Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
298 167 433 3
Connect ID #
298 167 433 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 70-8112 Receiver Wiring Harness

Connect a new car stereo in select 1992-2000 Lexus and Toyota vehicles

MFR # 70-8112

Metra 70-8112 Receiver Wiring Harness

Metra 70-8112 Receiver Wiring Harness

Connect a new car stereo in select 1992-2000 Lexus and Toyota vehicles

MFR # 70-8112

73 reviews
View this product

Metra 70-8112 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Mission Viejo, CA on 9/7/2020

1999 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was super easy to connect up..used some heat activated connectors for a solid connection.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

prefect

Hector from Bloomfield, CT on 7/28/2020

1996 Lexus ES300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

perfect fit. made install a breeze

Pros: all things good

Cons: no issues

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8112 Receiver Wiring Harness

Louis from Woodbridge, VA on 6/8/2020

1995 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Facilitated easier connection. Some confusion about which wires to connect, but customer service cleared that up quickly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy hook up

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, CO on 5/30/2020

1998 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy hook up for a 98 Avalon. No adjustments needed. My 17yr old had no problems even with it being his 1st time hooking up the new head unit

Pros: Quick connect with no problems

Cons: There are no cons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8112 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Wichita, KS on 5/27/2020

1999 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Probably would have been great if I had factory amps. Car has 6 speakers and the online tool said this was the correct harness. NOPE!! Had to cut factory wires to complete install. :(

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8112 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis , MO on 4/30/2020

1998 Lexus ES300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything worked perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8112 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Port Murray, NJ on 4/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Saved alot of time!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8112 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 10/27/2019

1996 Lexus LX450

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy installation of new pioneer head unit thanks to this Metra harness on my 1996 Lexus LX450 great product!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8112 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, VA on 8/11/2019

1995 Lexus SC300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great good wire and construction

Pros: Everything plugged in great

Cons: May have to ground to body instead of through the harness to keep static down

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8112 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Huntsville, AL on 5/15/2019

1999 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit my OEM harness exactly made the installation quick and painless

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked perfectly

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 2/19/2019

1999 Lexus ES300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I called in support and getting highly technical help on wiring up to the built-in the car amp that I couldn't believe that it worked perfectly. With this simple harness my old car now adapting the high tech android radio with wifi gadget.

Pros: Simplicity

Cons: The wire color coding is not matching up.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8112 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Roswell, GA on 2/4/2019

1996 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It matched perfectly and saved me from splicing rear speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8112 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from White, GA on 12/30/2018

1999 Lexus ES300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good idea, that didn't work for me. The factory amp caused a constant high frequency whine at all times (not alternator noise) even with engine off. Needs a direct battery + feed and ignition feed and ground from a source "other" than the factory radio harness. Because, battery power, ignition voltage and ground all come "from" the factory amp. Also, the amp turn on wire from the aftermarket head unit must be wired to turn on the factory amp. So now you don't have a dedicated turn-on wire for your subwoofer amp. SO, I disconnected the factory amp. Made a speaker wire harness to plug into speaker output connector at the amp using the speaker level output from the aftermarket radio. With factory amp disconnected, you no longer have either of your power sources or ground to the radio since they came "from" the factory amp. So after all this, the Metra 70-8112 is totally useless for a Lexus/Toyota application. Save yourself a headache and just pre-make a harness and skip this one.

Pros: Good idea...

Cons: ...that doesn't work

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Metra 70-8112 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Taylorsville, NC on 11/8/2018

1997 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Would be better if the instruction told you what to do with the rca.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect Fit

Kevin from Parkland, FL on 8/20/2018

1998 Lexus ES300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect setup..was able to pre hookup radio and harness...and it worked perfectly.

Pros: Color Coded, labeled..all great

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It's a harness...

Crutchfield customer from Carrollton, GA on 8/12/2018

1999 Toyota Celica GT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Harness plugs right in to car. No illumination wire. Looked online to find which pin is illumination. Used a piece of 18 ga. thermostat wire stripped to pin length. Added a dab of silicone to secure, and now illumination circuit works fine.

Pros: Plugs right in

Cons: No illumination wire

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8112 Receiver Wiring Harness fits well with LX450

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 2/20/2018

1997 Lexus LX450

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Thanks CrutchField for proving the Metra 70-8112 Receiver Wiring Harness; it fits well with Lexus LX450.

