Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 70-8117 Amp Bypass Harness

Connect a new car stereo and bypass the factory amplifier in select 2003-07 Toyota vehicles

MFR # 70-8117

Metra 70-8117 Amp Bypass Harness

Metra 70-8117 Amp Bypass Harness

Connect a new car stereo and bypass the factory amplifier in select 2003-07 Toyota vehicles

MFR # 70-8117

41 reviews
View this product

Metra 70-8117 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Arroyo Grande, CA on 3/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was perfect for bypassing the Amp, although it was about 3 ft. too long it can be cut to fit. The white head was a bit of a tight fit, a bit difficult to insert but better tight than loose. The instructions where a big help in a DYI situation. Its been in my 2004 Tundra for 3 mo. and no issues.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8117 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Sun City West, AZ on 2/21/2021

2006 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you are bypassing your amp in the Tundra DC, this is a must have. The instructions were very clear and it made the install a breeze

Pros: Uses factory Connectors Eliminates cutting/splicing at the amp end

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8117 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Boca Raton, FL on 2/6/2021

2004 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked like a champ, and wiring instructions clear. I meant to have Crutchfield do it (worth the money) but doing with the instructions wasn't too bad.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

No complaints

Crutchfield customer from Meridian, ID on 12/7/2020

2004 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

MUCH. better sound quality out of the aftermarket unit than the stock amplifier could deliver. Happy that this harness provides the "odd" speakers as well (center channel, rear tweeters, etc) which I routed under a seat in case I want to someday use them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8117 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, IL on 11/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great customer service great product. Surprisingly easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8117 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Burlington, KY on 4/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great harness. It wasn't any fun to run it to the back of my truck but there was plenty of length in the harness to do so.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Amp bypass cable - 06 Tundra

Crutchfield customer from Rockledge, FL on 11/23/2019

2006 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great on my 06 Tundra. Did not lose fade control bypassing the JBL Amp. Recommend getting some PET Expandable Braided Sleeving 3/8" for an easier installation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-8117 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Bentonville, AR on 11/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was exactly what I needed for my older vehicle. So easy to follow the directions.

Pros: Made this job so ready

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good service but the part doesn't fit

Crutchfield customer from Gainesville, GA on 8/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does not fit. Happy with the overall service but this part just doesn't fit. Will have to take the stereo to a shop to have installed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8117 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, AR on 7/10/2019

2006 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great and very efficient got everything I expected for a great price definitely my to go place on car audio products I shop for from now on.

Pros: Sounds way better by passed just saying thank you guys.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great if you will use it

Crutchfield customer from Huntingtn Sta, NY on 5/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well if you need it, I agreed to quickly without thinking the install through, was replacing factory amp and running new speakers and wire anyway. Not reps fault mine.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8117 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Santa Fe, NM on 12/14/2018

2004 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the Boss radio i got for my car. I was really impressed with the customer service i recived with my purchase. I will be using Crutchfield again!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8117 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Bradenton, FL on 11/28/2018

2006 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy enough

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8117 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Patterson, CA on 11/25/2018

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

was perfect made the install clean and easy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

By-Pass the Factory JBL Amp & Use Your Head Unit's Amp

Greg from Upstate, NY on 7/31/2018

2006 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly for my 06 Tundra Doublecab to bypass the OE JBL amp and drive all of the speakers from my Pioneer AVH-X3600BHS head unit. The instructions provided by Crutchfield were a 1000% better than the limited instructions included with the Metra paperwork. I ran the wiring from the JBL connector (located behind rear seat on driver's side) up to the head unit in the dash using the channel in the driver's side running boards and then behind the left kick panel. This is the same path used by the factory wiring harness and it is easily accessible from inside the truck. It's a very tight fit, but there is room if you only use the wires you need (this harness is used for a variety of Toyota applications, so there are several extra wires that you won't be using) and I would strongly recommend using a small diameter (3/8") plastic cable wrap to keep the bundle together and protect the wire insulation.

