Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Install the Axxess ASWC-1 steering wheel control adapter in select 2003-up Toyota vehicles without splicing (requires item #120ASWC1, sold separately)

MFR # 70-8114

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Install the Axxess ASWC-1 steering wheel control adapter in select 2003-up Toyota vehicles without splicing (requires item #120ASWC1, sold separately)

MFR # 70-8114

125 reviews
View this product

Worked well

Crutchfield customer from Fenelton, PA on 1/13/2021

2006 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This worked perfectly and allowed me to connect the steering control box to my stereo with minimal wiring.

Pros: Inexpensive and simple design.

Cons: Expensive to ship overnight by Crutchfield.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Makes Installs Easy

Crutchfield customer from Hamilton, MT on 12/26/2020

2004 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Making life easy. Do you want your steering wheel controls to work? Then get this.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Woodland, CA on 9/8/2020

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm happy with my purchase the only thing it takes to long to turn on&Navigation is slow

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Heflin, AL on 8/24/2020

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Geart

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Bangor, PA on 8/4/2020

2004 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent harness, a little confusing to instal. Contacted support and they walked me through it and made it so much easier. Highly recommend using Crutchfield for all you auto and home sterio needs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Yonkers, NY on 7/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised Very happy with the tech support

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Snohomish, WA on 6/22/2020

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. I had Crutchfield do the wiring harness to speed up the install. Easy Plug and Play.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Maysville, NC on 6/14/2020

2004 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good harness

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Works fine, instructions not the most intuitive, extra adapter needed.

Casey from KANSAS CITY, KS on 5/31/2020

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Interesting that an adapter (Access ASWC-1) needs an adapter, but once the counterintuitive installation instructions (for both adapters) are muddled through, worked fine without any additional programming needed. Steering wheel controls on 2010 Tacoma work with Kenwood KIV-700 reciever.

Pros: Worked fine after just plugging in, no additional programming required.

Cons: Multiple instructions for an adapter for an adapter are not the most intuitive.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

The finishing touch!

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth, TX on 4/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything works as advertised. And I am enjoying my new system very much. Andrew and Chris were a tremendous help leading me through this upgrade.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pinned out wrong

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 3/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was pinned out wrong for my Sienna. Everything was shifted by a pin. So I had to tear it apart and make due with the pieces.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy Easy Easy

Crutchfield customer from Phenix City, AL on 1/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy Plug and Play

Pros: plug and play

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Bettendorf, IA on 12/27/2019

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. 2005 toyota camry.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 9/20/2019

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome Harness! Definitely makes it a "Plug & Play," matched vehicle factory wiring exactly. Super easy connection, only had to connect Red Power wire and Black Ground wire. Then plug it in and allow adapter self program! Quick, easy and clean wiring. Worked perfectly and saved time! Would definitely recommend, totally worth the price!

Pros: Only have two wires to connect, + red and - black. You can totally discard the assembly that comes with the Steering Wheel Control Adapter, making it plug and play into factory wiring. Easy connection and install. Totally worth the price.

Cons: Package I received was purchased as "New;" however, the packaging was open about 1 1/2 inches across the bottom upon delivery. Also one of the wire wraps was partially melted, leaving me to question whether it was "previously used and sold to me as NEW." I installed the part anyway, despite my uncertainty over the package being open and wiring partially melted as if it was previously installed. Also Crutchfield could inform customers better about "vehicle specific" harness availability!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Plug and Play : Careful if Kenwood

Crutchfield customer from Rockwall, TX on 7/27/2019

2003 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was already wired to my ReadyHarness. If you are using a Kenwood the mini-jack does not go into the radio. There is a female mini-jack that Crutchfield connected to my ReadyHarness there you plug this into.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Useless

Crutchfield customer from Chattanooga, TN on 7/23/2019

2010 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Useless

Pros: Nine

Cons: If you have a Toyota take it with a grain of salt when told it will work.

