Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 70-6512 Amp Bypass Harness

Connect a new car stereo and bypass the factory amp in select 2002-04 Dodge Ram trucks with Infinity

MFR # 70-6512

Metra 70-6512  Amp Bypass Harness

Metra 70-6512 Amp Bypass Harness

Connect a new car stereo and bypass the factory amp in select 2002-04 Dodge Ram trucks with Infinity

MFR # 70-6512

29 reviews
View this product

Metra 70-6512 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Groton, CT on 2/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this item i ordered was correct and it was installed in my truck, awesome,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-6512 Amp Bypass Harness

Guest from Atkinson, NH on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness is amazing! I'd rate 10 stars if I could. There is plenty of wire to work with (you will need to cut off a significant amount) and if you follow the directions it will give you everything you need to bypass your factory amp. Make sure you take your glovebox out and peek at the back of your amp. If it has two plugs, this is the harness for you. If it has three, you need 70-6510.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good stuff easy

Crutchfield customer from Glendale, AZ on 10/19/2020

2004 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good stuff easy use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-6512 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from The Dalles, OR on 10/8/2020

2004 Dodge Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product was great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crutchfield stepped up

Crutchfield customer from Milford, CT on 10/3/2020

2004 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased a Boss radio for my dodge 2004 1500 and installation was not too difficult except when the backup camera had to be connected to the hitch wiring which wasn't expressed. I then had to have another radio sent because the 1st radio crapped out by all the screen controls locking up but Crutchfield was amazing with tech support and a replacement immediately, bravo!!!

Pros: Crutchfield was great

Cons: Boss radio so far a decent radio, not great

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Exactly as spec'd.

Crutchfield customer from Fayetteville, GA on 9/8/2020

2004 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly as specified. Found out too late that harness not needed. Previous owner already bypassed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-6512 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Roseville, OH on 8/16/2020

2004 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After spending a couple days trying to figure out how to make my aftermarket stereo work with my trucks infinity amp I decided on this route to completely bypass it. I am satisfied with the results and happy that I can use the stereo to tune my speakers. Would recommend to anyone putting a aftermarket stereo in a dodge with infinity sound system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good adapters - 03 dodge ram infinity sys

Crutchfield customer from Lancaster, CA on 8/4/2020

2003 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plugs fit like they should and there was plenty of wire to pull them where you needed it. The Crutchfeild instructions were easy to follow, although the amp access/removal was not shown and turned out to be a real struggle. if it helps, you need to remove the amp to access the connectors (they are locked in and no access by hand). There are three 10mm bolts, use a ratcheting end wrentch for bolt on the side that is difficult to get to. Socket will not work. Once amp is detached turn sideways for connector access. Also, one item they should include with the kit in order to make it complete are wire connectors.

Pros: Simplifies installation

Cons: Instructions on most difficult part (amp) not included. Also no wire connectors.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 70-6512 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from N Chesterfld, VA on 6/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

GREAT

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 70-6512 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Felton, CA on 3/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Matched right up to the back of my alpine head unit and the factory speaker harness. Made installation very simple.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-6512 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Pleasant Hill, CA on 3/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product! Just plug and play basically. Of course you must spl;ice in the ends to the head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-6512 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Ketchikan, AK on 2/24/2020

2003 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly for a 2003 ram with infinity amp.

Pros: Direct fit and easy to use.

Cons: Nothing bad to say

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-6512 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Colorado City, TX on 2/23/2020

2003 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made bypassing the factory amp simple and quick.

Pros: Easy to bypass factory amp

Cons: A ton of wiring not used (about 5ft)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-6512 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Havelock, NC on 1/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for what I needed...Thank you very much

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sent the wrong harness and cost me more

Crutchfield customer from Erwin, NC on 12/24/2019

2004 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The installer cut the harness and had to manually splice the wire discarded the plug entirely On my 2004 Dodge Ram 1500

Pros:

Cons: Having to splice and discard the plug entirely

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-6512 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Sparks, NV on 12/24/2019

2004 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The plug on this harness did not fit the plug from the amp, it is to wide to fit into it. I am going to try and cut off the ends to make it fit. If that doesnt work at least I will have color coded wires to go to the speakers because the wires coming off the speakers are a different colors than the harness wires. The power connector fits perfect. I would not buy this again.

Pros: power connector fits perfect. The wires are nice and long.

Cons: plug is to wide and does not fit.

Crutchfield response on 1/1/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your Harness. If you'd like our help, please just reach out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-6512 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Lynbrook, NY on 12/12/2019

2004 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-6512 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Woodbridge, VA on 9/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Could not use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-6512 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Perdido Beach, AL on 8/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-6512 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Wildomar, CA on 5/26/2019

2004 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Makes setup easy!

Pros: Easy to do

Cons: Wires a bit too long

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Wrong harness sent for 04' Dodge Ram 1500

Crutchfield customer from Kingsport, TN on 1/26/2019

2004 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wrong harness was sent & no screws for the radio I bought. I ended up spending 25$ last minute upon installing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/29/2019
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-6512 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from N Charleston, SC on 12/24/2018

2004 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great harness

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-6512 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Hawkins, WI on 7/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

fit great to bypass the factory amp... amp location sucks on 04 dodge ram to remove and connect wires

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 70-6512 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Savage, MN on 5/11/2018

2004 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nothing against this part, I needed the 6510 so it took me about a week longer to install the unit than I wanted it to. Crutchfield service took great care of making it right, I just didn't have the time available to work on it again until a week later.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Makes life easier ,, fit as it should

Paul from Levittown, PA on 4/11/2018

2004 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits as it should ,,, nice

Pros: plugged right in ,, no issues

Cons: none found

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works great 2004 Dodge Ram

Mike from Florence, OR on 3/10/2018

2004 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This worked fine in bypassing my factory amp, no shortage of wire (had to trim 4' or so off of the harness during install), no problems with this at all!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-6512 Amp Bypass Harness

Thomas from Monument, CO on 3/1/2018

2004 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great but way too much extra length of wiring for my 2004 Dodge Ram 2500 with Infinity System. Definitely simplified the process.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-6512 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Crested Butte, CO on 11/11/2017

2004 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation was a pain due to the amp location but the harness worked flawlessly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-6512 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Eatonville, WA on 7/16/2017

2004 Dodge Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In the end, harness worked. However, the instructions stated the wiring diagram was on the back of the package. The back of the package was blank. The wires were marked, although the writing was very hard to make out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP