Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
104 066 842 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
104 066 842 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

For simple questions about your order,
try our new virtual agent:

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Connect a new car stereo in select 2001-up Mazda vehicles

MFR # 70-7903

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Connect a new car stereo in select 2001-up Mazda vehicles

MFR # 70-7903

133 reviews
View this product

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Anna, OH on 6/8/2020

2006 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 5/30/2020

2009 Mazda 5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plugged in perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 5/21/2020

2013 Mazda 2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing is a life saver, great instructions from Crutchfield too!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Makes the install much easier.

Crutchfield customer from Decatur, AL on 5/20/2020

2002 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Would not recommend installing an aftermarket unit without this harness. No need to clip the factory connector and match factory colors to the new unit. All the detail work can be done on the bench and not bent over the car's console. Only one note: Has separate leads for power antennae and amplifier. In all likelihood the aftermarket unit has only one "remote" lead since not many cars still come with a power antenna. So, connect both to the one unit lead.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

(Almost) Perfect for the NC Miata

Joseph from NEWARK, DE on 5/19/2020

2015 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As expected, allows the replacement of the factory head unit without having to cut into the factory wiring. However, that's NOT the case when installing the AXXESS ASWC-1 adapter for the steering wheel controls, as this wiring harness is missing two wires/pins (1P and 1N as called out in the ASWC-1 install instructions). Since the point of this is to NOT have to cut into factory wiring, I ended up buying a second wiring harness in order to steal two pins/wires so I could hook up the ASWC-1 through this harness instead. This is a well-known issue, documented on many Miata forum postings. It would be nice if either Metra or Crutchfield could come up with a solution that would include the two missing pins.

Pros: Perfect fit for the factory harness so you can keep the original wiring intact.

Cons: Missing two wires/pins that are needed to hook up the ASWC-1 steering wheel control adapter.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works amazing on Miatas with Bose

Crutchfield customer from Yorktown, VA on 5/14/2020

2004 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my lost count how many times I've used this to install in a Miata. It's perfect. No complaints. My only recommendation is if you have a Miata equipped with Bose, do not go into the cheap speaker level to line level converters like the Scosche SLC-4. Instead interface with the Bose amp straight out of RCA. The Bose system accepts a line level signal. No point in converting speaker level signals to line level when most after market radios have line level out via RCA. Some Miatas will have a hum if you interface straight with RCA but you can put a ground loop isolator in line like a PAC SNI-1 to clean up the hum.

Pros: Works flawlessly

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simple install

Crutchfield customer from Waukegan, IL on 4/27/2020

2002 Mazda Protege

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Made wiring the radio very easy. Wiring color codes matched the car and radio exactly. Wish I had one of these for the last radio I installed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Well worth the price

Crutchfield customer from Montesano, WA on 4/18/2020

2012 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The harness does NOT come completely pre-pinned, it's missing a couple two very important wires for the steering wheel adapter. Fortunately, I used the RCA connectors so i was able to ... very carefully...relocate two wires within the connector as needed. Otherwise a true God send for not having to cut up the OEM radio harness.

Pros: plug and play-almost.

Cons: Had to relocate two wires within the harness.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Belleview, FL on 3/15/2020

2005 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Factory harness hookup, perfect

Pros: Plug in to the factory harness

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Crossville, TN on 2/21/2020

2007 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality connector. Stops you from having to cut into factory harness. Double check the pin-out as I had to make a few changes

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Rock Springs, WY on 2/16/2020

2006 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

While it did the job just fine, there is room for improvement. Definitely a better option than hacking up your factory harness, but I wonder if quality isn't slipping a bit with Metra...

Pros: Wiring color lined up with the Pioneer receiver's harness colors on all but one wire if I recall. Better option than hacking up a factory harness if you ever want to change the receiver out.

Cons: Pins wiggled around in the connector, enough so that I was a bit concerned at the possibility of bending a pin if it missed the socket on the factory plug. Also, I understand that these are meant for a range of vehicles, but even our base model Mazda3 has steering wheel controls, yet this harness didn't have wires pinned for that, which seems like a missed opportunity. Instead, I have to hack into the factory harness to retain that function, something I am not a fan of doing.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exact match

Crutchfield customer from Wesley Chapel, FL on 1/10/2020

2002 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Matched exactly what was required. Love the wires are pre-identified from factory.