Pros: The wiring harness fits well with the Boss BN965BLC in my LX450.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8112 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Scottsdale, AZ on 1/16/2018

1997 Toyota Land Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit to wire up my new head unit going into my 1997 Land Cruiser. It exactly matched the Toyota harness in the dash. The 4 finished plugs fit snugly into the back of the JVC KD-X340BTS I purchased. I called up Crutchfield tech support and was walked through matching the remaining wires to the JVC harness. Talking to tech support made it a piece of cake. Soldered them (because I'm old fashioned) and was done in 15 min. I also like the fact that this harness has the wire tips pre-cut so all you have to do is slide off the tip. I hate cutting wires and having a few copper strands come with the strip.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8112 Wire Harness

Rob from KY on 12/29/2017

1999 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this piece so now I've been through 2 harnesses and Crutchfield told me this would fit my 1999 Toyota Avalon xls. Wouldn't work so then I cut one of aux cables like Crutchfield rep told me and still no result. I could see the screen but no sound which was my whole issue from the start. I wish u all would send me another now I'm working with 3 aux instead of 4

Pros:

Cons: Did not work

Crutchfield response on 1/1/2018
Once we saw this review, our Customer Support team sent out another harness to Rob. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact us right away. We can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase.

1 of 2 found this helpful

Nice solution to keep factory amp!

Kenneth from San Antonio, TX on 9/18/2017

1996 Lexus LX450

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great if your stock amp isn't dead! Nice plug and play unit with minimal wiring required. Unfortunately the stock amp in my LX450 was dead so I had to go a different route.

Pros: Easy to connect.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8112 Receiver Wiring Harness

Jay from Garden City, NY on 8/22/2017

1999 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works perfect. gives real meaning to plug and play

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Get this makes life easier

Kevin from Montclair, NJ on 4/11/2017

1998 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made it truly easy to install

Pros: plug and play, with a list of wire outputs

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great design.

Mike from Harrison, AR on 4/5/2017

1995 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great design. Made it easy to change out the system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great customer service

Jacob from Pennsylvania on 2/12/2017

1998 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made setup a breeze in my '98 Toyota Avalon, great help from Crutchfield customer service when I requested a wiring diagram to help in the install

Pros: Easy setup

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8112 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Canton, Ga on 1/23/2017

1999 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome part. After 3 other purchases from other sources, Crutchfield spent the time on the phone with me and made sure I had the right item. Took about 45 minutes on the phone but once part came in, radio in 99 Avalon was replaced and up in running in about 10 minutes.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8112 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Boston, MA on 11/15/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As expected performance. Make everything easier and neater. Great product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wiring harness

Darren; 1995 Lexus ES300 from Grapevine, TX on 10/16/2016

1995 Lexus ES300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness was very easy to install, with one call to tech support with a question about one wiring problem which was rectified very quickly. Only disappointment is now I have alternator noise! Probably because of the common ground design (I think?). Otherwise, works fine.

Pros: Fits great; easy install

Cons: Alternator noise

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Stereo harness

mrcloud from Oklahoma City, OK on 6/20/2016

1993 Toyota MR2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Harness installed with no issue. The Crutchfield technical assistance was spot on, very friendly and courteous while answering my stupid questions. Thank you for the help

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect wiring harness

William from Springfield, PA on 6/2/2016

1999 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is what you need for a Toyota that has the factory amp and 6 or 7 speakers. Made life so much easier to wire in the radio.

Pros: Factory fit.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Receiver Wiring Harness for 1998 Lexus ES 300

Peter from Henderson, NV on 5/23/2016

1998 Lexus ES300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The METRA 70-8112 harness works just fine except that it does not have an Orange illumination wire; however, the harness DOES have the connector for a power antenna. It is the solid blue wire in pin 8. Since my car does not have a power antenna, I removed the pin 8 connector and reinserted it into the pin 2 position, and was able to connect the illumination control wire to my new radio. Also, the RCA connectors grounds are not separate form each other or the radio's ground. This caused a ground loop because of the way that the 1998 Lexus ES 300 sends power and ground to the receiver via the 5 channel amp behind the glove box. Grounding the radio directly to the frame did not fix the problem. The fix was to add a Monoprice 106909 Four Channel Ground Loop Isolator to the RCA outputs. Now it all works.

Pros: Works.

Cons: No Orange illumination control wire. Combines ground wires into one pin.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Worked great

Jeremy from Shelbyville,Tn on 5/12/2016

1999 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The product worked great it was exactly what I was looking for and it also was delivered pretty quickly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Why no illumination wire??

Jim from Duncan, SC on 2/29/2016

1995 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great except for missing the illumination pin and wire. I used it in a '95 Avalon, integrating the OEM amp. It is really annoying I had to rig up the illumination wire around the adapter connectors. Seems really silly it was left out.

