Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 70-8116 Amp Bypass Harness

Allows you to install a new car stereo and bypass the factory amp in select 2000-06 Toyota vehicles

MFR # 70-8116

Metra 70-8116 Amp Bypass Harness

Metra 70-8116 Amp Bypass Harness

Allows you to install a new car stereo and bypass the factory amp in select 2000-06 Toyota vehicles

MFR # 70-8116

26 reviews
View this product

Metra 70-8116 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Murrieta, CA on 5/4/2020

2006 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Couldn't be more straight forward for the wiring. Plenty of wire to get from the amp in the back to the front.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Too Easy!!!

Crutchfield customer from Covina, CA on 1/7/2020

2007 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great help makes all installations a simple task!

Pros: everything is perfect! help, parts included etc.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8116 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Webster, MA on 11/11/2019

2004 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I will installed it in summer of 2020 . but i like what you say and i let you know then. Thank you.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8116 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Mission, TX on 9/11/2019

2001 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great add-on, thanks!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8116 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Eagle Point, OR on 4/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Included harness made it easy for installing head unit to factory wiring

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

More wiring required on 2000 Land Cruiser

Crutchfield customer from Gardner, KS on 8/8/2018

2000 Toyota Land Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works to bypass amp and get speakers working. Nothing in instructions that tells you the power to head unit is disconnected when you use this. You will have to make 3 other connections to get power to head unit. Info is available online, but should be included.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Metra 70-8116 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Cherry Hill, NJ on 6/29/2018

2004 Toyota Celica GTS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great in my 2004 Celica GT-S to bypass the amp and get a better sound range going to my rear speakers. Only complaint I have is that the radio harness lacks a pin for the dimmer wire, but other than that everything works.

Pros: It successfully bypassed my factory amp

Cons: Wire is very long for the Celica; no dimmer wire on the harness

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Exactly what I needed

Tami from Plant City, FL on 4/29/2018

2004 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great for my 2004 Highlander. Took a while to run under everything from back to front of car but that's a poor design from Toyota. Instructions were very helpful.

Pros: worked great

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8116 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 4/10/2018

2007 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product. Since the amp for the stock JBL sound system was located In back of my highlander it took a while to route back through the vehicle but worth doing

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bypass it!

GFO from Larkspur, CA on 10/7/2017

2003 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness worked perfectly in bypassing the factory amplifier in my 2003 Toyota Highlander with the factory JBL sound system; process took me roughly an hour. Once my stock speakers were connected directly to my aftermarket JVC head unit (22rms), the sound was noticeably improved. Crisper highs, clearly mids and the bass was smoothed out some. Next step is to replace the stock speakers.

Pros: Practically plug-n-plug, length of harness more than suffice, Crutchfield site has an article on bypassing the first Gen Highlander factory amp (good for me)

Cons: None, works exactly as it's designed

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Big wad of wire

Michael from Weimar, TX on 9/30/2017

2000 Toyota Land Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Basically this is a rewire more than it is a bypass. I thought there would be a short connection from the new radio to the existing plug. That is not all there is to it. You have to snake a big wad of wires from the head unit to the amplifier area under the passenger seat. Nothing about this is simple so buyer beware. The wire harness has to be routed from the head unit, under the passenger side carpet, and under the seat. You have to pull the passenger seat to get to the amplifier connection.

Pros: If it works then it will bypass the amp.

Cons: Not a time saver. You still have to pull the passenger seat and route wire under the carpet. very poor instructions

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Metra 70-8116 Amp Bypass Harness

Bill from Marriottsville, MD on 8/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Weak terminals

Justin from Texas on 7/10/2017

2000 Toyota Land Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this on a 2002 Toyota Land Cruiser. I was unable to use the ground wire on this harness. I consulted the factory wiring manual and determined I had to run a separate ground in the dash area for the new head unit. I wired it all up and the power antenna was not working. I called Crutchfield and they told me it was a vehicle problem if it was all hooked up correctly. My factory stereo had been operating the antenna just fine. I used a volt meter and determined there was no power out of the connector going into the antenna yet there was power going into the connector. I separated the connector and looked at the male terminal. It had recessed so far back that it would not make contact. I had to slide the terminal inside of the connector further into the other side. It began working after that. The connector did not appear to hold the terminals in very well. It did work after I fixed that issue. It could have been caused during installation or it could have been faulty. All is well now and I would recommend this.

Pros: Easily connects the new head unit with the speakers.