Pros: Match exactly. Pre-id wires

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Redding, CA on 12/22/2019

2004 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome! Life saving product!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A great product for Tinkerers

Crutchfield customer from MYRTLE BEACH, SC on 12/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great product if you don't care to reuse your steering wheel controls. Pins 1N and 1P are missing from this harness and are needed to connect to the factory harness in most Mazdas. (I was installing this in a 2008 MX-5). First call to tech support was a complete non-starter. He told me to cut into the factory harness and solder wires to the harness. His only other solution was to start a return. I wasn't impressed! I reached out to a different technician and he sent me a second harness so that I could remove the 2 necessary pins for 1N and 1P. It took 10 minutes and worked perfectly. If you cannot successfully repin a molex connector, I wouldn't suggest you do this install.

Pros: Saves some work

Cons: Missing 2 vital pins for steering wheel controls.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 8/22/2019

2002 Mazda Protege

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit, easy to match up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

USE THIS!

Crutchfield customer from Dansville, NY on 8/8/2019

2011 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using this makes the electrical connections SO much easier! Solder and heat shrink tube these wires to the wires on your receiver's electrical harness and it makes the install "PLUG AND PLAY" No need to splice your receiver's electrical harness into your car's wiring harness! Instead, solder and heat shrink tube this harness to your receiver's harness and plug both ends in!! It's that easy, and you won't mutilate your car's harness if you use this harness!

Pros: Prevent you from having to splice into your car's harness if you solder and heat shrink tube your receiver's harness to this one and then plug both ends into the car harness and receiver's harness. Makes for a MUCH cleaner install!

Cons: I've found none!!!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Nik from Seattle, WA on 7/29/2019

2008 Mazda 5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use! I wouldn't complain if it came with terminal connectors, but hey, it doesn't. Better instructions on the most crucial connections ("ACC," "Camera") would've also been great, but again, it is what it is. We figured it out. Took some experimenting though.

Pros: Easy

Cons: Incomplete instructions

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy - perfect fit - Miata 2003 Non Bose

Crutchfield customer from Port St Lucie, FL on 7/7/2019

2003 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit for 2003 Miata - easy easy easy- Non Bose

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy...if you know what you're doing.

Crutchfield customer from Farmington, UT on 6/27/2019

2005 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you can read a wiring schematic, it's an easy install.

Pros: Good instructions, fit perfectly

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Contoocook, NH on 5/6/2019

2014 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plug and play as described. money well spent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Madison, WI on 5/1/2019

2011 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple and works well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works as long as you don't need steering wheel controls.

Crutchfield customer from Holden, MA on 4/26/2019

2009 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness is good, however if you are trying to use the access controls from your wheel it won't work out of the box. The pins with the wire required to do steering wheel controls are missing. Luckily I had a couple wires from a previous harness that I could pop in. If you don't need steering wheel controls then this harness is fine.

Pros: Works fine for cars w/o steering wheel controls

Cons: Missing pins for steering wheel control support

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 4/9/2019

2008 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Work as expected. Make the installation much simpler. It provides all necessary wire connections between the receiver and the factory wire harness. However, it does not provide the wire connection for installing a steering wheel control unit.

Pros: Wires are color coded and matched to the receiver wires.

Cons: Does not have a wire connection for the steering wheel control unit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy, except for steering wheel controls

Jeffrey from Reston, VA on 1/11/2019

2007 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The harness was missing the brown wires for the steering wheel control, although they were shown in the diagram. Crutchfield tech support was great (as always!) but having to make the connections manually made the installation difficult. The adviser did note that I must have gotten an older version, so if you want to use your steering wheel controls, make sure you get the new one. I wish I had read the reviews ahead of time.

Pros: Plug and play for simple installations.

Cons: Missing wires for steering wheel control (but newer version may have).

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

OK - But Missing SWC Pins

Tom from Mohrsville, PA on 12/30/2018

2006 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked ok but is missing 2 pins for Steering Wheel controls, therefore this is not an OEM compatible harness.

Pros:

Cons: Missing necessary pins for SWC

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Martin from Folsom, CA on 12/4/2018

2006 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to use! Worked like a charm! definitely would buy again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Must have

Tim from Omaha, NE on 11/11/2018

2005 Mazda MPV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits perfect super simple

Pros: Fits right, makes things easy

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Joseph from Portland on 10/30/2018

2015 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plug and play - it allows you to easily connect a deck without having to splice behind the vehicle harness connector. For the price this is an absolute necessity for making installation easier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Rio Rancho, NM on 10/17/2018

2014 Mazda 2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit, no issues at all!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Plumas Lake, CA on 10/15/2018

2006 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as expected. Super easy plug and play.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Farmington, UT on 9/12/2018

2004 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to wire

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Gary from Bellbrook, OH on 9/2/2018

