016

1998 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kit works. However when plugging in the RCA 's adaptor to the factory plug the 8 pins do not line up easily and the pins are subject to being pushed out of the adaptor. You must make sure the pins insert into the factory connectors.

Pros: Works

Cons: RCA's adaptor pins are difficult to insert into the factory connector.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Spencerport, NY on 4/26/2016

2000 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty straightforward installation

Pros: Power connector was very simple and easy to install.

Cons: 8 pin connector was a bit tricky to use - the pins inside the Metra connector wiggle around a bit and didn't line up directly with the factory female connector. Had to play with it quite a bit to get it to plug into factory connector.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

James from Edgerton, WI on 4/26/2016

1996 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First time using an install kit instead of hard-wiring in a radio. Much easier, I don't know why I never got one before. The plug for the speaker wires didn't match the plug on my truck but luckily I was able to use the one on the old radio.

Pros: Quick and easy

Cons: Speaker plug didn't match my truck

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cheap Plug

Reid from Tucson, AZ on 4/11/2016

1995 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unfortunately I have gone through 2 of the Plugs that plug into the aftermarket radio's pre-amp outputs and I have had to rewire using my old plug to make it work. Cheap pins in the plug bend and pop out of the back of the plug. Main harness is perfect, no issues there. Crutchfield was great about replacing the defective plugs, but I had to wire it to an old plug to work properly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

good install Kit

D from Florida on 9/28/2015

1994 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made install easy and simple

Pros: fit well and no time installation made simple

Cons: really none ok wiring harness

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good and bad

rlyyoung from North Carolina on 9/9/2015

1995 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Every thing Would have Been great Most was Easy To put together But the Plugin From Harness To car The pins in The Plug keep Sliding Back out of the connecter so I had to Use The connector from the radio I took out Wire it in to The Harness Then Everything Worked The harness Needs A stronger Plug with the PINS

Pros: Easy To Assemble

Cons: Plugs Did not Work As good As I excepted

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Still missing sound

Chris from Indiana on 8/11/2015

1999 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this per the directions, but am still missing sound from drivers front speaker. I get nothing out of it, even when I adjust the radio so only that speaker is on. I don't know if there is a loose connection or just a bad connection since the pins didn't really want to line up with the factory harness.

Pros: Connector tries to make up for unnecessarily complicated ford wiring

Cons: Quality not that great

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

I guess

C from Philadelphia, PA on 8/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Some of the wires don't add up to what's on bag and seems some are missing but it got the job done

Pros: It works

Cons: Don't think it works unless you running an amp

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good and bad.

GRM from Alabama on 6/18/2015

1998 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Power connector harness was perfect and worked as intended. The other harness for interfacing with the factory amp was a disappointment though. As mentioned in other reviews, the pins were loose and popped out when trying to plug it in and overall it simply didn't work. I resolved the issue by throwing out the factory amp and struggling elbow deep inside the dash tapping into the speaker wiring harness that goes from the amp to the speakers. If you have the same issue as I did, a Google search should reveal the wire colors on the harness to allow you to do the same as I.

Pros: Power connector works as expected.

Cons: Factory amp interface cable/harness is a joke.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wiring Harness

Stuart M from Kansas on 3/25/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All of the male pins on the amp connector plug were loose! And when I did get it connected, the speakers popped in and out, had to go to the local audio store and get a replacement harness

Pros: NONE

Cons: Cheap, didn't work and ended up getting a quality one, not happy

Crutchfield response on 3/30/2015
Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, especially a situation like this, please contact our customer service or tech support teams right away.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 wiring harness

Jim Mc from Birmingham, Al on 2/19/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Put in my Pioneer DEH-X7500HD into a Ford Explorer w/Outboard amp. Easy after I figured out Ford color code on the factory wiring. I just used small blue wire nuts. Everything was working in a flash!