Pros: It made the installation mostly easy.

Cons: Missing illumination pin and wire. I mean, why is that wire missing?

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

What's not to like

RC from California on 11/17/2015

1999 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What's not to like about this product. I spoke with a rep via Crutchfield's eChat and they directed me to the right product. It came a day quicker than expected. I had the old radio out and the new one installed very quickly using this wiring harness.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very good

j from Maryland on 11/5/2015

1998 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good. Worked well with JVC KD-R760 in 1998 Avalon, 7 speaker. Only thing missing is there is no connection to Illumination wire (pin 2) in Avalon harness. Don't know why they didn't include that. Without it, display won't dim when headlights are turned on. However, it was easy to add a jumper to go from the pin 2 wire in the Avalon harness and go to the JVC Illumination wire. After doing that, the display dims as it should. Otherwise, it was fine, seems well made, and worked well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Lacks illumination wire

ilovetofu from Arizona on 10/15/2015

1998 Lexus ES300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This wiring harness lacks the illumination wire, which annoyed me as my aftermarket stereo supports automatic dimming. I ended up replacing this with a different wiring harness since that one does have the orange/white illumination wire.

Pros: Works.

Cons: Lacks illumination wire.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Integrate factory amp

Crutchfield customer from California on 10/6/2015

1995 Toyota Celica GT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ended up using an aftermarket amp in my car so I never used this harness. Keep in mind that this is intended to wire up to your existing factory amp. If you wanna run you're own amp or run the power from the head unit, be sure to pick up the other Toyota harness Crutchfield offers. I'd image it would work great if you had other plans. Good quality!

Pros: Can integrate factory amp

Cons: Will use up for 2 pre-amp outputs so only use if you don't wanna add a sub in the future

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good harness

oujo2005 from Oklahoma on 9/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great harness, works as expected.

Pros: Easy to install with a little help from crutchfield

Cons: Could use better instructions, i.e. need to connect all the blue cables together for sound to work

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked great

Em from California on 5/7/2015

1997 Lexus ES300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfect...just what the doctor ordered.

Pros: Easy, clean, good quality.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8112 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KU on 1/17/2015

1997 Lexus ES300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Works like it is supposed to.

Pros: Ease of use

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8112 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Virginia on 11/13/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Almost perfect. No dimmer wire.

Pros:

Cons: No wire for dimmer.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8112 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 10/29/2014

1996 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty straightforward. I had minimal issues.

Pros: Simple

Cons: Could come with car specific instructions

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Always the Best!!

gasounds from Lihue,HI on 10/21/2014

1997 Lexus ES300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Metra always makes great products!! What else can I say!!

Pros: Solid wiring and connections!

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

wow you guys suck

Crutchfield customer from Lexington on 9/30/2014

1991 Toyota MR2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So this is my 3rd harness I have received from Crutchfield. I called the number provided on your Web site to insure I was buying the correct part. When I tried to explain my situation your representative was pushy and would not let me get a word out. He promised this was the correct harness. It was not. So thank you Crutchfield for wasting more of my time and money.

Pros: Shipping was fast

Cons: Not the correct part

Crutchfield response on 10/7/2014
Sorry about the trouble on this purchase. However, we want to let you know that as a result of your information we have removed the harness from listing as working with your vehicle, and we have refunded the cost of the harness to you. We are in the process of looking for a supplier of a harness that will work for this application.

1 of 1 found this helpful

metra wiring harness

Scott from straughn In on 8/26/2014

1999 Toyota Celica GT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Connects to your new wiring harness on your new stereo and then plugs right into your cars wiring harness, can't get to much easier

Pros: easy to use

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome!

KJMick from Audubon, MN on 8/17/2014

1995 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A true plug and play, all you need is a few butt connectors and a crimping tool and you're good to go

Pros: Easy install, no sound issues

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Installation made easy

Junior from Escondido CA on 5/28/2014

1998 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the only piece needed when you install the stereo

Pros: Nothing else needed

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

70-8112

Pete from Concord,NC on 5/26/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

OK product

Milo from San Diego, CA on 4/29/2014

1997 Lexus ES300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works fine. However, it picked up engine noise without noise loop isolator.

Pros: Ease of use.

Cons: Needs noise loop isolator to reduce engine noise, with noise loop isolator the audio quality dropped.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit

Easy install from Tucson, AZ on 4/21/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The harness fit directly into my existing wiring was perfect!

Pros: Excellent and easy installation!