2007 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The wiring harness was very straight forward and a good fit. My only complaint is that it lacked two wires for the steering wheel controls in my 2007 Mazda Miata. With the help of the Crutchfield staff, I was able to insert two wired pins in the connector and was able to get the controls to work. It would have saved me some time and effort if the wires came pre-installed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Ryan from Indianapolis, IN on 8/27/2018

2012 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Generally works as described on my 2012 Mazda MX-5 with Bose. However there are a couple of pins missing from this harness that connect the steering wheel controls. Apparently, if they were included it would be unnecessary to buy the additional Axxess ASWC-1 steering wheel control adapter. Some people just buy two of these Metra harnesses and pull the 2 extra pins needed from the second to install in the one that goes in the car.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Madisonville, TN on 8/14/2018

2010 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the metra harness makes installs easy would not do one without using

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 7/23/2018

2006 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Harness worked okay. It would have been nice if the harness had the two pins required to wire in the steering wheel control so you didn't have to cut wires in the car harness and solder.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Lead Hill, AR on 7/18/2018

2007 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Blaine, WA on 6/1/2018

2006 Mazda 5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good made life easy but unfortunately i lost the ability to use the steering wheel control

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Ralph from Frederick, MD on 5/17/2018

2006 Mazda Tribute

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Shopped at other outlets, Crutchfield recognized that this car had a modified seven speaker system and sold me the appropriate connector. Thank you !

Pros: Good quaility, wires ready to splice, great color coding and identification, great price.

Cons: None to think of .....

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Jim from Oklahoma City, OK on 5/2/2018

2015 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This plus the wire harness service made this plug and play

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Michael from Brick, NJ on 4/30/2018

2014 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Missing wires needed for newer cars. Reverse trigger wire and 3 wires needed for the steering wheel controls. 2014 Mazda 6.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Derby, KS on 4/8/2018

2003 Mazda Tribute

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit and connects the amp where other connectors don't. Great help from Customer Service Tech to get the right item!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Williston Park, NY on 3/26/2018

2003 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros: great time saver

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great quality...matched perfectly.

Michael from Waterbury, CT on 3/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great wire harness and connector. Wires were very well marked for proper identification... Connector matched and locked perfectly.. Would highly recommend

Pros: Ease of assembly...great idenification on wires...locked tight. Worked perfectly.

Cons: Nothing so far..

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Greg from Abbeville, SC on 2/18/2018

2005 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made installing the new HU a snap!

Pros: Easy pnp

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Bob from Hobe Sound, FL on 2/5/2018

2010 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Color coded wires well identified on packaging and matched my aftermarket radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 1/17/2018

2011 Mazda 2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great fit-up with new radio and stock harness.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Andrew from Sumter, SC on 12/18/2017

2008 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clipped in perfectly to the factory harness, no guesswork with pairing the wires to the new radio.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

cliff from Churubusco, NY on 12/11/2017

2003 Mazda Tribute

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect easy useful

Pros: Makes installing a breeze

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 10/24/2017

2003 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Makes the install very easy. Wiring instructions easy to follow.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from S Plainfield, NJ on 10/24/2017

2006 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made wiring to car ridiculously simple... the only way to fly!!!!

Pros: Simplicity,makes connecting a breeze.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Broadview Heights, OH on 10/5/2017

2007 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well worth it to avoid cutting all the wires and making installation much faster. definitely recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Roanoke, VA on 9/6/2017

2005 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Read This if You Want to Keep Steeing Wheel Controls

Bryan from Minneapolis, MN on 5/30/2017

2007 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this for a 2007 NC Miata, and if you are not going to retain your steering wheel controls, this kit is great as is. I only gave it 4 stars because I did buy the Axxess ASWC-1 Steering Wheel Control Adapter so I could retain my steering controls, but this adapter is missing the two pins needed to finish the job. The wiring for the steering controls are in this same harness, so to make it work you have to either cut into the factory wiring before the adapter, and solder/crimp the Axxess wires in by hand (icky), or buy two of these adapters, and steal the 2 necessary wires and pins from the extra connector, and add them into the connector you will be using. (they come out and in pretty easily if you use a jewelers screwdriver to depress the tiny tab that locks them in place. ) After that it worked great. Not sure why Metra doesn't just spend the extra 2 cents to include the other two pins needed, and save us the expense of having to buy two adapters. Oh wait. Looks like I answered my own question.... :-)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Cape Coral, FL on 4/4/2017

2001 Mazda Protege

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Less than an hour intall with this kit! Awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

With Steering Wheel Control Wires!