Pros: Perfect for vehicle. I ordered the wrong wiring harness, called Crutchfield right back after ordering the stereo. Crutchfield sent out the correct one at no cost, which arrived with my stereo in 3 days!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Poor quality

Clair from Pennsylvania on 1/25/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Problem with adapter plug for speakers mating with factory plug. Initially had no sound from left speakers. Found pins pushed out of adapter connector but pushing them in did not help. Was sent another set of cables and had the same problem except I did get some sound out of the front left speaker but not at normal sound level. Must be a problem with the mating of adapter cable and the factory cable. After spending way too much time trying to get this to work I returned the car radio and cables for a refund.

Pros: Support was good and we tried to solve the problem.

Cons: There has to be a design issue with the adapter cable when using it on a Ford Windstar.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Helpful

kapuyawn from San Jose, CA on 6/28/2014

2000 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great item. match the colors and use the necessary connectors (posi product)

Pros: ease of use

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

easy fit

Crutchfield customer from howell mi. on 5/29/2014

1994 Lincoln Mark VIII

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the harness works well, turns out installing a 25watt radio in a lincoln1994 mark viii with JBL sound, the recomended slc4 line amp is not needed ( actually didnt work with it installed) with just the harness, works great i did however cut the rca connectors off and solder it in.

Pros: easy connect, anybody could install

Cons: not really a con. but charge me a couple more $ throw in butt splices.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Disappointed

1996 SVT Cobra from Maine on 5/23/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very lose connection. Connection intermittent, especially when driving over bumps. Crutchfield replaced the first one, replacement does the same thing.

Pros: Easy to set up.

Cons: Poor connector quality

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Ray from Venice, Fl on 4/21/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simplified what could have been a stressful application. Instructions and phone personnel were very helpful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works nicely

brandon from SoCal on 4/16/2014

1994 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It fit. no problem, perfectly on there. The only thing that it does is when i turn on the car the subs pop loudly depending on the volume. Dont know if its the headunit or this or i dont know, but it bugs me.

Pros: Fits perfectly on my 1994 mustang gt with mach 460 audio system

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

94 Cobra Mach 460 Integration

Rob94Cobra from Belton, Tx on 4/11/2014

1994 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased a new Alpine head unit to replace my Cobra's crusty half functioning Mach460 unit. Read for years about problems with swapping head units while retaining the amps and speakers of the 460 setup. With this wiring harness there was no hiccups and has been functioning perfectly.

Pros: Easy install and had all needed connections for the factory amps.

Cons: Occasional pop of the amps via the speakers when the unit is on and starting the car.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Worked as intended

Kevin from PA on 3/28/2014

1994 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as intended

Pros: Worked as intended

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

receiver wiring harness

Coty from 24055 on 3/26/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple install took less than 5 minutes

Pros: All labeled and just plugs right up

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Receiver wiring harness

Mike Q from Sterling heights Mi on 3/25/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The connector pushed one of the pins on my factory connector out of the harness causing me to think that my passenger side speaker was blown. Caused me a lot of time and effort to trace down the problem. Be mindful when using connector that it may not be an exact fit.

Pros:

Cons: Connector not a great fit.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

perfect fit

--Jonathan from Nescopeck, PA on 1/19/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You never know what you are going to find when you go to replace an aftermarket system. Fortunately Crutchfield had right harness to correct a botched installation. Everything fit as it should and it fit well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Madison, WI on 1/18/2014

1996 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does exactly as it is meant to do.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Coleman Drost from Allen, TX on 1/1/2014

1995 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the ease of the product and the directions that come with it.. Even though there is some assembly an writing required it's basically "plug and play"

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

receiver wiring harness

Daniel from Lynchburg, Va on 12/28/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The wiring harnesses that were sent to connect the new receiver to our old car fit perfectly, with some friendly advice from tech support.

Pros: Easy to use, perfect length, correct colors

Cons: None at this time.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fits great, works properly

Ben M from Herrin, IL on 12/2/2013

1999 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You have to be very gentle with the 8 pin connector for the speakers. It is kind of cheaply made, but it does fit and do what it is supposed to do if you are gentle with it. I read some people say that you should connect the antenna lead to the amp power lead. I think that is probably good advice as the antenna probably has some sort of booster that needs power to it.