Cons: No cons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Finally the right product

Major from Chicago IL on 4/13/2014

1999 Toyota Camry Solara

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Finally found the connector for my stock radio. The JBL radio with the built in amp on a 1999 Toyota Solara. This product is hard to find. But at long last I got what I needed.

Pros: If you ordered the kit to install and it was obviously wrong, this is the RIGHT one.

Cons: Well now my dashlights don't work, so, you know, there's that

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

1998 Lexus SC400 Wire Harness

NSRUIZ from San Diego, CA on 4/13/2014

1998 Lexus SC400

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy as 1-2-3. Piece of cake. Good stuff!

Pros: Easy to use. Minimal wires to hook up. RCAs work perfect to integrate the factory amplified Nakamichi system.

Cons: I wish there was a way to integrate the factory subwoofer off of the factory 5 channel Nakamichi amp with this harness like it does for the mids.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does not work on my Lexus SC400

stovall from Birmingham, AL on 4/2/2014

1995 Lexus SC400

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've put i in countless stereos over the years and I've screwed with this thing for 3 hours and can't even get power to my head unit let alone get to see if I get the annoying noise of the stock amp I've read all about as I rummaged the internet looking for answers. Going to just look for a working stock unit instead

Pros: ummm, it came wrapped in plastic so not much trash

Cons: My center console is in 40 pieces for no reason

Crutchfield response on 4/6/2014
We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8112 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Augusta, GA on 2/22/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

product works great but, wasn't sent all equipment needed to perform all speakers.

Pros: Crutchfield has the best customer service/tech support I've ever dealt with.

Cons: so good at what they do I don't want to shop around!!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome!

glasj2002 from Burlington, KY on 1/29/2014

1995 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So..wiring a stereo in some of these cars nowadays is lot different then when I was younger. My son's Toyota comes with a built in amp and and a trunk mount cd changer. Wiriing was going all over the place to say the least and if you try to get to the wiring before it begins its journey behind the dash, you have about an inch to work with in a very tight space. The wire colors mean NOTHING....you need a special legend to get the right ones - and then those are the ones going into the amp - not the radio. So - called Crutchfield - WOW - they knew EXACTLY what they were talking about. I ordered this harness to plug into the existing radio harness and it WORKS GREAT!!! No splicing, no issues... If I had purchased this first, I could have save about 3 hrs pulling off the glovebox, reseraching wiring diagrams, watching youtube videos, puttung things back on the car.... Thanks to the Crutchfield folks!!! You guys were awesome. Really love the tech.support!!

Pros: Easy, easy, easy

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Painless!

bird from Lancaster, Pa. on 9/16/2013

1991 Toyota MR2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Saved me from having to hack the factory harness and made the radio install painless and quick. Everything connected perfect the 1st. time out, Crutchfield really does their homework and they are just a phone call away if you incounter a bump in the road with your install.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Lexus SC400 Receiver Wiring Harness

bigt from Redondo Beach, Ca on 6/18/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does exactly what product says it will do.

Pros: Easy hook up.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

best quality and functionality

AL from new york, NY on 4/24/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

couldn't have asked for an easier setup. All wires came pre-stripped for easy soldering to the aftermarket headunit wires. all wires were color coded and matched correctly. sound quality is awesome. RCA plugs made plugging them into the HU a breeze!

Pros: pre-stripped, great quality, easy connections

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

not the best harness

sduke from Lubbock, TX on 4/5/2013

1997 Toyota Celica GT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was the harness Crutchfield sent to fit a 97 Celica with 6 speaker system and aux amp. It is NOT the correct harness for that application. I made it work by cutting off some ends and re-wiring. It was better than nothing...but not by much

Pros: It came in the box with the unit. color codes were close.

Cons: didn't fit my vehicle/receiver combo. had to modify to make it work

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

So so harness

G from Texas on 10/9/2012

1998 Lexus SC300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness was easy to connect and all's well ends well right? Wrong! Once you turn on the radio you get this annoying buzzing sound that can really be irritating at times. Keep in mind this harness went on a sc300 1998 with full trim package and everything. I have this can be aliminated by installing an aftermarket amp and speakers. Also if you have a center subwoofer you will lose it. So to the chase...easy harness to hook up and install but annoying sound once radio is on.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Annoying buzzing sound

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not so good in sc300

Nick from NC on 7/7/2012

1992 Lexus SC300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Designed to use factory amps and makes a lot of noise.

Pros: Get;s it working.