Louis from Colorado Springs, CO on 3/19/2017

2013 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Now with Steering Wheel Control Wires! Those are 1N and 1P on Mazda wiring that was not in previous editions of this harness. Sadly there's no way to tell in model number, you just have to look for labels that show later 2009-2015 Mazda models. Easy to wire up, so long as you are handy with a crimp tool and Download the Manual from their website. just going by wiring diagrams for the package can show you only so many of the wire, some such as steering controls are left out. Be sure to crimp with copper from both wires touching each other. To achieve this on 22 gauge wires, I used 16 gauge weather proof connectors, then passed the wires through to overlap each other.

Pros: With Steering Wheel Control Wires. Package shows most wiring pin outs.

Cons: No way to tell steering wheel control feature by product model or version. Full pin out diagram is found only online.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from El Dorado Hills, CA on 3/19/2017

2013 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit no problems

Pros: Easy install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

No wiring for steering wheel controls

Rob from Olathe, KS on 2/17/2017

2008 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Honestly, could Crutchfield not afford to put one more wire into this harness so that I could use my steering wheel controls? This is ridiculous. I shouldn't have to go down to the local electronics store to get a pin pusher and another wire for the harness just because Crutchfield cheaped out on the extra wire needed. Literally all this thing needs is one more wire. That's it. One wire separating this from a five star review. Ridiculous.

Pros: Has all the wires but one.

Cons: Missing a really important wire to control the steering wheel volume, etc..

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Straight forward install that worked great

Crutchfield customer from College Station, TX on 2/14/2017

2004 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple and straight forward. I am not sure what else I can say, but it worked great. Good price.

Pros: Felt substantial Wires came precut for stripping Straight forward

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Harness

Conard from Wichita, KS on 1/21/2017

2011 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instructions were great. wired up very nicely. I don't have much experience installing systems or wiring but this made it easy.

Pros: Easy to wire up Instructions clear

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

No problems

Mark from Seattle, WA on 1/7/2017

2006 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is at least my second, maybe third head unit replacement (different cars) from Crutchfield. GREAT instructions, perfect fit, I've never had to call customer support.

Pros: Easy to follow color code on the bag.

Cons: Hard to get the plug out of my old one -- but that isn't the harnesses fault, that's on Mazda.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Edmond, OK on 1/3/2017

2003 Mazda Protege5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

perfect fit, fast and easy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Chantilly, Va on 1/2/2017

2007 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good quality and fit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fit perfectly

Elijah from Pittsburgh, PA on 1/1/2017

2015 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as advertised, no issues

Pros: Matched the factory harness perfectly

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Missing Pins for NC MX-5 Miata

JR from St. Louis, MO on 12/21/2016

2008 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Almost 10 years later, Metra still hasn't added the two pins necessary to use this harness with a steering wheel control adapter in an NC MX-5. As many other reviews here have said, you need to purchase two harnesses and pull two pins from one of them to make a complete harness.

Pros:

Cons: Missing pins

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Kennewick, WA on 12/14/2016

2002 Mazda Protege5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Denman from Los Angeles, CA on 11/22/2016

2007 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wish I had seen Kyle's post for his 2011 Miata. I am installing this in an 07 Miata grand touring with Bose + steering wheel controls and the 70-7903 doesn't have all of the wires the factory harness has. The ridiculous part is the Space is there, but no pin/wire exists for that position. How idiotic? I, like Kyle in his '11 Miata review had to, will now have to splice into factory wiring (defeating the purpose of using a wiring harness completely) just because Metra doesn't have all of the wires in place to account for all of the spaces on the connector. This is easily avoidable. To recap: If you have an NC Miata w/ Bose and steering wheel controls this is Not A Drop In Harness if you plan to retain the steering wheel control. You will need to tap/cut&splice two wires off the factory harness to the steering wheel unit you select. Huge disappointment on account of Crutchfield (and their tech support as well) for telling me this part was drop in. I don't think I'll be purchasing from Crutchfield again on account of this. If I'm going to have to do all of my own research anyway, what's the point in coming to a place who claims to have done all of the fitment research for me??

Pros: Nicely prepped wires Thick AWG wiring especially on hot/ground leads Quality plastic connector

Cons: Does not have all of the pins populated when they should be

Crutchfield response on 12/6/2016
Thanks to Denman's review, Darren, our Vehicle Integration Buyer, is reviewing how we present our steering wheel interfaces in our system. Prior to this comment, we also included wiring advisories for our steering wheel control interfaces to let customers know that in many cases, cutting and splicing wires is necessary for installation.