Cons: Terminal was not tight from factory.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Perfect Solution

Brian from Rochester, NY on 10/11/2016

2006 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The directions were lacking but a quick call to tech support got me on my way. Easy to install, does the job perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked very well

Chris from New Mexico on 1/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

4

Pros: Worked very well done wiring involved to get fully hooked up, but works very well just had to find amp under passenger seat

Cons: Very long cables only 10 ft needed max got 17 ft

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice

Kenny from Colorado on 12/27/2015

2000 Toyota Land Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not direct plug and play, some wiring needed for the land cruise but if you know what your doing its not an issue.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 70-8116 Amp Bypass Harness

Tom R from Maryland on 4/6/2015

2002 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. You'll need upholstery tools to get to the amp plug behind the rear seats in the 2002 Highlander w/ JBL. I cut the 4 wires for the subwoofer since they weren't required. Ran the wires under the R passenger door trim up to the radio. Would be nice if there were instructions on how to get to the rear amp plug...

Pros: Works great.

Cons: Getting to rear amp plug is not that difficult, but there were no instructions on how to get to it.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Toyota Landcruiser owners must read

Crutchfield customer from Ohio on 6/21/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you own a 2000-2002 toyota landcruiser, this will work but is not plug and play. First off, Toyota has a feedback loop for power to the head unit via the factory amplifier. The radio connections in the upper dash have several feeds coming from the factory amplifier. So if you use the factory connections in the upper dash and you are changing out the amplifier you will need to tie wires together at the amp location for power, accessory and ground. In this kit, there's the 17ft long speaker harness that plugs into the amplifier under the passenger seat and there's also another harness that has red, yellow ground and blue.. This is where the problem is. By simply plugging in the harness behind the old radio, your new headunit won't work. You must remove three wires under the passenger seat and crimp or solder them for your power. Also the ground wire must be attached to the chassis and not your typical "black" wire behind the radio. I called Crutchfield support twice and they only had the info on the ground wire. THIS ONLY PERTAINS TO THE 2000-2002 Landcruiser.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/1/2014
This is the kind of problem that our Tech Support team loves to solve. They have looked into it and will be adjusting our database for this harness. As a Crutchfield customer, any time you run into an unexpected problem, our support and troubleshooting is only a phone call or email away.

5 of 5 found this helpful

connects

benW from maui, HI on 10/9/2013

2006 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cherry connection

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Does the job - needs more info when bypassing amp

rsc10 from Ft Wayne, IN on 9/29/2013

2002 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works well and the wiring instructions were fine, It did not include instructions on bypassing the amp however. I had to call for tech help a couple of times. Also, when bypassing the amp you lose the use of the large 'woofer' speaker on the rear deck - that was never disclosed either. Installed on a 2002 Avalon with JBL system (4 speakers plus woofer).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worked Great!!!

GaryF from Raton, NM on 7/19/2013

2001 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Metra Factory Integration Adapter worked great. It was easy to install without cutting any factory wires. When I get ready to get rid of this car I could put the factory system back in in less than 30 minuets. Glad I found this before I started cutting the factory harness out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect Fit

Morgan S. from Salina, KS on 6/17/2013

2002 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used on my 2002 Toyota Avalon. The instructions were very clean and all the colors matched up perfectly to my new head unit.

Pros: Plugged it in and was ready to reinstall my trim.

Cons: Had way to much extra wire. Probably around 10 extra feet.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Extra wiring needed at the amp

JJ from Pa on 10/10/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Adapter works, I have 2000 Toyota landcruiser, no issue with the HU harness adapter. However there are two wiring harness with the factory amp. If you just plug in the metra adapter, without making 3 other wire bypass connections, your radio will not have power. Since Toyota radio power is getting feed from the amp. I was on phone with Crutchfield about this 3 times. Even the crutchfield techs weren't aware of that.

Pros: Fits peferct

Cons: Not a plug and play, need extra wiring

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Metra 70-8116 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Massachusetts on 3/24/2012

2001 Toyota Land Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked fine with my 2001 Land Cruiser for the connections that were provided on the adapter.

Pros: Good wiring diagram included.

Cons: Note: there is no connection for the Illumination wire using the adapter (even though it exists on the factory radio harness) - an additional splice must be made from the new head unit harness into the original factory radio harness.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8116 Amp Bypass Harness

Jay from Costa Mesa, CA on 9/28/2011

2006 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Amplifier Bypass Plug and Harness

Norm from Centennial, Colorado on 2/8/2010

2001 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The hard part here was finding the location of the Amplifier behind the rear seat under the carpet in the cargo area before I could plug in the Bypass plug. I called tech support and they emailed me pictures that were very helpful in finding the amp to bypass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 17 found this helpful

TOP