Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness

Connect a new car stereo in select 1989-2003 Ford and Mazda vehicles

MFR # 70-7901

Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness

Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness

Connect a new car stereo in select 1989-2003 Ford and Mazda vehicles

MFR # 70-7901

103 reviews
View this product

Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Suwanee, GA on 10/6/2020

2001 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No worries - all wires matched up perfectly. Literally plug and play, not cutting into my factory harness!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

harness

Crutchfield customer from Statesville, NC on 9/1/2020

1999 Mazda Protege

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy plug in, comes with simple dire diagram. Connects flawless to factory harness

Pros: easy,simple,effective

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 5/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy with the instructions sent with it. First time installer and did it with no problems.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Wayne, NJ on 3/22/2020

1993 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered it pre-wired by Crutchfield. Fit and workmanship were flawless, plug it in and go. Nice job by the Crutchfield tech. I apologize for losing the paper with his or her name on it - I would have like to give a bit of recognition.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy day

Crutchfield customer from Sparta, MO on 2/22/2020

1999 Mazda Millenia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything went easy peasy -thanks Crutchfield !!! If only speakers were free.......

Pros: Timely delivery

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Vernon, AL on 2/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This makes the whole wiring chore so much more simple!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not for a 1995 Miata even if it says so

Crutchfield customer from Oceanside, CA on 9/26/2019

1995 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness does not correctly match up with a 1995 Miata. The head rest speakers actually go to the door and the door to the head rest. Also it does not contain the internal amp connection. Customer service were of little help no call back until I called them a second time no response to emails.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/27/2019
We were sorry to hear about this customer's experience with Tech Support team. We're forwarding this on to our Tech Support supervisors, so they can look into it.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Direct plug-n-play for 01 Mazda/Bose

Crutchfield customer from Spring, TX on 7/2/2019

2001 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First of all, this is a kit that contains two adapters - in my installation I only needed/used the larger of the two. Once I was able to collect enough information for my specific installation/upgrade, it was simple to identify the color coded wires and connect them to the other wires (and SLC-4 adapter) to make everything work the first time. Simply connected the existing, wired plug from the Bose amp into this, and then everything else into the SLC-4 and Alpine head unit, and rock & roll.

Pros: Works like it should

Cons: Only a con, perhaps, if you've not installed an aftermarket stereo/head-unit since the days of 8-tracks - the instructions might be a bit thin (but the folks at Crutchfield can help you navigate all of this - just contact them!)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great wire harness

Crutchfield customer from Greenville, NC on 6/26/2019

1999 Mazda Protege

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Makes connecting to factory wiring easy. No more stripping wires like the old days.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked perfectly for NA miata

Gba from Waterville, ME on 2/18/2019

1990 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I needed.

Pros: Worked, good wires, connected strongly to the white plugs. Plugs have good pins.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Plano, TX on 12/8/2018

1999 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

worked great, made things easy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Saint James, MO on 12/4/2018

1992 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Colors and printed cable labels all matched my head unit harness very well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Charlo, MT on 11/29/2018

2000 Mazda MPV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I though it would plug in to car harness with out cutting and crimping wires when I seen the pic. of the kit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Summerville, SC on 11/26/2018

1996 Mazda 626

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to work with. The wiring instructions matched the car wiring and the radio's wire color code. Made the installation project a breeze.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Somers, NY on 9/17/2018

1990 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

indespensible

Brad from Plano, TX on 6/26/2018

1991 Mazda RX7

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

color matched wiring took the guess work out

Pros: took the guess work out

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product

Crutchfield customer from Rural Hall, NC on 4/29/2018

1990 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great, have used the product before with no problems.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Hilliard, FL on 4/13/2018

1991 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works just as it should.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worked perfectly

Stephen from Petaluma, CA on 12/30/2017

1995 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly. Easy to read and the cables are just long enough.

Pros:

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Black Mountain, NC on 11/20/2017

1995 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness made the job super easy. I could not have installed the unit without this.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Makes the job easy

Frank from Seattle, WA on 7/21/2017

1992 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This wiring harness made installation of my radio a piece of cake. I was able to do all the wiring connections on my work bench instead of folded up into a Miata cockpit. That made it so so nice. Then it was just a matter of clicking the harness into the factory harness and I was done. Maybe took 15-20 minutes to do the wiring.