Pros: Works and makes it very easy to install your new stereo.

Cons: 8 pin connector is kind of cheap. Be careful with it.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Product

Liz from Orlando on 11/10/2013

2001 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Item was exact match. I went from store to store looking for this product found one similar but a different brand and it was garbage. However this one workedas it should.

Pros: Exact wiring fit

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wire harness 2000 Ford Mustang with amp system

JDub from levittown on 10/24/2013

2000 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product worked great on my 2000 mustang and customer service was excellent!!!

Pros: Fast easy installation

Cons: Need rca speaker outputs on your head unit

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

LeoP from Ca on 9/24/2013

1998 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The connectors are poorly manufactured. The male pins didn't line up with the OEM female connector. Because of this, some of the speakers didn't work. I had to actually jiggle/force them together with a micro screwdriver. I don't know how long this will last

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Ford Harness

Steve from Dallas on 9/19/2013

2000 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This plug is needed if you don't want to rip the wiring out and solder everything in close quarters. The black plug (speakers) requires finess and patience. The plug contains male pins which are loose so they can fit into their female recepticals (car side). The car plug is poorly designed and the pins can slip into a void area not providing contact. I eventually got it installed but it took time and patience. I also did it with power on so I know if all the speakers were getting power.

Pros: Factory to aftermarket plug and play.

Cons: Black plug is not a sturdy/direct fit to the OEM plug.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

wiring harness with factorty amp (ford mustang0

ryan from texarkana tx on 8/29/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great for easy install. just plug into factory plugs and tie into wires from stero. time saver worth it

Pros: just plug in and no cutting factory connections

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Reciever wiring review

John s from Linwood New Jersey on 7/31/2013

1998 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product, makes it super easy to swap out factory headunit wiring for an aftermarket one.

Pros: Ease of use, clear and easy instructions

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Reciever wiring harness

Bjohn from Strum, WI on 7/29/2013

1994 Mercury Sable

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This wiring harness made the installation using factory wiring a breeze. You really can't go wrong. The price was great and the product was so simple to install.

Pros: Plugs right in to the factory wiring plugs. Super easy to use.

Cons: There just aren't any.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Something isn't right

Jeremy K. from Shreveport, La on 7/29/2013

2000 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Haven't figured out if my radio or this adapter is messed up. When using the fade and balance features on the radio the speakers don't react to the correct input. Think the harness has two wires crossed but I don't have a wiring diagram for the Mach 460 sound system to check it out.

Pros: quick and simple installation

Cons: Nothing to hook the factory amp grounds up to.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Receiver wiring harness

BCNemo from Dover N.J. on 7/26/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield has always supplied the best possible harnesses for every job I've ever done. Even when I messed up the description of the vehicle, a quick call to Crutchfield and the proper harness is on the way. I have the utmost faith and confidence in Crutchfield and their "lifetime" assistance. You can always trust Crutchfield and their equipment (harnesses) to get it right.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Customer Support

MikeS from Loogootee, IN on 6/28/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When I ordered my Pioneer radio for my Mercury Mystique, I ordered and paid for the wrong wiring harness. This was my fault as I was confused about the harness I needed for the easiest installation. But when I told the Crutchfield customer support rep about this situation he was kind enough to send me the correct harness at no extra charge. The harness was easy to install if you have the least little bit of soldering experience and it and the radio worked perfectly the first time I powered it on. Thanks to Crutchfield's excellent customer support I am very pleased with the radio and harness purchase.

Pros: Great customer support Harness easy to install if you have minimum soldering experience.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great harness

Tim from Cincinnati, OH on 6/27/2013

1997 Mercury Cougar

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent easy to use product

Pros: very simple to use

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fits 98 mustang with Mach 460 system.