Pros: -Plugs directly into factory connector at JBL amp -Quality harness (good connector, heavy gauge wire) -Crutchfield's superior installation instructions

Cons: Getting wire bundle from rear of cab to dash is a bit tedious

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-8117 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Vancouver, WA on 5/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality wires

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8117 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Fresno, CA on 5/9/2018

2005 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality and it is labeled

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Used in a Toyota Sienna

Keith from Hawaii on 3/12/2018

2006 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great adapter to wire directly to your speakers! Only things lacking, and these could be big, is the dimmer control from the vehicle to the dimmer wire of the deck and "always hot" and "ground" power wires from the JBL harness. I moved some unused wires around to utilize this function. If you use this for an older Toyota Sienna, you can take out the old JBL amp and run the replacement amp from the power wire of the JBL system. But only if the new amp doesn't draw more than 30 amps. LOTS of wire to use (super long).

Pros: Great adapter setup

Cons: Illumination control wire would have been nice. The ability to use the power wires feeding the JBL amp also would have been nice.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent product and fast shipping

Richard from Saint Cloud, FL on 2/24/2018

2004 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It worked perfect. Instructions were good although I knew what to do!! Good quality and the right fit for my truck. Thank you

Pros: Perfect fit, fast ship, good quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good Harness

Crutchfield customer from Clearwater, FL on 1/20/2018

2006 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this harness on a 2006 Toyota Tundra Double Cab and it works as advertised. There were a lot of extra wires for different applications, but those were easy enough to coil up and put out of the way. I would recommend this for anyone that has a stock JBL amp in their Toyota...the system sounds much better now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8117 Amp Bypass Harness

WILLIAM from Mayaguez, PR on 1/9/2018

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly fit,to my Tacoma 2006

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8117 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Marietta, GA on 1/6/2018

2005 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2005 sequoia removed factory amp and put crossovers in its place under the center console going 4 ohm.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Meh..

Chad from Castle Rock, CO on 12/5/2017

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I thought I bought a harness and head unit prepped for factory plug in. That was not the case, a wiring harness that did not fit anything factory. My unit turns on and off so power is right. Still no sound. Currently it is a large clock using dash space.

Pros: Lights up

Cons: Still no sound

Crutchfield response on 12/6/2017
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to Chad to help him further. We'll either help him get the receiver connected and working properly, or help him return it for an exchange or refund. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8117 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Bozeman, MT on 10/29/2017

2005 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great! Much longer then needed but that's no problem. 2005 Sequoia with JBL - if you have front tweeters you'll need connect those wires with the appropriate front speaker wires. I had to call Crutchfield to figure this out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-8117 Amp Bypass Harness

ESM from San Diego, CA on 10/22/2017

2005 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The JBL amp in my 4runner had been acting up - losing the right side and occasionally shutting down altogether. It was suggested I use this bypass to remove the amp and power the speakers directly from the HU. Installation was a bit of a chore but straightforward. Had a few problems with the steering wheel controls but after fixing a connection had failed, SWC was restored. The bypass works fine, though the subwoofer no longer works as it was powered from the amp.

Pros: Solved the amp problem.

Cons: No subwoofer functionality.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-8117 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Montana (MT) on 8/29/2017

2010 Dodge Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked fine overall. Connector quality was a little cheap. The radio power connector did not lock together. The amp bypass harness was great, though. Saved me a ton of time, instead of running new wire.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8117 Amp Bypass Harness

Preston from Mckinney, TX on 8/27/2017

2004 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use.. No issues.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awsome

Brian from Florida on 4/26/2017

2004 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worth it and helpful.

Pros: Quality, instructions, quality, quality, quality... Did I mention a quality item.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Made installation a breeze ??

Brandt from Payson, UT on 4/25/2017

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great for my 08 Tundra Double Cab. I installed the Pioneer AVH-2800BS Double Din DVD player :)

Pros: None

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works but lacks instructions

Joe from Wilmington, DE on 4/3/2017

2006 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The product works as advertised and provides more than enough wiring for my 06 Tundra Double Cab but the instructions are severely lacking. I had to youtube the fix for why my front speakers weren't working. Simple fix, but was annoying after spending the time to rewire everything.