Pros: Work outside of the car, plenty of wire length

Cons: Really can't think of one

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness

John from Brockton, MA on 6/13/2017

1995 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The wiring harness was excellent! It was so easy to install. It matched up precisely with the stock wires, color by color ,so that all I had to do was splice each one and connect them. It was a breeze. So much easier than I expected. It took the guess work out of it. I actually enjoyed the process. Thanks for making it fun.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from North Carolina on 4/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

perfect fit for my application. makes the installation process that much a breeze. only problem, the is no lead for ground, but not a deal breaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness

Scott from Philadelphia, PA on 3/30/2017

1994 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit for my 1994 Miata. Quality wires and plugs.

Pros: Perfect fit.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 2/23/2017

2001 Mazda Tribute

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit but I would have liked to have wire connectors included.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness

Steve from Douglasville, GA on 1/2/2017

1997 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The color coding was well documented. Using the wiring charts in the radio manual, I was able to make most of the connections, with only a few ambiguous colors. (Illumination vs illumination dimmer, etc.) Would have been nice if it had come pre-wired, but that would have killed the "freebie" thing. After soldering and heat-shrinking the connections (butt-splices will work too, but will take up more space behind the radio) everything worked wonderfully. Thanks for including this. Would have cost me ~$10 anywhere else.

Pros: Worked as designed. Color coding is well documented.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness

Brian from Parker, CO on 12/12/2016

1994 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great fit although no "snap" connection

Pros: great fit. tie blues together to get power antenna

Cons: no "click" attachement to secure, use Eletrical tape

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Cleveland, OH on 10/31/2016

1990 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Being color blind, I HATE wiring kits. When will someone design a better system?

Pros: Once you find someone to match the colors for you, everything fits great.

Cons: NOT designed for those that are color blind.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Killeen, TX on 10/13/2016

1990 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wiring harnesses are the best thing since sliced bread!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Plugged in fine after soldering and shrink wrapping.

Ben from Tucson, AZ on 10/12/2016

1994 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Straightforward wiring harness.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

New stereo hook up for the Miata.

Scott from Hebron, IN. on 8/18/2016

1993 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wired right up and plugged right in, no problems whatever.

Pros: Easy install.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wiring harness simple.

pope from Cleveland, OH on 8/9/2016

1999 Mazda 626

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wiring harness was simple to use and matched the vehicle wiring perfectly.

Pros: Easy to install.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Installation made easy

Tim S. from New Hyde Park, NY on 5/19/2016

2000 Mazda Protege

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The wires and connectors were very good quality and made soldering the connections easy, All the work was done no research and color matched head unit connector wires. These connectors in the kit cut the time os the installation down to about 40 minutes with head unit mounting.

Pros: wire good quality and matched head unit wires and colors The connectors fit perfect in factory connectors

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness

Rick from Lebanon, TN on 4/17/2016

1997 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Would give more than 5 stars if possible. Works great. Perfect fit. Makes installation so much easier.

Pros: Perfect fit.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wiring harness

Matt M from Erie, Pennsylvania on 12/26/2015

1996 Mazda 626

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

1994 Miata Exact Fit

BPSanborn from Massachusetts on 12/15/2015

1994 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This wire harness adapter was a perfect match to my 1994 Miata.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great value

Jim C from Texas on 10/27/2015

2000 Mazda Protege

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This made the installation 10 times easier!! Everything was color coordinated, pre cut. Very, very easy to use!

Pros: Color coordinated, pre cut, labeled

Cons: If you are of feeble eyesight like myself, the wording on the wiring is very difficult to see.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit

Jeffmd from Baltimore, md on 10/21/2015

1997 Mazda Protege

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Snapped right in.. Easy install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness

Chance from Tennessee on 9/7/2015

1993 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

as easy as plug & play!

Pros: very easy to hook up.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect for all jobs

Rick3:16 from Pennsylvania on 8/9/2015

1991 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This saves a lot of time when connecting a radio to any type of car or truck. Instead of having to cut all the wires and splice them all together

Pros: Makes the job easier

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wrong Wires

Austin P from Beach Haven, NJ on 5/13/2015

2000 Mazda Protege

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently had to change my radio for the one that had died out on my 2000 Mazda protégé. As I took out my radio I could see which wires had needed to be changed out. Turns out it was a certain connector piece that needed to be attached to the new radio. The new wires I was directed to by my advisor didn't match up with the piece that was needed for the radio. So now I have to pick out a new piece and splice them. A waste of time.