Crutchfield response on 7/31/2019
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support guru, Cris, reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get his steering wheel controls working properly, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Lebanon, GA on 7/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Buy it

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 7/8/2019

2005 Lexus ES330

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If this is an option for you install, buy it. Saves so much time. I installed one system with and one without. World of difference.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Tallahassee, FL on 6/26/2019

2006 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Grateful for this service. Made installation much easier for me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Oak Brook, IL on 6/19/2019

2007 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product helped to power the Axxess ASWC-1 for my 2007 Toyota Highlander.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Junk

Crutchfield customer from Port Orchard, WA on 6/13/2019

2010 Scion xB

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's Junk does not work on my 2088 Scion xB.

Pros: NONE

Cons: Does not work on my vehicle, it's Junk.

Crutchfield response on 6/18/2019
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, Nicole, reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get the harness connected and working properly, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Don't waste your money

Crutchfield customer from Galt, CA on 5/6/2019

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have installed about 10 sound systems over the last 30 years. I've never had an item as poorly made as this one. The instructions did not work, the adapter would not mate tightly to the oem plug. A compete waste of money.

Pros: None - I wouldn't recommend this to anyone.

Cons: Poor fit, poor instructions,

Crutchfield response on 5/8/2019
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, Casey, reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either get a replacement on the way, or help him return it for a refund.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Laveen, AZ on 4/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plug & play immediately worked.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Lake Charles, LA on 4/14/2019

2006 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made connecting a snap.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Paul

Crutchfield customer from Kitty Hawk, NC on 3/8/2019

2006 Scion xA

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you are putting in the steering wheel controls and this adapter comes up as an option, BUY IT! It eliminates the use of the multi wire confusing adapter that comes with the controller itself. This adapter is brilliant and takes away all the guess work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Norman, OK on 2/24/2019

2007 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great and was easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Steering Wheel Control Harness

Eric from Alpharetta, GA on 2/6/2019

2003 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Work great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It works!

Crutchfield customer from Laguna Niguel, CA on 1/20/2019

2005 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This came installed into the Ready Harness. In this case, though, the two RCA plugs are not used. So, they're sitting behind the dash unconnected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Mesa, AZ on 1/17/2019

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exact fit no guessing.

Pros: Plug and play

Cons: None noted

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Issaquah, WA on 12/22/2018

2008 Scion xB

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The pins from the plug that goes into the auto's steering wheel control harness are easily misaligned and one of them was not secure. It took many, many tries to get them all to seat properly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Chambersburg, PA on 10/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a nice way to handle all the wiring. No doubt there is still a lot of unknowns depending upon the aftermarket heads you're putting in but the harness certainly is better than hand wiring your own. I chatted with Crutchfield on some wiring identification (color codes on my Tacoma didn't match the "manufacture's" color coding. Everything works fine now! Without Crutchfield, I would just church the whole idea.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

In control

Brandy from Irmo, SC on 10/12/2018

2007 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A quick easy wiring kit to make it possible to use your steering wheel controls.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Kent, OH on 9/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worth the couple extra bucks to not have to splice a bunch of wires.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from RI on 8/17/2018

2005 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, very easy to install!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

James from Long Beach, CA on 8/6/2018

2005 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works like a charm

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Woodstock, GA on 5/19/2018

2006 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Took reading through 3 different installation manuals, but finally got it to work with stock steering wheel controls! Works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Scott G from Mesa, AZ on 2/18/2018

2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for my 07 FJ Cruiser

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Matthew from Middleton, ID on 2/14/2018

2008 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great no issues.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Childersburg, AL on 1/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly. Shipping a little high but as far as product goes it was exactly what I needed. Thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Mabelvale, AR on 12/19/2017

2006 Scion xB

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple install. Does what is supposed to do.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best buy

Trever from Hyrum, UT on 10/26/2017

2007 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got to tell ya! This made my install so much easier! I would recommend this to anyone to speed up the process

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

My toyota

Carlos from Hazleton, PA on 10/22/2017

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Should off it when customers order a reciver of it available for there car

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Winston Salem, NC on 10/3/2017