Nate from California on 6/25/2013

1998 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It perfectly integrates both amps on the 98 mustang with the Mach 460 system. Sounds great. Easy to install. No problems.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Convenient Harness

Crutchfield customer from Fresno, CA on 6/23/2013

1999 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was very convenient to have this wiring harness or else I would've had to do very hard wiring. Thanks!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It works

DB from Brooklyn,MI on 5/13/2013

1997 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It plugged right in, worked like charm, I would definitely recommend it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Take Care Aligning Pins

Rachael from N. Seattle, WA on 5/7/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The black plug with the RCA connectors is of CHEAP quality. Pins have a great deal of movement. Take EXTREME care aligning everything up, otherwise the pins are either forced out the rear, and/or a pin or more goes besides the female connector(s) giving intermittent connection. Had to remove and install 3 times before I got everything spot on.

Pros: * Its Free * Uses OEM harness. No modification to stock wiring harness.

Cons: * Pins have a great deal of slop. * May take several installs to get everything happy.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Poor Quality

Josh from Spirit Lake, IA on 5/5/2013

1994 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Black connector would not work with my car's harness. It is the same style, and looks identical to the harness I had with my previous stereo, but would not connect. Forcing it would shove the pins out the rear. I ended up having to cut the connector off the previous harness and soldering it to this one. I couldn't use the previous harness on my new head unit because they are different stereos.

Pros: None.

Cons: All.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rhehrigp@aol.com

Crutchfield customer from Northampton, PA on 3/30/2013

1995 Ford Contour

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice thought

flykat30 from Palm Bay,FL on 3/19/2013

1997 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The plug for stereo connections is to shallow.

Pros: easy connections

Cons: stereo connector to shallow had to heat shrink wrap connector.

Crutchfield response on 3/20/2013
We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Homer Glen, IL on 2/2/2013

2000 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little gem did the trick when installing it into a 2000 Mustang with the mach460 sound-system, keep note, cut the coaxial and use the full feed from the head-unit, it will sound much better then it would from the pre-outs. Also with the harness, take both blue wires and merge them together.

Pros:

Cons: The audio plug, the pins came out, I had to push them in with a pair of needle nose pliers.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A bit more quality would be nice

Tom from Orlando, FL on 11/9/2012

2000 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The harness was nice as it hooked into my Ford connector, but the quality isn't that great. The pins in the connector to the mach system were not secure. At first, I had a speaker with no sound and realized later it was a pin that pushed itself out a bit. Next, I had a really bad ground fault (characterized by the sound of my electrical system coming through the speakers even with the volume at 0!). It turned out to be the same connector. Once connected, I pushed all the pins in using needle nose pliers and then the ground fault went away. Quite annoying to say the least.

Pros: Time savings?

Cons: Poor quality connector for the mach system.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Bastrop, Texas on 10/23/2012

1994 Lincoln Town Car

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lots of wires to join, but had lots of help.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Larry from Gulfport, Ms on 10/20/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness was excelent, it pluged right in and matched the Ford wireing harness perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Receiver wiring harness- Mustang Premium Sound OEM

LJ from Charlotte, NC on 9/22/2012

1995 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Takes some improvising, you have to cut off the stereo jacks and direct wire the special Ford amp adapter to the stereo HU input connector plug. No big deal, done in about 60 minutes including shrink tubing wire-ties, etc. That part wasn't mentioned in the instructions, but some on-line research and looking at the wiring pin-outs and diagrams for the 'stang quickly let me know what needed to happen. Works fine first try for me, but take your time and do it right the first time if you don't have much experience w/ wiring.

Pros:

Cons: Need to let buyer know what to do if they need to cut the jacks off of the amplifier harness. Also, kind of hard to figure out, when getting the harness, whether you should or should not bypass the built-in amp for the premium sound system in the mustangs.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

98 ford wiring harness

steve from napa, ca. on 9/20/2012

1998 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

worked perfectly.

Pros: everything needed is there

Cons: there are some wires that are not needed and they are not identified in the directions. I had to call to find out but it was really easy after that.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fairly Easy install

BruceBlueStang from Winston-Salem, NC on 8/23/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Ford wire harness to include the factory amp was original neglected from my order, but a quick chat w/Crutchfield Customer service rectified that and shipped within 2 days so I could install my receiver over the weekend. Wiring diagram was a little confusing between the receiver and the adapter (missed connecting up the blue wire for the amp, so no sound at first!).