Pros: Shipping was incredibly fast and showed up on my doorstep in 2 days, my refund came back quickly for my parts and I got to keep the parts for extras.

Cons: Wrong wires, waste of time and money

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Miata radio wiring

Al from Oklahoma on 2/2/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as expected. A little soldering and heat shrinking and Plug & Play. No problems!

Pros: Easy install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great wire Harness adapter

Chris C. from Bettendorf, IA on 1/25/2015

1990 Mazda RX7

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product and perfect fit.

Pros: Perfect fit.

Cons: No ground wire included.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

wiring harness

grampy from North Carolina on 1/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Color coding was correct and had no real issues installing this harness.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville tn on 1/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, east to use

Pros: N/a

Cons: N/a

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Product

GRB from Ohio on 12/6/2014

2000 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This wiring kit worked perfectly with my 2000 Miata. Don't forget to buy some connectors if you choose not to solder them. The colors matched perfectly and with the Crutchfield instructions my install went perfectly.

Pros: Plug and play. Minimal effort on my part other than to match the wires, follow the instructions and make good connections.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

great

John from Blairsville Ga on 10/19/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

made hook up easy !!

Pros: all

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from missoula, mt. on 10/5/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It made the install easy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness

Jim in Phx from Phoenix, AZ on 9/24/2014

1997 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great, just read all the directions, on my car the front and rear needed to be swapped for the speakers to work correctly. 97 Miata M, door tweeters only work if wired as the directions say.

Pros: Worked!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7901

Anthony T from White plains, MD on 7/31/2014

1998 Mazda Protege

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This wiring kit was exactly what I needed to complete my radio installation. It was very easy to read and understand the color coded wires. However, I had issues with identifying the correct wire for the rear speaker amplifier, finally after trial and error I was able to locate the wire. Beside that one issue, installation was easy!

Pros: Wiring diagram was easy to understand

Cons: No diagram for rear speaker amplifier

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit

Crutchfield customer from Sayreville, NJ on 7/27/2014

1993 Mazda MX3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This met my needs exactly and I received quick support when I had an issue with shipping. I'm extreamly satisfied with the product and that is why I have spent more than five thousand dollars with this company through referrals and my own use.

Pros: Perfect fit Easy to find

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simple

Russ from Phoenix, Arizona on 7/17/2014

1991 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made the job a lot easier, color codes on wires lined up perfect.

Pros: Made job easier

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy install

eROCK from Chicago, IL on 5/9/2014

1997 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield sends this with printed instructions, but you really don't need them. The wires on this kit are color coded to match up with the wiring harness from the new stereo. Just splice together the matching color wires, and that's it! I used a crimping tool with crimp caps to make a fast easy install. No soldering required (you can, but it's not needed).

Pros: Intuitive

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Receiver wire harness for JVC Arsenal

John B from Mishawaka IN on 4/6/2014

2000 Mazda Protege

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instructions were easy to follow, but harness was incomplete. I am probably one of the few people in this world who listens to AM Radio and the static was outrageous. There was a second ground on the back of the unit that was not displayed by the Crutchfield install instructions, nor was a ground connection supplied. I only found this information in the JVC manual after being greatly disappointed in the reception of AM signals. In the future I would suggest that Crutchfield include this information and ground wire with the harness. The Crutchfield install instructions had me stripping wires that I didn't need to, i.e. electric antennae and some sort of illumination wire that did not connected to anything in my unit or car.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Vehicle Specific Harness

Robert from Toms River, NJ on 4/5/2014

2003 Ford Escort ZX2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this harness based on Crutchfields recommendation that it would fit my vehicle. The harness worked perfectly and made for an easy installation of my after market head unit. Two thumbs up!

Pros: Quick Installation, Perfect Fit, Quality Harness

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great fit! Perfect and saved so much time!

Gene from Rochester, NH on 3/26/2014

1995 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great! Perfect fit!

Pros: Everything!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wiring Adapter

Ed L from Oxford, MS on 1/31/2014

1994 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wiring adapter kit was great.

