Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 70-6510 Amp Bypass Harness

Connect a new car stereo and bypass the factory amp in select 2004-05 Dodge Ram trucks with Infinity

MFR # 70-6510

Metra 70-6510 Amp Bypass Harness

Metra 70-6510 Amp Bypass Harness

Connect a new car stereo and bypass the factory amp in select 2004-05 Dodge Ram trucks with Infinity

MFR # 70-6510

36 reviews
View this product

Waldoboro

Derek from Waldoboro on 1/21/2021

2007 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works great so easy to install and comes with all the information you need to install

Pros: Plug and play

Cons: Running the wires through the dash

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

not installed

Crutchfield customer from Louisburg, MO on 1/11/2021

2005 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

to cold out to install and no garage at hand, I hope Crutchfield was right and this is all I need to by-pass the factory amp and still run all 7 speakers. I have faith in them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wiring is great, Crutchfield is even better

Crutchfield customer from Dexter, MO on 12/31/2020

2005 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great harness, the wires are a bit long but I guess because it's for more than 1 vehicle. Crutchfields wiring guide was perfect though. This was my first install and everything works great!

Pros: Easy to read wiring

Cons: Wires too long

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

How easy!

Crutchfield customer from Brea, CA on 9/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly and instructions made it a breeze to install.

Pros: Great instructions Ease of installation

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-6510 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from West Sacramento, CA on 9/4/2020

2005 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-6510 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Lithonia, GA on 6/15/2020

2005 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i did not need it at all.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-6510 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Williamsport, PA on 6/5/2020

2005 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Harness did not match up. May have been because of being a Daytona model but it was the wrong one.

Pros:

Cons: Didn't match up

Crutchfield response on 6/9/2020
We're sorry you had issues with your harness. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Product

Crutchfield customer from Lake Worth, FL on 6/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It took me four tries to find the correct harness, but once I actually called Crutchfield Technical Support I was put on track. This was the exact harness I needed for my late 2004 Dodge Ram 1500 to bypass the factory amp and get my new Pioneer touchscreen stereo thumping. The wires are extremely long, which is probably good for certain applications. In my case, I cut down all but three feet leaving me a bunch of colored wire for other projects.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-6510 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, NV on 5/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Once I was sent the complete instructions on how to connect this to my truck it was easy but the first email I got from Crutchfield was missing some important steps. I called tech support and was sent some emails detailing exactly how to wire to my truck. The second time I tried to call support I was unable to make contact. The instructions said to leave 4 feet of wire which was twice as much as needed. The harness comes with WAY to much wire. What a waste.

Pros: Easy to set up with the proper instructions.

Cons: Too much wire.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-6510 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Pendleton, OR on 9/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just plug and play makes installing a lot quicker

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-6510 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Spring Hill, FL on 9/4/2019

2005 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome harness. Perfect fit. Easy install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

2005 Dodge 3500

Crutchfield customer from New Paris, OH on 9/3/2019

2011 Chevrolet Traverse

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked very nice. Annoying having to bypass amp, but glad this harness was available. Plug in and wire to radio harness. Super easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Happy Camper

Crutchfield customer from Waldorf, MD on 8/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield instructions were very clear, up to the point of removing the wiring connector from existing amp in my '04 Dodge Ram 1500 (infinity Sound System). You may be assisted by a pair of right angle needle nose pliers to pinch the release pin on the wiring connector on the amp, as there is very little clearance for your hands. Beyond that, the 70-6510 Bypass Harness worked perfecctly! I am happy that I am mow able to use my Kenwood system with bluetooth for my smartphone (that's what I was really after). I will be looking to Crutchfield again to add subwoofer system in the not-too-distant future. Thanks Crutchfield!

Pros: Removal/Installation Instructions were very useful. The wires on the harness must have been 15 feet; far more than needed for the application.

Cons: The Removal/Installation Instructions stopped just short of HOW to remove the factory harness from the amp. It provided all the steps to get to the amp and remove the harness, but did not describe the locking release tab that must be depressed to pull the connector out. Additional tools may be required to accomplish this.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-6510 Amp Bypass Harness

Joseph from Ellicott City, MD on 8/7/2019

2005 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used it to bypass factory amplifier . Just what I needed .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-6510 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Peachtree City, GA on 5/16/2019

2005 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does what is advertised - connectors are wired correctly. Attached wires were plenty long enough for the application. I wish that the item was offered in two or three amounts of wire lengths. I currently have approx. 35' of wires left over.

Pros: Everything fits. Wired correctly. Sufficient length of wire to accomplish the project.

Cons: Too much wire for my application. Product should be offered in multiple items with different wire lengths.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-6510 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Safety Harbor, FL on 3/21/2019

2005 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit with ample wire to run leads anywhere.