Pros:

Cons: Wiring diagram was a little confusing between the receiver and the adapter (missed connecting up the blue wire for the amp, so no sound at first!).

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from New York on 6/30/2012

2000 Ford Contour

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Only had one of the required wire adapters and i had to go buy the other but other than that it worked great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Harness not Complete

Crutchfield customer from San Angelo, TX on 5/24/2012

2000 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Audio out harness is not grounded to Mach amplifiers. You must run a separate ground line from audio out harness to power harness. Then the amplifier "pops" and alternator noise will go away. There's also a diode mod you can make to the harness if grounding doesn't rremove all of the popping.

Pros: Price

Cons: Not a well made harness for Mach sound systems

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy install

Chris from Biloxi, MS on 3/29/2012

1995 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Joined the JVC and the Crutchfield connectors and then just plugged it in to the factory Mach 460 system on my 95 Mustang Convertible. Wroked perfectly. Thank you

Pros: Easy

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Guest from Kalamazoo MI on 1/29/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wiring Made Easy

pyroguysf from New Hampshire on 6/9/2011

1996 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The black cord for the audio was simple- one end plugs right in to one of the factory connectors and the others to the head unit outputs. The other cord plugged right into the large factory connector and made wiring to the head unit very simple- the wires even come pre-stripped with the stripped casing still on to protect the wire, just like it should be. Made the install simple on a 1996 Mustang GT with Mach 460. Glad Crutchfield includes these at no charge.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Does not include all of the needed parts

DaveM from Phoenix on 4/16/2011

2000 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The OEM amps use a 5v input to turn them on. Using this as received, it sends a 12v turn on signal which results in a horrible pop. You need to pick up a +5v regulator from Radio Shack to wire in between the amp out of the receiver and the amp to reduce the signal from 12v to 5v. It is $1.59 and takes about 10 minutes to solder on the three wires. Catalog #: 276-1770

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Nice!

rb from Morton, MN on 3/7/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great...made installation easy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Jim C from Auburn, CA on 1/31/2011

1998 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Having the harness adapter as part of the order made the installation SOOOO easy. I only wish that the termination connectors were a part of the installation package. Other than that it was really easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

satisfied

Delta_1980 from U.S.A. on 12/4/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

James from ATL on 10/25/2010

1999 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Harness is standard for power but the speaker side of the harness is BRILLIANT! I replaced a step down that I was using with an older radio and the difference in sound is great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Makes it easy..

Joe from Long Island, NY on 10/5/2010

1993 Lincoln Mark VIII

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

... to install an aftermarket into a Ford/Lincoln/Mercury. I have a JBL system and it fit perfectly with the car's harness and was wired correctly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Josh from Washington on 9/26/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This allowed me to install my head unit in my 1997 Mustang with the Mach Audio system without cutting ANY wires. That was one of the requirements I had with my new radio, as I wanted to be able to re-install the old unit if I were to ever sell the car. All of the stock amps are still being used and with minimal tweaking on the head unit (set an EQ) I was able to get it to sound even better than the stock radio. Don't enable any filters as this is all handled by the stock amplifiers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Mark W. from St. Louis Missouri on 9/15/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A must have. Makes installation a snap.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome and helpful

Crutchfield customer from Newnan, GA on 7/29/2010

1997 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used this item today when I installed my new stereo into my 1997 Ford Mustang GT with the Mach460 system in it. The adapters were very easy to install and work great. My audio system sounds just as good as it did when it had the mach460 head unit in it> I've heard people saying that kits like this dont sound as good with an aftermarket headunit with the mach set-up, but I now know for a fact that what I've heard is false. My stereo sounds awesome. Definantly will shop crutchfield again. Next on the list is a sub.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