Pros: Good instructions and easy connections.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Mazda Miata Harness

tom from lake zurich il on 1/17/2014

1997 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product and instructions! Soldering directions were clear and the installation was a breeze.

Pros: instructions and quality

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Miata install

Crutchfield customer from Mesa AZ on 12/24/2013

1991 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made install of my stereo a snap. The connection was a perfect fit for my 91' Miata.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit!

GB from MD on 11/17/2013

2000 Mazda Protege

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used this receiver harness on a 2000 Mazda Protege, and it fits perfectly to the factory harness. Like that the wire ends are pre-stripped, one less thing to do when installing the harness. Great quality and fit. Only issue I had was one slightly bent pin, that needed a bit of straightening, but it was no big deal.

Pros: Great fit, makes installation of receiver much easier, pre stripped wires, high quality overall.

Cons: Had to straighten one pin.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect for 1994 Mazda Miata

B C from San Diego, CA on 11/3/2013

1994 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used this to install a single din headunit into my 1994 Mazda Miata with MSSS and premium sound. The harness comes with a clearly laid out wiring diagram and it matches perfectly with the factory color codes. All you need to do is crimp or solder your connections. Don't forget to use heatshrink tubing for a clean install as well. I highly recommend using heat shrink crimps if you're not comfortable with soldering. Also, if your Miata has MSSS like mine did, this will not work with the connections for the seat "sensory sound" device. The headrest speakers work fine though.

Pros: Matches factory wiring color codes and fits perfect with oem wiring harness.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

another crutchfield product

corvetteviper29 from Houston, Tx on 10/13/2013

2001 Mazda Tribute

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this harness for my 2001 Mazda Tribute. I took my radio out of another car i sold where i also used a harness from crutchfield. I was able to easily put the factory radio back in because of the harness. Using a wire harness makes installing your radio extremely easy.

Pros: easy installation, preserves original wire harness in case you have need to reinstall factory radio

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Makes The Job Easy

Karl from Fresno CA on 10/8/2013

2001 Mazda Tribute

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not much to say. Makes the job easy.

Pros: Easy time saver.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wire Harness for 1993 Mazda Miata

SDA from Robertsdale, AL on 9/8/2013

1993 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works!

Pros: Easy Install

Cons: No Cons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wire harness

Mike B. from Lake Orion MI 48362 on 8/11/2013

1995 Mazda RX7

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a must have if you are installing a new sound system, it makes the installation cleaner and less likely to give you problems down the road.

Pros: Easy plug and play, only a few wires to connect, then the whole harness looks like a factory install, and is reliable as one.

Cons: I can't think of one thing negative to say about this product.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Matching Harness

L.Lee from Norfolk VA on 7/30/2013

2003 Ford Escort ZX2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness matched the factory harness in my wife's 2003 Ford ZX2. All I had to do was solder this harness to the HU harness that I purchased. All wires were color-coded which made soldering a cinch.

Pros: This harness "made my day" to a perfect connection and installation.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very useful item.

MP from Atlanta on 6/23/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What is there to say, this harness adapter makes it very easy to install whatever receiver to your car's stock harness.

Pros: Great item to make the installation a breeze

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Newnan,GA on 6/21/2013

1999 Mazda 626

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit perfectly and easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very nice

Peru from GA on 5/22/2013

1990 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness was well documented and works like a charm.

Pros: documentation, function

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Receiver Wire Harness

Mike M from Ocala FL on 4/21/2013

1999 Mazda Protege

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looked all over for this wiring harness and Crutchfeild was the only place that had it in stock and at half the price. Harness fit perfect and the receiver is good to go.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness

Rick W from St. Louis, Mo. on 3/8/2013

1990 Mazda MX6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

None of the plugs fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 3/11/2013
We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Mostly great

Todd K from Colorado Spgs, CO on 2/20/2013

2000 Mazda MPV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to match wires from receiver to harness with one exception. Harness did not have a lead for the factory subwoofer. I had to wire the receiver lead to the factory lead and bypass the harness.