1 of 2 found this helpful

Could have been great but is a huge disappointment

Kyle from Dothan, AL on 11/14/2016

2011 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wish I could give this wiring harness a 5 star rating but it is supposed to be an all inclusive harness for the vehicle to prevent having to splice any wires on the factory harness in the car. The problem lies with pins 1n and 1p. on an NC miata these 2 pins are used for the steering wheel control units and are needed to connect a steering wheel controls adapter for the radio. The problem with these 2 pins is that they are nonexistant on this wiring harness adapter. because of Metra not taking the extra 2 minutes to add these pins into their harness it required me to cut my factory harness in my car in order to connect the steering wheel controls adapter. This is a major issue to me as I bought this harness so that I didnt have to cut into my cars harness. I consider that a huge failure on Metras part and this needs to be fixed. If i have to cut and strip 2 wires I'd rather have just saved the money on this harness and done it for all of the wires. The problem in this is that you don't know about this until the metra is delivered and you are working on the install. Crutchfield also doesn't advertise this and I believe they should, but they at least told me when I was in live chat with support so they are able to help with the issue.

Pros: easy to use saves time from having to cut and splice MOST wires

Cons: I still had to cut 2 wires on my cars harness for steering wheel controls Needs to have pins 1n and 1p installed in harness

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Sevierville, TN on 11/13/2016

2003 Mazda Protege

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

fast shipping as usual. perfect fitment

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Broomfield, CO on 10/26/2016

2005 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Two pins were incorrect and required fixing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit, but one crippling flaw

Ken from Aurora, IL on 10/20/2016

2006 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a 2006 Miata. The harness was a perfect fit, but be aware Metra does not include the pins used for the steering wheel controls - but you can get pins from a second adapter and insert them in the empty holes to enable a plug and play steering wheel adapter installation without cutting and splicing into the car's wiring harness. (Search the web for details.). If the two pins and wires were included, I'd give this five stars.

Pros: Well designed, perfect fit, well made

Cons: Missing pins for steering wheel control

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Save yourself a hassle!

Crash from San Luis Obispo, CA on 10/16/2016

2002 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A must have. Makes things nice and simple, easy to connect wires together.

Pros: Simple and easy to use!

Cons: Doesn't come with the little connectors to crimp down

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Durham, NH on 9/7/2016

2012 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great with no problems.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from 23111 on 9/5/2016

2002 Mazda 626

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit great makes a good strong conection

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wiring harness

Martyna from Florida on 8/29/2016

2009 Mazda 5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great for my radio!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy connector

D W from New Jersey on 8/23/2016

2002 Mazda MPV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did not have to splice all the wires for connecting the new system. It is the perfect fit for my vehicle to connect the JVC system. Initially was advised to get the Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness but this did not fit after I removed the old stock system. Call to crutchfield with a picture correctly identified this adapter as the correct one needed for my vehicle. Crutchfield shipped it out for free and did not want the Metra 70-7901 Receiver Wiring Harness back either. Wow, didnt think such great service existed any more. All in all a very happy camper.

Pros: Cheap and handy.

Cons: Did not have the steering wheel signal pin and had to splice that wire from the original bundle. ( 2 wires) Not that bad but would have been ideal if they had been in the harness as well.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wire harness

Gil D from Kilauea, HI on 6/27/2016

2005 Mazda Tribute

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exellent easy to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2002 MAZDA TRIBUTE-Parts_2

Duane from Maricopa, AZ on 5/26/2016

2002 Mazda Tribute

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unknown to myself or the tech I talked to, I needed a different harness since I had a limited edition 6 CD Changer in the old stereo. No ones fault and I worked around it.

Pros: Good quality.

Cons: Wrong part, but not Crutchfield's fault.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

wiring adapter

gwm from lakeville,mn on 5/25/2016

2006 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

by utulizing this ur o.e. wiring is left untouched should u every want to install original unit

Pros: simple to connect to jensen unit through matching colors of wires from jensen to wire harness then just plug into o.e. wire loom

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice

Kev from Lincoln on 4/21/2016

2003 Mazda Tribute

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to wire

Pros: Works great

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Cameron from El Paso, TX on 4/20/2016

2002 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good quality connector

Illinoisuser from Rockford, IL on 4/2/2016

2005 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Always good quality products from Crutchfield, connector worked great, I do like it has copper wires which makes for better solder connections. I use shrink tubing to seal connections. I like that power wires are better gauge wire too.

Pros: Good quality, proper wiring options for vehicle

Cons: Would like wires to be a little longer but not a big deal

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Anon from Minneapolis, MN on 3/28/2016

2003 Mazda Protege

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works. It was included for free with my stereo purchase.