2009 Scion xB

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness made the install of the AXC1 very easy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 9/4/2017

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing was worth twice as much as I paid for it! Throw the original away and use this one- no need to identify or splice wires to keep steering wheel controls (when used with the other items, of course)! Highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Hackensack, NJ on 9/3/2017

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Doesn't actually fit a 2005 Toyota Camry as described. I had to hard wire it. Once that's done, it works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

James from Clayton, NC on 7/3/2017

2010 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Much better than having to splice a lot of wires.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked for me

Ed from Lancaster County, PA on 5/7/2017

2006 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kit eliminates the need to cut & solder wires for the steering wheel control box. I didn't realize this required power and ground connections until after I was finished with the radio harness (had to go back and add another splice...my bad). The connector for the factory harness does not "snap" in (looks like to should) so I wrapped it with tape to hold it. Seems to work fine.

Pros: Fairly simple install

Cons: Connector does not "snap"

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 4/27/2017

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was in addition to the other wiring harness needed to operate my Toyota Camry to my new radio. The RCA's are not needed and just hang but overall I am happy I have steering wheel controls.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Dash Controls

Gary from Greenbank, WA on 4/20/2017

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice kit but it was not complete. A separate controller box was required.

Pros: Plugged right in.

Cons: Separate controller required, not included. Wiring instructions were a little vague.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Did the job with trivial issues

Bob from Bowie, MD on 3/27/2017

2005 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This solved my problem of connecting a Metra steering wheel box to my Prius. It would have been perfect if it had had pins 9 and 10 wired, so I could easily put on the ridiculous 68 ohm resistor required to make climate control work. Also, the connector didn't quite go all the way into the car socket (no SNAP!), but the electrical connection was fine, so I put some tape on it to make sure it stayed connected. I did buy this as a white-box discount, so you expect little stuff like that.

Pros: Fit well enough Had the signal pins I absolutely needed

Cons: No SNAP at connection

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Westminster, CO on 2/26/2017

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works fine and had no problems installing this harness. it was a simple plug and play operation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Patrick from Greer, SC on 2/10/2017

2004 Lexus RX330

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used this harness to connect the aswc-1 steering wheel control box to my 2004 Lexus RX330 steering control. Connector easy to wire up. Only issue was the white connector that matches up with the Car connector does not 'lock' together. I used electrical tape to tape the connector together so these is no chance for them to separate.

Pros: Easy to wire

Cons: Connector didn't lock into the car connector.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Janesville, WI on 2/8/2017

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice and simple

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 1/17/2017

2008 Scion xB

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fine but the documentation left a bit to be desired, not as specific to the vehicle as it needs to be and it took a call to Crutchfield Tech Support to get right. Great support but a better document would have been better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Menlo Park, CA on 1/6/2017

2005 Lexus RX330

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's doing the job as expected with no issues

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Covington, KY on 1/5/2017

2007 Scion tC

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

worked fairly well except the jack would not close completely. It was just a 1/16 or so from latching in. Nothing a wire tie wouldn't over come.

Pros:

Cons: Fit

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Made it easy

Bob from Charlottesville, VA on 12/8/2016

2006 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very concerned about doing this install since I never did one with a steering wheel connector, but once you figure it all out, it's a snap! Had to watch various youtubes, talked to Crutchfield tech support, but the call to Metra answered the question. For my 2006 Rav4, it was simply plugging the 3.5 male into the female 3.5 adapter, and connecting the brown wire from the adapter to the blue yellow of the radio harness. And that was it!

Pros: Simple install once you knew what to do.

Cons: Confusing at first, watched various youtubes, called Crutchfield, but finally after talking to Metra tech support for two minutes got it done.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

... almost

john from Sioux Falls, SD on 9/26/2016

2004 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness was a better option offered to me by tech support. Not too different than the harness shipped with the steering wheel control unit but the factory plastic harness made for a few less other connections. Only problem was, it was not a perfect fit into the harness. Not sure if the pins are too long or the plastic clip just didn't match up. I was able to put the harness together squeeze it and tape it in place without worrying about the final "click".