Pros: it works

Cons: Instructions are lacking

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Easy install

Sergio from Houston, TX on 2/5/2017

2005 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great harness Made install a breeze Just trim to fit Crutchfield rocks

Pros: Made extra long for many applications

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-8117 Amp Bypass Harness

Nathan from Tennessee on 12/24/2016

2004 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product works as it should. 17 foot harness that might look intimidating, but it was very easy to route through my 04 tundra double cab

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works

Doug from Seattle, WA on 11/19/2016

2005 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as intended, But has way to many wires that I did not use.

Pros: It Works

Cons: Way to many extra wires

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-8117 Amp Bypass Harness

Crutchfield customer from Boiling Springs, SC on 10/21/2016

2005 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit!! LOOOOOONG wires so you got 5 ft more then enough so your good to go. And for those that dont know why or how to bypass a factory amp, dont complain about doing it cause you may have to do some work for a change.

Pros: works

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Factory Toyota Amp = EVIL

john from Sioux Falls, SD on 9/26/2016

2004 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

*2004 Toyota Sienna w/JBL.* So glad to finally solve the mysterious sound issues in my Gen 2 Toyota Sienna. The factory amp needed to be by-passed. I thought amps just amplified an input, but not this evil amp. It controlled the sound, monitoring it and decided where to allocate it. I got swirling sound (fader and balance) with variable "ghost" like EQ. With a new Sony head unit and some new speakers it was not allowing my system to function properly and HAD to go. This harness comes with yards of wire. I only needed enough to get from the head unit to the factory amp behind the glove box. The harness itself fit a little snugly, things are tight there under the amp in the glovebox anyway. I've noticed 2 Crutchfield harnesses lately that didn't seem to have an exact fit for me, but were close enough and ended up working OK. Wonderful improvement in sound and now I can tell my head unit actually has some clean power to it! I wish someone would've told me to bypass the stupid factory amp right from the start. I'm controlling the EQ and sound location now and able to use the remote app too! If you've got a Toyota factory amp, BY-PASS it!

Pros: easy to use. LOTS of wire.

Cons: lots of soldering

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wrong products

Jeff from lynn haven, FL on 3/25/2016

2005 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My fault I ordered the wrong wiring harnesses. Good news was Crutchfield immediately sent me the correct item with no fuss.

Pros: Great service from Crutchfield.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Be ready for some work

Crutchfield customer from Alabama on 12/29/2015

2005 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I fully understand the desire to bypass the factory amp and use the one with a new head unit, but the work involved in my particular application simply was not worth it. My '05 Tundra amp is on the back wall of the truck cab which means running all those wires back up to the front of the truck and into the dash to connect to the new head unit. The harness comes with plenty of wire, so if you are ready to find a way to run an entire bundle back to the front of the vehicle, it probably works well. I returned mine for a different harness that allows me to use the factory amp and all worked out well. Many thanks to the folks at Crutchfield for helping me sort through all the issues and find a solution that worked!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Amp Harnes

C. Walton from Texas on 12/29/2015

2006 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The amp harness was very easy to install and was very happy with the final product

Pros: Everything was great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not worth the hastle

ChrisG from Anchorage, AK on 10/28/2014

2006 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a fat stack of wires that looks like a string of lights from Clark W. Griswold. In the end i only ended up using this for the rear door speakers as I had to rewire the front speakers to avoid that BS wiring job Toyota gave the JBL system.

Pros: Plugs right in, no cutting the factory harness. 16 gauge wires.

Cons: To many wires in the bundle since it tries to apply to several vehicle configurations. Makes it hard to run under the carpet/door sills.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Could be a lot easier

Frebo from Colorado Springs, CO on 8/18/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instructions were not great. But got it to work in the end

Pros: It finally worked

Cons: Wire color codes were not accurate for my vehicle. Had to call for instructions and they acted as though i should have known that i should have used the brown/green stripe instead of the Green/brown stripe. Definitely took some time figuring out

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 70-8117 Amp Bypass Harness

Jason from Redding, CA on 12/31/2013

2005 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product. About 12' too long for use with my amps, but worked great. Does not come with the Toyota tundra JBL specific wiring diagram, but I was able to find one on a Toyota forum.

Pros: Ease of use

Cons: Lack of a complete wiring diagram.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

TOP