94 Ford kit

Meri from Crescent City, CA on 5/3/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great for my unit and was fairly easy to configure. I'm completely a novice on this stuff never having installed a stereo before and I was a little concerned, but the instructions were easy to follow. The only thing I would suggest is that they tell you to tape up the stereo wires on the harness that comes with the stereo since you will be using the amp bypass plugs instead. That was one thing that confused me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

loren from st paul,mn on 10/22/2009

1997 Ford Thunderbird

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

product was exactly and described and work perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

'96 F350

Wayne from Graham, Texas on 7/17/2009

1996 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The 8 pin power, illum etc worked great and Eli at tech support made sure I connected the correct wires. The speaker connectors were a bit of a hassle as the adapter pins didn't exactly match the the Ford connector. I adjusted the pins approximately 1/8 inch toward the center of the adapter and the connection was accomplished. So far so good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

kd from Hartland, MI on 5/10/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation. Just match the wire descriptions up with the wire descriptions from your radio's installation manual. The wires on my Kenwood even matched color for color. There will be some wires on the Crutchfield harness you don't use, I only had 4 wires to connect. The RCA plugs for the speakers are great, just plug them in. The Kenwood I installed is about 6 years old and has been in two other vehicles. This was the easiest installation yet and Crutchfield knew exactly what I needed to adapt it to a 14 year old F-150.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exactly what was needed

Branan from Birmingham, AL on 3/8/2009

1999 Ford Contour

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looked for this harness for a while before I got smart and checked Crutchfield. Just to make sure it was exactly what I needed I called and spoke with Blake who answered my questions and got me off the phone in a matter of minutes. Very educated staff. As for the harness...the amp harness plugs into pre-amp outs on the back of your new radio. You don't need splitters or step downs if you have the proper pre-outs (i suggest you call Crutchfield if you have any doubts). You only need to splice about 5 wires (power, ground, illumination, ect.) on the power harness. Once the wires are connected, just plug the new radio in and finish installation. Price is what you would expect from any big name electronic store. HOWEVER, Crutchfield also provides a master sheet for your car that shows EVERYTHING about your stereo and how to install new components. For that, and peace of mind that your getting the right product, the price is worth it. The product and staff deserve nothing less than 5 stars.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Ford Wiring Harness

Troy from Kalamazoo, MI on 2/20/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently used the Ford wiring harness to connect my Sony 430IP. It was very easy to decipher the wiring connections and install. I highly recommend it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-5510 Receiver Wiring Harness

Daron from KY on 2/9/2009

1999 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easliy snpped together once I figured out what wire went where. The color coding on the harness wires did not match exactly with those on the radio. The extra wires that were not needed for my radio also through me for a loop. I had to go to the local hardware store to purchase some extra wire caps to cap off those wires that were not utilized. So plan for that extra expense.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

good product

Tim from Edwardsville IL. on 2/3/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product & helpful people the only thing I didn't like was lack of instructions for the connecting to the unit but the helpful staff corrected my problem in a few minutes & yes it would have been nice if the RCA plugs would have came with the harness.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Nice, but....

Chris from Murrieta, CA on 11/20/2008

2000 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything was going great until i got everything together and noticed a loud pop when the receiver turned on. After doing more research i realized it was because of the MACH components in my Mustang and had to SOLDER in a "2200 Microfarad Capacitor". Seems to me this should have come with the harness or at least in the instructions for my car to prevent me from having to tear everything out again to get it added.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Great Product

jermaine from Charlotte, NC on 10/20/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product and priced competitively! Installed to Mach 460 to replace only the head unit. Thanks to tech support, saved $165-$180 on the install. In-dash kit also compliments look.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Not everything you need, and expensive

Doug from Minneapolis on 10/19/2008

1992 Lincoln Town Car

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First, the instructions are incomplete. Nowhere does it say that you connect the preamp output (on the Dual CD player) to the RCA jacks. You wind up using only 4 wires on the Ford connector. Second, you need to buy two RCA splitters. I think for the price they should be included.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 10 found this helpful

High price

Eric from Kentucky on 8/21/2008

1998 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The harness was exactly what I was needing. However, the price was high.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 8 found this helpful

TOP