Pros: Less soldering than original harness

Cons: Not a perfect fit!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Patterson, NY on 9/19/2016

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome!!! 3 wires to connect, simple, plug and play! Works great. Easiest connection I've done.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

As described

Crutchfield customer from Alhambra, CA on 6/13/2016

2014 Scion xB

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It worked just like it was supposed to

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

EASY!

TK from Colorado Springs, CO on 4/15/2016

2004 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This made for one less item for which I had to strip wires and crimp connectors. I already had harnesses for the steering wheel control adapter, the factory am adapter, the aftermarket head unit, and the outboard Bluetooth adapter to fit in the dash. This made for a simple, clean connection.

Pros: Easy!

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

easy to install

bobby from mechanicsville, VA on 2/16/2016

2013 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, works great in my 2013 FJ

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very easy to install

David from houston, TX on 1/25/2016

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This made it very easy to install the AXXESS ASWC-1. Steering wheel remote works perfectly.

Pros: Makes installation a breeze.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just What was Needed for my Tacoma

JB from Maryland on 12/30/2015

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Makes it a whole lot easier to connect the AXXESS ASWC-1 in my Tacoma, highly recommended...!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Incompatible with Scion Xa Wiring Harness

wesleyd from Albuquerque, NM on 12/14/2015

2006 Scion xA

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is well-manufactured and designed like many other Metra wiring harnesses. The only (albeit, rather large) issue I encountered, is that it is not compatible with the factory wiring harness in a 2006 Scion Xa as indicated by Crutchfield. It contains the correct wires in the correct orientation, but the connectors are not compatible with one another. I ended out having to cut the wires out of the harness and splice them with the factory wiring, which defeats the purpose of using such a harness in the first place. One thing it was handy for was reducing the number of extraneous, unneeded wires I had to tape up as it is tailored to fit most (but clearly not all) Toyota/Scion vehicles.

Pros: Minimizes extra wires from harness included with the Axxess ASWC-1 control adapter.

Cons: Connector is incompatible with Scion Xa factory wiring harness.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect Adapter

Jalexmohr2 from Houston, TX on 11/30/2015

2010 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This really cuts out the wires you don't need. Works great!

Pros: Removes the wires you don't need and only gives the ones needed.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Saves Time

DrumTiny from South Jersey on 11/3/2015

2006 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Saved a lot of wiring time. Works great. Will be able to easily put factory JBL unit back in my 2006 Tundra if I ever decide to.

Pros: Saves Time. Works Good.

Cons: None really.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Super easy to use

GU from Texas on 10/23/2015

2006 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This made connecting the AXXESS ASWC-1very easy.

Pros: Makes connecting the AXXESS ASWC-1 a whole lot simpler.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great product. Must have.

Andre' from Michigan on 10/17/2015

2008 Scion xB

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a must to keep your steering controls. Plug and play.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra wiring harness

Crutchfield customer from Wyoming on 9/3/2015

2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Elegant simple solution to steering wheel connections.

Pros: Works like a charm.

Cons: Absolutely the worse instructions ever.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Jon from Atlanta on 8/30/2015

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works just like it's supposed to. Easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Wrekreation from Virginia on 7/26/2015

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Saves a ton of soldering.

Pros: Simple, only needed to connect 3 wires and then plug it in.

Cons: The instructions for installation weren't as good as on other Crutchfield items I've bought

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

No Splicing is a good thing

N/A from New Hampshire on 6/24/2015

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No Splicing is a great thing, and this adaptor made sure you didn't have to cut the stock wires. I just wish the instructions told you which wires don't apply to your vehicle. would make installation a lot faster instead of wondering what all the extra adaptors are for.

Pros: No Splicing. Fast and easy

Cons: Vague instructions. only one section applied to my car.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect - 2006 Scion TC

James from Indiana on 6/9/2015

2006 Scion tC

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great, was "plug and play". Greatly simplified the installation of my steering wheel controls on my 2006 Scion TC

Pros: Easy wiring install.