Pros: Wire insulation was pre-cut, so I could simply pull the insulation tips off to prepare them for splicing. I thought that was a nice touch that saved me the time and effort of wire stripping. Wires were color-coded and labeled. For splicing wires, this was about as idiot-proof as they come.

Cons: Crimp caps were not included by Crutchfield, so I used the twist-solder-tape method instead. Soldering makes a better connection, but it was more time consuming. I also happened to have a soldering iron and solder. I doubt the average consumer keeps those in their toolbox.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

receiver wiring harness

Crutchfield customer from arlington, TX on 3/16/2016

2003 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this harness. It make wiring so much easier

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2003 Mazda Tribute

N. Farris from Santa Cruz, CA on 2/3/2016

2003 Mazda Tribute

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wiring harness was as expected, but between this and head unit instructions, it was not as easy as it should have been.

Pros: as expected

Cons: minimal instructions

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

No Issue

LEO K from California on 1/15/2016

2014 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installer had no problem and from look of it wires look durable and reliable

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Harness for 2006 Mazda 3

CG from Texas on 1/9/2016

2006 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use and good instructions!

Pros: Plugs right into your car and you splice to the stereo harness easily.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wiring harness

DylanC from Oviedo fl on 1/9/2016

2007 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice and easy to install

Pros: Easy and colors matched up nice with factory harness

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great harness adapter worked perfectly with minor changes

Wes M. from Florida on 1/6/2016

2006 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

installed on 06 mazda mx5 with axxess steering wheel adapter to Pioneer FH-X720BT. did not add amp or other speakers. I did have to move the blue and blue/white wires over to the 1N and !P positions to which one went to the white and green on the axxess and the 1p to the grounds that the axxess and the radio used. otherwise a flawless installation with easy color matching.

Pros: perfect color matching other than mentioned wire exchange. precut wires make for quick install. perfect fit for my mazda mx5 nc

Cons: had to move to wires that it could have come preinstalled with but move was simple and took 2mins max.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2012 Mazda Dash Install

Kal from Pennsylvania on 1/2/2016

2012 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice harness, wire colors match perfectly with a Pioneer receiver. Took some time to figure out the steering wheel control wiring. As much the fault of the wheel control instructions, but something Metra can keep in mind for the next generation of harnesses.

Pros: Easy, straightforward install.

Cons: The only con is, it would be nice if it included pigtails for the steering wheel control adaptor inputs.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

About as easy as it could be

nw from Indiana on 12/30/2015

2004 Mazda MPV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The harness was fine - nothing special about it - it worked as expected. Would have liked to have seen some additional options so we didn't have to "tap in" to a few of the lines manually.

Pros: The lines were color coded and labelled appropriately. Some of the lines we weren't going to need were already marked with tape.

Cons: We did have to use "t-taps" to splice into the existing steering wheel lines. While easy enough to do, it was something we had to learn about first with the Crutchfield Representative and stop the project to go purchase additional parts at the hardware store. It was very straightforward to accomplish the install, but I think the kit should have come with these extra pieces. We lost time having to research and buy additional parts.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Missing pins for steering wheel control

Espierce from Alabama on 12/23/2015

2013 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had to tap into the wiring harness in order to get to the steering wheel control signals. The addition of two wires on the metra harness would have saved much time. Email to metra tech support were unanswered.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Easy install

Crutchfield customer from California on 12/6/2015

2002 Mazda Protege

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made the install super easy. Worked like I expected.

Pros: All good

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Helpful harness

SteveB from Florida on 12/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Harness made installation easy.

Pros: Very easy to make all Connections bench then install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exactly what I was looking for

Matthew from Pell City, AL on 11/23/2015

2004 Mazda Tribute

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was exactly what I was looking for, had the wiring diagram on the packaging, and helped with a clean and simple install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

The Fixer from California on 11/16/2015

2003 Mazda Protege

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product It,s dummy proof, all wires are labeled easy to follow instructions

Pros: Great product at a great price

Cons: Wish it came with butt connectors to help on installation for a more pro like install.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

TJ from Indiana on 11/16/2015

2007 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

made installation easy

Pros: easy install

Cons: would have been nice if all wires were there for steering wheel control

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Steering wheel connectors

HE from SanFrancisco on 11/13/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfectly

Pros: Fits the wiring of my Mazda 2 just like an original manufacturer part

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy install.

Don from New York on 10/28/2015

2008 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just missed being perfect

W from Monroe, NY on 10/19/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

With one exception, this adapter was exactly what I needed to install a new head unit in my MX5. The adapter is very well built, and allowed east integration without having to cut any wires. The miss is that two pins necessary to use the steering wheel adapter were missing. There were open holes for the pins, but the pins were not included. There were also no instructions included about what to do to correct the problem. I called Crutchfield tech support, who were great with telling me which pins to move, and how to move them. These instructions should be included with the adapter.