Pros: Fit and function flawless

Cons: Not all wires are labeled, direction available online were not complete, had to Google part # to find what unlabeled wire were for.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-6510 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Fort Madison, IA on 3/18/2019

2004 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The product came fully ready to install on the 2004 Ram Pickup. Worked great, plug and play. Service was great. Would purchase again!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-6510 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Twin Lake, MI on 3/12/2019

2005 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made the install easy and semless

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-6510 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Cottageville, SC on 2/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was impressed with the quality and the help when ordering this harness

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Careful

Robert from Las Vegas, NV on 2/4/2019

2005 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Make sure you have the amp, you can't just rewire the harness they supplied if you don't, my mistake but a big pain if you're looking for plug and play

Pros: Easy if you know what you've got

Cons: Not easy if you were wrong

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-6510

Crutchfield customer from Greentown, IN on 1/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great way to much wire only need 2feet not 17feet then you can lower the price.

Pros: Works great

Cons: To much wire

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-6510 Amp Bypass Harness

Tim from Mckeesport, PA on 12/27/2018

2004 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great and very simple to wire in, great delivery time and no hassle!

Pros: Very easy to wire in

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-6510 Amp Bypass Harness

Ron from Bradford, PA on 12/16/2018

2005 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfectly done bypass harness made the install of my new head unit a breeze. Crutchfield makes it even easier by knowing exactly what is needed to do it yourself.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-6510 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Decatur, TX on 12/1/2018

2004 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to hook up with great support!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-6510 Amp Bypass Harness

Lawrence from Roswell, GA on 7/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Absolutely the perfect solution for installing a new sound system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom!

Rob from Sand Springs, OK on 6/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great. Easy instructions. I had wired my subs to the rear speakers using a line output converter, but wasn't satisfied with the results. Once I bypassed the factory amp, My sound went through the roof. Due to Crutchfield's amazing and knowledgeable customer service, it was the right harness for my truck which was a difficult year to find correct parts for.

Pros: Nothin' but positive.

Cons: Other than where dodge put the factory amp.......

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-6510 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Tacoma, WA on 5/22/2018

2005 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Didn't understand at first, called customer tech support, guy was very nice and helpful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-6510 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Savage, MN on 5/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just what I needed, a more too long for my application, but that's better than the alternative.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-6510 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Dougherty, IA on 4/27/2018

2005 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wires were a bit long but worked very well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great set up.

Crutchfield customer from Hood River, OR on 3/25/2018

2005 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works great for my 05 ram with Infinity. actually the only one that I found that works with Infinity. Crutchfield tech. guys are great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-6510 Amp Bypass Harness

Guy from New Albany, IN on 2/18/2018

2005 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield sure made it easy. Worked great.

Pros: Easy install.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-6510 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Middlebry Ctr, PA on 10/28/2017

2005 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked excellent to bypass the factory amp on my 2005 Ram 2500. Crutchfield provided very helpful instructions. The biggest pain in was getting the factory harness disconnected from the amp. Requires quite a bit of dissambly of the dash, but that has nothing to do with the quality and ease of use of this harness.

Pros: Make installation of a new head unit easy.

Cons: Lots of excess wire.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-6510 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Massachusetts on 9/26/2017

2004 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed a new head unit on my 04 ram 1500. Worked well and easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-6510 Amp Bypass Harness

James from Raleigh, NC on 9/20/2017

2005 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great to bypass the factory amp on my 2005 Dodge Ram 2500. Intructions I received from Crutchfield were easy to follow. The hardest part is getting the harness disconnected from the factory amp due to its location.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-6510 Amp Bypass Harness

David from Port deposit, Md on 8/27/2017

2005 Dodge Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great and a very clean way to bypass the amp.

Pros: Easy install

Cons: Amp was a pain to get to, not the harness fault.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works great.

Dan from Clare, MI on 6/1/2017

2005 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If your lucky enough to get one of the few Dodges where the CHTO-02 does not work or want to use the full potential of your after market front door and dash speakers then this is a must. I would recommend complete removal of the amp when using this product since it will give you move room to run the wires and make the connections. Also use zip ties to hold the connectors together since they don't appear to snap and lock into each other. Color codes for the 05 Ram 1500 are as follows (may not use all): Door Speakers Left Front - White (+)/ White Black (-) Right Front - Grey (+)/ Grey Black (-) Left Rear - Green (+)/ Green Black (-) Right Rear - Purple (+)/ Purple Black (-) Dash Speakers Left - Yellow Blue (+)/ Yellow Black (-) Center - Brown White (+)/ Dark Blue Pink (-) Right - Yellow Red (+)/ Yellow Orange (-) Sub woofer - Green White (+)/ White Red (-)

Pros: Easy to use. Allows for full use of 2 or 3 way front door and dash speakers.

Cons: Amp is hard to remove. Tight space if amp is left in place for harness connections and wire run. Instructions are quite sparse, IE none for the speaker wire color codes unless you look up a different model vehicle.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

TOP