Cons: Is a separate purchase, and cost more money than alternate solutions for steering wheel controls on after market radio

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect!

Crutchfield customer from Oklahoma on 5/7/2015

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield really knows how to make sure you get the correct equipment for installation.

Pros: perfect for installing receiver

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Florida on 4/29/2015

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

clean and easy

My09tc from pittsburgh, pa on 3/28/2015

2009 Scion tC

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made the install very easy. There wasnt much for instructions, but it was all pretty easy if you researched with your headunit brand and read the axxess install instructions.

Pros: Clean and easy. No splicing so switching back to stock is super easy.

Cons: Instructions were lacking a bit. As in none at all. But was plug n play so i had no trouble, but some may end up hooking too many things us to the headunit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works as I expected

Trey from Concord, North Carolina on 2/17/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Once I figured out how it needed to be integrated with the new radio, installation was a breeze. This is simply a plug and play device....no need to program. Does the job as intended.

Pros: Easy to install, no programming needed.

Cons: Instructions could be a bit more clear. Manufacturer website was down so I had to call Crutchfield to answer a question.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Scott from Sodus, MI on 1/23/2015

2004 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Harness worked flawlessly to connect my daughters steering wheel controls to the new stereo. Was a breeze to install

Pros: Plug and play. No cutting easy to interface into the existing harness

Cons: None. This worked great right out of the box

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy install

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 12/21/2014

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit was an easy install with a short phone call to the support department!

Pros: easy install

Cons: no specific install instructions. had to call support

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114

Lon from Texas on 12/20/2014

2010 Toyota Venza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There was a break in the red radio control wire somewhere between the aftermarket harness adapter and the jack plug in. I had to splice around it to get it to work. I'm sure they would have sent me another but I was ready to get done.

Pros: Crutchfield instructions were easier than factory's. Didn't have to splice any of the factory wires.

Cons: Broken radio control wire.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome

Twy from Pennsylvania on 11/4/2014

2005 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This part of my recent order was awesome. Hated radio, but the steering wheel controls worked flawlessly first attempt.

Pros: Worked!

Cons: Not sure if it's supposed to work like this, but a long-press on the next/prev buttons doesn't seek through a track. Just next track/prev track. Might be operator error or misunderstanding though!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114, this item made my hook up flawless and was much easier

Crutchfield customer from Annapolis, MD on 10/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All I can say thumbs-up to tech support. They're awesome. They were there for me every step of the way. Very knowledgeable and professional. They took the time needed to assist me. Great team! DA

Pros: Professional and very knowledgeable

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just what you need to keep the factory steering wheel controls

Mikeljay from Lenoir City on 10/1/2014

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An easy install. Everything you need to keep the factory steering wheel controls in your car/truck when used with the ASWC-1. instructions were very good and hooking it up couldn't be easier. Works like a charm and everything works like it should.

Pros: Easy install, good instructions

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Made the Install Easy

SC702 from Las Vegas, NV on 9/25/2014

2010 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great wiring instruction for use with the ASWC-1. A lot easier that trying to make the universal wiring instructions from the ASWC-1 work. This made it simple, almost too easy. with this you will not need anything other than the little back box for the ASWC-1 kit.

Pros: Easy Install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy Piece

Easy Piece from Conifer, CO on 9/12/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and bring inline with other wiring, making the factory harness work with the factory steering wheel controls, which I did not want to give up. I use them constantly while driving.

Pros: Easy to wire and figure out in the new wiring scheme. Necessary part.

Cons: Need a Wiring Diagram please! Had to call Technical Support to validate my wiring scheme. There was nothing worth a darn in the packaging to explain the wiring! Come 'on! Please!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Ricky from Newport News, VA on 9/3/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Very easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

worked

heyzarling from Hustisford, WI on 8/11/2014

2005 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked/connected just as described on Toyota Prius.

Pros: Fast.