Pros: Easy to match wires

Cons: Missing subwoofer lead on harness

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness

Matt from Knoxville, TN on 2/13/2013

2000 Mazda Millenia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exact!

Pros: Exact fit

Cons: Ground wire could had been twice the size for easier installation.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love the wiring harness

Roger from Kenmore, WA on 1/19/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using this wiring harness, I was able to install the new car stereo with NO cutting into the factory wiring harness. Preserving the factory wiring is important to me, and this wiring harness allowed me to easily install the stereo and achieve all the functionality of the unit. I am very happy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness

JimJ from Seattle, WA on 8/17/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Makes installing/replacing the stereo a snap!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Ann Arbor, MI on 5/22/2012

1994 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instructions were fine, leads were plenty long enough, and the connector fit. Can't really ask for more here.

Pros: Leads long enough Instructions were helpful Good connector

Cons: No specifics on dimmer functionality, but apparently the Miatas dimmer signal is inverted, so may not even work. May try it out in the future, but not really necessary.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great harness

ptwat from Atlanta, GA on 5/21/2012

1991 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These harnesses make the install sooo much easier!

Pros: Works great

Cons: Some wires are not connected on the car side of the connector making the harness side wire useless.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

wire harness

David from MD on 4/28/2012

2003 Ford Escort ZX2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did not fit my 2003 ZX2

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Wiring Harness

HRColey from Oxford, AL on 3/30/2012

1994 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great, especially considering I'm a rank amatuer.

Pros: Easy to use.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Receiver Wire Harness

Jorge from San Bernardino, CA on 2/23/2012

1991 Mazda MX6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit Nicely to my car wire harness!

Pros: It was free with my receiver!

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Matched up perfectly

Bill K-B from Chicago on 2/2/2012

2000 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect. Just what I needed to make the job easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect

paulw from Chino Valley Arizona on 11/13/2011

2001 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Over great value. I highly recommend Crutchfield integration harnesses.

Pros: Wires matched new radio color for color. Couldn't have been easier. Made for a professional installation.

Cons: Nothing.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good

DW1951 from san clemente, ca on 10/9/2011

1994 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything it needs to be, nothing more, nothing less.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness

Justin H from Rome, GA on 8/7/2011

1996 Mazda Protege

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Mated to the factory harness perfectly and gives you extra room (because of the increased wire length) to handle the receiver when installing and removing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works for 1990 miata

JohnR from Huntsville, AL on 5/29/2011

1990 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought the wiring harness for my 1990 mazda miata with the kenwood kdc-108. Color code on wires match. Needed some wrie strippers and a solder gun. 20 minutes at a table with the solder and i had a nice clean connection that mated with the factory connectors. well worth the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sanity Under the Dash

MikeM from Edmond, OK on 5/18/2011

1990 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wire colors match to the Sony unit's wire colors and makes for a simplified installation with tired eyes.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness

BenH from Virginia on 5/11/2011

2003 Ford Escort ZX2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great in my 2003 Ford ZX2. Thanks crutchfield, couldn't find this harness anywhere else.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Big Help

DickG from Atlanta on 2/8/2011

1997 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was the technical support and all the little "add-ons" like this wiring harness adapter that convinced me to pay a little more and purchase this radio from Crutchfield. I know I could have probably ordered the adapter somewhere else, but it was nice to know that I was getting everything I needed with one order, and not have to search around and take a chance that I was ordering the wrong thing. The adapter worked perfectly. It took a little time to do the soldering but once it was done all that was left was to snap the connectors to the radio and the car's wiring harness and I was done.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked great

Johnny from Fayetteville NC on 1/24/2011

2000 Mazda MPV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Only problem was 2 wires for the speakers were mislabeled in the diagram supplied with the harness. After I had connected all the other wires, I could easily figure out the problem and corrected the error. Other than that, It worked great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness

DanaH from Santa Rosa, CA on 11/24/2010

2000 Mazda 626

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

quick and Easy hook-up. Great Product!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Ford/Mazda Receiver Wire Harness

carl from portland, oregon on 10/1/2010

1999 Mazda Protege

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was extremly useful to have and helped with the installation of the radio. The added instruction sheet was a benefit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

OEM Wiring Harness For My 1995 Mazda MPV van

Kimberly from Thomasville, NC on 8/30/2010

1995 Mazda MPV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Talk about a no brainer! This harness was color matched to my existing factory wiring. I did not have to compromise my factory wiring harness to install my new JVC receiver. The color matching to my OEM radio wiring left no room for mistakes. I would recommend this to anyone thinking about doing the receiver upgrade to their 1995 Mazda MPV. Five stars!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Mixup on correct harness for 03 MPV