Pros: Ease of install

Cons: Missing pins for my installation. Instructions lacking.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works Well

Tony!R from Florida on 10/18/2015

2006 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First one did not work and returned for a new one. Once I received the new one, the installation worked out well. My steering wheel controls all working fine now.

Pros: Works well.

Cons: Instructions on wiring could be better explained or illustrated...Tricky to program.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Adapter Harness

MAH from Indiana on 10/16/2015

2001 Mazda Protege

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What can I say, it connected to my 2001 Mazda Proteges dash harness easy as pie and worked.

Pros: No problems

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great

Scott from henderson, nv on 10/12/2015

2002 Mazda Protege

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was easy and quick. I solder the harness and had no issues

Pros: Simple

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit

Elio C from Minnesota on 10/8/2015

2005 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and program. Works flawlessly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simple.

Jim D. from California on 9/29/2015

2006 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple way to keep the cars wiring intact.

Pros: All wiring colors matched the Pioneer head unit wiring colors.

Cons: The ONLY con is, it would be nice if it included pins, and pigtails, for the steering wheel control adaptor inputs.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Working Harness

Michael from Pennsylvania on 9/25/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My son wanted a new radio for his 2003 Mazda. I Told him I Will do it for you. Its bin a long time since I put a radio in. I mean a long time like when you had to cut the wire harness and try to match the wires. And hope all 4 speakers are working.

Pros: This item was so easy to hook up.It made me look so good to my son .Now I can order a radio for my Ford Escape.Thank you Crutchfield

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works perfectly

AviT from Oregon on 9/17/2015

2003 Mazda Protege5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used this to install a new head unit in my wife's 02 Mazda Protege 5. All the colors matched the head unit wire colors, so it was really easy to figure out what wires to connect. Only way to improve this would be to pre-strip, or at least pre-score, the wire insulation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Charleston, SC on 9/15/2015

2008 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy enough to solder connections to the aftermarket harness. Solid connection to the factory harness as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome Product

Luke P from Indiana on 9/10/2015

2004 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made radio installation a breeze.

Pros: easy installation

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra Harness for MX 5

MedLex from Puerto Rico on 7/27/2015

2008 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quick and easy ordering and receiving of product. I had to modify it to use Bose amp and speakers, works like a dream very good fit.

Pros: Great fit

Cons: No Bose amp contact

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Satisfied

Jorge from Puerto Rico on 7/15/2015

2003 Mazda Protege

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All fit perfectly. Very good!

Pros: Easy to undernstand instructions

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Missing two wires for steering wheel control

Clint from Massachusetts on 7/12/2015

2006 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Metra neglected to include the two wires used for steering wheel control. Had they been there, you could solder all splices to this harness on the workbench. But as is, you need to splice into the car harness in place. This is not an insignificant pain as there is very little slack for splicing. The whole point of a harness adapter is to circumvent any need to cut into the car wiring itself. Had Metra included those two wires, this would be a 5-star product. Without them it's 2-stars.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing

Connor from Minnesota on 7/3/2015

2003 Mazda Protege

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this product. I chatted online and they were able to find me this to install my new radio. It was fast and easy to install with this.

Pros: Fast Easy

Cons: Nothing bad

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just what I needed

Eric from Florida on 6/24/2015

2006 Mazda 5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got everything I needed on Crutchfield. It all works great!

Pros: Fit perfect and even included full wire diagram for harness

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wiring Harness

JohnR from Florida on 6/12/2015

2002 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield provides excellent products and services. When I called for additonal help, they responded quickly and accurately.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra wiring harness

Crutchfield customer from Clarksville, TN on 6/6/2015

2001 Mazda 626

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Even I could do it! Straightforward, quick, and easy using provided instructions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from New Port Richey, FL on 6/5/2015

2006 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very straight forward.....no problems

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from New Mexico on 6/1/2015

2006 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

missing pins for steering wheel controls

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Beware of missing pins!

Robert from California on 5/26/2015

2004 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness was included in Crutchfield's supposedly complete solution to add a new head unit to my 2004 Mazda3. When I went to do the install I was dismayed to learn that the harness did not have 2 pins needed to connect the steering wheel controls adapter. When I called Crutchfield they told me I needed to "hardwire" (as in hack into my factory wiring harness) the steering wheel control adapter. After I called to RMA the radio and everything else Crutchfield sent me a second wiring harness which I was able to cannibalize to the harness the pins I needed.. While I am satisfied that Crutchfield ultimately helped me solve this problem they should not have sold an incomplete solution to begin with and Metra should stop cheaping out and include the pins people need to use.