Cons: Not inexpensive.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy to install

CC from los angeles, CA on 7/15/2014

2005 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install after a little studying, thinking, and confirming with tech support. Installed this harness with steering wheel control and factory amp bypass. No single instruction available - even after figuring it out, had to call Crutchfield to confirm my plan was right.

Pros: Easy to install.

Cons: Must call Crutchfield if installing with other harnesses [wheel control and factory amp bypass]

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Factory Integration Adapter

RonF from Eldersburg, MD on 7/3/2014

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Appears like it would work, designed to eliminate cutting 3 wires from factory wiring, but once I went to install the plug was the incorrect size. Called Crutchfield and emailed them a pic, they were not sure why the plug was a different size, but refunded me the price of this item and let me keep it. Made sure I had instructions how it install without this item.

Pros: Good in theory

Cons: Plug was wrong size for my 05 Tacoma with non JBL head unit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Valrico, Fl on 6/24/2014

2008 Scion xB

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works really well. Directions that come with it are not that great but I got the company rep on the phone and he has me all fixed up quick.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

get one

Eric from crested butte, co on 6/22/2014

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This replaces the plug that comes w your steering wheel controll module. It takes all the unused wires out. Makes it very easy to understand.

Pros: Easy

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy to install

alaskagoldman from Fairbanks, AK on 6/2/2014

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

cables are high quality and easy to connect to the system. Good instructions.

Pros: Good Price, easy to install.

Cons: can't think of any

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Factory Integration Adapter

Jay from Boothwyn, pa on 5/3/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great product works as if nothing has changed just make sure you make the call to crutchfield to be sure you have the special adaptor.

Pros:

Cons: when combining the two instruction sheets thing can become a little unclear.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SWC adapter

Kyle c from Louisville ky on 4/28/2014

2007 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this in my 2006 toyota camry amd it works great. simple and easy to follow instructions, and it synced right up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8114 Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from palm beach gardens,fla on 4/21/2014

2007 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the fit was good it did exactly what I needed it too

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Flawless

Eddy V from Lilburn, GA on 4/21/2014

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wired it up as per the drawing and it worked flawlessly. Can't ask for more

Pros: Works perfectly.

Cons: Read the drawings carefully.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very good cable harness

Mark from VA on 4/17/2014

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My specific product (for 2009 Toyota Tacoma) allowed the ability to not create wire connections (soldering or crimping) in the vehicle and allows you to simply plug into the wiring harness for the steering wheel controls and mate up to the the ASWC1 steering wheel control module and head unit (radio).

Pros: Works as expected. No splicing of wires in the vehicle.

Cons: The RCA plugs could have come with some plastic/rubber plug covers as these will not be usable for everyone (like myself). Instructions are not self-evident on what plug goes where. I am not a person who just slaps together connections just because "they look like they go there". A phone call to Crutchfield solved my questions.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works great, don't forget the resistor!

Chas from San Marcos, CA on 3/31/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The directions come in a PDF with an email confirmation of your order; so I didn't follow them during the initial installation. So I missed a crucial step of installing a small resistor on the car's factory wire harness which ensures compatibility with the car's built in multifunction display.

Pros: Professional installation appearance.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Adapter

modell from Charlotte, NC on 3/11/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quick to add

matt from texas on 2/3/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was very easy to wire in to the steering wheel control harness. After that, it connected directly to the factory harness.

Pros: Everything was great

Cons: I don't think this is available for very many vehicle types.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works great!

Bob S. from San Diego, CA on 1/23/2014

2007 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hook up a few wires and turn on your new stereo....done. This adapter learns what car you have and works right away. Couldn't be any simpler.

Pros: Works great!

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Did the job

NHDH from Derry, NH on 1/16/2014

2003 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used this to install a replacement Pioneer stereo to the factory harness on a 2003 Toyota Sequoia. Don't over think it and this works as intended. This probably should have been a lot easier for me, but with several integration adapters (stereo to car harness, stereo to steering wheel harness) it was a little confusing. Called Crutchfield support and they worked me through it. Did not have to splice anything.