JC from Buena Park CA on 8/6/2010

2003 Mazda MPV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First of all, let me say that purchasing from Crutchfield has been an overall good experience. I ordered the head unit and the wiring harness came with it. This harness is not the right one. Please check your harness before ordering. For some MPV model year 2003, you must have the harness #70-7903(one big plug) instead of the 70-7901(Two plugs) I called the tech support and they insisted that the harness was correct and that I must have a MPV with a factory amplifer instead of just a stock unit. I tried to explain that I already pulled the panels off and there was no factory amplifier. I bought the car new and I know that I did not get the "special" audio system. I know what kind of system I have and I did not make a mistake. I have researched this by going to Mazda MPV groups and even found another reviewer on this page with the same problem. [Editor's Note: We apologize for the problems you experienced. We have confirmed that you are correct and have amended our database with the correct adapter. Also, 120707903 has been replaced with 120707904. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.]

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Check your model year +/- one year

whyde from Austin, TX on 7/1/2010

2003 Mazda MPV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It turns out that my 2003 MPV was on the cusp of a model-year changeover where they switched to a different wiring harness. Compare the part numbers of the wiring harness of your model year with the part number of the previous and next model years to see whether you may require a different harness. However, the Crutchfield tech support was courteous, efficient, realized the error, and got me the part I really required. My only suggestion would be to automate the check for model year changes, with a note or warning to visually inspect the radio (if possible) and match the harness against the photo before ordering. This would require access to the instruction for factory radio removal prior to purchase, however, and is a chicken-and-egg problem. So, this was not the harness I required, but it arrived in good shape and (I assume) would have worked well if it matched the older year's radio. Still 5 stars because of customer service effectiveness. [Editor's Note: Thanks for bringing this to our attention. We have added additional qualifiers to our Auto Install Guide to catch this mid-year harness change, and avoid this problem in the future.]

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Thank You Crutchfield!

D.L. from Arizona on 1/20/2010

1990 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was so wonderful to have the wiring harness and instructions included with my stereo purchase. It made it so much easier installing the stereo. And it comes with pre-stripped wires too! I had to do a touch of interpretation matching the harness wiring description to the stereo's description. The write up that came with the stereo wasn't as clear as the wiring harness' instructions. I am sure I could have called Crutchfield if I had any questions, though. :)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wiring Harness - 1999 Mazda Protege

Bill from St Paul, MN on 11/8/2009

1999 Mazda Protege

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield's wiring harness and instructions for adapting a Kenwood KDC-MP342U to my 99 Mazda protege made for a straightforward installation process. My only suggestion is that the instructions be updated, and mention of the potential requirement for a ground connection, which is separate from the supplied wiring harness.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Included with my radio?! Crutchfield you are the best.

Hessam from PA on 7/26/2009

1993 Mazda MX6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this free with my headunit. Fit perfect. I had a question about a particular wire and customer service was there, patient, and had my answer. My car did have a ground harness which would have been nice to have gotten a male spade tab for but I figured it out. My car is a 1993 4 cylinder model MX6. There is a black wire with a small black plastic connector that you can slip a male spade tab connector into. I bought a small pack of these connectors and it works well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent

Justin from Pa on 5/6/2009

1989 Mazda RX7

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Match up perfectly, Instructions were clear

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield Does It Again

Jetmd1967 from Romulus, MI on 2/11/2009

2001 Mazda MPV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Top notch product. This harness made my installation a breeze. I would never try to install a stereo without using a receiver wire harness. Most important if you sell your car and want to keep your after market stereo, just unplug and reinstall the factory stereo in a snap.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Stripped wires

femcadder from New Hampshire on 11/4/2008

1998 Mazda Protege

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly. Loved how the wires were pre-stripped!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

works great

vistabob from Vista, CA on 10/17/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works great, clear instructions, who could ask for anything more?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness

Bill from KCMO on 9/15/2008

2000 Mazda MPV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

a breeze to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Mazda Receiver Wire Harness

toydoctor from Memphis, TN on 9/8/2008

1994 Mazda MX3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Gave the directions a quick read, slid shrink tube on wires, pulled off the already sliced insulation, soldered the wires and done. Very easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

TOP