Pros: Not that difficult to remove pins from a "donor" harness to build a complete harness.

Cons: Missing pins.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

no pin out for steering wheel controls

Crutchfield customer from Wisconsin on 5/25/2015

2015 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

no pin out for steering wheel controls, other then that good product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Great but...

Mike V from Simi Valley, California on 5/16/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Provides easy hook up for basic install but was missing 2 wires to hook up the steering wheel controls.

Pros: Great quality

Cons: does not have wires to connect the OEM steering wheel control!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Close but not complete for 2009 Mazda MX5

Garnetmica from Massachusetts on 5/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had to purchase a second harness in order to get the steering wheel controls in my 2009 Mazda MX5 w/o Bose to work with my Alpine ILX-007. There are two missing pins. I purchased a second harness and had to carefully remove the pins in order to install them in the 1N and 1P locations. There were many people reporting the same issue on the Miata forums so I was lucky to have had some outside guidance.

Pros: Most of it there. The quality of the harness, wires and pins are very good.

Cons: Had to buy a second harness to add pins for steering wheel controls.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Good product

Chad from Brooklyn, mi on 5/8/2015

2007 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made installation a breeze.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very Good Harness

Tj from Frederick MD on 4/10/2015

2004 Mazda Tribute

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent installation kit. Fit the factory harness perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great harness!

Crutchfield customer from Maryland on 4/8/2015

2007 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Metra harness fit seamlessly mated my new Kenwood head unit to my 2007 Mazda 3. The harness included 2 connectors (powered antenna and remote amp) that were not being used. I was able to re-pin the unused wires to other places on the harness for connecting my new PAC-SWI-RC steering wheel control which prevented me from splicing into the factory wires which I was trying to avoid at all costs. This is a great harness, I would not hesitate to buy another when the need comes.

Pros: fits perfect, extra wires (in my case)

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Needed but pins wrong

Jmk from Redmond, WA on 2/22/2015

2006 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Look, you need it. On my car, 2 of the pins that connected to the Axxess box and the antenna power were incorrect. After not getting this to work and a call to Crutchfield not helping, I noticed the wire mismatch when snapping the shells together. Took a few minutes to swap pins. It all worked fine. Cost me some head angling over two evenings. :-(

Pros: You need it

Cons: You need it to be correct

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

It works

Doober from California on 2/10/2015

2002 Mazda Protege

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works. Hooray.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cheaped out

ChrisC from Phoenix, AZ on 2/6/2015

2008 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sadly, the manufacturer cheaped out with the harness. Only about half of the wires on the stock harness are filled. This isn't necessarily a bad thing, but they didn't include the pins and wires for the steering wheel radio controls! So I had to move the amp connections over to the steering wheel radio pins (because I don't have an amp and had the non-bose radio). It was a pain pushing the pins out and then plugging them into the correct spots. Another $0.25 of wires and pins would have made this so much easier. I have a 2008 Mazda Miata, non-Bose radio and steering wheel radio controls.

Pros: Don't have to cut into the stock harness. Plugs in perfectly. Colors on wires are industry standard.

Cons: Not all pin spots filled. Need to modify the wiring so it'll work with the steering wheel controls or cut into the car radio harness.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Beginner

Daniel A. from Naperville, IL on 1/19/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My first time wiring a aftermarket radio and it was really simple u just matched the colors and u can put your stock radio back in whenever u want too.

Pros: Very easy and simple u don't really need the instructions.

Cons: the should make it a double way adapter.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works as advertised

Crutchfield customer from Grandville, MI on 1/16/2015

2005 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does the job well.

Pros: Works great, easy and quick install.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-7903 Receiver Wiring Harness

Edwin from California on 1/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple wire harness

Pros: Easy set up and installion.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Needs help

Ken from Sedona, AZ on 11/18/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The harness fits a Miata but 2 of the pins don't have or match the factory harness, hence you need to bypass the harness union...not good as they don't tell you this!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

AMAZING and Simply

Mr Bacon from Las Vegas, NV on 11/3/2014

2003 Mazda MPV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy and best way to use the current wiring even with factory amp and sub woofer.

Pros: Easy and simply

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works perfectly

Lee from Boston, MA on 8/23/2005

2003 Mazda Protege5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Took me 15 minutes to wire this harness up to my Kenwood stereo. Didn't really need the directions as the color codings were pretty much dead on. It even works with the dimmer in my car. Great product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 15 found this helpful

TOP