Pros: No splicing.

Cons: Not that obvious how it goes together with other wiring.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Like a Glove!

Kana11 from San Jose CA on 12/31/2013

2009 Toyota Venza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Makes it so easy to install

Pros: Fast & easy to install!

Cons: Only thing I wish it had was USB adapter for the USB set up in my car

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Make Life Easy

David P from Houston, TX on 12/30/2013

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This adapter made the installation so easy and quick. It was well worth it.

Pros: Easy to install, easy to use, saves lots of time

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wiring harness

Dick from Brooklyn, ct. on 11/26/2013

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation and perfect fit to mate to the factory radio harness.

Pros: Easy installation

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Time saver!

Kevin from Fort Worth, TX on 9/1/2013

2010 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, definitely worth the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works Great

Dave M from Alpharetta, GA on 8/25/2013

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works just as it should, integrated seamlessly with my DDX470.

Pros: No cutting and splicing.

Cons: Not offered as package with the AXCESS module. Would be a convenient kit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

as advertised

Davey from Pittsburgh, PA on 8/20/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as it should

Pros: Simple

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Saves time and frustration

Nathan from Albuquerque, NM on 7/25/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little beauty saved me several hours of wire splicing and headache. While it wasn't obvious where to use it at first, as soon as I did I was thrilled to have it. MUST HAVE!

Pros: Simple, Easy, Saves a lot of time

Cons: Not very self-explanatory as to where to use it.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent product

James D from Hendersonville NC on 7/23/2013

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This made the installation too simple. In my 2011 Tacoma I installed a JVC KWNT510hdt and the Axxess ASWC-1 to keep my steering wheel controls. I pre-soldered all my connections and my installation inside the vehicle was about 20 minutes total. Crutchfield instructions were way better than the ones included with the product.

Pros: Very simple with Crutchfield instructions

Cons: None to date.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wiring for Steering wheel controls

Brian R from NH on 7/20/2013

2010 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This comes with 2 harnesses, one you will use and one you will not. At most you might have to use 3 wires in the bundle. It has a 1/8" phono jack to interface with the radio (JVC) I ended up heat shrinking mione so they would not pull apart. Over all easy to hook up.

Pros: Comes with 2 cables sets, Pick the one you need.

Cons: This harness requires you to cut into your factor harness for proper connection. It should have connector that you can plug in to the factory plug. Was not wild a phono jack in the dash can some loose or pick up noise over time.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great accessory

Dan M. from Kalamazoo, MI on 7/10/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Highly recommend.wires into the head unit harness and makes everything very easy. Without this it is splicing into the harness in the dash.

Pros: So easy I had to call Crutchfield support, who answered on the second ring on a Friday night. Thought I had left something out, but is that easy.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great addition to my System

Crutchfield customer from moorestown, nj on 7/1/2013

2010 Scion tC

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This adapter was very helpful when connecting my factory steering wheel controls to my aftermarket head unit. Would recommend this to anyone with a tC who doesn't wanna mess with all the wire splicing.

Pros: Easy install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great. Does exactly what it's supposed to.

JC from Seattle Area, WA on 6/28/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does what it advertises. You aoid splicing any dash wiring. only reason I gave it four stars vs. five is because it still required splicing to aftermarket receiver hardness and AWSC-1.

Pros: Does what it advertises

Cons: Still needed to slive w/aftermarket wires.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

This should be a no-brainer

Bob from Mpls,MN on 5/9/2013

2010 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This should be standard issue if you have steering wheel controls. Works with the Axxess ASWC-1. Allows you to use the OEM Aux outlet in the car as well! No taping into ANY car wiring.

Pros: Easy. Allows OEM AUX use

Cons: Had to do a little digging to find this on the website. Should be front and center!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not Easy

Mr. B from Salinas, CA on 4/20/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

3 stars if I can get it to work.

Pros: easy to install

Cons: instructions might as well be greek.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Steering wheel control harness

Charlie from Chico ca. 95926 on 3/23/2013

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Steering wheel harness came on time ,& came with good directions & great tec support .