Cons: wire like illumination missing. terrible ground noise

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome and easily to use

550Joe from Hendersonville, NC on 5/22/2012

1995 Toyota MR2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, did exactly what it's supposed to

Pros: No need to hack up your cars harness

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wow... this thing works well

Scott from Indiana on 5/15/2012

1998 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked like a charm! Easy to install following the head unit and wiring diagram provided with the harness. Allowed me to continue to use the factory amp in my '98 Avalon and the sound from the new head unit is very good! I used solder and heat shrink to join the head unit to the harness... very easy to do, but if you prefer not to solder, you could easily use wire connectors to do the job.

Pros: Fit perfectly. Low Cost Works as advertised

Cons: Wish the illumination wire was part of the harness as an option.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Easy as Pie..Plugs right in.

Al from Maryland on 5/9/2012

1999 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the way to go. Everything works as it should have.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easiest install ever

Barney Mc from Ramona, CA on 4/29/2012

1997 Toyota Land Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This adapter made for the easiest installation I have ever done, and it works great. I have installed a lot of car radios, most from Crutchfield, and this adapter made this installation the easiest ever.

Pros: Almost plug and play. Only a few crimps and no cutting of the harness in the vehicle.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Wiring harness for 1999 Toyota Avalon

Paul from Port St. Lucie, FL on 3/28/2012

1999 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unfortunately, this wiring harness did not fit my Toyota. Since I had the front dash of the car already taken apart, I got a replacement harness from a local dealer and had to splice all of the wires together. The necessary wiring harness would have required 2 concentrators, not 1. Neither of the Toyota concentrators matched this wiring harness' concentrator.

Pros:

Cons: It did not work with, or match the wiring in my 1999 Toyota Avalon.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Some_Defects

Sri from centreville,va on 4/15/2011

1995 Lexus ES300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Came along with the Clarion radio for my 95 lexus es 300. Had everything good in it but there is no connection for the illumination control. So I couldnt set up the illumination control in the radio which goes dim while you turn on the headlight. I checked the harness several time but it doesnt give me the provision or mark sheet doesnt show me where to connect. Otherwise everything is perfect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Completely Easy

Mbrandow from Florida on 2/20/2011

1998 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had to make 1 phone call to ask for help....Couldn't have been easier!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8112 Receiver Wiring Harness

dug from pittsburgh , pa on 1/26/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy to follow directions and easy to work with harness

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8112 Receiver Wiring Harness

Mddhattr from Martinsburg WV on 2/25/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wasn't worried about the illumination wire and this made hookup a breeze. You have to love Crutchfield for sending this for free.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Almost Perfect

mmarzullo from Churchville, MD on 1/20/2010

1998 Lexus ES300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As a previous reviewer pointed out, this harness is missing the ORANGE ILLUMINATION lead in the number 2 position. If you are OK with not having your radio dim when you turn on your headlights this won't be a problem. I want the radio to dim when the headlights are turned on, just like the rest of the interior lights. Sure wish I had read the previous review ahead of time. I called Crutchfield to ask what could be done to fix the harness and they said sorry, they don't make the harnesses and there is nothing they can do for me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8112 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from dallas, tx on 9/22/2009

1999 Lexus SC400

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, works just the way they advertised and definitely well worth it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Almost perfect.

broderp from DAYTON, OHIO on 11/12/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

PROS: Very good Quality. Fits just like OEM conector on Radio, with a nice positive feel. Secure. (Good job sourcing this Crutchfield!) Wire colors matched radio for easy matching and connection. CONS: The connector is MISSING a wire in the #2 position for ILLUMINATION. (usually an ORANGE wire) If your car does not have a 12v wire for illumination and/ or you don't care about dimming your radio lights with the headlight switch on the car, then this may not matter. Crutchfield was VERY accomodating and was able to help me and sent me a second one to take a wire out of to use. It required me to basically destroy the connector, and I carefully reused the crimp connector and soldered an ORANGE wire in place. The result looks like it was made that way. I have years of experience with this type of work and access to the proper tools. I only rate this 3 stars because of the work required for my application. I would give it 3.5 stars if I could. If the orange wire was there, I would have gave it a 5 star rating. In case this info helps: My car is a 1995 TOYOTA CELICA GT with 6 speakers, double din headunit with separate amp. I installed a Kenwood DNX5120.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

I love crutchfield

Thomas from Gibbsboro, NJ on 4/13/2008

1998 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I went to two local places to find a harness for my 98 Avalon and both said they had one that works and theyre sure it would work. So I go and neither fit. Thank god for crutchfield otherwise I couldnt get a aftermarket head unit. The instructions that came with it were easy to read and very helpful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 18 found this helpful

TOP