Pros: Product worked like it was suppost to!

Cons: Couldn't find eny problems with product.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A must

Tommy from Gansevoort, NY on 3/18/2013

2010 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This makes installation simplified for 2010 tundra only had to splice into pos and neg wires wish it could get power through old steering wheel harness (another connector)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect on a 2005 Rav4! Wish I bought it sooner.

Eric B. from Rochester, NY on 3/1/2013

2009 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you're replacing the factory stereo in your vehicle, and want to use an adapter to continue using the steering wheel controls, save yourself the headache and buy this adapter (if it is compatible with your car). I spent hours trying to figure out the confusing instructions for the control adapter, and then troubleshoot the wiring connections that I had to splice into the original factory wiring. With this adapter the only wiring I needed to do was to tie into the power connections that made with the aftermarket radio adapters. Now the whole system is easily disconnected from the factory plugs in the dash, which is a great perk for when I move on to the next vehicle and want to put the factory stereo back in place.

Pros: Perfect fit with factory steering wheel control plug. Maintained same wire coding scheme as the control adapter I used. Only needed to solder power connections, all others were removable plugs or were pre-wired.

Cons: The extra RCA connectors aren't necessary unless you have an AUX input on the back of your stereo, which just adds more wires in the dash. Was not included or promoted as an add-on by Crutchfield when I purchased the control adapter.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2004 Sienna XLE Steerign wheel adapter

Erik from Maryland on 2/25/2013

2004 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought an ASWC for my steering wheel but I have to splice in the wiring of my car. To prevent splicing, I bought this adapter for the adapter and it connects right into the steering wheel connectors and plugged right in the back of my after market Navigation unit.

Pros: Perfect fit

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked great on 2005 Toyota Rav4!

Andrew from North Aurora, IL on 12/26/2012

2005 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great on Toyota Rav4! I had it installed wrong on a JVC radio at first and found the instructions on the Axxess website to resolve the issue. The 3.5mm male plugs into a special 3.5mm female and a wire attaches to the JVC radio harness, which keeps the rear aux port of the JVC radio open for Bluetooth or other things.

Pros: Works great and eliminates splicing. Only have to connect ignition power and ground.

Cons: Had to use Axxess website for further instructions. Manual not very clear.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

This makes it easy, so worth it.

saxman0321 from Asheville, NC on 12/4/2012

2006 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This part is worth every penny. If you want to integrate steering wheel controls into an aftermarket head unit, this Toyota specific adapter makes it super easy. Just plug it into the car's wiring harness, then plug the 3.5mm plug into the head unit (Alpine CED-136BT in my case) and you're done.My application was a 2006 Toyota Highlander Hybrid Limited, and all I had to do was press the volume up button once everything was installed, and it figured out the rest. The guy at the local shop was telling me how hard it is to make steering wheel controls work with aftermarket head units and wanted an extra $50 to do it. I do all my own work, it's easy just try it!

Pros: Makes integrating steering wheel controls as easy as it gets.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy installation and straight forward

Scionicboom from Grovetown, GA on 3/24/2012

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used this with my Access ASWC and Kenwood head unit. Worked like a charm and there was no splicing of wires.

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra Toyota-specific Harness - 2010 Tacoma Dbl Cab

Stormin from Charlotte on 3/5/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used this in conjunction with the Metra universal steering wheel control accessory. Was a plug and chug, nothing to splice, everything fit into where it was supposed to go. Installed clean on a 2010 Tacoma with no JBL system and new Pioneer DEH-P8400BH. Seemed to not learned all the buttons when initially hooked up, but gained functionality on the second try. My up/down buttons do not scroll through the pre-set tuner stations. Up/Down buttons do change the tuner frequency and works fine scrolling through songs when in USB mode.

Pros: Easy set-up. Plug and chug, nothing to splice. Once you have steering wheel controls, it tough to give up their functionality.

Cons: Price, considering it is used in conjunction with the already pricey accessory.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP